AcaipureCharge not authorized by me

1
D

I received my Visa statement today and there is a charge for $44.85. I did NOT order this and I will not pay it. I was to be charged only for the shipping cost of $4.95 for a FREE sample of Acaipure. Today is 12/4/08 at 3:55 pm.
I have tried to call and am on HOLD for over an hour. This charge will not be accepted. What kind of scam are you into? I want a credit to my Visa and a confirmation of that credit by mail and I will not wait--I want that credit to my account now and the confirmation now. I simply will not put up with this. Dez Roberts

Responses

  • Bb
    B Bayless Sep 03, 2008

    THIS CO IS SLAMMING ADDITIONAL PRODUCTS THAT ARE NOT ORDERED AND CHARGING YOUR CREDIT CARD! Don't let them get you CALL YOUR ATTORNEY GENERAL IN YOUR STATE NOW

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bobbi Sep 11, 2008

    I ordered a free sample online and was supposed to be charged shipping only. they charged my account $44.50, which overdrew my account. Now I got hit with a bank fee. I am afraid that they will keep charging my account. I have not received my "free" product. I will contact my bank to prevent any further charges.
    Does Oprah know about these scam artists?

    0 Votes
  • D
    D. Sep 11, 2008

    I responded to a free trial offer of AcaiPure pay S&H only $4 and some change. . My bank acct. showed that $44 and some change was taken by the company, Central Coast Nutra for that AcaiPure Trail. When I called the company the Customer "NO" Service person informed me that the site CLEARLY states that an additional offer was attached. I totally disagree with how CLEARLY that notice is/was and I have not been able to access the original page since they stole my money. If you are reading this you probably have already been a victim. If you are researching the company prior to ordering a product "DON'T DO IT" stay away. If these people have to resort to underhanded methods of marketing, the product must be Garbage. ...

    1 Votes
  • Ed
    Edy Sep 11, 2008

    Scam, Unauthorized charges, Additional Products Not Ordered

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arlene Perry Sep 13, 2008

    I ordered the sample plus a $1.95 shipping fee and have been charged $41.85 for the sample, what's up with this. This was advertised to be an Opra thing and how great it was, how do I get my money back and how to I avoid any further charges???

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kathryn Reardon Sep 13, 2008

    I just got scammed also---- ordered the free trial size only & was sent 2 other products that I din't order or even know about--- they charged my visa account for the 2 products & said I could ship them back @ my expense & pay a 15 % restocking fee ! What a scam--- I do indeed think that we should let Oprah know about this---- I now will have to file a complaint with this charge to my visa account-- what a pain--- also have called them & emailed as well- have yet to hear back from these rip- off artists.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle Sep 13, 2008

    I had the same problem. I never received my product and they charged my credit card! Oprah should be ashamed of herself for letting people scam us like this! Now I'm afraid their going to steal money from my card!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jane Sep 13, 2008

    I too had a very similar experience: I went online thinking I was only going to be charged the 4.95 S & H, and saw on my bank statement that my account had been charged 44.95. When I called them they said I neglected to "unclick" the bubles that requested an order for the gum and the water additive. One month later, I have been charged a 39.95 fee. I called to inquire about this amount thinking maybe, I did not "unclick" a bubble that requested a monthly supply of Acaipure be sent to me. I was informed that since I kept the 1st supply, I was now being charged for that product. I anticipate no further charges to my account. I am wiser today in the area of online transactions, ALWAYS look for bubbles that require one to "unclick" as opposed to clicking the bubbles for products desired. Since the bubbles were in my view, the company technically has done nothing illegal, in my opinion unethical though. So today, I am wiser about internet transactions and regretfully, not any thinner!!

    0 Votes
  • Em
    emma davis Sep 14, 2008

    The same has happened to me with AcaiPure. I was charged for the 14 day trial period and later reviewed my credit card and $39.95 was charged. I cancelled the account by phone and e-mailed the company. It took a week for their response giving me another offer to send more for $29.95 and free shipping. I'm waiting to see if they do just that. I do believe I've been scammed. Shame on Oprah for allowing them to use her name.

