Bidz.comsteer clear of buying from bidz.com

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I would never buy from this auction site again. Jewelry is not at all the quality that they attempt to portray on their site and their return policy is where they really make their money. It's inferior to what you would find in Walmart.

They state that they charge a 15% restocking fee for returns but it's more than that. Shipping charges are high in addition to another substantial fee charge they call a trans fee. All these are non-refundable even if you return items even in the same condition that they were received. How much labor is required in restocking small jewelry items? Their site clearly states it's a 15% restocking fee and yet they charged me more than 15%.

I would advise anyone shopping for jewelry to steer clear of buying from bidz.com.

Responses

  • Li
    Liz Watson Apr 16, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased several items from bidz and am very disappointed in the quality. I hope that I am able to sell these items and get at least some of my money back.

    I purchased a ring on Jan. 12, which never arrived and it took until Apr. 2nd to get a refund. By the time I got the refund, I had lost $44 on the exchange. Quite an expensive lesson, I think. Needless to say, I won't be buying from this company again.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    janice cohee Jan 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Purchased 2 inexpensive items sent back next day during XMAS 2.5 weeks later still no credit Purchased pippo watch received with no warranties the pinkstraps were stained black and one of the time zones did not work. Sent back immediately .Wait to see what happens. Promised a refund plus trans fee and [email protected] . mau dispute the charge before I pay off my charge. Purchased a fannoable watch - came in excellent condition purchased peridot earrings - they were beautiful. Its hit and miss Still waiting to see about hou they are in returning credit. Until than...

    0 Votes
  • Tj
    TJ Johnson May 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband is a Master Jeweler and he and I have a combined total of 30 years experience in the jewelry industry.
    When an associate of mine told me about Bidz.com, naturally I was curious. The first thing that I was taken back by were the highly inflated retail prices on ALL of their jewelry.

    For example, they often have a multi-colored gemstone flower bracelet in gold which they show with a retail value over $2000. Not the case...the HIGH end retail on this bracelet is around $400 and can more often than not be bought on sale at a reputable store for around $250...I have seen bids on this site go much higher.

    Being curious, I bid on 2 items. A large sapphire and diamond ring, which showed well in the picture. Almost too good. I bid a little over $200 for this "$3, 000" value and won. I did receive the item in a timely manner, however, it was NOTHING like the picture. The sidestones advertised as pink tourmalines are not. (low grade pink sapphires) The "I1" clarity I colored diamonds are not. They are all milky and there is no shine at all to them. At best they are drill bit quality.

    The only thing I can say about the ring that came close to the truth is that it is white gold...but not the 14k they advertised.

    I also made a bid on a 4 ct. citrine and diamond ring at the same time. The mounting isn't right for the stone, it's almost too large in the frame because there are gaps surrounding the stone on the head that should not be there. The diamonds? Same junk grade as the sapphire ring.

    I would not purchase here again, and I strongly suggest that anyone thinking about making a purchase does some comparison shopping at some of the reputable jeweler sites like Kay's, Whitehall's, Zales etc. My husband's laughter over the junk I bought still rings in my ears! The junk sits in my jewelry amoire in the bottom junk drawer!
    TJ Johnson
    Alabama

    2 Votes
  • Bi
    Bidz.com May 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Tj,

    It is very unfortunate to hear that you have not been satisfied with our merchandise.

    The “Compare Price that is shown on the auction page is not the retail value of the item. The Compare Price is based on what we believe to be the maximum prices other jewelers advertise online for similar jewelry items. This price in no way reflects worth, suggested retail price or an actual advertised price. This information can be found in our help section.
    Customers must always keep in mind that they set the price. We also do not make the merchandise; all of the merchandise is purchased from liquidators and or companies closing, etc.
    All of the item description is provided on the auction showcase, if you have purchased something and is not as we described it to be, you may return it for a refund.

    Please feel free to contact us with any questions and or concerns, we are more than pleased to assist you.

    -1 Votes
  • Ba
    barbara Jul 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a ring on may 8th and the ring never arrived, now that i have sent thousands of emails complaining they only wirte the same ### and i live in central america, they're telling me to send he paper work via Fedex and that would cost me like $30 US dollars which is not cheap at all, i keeo wirting to them and now they wont anwer. I am so ###in pissed off!! i dont know what to do!!! this is major BS!!

