Having problems with AmeriCredit?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

1800 644 2297 (Customer Service)
801 Cherry Street, Ste. 3500
Fort Worth, Texas
United States - 76102
Mon7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tue7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wed7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thu7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Fri7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sat7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
SunClosed

Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
American Credit Services — Payday loan payment scam

I was contacted by this company in regards to a payday loan, & they also called my work saying that a...

American CreditHarrassment

They are calling all my family members and screaming at them. They are threatening me with charging me with harassment. They are saying that I owe for a payday loan that I believe was paid already. When I called back to get information sent to me in writing they refused. they said they would email me with the information. I asked several times for company name, phone #, address and fax # and they have refused to give it to me. They hung up on me.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Ga
      game changer Nov 26, 2013
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      These people called my job 5 times in one day. Spoke to my manager first. Manager request that he not call again then call ask for my supervisor told her that. He and the police were comin to arrest me she took his name and number gave me 30minutes to call when I did he told me he was det. Champon he has warrant for my arrest he td me wit was for a loan that if u made an agreement to send him 250 dollars twice a month I told him ok (just two days before someone else call) I gave him a pre paidpaid debit card like he ask. I called the number back two days later they never heard of him
      But he called today am gettin me a lawyer to get this settle

      0 Votes
    • Always be alert Dec 06, 2013
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      Never pay a debt collector. You should each go to a consumer attorney in your area. You can fins one at www.naca.net. Tel them everything that happened.

      0 Votes

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    AmeriCreditRipoff

    Even though it was in 2006, I was only one month behind on my car note with AmeriCredit with hopes of catching up my car note in January. I was sitting at home when this guy knocked on my door and asked for me. He told me he was here to reposses my car and I said WHAT!!! I didnt argue with this man I let him take the car. He told me I should have gotten a certified letter regarding the repossesion, did not receive it until days later. Thank goodness I only had a couple of months left and I borrowed the money to get my car back. I was humiliated and appalled about this mater because my car at that time was not even 30 days late. If I ever have to be financed for a car and Americredit was one of my options I would tell them forget it.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      Americredit Financial Services — Unlawful fees after I paid off car loan

      I purchased a car from Lou Sobh Pontiac in Dec 2005, I paid this car off 2 weeks ago and now they are saying...

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      AmeriCreditamericredit evil soulless creatures

      Back in 2002 I obtained a very high interest auto loan from them. My monthly payments were about $650 which was about the same as my rent at that time. Money was very tight for me until this loan was paid off. About 6 year ago my wife suffered a 3rd trimester pregnancy loss and almost died, she was severely anemic for about a year afterwords, while our oldest child was in iraq. Unfortunately, this caused us to pay the payment late. Recently we asked them to please do a good will adjustment on their reporting to the credit bureaus and they refused. They insist on reporting this one and only 30 day late payment from 6 years ago continuously tarnishing my credit. What kind of soulless creatures to have such disregard and absolutely no human compassion or understanding? We paid them their late fees, and we paid them more in interest than the car cost, that is not enough for them though, they are truly the most evil company I have ever in my life witnessed.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        We are here to help

        • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
        • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
        • Honest and unbiased reviews
        • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

        AmeriCreditIllegal collection and harassment practices

        I have received excessive harassing phone calls at all times of day and night from AmeriCredit. At one point, I had more than 70 saved messages from them on my voicemail. They are relentless. They additionally call my work and just today called my siter-in-law (we made a payment only 10 days ago). At one point, a buddy of mine answered the phone and they told information on our account to him and even discussed my inability to pay, etc. They have even called my 13 year ancient daughter and discussed account details with her.I had to have them remove my work number from their database as they would call 10+ times per day from 3 different numbers. We additionally disconnected our home phone due to excessive and threatening phone calls. One conversation, the executive even called my husband a loser and a *ick. I am flabogasted. What can I do? I've tried to get a deferment but they will not give us anymore or work on lower payments, or refinance or anything! I've requested another copy of my I want to file a complaint about their illegal and harassing collection practices. I would additionally like to note the outrageous interest of 23% and their unwillingness to waive any late fees of $30.00 per month while we are getting caught up. The engine in our 2001 Jeep blew and we had to take another loan to replace it, so are now behind 60 days. They will not work out payments or other options. I additionally cannot refinance this loan due to wording in the contract. I've had this loan for 3 1/2 years and only owe $6000.

