The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Bi-State POSBad business practice, poor service

Bi-State Point of sales solutions


I have recently purchased a P.O.S. system from them and these people give service a bad name. They came to install the system without having the menus programed and without the necessary hardware to complete the job, months later I still do not even have wall plates for the cat 5 cables to connect to. I let them temporarilly run the cables on the out side to be able to function but thse guys never even had the necessary equiptment to begin with. I have asked them to get the software issues corrected with my delivery drivers and their response was for me to wait for them to contact the software company that wrote the software and get a solution, of which Im still waiting months to get even a phone call to keep up to date. They sold me on the idea they were local and have been around a long time doing pizza restaurants like mine and yet basic functuality of this sysem is showing otherwise so I have contacted the software company myself and got no where execpt to find out that Bi-State was new with them, so the sales rep lied about their experience with this software and set up. I have had computer programers tell me it looks like we were a beta test site for thes people. We have yet to settle this nightmare.

Responses

  • Me
    Mel Welch Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In March 2013 we sold the current cash registers to Harold Simpson of the Hoopeston Dairy Queen. He and his family were long time customers and he was one of the finest gentlemen that I have dealt with in my 39+ years in business. The last service call from Harold was in 2013 while the cash registers were still under warranty.
    On Tuesday, July 12, 2016 at 7:28 P.M. Lisa left a phone message on our after-hours emergency line. Our technician on call returned her call several times but kept getting the busy signal. The next morning—Wednesday, July 13, 2016 at 9:58 A.M. Lisa called our office and stated that there had been a power outage and she was getting an error message and unable to use the cash register.
    Due to the severity of the issue it was necessary for our technician to call the manufacturer for a solution as there was no documented solution for this particular problem. At this time our technician called Lisa back with the solution, walked her through it and had her test the system to assure that the cash register functioned correctly—which it did.
    Power outages, especially the electrical surges created afterwards can be devastating to electronic equipment.
    It is most unfortunate that this customer chose not to contact us directly to discuss the charges. Our after-hours emergency line clearly states that calls are chargeable and our technician did explain that the call was chargeable.
    Like any business including the Hoopeston Dairy Queen we need to charge for our products and services.

    -1 Votes
  • Is
    islandhammock Jul 25, 2016

    I called for a simple trouble shooting fix ( clear out totals) by instructions by phone15-30 min and was billed$210.00 for it!!! It took forever to get through their phone lines as well. Not happy will be switching service.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Mel Welch Feb 27, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This complaint is from Charlie Chung of CDS—a credit card processing company. Charlie is a credit card processing salesman and not a customer of our company. Unfortunately, this is a result of a communication misunderstanding between Charlie and a new owner of a business. This failed relationship is strictly between Charlie and the business owner and does not involve our company.
    His consistent calls with his unprofessional, abusive and bully behavior to our staff is not tolerated by our company.
    In order to avert duplicating this issue I recommend not using Charlie or his company.
    Mel Welch

    -2 Votes
  • Ch
    charlie724 Feb 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bi-state POS is a joke. I have been trying to get a hold of Mel (who seems like is the only person who knows anything about POS) but the lady that always answers says she will take a message. It has been like this for 3 weeks with no return phone call and me leaving a message pretty much every other day with the lady that answers the phone. After waiting 3 weeks i got really frustrated and actually took my frustration out on her saying their service was horrible. She then asked me to write a "Letter of apology" if i ever wanted to speak with their company again... LOL what a joke!!! This place has the worst customer service and both the lady and Mel when I spoke with him one time when I first contacted him have a horrible attitude. I would not recommend working with them in any manner.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bi-State POS Solutions Oct 17, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Unfortunately when we first met with Brad McCaslin of Rivals we were unable to secure leasing for him. He placed an order and through our generosity we devised a short term payment plan of which Brad never made one payment on time nor did he ever pay an invoice on time. He was as rude as rude could be to every person on the staff at Bi-State POS Solutions. Due to his abusive behaviour and vulgar language to both our technical staff and female office personnel he was dropped as a customer. Also, we have proof that the pos system was used for accessing web-sites that were the cause of the viruses that were found on the system and removed by our technicians.

