The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Ambit EnergyBilling

My bill was $200 in which was paid on the disconnect day. On my way home from paying the bill, my lights were cut off. After speaking with a representative who reassured me my lights would be back on the same day, I am now in day 2 with no lights... NOW, they are saying that I have to pay another $200 for a re-connection fee. I have health issues that requires electricity;however, Ambit Energy was not concerned.

Responses

  • Jj
    JJ100 Jun 25, 2015

    Completely disagree with the prior comment. The biggest issue with Ambit is that they mail their invoices late, therefore, you don't have a chance of paying it timely! And when you attempt to call and complain about receiving late statements they offer no resolution except that you the customer can log on to their system and get your invoice. I don't think that is my responsibility. If they can't get the invoice to me timely, I certainly can't get it paid timely! I do agree their customer service people are rude and don't know the 1st thing of customer service.

    0 Votes
  • 1c
    1chrisj979 Oct 23, 2012

    Sorry SayNotoAmbitEnergy, but it is hard for me to agree with you. I read a lot of complaints about companies when it's really the persons fault. You write this as if they turned off your lights for no reason, when actually it was because you did nto pay them, I guess you expected them to leave your service on until you decided to pay. Just like any other business they are trying to make a profit and keep losses to a minimum. Just like any other electric company, phone company, water company, etc. Ambit has rules, if you pay on the disconnection date you run the risk of getting your lights turned off. That's why it's called the "disconnect date". It clearly was not a surprise you lights were getting turned off you said you paid it on the date of your disconnect notice so you had the notice that comes like 7 - 10 days before the actual disconnect date. You get a bill at the beginning of lets say Sept, due date Sept 20, if you don't pay you get a bill in Oct. that shows new charges and that you didn't pay the Sept 20 bill, then a couple weeks later you get a disconnect notice that is 7 -10 days off, that's more than a month that you had to pay your bill. You say you have a medical condition that requires you to have electricity but you don't pay your bill on time. If you do have a condition you have to take it seriously and take some responsibility for yourself and make sure you get your bill paid on time or at least before the disconnect date. Also if you have a medical condition that requires you to have electricity then your doctor should have given you the necessary paperwork to file with the PUC so that you can have that exemption. Once again the lack of action on YOUR part does not mean the electric company is bad. If they reconnected everyone who just called and said oh I have a medical condition, hardly anyone would ever get disconnected.

    Basically I am saying that if you pay your bill late it's not the companies fault your lights get turned off or that you suffer whatever penalty they charge. READ YOUR AGREEMENT and you will see that there are penalties for paying late. Too many people get on here crying about how the light Co. or some other Co. did them wrong when they either didn't pay their bill or waited till the last minute to pay their bill. Yes there are legitimate cases of a utility Co. doing someone wrong but this is not one of them, this is just a case of irresponsibility.

    0 Votes
  • Ml
    mlank64 Aug 30, 2012

    I would just like to say first off I'm not only an AMBIT customer, I was a consultant with AMBIT. Here's my story. My recent bill for the month of August/ 2012 was almost 3 times the amount I usually pay a month. I run about $85.00 a month. My bill for this recent bill cycle was $284.69. I called my local energy provider (NYSEG) to find out why my bill was so high. They stated that Ambit missed the "window" to submit their portion of the bill to NYSEG for the month of June and July of 2012. I called Ambit to find out why they missed submitting their bill to NYSEG. They offered no excuse and only stated they were sorry. That's it. No offer to compensate for their error. So, I cancelled their service and will go fully with my local energy supplier. Buyer beware. Look at your energy bill and make sure Ambit is billing on a monthly basis if you choose to sign with this company. Otherwise, you can get stuck with 2 or 3 months worth of bills in 1 month from their negligence. BTW-I'm no longer a consultant.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chani8210 May 24, 2011

    This is the worse light company out there. I wouldn't suggest this company to my worse enemy! They are heartless and rude and will turn you off for $30 and without a warning no disconnect notice or call NOTHING! horrible horrible, HORRIBLE! If you have this light company, Change quick. If you are thinking about using them, THINK AGAIN! They are not worth the trouble!

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arron Johnson Sep 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ambit Energy is a great opportunity for people looking save on their energy cost and at the same time help others save on their energy costs. Currently Ambit is the #1 Top earning company as per INC 500 Magazine. Do I need to say any more?

    We just made a major announcement of expanding markets and we are now able to offer the same savings opportunity to small businesses in TX.

    I can go on and on about how great Ambit Energy is. Three thumbs up .. oops sorry I only have two thumbs. :)

    Find out Why does Ambit Energy Work? http://bit.ly/9F7KwR
    Save money and Join Ambit Now http://bit.ly/9Vn3kR

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arron Johnson Sep 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ambit Energy is a great opportunity for people looking save on their energy cost and at the same time help others save on their energy costs. Currently Ambit is the #1 Top earning company as per INC 500 Magazine. Do I need to say any more?

