The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Ameristar CasinoHarassment & Retaliation

As an employee with the company, I was constantly being harassed by my supervisor. I reported 3 separate incidents to my manager, only to have the supervisor get worse after each complaint because he knew that I was complaining about him. When attempting to voice my fourth complaint to Human Resources, I was fired instead of getting the chance to explain what happened to me. Ameristar is not concerned about it's employees and would rather fire someone than listen to what they have to say. I have since filed a lawsuit against the company for retaliation.

Responses

  • Wt
    wtf Apr 04, 2009

    your lawsuit will be dismissed in any case, so dont waste too much time and effort on it.

    Remember, HR is not there to help the employee. They are they to help the company in dealing with employees who have issues. If you didn't get the outcome you wanted after the first complaint, you are pushing it to keep bringing the complaint up to HR - they were more than generous in letting you make 3+ complaints about the same issue. You should have gotten the hint after complaint #2 went unaddressed ...

    as you then continued to take up HR's time with an issue they clearly didnt plan to do anything about, they had no choice but to remove the problem employee -- which was you

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spouse Apr 16, 2009

    Ameristar Managers are allowed to bully and intimate employees. HR decisions are made utilizing only one side of the situation...you are given your final check before you are given complete due process . Managers who show respect to their subordinates are forced out. Our legal adviser informed us that the "Employee at Will" law in Missouri protects big businesss; thereby preventing legal action. If your law suite is in Missouri, , , we would like to know..so we can join in. It's a cut throat business. Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whistleblower Apr 19, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    wtf, you comment saying that the author of this thread's lawsuit will be dismissed. I would like to know why you feel that way. This person was wrongfully dismissed. He/she had a right to complain to the manager, then to human resources. You see, freedom of speech allow someone to speak their mind.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whistleblower Apr 19, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    harrassedbyamistar, you did the right thing by standing up for yourself. I commend you for standing up to bullies. Bullies always thrive off of fear. They love to see people intimidated. I hope you win your case and set an example to that corrupt business.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unfairly treated Oct 23, 2009

    Ameristar HR in black Hawk does not care about their employees. i am warning anyone against working there. The manager of HR is slow to getting things through and doing her job. She will fire you if she made a mistake to cover her own ###.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Q. Publi Jan 08, 2010

    You can still sue Ameristar. Don't listen to the comments on this page that are trying to talk you out of pursuing a lawsuit against a big company. "At Will" employment does mean that you cannot protect yourself from the company that employs you. It means you can walk away without being held responsible for leaving your job description unfulfilled. It also means that the company can fire you without giving you a valid explanation as to why you were fired. Here's the catch, the company CANNOT fire you for any reason that can be considered descrimination or for retaliation. If the company fires you because you filed a complaint against your supervisor then you've got a valid and legitimate complaint and lawsuit. I would pursue this with an experienced employment attorney.

    0 Votes
  • Jw
    JWhater Feb 01, 2010

    I agree sue them I'm having the same issue and I work at Cactus Petes! Ameristar is a bad companynand they are going down hill fast!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Un-impressed GaL Mar 04, 2010

    **** The committee team at Ameristar Casino in East Chicago, IN walk around with their nose stuck up in the air with their pen and pad in hand and write down some of the most ignorant complaints ever !!! If someone is fat and you complain to their supervisor that their pants are tight then obviously you can't tell that every fat person you see will always have clothes that do not fit right !!! If you get the size too small than what u normally wear they will be too tight... if you get a size too big than what you normally wear.. guess what !!!??? It is too big and loose !!! So what are you trying to accomplish here just by arguing on someones appearance... !!! !!! Get real !!! I hope Ameristar gets these lawsuits and these employee's win their cases... Its not right for an employee to get complaints on their appearance and eventually get fired for it... Sounds like discrimination to me !!!

    Oh and what ticks me off... They complain about every little detail on an employee... nails... hair... clothes... dont wear to much jewelry... dont do this.. dont do that !!! You guys act like that will interfere with someone's work performance..!!! These customers dont care about that crap.. They care about winning big !!!

    P.S. If you fire my mother... ** God is on our side... so watch out !

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary VonKruppen Aug 08, 2010

    Ameristar has long been known to be a pretty screwed up company. To my amazement, the most important sector of the company - HR - seems to be very undereducated. Their knowledge of the basic employment laws borders on teenage immaturity, resulting in retalliation actions, to include firing anyone who seems to be in the "Know". Such a person is considered a threat. Why do you think they have not been able to incorporate the Union - simple - they literally, outwardly threaten their employees.
    Sadly todays economy is such that people have to put up with waaaayyyyyy too much. Hang in there folks - it will turn around - when that happens - go after them - you have the right to explore the option of joining the union - that is a federal law.
    After a family member was fired for filing a work comp claim and observing their idiotic process and lies - I saw all I needed to see.
    I hope each and everyone of you will win your lawsuit and will win big.
    As for the gentlman above - with derogitory remark - he has to be an Ameristar HR employee. What a loser.
    Good luck to all!

    0 Votes
  • Gd
    GDB3028 Mar 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Now they are treating "Elite" card members with arrogance as well. Check it out at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TfIcpxV_GrY

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alexseven Feb 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently stayed at Ameristar for the weekend of my birthday. My girlfriend and I arrived on the 27th of January and checked out on the 29th. On the morning of the 29th we had slept in late so by the time we woke up houskeeping was knocking on our door. Being in a rush we grabbed all of our items as quickly as possible and rushed to get out of the room. I had forgotten items that I had just received for my birthday and when I called to see if housekeeing had found them they had mysteriously disappeared. I spend hundreds of dollars at Ameristar in there casino and on the room and they have the nerve to steal from me on my birthday, rediculous. If anyting can be done it would be appreciated, disgruntled customer.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Madziu Nov 14, 2012

    I worked for Ameristar for many years. Over the years I observed how this company requires 500% commitment and they don't care that people have family and life - if you are sick you can't call off, you want vacation "maybe next year because for the whole summer we have Buffet promotion". This company cuts more than possible, they do everything as cheep as possible but when corporates visits they spend thousands of dollars on food, limo and entertainments. Managers never listen to their employes and HR department always works on finding issues and trying to get people in trouble. HR doesn't help people!!! I left this company because I couldn't work for people who lie and full don't care about people, they only care about $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$!!

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    CMorrison Mar 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On March 9th, 2013, I took my son who had just turned 21 a day before to experience walking through the Ameristar Casino. I as his mom, told the front entrance security guard it was his birthday and we handed him our ID's. When we went through and stopped to see the Craps table, I again asked if staff could give my son some directions since he had just turned 21 and he was here for the first time, they quickly called security and wanted his ID. I was and still am beside myself with the distasteful way they ruined my son's birthday experience. Frank Bailey did not even apologize for their mistake and personal injury. I am going to seek an attorney to sue the Ameristar. The will have to pay for my anguish!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mandy449 May 26, 2013

    I completely agree. I worked for Ameristar for over 8 years. I was a bartender with tons of great guests service comments documented. I was recently fired for "overpouring". I don't even know how this is possible since the liquor is already premeasured and comes out of a computerized gun. I mentioned that during my firing and they then retracted and stated it wasn't for over pouring it was for serving people too fast. I asked them what was too fast and could not get a clear cut answer. The security director said faster than every 20 minutes. The manager said faster than every 25-30 minutes. The HR lady said over two drinks in an hour. No one has a clear answer on this. I also asked to see the tapes because I planned to take legal action and they would not provide me with them. I also know of at least a dozen other employees whom serve way faster than I do who still work there. I talked to an attorney today and he said I have a good case. He says I was discriminated against because of a workplace injury that happened months before on faulty equipment that should've been fixed. Two other employees were also injured on this equipment. When the manager was told about the dangerous equipment she laughed it off and made jokes about our injuries. There is some shady stuff going on at Ameristar. The managers that work there are undereducated and have a high school mentality of bullying their employees. They are obviously not familiar with workplace laws on harassment and discrimination.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions