BMG Music Servicefraud/larceny/breach of contract

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

BMG Music Service is a subsidiary of Direct Brands, Inc. http://www.directbrands.com/

I was a member since BMG Music Service was RCA Music Service in the early 80's and back then you could get vinyl or cassette. I signed up for their "2 Free For Life" program, which entitled me to 2 free albums (at the time, either vinyl or cassette, later CD) every year I was an active member.

In March of 2009, Stuart Goldfarb, President BMG Music Service, sent a letter stating BMG was going to cease operations and any remaining gift certificates needed to be redeemed by May 31, 2009. I filled out my remaining "2 Free For Life" cards and sent them in, 3 weeks in advance of the drop-dead date. I also included a printed document that had the same information on it. All was sent from the counter of my local post office, because I figured the letter was overweight, which it was. Since I had not seen anything by the end of June, I decided to contact BMG Music Service to see what the holdup is. Imagine my surprise when their Bonnie Chiffer, Diana Rogers, and Parker Simpson of Customer Service claimed to have never received the order. That's pretty convenient of BMG to have lost the letter, rather than honor their contract.

More and more people are posting this same horror story on Rolling Stone's website: http://www.rollingstone.com/rockdaily/index.php/2009/03/10/12-for-one-cd-deals-no-more-bmg-music-service-ends-in-june/

Responses

  • Re
    Rebecca Blain Jul 23, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received in the mail a shipment from BMG Music Service a Music CD, country Carrie Underwood.

    I had never heard of BMG Music Service, never been to their site (until today looking for a telephone number) and I certainly never ordered anything from them. The fact is, I don't order music, ever. If I want it I go buy it.

    The CD came with a billing to my proper name and address on the label, listing me as a NEW MEMBER though I again have never had the first dealings with them. I have picked up on the Internet, the fact they are now a part or are in total Columbia House who I do order MOVIES from occasionally. I am assuming my name has been either passed around that way if it's true the companies have merged or passed around from other Internet shopping which makes me furious. The internet is not always what it is cracked up to be when it comes to honest business dealings.

    I don't appreciate having received the shipment and I don't appreciate my name on their shipping list for their music and I really DON'T APPRECIATE BEING SENT and BILLED FOR SOMETHING NEVER ORDERED FROM A COMPANY I DON'T HAVE BUSINESS DEALINGS WITH IN THE FIRST PLACE.

    0 Votes
  • Ur
    Ursula Jan 30, 2009

    My brother received a cd in the mail around march, thinking nothing of it he left it in the spam bin at our house. Then in mid may they send a bill saying that he owes $29 for the cd and some service agreement.

    When I called the customer service to inquire about how they got the info of a kid who is 10 years old mind you. The came up blank, they were more intrested to get their cd back and not answer the question.

    After asking if I had gotten the cd which I said I had, they told me to ship it back(like I would waste pose for some POS) with me paying the postage.

    I said that I would send the cd only if they sent an RMA package.

    I really gotta wonder how these people stay in business if they have "Open Billing"(As the CSR said). Why anyone could sign anyone up for service.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shellellabell Apr 30, 2009

    It says that I bought $30.56 worth of music from BMG music service which has now been purchased by West Bay Acquisitions. I NEVER ORDERED ANY MUSIC! I called the company years ago saying this. They said they took care of it. This is ridiculous. I never bought any music and I'm not gonna pay for it either!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shoesx Sep 02, 2009

    That's such a horror story. 2 cds, likely from terribad artists. Oh noez. :{

    0 Votes
  • Si
    sissysissy Nov 11, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am so angry I just check my credit report and BMG is on my report for $193.00. I never used this company. I don't have anything to play the music on. I called NCS. Rep Zoey ansered the phone. The moment she took my info she was so rude on phone. Zoey kept saying I was interrupting her when she was interrupting me. she wouldn't listen to me. treated me like I was a crook and their was no possible way their records where wrong.
    She said I must have forgot I ordered from BMG. after all she said it was in 2004. She said I had items delivered to my address in 2004. I said I wanted to file a fraudulent report for the BMG company.
    She was screaming at me and kept saying to me you want to report your address is false. I kept telling her No it's my address now but not at time she said I used the company. so then she kept say OK then you owe it because it my address and my name. . I was getting no where with her I hung up. Then i called back. expanding to the new agent who put me on hold with out telling me then Zoey came on the line.
    I tried explaining to her I didn't move in to this address till 2007. Zoey just kept yelling at me.
    I just ended up handing up on her again. I then Filed a grievance with Experian. Then I called back and was talking to someone else they kept tranfering me to the original lady Zoey.
    I tried to be nice to her but she was so MEAN. I mean Evil. my blood pressure is sky high. I hung up.
    Then I called back tried asking her questions she wouldn't answer them then kept yelling at me.
    now at the top of my voice to get her to listen to me I asked her if I did used the company in 2004 to please give me the address it was sent to. she said she couldn't verify it. She just got meaner. she said she just only has my present address.
    She again wouldn't let me talk to the point I was screaming to make her listen to me.
    The loader I got the loader she got to drown out my voice. I have never have been treat so bad.
    By this point I called her many bad names and asked her how could she sleep with her self. Zoey said very good thanks.
    I just hung up crying and shaking.
    How can someone be so mean to the point to make me acted so badly because of her actions.
    I again called tried talking to her nicely and calm there was no use.
    She would n help me at all. Like I was a theft. I ended up calling her again told her I was recording her.
    Zoey said they don't participate with other recording and hung up on me. She can record me but I cant record her.
    I think legally I have to tell her she is being recorded.
    I dont know what to do.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephanie Boswell Nov 11, 2009

    They did the same to me as well in 2002 i had charges from them have never been with that company are even to know what they have done . I called them and info them that i was not the person they owed them anything. I info them that i need a address of were i can get the information of the address was used . It took alot of head ache but finally i got it off my credit .

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob Jun 16, 2010

    YOU have a VERY strong case against this "ZOEY" and NCS. Before it's too late, you MUST get legal help.
    I am not a lawyer but I do use a VERY good one in these types of cases and I NEVER lose. If you are serious, and I believe you should be, [email protected]
    You may be entitled to a money award. I think you are.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.