        I find it outrageous that in this recession and with all the new debt programs and various consumer help to help consumers that the company is capable to still charge outrageous interest, practice unethical business and harass consumers.

        What are my rights and how do I file a lawsuit with other dissatisfied customers?

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          • Co
            coloradosaleeby Jul 29, 2010

            I have received excessive harassing phone calls at all times of day and night from AmeriCredit. At one point, I had more than 70 saved messages from them on my voicemail. They are relentless. They also call my work and just today called my siter-in-law (we made a payment only 10 days ago). At one point, a friend of mine answered the phone and they disclosed information on our account to him and even discussed my inability to pay, etc. They have even called my 13 year old daughter and discussed account details with her.I had to have them remove my work number from their database as they would call 10+ times per day from 3 different numbers. We also disconnected our home phone due to excessive and threatening phone calls. One conversation, the representative even called my husband a loser and a *ick. I am flabogasted. What can I do? I've tried to get a deferment but they will not give us anymore or work on lower payments, or refinance or anything! I've requested another copy of my

            I want to file a complaint about their illegal and harassing collection practices. I would also like to note the outrageous interest of 23% and their unwillingness to waive any late fees of $30.00 per month while we are getting caught up. The engine in our 2001 Jeep blew and we had to take another loan to replace it, so are now behind 60 days. They will not work out payments or other options. I also cannot refinance this loan due to wording in the contract. I've had this loan for 3 1/2 years and only owe $6000.
            I find it outrageous that in this recession and with all the new debt programs and various consumer assistance to help consumers that this company is able to still charge outrageous interest, practice unethical business and harass consumers.
            What are my rights and how do I file a lawsuit with other dissatisfied customers? Please email or call Thank you.

            0 Votes
          • Ce
            CEMY May 04, 2011

            I too get the same type of calls Americredit call all day 5-8 time a day
            I too would like too get in on the class action lawsuit due too the indue phonecalls my answer machine get full due to Americredit calls what if any thing can we do

            0 Votes
          • Tu
            tuckty Jun 20, 2012

            I had the same exact experience with these frauds! I will NEVER deal with Americredit/GM Financial ever again!!! I would strongly advise anyone about to get a vehicle loan with these loan sharks, DON'T DO IT!!! Run away fast!

            0 Votes
          • Sh
            shellbellz183 Feb 02, 2013

            Hi,
            I too have huge PROBLEMS with Americredit. Ugh. I actually e-mailed a class action lawyer today to see if maybe I/We have a case. I could e-mail you or send you a comment on here when I hear back from them.

            0 Votes

          AmeriCreditwithholding informaiton

          Americredit! What a joke! I have been a great customer for over 5 years, payments ON TIME...NOT ONCE LATE!!! I am trying to get a business loan and needed them to send me a payment history. I call and ask for the documents and they tell me that it takes 10-14 days before I received them...Long story short...It has been over three weeks now and I still DO NOT HAVE MY PAPERS! I have called the so called "customer service" for the past week asking where and when did they send these documents (THAT BELONG TO ME)? They claim that they had sent them over a week ago through the postal service and they have no control over what the postman does...THEY ARE LYING! DOES IT SERIOUSLY TAKE OVER A WEEK TO GET A LETTER FROM TEXAS TO OHIO? HELL NO! I receive packages from all over the country...PACKAGES, I say and it has never taken a week to arrive!! The Americredit customer service department has treated me like I'm a deadbeat and a loafer as well as talk to me as though I have never made payments. They ignore questions, constantly interrupt, are disrespectful, and could really give 2 ### about helping anyone! They are just like so many other loan company's TAKE TAKE TAKE and never give you what you ask for as well as "PLAY [censored]ING stupid" when you ask for a simple task to be done. IT's amazing how smart they are when it comes to stealing and pilfering your money. NOTE: To anyone who is desperate or otherwise...never ever go with this company because they will treat you as the common criminal and KEEP all of your money no matter how good or bad you are as a customer!

