The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
US Periodicals Inc.magazine subscription fraud

M Review updated:

I agreed to a renewal of a subscription to Discover Magazine for 4yrs for $96.00 with these people. I wouldn't do the order over the phone so they sent the info by mail and I sent a check. Didn't want to give them a credit card number. They cashed the check but I have never received a magazine. They won't return my calls either.

Responses

  • Ar
    Artwire Oct 02, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They apparently created a “free” 3 year subscription to vogue which I never ordered. I immediately cancelled it with vogue and also with Priority One which is ostensibly a clearing house. Everyone denies responsibility for initiating the order. I haven’t paid for it nor do I plan to. If you get something “free” in the mail I suggest you cancel immediately. This is what I was finally sent, several weeks after my initial inquiry:

    Per your request, this order (VOGUE) has been CANCELLED. Because magazine labels are pre-printed, you may receive 1-2 more issues, then the subscription will stop.

    We have also contacted the company that initiated this order to request that your name and address be removed from any mailing lists.

    If you would like more information, please contact the company that initiated this order. This order was sent to Priority One for processing by the company (US PERIODICALS). You can contact them directly at [protected]). They will be able to answer your questions or refer you to the company that started your order. They will be able to explain exactly why the order was started in your name and provide any billing information if it applies.

    Buyer ( or recipient) beware!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    berry33 Feb 24, 2020

    Another victim! Paid U.S. Periodicals $90 for the Enquirer in November, 2019. When my subscription ran out at the end of January, 2020, I received no more of the issues. I tried four different phone numbers listed in various locations for U.S.Cellular...all were not in service. Help!

    0 Votes
  • To
    TomWendy Demy Dec 24, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When in the world are these magazines like the National Enquirer and Playboy going to take legal action against US Periodicals to protect their subscribers from getting scammed? What are they waiting for? The horrific evidence against US Periodicals is blatant.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    GotScrewedbyUSaholes Mar 30, 2018

    Wish I had know about this SCAM before I got taken for $51 by the sleazy [censor].

    1 Votes
  • St
    StrokerMcgurk Mar 28, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How do these people stay out of jail? Don't you go to jail for stealing in this country? If you give a company money for a subscription to their magazine and they don't send the magazine, but they do keep the money, is not that theft, stealing?

    1 Votes
  • Zh
    ZHarris Mar 28, 2017

    I have a 3 year subscription to Enquirer the last one I receive was 3/6/17 I've tried calling and there is no answer I' ve only received 10 months of my order I will try calling again today I will never order from them again it's only about $30.00 savings its not worth the headaches S Harris Green Bay WI

    1 Votes
  • St
    StrokerMcgurk Apr 15, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They're still at it. They tried me on Street Rodder Magazine. I got suspicious because the price offer was so stupid cheap! What I don't understand is why doesn't one of the many law enforcement organizations in America go to that address, arrest the people, file charges, convict and throw in jail for life. That's the only way to stop these lowlifes.

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    Frani Jul 02, 2015

    I received a bill for The Week from US Periodicals so I sent USP $52 to subscribe in March 2015. I waited for over six weeks to get my magazine to arrive. As of June 2015, I have yet to receive a copy. I called The Week offices and they had no knowledge of my subscription and didn't know who USP was. So I am out $52 and no weekly magazine.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    TheMightyWhite01 Jan 28, 2014

    Yeah, I got a call and made it clear I wanted to cancel and they said I couldn't. I'm now receiving calls from an Unknown number saying that I'm behind in payments cause they milked out my first card. They say it is enough to make a settlement over. This "company" needs what is coming to them.

    0 Votes
  • Cf
    C Fruge May 28, 2013

    I just got off of the phone with US Periodicals after making an inquiry about a bill they sent my deceased mother. The man who answered my call was incredibly rude and went so far as to call me a "F***king C." I was so shocked that I asked to speak with his manager. Again, I got called the above by this man who even went so far as to say, "I AM THE MANAGER!" Wow...

    1 Votes
  • Gk
    gkravitz Jun 04, 2012

    Amen. A disgrace.