    1 Votes
  • Rb
    r. breen Sep 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    this is a criminal enterprize and they prey on the foolish. what i cannot understand is how they can operate in the us. i would never buy from any american website again. I got bidzed

    1 Votes
  • De
    debbie Sep 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    the stuff sold on bidz is nothing short of junk, wear it a time or two and it breaks, what a rip off

    1 Votes
  • Sk
    skamkiller Mar 15, 2009

    Bidz.com spams craigslist using redirect sites such as auction.ult5.com and jewelrybidsite.com.

    2 Votes
  • Th
    thegigisup Apr 04, 2009

    Don't forget isaybid.com which spams the heck out of craigslist.

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    G.Hooper Apr 14, 2009

    Bidz.com should be removed from trading. They misrepresented the quality of the diamonds in a very expensive ring I purchased and when I contacted them for a response their only course of action was to attempt to put a halt on my paypal account. If I ever visit the USA I'll be sure to pay them a visit!!

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Katherine Apr 21, 2009

    I have done business with bidz.com many times. I have never had a customer service issue, because I have never had to contact their customes service department. I have always recieved exactly what I was told I was getting, and recieved my items in a timely manner. I work in a very labor intensive job and wear my engagement ring every day and have not had any problems with it (e.g. stones falling out, scratches), it is as lovely as the day it was purchased 2 years ago. My experience has been that bidz.com offers quality products at reasonable prices, I buy several pieces from them each year and have found that it is a excelent way for someone of limited means to build a nice little jewlery collection. I am going to post this on all the complaints against bidz.com as I think that people should hear another side of the story, so I have covered some problems not mentioned in this post.

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    Bidz.com Apr 24, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Gary,

    We would like to take this time to offer you our most sincerest apologies. It is very unfortunate that you have received a defective item. Please know that Bidz.com offers a Buyers Protection Plan.
    As our customer, we believe you should feel good about your purchase. We provide you with detailed descriptions and pictures so you can make an informed decision. All of our items are backed by our 100% Money Back Guarantee. If you receive an item that is not as described we will issue a refund in full.

    For further assistance you may always contact us via Live Help, write an email at [email protected] or call our toll free number 800-444-8124.

    3 Votes
  • Ge
    Gem Junkie in Omaha Apr 26, 2009

    I agree with posters stating the quality often tends to be the lowest end of acceptability. Buyer beware. Pay attention the gram weight (a penny weighs about 2.5 grams), a diamond should have a clairity of SI1 or better, don't pay more than 92% of the compare price unless there is something about the piece making it irresistible to you. Their own explanation of the compare price idicates it can't be taken seriously "The Compare Price is based on what we believe to be the maximum price other jewelers advertise online for similar jewelry items. This price in no way reflects worth, suggested retail price or an actual advertised price."
    My first Bidz order had a mix of rings, pendants, bracelets, necklaces and earrings. I was pleased with most, disappointed in a few but that was my own fault as I hadn't learned to paid attention to gram weight. Even so, I didn't over pay by a dime and learned what to look for in future purchases.

    0 Votes
  • De
    deborah1805 Apr 29, 2009

    i have bought several times from bidz.com. Even this week i had one ring valuation here in australia of over $5, 000 for an aquamarine and tormuline ring around 6 cts plus white gold. i paid bidding with bidz $500 u.s. dollars plus fedex $49.95 and was delivered within 7 days.

    I have had several orders, but i only go for the quality items, i bought my daughter some cheap items she's 13. but they are what you get.

    more than happy with it all, going on again today to try get some white gold and diamonds...deborah1805 my bidz

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    wiz1369 May 15, 2009

    I have purchased many items from BIDZ. I was extremely happy with most. I have had to return 2 rings...one was not the size ordered, and the other had broken stones. I only got a PARTIAL refund.

    0 Votes
  • Lv
    LvlyWords May 29, 2009

    I've just spent the last hour or so reading the complaints about bidz.com, the online jewelry (and I use that word loosely) auction site. PLEASE, if you are tempted to spend one penny on this low quality (no quality) jewelry, let me advise you that you would be money ahead to just set fire to your money or flush it. You can go to WalMart or K-Mart and find better quality. AND don't even try returning the junk for a refund.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dorisgal Jun 19, 2009

    This is very true. There is no quality to this jewelry. You will not receive it "as described, " and you can forget about returning it becuase you won't get your full refund. The shipping and handling they charge you is absolutely ridiculous, and then in order to return the garbage, you have to pay again. It cost me $15 to return the garbarge that I purchased from them, and I am now fighting to get my correct refund. I really wished that I had checked the complaint websites and the BBB before I got sucked into getting ripped off by this pathetic excuse for a company. Someone really needs to do something with companies like this who think that it's okay to be deceptive and claim that a customer's satisfaction is their top priority, when it is the last thing they really care about.

    1 Votes
  • Xc
    xcellent Dec 15, 2009

    I have made complaints to the Better Business Bureau, the Attorney Generals Office, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and the FBI through their Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3). Please, if you have any evidence at all of possible fraud or just complaints about the way this company does business, I encourage you to do the same as I have, make complaints to the authorities. I have also just now, put in a complaint to the Federal Trade Commision.

    0 Votes
  • Xc
    xcellent Dec 15, 2009

    Thing is, complaints here are valuable in informing people about the unscrupulous dealings of Bidz.com but best thing we can all do, is start making complaints to the relevant authorities and by flooding the directors of bidz email boxes.

    Complaints can be made to...

    The Los Angeles Police Department. [email protected]
    The FBI, IC3. https://complaint.ic3.gov/ctf.aspx
    Federal Trade Commission. http://www.ftc.gov/
    Better Business Bureau. http://www.bbb.org/us/
    Securities and Exchange Commission. http://www.sec.gov/
    US Department of Commerce. http://www.commerce.gov
    And anyone else you might think of. I have!

    Bidz directors email addresses are...

    CEO / David Zinberg. [email protected]
    President / CTO / Leon Kuperman. [email protected]
    CFO / Lawrence Kong. [email protected]
    COO / Claudia Liu. [email protected]
    CCO / Larry Russell. [email protected]
    Vice President / Executive Secretary / Marina Zinberg. [email protected]
    Auctions Manager / Vilius Zukauskas. [email protected]
    Don't bother with customer services, there's a contradiction in terms. Go directly to the top people and flood their email boxes.

    Don't forget, when approaching the authorities, where you can, provide any evidence you have. Emails, photographs, copies of bidz web site pages, anything that might be relevant. Join me in a campaign to bring these fraudsters down, it is time we did.

    Cheers,
    And I hope you all have a very merry Christmas.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angry and fustrated! Mar 08, 2010

    Like everyone else I got into buying from Bidz.com thinking I was getting a deal on jewelery. Wanted to buy my husband and son some nice gifts. When I went to cash out one of the more expensive items wouldn't come off my order no matter how many ways I tried to cancel it before I made my purchase so I bought it with the rest of the stuff and called them to cancel that one item...they said they took it off and that they were sending me the others. Well it's been over a week and in the mean time I purchased more items. Today I looked up my first items and they never took off my high priced item! Not only that when I went to track those items FedEx has no record of it anywehere. Now I am on these review sights reading some horrifying stories and REALLY regretting getting sucked into this fraud!!! I could really kick myself!

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slinnky Mar 09, 2010

    I have two orders that where paid for and never delivered. I have phoned them sereral times and have never received an answer from them. I have asked for return phone calls and have never received an answer as of yet, three weeks and still waiting.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuxted Mar 12, 2010

    Well I certainly hope all these comments are not quite accurate :( I just made a large purchase on bidz. It will be a few weeks before I receive my stuff so I'll keep you up to date Thanks to the person that supplied all the complaint addresses. I have a feeling, I may be using them.

    0 Votes
  • Im
    imanobody2u Apr 06, 2010

    I have made several purchases from BIDZ since the beginning of the year. To date only two items have been junk. I didn't return them because the shipping would have been more than what I paid for the items. My brother has also made several purchases and has had a problem with too, also. One necklace arrived with the clasp already broken and the stone or inset fell out of a men's ring. Again, not worth the cost to return because of the price of the items.