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            American Credit ServicesDo not fall for this

            On Friday 5/22/09 'Andy Hunt' from American Credit Services called my place of employment. He told the secretary that the number I had supplied to him had been disconnected and asked her for my phone number. She obviously did not tell him and he asked her to have me return his call at [protected]. She sent me a message immediately. I already knew something was wrong because only my close family numbers have my work number for emergencies only. I called the number back and asked to speak to Andy. I was told I was talking to attorney 'Joe Brown', and that Andy was his assistant. I asked what this was in regards to. He said he was from the Crime Monitoring Division of ACS and that this issue was time sensitive. 'Joe Brown' had a very heavy accent and was hard to understand. There was lots of background noise as well. I requested to speak with someone else because I could not understand him very well and he said he was the only person I could discuss this with. He first asked me for my lawyer's information. I told him I didn't have a lawyer. He had all of my personal information including my home address, email address and the last four numbers of my SSN. He told me that I had an outstanding debt with Fast Cash International for a payday loan in the amount of $300, and that they had tried to contact me several times over the phone and had also sent 17 emails. He gave me my previous bank name and an account number that the money had supposedly been deposited into. Flags went off again as my accounts with that bank had been closed for almost a year and the account number didn't match. He said that because I did not pay it back I now owed almost $5000 in late fees and penalties and that he needed to read me an affidavit before he could continue with the conversation. I told him to continue and he informed me I was being charged with Violation of Federal Banking Laws, Check Fraud and Theft Deception in the court of California. If I did not comply with him the information would be faxed to my employer and I would be served papers on Tuesday morning (Monday morning being a holiday, Memorial Day) along with a letter that would terminate my employment. 'Joe' continued on saying that I would lose my job, my driver's license, all of my credit/debit cards and never be eligible for loans or mortgages in the future. He also said I would be going to prison if I didn't comply. He even said that two of my references would be sued because of this. He was extremely condescending and rude and would not let me talk. I immediately began panicking because I had never taken out a payday loan from this place. This was the first time I had ever even heard of them! He continued on, saying I had the right to seek legal counsel and that the only way to avoid going to court would be if I paid an OOCR (Out of Court Restitution) of $986.00 immediately. I told him I could not pay that. He told me then that I should enjoy the Memorial Day weekend with my family because I would never see them again after Tuesday. He went on to say I would have to pay $1900 in court fees plus bail and any transportation costs because Tuesday morning he would be sending two of his investigators to pick me up from work. I asked him if I could call him back in half an hour because I wanted to speak with an attorney. He said ok but that I better call him back as promised as our call was being recorded and if I did not return his call I would be in even more legal trouble. I immediately spoke with some friends and family members and also researched this 'ACS' company on the internet. I first searched the phone number and found out it was a land line phone. I also went to the bank and had them look through my account history and they found nothing. I found this site and immediately felt relieved that this was a scam- I had a feeling it was but with the information he had (I'm still trying to figure out how he got my work number!) and the personal information he had I was very concerned. I contacted my aunt who is a lawyer and I also contacted her father as he works for the FBI. I called 'Joe Brown' back and told him I could prove that I had never received the money. (I wanted to see what he'd say.) He said that he had all the proof he needed to take me to court and that he had never lost a case, that this one would be no different. He said shame on me for taking out a loan and not paying it back and that this was stealing. I then told him I knew it was a scam and that while it was a nice try, I had contacted my attorney, the FBI and would also be calling the police. He quick said 'See you in court!' and disconnected the call. When I tried to call the number back again it was busy. DO NOT FALL FOR THIS! I called the police right away and they said several of these scams have been going on lately. I also reported them to the Department of Homeland Security and I will be filing a report with the Better Business Bureau. This is really scary.

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              • Av
                avis mints Jul 01, 2011

                You did the right thing reporting these con artist, hopefully justice will be served. You should also file a claim on scam books website. If enough complaints are gathered scam books legal team will file a complaint on your behalf. This is so typical of these pay day loan scams...

                http://scambook.com

                0 Votes

              AmeriCreditThis company is a rip off and they do not honor their word

              My girlfriend in Las Vegas fell a couple months behind on car payments to Americredit. She contacted them to make some type of payment arrangement to keep car from being repossessed. They (Americredit office personnel) agreed to accept a payment from her by Wednesday of that week. On Tuesday of that week she stopped at her home in between errands for less than five minutes and in that brief time her car was towed. The tow truck drivers did not want to hear anything about a payment arrangement that had already been made with the home office. After towing her car, Americredit sent her a letter that her car was going to be towed to New Jersey for a car auction. She will be charged all towing miles from Las Vegas to New Jersey, amounting to several thousand dollars. And they are adding storage fees and other fees to that. This company is a rip off and they do not honor their word. If you cannot honor your word, then you have no honor. Instead of working with their customers in these difficult, economic times they make matters worse. I recommend that no consumer should get involved with Americredit. If you do, proceed at your own risk as you have been warned!!!