    We just made a major announcement of expanding markets and we are now able to offer the same savings opportunity to small businesses in TX.

    I can go on and on about how great Ambit Energy is. Three thumbs up .. oops sorry I only have two thumbs. :)

    Find out Why does Ambit Energy Work? http://bit.ly/9F7KwR
    Save money and Join Ambit Now http://bit.ly/9Vn3kR

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    dreamsopen Jun 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had Ambit for a year and they have been great, my bills are lower, and no billing problems. The only billing issues that I have heard from friends is a large bill for back billing and it was reported and check out turned out an Oncor meter reader did not read a whole area for about four months. But he is no longer with that company and it was not just Ambit customers it effected. So I would say there is a problem somewhere else.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    lularedd Jun 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Moved into our current location on April 23, 2010. Received first bill statement date April 29, 2010 at this location Due May 17 for past balance $135.25 for old apt in Dallas and new charges $67.05 current address. Received another bill statement date May 3, 2010 for $273.46 due May 19, 2010 on this bill is a "move in fee" for $35 dollars (We transferred our service from Dallas). However, on May 12 2010 our electricity was turned off and we ended up paying $343.58 to reconnect service. Not one statement has ever said any amount "MUST BE PAID NOW TO PREVENT DISCONNECT". We had been in a 1 year contract with Ambit at a rate of .1060kWh expiration date January 3, 2011. Once our service was disconnected and reconnected Ambit voided contract and charged us an average price of .0132 per kWh. at times charging .1590 kWh with out any notice again that this was going to happen. New bill due June 16, 2010, for $272.14 balance forwarded $67.07 and current charges of $205.07, plus charges for disconnect fee of $15.00 and reconnect fee of $50 dollars.. For What? We already settled everything on May 12 when we reconnected service. Per Ambit they are saying in between March and April bill there was another one for the past due amt of $135.25. Funny how I never received this bill. They do not have excellent customer service. I feel Ambit is intentionally defrauding their customers by setting up contracts at low rates, turning off electricity improperly and charging not only reconnect fee's but charging more per kWh. I did Spk to a supervisor who after my complaint could offer me a one time deal of putting me back into a contract for .1060 kWh but not assisting at all in any of the other fees and variable rate. He did say we were current on our bill. Ambit should not maintain a A rating with the BBB. I have read all over the internet similar scams this company is using on individuals. Ambit must be investigated and stopped. I have filed this with the BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Ambit Energy Feb 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It should be noted that 5 days have passed since I posted my offer. The complainant has not responded.

    Again, per my earlier post, we do not disconnect to our customers who pay their bills in full and on time. In addition, Ambit Energy regularly works with customers in extenuating circumstances who would like to make payment arrangements.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Ambit Energy Feb 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You describe an experience that I am unfamiliar with as an employee of Ambit. I'm sure our operations execs would want to understand who treated you like that. That is not the standard we set here. In addition, to my knowledge we've never disconnected service for anyone who paid their bill in full and on time. Email your name and customer account number to [email protected] with attention to the Director of MarComm and I will personally investigate your issue.

    0 Votes
  • Ea
    EASYTOGETALONGWITH Feb 11, 2010

    THEY ARE THE WORST, THEY KEEP SENDING ME DISCONNECT NOTICES AFTER I PAY MY BILL IN FULL ON TIME THEN WHEN I CALL TO FIND OUT WHAT THE ISSUE IS AS WELL AS WHY I KEEP RECEIVIENG PAST DUE NOTICES/DISCONNECTS THEY SAY ITS A MISTAKE ... THEY THREATENED TO HANG UP ON ME ONCE . CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HORRIBLE AND SO ARE THE SUPERVISORS. VERY DISPLEASED WITH THE SERVICE AND CUSTOMER SERVICE I RECEIVED FROM THEM.

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    jtg Dec 30, 2008

    These people have disconnected my service when i had mailed 2 checks (i have 2 accts) in one envelope. I was on hold for 1.5 hours.
    When i called after Hurricane Ike to cancel because the house was too badly damaged to rent so therefore no need for electricity. They told me it would take a week and i would have to pay for that. That was O.K. at the time but thy never turned it off! They claim that I never called them. I did. I noted it in my planner. the second time i called I asked for a tracking number so that i would have something to reference, they said they don't do that. The call was recorded and they would keep the record of it. again I was on hold for over an hour. there was no electricity at that house fro 3 weeks after Ike, I was still billed for it! Now they are charging me a disconect fee when the original contract was month to month.
    Don't use this company. Anyone that askes you to is either stupeid or don't mind taking advantage of there friends.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.