    0 Votes
  • El
    elens werbinski Sep 14, 2008

    the same thing happend to me. how stupid of me to trust Oprah

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    bill martin Sep 14, 2008

    as all above complaintes, I ordered a free trial sample only, and agreed to pay shipping charges only, $ 4.95 for acaipure, I assumed since they were using oprah's name they would be a honest & trustworthy company doing business online, such a disgrace and dishonest company, there are so many honest online companies making a legimate business living, and from this day forward. a dark shadow will be cast on all on line businesses such a sham. since this my first encounter with fraudulent company, what should I do? any advice would be appreciated

    0 Votes
  • As
    astreelo Sep 14, 2008

    The same thing happened to me I was thinking I was only paying the shipping charges and my account was charged $44.50. I haven't received my product yet.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mary barton Sep 14, 2008

    I am an old lady who should be wiser, but I fell for the "free trial offer" for shipping. My credit card shows the same charge as the above. I have called --no reply--and e-mailed -no reply. I did not receive a confirmation number or invoice either. I feel I have been scammed. On Monday I plan to contact the Phoenix, AZ BBB. Why don't we all do that?

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    virginia wippert Sep 14, 2008

    the same thing happened to me. I ordered the free sample paid the shipping, they sent me hoodie water and gum I didn't want.I emailed them told them I did not want it, they said they would cancel the order. today I went on line to my bankand they charged me another $39 plus. And no product. How do you get your money back.If I were Opra I would take my name off this product.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beverly Lasster Sep 15, 2008

    I feel so stupid. I never have ordered anything sent to my email, but fell for this one. I thought I was using great care in making my selection (acai berry for just shipping and handling prices) I found out the next day that the company had billed me $41.85 for two products that I had not ordered. Plus the package took over two weeks to arrive. I have done a dispute already, but don't feel to secure now thinking that at anytime they could just charge my account for some other unordered item. I too will call the BBB or the Attorney General if necessary. I am not blaming Oprah. It is possible that these people could just be using her name and image to scam people. She should be made aware of it.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mary barton Sep 15, 2008

    The e-mail address of the BBB in Phoenix, Az. is www.arizonabbb.org. The phone number is 1-602-264-1721. Hopefully, we can get our money back if enough of us complain about these CROOKS !!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott Sep 15, 2008

    Unfortunately this is my second scam I have fallen for where the scammer is from AZ! The first one was two years ago and advertised on a VERY popular Sports Radio Show in NYC "The Mike and the Mad Dog Show." I dealt with the AZ BBB and NOTHING was resolved! Holy crap was the paperwork extensive! All for nothing! My credit card company was a minor help. I hope you all contacted your credit card company to stop payment!!! Of course that is more paperwork.

    So now I have been ripped off via the internet. I fell for the old "Free Sample, just pay shipping" crap too. $4.95 shipping, when I got the package not only was I NOT shipped the Acaipure, but they threw in three unordered products (Hootia garbage) and to add insult to injury, the postage mark on the package was $2.95.

    I don't feel dumb because there are lots of crooks out there preying on the honest hardworking people of the world. What I do feel is mad and if there is anything I can figure out to do to get back at these people I will do it. Especially after reading all your comments above.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Sprinkle Sep 16, 2008

    Central Coast Nutra which advertised AcaiPure

    They advertised a trial for $4.95 and I just got charged $44.95
    Called cannot get a person, hangs up on me. I am calling my bank and betterbusiness bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Cb
    C.B. Lee Sep 16, 2008

    All, it is unfortunate that companies put the FREE in large fonts and the "but it will be an additional $40 charged to your account after 14 days if you don't send the product back" in small print, but it was there. Because nothing in life is ever free, I make a point of reading the small print priot to hitting the submit button. Once I saw the "I gotcha, " I deleted my credit card number and closed out of the site. There is always a catch to these offers...always. I hope all of your future experiences are more positive. At least now you know what to look for.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    VIKKIE LEWIS Sep 17, 2008

