Broadway Darling RagamuffinsKitten fip & guardia, avoid this breeder

G
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

We purchased two Ragamuffins kittens in June 2016 from Carol Ohlund, owner of Broadway Darling Ragamuffins. One kitten was born April 25 and the other was born May 17, 2016. They had different mothers but the same father. We live in Phoenix so were able to visit the kittens on several occasions prior to picking them up in late August 2016. Within a couple of days, we discovered the male kitten was having diarrhea. We thought it was the new environment or the food, although I gave them the same food Carol had told me she was giving them at her house. When I talked to Carol she made some suggestions regarding the food, which we did, but diarrhea continued so she suggested we take him to the Vet, which I had already decided to do. (Coincidently, we have the same vet.)

The vet checked him an asked us to get a stool sample so she could check for giardia. His test came back with antibodies for giardia. The vet then asked us to get a stool sample from the female kitten and she tested positive for giardia. We were given a regime of meds to give for two weeks, which was complete the last week of September. The diarrhea did not stop for the male kitten, so vet reordered meds for another 10 days. This time, it seemed to have stopped, but when we brought in another stool sample for the female (too early to test male because of 2nd batch of meds) she tested positive. Vet then ordered a totally new regime of one week of meds, two weeks off and then another week of meds. In addition we were to mop floors with Clorox mixture daily, vacuum carpets and any furniture daily, complete change of litter daily, wipe their paws twice daily, plus a bath at beginning of meds and at the end – both treatment times. All bowls and any toys that could be submerged had to be soaked in a Clorox/water solution daily. We did this for 33 days.

Several days and after stopping meds and the last bath, the male kitten appeared a little lethargic and slowly stopped eating food or taking water. We gave him water by syringe but he refused food. We took him to the vet first thing on Monday morning. He had a fever and was given under the skin hydration they also gave him an antibiotic to maybe help with the fever, plus drew blood for tests. The following day the vet called and said she suspected FIP but needed to run a more conclusive test and asked if I wanted to do that and gave me the cost. I agreed and told them to run the test, she also told me there was no known drug for a cure and that it was 90% fatal. I asked the vet to contact Carol and let her know what was going on. (On two previous conversations with Carol regarding the giardia issue, she was abrupt and didn’t want to talk to me, so I asked the Vet to call her.) At little while later I heard back from a tech telling me that Carol was going to pay for the last blood test and wanted my phone number because she wanted to know what was going on. I thought her asking for my phone number was odd since she has it on the contract.

Later that afternoon I ended up taking him back for more hydration and with vets consulting, they decided to try an anti inflammatory shot to bring down the fever and maybe help his lack of appetite. He perked up for a couple of hours that evening, sniffed the food, licked a very miniscule amount and then crashed and slept.

That same evening I talked to Carol, she immediately asked why I didn’t call her first, and she reminded me that the contract says the breeder doesn’t have to pay for any veterinarian bills. I told her I tried to talk to her about the giardia issue and she told me that that wasn’t a disease it was a parasite and all cats have giardia. She asked about two neighbor cats that show up at our back door for treats and inferred that the FIP could have come from them (were they still alive?). These cats have had absolutely no contact with the Ragamuffins and are healthy, outdoor cats. She had also questioned us that the giardia could have come from the outdoor cats; again they have had no contact with our Ragamuffin kittens. Again she said I should have called her and she would always take a kitten back. I told her I would talk to my husband and let her know. The conversation was getting very unpleasant and I wanted to get off the phone. After thinking about the situation overnight, we decided to give the kitten back to her for several reasons -1) we thought she would take good, loving care of him, and 2) we didn’t want to be the ones to watch him die and 3) we were concerned about the other kitten getting infected. (Vet tells me there is no conclusive test for FIP until they actually have the symptoms, most cats carry the coronavirus but their healthy immune system takes care of it.)

I texted Carol the next morning and told her we would give him back because we wanted what was best for the kitten and asked her to bring a carrier to work and I would drop him off when she got off. Carol called back several hours later and said she needed to prep her house since she had two pregnant cats before she could take our kitten. She also said had found some drug for FIP on the Internet, which supposedly had an 80% cure rate and she had asked the vet to order it for her. Turns out the drug she had found only had a 5% success rate, so I don’t know if she got it or not. The kitten was still very lethargic that afternoon, so I called the vet and asked if I could bring him back in for more under the skin hydration and called Carol to see who was going to pay for it since she was taking him back. She told me she could take the kitten after work and for me to drop him off at her house after the vet. Five minutes after I arrived at the vet, Carol walked in, said nothing to me and took the kitten from my arms and back to the exam room. She was totally insensitive to the fact I was very upset and concerned about my kitten. Two techs witnessed the whole thing and came over to comfort me because I was sobbing. Carol came out with the kitten in her carrier told me she would hydrate him at home and feed with a syringe, paid the bill and walked out without even letting me say good-bye.