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                AmeriCreditTrying to rip me off

                I sent mays payment in early and an extra 7000 dollars for principle only i have been paying on this truck for 6 yrs never late i got down to 8872.11 so thats when i sent the 7000 extra so i could have only two payments left i called to make sure it was put to principle only and they said they took intrest out of it i told the no its all for principle what am i to do now they said i still owe 1900 and i dont i only owe 1300 someone please tell me what am i to do can they do this i thought if i said principle only thats what they had to do.

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  AmeriCreditLoan payment tacks extra fees and does not work with me

                  I have two auto loans with Americredit. My first complaint is that I cannot trust them to credit a check by mail in a timely manner...therefore I do not know WHEN to mail them a check. If I mail the check 7 days before my due date it is like playing russian roulette, it may get there by the due date and if it is before the due date they process it immediately (I LIVE PAYCHECK TO PAYCHECK AND CAN'T HAVE THAT HAPPEN); OR it gets there late and they tack a late charge on it even if it was only 2 or 3 days past the due date. IF I pay by phone or online I am charged a $5.00 fee. They are constantly charging me more than I owe them EVERY TIME.

                  Second Complaint: When I purchased the second car they made my due date on the 15th (I bought the car on the 18th so they back dated the loan)...I told them I couldn't make payments on that day and asked them to please make it the same day as my other car loan. They refused and have now created an extreme hardship on me, it is like they are setting me up for failure.

                  They are rude and unhelpful on the phone. Something needs to be done about this company and their underhanded ways of charging more money than is owed.

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    • Sh
                      shellbellz183 Feb 02, 2013

                      Americredit does the same thing to me. They also make it look like I send in two payments every month to cover one payment so one is 'always' late and I get hit with a late fee! I'm not sure about yours, but on my contract it says that there is a 10 grace period so they aren't supposed to hit me with any ridiculous late fees if i'm 2-3 days late. They do anyways...but I won't give up until I get my money back!

                      0 Votes

                    The complaint has been investigated and
                    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                    Resolved
                    AmeriCreditwrongful repossesion and 16.99% apr

                    I am from Compton, Ca. I purchased a Hyundai 2007, brand new car, on Feb. 21, 2007 from a dealership near I lived. The MSRP is for approximately 12500. I was not even given a rebate. The dealership gave me a brand new car which I didn't intend to trade in my Chevrolet Cavalier. The Cavalier was still under warranty when the dealership offered a new car to me instead of fixing it under the warranty. I needed a car because of job purposes. Oftentimes, my job requires me to go 120 miles distant in one day depending on the job contract. Not to mention that I needed to go there very early morning. I was already paying $326.76 for approximately 43 months. Off course, that is their business, they included
                    a late fee which added to my monthly payments. On February 3, 2011, I made an agreeable payment arrangement to pay $175, that is the remaining monthly balance for the month of January. They said that I was in default that is why they repossessed my Hyundai Accent. I didnt want to argue by telephone because that is just a waste of time for me to do when I told them that I did not have $715 to reinstate my car which they told me the only way that I can have my car back is to have paid that amount of $715. I do believe in good judgement not based of anything beyond the subject. The subject that my car Hyundai was suppossed to be mine and yet they took it and wrongfully repossessed. I was the ONLY one paying my car for my own under my own name. No lender paid, not even a dealership, had paid a single penny for the monthly payments. I want to be involved in this class action lawsuit against Americredit because their unfair judgment under their establishment failed to give me a fair consideration after paying them for 43 months and WRONGFUL REPOSSESSION.

