The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Advanced Wellness Researchscam

Scam scam scam scam scam scam scam scam scam scam!!!
3 months of calling to cancel delivery I got 3 different cancellation codes and product return codes I returned the items and credit was never received on all 3 occasions 3 phone calls to the company amazingly enough all 3 times the "computer systems were down" I called again today and was told the system was only down for 10 days they don't know how it wasn't canceled the prior 2 times! When I requested the shipments be canceled for the 4th time and insisted to speak to a "floor manager" who spoke little english and I was told that "he feels my pain and understands my concern" and assured me if I sent the cancellation request in e-mail form I would receive a response within 48 hours but how is that possible when the computer system doesn't work!??. I called the credit card company and they said they cannot stop the future charges. I see no other choice but to cancel my credit card and hope the charges will stop! This is ridiculous!
I am sending an e-mail to embarq thanking them for promoting this product on their website (not!) and suggesting they remove advanced wellness research pure acai berry from their website!
~buyer beware!!~

Responses

  • Wi
    Wigglen Jun 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I authorized a Visa card withdrawal only for Shipping & Handling as agreed for $4.99 March 21, 2009. Free 30 day sample, order # 240708. They also made an unauthorized withdrawal for $78.81 for a non-shipped order on April 06, 2009. Definitely fraud! I hardly had a chance to begin the free 30 day product. As noted above there seems to be two companies involved here.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Judy T May 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered a free trial of a teeth whitening just had to pay shipping. Used my debit. Nine days later I got the trial then noticed a few days after 4 charges of 78.00 to my bank account. Called to compalin and was on the phone for 45 minutes.Said they would reverse the charges except the one. Said I had 14 days to tell them if I liked it or not. Told them it had not been 14 days since I gor it. Thet said from shipping it was. They are from India and it is very hard to understand them. Hope they give me back my money. There is no US phone to call. Thnak you for listening

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    vinay agarwal Oct 05, 2009

    i want this company to shut down they taken my money and mara mera gar meri gar ka hole hua 4 ab ma inki maru ga aur atorney general sa bhi mar ba hu a ...

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kat2447 Aug 06, 2009

    I agree with all of the above and when I signed up for it no where did it say anything about trying it for 14 days. Does this product even work? Has anyone really tried it and is it safe? How do we file a class action lawsuit because I think one should be filed against this company for ripping us all off.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim Aug 05, 2009

    I am an older Senior Citizen who has been ripped off by this company.

    Their “Terms and Conditions” contract should be made null and viod since most Seniors can not understand it.HERE ARE SOME VERY DISTURBING EXCERPTS FROM THE CONTRACT.
    ORDERING PRODUCTS THROUGH THE WEBSITE; POLICIES

    NOTE: All products come with a fourteen (14) day free trial period (“Free Trial”) as described in this Agreement. If You have any questions about Our Free Trial, please contact Our Customer Service Department toll-free at [protected]. Our Customer Service Department is open twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week.
    Note: Calls to this number are transferred to a call center in India which has 400 employees serving as customer service for several companies. Most speek limited English and for us Seniors they are very difficult to understand. CK 2009
    HOME DELIVERY PLAN

    Unless You cancel Your enrollment in Our Home Delivery Plan, approximately thirty (30) days following Your original order date (and every thirty (30) days thereafter), NETALAB will send you another thirty (30) day supply of the Product and the credit card You provided to us will be automatically billed $79.69 for the Product (Florida residents add sales tax) plus a shipping and handling charge of $4.99 (shipping and handling is increased for international deliveries).

    Note: The underlined statement. You must cancel your credit card to avoid repeated charges. CK 2009
    CHARGEBACK POLICY:

    In the event a chargeback is filed by you and denied by the issuing bank - you will be charged the $50 Chargeback filling fee as well as a $100 processing fee.

    We strongly encourage you to contact our customer service department to assist you with a refund, before you consider filing a dispute or chargeback with your bank or credit card company.

    Note: I consider this to be totally illegal policy and needs to be challanged in Federal Court. CK 2009

    This kind of sales practice needs to be eliminated period!!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vielean Maxwell Jul 17, 2009

    This Advanced Wellness Research is a bunch of mess, I was told that I have to return unopened product receive by the US Postal service via UPS or Fedex and it will have to contain a tracking number and signature confirmation. I understood it to be a free product and would only cost me $1.99, but I checked my bank statement and found that they had taken $83.92 from my account. It is really rip off and they don't state that this will cost anymore than the $1.99. I think companies like this one shoud have full and open discolsure of the terms where you can readily see them. It is truly a RIP OFF!
    Vielean Maxwell
    Galesburg, IL

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donald Jul 11, 2009

    I was taken by this company. They have a website for easy cancel and i called the phone number listed. After a long wait a woman could not find anything with my name or email address, home address, home phone or cell number. I was furious and asked how then is it possible you can charge my visa then? She hung up on me. I sent them an email on this and then called the number and this time a man answered and said sure he would cancel my account immediately and I said how when I have not even given you my name yet? He told me their system was down and this was on february 27th. I had to call capitol one and report this fraud and they are issuing me a new card and advised they would handle the fraud issue and I wished them luck as this company is nothing but a scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    Evan Jul 11, 2009

    I ordered a trial offer for the Acai Berry pills talked about by Dr. Oz as seen on Oprah Winfrey show. I have tried to cancel this subscription numerous times. This company will not cancel my monthly order originally placed and will not stop charging my credit card. I am at my wits end trying to get this auto mailing/charging stopped. Don't ever order this product from them. I am going to be forced to cancel my 20 year credit card I have had for years because of these people!! This should be fraud and they should be closed down.

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    Aimee Jul 11, 2009

    What a SCAM. Long story for me and still not over. In summary, I called and cancelled after the 15 days, my fault. I knew I was going to get the second shipment with a bill, that is how they get you right? The bill was $78.81. I called immediately to cancel and fought the charge - they gave me a $40 credit. BUT meanwhile, the India support person did not tell me they had already charged me a second fee of $83.80! I'm getting the same run around as everyone else. I filed a dispute and will also write to BBB, Oprah and Rachel Ray.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Anderson Jul 07, 2009

    I feel they give you the run around and lie to you when you want to cancel your order. they alway say the system is down and they can't find you in the system.But yet they sure can charge your card monthly. What a bunch of thieves.

    Sue Anderson
    Galup, NM

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cathy simpkins Jul 05, 2009

    on the day i ordered this product i was told it would only cost me 1.99 for cost of shipping that was all that was ever said never any mention of an almost 80.00 charge. which they have some how taken out of my account 3 times. they would not let me cancel even before i was aware of the real amount i tried when it was still being told it was only 1.99 they were very rude and nasty on the phone this is a fraud and the people lie. it is like being robbed at gun point. i have been in touch with the bbb and dont know what else to do these people need to be stopped.

    0 Votes
  • So
    sokhachy Jul 04, 2009

    I hope they shut down this company...this co is a scam. PLEASE DO NOT ORDER ANYTHING FROM THEM...BELIEVE ME BEEN THERE DONE THAT. The worst company and customer services reps ever, you'll never get your money back, if you're lucky you might get a little back.

    0 Votes
  • So
    sokhachy Jul 04, 2009

    i went thru the same thing last May 02-09. I didn't read their terms so they charged me $78.00, so then I called to cancel my order so in the following month they won't charge me again. The customer service I talked to told me that she'll send me a cancellation confirmation to my email, but she never did, and i totally didn't pay attention to it, cuz I am a busy a person i have a lot of things on my mind. So the following month on 6-02-09 they sent me another product and charged my credit card again for $83.92. I was so upset, after i called to cancel my membership, they still sent me their stupid product and charged me again. I called and talked to 10 different customer service reps and none of them want to refund my money back and they told me i can't send the product back to them. They kept saying their is no record of any cancellation. I told them I have prove on my phone bill statement that I called that day to cancel my membership, but they don't care. They kept saying I am sorry mam this and that and I am so furious. I called and I emailed them so many times, they still telling NO full refund. They only want to credit me back $20, I said NO, then they said $40 and $60, I still say No and hang up. I emailed them again and they said they'll give me 50% discount on the products, I don't understand these freaking customer services I told them I want my money back and they keep on offering me this and that. Finally, this one customer service able to credit me back with full amount and he told me that he probably lose his job after he did this for me. I told him that he did the right thing. I told him this company is a fraud he should look for a new job. I thanks him and a week later i got my money back. Took me almost a month to get my money back. I hate this company so much I wish they will be in legally issue one day. I crossed my fingers that I won't get charge again in July.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Giroux Jun 25, 2009

    I sent for the free sample on April 23, 2009. Cancelled the service on May 1, 2009. Was charged on my visa bill $9.99 in May and June and I want a refund for those charges ASAP!
    Given the complaints I am seeing on this web site I think this is a habit which gouges consumers.

    My email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria Jun 22, 2009

    What every one of you have to do is get in touch with your Attoney General or the Attorney General of the state Advanced Wellness Research is mailing their product from. Enough complaints will cause an investigation. My situation with AWR started in February of this year. I have gotten in touch Attorney General's offices in Miami and Illinois. I have read dozens and dozens of complaints about this company and have recently found that Miami's Attorney General has just initiated an investigation into AWR.

    Marie from Florida

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Hoyt Jun 22, 2009

    This company stole from us. We called and canceled the product, and then, we got another shipment and an 80 dollar charge. When we called to try to ship it back, we were told that we would be charged 200 dollars if we disputed the charge on our card. The service was rude and threatening. Stay away from these people at all costs. It is a scam and we are reporting to a lawyer.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marchell Espy Jun 18, 2009

    Please for everyone sake, do read and check this company out, they are nothing but scam artist, i've been hitting the roof with the same customer services, either stating, their system is down, are they don't have your information to wait, and call back, and before you know it, they have taken more money out of your account. I'm hoping they will be sued and put out of business, i'm thinking about writing the President on this matter.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    D of Raleigh Jun 15, 2009

    I went through the same thing with advanced wellness, I tried the free trial and canceled. I called not once but three times to see why why I was being charged. This was canceled prior to the trial period being over. For one it burned my mouth ...I do not recommend this product at all, and charges were made to my account for over $372 by this company. AND I HAVE NO PRODUCT! Each time I call I am speaking with someone in India who apparantly think I like to waste my time and money speaking with their unethcal behinds. I closed my account to stop their crazy behinds until I am refunded all of my money.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diana Cato Jun 15, 2009

    On 5-15-09, they was a ad about whitening your teeth and all I had to do was pay shipping and handling charges. Next thing I see on my bank account a $83.92 charge for a complete order that I did not give them authoriztation to do. Please help, I have read some of the complints about this company and it is not beauty sight. This is not write, then my bank charge me a fee for over drafting my account.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BEWARE! Jun 10, 2009

    I recently ordered a free trial of the "Acai diet pill", that claims to be a great detox as well as helping with weight loss. When I ordered I was only susposed to pay shipping. Two weeks later I received a charge of 87.59 on my mastercard. When I called the number provided on the statement I was told that I was to cancel the order within 14 days. The problem is I don't recall seeing any statement that said that. So I have to eat the cost but I made sure I cancelled all orders. BEWARE!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pat Luna May 27, 2009

    This company charged me for a product I did not order and won't refund the full amount. After several phone calls the most they will refund me is $60.00 after being charged $83.80. They do not represent themselves well and it is a complete scam. The first representative I spoke with was extremely rude. I will never recommend this company to anyone! I wish there was something that could be done to make them stop their advertising.

    0 Votes
  • Kl
    k lasota May 27, 2009

    I am having exactly the same problem ... month after month.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rita E. Francisco May 22, 2009

    Order date was 5/07/2009 for trial shipment

    I have 15 days to cancel further shipments. However I was billed May 21,
    2009 in the amount of $78.93 .
    I do not want this shipment or any further shipments.
    Please cancel and credit my charge for that amount.

    Rita E. Francisco
    POBox 235
    Yorkshire, NY 14173
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie May 22, 2009

    This happened to me yesterday. What a JOKE. They have a nice little scam going on. They told me they would give me $30.00 as a refund but their policy was non refundable. They refused to take the unused product back. UnBELIEVABLE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Ben Hilliard May 15, 2009

    I too was a victim from these guys and I filed a complaint with the Inspector General USPS. Let's see if they will shut them down.

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    JTC May 12, 2009

    This is perhaps the worst experience I have had ordering on line...
    I too ordered the trial sample and did not receive it for at least three weeks... I had checked with my Doctor and he told me not to use the product... I rec'd my credit card bill and there was a charge of $78,
    because I did not call within 2 weeks of placing the order for the" "FREE" trial... so I am being charged for the month... they will not credit my account.. because "the service department is not authorized to issue any credits" and again I was told YOU DID NOT CALL WITHIN 14 DAYS OF PLACING THE ORDER kind of hard when you didn't receive the product for 21 days... now they have shipped an additional month and charged my account $85. which I did not receive.. I was told I have to call when it is received and perhaps they will be able to give me a partial credit...
    so it seems I have spent about $170 for a product I do not want ... the only thing I have is the "FREE" trial
    THIS IS A MAJOR FRAUD... DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marie dimino May 09, 2009

    what I thought I was signing up for was a teeth whitening kit just for shipping chgs cost me 78.93 that they charged on my debit card. I was not aware i had to call in 14 days which by the way I was only one day late and they would only refund 20.00. I feel they took advantage of a senior citizen and everybody else who falls for this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unhappy user Apr 27, 2009

    AGREED - they tell you that there is a free trial...and once you enter your credit card...you find that there is a HUGE charge that you will be hit with MONTHLY. I cancelled my order immediately...as is my right according to the law (3 day's to cancel an online order)...and the company wont stop bugging me! I will pay the darn shipping charges but I'll be dame if they hit me with their hidden charges...free my ###!!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scammed Apr 14, 2009

    This company is a complete scam. They charged my credit card a total of $85.92 for items I never ordered. The bank I deal with knows them well. Not only did I get charged for products I did not order there is a charge because this company is overseas. I now have to distroy my credit card so they can not nail me again. Beward of this Teeth Whitening Now product.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    russ Apr 13, 2009

    I agree 100%. My "free" trial offer of Bright Teeth cost me $6.99 and was billed to my credit card on March 13. Then I was billed $78.93 on March 28. When I called Wellness Research I was told that the $6.99 charge was for shipping and handling and that my free trial was the $78.93 billing.
    Definately a scam and I plan on writing to the local news wesite that advertised this offer.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patrice Apr 10, 2009

    Order trial was charged $78.81 on March 30, 2008 and then they are chargeing me $**.00 again today, You speak to someone who who can not understand will not trnsfer you to a manager. I called my bank and entered a complainat for fraud I had cancelled my order and am sending back the "FREE"
    trial. I am also contcting the postmaster general. This company shoudl have a class action suit filed

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Tracina Apr 03, 2009

    They are the worst...I am seeking legal advise. I want to file a class action law suit against this company...there are too many complaints about the same issue and they are ripping people off. I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kat Apr 01, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    fraudulant business.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gali Mar 30, 2009

    I went thru the same thing!

    In one month they withdrew 3x's!

    have you guys tried cancelling your credit card/debit card?

    I just did! this way they can no longer take money out.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lora Lansinger Mar 23, 2009

    I ordered the "trial 14 day sample" of Advanced Acai with Colon Cleanser off of the Rachel Ray website. First off, they didn't include the cleanser with the tablets. I called twice and still didn't receive them. I started on the tablets and after 3 days, I started to get bloated with severe pain and cramping in my abdomen and was extremely constipated. After 3 more days without going to the bathroom, I finally went but had to "force the stools out". It was very painful and I even had some blood. I called the Acai people twice and was told a supervisor would be calling me. No one did. Then I was told I could send the tablets back and that they would send me "immediately" on my computer a return notice with the RMA number to print out so I could send the tablets back and not get charged. They never did. Anyone have any ideas about how I can get these people to do something? Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sus Mar 23, 2009

    I'm wondering the same thing -- you supposedly get a "free trial, " pay only S&H, and suddenly I have a charge for $69.99 on my credit card. I called the company and apparently when you order, you are agreeing to their "terms and conditions" (buried on the website, you actually have to go looking for it) which outline their home delivery program deal: "call within 14 days or you'll be charged for the product" -- and if you do call to cancel you have to return your free trial.

    They don't present these instructions/stipulations when you place your order, they are not mentioned in the confirmation email, and there is no reference to it in the package or receipt. It is clearly a scam since otherwise they would state this information up front.

    The best I was able to do was cancel the "membership" and get a $20 refund. I've been searching through the Better Business Bureau database under all their trade names -- Advanced Wellness, Teeth Whitening Now, Whitening Now, Bright Teeth -- and found NOTHING. This is very frustrating and I will NEVER again be swayed to click through on those stupid ads.

    0 Votes
  • Rl
    RLS Mar 21, 2009

    Ordered trial of Acai Berry Product. I never received the trial. Called to complain and they simply said it was mailed. They did not cancel my recurring shipment, so I was surprised when i saw another charge on my credit card. They claim I never actually said I wanted to cancel so they kept up the order. Terrible customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paris moore Mar 18, 2009

    this advanced wellness research company charged my account 5.99 for the free trial and then 14 days later charged 78.81 to my account. i did call and spoke to someone and demanded a refund since they charged my account before i even got the free trial. WHAT A SCAMMING COMPANY!!! i am reporting them to the better busssines bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mitzi Pugh Mar 17, 2009

    I placed a order for PURE ACAI BERRY DIETARY SUPPLEMENT for a trial of $5.99 a bottel. This Advanced wellness research company then after a month charged my account with out my permission $83.80 for another bottel of pills. I am very upset. I have tried to call and no answer.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Della Juarez Mar 17, 2009

    I was supposed to get a FREE trial sample of Acai Berry capsules(item # PF0058) for the shipping cost of $4.95. My bank account was charged $78.81. My order # is 4367240 dated 02/25/09. How can I get my money back? What legal options do I have?

    Thank You, Della Juarez
    430 N. N St.
    Muskogee, Oklahoma 74403
    [email protected]
    [protected]

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.