I texted Carol the next day and asked how he was doing…no response. Vet called me on Friday (she was not aware that I had given the kitten back to Carol) and said test results were inconclusive, not positive nor negative but in her professional opinion based on the symptoms he had FIP. She said she would call Carol.

I called Carol on Saturday to ask how he was doing and she very abruptly told me I “gave up the kitten for money, the kitten was hers and the vet was not to share any information with me”. She told me to never call her again and hung up.

I would not recommend this breeder to anyone. She has been hostile, unresponsive, defensive, and insensitive. This whole experience has left me with very serious doubts about breeders in general. She was very friendly and helpful when we were interested in purchasing a kitten but everything changed when the kittens got sick. I would also be concerned about giardia and FIP still being present in her home since she denies any responsibility for them having it when we got them. I would avoid Broadway Darling Ragamuffins and Carol Ohlund period.

More Broadway Darling Ragamuffins Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ki
    Kittyowner Sep 08, 2021

    Although our kitten is healthy I have NOT had a pleasant experience with Carol and would Not Recommend buying a kitten from her... unless you want to co kitty parent with someone for the rest of your kittens life.
    We got our beautiful kitten and about a month later got a message stating we needed to bring her back to get her shot... I had already told her we’d have our own vet. Due to unforeseen circumstances (a very ill family member) we moved back to our home state and when she texted me asking me to set up a time to return to her I told her this. She completely flew off the handle and demanded I send her photos of my family with the kitten... first of all, I’m not sure who spends $1800 on a kitten and then leaves it behind and I have no idea what she was implying, but when someone demands I do something it doesn’t sit well with me.
    I did send her the vet visit proof and she immediately called me and left a 2 minute message telling me due to the stress of moving and the kitty getting the wrong vaccine (she didn’t get the wrong vaccine- I trust my vet more than a breeder) she was going to die within 2 weeks and she was so sorry to give me that news. HELLO STRESS!!! It was Friday and I couldn’t call my vet due to it being after 5 pm and a holiday weekend. Needless to say- I talked to my vet Tuesday morning and they confirmed she was given the correct vaccine according to state law... she had also called my vet!!! They had come to the same conclusion that I did. I’ll keep my opinions to myself but warn you to PLEASE Google and see the reviews from others for yourself. I wish I had...
    There are SO MANY other breeders. I am not a first time pet owner and I’ve never had anyone behave this way.
    Even if something happened to our kitten I would NEVER get another kitten here, whether it was free or bought... I don’t care about a health warranty. our kitten is so loved and not replaceable but the stress of dealing with her... no thanks. Get your kitty elsewhere.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chantel AIMEE-Wolkins Jun 25, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also purchased 2 kittens from Carol Ohlund at Brodway Darlings. I never wrote a review tell of my experience despite the EXTREME heartbreak and her owing us $500( I am not counting the hundres in vet bills or the thousands she owes the other families)because I sensed something was wrong and beyond her control. However, I have since realized that I have a responsibility to warn people of how difficult it is working or not working with this person. In part because of our experience with her, we became RagaMuffin Breeders ourselves. In addition to the multitude of health problems included in the many reviews from devestated families, Carol claims to be a "certified" RagaMuffin Cattery. There is no such thing. In order to be a RagaMuffin Breeder one must have a cattery registered with ACFA and CFA as well as belong to one of 3 RagaMuffin Breeder Societies/Clubs. Because of her poor breeding practices and reputation, Carol has none of these affiliations despite her continued and dishonest display of the badges on her website. Anyone is able to check these statements with a little research.

    Recently, Carol posed as a customer asking about my lines and I gave her very general answers because I knew who she was(caller ID). When I finally told her that I knew who she was and that no one is allowed to sell her sires ir dams, she went on a tirade insults, insinuations, threats, and misperceptions. I felt like I was in the Twilight Zone. I asked her repeatedly to show the thread to someone who cares about her and have them help her with the situation. I had to calk the other breeders she claimed to be filing a lawsuit with against me...( for what I am still not sure but there is no way a lawyer would find a case in all the confusion) They told me they hadn't spoken to her about anything and said not to worry because everyone knows her and how she is and noone is going to join her in any lawsuit.

    I have the entire thread from when our kitten died of FIP in 2018 (6weeks after we got her... so the whole time we had her we were watching her die)and the whole thread from last month. The conversations are so ugly and lacked compassion-and sense) Please research the other complaints and call the American Cat Fanciers as well as the Cat Fanciers, The RagaMuffin Kitten Breeders Society, and RagaMuffin Kitten Breeders United Club BEFORE you buy a kitten from ANY breeder to make sure they are REGISTERED and belong to a club that will keep them accountable to their cats and families. Thank you. If you want or need full details to help you in a situation with Carol or Brodway Darlings, contact me. Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kittyowner Sep 08, 2021

    @Chantel AIMEE-Wolkins I wish I’d done my research- my husband actually started googling after our horrible experience and started reading the reviews to me! What was I thinking?! I’m usually so good about researching. So sorry you had a worse experience than we did... our kitten is healthy (so far) but dealing with her is not pleasant and I’d never recommend her to anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Havasugal Oct 06, 2019

    We purchased a beautiful female from carol in July 2018 6 months later she died . We took her to emergency vet did everything we could to save her. Had a autopsy done and tissue reading which Carol demands to prove it was FIP but she said she never got that information which was sent twice along with vets number. She was very rude the day we had to put our kitty down and a week after telling me I was unreasonable and she would not work with us. We just wanted a refund 1800 dollars is a lot to spend on. Kitten only to have it die of FIP and by reading g the other complaint it’s obvious it runs in her liters . We have since bought a lil male tuxedo from another breeder and he is wonderful but watching him grow and play it makes me sad because our lil girl never was playful always laid around never acted like a kitten she was sick when we picked her up.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chantel AIMEE-Wolkins Jun 25, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Havasugal You can just read the anger in everyone of her replies. I am so sad for you and all the other families that had this happen including my son. He LOVED that little girl so much. I have never had someone be so mean. She started to pay us but I "didn't cash tje first check fast enough" she told me I was stupid and crazy and wasn't going to work with me anymore.

    Salt in a very deep wound

    0 Votes
  • Br
    broadway darling Aug 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Breeder comments. Nicholas filed a complaint with the BBB and when it was set for arbitration he with drew his complaint. This service is free, but if your lieing as he does a lot, the truth would have came out. I wish he would have followed through and exposed his lies.

    -3 Votes
  • Nr
    NR86 Aug 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @broadway darling Nicholas withdrew his complaint due to the unethical breeder working for the BBB and lending a high degree of manipulation on her end. He decided to go against her in the court of law instead. The breeder's supporting organization removed her from good standing, and the CFA is considering doing the same as well due to the 6+ kittens that were sold with genetic defects from this cattery. Avoid at all costs.

    3 Votes
  • Br
    broadway darling Sep 02, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @NR86 Another lie . There were 5 kittens effected 2 family's have folowed their contract and are very happy with their new kitten and both have also bought an additional kitten. They are all doing well! Alex fails to tell that his kitten was first seen for fluid on the brain from a head trama while in his care. If the fluid had been there from birth the kitren would have died shortly after birth. This has been confirmed by a veterinarian. He is no saint in this matter.

    -2 Votes
  • Br
    broadway darling Sep 02, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @NR86 To say the BBB can be manipulated is slander against a 100 yr. Old not for profit organization that helps consumers. Alex do you think they don't have attorney's that sue people like you for slander. You have opened a big can of worms in so many ways you just don't get it. But you will.

    -2 Votes
  • Ca
    Catlover1717 Feb 22, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    She works at Phoenix Bbb file a complaint on line with BBB

    1 Votes
  • Nr
    NR86 Jan 01, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please email me when you can! We had the same issue with Carol and I've hired an attorney in your area. [email protected] Thanks!!!

    2 Votes
  • Ca
    Catlover1717 Feb 22, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @NR86 Not all breeders are bad unfortunately she's giving a black eye to the real ethical caring breeders. I found out she works at Phoenix BBB office. File a complaint online with BBB and you might get a resolution.

    1 Votes
  • Nr
    NR86 Aug 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Catlover1717 Resolution taken to court of law, multiple other families are considering this path as well that bought sick kittens from her.

    2 Votes
  • Br
    broadway darling Sep 02, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @NR86 No one has taken the breeder to court, lies, lies, lies

    -2 Votes
  • Br
    broadway darling Sep 02, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Catlover1717 Or you might get sued for slander like Alex. Don't join the crazy man call the breeder and get the truth. [protected] carol ohlund

    -1 Votes
  • Ha
    Havasugal Oct 06, 2019

    @NR86 Can you please share any information you have we had very similar experience with a kitten who we lost to FIP . Carol was rude and ugly regarding whole issue

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Havasugal Oct 06, 2019

    @Catlover1717 She no longer works there

    -1 Votes
  • Ki
    kitcat12 Dec 31, 2016

    That is awful! What a horrid women! I hope your female kitten is doing okay.

    1 Votes
  • Br
    broadway darling Aug 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @kitcat12 Read notes below from the breeder to learn the truth.

    -4 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.