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      Americredit Auto FinCompany is a Rip Off

                      I got a loan with Americredit back in 2005 on a 2004 truck.The interest was at 17% very high at the time. I have made every payment on time, have never missed a month.I called them in Nov. of 2010 to see if they could help me by lowering the interest rate since I haven't missed any payments and have been on time every month.The truck will be paid off in 1 1/2 years. Their reply was we don't have a plan in place to help people lower their interest rate even if they have been a good customer. If they can't help a good customer, Don't help the Company to get rich off off the backs of people who really try to do them right.

                      Add your opinion

                        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                        The complaint has been investigated and
                        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                        Resolved
                        AmeriCreditPain in the butt/not reasonable

                        Oh my what did we get into!! We have a six year loan (paid on it for 3 years now) and still can't figure out why we did this to ourselves. My hubby is military (no I am not looking for special privileges) and has had nothing but harrassment from this company since day one. For the first year we were late twice so with our taxes the next year we called and ask for the late fee amount and paid it. Somehow the fee's are still on our account til this day even after many repeat calls to them to take it off. Now we are behind two payments due to loosing my mother (travel expenses and her funeral) and having a government garnishment. We cannot afford all our bills and groceries (we all have hard times so dont pretend everyone is perfect and pays everything on time). I have called them after 20 calls per day and told them we will pay what we can towards the account but cannot make a full payment til after January (tax season). The rep I spoked to agreed and seemed to understand. Not 24 hours later the manager calls me and hounds me. Tells me I need to give him all this personal info and give a checking account number with check so they can take the payments out of our account. What dont they understand we have no money.I will not give out account info for them to cause us a returned check fee. I will make sure their is food for my children before making a van payment. I felt like I was phone raped (if ever a phrase) by this manager. He made me feel like I was not trying hard enough or making excuses not to pay him. First off we are paying on it, just not a full payment. Second I do not appreciate them calling me 20 times a day and then when I do answer they want other phone numbers since I cannot answer my phone. Well if they would just make notes on the account then I wouldnt have to repeat myself 20 times a day to every rep that calls me. I dont like the idea that we make $300 payments and only like $50 goes towards the actual van, the rest is interest. I should have investigated this company before using them. I think them reposing the van is better than the constant calls. Also since when should we be charged more money to make a payment. We are already paying the bill so why charge us to make the payment, $5 here for check by phone, $10 for western union, etc. Thats like a rip off I think. I dont want to be charged to make a payment. You should be rewarded for making it not charged more.

                        Add your opinion

                          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                          • Li
                            littlemama025 Dec 08, 2010

                            Yes Brenda we were aware of all of that. However its a form of harassment when they call you 20 times a day. Seriously if I do not have the money why would I have it 30 min later and another 30 min later??? They should limit calls to once a day since they have to place the calls. No real point to making more than that.

                            0 Votes

                          The complaint has been investigated and
                          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                          Resolved
                          American Credit ServicesFraud/scam byAmerican Credit Services

                          As I read the others emails, I recognize all the same "lines and tactics" except for the fact that when my son hung up on them and then called them back, they started calling the home phone threatening my son's life, my daughter-in-law with rape and death. Using extremely foul language. They threaten with the law, using legal terms that are not of this country, they say things like we will see in court in two days, hmmm, like how many cases go from arrest to court in two days? They called again today, refused to give me the account number for this so called loan, says it was with Netloanusa which is not a lending company but one of those that gather your info to send to the lending companies. Refused to furnish me with copies of the "legal Proof" he had before him, stating that was not his job to do. When I asked for the number of the lending company supposedly involved he gave me this number [protected], that I typed in as he was calling it out to me, it went back to a complaint board about American Credit Servies, strange since that is who he was calling from...hmmmm. The number listed on my caller id was [protected]. I would sure like to hear from anyone that actually was arrested by these folks, they are so honest--NOT. People, please do not send any money to these leeches, if you are really scared/upset contact law enforcement, a lawyer, someone, anyone, just do not send your hard earned dollars to these blights on our American way of life.