    I RECENTLY ORDERED A SUPPOSEDLY FREE TRIAL WHICH TURNED OUT TO BE A $70 PRODUCT. I NEVER TO THIS DATE RECEIVED THE PRODUCT AND THE COMPANY IS REFUSING TO REFUND MY MONEY. IF IT HAD NOT BEEN FOR OPRAH'S COMMENTS ON THE PRODUCT, I WOULD HAVE NEVER SUBSCRIBED TO IT. THIS IS TOTALLY A SCAM. THIS COMPANY HAS GOT TO BE STOPPED.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phyllis Podbielak Sep 17, 2008

    I called and cancelled the order which I learned was being shipped automatically It as still charged to my charge accountNow I can't get any customer service rep on the phone.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dawn Lightner Sep 17, 2008

    I am very dissatisfied and angry that this company can get away with this. I've called my credit card company to dispute this charge but I have no proof that the offer was free plus shipping and handling. I did not print out what I was ordering.I was charged too $44.85.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna in Phoenix Sep 17, 2008

    Wow - I was scammed, too. My husband and are distributors for a very reputable online company and I never dreamed I would be scammed! I was also charged $44.85 for a product promised to me for a $4.85 shipping charge!!!

    I am unable to reach a customer service rep by phone and having learned just today I might have been ripped off, I googled and found this complaint site. I have called the bank and placed a dispute but I have not yet received my product.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phyllis Podbielak Sep 17, 2008

    I also tried to reach a customer service rep and couldn't. Because Im being billed for a product I called and cancelled, didn't receive anything other than my free trial offer. Everything was supposed to have been taken care of when I first called a week ago. Now I can't get hold of a customer service rep. Im calling my credit card company too.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beverly Sep 18, 2008

    I was also charged 44.85 on my credit card for ordering the trial offer. I did not order anything else. I was only going to be charged a shipping charge. No one answers the phone when I call.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMANDA Sep 18, 2008

    I AM ALSO ONE OF THE PEOPLE THAT HAS GOTTEN SCAMMED BY THIS COMPANY.!!I RESPONDED TO AN EMAIL THAT WAS SENT TO ME THAT OFFERED THIS PRODUCT FREE TRIAL JUST PAY THE 2.95 SHIPPING FEE. I THOUGHT THAT IS A GREAT DEAL FOR SOMETHING THAT SEEMS TO BE SO WONDERFUL, WAS I EVER WRONG. AFTER 2W OF NOT GETTING MY FREE PRODUCT, THAT WAS TO BE DELIVERED IN 3-4 DAYS, I CHECKED MY CHECKING ACCOUNT TO SEE IF I WAS BILLED TH 2.95. TO MY SUPRISE THE 2.95 WAS NOT TAKEN OUT BUT INSTEAD 41.85 HAD BEEN TAKEN OUT WITHOUT MY PERMISSION. WHEN I FINALLY REACHED SOMENE AT THIS SO CALLED COMPANY I WAS INFORMED THAT CHARGE WAS FOR THE GUM AND WATER THAT WAS INCLUDED IN THIS DEAL. I WAS NEVER TOLD THAT I WOULD BE RECIEVING THIS AND BE CHARGED FOR IT AS WELL. 41.85 FOR WATER AND GUM?? IF THAT 'S NOT A JOKE. NEEDLESS TO SAY I HAD TO FILE A DISPUTE AGAINST THIS COMPANY AND HAVE HAD MY CHECKING ACCOUNT CLOSED OUT DUE TO CHARGES BEING TAKEN OUT BY THEM WITHOUT MY CONSENT. I WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS TO ANYONE. I AM ALSO VERY SHOCKED THAT OPRAH WOULD HAVE HER TITLE ATTACHED TO ANY OF THIS.

    0 Votes
  • D
    D. Sep 18, 2008

    WOW!! There were only 2 comments about this scam when I first posted remarks last week 9/11/08. I ordered on 9/6/08 and after 1 telephone contact & 4+ e-mails, I still have not recieved any products, NOTHING!! I just want my money back.
    D...

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    B.J. Sep 19, 2008

    I too was scammed. Thought I was getting a free sample of the product just had to pay shipping. Looked at my bank statement and was charged $44.95. I thought what the heck and called them.The gal was totally rude and said I ordered the other products.I didnt even get a confirmation on my email that they charged me nor was my order confired.It has been since the 4th of September and I havent recieved anything in the mail. I cannot afford this charge so I know I didnt order all that other stuff.Also I have emailed them and they will not respond.This is a total scam. Watch out

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mary kay Sep 19, 2008

    I agree on all complaints. I feel its time to get OPRAH involved.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Olsen Sep 19, 2008

    I ordered the free trial and was supposed to be charged $4.85 shipping. Instead I have been charged $44.85. When I call the number listed it just rings & rings. I did get a message once with a website address to send to. When the address is typed in - it's invalid, no such address known. What a rip!

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    B.J. Sep 19, 2008

    I too was scammed. Can you just cancel your credit card so there isnt anymore charges.It really scares me to think I could have charges every month that are not authorized.I didnt even get a email confirming my free sample, and they took out $44.85 out of my bank cardHelp does anyone know what all of us can do that was scammed.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jazzy Sep 20, 2008

    It's funny reading all of these complaints (involving Oprah.) Oprah isn't the person who created this pill, nor does she support their company in that fashion. Dr. Nicolas Perricone is the person who introduced this product ON the Oprah show...No where in that show did Oprah say she has tried it...The Dr. was simply stating his "opinions" on this "amazing" product. An opinion isn't a proven FACT ppl... You all got scammed because you trusted a product that was presented on a famous show...and now your mad that you all have been scammed...but that isn't Oprah's fault, nor is it the Drs. fault...We must ALL be aware of any products sold online that gives false, too good to be true hope especially if it's dealing with our credit cared information.

    Wanna lose weight? Consult your PCP and allow them to prescribe something that your insurance will pay for instead of you waisting your hard-earned $ on scams...

    God bless,

    ~K~

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joan B Sep 20, 2008

    Ditto -- Ditto -- Ditto. I can't add anything new, except I was dupped as well. I too wish there was some way to let Oprah know this company (whoever the h*** they are) are using her name to continue their scam. My biggest concern is that they will continue to charge my credit card monthly for something I have never received.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carrie Sep 20, 2008

    I am so glad that I trusted my instincts and didn't order this product. It seemed too good to be true! Also, I thought I'd better research it and found this website! It's terrible that people are so lost without God and don't know how to be honest as a result.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shirley Amato Sep 20, 2008

    This company scammed me too. They charged me twice for something I did not buy. We need to file a class action lawsuit against this rip off company.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheryl Malmad Sep 22, 2008

    I have had the same problem with these people. I don't know why you had to close your bank account. This is a scam and not my fault. I didn't open anything anf want to return this stuff. I can't grt a response from them as to a "rturn merchandise number". This is incredible. I am going to write to Oprah and tell her what they are doing with her as an endorsement. Perhaps one of her staff members can get an "answer" for me from Acai-Pure.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deborah Spadorcia Sep 22, 2008

    I agree completely! What a scam!! They asked me to fill out my visa information for the $4.95 for the shipping and handling for the free trial of the acai berries and then press the button to send the order, which I did. Unfortunately over to the right they have a default check for the purchase of gum for $9.95 and a suppressant for $29.95!!

    I can't believe that Oprah would want to sponsor this company. I am in shock!!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alice Sep 22, 2008

    Yes, they did the same thing to me!!! They sent me hoodia water and gum which I didn't order or authorize and they charged my account $41.85. I was told it would only be $1.95 for shipping only. And now the customer service line is bogus. I've been trying to call them since 6:00 am MST and they still aren't answering and you can't leave a message. They are stealing from people like mad. I had to close my debit account just to keep them from charging me again.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbara Trimark Sep 22, 2008

    I visited their website responding to a free sample and only pay S & H. S&H was $5.95 so I declined and it came back stating would you pay $1.95 S & H and I said yes. I now find a $41.85 charge on my Master Card and tried calling the # my credit card company gave me 888-692-8352. There is no way anyone will get a response from these folks, just listen to all the gibberish on their message. Sounds like a scam to me.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    KR Sep 22, 2008

    I am having the EXACT same thing happening to me.
    I will go to my bank and have them block any more charges.
    I have tried to call the company and no one answers.
    I will call the BBB in Utah and register a complaint.

    0 Votes

Post your comment