    1 Votes
  • Gk
    gkravitz Jun 04, 2012

    Definitely a non-professional outfit. Check out BBB site for HUNDREDS of complaints.
    A previous comment on this (complaintsboard.com) site -- [ 21st of Mar, 2011 by Izzone] -- indicates: "They told me a computer glitch sent out Maxim to about 8000 people in the database"
    Today (June 5, 2012) I contacted U.S. Periodicals (found them by contacting publication/Ebony who provided NPE phone who then provided U.S. Periodicals phone) and was told that a "computer glitch" sent out 2, 000 issues/subscriptions to Ebony magazine in error.
    Highly suspect, to say the least.
    These guys have been in business since 2008. Shameful that they cannot be stopped.

    2 Votes
  • Pa
    packerpoke Apr 23, 2012

    Thanks for the info. here I also just received letter to renew.I did renew with Marquee magazine service, and never did my national enquirer. They charge me once and then I called and then they charged my visa again for $ 125.oo. Visa got me credit. Someone called me yesterday to renew with MMS. If you have to renew just go threw the magazine company.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Douglas Best Dec 27, 2011

    On Monday Dec. 26th I also got a call from Nick trying to sell a subscription.I agreed for two years and he said he could not do billing so another man would call.Another man did call and I told him I would not give info over the phone and to bill me and he started his bullying tactics.I do not repond well to that so they got no subscription.I also contacted the magazine company that they were trying to sell and filed a complaint.

    1 Votes
  • La
    laurent conte Dec 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have spend sometimes in the Us, 3 months, periodicals US contact me by phone, they propose me what i taught a good deal for magazines, I was suppose to receive some sample magasines and a nice watch, they record my agreement to withdraw 9.95$ every month during 1 year. After 3 months, i haven't receive absolutly anything and the withdraw are now increasing 66.41$ everymonth.
    I don't think it's very honest to still 142.77$ and to had anything to read for the time being.

    1 Votes
  • Bu
    BustYerScam Nov 02, 2011

    Okay, here's the deal. I worked for U.S. Periodicals for one day a couple of months ago. A few hours into it, I knew this was some kind of SCAM; so I worked the day and kept my eyes and ears open to see what I could learn. Most everything said in the above comments is correct, so I won't repeat it. Except to say that U.S. PERIODICAL IS A SCAM OUTFIT, IMHO !!! If anyone wants to know where and who they are, here it is, to the best of my one day's knowledge:

    The two guys that own the company are named Vern "Smith" and Mike. Another supervisor there is named James. These are the guys that call you back and get your payment information, i.e., the SCAMMERS. I'm not sure if the people on the phone really know what's going on with the SCAM, but Vern, Mike and James sure do. The guy that trained me is named Ray, but goes by 'Ashley' on the phone because 'he sounds like a girl on the phone'.

    They operate out of an office in a nondescript office building at 4820 S. Mill Ave, Office # 204, in Mesa, AZ. Their company name, U.S. PERIODICALS, is nowhere to be found on the building directory, nor on their door. In the waiting room are chairs with applications to fill out at all times because they have a constant turnover of callers, apparently because the SCAM JOB sucks so much nobody works but a day or two, as was the case with me.

    Their phone number is listed in the Arizona Republic newspaper jobs section weekly as they're always looking for new employees starting at $9.00 an hour. What a joke!! I worked one day and do NOT expect a paycheck in the mail. I'd rather see their SCAM shut down.

    The phone number listed in the paper is [protected]. Call them and ask them why they are SCAMMING PEOPLE.

    This company really needs to be shut down !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    KEU Jun 10, 2011

    I had paid for the National Enquirer through US Periodicals with a Discover card on 1-25-11. By March I was getting
    Last Chance notices from the Enquirer. I called them and they had not received the payment from US Periodicals. I called
    Us Periodicals [protected] and a man answered the phone immediately. He told me when the payment was sent out to
    the Enquirer and he would check up on that. Must have worked as the Enquirer continued to arrive weekly with the
    expiration date one year in advance on the address sticker. I must say, it was very helpful to get this phone number off this website from other customers who had a problem.

    0 Votes
  • Rr
    RR Gray Apr 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In september 2010 I renewed a TVguide subscription with this company. I have never received a magazine after the old subscription ended. After reading all the complaints, I don't know if I will even call for an answer to why I am not receiving my magazine. I would like to know how to complain to the state of AZ. From NC.

    0 Votes
  • Iz
    Izzone Mar 21, 2011

    I'll say something nice about these guys... I found out a copy of Maxim was sent in my name to an address I have not been at in 5 years. Fortuantely, I know the poeple whio live there now. She was none too pleased to have her son pull it out of the mailbox. A call to Maxim led to a call to Priority One Clearing which led to US Periodicals. Called, no answer. Left a message.

    I received a call back in less than 24 hours. They told me a computer glitch sent out Maxim to about 8000 people in the database. (I may have done business with them previously... I really dont recall at this point.) Anyway, they fixed most of them but a few were still out there. He apologized and agreed to fix any error and assured me I was not charged.

    Very professional; took responsibility. (I do reserve the right to negate all of this if the magazine continues to show up.)

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anita is PISSED Dec 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company ripped off my 84 year old mother for $56 for a subscription to "The National Enquirer". After never receiving the magazine, my mother called to ask for her money back. They offered her an extension to her existing subscription, to which she just again, asked for her money back. They then proceeded to tell her that she could not get her money back---so my mother told them that she would turn them in to the BBB. She could not then believe the gentleman on the phone would call her a F***king B***h.
    What kind of company is this?

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    Grocho Nov 15, 2010

    U.S.Periodicals called me syaing they were representing Golfweek Subscription renewal and if I renewed now I would get 3 years for $94.I confirmed the credit card number and made the renewal. Two weeks later my Golfweek stopped arriving.I called Golf week and they said it expired.When I said that I paid on my Credit card thru U.S.Periodicals, Golfweek informed me they have NO connection with U.S. Periodicals and that they do NOT use third party vendor for renewals.I tried to contact U.S.Periodicals [protected]) to no avail .Only a recording that never answers... I have filed a Report with the Arizona Attorney generals Office.(www.azag.gov). Everyone that has gotten ripped off by this company should file a fraud complaint, so that the A.Z.A.G. can put them out of business.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    vernelm Sep 08, 2010

    I also got scammed by this "So called business", they are just a rip off from the git go. I have tried to contact them numerous times, since June 10, 2010, but they kept telling me it takes up to 12 weeks to get the first copy. No other company tells you that, it does not take that long to put someone on a list for a subscription. Try to call them, it always tell you they will call you back. Well there again it does not take hours, days, or months for them to call you back. If they had any intention of calling anyone back, it might be ok to have a phone recorder, but they are just operating a FARCE COMPANY. Just sorry for all the people who have been scammed.

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    aaabbbccc May 12, 2010

    Call the company (US Periodicals) and discuss your problem with them. We've had problems with them before and a phone call has always straightened things out (eventually). However, there are too many problems with this company and we are not going to use them for any more magazine subscriptions. Their prices are good, but there are too many problems to deal with.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shekay Mar 05, 2010

    they have turned us in to a collection company from where they say we owe for a renewal for Playboy, that isn't true. cause my husband orders from the Playboy comapny itself. So i wonder what can be done about this?

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brody1 Feb 09, 2010

    too bad I didn't look on the internet before I "re-newed" my subscripion to TV Guide--- this at least saves me time and energy to just forget about it -- they say "you don't have to enroll in college to pay for your education"-- I've just been educated at the tune of $84.00...

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    PaulaMT Feb 03, 2010

    I recently just got a hold of US periodicals after placing an order in late 2008. This was a subscription for 3 years of Globe Magazine for 154 dollars. The magazines never came. As of March 2009 (as to follow the 60-120 days that they "may" not send magazines in the fine print due to processing) I called the company repeatedly and received no response, they literally seemed to disappear off the face of the planet, every time I called I was disconnected. I decided to cut my losses (we've all been ripped off at some point), that was until recently when I received a renewal notice in the mail. Behold I have a way to contact the company. This morning I called U.S. Periodicals at [protected] and raise inquisition of why I had not received my magazines and why they would be sending me a renewal notice less than a year into the supposed 3 year subscription, the customer service rep's response was something along the lines of "why didn't you call us?" When i explained that I have been trying to reach the company repeatedly over time and that they seemed to disappear and I had not received any of my magazines, he again attempted to justify it with "you should have contacted us with (insert information here)."
    I finally lost my temper and said something along the lines of "So, you ripped me off and now expect me to pay another 96." To which he told me I was lying. I was flabbergasted and wanted to know why I wanted to be out 154 dollars, and note I was in a bit of a mood and called him a stupid fool. The customer service rep, then began to yell at me " we didn't rip you off, " I said yes, you did which was greeted with the repeated use of "F*** You C***".

    After calming down a bit, I decided to call the number back figuring this was a customer service rep and he had no excuse to speak to me in such a way regardless of the allegations. My son who heard the whole ordeal from the other room attempted to redial and sort this out peacefully received a professional sounding voice stating, "Your calls are no longer welcome here, I'm gonna have to block them."

    So to sum it up, not only has this company ripped me off 154 dollars, they have also verbally insulted me. I am posting because I want everyone to know that this is a scam and someone who obviously has no respect for people, regardless of age.

    0 Votes
  • 90
    90004jett Feb 01, 2010

    They also took advantage of my elderly uncle. He sent them a check for $85.00 for a crossword puzzle subscription. They said it would take 4 months before he would get the subscription. Needless to say, he has not received anything.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Broek Jan 08, 2010

    They also cashed my check for $63 in September 2009 and I have yet to receive anything from them! Wish I would have seen this complaint before I sent them my money!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Ming07 Oct 23, 2009

    What out for them! Now they are calling people and telling them they are part of a preferred customer program. Participants will receive reimbursements for expenses (gas, food, etc) up to $50 a month in gift cards. The problem is, you have to pay them $80.00 up front for what they call "postage and handling". I refused and the agent said he could just debit the checking account used to make the last payment if I would gived him permission over the phone! I refused and he called back and asked I had a credit card! I said yes, but was not going to give it to him.

    I think these guys are doing what fitness clubs used to do when they needed money-give away lifetime memberships for small fees up front which were never refunded when they eventually went under!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Coaster51 Sep 28, 2009

    So, how does one protect oneself from these sort of companies? A co-worker also got scammed by U.S. Periodicals when he was called by them and sent a check for $124 for a 4 year subscription to Playboy. When his subscription expired, he called Playboy and was informed, yes, they do send out information to groups like U.S. Publications that customers have expiring subscriptions, but, no, Playboy accepts no responsibility for the failure of U.S. Publications to send the money to Playboy for the subscription.

    How do we get the word out that U.S. Pubications is a scam company?

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whatching out for mom Aug 27, 2009

    These people called my elderly mother-in-law about a renewal of a subscription for the Enquirer. When I asked who she was she said "What difference does that make?" I asked if she was someone from the Enquirer or just representing them because someone had been taking money out of her checking account for magazines that she never ordered and she said it wasn't them because my mother-in-law had never paid them. When I inquired further about how she was connected to the Enquirer she hung up.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    vicki in nj Jul 22, 2009

    I also got ripped off by this company . I placed a renewal order with them in 01/09 and have been calling them . They advised me it takes up to 120 days . I have asked for a efund and was told they do not refund. I would like to know how to report this company and bring them up with fraud charges. Vicki in NJ

    0 Votes
  • We
    wendy Jun 15, 2009

    Same here renewed subscription for tv guide. paid and got not nothing in return. phone number is nothing but an answering machine, saying they are closed. i would like to know how they get the info. on the fact that you do have a renewal coming up. any body know? wendy

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Sprite68 May 20, 2009

    I wish I had known about this web site before I sent them my money. $45. I guess this is one lesson learned for me. All I can hope for is that someday it will all catch up with them and they will be sitting in jail for their crimes.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trader Apr 21, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We renewed The Enquirer based on a renewal notice in Feb 2009
    No renewal and the check was cashed
    Trying to contact them and get back the money($119.60)
    Thanks for the heads up.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donato Mazza Apr 09, 2009

    well they did the same about Playboy, told me the they were with them. Call Playboy after the send me a invoice, found out they are not a renewing company for them. Then call U S Periodicals and they said that they have no cancellation number and look for it in the next 2 statements.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lexi Mar 23, 2009

    US Periodicals also cashed a check I sent for $76 for the National Enqirer with out renewing my subscription. The Enquirer said they reported this company for scamming, but nothing has been done yet.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.