20330 Stevens Creek Boulevard, Cupertino, CA, 95014, US

Reviews and Complaints

Symantec - Norton 360false advertisement

I purchased a Norton 360 for my PC four months ago. This week, my computer was infected by a virus (MVR). I called Norton's free 24/7 technical support hotline. After being on hold for ten minutes, I talked to a customer rep who listened to my problem, asked a lot of questions, and then offered me to transfer me to another rep who would remotely log into my computer for a $16.99 fee. After I told him I was not going to pay, he then offered to transfer me to another rep who would walk me through the steps necessary to clean my PC.

At this point, I was transferred to Sam, whom I had to explain everything once more. Sam did a remote log into my PC (for free; never asked for any money) and was unable to fix the problem. At this point (we're now two hours into this mess), Sam offered me a transfer to another rep who (for $99) will fix my computer just like new. I complained and asked him, "Let me get this straight, I purchased Norton 360 so that it can identify viruses but not clean them?" To which he replied, "Yes. In order for us to clean your virus, you would have had to purchase the virus removal insurance at $8.99/month prior to the infection." I asked Sam if the conversation was being recorded. He said yes. I said great!

This is a scam and somehow they are getting away with it.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Ge
      Gerardo_DC Jan 10, 2013
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      I took the following from their site. Do you see the words FREE?

      Symantec provides free 24x7 email, chat, and phone support for a period of one year. Continuing support is available with an active service period subscription. Renewing your service period subscription and updating to the latest product version may be required to access support. NortonLive™ Services sold separately. For full details and to access support, go to www.symantec.com/globalsupport.

      Did you actually read the complaint? ... ' "Let me get this straight, I purchased Norton 360 so that it can identify viruses but not clean them?" To which he replied, "Yes.'

      -1 Votes

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Norton Symantec awful scam!

    March 2007 I used a debit card linked to my bank account to renew Norton Symantec. That debit card was disabled in July 2007 and the number was no longer valid. My Norton Symantec 'virus protection' was due to expire this year on March 24th, 2008. I began receiving e-mail notices to renew. I had been out of town and decided to deal with it when I got back by 'updating' my account with a Master Card credit card instead of using the debit method.

    Desperate for their money, Norton Symantec attempted 3 times in March 2008 to debit the $54.11 from my bank account using the old debit card number they had on file. Of course, the charge bounced back all 3 of those times because the debit card number was no longer valid.

    On March 19th, 2008 Norton Symantec successfully debited my bank account with my NEW debit card number. I did not give them this new number nor did my bank. Somehow, Norton Symantec acquired my new debit card number without any authorization from me and took the money out of my account.

    I have spent a total of about 3.5 hours either in their customer support 'chat room' room or on the phone with New Delhi 'customer service'. Each representative clearly states that Norton does not have my new debit card information. OK, then how were they able to charge the new debit card number? Not one person at Norton Symantec will answer that question. I have an e-mail congratulating me on my Norton renewal which shows specifically that they charged the new debit card number.

    Where did Norton Symantec get my new debit card number? I believe they have hacked into my computer to do so and I am furious that Norton Symantec continues to blow this off.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Norton Symantec hacked into my bank account and stole the renewal charge!

      After 3 unsuccessful attempts in March 2008 to charge an old dead debit card number Symantec had on file for me, they managed to hack into my bank account or computer, discover the new debit card number and charge money out of my bank account on March 19th 2008.

      I have spent over 3 hours with Symantec "customer service" in the past 2 days. They claim they do not have the new debit card number. Then how did they use it to debit my account? Where did they get my new debit card number since neither I nor my bank gave it to them and authorized it's use?

      All I know is they are now falling all over themselves wanting to put the money back in my account. I asked how they can do that if they do not have my new number? At this point I get more New Delhi psycho-babble.

      Bottom line, Symantec denies having my new debit card number, yet they clearly charged it and I have an e-mail to prove it. What's more, they know good and well they stole money from me and do so from consumers all the time.

      They are crafty corporate thieves and too chicken to provide customer service reps who can actually speak English and too uncaring to do anything but lie.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        • Ki
          Kiran May 02, 2008
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          Symantec customer's have always shown their innocent and funny attitude towards their reps. answer to that question is (bank account number) which never gets changed even you destroy your old debit card you got charged automatically on your old debit card and in reverse bank charged it onto your new account considering this as a permission. I hope you've got answer but your comments sound very humorous to me by the way

          0 Votes
        • Ki
          KilleenEric Apr 03, 2012

          They did the same to me, how do you stop them from taking money whenever they want?

          0 Votes