                          Add your opinion

                            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                            • Th
                              tholland Jun 09, 2011
                              This comment was posted by
                              a verified customer
                              Verified customer

                              They now have a new number [protected] and the person is named Justin Brown. I started receiving calls in 2010, first tell them the call is being recorded and ask for their Badge Number. They changed their company name, but if it has anything to do with law enforcement they should have a badge number. They are now calling them selfs American Credit Services and that I was going to be sued at a Courthouse. I called and asked what courthouse my attorney needed to meet him at, because they were very eager to speak with him in person. He then told me it would be transferred from the Washington Courthouse to a Texas Courthouse. What an idiot!!

                              0 Votes

                            AmeriCreditHarrassing phone calls & third party disclosure

                            I am currently two months behind on my car loan payments with Americredit. Having been unemployed for 24 months, with no income but unemployment benefits, I am having a tough time keeping up. I am now receiving six calls a day, six days a week, from Americredit on both my home and cell phones. In addition, they are now calling my parents - and get this, they tracked down my father at his new job, leaving him an urgent message to call them regarding an emergency with his daughter. He called them and they then went in to detail about my delinquent account and requested that he provide them with all contact information he had for me. They then called my mother at home and did the same to her. Please, someone tell me this is illegal business practice. Where do I go to get help to stop Americredit in their tracks? Help!

                            Add your opinion

                              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                              • Aj
                                ajpaa Dec 03, 2010

                                Pay your bills or return your car!!! I know times are hard but there is no reason you deserve something you aren't paying for! Ride the bus!

                                0 Votes
                              • Lo
                                longreese01 Dec 03, 2010
                                This comment was posted by
                                a verified customer
                                Verified customer

                                Why should he pay? Americredit is an arm of GM

                                When GM pays it's bailout money back this guy can pay his bill.

                                It's against the FDCA to contact anyone other than the people listed on the loan.

                                It's a slipperly slope with this if they have never spoken to you but if they have spoken to you they are not permitted to speak to anyone else not listed on the account.

                                0 Votes
                              • Vi
                                vipurr Dec 04, 2010

                                I am a third party reference for an individual on a loan and never gave permission to be Americredit's debt collector. They call my business cell phone constantly. I haven't even spoken to the person that used me as a personal reference for ages. This is total BS harrassment to bring in parties that aren't even involved with the loan. Hope they get sued. Why are they not getting fined for using loan personal references for their debt ccollection? They should send me a paycheck for my cell phone minutes. They are stealing from me as far as I am concerned!

                                0 Votes

                              The complaint has been investigated and
                              resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                              Resolved
                              AmeriCredit Financialthey illegaly repoed my car

                              About a month ago, I was on my way out the door to go to work, I said bye to my wife and son and headed out the door only to find my car gone. Shocked I got ready to call the police when my wife said to call americredit to make sure that it was not taken and upon calling them my account number was invalid and had already been removed from there computer. Appearentley the account was 86 days past due when my latest payment was two weeks prior to the reposestion. When I asked them how much it cost to get it back and they said it was roughly 1400.00. They also said that I had 5 days to pay or it was going to auction. So I scrambled to barrow the money from family members because this is my only car and when I finally got the money several hours later and payed them, they told me that it was in a tow yard 50 miles away. After I payed they told me that I could go pick it up and everything was good, so I barrowed my moms truck, drove down there only to find out that they lied once again and I had to have a repo release from my local sheriff's dept. So having no other choice, I drove back home got the release and drove back to get my car. My car had already had all of my possesions removed ready to be auctioned. When I got the car home and I called americredit back to see if they would deffer a payment to compensate for all the miles of driving and the 1400 dollars I had to pay, they had the nerve to start bugging me about what date I was going to have my next payment in. I am extremley fed up with them and would like to sue them but I cannot afford a lawyer let alone have the time to take them to court. I am at my wits end with these people and I don't know what to do.

                              Add your opinion

                                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                • Valerie Jul 28, 2008

                                  The company is making a fortune on the backs of those who are trying to resolve debt. It must be owned by attorneys who really know how to make the vulnerable bleed. They have repoed my vehicle (I told them to come take it) but it has remained in my yard for 2 weeks I should charge them rent. One payment late and they send out the attorney letters and they bill you for their time. This country supports loan sharks. They have so well recovered any risk they take it is ridiculous. It takes people without any morals to operate this kind of company.

                                  0 Votes
                                • Valerie Oct 22, 2008

                                  After five years of paying a chevy astro van with americredit sometimes late we also talk to representative of the lates for payments we got never repo in those instances but short of the last 3 payments my vehicle got repossesses and short after the vehicle was redeemed and paid in full.