    -1 Votes
  • Ri
    RIVALS Sep 05, 2014

    I have the RM POS system through Bi-State and would say the program works as described. The problem lies with the customer service provided by Mel and his less than top notch team. The office manager is rude and doesn't have a clue about customer service. Mel was quick to call back when he wanted paid but now is unreachable. I paid over $16, 000. For my system with multiple printers, terminals, and ipods. After a year the ipods don't work and half the time the printers don't either. I called them to get help and was billed over $500.00 for a 15 minute phone call. They said the computer had a virus which I find comical as the computer isnt even used to get on the web. Just seems strange to me that the problems would start after my warranty period is up. Seems to me that it wouldnt take much for them to log in and create a problem so that the business owner is forced to call and pay these outrages rates. After reading these complaints and after my experience I wouldnt put it past this company. DO NOT USE BI STATE POS

    0 Votes
  • Rh
    Rhonda Kowalski Jun 19, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I Purchased a system through Bi-State for our new restaurant. This transaction took place in mid November and we were scheduled for a January opening. Mel Promised there was plenty of time. We sent all of the programming information to him in early/Mid December. I had to constantly contact him to see where were at and to see if we were on time with installation and training. He was HORRIBLE at getting back to me. Finally, we scheduled training and installation for the first week of January. Then he contacted me to say he didn't have all of the information for programming. We kept resending him the information and he kept coming up with reasons why his programmers could not finish the programming. I told him he needed to be clear with exactly what he wanted from us, because we were now to the point where he was delaying our Mid January opening (after two months of getting the run around with him) He told me he was insulted that I would question him and his business ethics. Needless to say, we could not get support from him during the setup so we told him we were not comfortable going into a long term business relationship with him as there was an obvious lack of communication and trust. He basically told me I was screwed because he wasn't returning my equipment and I was locked into a lease. He hung up me. He would not return phone calls or emails. He took a $5300 down payment from the leasing company that I have to pay back because of personal guarantee. He has the money, all the equipment and we had to open our fine dining restaurant on cash registers. We eventually went with another supplier, who was able to successfully program our new system with no issues within two weeks - using the same information we supplied Mel. He is a liar and crooked business man.

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    bi state pos is a joke Oct 29, 2013

    i purchased a business that was using bi-state for their pos system. the system was less than a year old and bi-state was impossible to deal with. their customer service is a joke! they got their money and left us in the dust. no support, no training...nothing but a "we are very busy, i cannot help you with those issues!" basically, they got the money and ran. i spoke with the owner, mel, about problems we were having with his system and he told me he could help me if i gave him my credit card number!!! we ate the $10000 and went with another pos system. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Wi
    willenium84 Dec 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to take the time to apologize to "Mel" the owner of Bi-State Point of Sales for the negative comments above, as we have found a solution for my problem with the system I purchased from Bi-State Point of Sales. I also would like to explain that I was having a very tough time in my personal life with the loss of a Brother at the young age of 38 years, furthermore it could have been prevented. I also had a couple other issues with the business that I own, and it all seemed to crash down at once, and unfortunately Mel was the recipient of my anger and frustration. I could have simply avoided my last issue, had I backed up my information daily. I can't blame Bi-State for there prices, as they are simply in business for profit as all businesses all. I am pleased to say; my Relationship with Mel is mended, and I look forward to resuming our business relationship going forward. I recommended Bi-State in the past, and I still recommend them now. I have grown very fond of this POS system, and to be without it has been a very large pain. Again, I am sorry for the negative comments I made towards Bi-State Point of Sale, as Mel can't be expected to be responsible for my own personal losses.

    Billy- Ridott Corners Tavern

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Freeport, Il Sep 14, 2011

    Yeah, the company Is listed in the dictionary under "dishonest", and that is just one word there associated with! I have had nothing but problems with this company, except there good at finding the problem with faulty hardware-(always the customers fault)!!! You can't even talk to a tech without first paying $95.00 for the first 30 minutes. Also, it sure does take a surplus of tech hours to fix the most elementary hardware issues. 1/2 hour job- billed for at least 4 hours! Many promises on the sales pitch, after purchase, you mean nothing! Vague training(if any at all), and worse yet, the employees can't stand the lying owner Mel, as that came right from there mouths, and also admitted that he lies to customers all the time! Stay clear of this place! $7600.00 nightmare, and the computer just crashed for the second time, it will only be another $2500.00-says Mel! What a crook!!!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nano17 Mar 19, 2011

    The whole company is a joke, I finally switched to Delarosa in Chicago because restaurant manager threw them out. What a different, I have no more issues now.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    duc1098 Jan 22, 2010

    I agree, we also have Future POS through BI-State POS. there service is a disgrace.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.