    I discount the "retail" prices on the items because they are inflated - probably about 30 - 50%. I won't bid on diamonds from this site as 1) I don't have enough knowledge and 2) I'm wary of the quality of the diamond I would receive.

    I am not nor have I ever been an employee of bidz.com or their sister site buyz.com.

    0 Votes
  • Im
    imanobody2u Apr 06, 2010

    Oops, my brother has a problem with two items, also (not too; should've checked the spelling before submitting but I think the sentence is understood.)

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    pliz0324 Jan 08, 2011

    I am in the EXACT SAME BOAT...I am super pissed. I ordered my items on the 21st of December. and was told I would have them by the end of DEcember. Now I am being told they haven't even been shipped out yet, and that I won't have them until next Tuesday or Wednesday. I told them I was going to start a class action law suit against them if they continue with this BULL [censor]!!

    1 Votes
  • Og
    ogamralax Jun 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi
    I am for South Africa
    I would like to know if you would Recommend me to bid and buy on Bidz.com?
    Has anyone had bad experience with them?
    Im looking to buy from them...would appreciate the reply

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bidz.com Jun 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Customers,

    Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your purchases and your experience at Bidz.com. We assure you that we treat all customer feedback and suggestions seriously. You may always contact us directly for any assistance by phone, email or bold chat. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this might have caused. After packages are shipped, we provide our customer with tracking number and carrier’s timeframe period for delivery. If it exceeds the timeframe period the next step is to contact us to file a claim to open an investigation on the undeliverable/missing package.

    We sincerely thank you for your input and would like to hear from you regarding this post or any other concerns at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bidz.com Jun 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Customer,

    Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your purchases and your experience at Bidz.com. We assure you that we treat all customer feedback and suggestions seriously. You may always contact us directly for any assistance by phone, email or bold chat. We have revised and updated our policies to improve and provide 100% satisfaction to our customers. We stand by our merchandise 100%. In case you receive a defective item or an item not as described, you may return for a full refund. We do apologize for the unsatisfactory experience you had at Bidz.com. We hope you will take the time to visit our site again to allow us to provide you with excellent service.

    We sincerely thank you for your input and would like to hear from you regarding this post or any other concerns at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned Citizen For U Jul 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Read this! Its Free advise !If you buy for Bidz, buyer beware. The stuff you buy from this website, is lower in quality as a whole. I have been a buyer for a long time. I will go to the Federal Trade Commission if I do not get my problems solved, I work with the FTC! I promise, they can not and will not continue with inflated prices, its a lure that is purposely fraudulent to the unknowing! You can contact your credit card and report a fraud claim against Bidz. Do NOT use a debit card, use a credit card. Do not use cash and money orders where they can be lost and or reversed. Credit card companies will get enough complaints and shut Bidz down. If you buy something from Bidz, and the quality is not what you think, dont be embarrassed or ashamed of your misfortune, its not your fault, pictures get brushed and they use light to make the products to look better. Simply call your credit card and tell them, you have been "de Frauded"! Period and end of story. If Bidz doesn't do the right thing, then your credit card can put a block on Bidz from using their cards. If there are enough red signals from the merchant account systems, they will be forced to investigate, and they can get sanctioned and prosecuted for wrong doing! Those powers at the higher are responsible for this, and can be held not only civilly but legally! They can go to prison for running any type of scam! You have 30 days to return the item, you must call the customer service number and there is a place on the web site to return items. You must get your stuff looked at by a reliable jeweler. It doesn't cost anything to go to a local chain and have it inspected! Its FREE!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bidz_auction Aug 04, 2011

    Dear Concerned Citizen For U,
    Thank you very much for providing feedback about your experience with bidz.com and we would like to apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. We are sorry that it took some trial and error and that you feel you were mistreated. Fortunately by submitting this comment, you have helped us make a change for the better. We would like to solve the unresolved problems you have mentioned and change your opinion about Bidz.com. Please contact us at [email protected] and we will be more than pleased to assist you.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bidz_auction Aug 04, 2011

    Dear gkenigmatic,
    Thank you for contributing to this review with your comment as it helps us to improve our service. We would like you to know that we do have a 30 day return policy which means if you received something you do not like or in damaged condition you can return it for a full refund. When it comes to photos, all of our items are photographed just the way we receive them. The only difference is that the images are magnified 10-30 times the actual item size, this is because we want to show our customers the smallest detail of the item. In case you have any questions regarding this post or concerns in general please do not hesitate to contact us at [email protected] and we will be more than happy to assist you.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    hollyclairebear Aug 16, 2011

    I purchased a ring and paid shipping in total 45.00. They said the item was shipped but the tracking number just showes awaiting collection in culver city. In 2 weeks it never updated. I asked what was going on. They told me that a refund would be processed within 10 days. I waited and filed a dispute with pay pal. The next day I got a letter saying 2-3 business days. I still have not received the item or my money and bidz has disabled my account. This company is not worth the time or effort. I wish i had followed my instincts and not bothered.

    0 Votes
  • Lj
    ljm69 Aug 25, 2011

    i have a friend here in NZ who paid just over $700 us dollars for a ring. On its arrival 7 days later she went to have it valued at a high market jewellery store and valued prices was over $6000 NZ$. I have just recently purchased a ring for $100 US$ and still havent received it as it is week 3. Apparently it takes like 4 - 5 weeks to arrive, because it was my friend time I was not sure what delivery too use.
    I hope I am as fortunate as my friend...watch this space.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bidz_auction Aug 30, 2011

    Dear hollyclairebear,
    Thank you very much for providing feedback about your purchase and we apologize that you were not satisfied. Upon further investigation of the issue we would like to let you know that your order was shipped on the day after it was placed and it appears that it was lost in transit by the carrier. A claim was filed for a lost package and a full refund issued back to the original payment method. The reason why your account was temporary deactivated was that we were informed by PayPal that a dispute was filed. As of right now your account has been activated, full refund issued and $10 store credit added to your account for the inconvenience carrier caused you by losing your order. In case you have any questions or concerns, please to do not hesitate to contact us at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gayle davis Nov 23, 2014

    I have purchased several watches and have been very pleased. It doesn't matter what sight you are on most items are usually inflated. I always go on the internet and compare prices before I bid. All in all I like this sight

    0 Votes
  • Co
    cocopupcakes Mar 17, 2015

    I have just recently started buying from Bids.com, I bought a couple of watches as gifts, rings, and earrings. All as gifts. I hope the quality is better than the complaints that I have just read. I called the customer service line today 03/26/15 and asked when I would be receiving the items. Two have been shipped, the other rings she said were custom made and would take longer to ship and that all of the items would be shipped together (whether the other items were in stock or not). My concern again is will I indeed get these items. She said that she would send me an e-mail that I never got, outlining the shipment date of the other items. I will see what the rings look like when I get them in a few days. Then decide if I will cancel the other orders.
    Disgruntled new customer. I fear for the amount of money that I have spent and may not get what I paid for, Plus I was to get $10.00 off an order over $199.00 and they don't tell you how to get the discount? YIKES, I am really worried now.
    Beverly Hall - New customer from Canada.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Gary Pallotto Nov 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Beware of ads posted on Craigslist that are Schills to get you to go to Bidz Auctions. They post an item at a very cheap price then tell you its sold but they got it on Bidz auctions and you can also by following the link. You should flag these ads immediately. Such a turn off and reeks of bait and switch.

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    MJohnsonDale Jan 05, 2019

    I have seen a lot of bad reviews about this company but decided I would still give it a chance. And I'm not disappointed at all because I got an amazing watch which I won in auction. It's the same as described and the item even came on time.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Cranor Jan 13, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @MJohnsonDale You are lucky. I am hoping for a good outcome. I won an auction for a watch on December 22nd but haven't received it yet.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Cranor Jan 13, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Karen Cranor Also, I can't even access the website now to see my order. It just keeps telling me the site can't be found, the IPS address can't be found.

    0 Votes
  • To
    tony reddish Jan 22, 2019

    I would like to know how long before I get these items.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem