Alpha Warranty ServicesAlpha warranty services-refuse to pay claims saying repairs are &existing&

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I purchased a vehicle from exotic motors of rolling hills, illinois. The finance manager-jennifer-sold me a worthless alpha warranty for $5000.00. As soon as I had an issue with my mercedes-benz g-500, they refused to pay using "pre-existing" as their excuse not to pay. Google alpha warranty and see all the similar complaints. A "class-action lawsuit" is being prepared.

Responses

  • De
    Denisse G Jul 01, 2020

    We were traveling to Colorado 2 weeks ago and the TRUCK F350 SUPER DUTY stop working plus the sunroof and the tailgate weren’t working properly. The vehicle has been at RICH FORD in Albuquerque until today. After 2 weeks and a half, we are still waiting a satisfactory solution from Alpha Warranty. The diagnosis from Rich Ford was to replace the transfer case and fix the sunroof and the tailgate. Alpha Warranty sent an inspector and agreed with the diagnosis on June 23th. The next day, Alpha W. talked to Ford Services and informed them that they would try to find a cheaper transfer case. After a couple of days, Alpha Warranty changed the diagnosis and denied declaimed alleging of “preexisting conditions of the transfer case” from a picture of a second inspection and they did not mention anything about the sunroof and the tailgate yet. I do not agree with the second diagnosis because Alpha Road are not being accountable with the service of FULL COVERAGE offered. I haven’t received any professional written report about how the made the decision or calls from them. Stay Away! This is a SCAM!!!

    1 Votes
  • Co
    Countryboy12w Nov 13, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Denisse G I am having issues in colorado springs too. I got a 2006 chevy silverado. Two weeks ago my truck read no oil pressure and low oil sensor and a check engine light. I had it towed myself because roadside service never showed up thru alpha. Now the mechanic cant do anything til they get a approval for full teardown of engine to find point of failure. I cant afford a 6, 000 dollar engine. And I'm dealing with covid. I get no answers

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Major525 Feb 27, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife purchased this warranty two cars she bought. Both have needed major repairs and despite spending thousands of dollars for the coverage they have not covered a dime's worth of work. Their customer service (using the term very loosely) was unhelpful and borderline rude. I guess they have a great business model i.e. take the customer's money and give absolutely nothing in return, but they are basically a scam as far as I'm concerned. Stay away.

    1 Votes
  • Wo
    Wolverine4126 Jul 17, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My brother-in-law also ran into problems with his Alpha warranty. When he experienced a problem with his Tundra, he took it back to the dealer. The dealership said it was a covered repair; however, Alpha came back and said the specific part was not covered in the state of New York. He asked me to look over the contract and after several readings, I found no provisions on repairs in New York (only a section on cancellations, which I am recommending he take for a refund and find another warranty company since it appears he will have to "eat" the repair costs). I have always bought warranty contracts from dealers, but now will read reviews before signing. It appears Alpha would prefer to lose a few customers to avoid making repairs and make their profits off of those who never have an issue. I also believe the dealership is at fault and enjoys the profit margin while blaming Alpha for everything. I cannot believe this is the first issue they have encountered. Since my brother-in-law is a senior citizen, I am going to encourage him to also pursue a complaint againt the dealership and Alpha for praying on his age to push a worthless product.

    3 Votes
  • Jo
    JosephA303 Feb 13, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think everyone knows that the dealerships will tell you ANYTHING for you to buy a Warranty. FYI dealers have huge markup in those contracts. You might have paid 3000 dollars but the actual cost of the warranty could have been $500 bucks. If you paid $500 dollars would you expect “EVERYTHING” covered?

    2 Votes
  • Su
    Suzan Adam Sep 13, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Horrible customer service! Hope you never have a claim I waited nearly a month before my repair was completed due to them authorizing only a used transmission that took nearly 3 weeks to arrive from Arizona and was told because of the weather that was the delay. I had rental car reimbursement and was in a rent a car for that month and never was reimbursed a penny. Also when I pick up my car the Service Manager at Ken Garff Nissan informed me that this transmission was sure to not hold up due to it being a CVR Transmission and it should have only been acceptable to put a new one in. He advised me to sell my car right away. I got my car back and it never sounded right so I traded it in for a new car. I send all the paperwork in to Alpha asking for a refund of the balance of my warrantee. That never happened. The left had doesn't know what the right had is doing at Alpha. I would strongly not recommend this warrantee to anyone!!! BEWARE

    1 Votes
  • Fa
    Faithful5 Jul 12, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You say these comments aren't true, but our vehicle is currently sitting at a dealership waiting for a response from your warranty company. It has been there for over 36 hours - diagnosed and just waiting for someone from your company to tell them whether or not they can proceed!! We paid $2495 for the warranty. The car has been in the shop twice and so far the warranty, that we were promised repeatedly would cover bumper to bumper, has yet to cover anything? So, in this situation when reading the comments above, who would you choose to believe?

    0 Votes
  • Pd
    PDH57 Apr 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Alpha Warranty is worthless!

    3 Votes
  • Ba
    BadAndy26 Mar 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I POSTED THIS TO GOOGLE AS WELL. EVERYONE NEEDS TO KNOW HOW BIG OF A SCAM THIS "WARRANTY" COMPANY IS!

    [protected] This has got to be the worst warranty company in history! I've taken my truck in twice to have work done that in reading the warranty, sounds like it will be covered. So far I'm out 3300 bucks for the warranty and 800 for parts of the warranty that they "don't cover". Even the dealership I took my truck to for service is saying that the contract reads that it will cover the items I've taken it in for, but because it's not exact wording, they don't.
    For example, my power seat isn't working, the warranty says it covers power seat motors, but because the shop calls it a "seat adjuster assembly" it's not covered!
    This scam is a crock! They need to be shut down and forced to refund their customers money!

    UPDATE- [protected]
    I took my vehicle in to another shop for the power seat motor. Alpha has agreed to replace the "seat adjuster assembly" and sent my shop the part.
    Upon receiving the part and attempting to install it, my shop notified me that Alpha sent a USED part and it was not working. So now im out even more money for shop fees, labor fees, and my seat is still not working.

    1 Votes
  • Rj
    RJDery Feb 28, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yah terrible scam they have going on. Are vech is burning oil and they say nothing is broken. So apparently cars are supposed to burn oil. We were told at purchase of warranty that any lubricated parts are covered. Well they are not. If its not working like it was designed then it is broken. Fact. They are some shifty con artists that don't care about your family's safety. Bad karma to all of alfa co. DO YOUR SELF A FAVOR AND DO NOT GIVE THEM ANY MONEY. 99% Approval rate is just a sign that they are full of it. Ask around!!

    1 Votes
  • No
    NotScammedNow Aug 10, 2016

    David -
    He filed the same complaint on another board during the same time Alpha was jerking them around. He just copied and pasted the original complaint to this board.

    For some reason you are defending these guys which makes me believe you are in some way affiliated with Alpha. This would make you biased towards them.

    Alpha Warranty Services are not trustworthy and WILL try to get out of a claim. I 100% DO NOT recommend them OR any other auto warranty company. Save your money and pay for your own repairs. These warranty companies do whatever they can to deny your claim OR put in used parts to cheapen their way through it.

    -2 Votes
  • Dp
    DParnham Aug 09, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Another Complaint that is TOTAL BOGUS...
    WHY would a Business Wait 6 Months to write a Negative Post???
    WHY would you Wait 6 Months to do this???
    I just think People have nothing else better to do...
    Most importantly Everyone Knows the Inspectors are Independent Contractors...
    They are Not Employees of Alpha Warranty.
    Depending on how long the Independent Contractor takes to fill out the report is
    as fast as Alpha can be...


    a

    David

    -1 Votes
  • Bo
    Boss351 Jul 22, 2016

    I am a shop owner. I have one of your insured on my lift since 12/22/15. Todays date is 12/31/15. Your service inspector finally showed up yesterday to validate the claim. He left without giving myself any info or decision. The claim was denied due to a pre existing condition. I was made aware of this by your insured 6 hours after he had came in. Not by your company. I need the lift. We are way behind. He knew it was not covered the minute he walked out of my door. Your company thought it was OK to make me (my lift) wait another 6 hours to tell me this. Not counting the 7 days it has already been waiting for your service inspector. I will post as many negative reviews of your service where ever possible. You are also banned from EVER bringing one of your clients into my establishment. Sincerely, William Abel C/O Western Drivetrain Aurora, Co 80011. Do not contact me as I will consider this to be Harassment.

    -2 Votes
  • Dp
    DParnham Jul 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Some of these Complaints are TOTAL BOGUS...
    Especially the Jason Sopko III. Alpha DID Pay the claim even though the customer had NO OIL in the Engine pan...
    Take some of these Complaints with a Grain of Salt...

    David

    1 Votes
  • Ab
    A. Brown Apr 05, 2016

    I definitely agree that this company is a piece of crap out Does Nothing to satisfy customers. I paid $1500 for this useless contact. Alpha Warranty you are nothing but scam artists, you make up any excuse possible to get out of paying your part on repairs and towing. I recommend anyone who is thinking of purchasing extended warranty with this useless company to run in the opposite direction.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel Dean Feb 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm having issues as well. Finance manager at Larry H Miller Ford Lincoln Sandy sold me a warranty that I was told was there most comprehensive, yet I'm being told at each turn this and that isn't covered. So frustrated.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shannon Miles Hinson Apr 26, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Daniel Dean customers "claim" to have purchased a bumper to bumper warranty because that is how the warranty is presented to customers at the time of the used vehicle purchase. So far Alpha has paid NOTHING! I have had FAR better "A+" (which is what my warranty claims to be) after market warranties then the one provided by Alpha. I would have been better off purchasing a "fly by night" no-name warranty.

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jason Sopko III Dec 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    HA HA HA this crook (alpha warranty lying sob) states they have a 99.9% satisfaction rating. what a joke, Alpha is a scam, what a bunch of crooks, paid $2500 for a worthless "agreement" I DID NOT AGREE TO GETTING SCAMMED!! I paid my part YOU PAY YOURS! I paid for the 100, 000 mile warranty, 12, 000 miles into it my engine blows, take it to the GM dealer, he pulls the oil pan and says "the oil looks PRISTINE, no sludge, nothing but the parts that fell into the pan when the piston rod broke and blew out the side of the engine block". tells me he see's no reason the claim would be denied, then the so called "inspector" arrives, says all sorts of sludge and engine is blued, I should also mention that I have the receipts that show that I have had the oil changed at least every 3000 miles, had it changed 1200 miles before the engine blew, now I'm out $2500 that I gave these crooks and another $8000 i have to spend on a new engine. if there is a class action please let me know, I'd love to be part of it. These SOB's not only not to be out of business they need to be put on trial for fraud.

    -3 Votes
  • Ni
    nikki reeves Nov 12, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Jason Sopko III Wow this sadly sounds familiar. I agree. Wow.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Camie B. Sep 02, 2014

    I also have been going through a total nightmare with Alpha refusing to transfer a warranty or even provide a list of acceptable documents! What a total rip off.

    -1 Votes
  • Br
    Brandon Baker Aug 29, 2013

    I paid $1, 979. for a useless, yes useless, Alpha Warranty Services A La Car warranty when I purchased my '07 Ford F250 Super Cab truck from R&T Expo here in Houston, Texas. I paid extra for the 5 year or 100k Alpha Warranty. This diesel truck had slightly over 100k miles on it. When my 6 year old truck's alternator failed 3 days into ownership of my truck the warranty covered it. When I noticed the first hint of white smoke on start up the next day, I took my truck to a reputable automotive shop. I did this because the conditions of your warranty state this should be done to prevent catastrophic failure. They diagnosed that my EGR cooler, oil cooler and turbo were not working properly. I knew upfront the warranty would not cover the EGR cooler and oil cooler. This out-of-pocket expense would cost me $1, 843. I understood this--not a problem for me and my family. On the other hand I really believed the great warranty I thought I bought would cover the turbo work. Alpha Warranty Services sent an inspector to take a look at my truck and he readily identified the problem as a "pre-existing" condition. I bought the truck less than 14 days earlier and when I asked the dealer if there were any problems with the truck he acknowledged problems with the EGR valve and nothing else. Remember, the Alpha Warranty agent has been working with this dealer and readily sold and accepted a warranty on my truck. Just that month he sold 4 other policies. Replacement for my turbo is going to cost me an additional $2, 326.30. I really believed my warranty would cover this expense. Why are they selling warranties on used vehicles, only to claim pre-existing conditions? Don't all used vehicles have pre-existing conditions simply by the nature that they are not new, off-the-showroom vehicles?

    I quickly realized that the warranty isn't worth the paper it's written on. Furthermore, when I requested to cancel my $1, 979. warranty that I paid IN FULL, I was told by a representative the reimbursement check would be sent to the dealer and not me. Also, the alternator work that was supposedly covered will be deducted from this amount. Since this work was approved by and already paid for by Alpha Warranty Services, this was the risk you took when you covered my truck. Now that the repair amount for my truck is $4, 482.83 plus the $443.82 alternator work for a grand total of $4, 926.65, Alpha Warranty Services no longer wants the risk or responsibility. Their 30-days appeal process ensures vehicles are not repaired and forces the customer to pay out-of-pocket.

    Using the same logic as the inspector, wouldn't the alternator failure also be considered a pre-existing condition? They covered the alternator because the cost was much less than the overall policy.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alpha Warranty Services Feb 24, 2012

    He mentions he is going to file a class-action lawsuit. It’s important to keep complaints in perspective. We have a 99.999% satisfaction rate. That percentage is an exact figure! Of thousands of customers we service every year, we have a total of 2 complaints on this website. That’s right 2 complaints. And in fact, both of these complaints are from the same customer.

    We do regret this customer’s frustration but encourage people to review the entire facts for themselves and make an informed decision. Please keep complaints in perspective.

    If you wish to review the complaint filed by this customer, you can do so at . We encourage you to read through his complaint and our response and make a decision for yourself regarding the circumstances of his claim.

    Alpha Warranty Services maintains an “A+” Rating with the Better Business Bureau. Our customers and their feedback are very important to us.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alpha Warranty Services Feb 24, 2012

    Free Service Offered: Discounted Parts

    We would like to provide more information about the claim surrounding this complaint. The customer states that they purchased a “bumper to bumper” warranty. That is definitely not the case. The customer did elect to purchase an Extended Coverage plan. The Extended plan is a great plan that provides very extensive coverage but is by no means our most comprehensive plan. Based on the age of the vehicle (2002), it did not qualify for our Full Coverage which is considered to be the plan that is most similar to what the manufacturer warranty might provide in coverage.

    The Extended Coverage plan offers stated component coverage. Meaning, if the plan specifically states that a component is covered within the terms and conditions of coverage, then it is covered.

    Let me also clarify that we do not deny claims based on feelings. Claims are only denied if there is sufficient evidence to clearly support that decision. If the evidence is not clear, then the claim will be approved as is the case in the far majority of claims that we process.

    In this case, the customer called in a claim 58 days after purchase. The customer’s vehicle had failed stabilizer bars, left front coil springs and a steering shock. As part of the normal claims process, information is collected from the repair facility and the customer.

    In a recorded phone call, the customer clearly states that he first noticed the problem while driving home after purchasing the vehicle from the dealership. This plan does not cover pre-existing conditions or conditions that existed when the vehicle was purchased.

    The customer believes that the problem occurred on the way home but as a result of hitting a pot hole. Based on the condition and extent of damage of the failed components, as provided by the customer’s repair facility, it was clearly evident that the damage was long term damage present on the vehicle from before the customer purchased the vehicle.

    We understand that this is a frustrating situation. No one likes to find surprises with the purchase of a vehicle. We always extend our ability to access parts from our nationwide chain of part suppliers in an effort to minimize repair costs for our customers. As an example, the cost of a stabilizer bar on this vehicle is $685. We can provide that same part to our customer for $504.51 resulting in a savings of $180.50. (We make no money on providing this discounted part) We know that this free service doesn’t replace the cost of a repair but it does show our effort to help out where we can when a repair falls outside the terms of a customer’s plan.

    We do regret this customer’s frustration but encourage people to review the entire facts for themselves and make an informed decision. Alpha Warranty Services maintains an “A+” Rating with the Better Business Bureau. Our customers and their feedback are very important to us.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.