ADVERTISIMENT

Leon's Furniture

4939 52nd Ave NW, Edmonton, AB, T6B 3L5, CA

Reviews and Complaints

Leon's FurnitureDelayed of delivery/refund of money

We placed an order of recliner sofa and chair on November 7, 2020 in Leon's Furniture Edmonton South Branch. Our first choice was the regular colour which is one on the floor model. But unfortunately it was not available. So the sales representative her name is Yen, looked in to their system and informed us the next stock available would be 2nd week of February 2021. I asked her why that was long, she said because of the covid. So I understood that. When placing our order we decided to go with the special order the different colour. I asked Yen for advice, and she said why don't you go to special order just a couple of weeks behind with the regular one and you will get the colour you want.
When I looked on the invoice it was stated that; custom order approx (12-14 weeks) 25% non refundable for stocking fee. So it means I cannot cancel my order or I am going to pay 25% of the cost of my order. I waited! on February 8, 2021 I texted Yen to follow-up my order and informed her that I was expecting to be get my order on the promised date because we need it badly. She replied on my text with this: "I will update you as we get closer to the arrival date." okay. I waited again and kept her words. But no calls, emails or text from them about the status of my order. So I texted her again on March 12, 2021 to follow-up. And this was she replied to me: " Our system shows that there will be stocks coming the manufacture to our main warehouse in Scarborough first week of May. Once it gets to main warehouse then will be transfer to Edmonton. The date keeps changing every few weeks I will update you as the day get closer."
I was pissed off and angry for her message. I was expecting my order would be delivery soon, then she's telling me that it will move for another 2 months. I asked her what was the valid reason for the delay?, and again blaming the pandemic maybe and she can't give me an answer for the another 2 months pushing. So I leave a feedback to their customer care because I can not get them to their phone just leave a message to receptionist and they would not calling you back.
She let me spoke to her manager his name is Armro to deal with my complaint. So again the manager asked the apology saying again that they cannot do anything why my order was pushed up again for another 2 months. I accepted his apology and give them a chance and clarified him that I want my order be ready on the 2nd promised date which was on 1 week on May and update me with regards to the status, because I told him I don't want to looked and shop around again for sofa. Mind as wait because it's gonna same date will be going to have it. I didn't not asked or demand him fir any deal or discount for the inconvenience just to be sure that my order would be available on the said date.
Again no calls, texts or email from them about my order. So on May 3, 2021, I texted Yen again to update my order. She called me on the next day and informed me that it will be going to push again on June 2021. So I don't want her reason again and told her that his manager promised me to keep an eye on my order and do priority to me. Same as usual they don't know the reason of delay they just based on what the systems said. And she offered me an extra $150 discount if I could wait for my order. I didn't not grab with their deal.
I told them it was to upsetting and inconvenienced already of what they've done to me. I already spent $400 dollar to buy a new chair while waiting of my order to them. The time and emotional feelings that I incurred, even my work get affected to get a free time to set an appointment with them.
I just read on internet about their reviews, they have a plenty of complaints with regards to the availability of the products and they just kept promising. It means they were not addressing their real problem. No action plan or care about their customer, once you get hooked and get your money they don't care about you anymore. You are the one will initiate to get them on how you will get your order.
Here are their strategies. Will asked you to replaced the item. will be going to be their sale again, the times that you waited they make a price marked up already just to showed to you that you got a good deal from them. Example: Could you imagine just last year on October 2020 same item that I purchased the price was $1, 599, I bought on November 2020, for $1, 699. Now their price is $1, 999. So if you would going to choose for re-selection to other set they will get again a good sales to you. And they said I can cancel my order now, yah they were right. But why they didn't not advised me on during the 12-14 weeks or informed me that they have a bunch of problem on delayed delivery, on the first quarter of the year, which was I have time to do shopping to other store. Because they want you to be charged for 25% on cost of your purchased. Good money for them right! You will get penalty during the contract period if you cancel your order, but they don't have any penalty if they cannot delivery on time of your order, all in favour to them right.
I demanded to them that I can't wait anymore or take a chances for another promise again. I told to Armro that I am willing to get the different colour on which they have available stocks right now. But I told him I want sofa and love seat instead. Because I already bought a chair worth of $400 to other furniture store while waiting on my order, because we don't have any chair to use. The difference to change my order was $300 more. I told him I will not gonna spend another penny again.
First it was not fault that they cannot deliver my order, if they going to give it right now of my order, I would not taking their offer of $150 discount as well. What I want was just my sofa and chair with the colour that I ordered. Second they already make a price marked up on the item to showed it that I get a good deal. And he kept saying he can only give a $150 credit. I refused on it I told him If I am going to cancel now I want it put it back to my debit card. Because I paid off already my Leons Credit card and I don't want to used their credit card anymore, so I cut it off. And they said they cannot refund it to my debit card, or they going to issued a cheque which will take approximately 2 weeks again for the cheques. I told them I want it right now to buy a new sofa to other furniture store because I cannot wait for their promise again. But they still insisting that I will not get my money, have to get back to financing and wait for another card. What the business they have. I want my money back. I paid off the card already because I don't want to get me an interest on due date even thought I haven't yet received my order. And I want it to buy a new furniture right now why they cannot give my money back.

I have picture of my payment and text conversation but I am having hard time to upload it on this site.

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    Respond

    Leon's FurnitureBed set and poor service

    I recently purchased a bed set from this location and have had to deal with a damaged dresser and side table being delivered to my home. And with that, failure to exchange it right away, I had to argue with Kim, the customer service receptionist to get her to do something about it immediately, which is ridiculous. I also then set up an exchange and asked for the product to be inspected for damage before being exchanged, they failed to do so and delivered yet another damaged dresser and wouldn't take it back with them. At this time I had to call leons again and have an argument with them so they brought in 2 more dressers and night stands. My husband and I had to drive to the location to inspect ourselves because apparently they can't do their job. We get there and all the products we see were damages aswell. So we settled on one dresser that was the most decent out of the 4 we've seen and decided to keep the side table we have due to the 2 they had that were also damaged.

    When I talked to the supervisor Jade, finally, she would not come on the phone anytime I asked to speak to the manager. All she seemed to do was just apologize and not really care that this was such poor service and same thing in person. After all this we had to ask for a break on our purchase which was only $100, my husband had to negotiate to get her to do $120.

    This entire experience has been just horrible and stressful. That excitement you feel purchasing something new is gone and become nothing but a stressful situation. The bed frame hasn't even been delivered yet and my husband and I are already stressed about what we're going to have to deal with at that point. This is the last time we purchase anything from Leons. The poor service and quality of products is just a disappointment. What happened to your product quality and service?

    I really hope that someone does something about this, even teach your staff to do their jobs properly.

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      Respond

      Leon's FurnitureHolland 7 piece dining set

      The table top is peeling after 8 months of really no use. I don't use the table a whole lot either. Which is sad, I may not have paid top dollar for this brand new table set but I didn't expect the table to peel after 8 months of basically no use.

      I spent well over 5K in new furniture purchased through Leon's that day and included in that purchase was this table set. The other furniture purchased I have been pleased with, besides the table. I have emailed Leon's twice and I have not got any response and I can't locate their customer care number b/c they don't list it online.

      I always had good opinions of Leon's based on past experience and friends as well. This though has certainly changed my view of Leon's. I guess now as I begin to make some new big purchases I will be avoiding Leon's.

      Comment Guidelines

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Submit
        Respond
        ADVERTISIMENT

        Leon's FurnitureBed frame and customer service

        Bought a King size bed in Sept 2018 from Leona South location in Edmonton - over $1200 we paid
        When it was delivered, it was badly damaged - cracked and pieces broken off the bed.
        Contacted the store in Edmonton, they said they'll get us a new one.
        New one arrives, it's also broken.
        Contact the store, they ask us to keep the broken one and they'll take $100 off the cost of the bed.
        That was insulting...who wants a broken bed for $1100????
        I tell them no, they say they'll bring in another one.
        Sales associate contacts me and says we'll get store credit for all this trouble - great! I need other furniture items, so that'll work!
        Sales associate texts me to say she is going to also give us a price match, as our beds on sale. Great!! I ask her about our new bed and when it will be arriving. Im told Nov 26/18 (keep in mind, we purchased this bed originally in Sept 2018...2 months ago by this time).
        The next day the sales associate texts me again and says there was a mistake and I cannot get the price match...this made me angry, so I asked about the store credit that was offered...the sales associate did not answer me.
        Well...Nov 26 comes and goes and we hear nothing...then another week goes by and another week goes by. Now I'm upset. Where the hell is my bed?? (You should also know that I did the no interest, equal payments for 12 months...so by the end of Nov/18, I've already made 2 payments on a piece of furniture I don't even have!!!).
        I call the store and ask to speak to the manager. Well surprise surprise...the manager is not available and the customer service manager is also not available. I explain to the woman on the phone what has happened. I indicate that there needs to be some recourse as were now in the middle of the 3rd month dealing with this, I still dont have my bed and I want my bed.
        The woman on the phone tells me that my new bed will be in on the 19th and the customer service manager will call me back tomorrow, as they get in at 1230...this was Dec 12/18.
        Here we are the 20th of December and I've heard nothing from anyone at Leona- pissed!!
        Oh...I also in one of my discussions with the people at Leona, ask them to take their bed back, cancel the financing piece for the bed and I'll go buy a bed elsewhere. Well...I was flat out told no, that they will give me a credit with Leona for the value of the bed and I can pick another one I like. They don't have anything else I like or want...and with how this whole thing has played out, I will never buy anything from Leona again. I tell them this, that there no bed I want from there so I just want out of the financing. Leona says no...
        So now I'm literally stuck. Still don't have my bed...3 months after purchasing it, Leons won't let me out of the financing and intend to keep my money for the bed and offer me store credit...I had store credit offered to me months ago and still haven't received it - does Leons think I trust them at all with a $1200+ store credit? And, if their furniture is such poor quality that it continues to come broken not once, but twice (and who knows if the 3rd bed will be any better) does Leons think I want anything else from their store after how this has all gone down???
        I will be contacting the BBB, the local news and all Social media outlets to share this story. People need to be aware of how poorly Leons operates, how they lie to customers and how they try to convince people to keep broken, "brand new" furniture.
        Shop elsewhere...it'll be a lot less hassle

        Comment Guidelines

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          Submit
          • Updated by JackeyF · Dec 20, 2018

            Sorry about all the Leona's in my write up...damn auto correct! It should say Leons everywhere it says Leona

          Respond
          ADVERTISIMENT

          IN THE NEWS

          Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
          If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
          One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
          A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
          ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
          You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
          Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.