                                  That was in may 2017 and was reported to the credit bureaus as repossess when it should of been paid close still equifax has it reported as repossess and also trans union and my credit report scores keeps going down specially equifax. I am in the process of buying a house and they are questioning this as an explanation of why is repo if it is paid in full.

                                  0 Votes
                                • Kl
                                  Kler Jan 15, 2009

                                  Americredit I think is a non american company, why after with them almost 2 years I became disabled.asked if they could defer i mayment they said no. I explained my situation but it did not matter.I asked if was a american owned companyshe said that was not irreavant.so there for once my loan is payed off never again amricredit.your only intrsted in one thing money not people you may hurt. I do not know where they got the name americredit but it should be called evilcredit.and thats the truth. please exuse my spelling but you get it i am sure god bless america.

                                  0 Votes
                                • Ja
                                  jayl Nov 19, 2011
                                  This comment was posted by
                                  a verified customer
                                  Verified customer

                                  Talked with Americredit on October 27, 2017. I am 5 months behind on the loan because I haven't been working and no money coming in. I have struggled with the payments for 3 of the 4 years I have had it. (The last 2.5 years I have been living in it). I asked them where they wanted me to drop the truck off at. "We don't want it back" I was told. I made a $80.00 payment to put 2 payments on the back end of the loan, telling them that I don't know when I can make another payment. On October 03, 2017, I started recieving calls - up to 7 or 8 a day - about how the payment is due NOW. They even called a friend in another state about all this.(They got my phone numbers from facebook - go figure!!) I refuse to take their phone calls as I feel this is harassment and they just don't get it. I really want to know where to drop the truck off at, but they "Don't want it".

                                  0 Votes

                                Americredit Financial ServicesBad service

                                My Wife has a car financed through Americredit. She called to see about refinancing or deffering a payment as I have lost my job and unemployment benefits. She is barley making enough to pay our rent and other bills. All she/we want is to get a lower payment until I can get a new job. They refuse to help, only stating they will set up payment arraingments while you continue to make your monthly payment!! What a load of BS!!! This company is as crooked as a politician! All they want to to is take advantage of people and screw up their credit!!! Is there anything that can be done is does she just screw up her credit??? No one will do a refi because she has only been working a couple months after having been laid off for over 2 years... Suggestions would be greatful!!!

                                Add your opinion

                                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                  AmeriCredit Financial — repo car missed 2 payments

                                  was cosigner on loan for friend who missed 2 payments never sent letter or anything letting me know this wa...

                                  The complaint has been investigated and
                                  resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                                  Resolved
                                  AmeriCreditWorst Auto Finance Company

                                  This company is by far the worst auto financing business you can deal with. Sure, most of them are blood suckers, but this one takes the cake! They are known for taking folks money and applying a very, very small amount towards interest and hardly anything towards the principle. You'll end up owing the same amount you purchased the car for after 3 to 5 years. Trust me, I'm speaking from experience.

                                  No one in the organization will speak to you about re-negotiating the contract which by law you are entitled to do so. The reps are trained to play ignorant and convince you to continue doing business with them under unfair business practices. Not only will they harrass you 20-30 times a day for the "next payment due"; you'll get to a point where you're so fed up you'll want them to repossess the car!

                                  Mind you they're famous for dragging this process out as well. Because bottom line...they want more payments from you. It's only when they really get the point and from the tone of your voice that you mean business, they'll arrange to have your car repossessed. I am willing to live with the "negative credit rating" because frankly, I refuse to give them one red cent more!!! I've paid $17, 000 on a $25, 000 loan and according to their records I still owe $25, 000. Take into consideration the car's been sold at auction for $8, 000 and they continually harrass me for the remaining balance of $17, 000. I'm out completely...a total loss of payments for 3 years.

                                  For any one of you out there thinking about doing business with these crooks, or if you've been solicted...run, run...as fast as you can from these slimeballs!!!

                                  Add your opinion

                                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                    • Gw
                                      gworth Aug 28, 2010

                                      Sounds like my complaint about another company, look up auto credit acceptance on here and see mine and others stories.

                                      0 Votes