Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Financing and Loans Cash Advance USA Bogus Collections - Scammers!!!
Cash Advance USA

Cash Advance USA review: Bogus Collections - Scammers!!! 446

Y
Author of the review
11:59 am EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I received a call from [protected], or at least that is what I was told was the return call #. I hit *69 and was given the message the call could not be traced. I was told I was speaking with Nathan Davis and the call was regarding a legal matter. I told this "Nathan" that I was not able to receive personal phone calls at work...he then stated it was not personal. I asked for a number where I could call them back at and was given the above referenced 888#. I told this "Nathan" that I would have to call back but I wanted to know what it was in reference to. He said he would transfer me to his office because he was not able to give me any information. So he transferred me which seemed like he handed the phone off to someone else who was named Rachel Williams. "Rachel" told me that the call was in regards to a payday loan I had not paid from US Cash Advantage that was taken out in July 2008. I have no idea if I took this loan out or not so I asked for her to email or fax me some information. SHe said they already had and the only way I could obtain any documents was for them to send to my attorney and asked for my attorney's name. I told her I did not have one and I would check in to this matter. I have received calls like this before supposedly from other payday loan companies and been threatened many times. If I owe $ I will pay it but this harassment has to stop! The people I spoke with have an middle-eastern accent/dialect and would not provide me with enough information to check the validity of this. Based on past experience - I plan on disregarding this call UNLESS they can provide information in writing that I can verify from my end. It is ridiculous that people can harass hard working persons with scams like this.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Cash Advance USA reviews & complaints

Cash Advance USA - scammers 76
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Cash Advance USA - Fraudulant Debt Collection 22
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Cash Advance USA - cash advance usa loan scam 2
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Cash Advance USA - harassment 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Cash Advance USA - threatening to appear in court 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Cash Advance USA - harassing phone calls and e-mails 2
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
446 comments
Add a comment
I
I
IL Scam
Rock Falls, US
Jun 24, 2010 4:44 pm EDT

I have been called a couple of times from a person whom says they are from the legal dept. of US Cash Advance and I am in default of a payday loan with them. The company I have used have never heard of these people. This Indian/foreign accented person identified himself as Raymond Scott and I needed to get a prepaid Debit card to pay back $723.00 immediately or I would be taken to court and could end up with charges as high as $5000.00 if I did not get this matter settled. He said I needed to fax him a letter stating: "I -------- with my last 4 digits of my SS#----, agree to pay $----.00 on --/--/--, with a prepaid visa card and I authorize the Company, US Cash Advance to take care of these payments. I will not dispute this matter in present or in future."

My Signature

I was to fax this to him, then call on this phone number, [protected] and tell him I faxed it. HE EVEN HAD ALL MY PERSONAL INFO. When I hung up, I called the *69 and it was a total different name. I called the SS# Fraud Alert and was given a number for Homeland Security and spoke to an agent who said they were trying to find these people who are doing this and that it is a scam and DO NOT SEND THEM ANY MONEY! He said they are somehow getting personal information off the internet and scamming people into paying them money they are told they are owed. I am expecting another call since I did not fax anything to Raymond Scott, I was told to tell him I have reported him to the Homeland Security for fraud and it is being investigated. DO NOT SEND ANYBODY MONEY UNLESS YOU HAVE CONCRETE PROOF YOU OWE IT.

B
B
barry.goldwater
romeoville, US
Jun 24, 2010 5:19 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

go to this site people and register your cell and home number.

https://www.donotcall.gov/

few days from now they can not call you for 5 years

P
P
panelope
Ellicott City, US
Jun 29, 2010 3:02 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Thank you all for posting your experiance with theses scam artist. I received a call this am 6/29/10 on my work phone ext and yesterday 6/28/10 on my cell phone. I have done PD loans before and I have also paid them back. I owe no more so when I called back this am I was told the amt I owed 611.00 and to write a letter with my last 4 SS# and my name giving auth to take care of this debit. Several Months ago they contacted one of my bestfriends that I used as a ref and asked her if she knew my where abouts? This is not only nerve racking it is scarry to speak to some stranger in the US let alone from another country that you don't know that has your personal info... I feel raped... JUST BECAREFUL WHAT YOU APPLY FOR ON LINE BECAUSE IT LOOKS LIKE EVEN THOUGH THEY SAY ITS A SECURE SITE MAYBE THEY ARE NOT SO SECURE AFTER ALL. OTHEWISE PEOPLE THAT ARE COMPLETE STRANGERS TO US WOULDN'T HAVE ALL OUR PERSONAL INFORMATION.

W
W
wtf28
US
Jul 12, 2010 9:50 am EDT

I just got a call from a man stating that i didnt pay a loan back. I know for a fact i have only took aut 2 payday loans and I paid both back. This man with a thick indian accent called my job and told me they would take me to court if i didnt pay them their money back and the loan company was us cash advances and ive never took money from them. This is crazy, because im young and i was going to fax over my info, but thank God these post are up. Im not faxing him anything. What should i do and who should i call to report these crazy [censor] people?

P
P
piddle sticks
US
Jul 14, 2010 9:46 pm EDT

I got these calls. I called my bank and they told me to call Trans Union Credit Bureau and put a fraud notice on my social security number [protected]). It's free and they register it with the other 2 credit Bureau's. Then she told me I should close my bank account, because those a-holes had all the info they needed to loot it.

Don't let them scare you, they are FULL OF IT!

J
J
Jessica LE
Florence, US
Jul 21, 2010 10:56 am EDT

I too have been getting calls from these scammers. I just want to put this out there for everyone that you should NEVER EVER confirm your social or personal information with ANYONE unless they can provide proof in writing who they are and their legal right to collect a debit! I have been researching this and everything I have found says this is a complete and utter scam! The FTC and BBB released a statement saying that they believe the information this "company" obtained was through a security breach. First of all, any legit company is NOT going to deny you the appropriate documentation on a loan you supposedly have... that's illegal. Also, they CANNOT misrepresent themselves--and it's clear to me they change their "name" quite frequently. The most frequent name I've found that they use is "Cooper Law Firm". I will add as well that it is ILLEGAL to threaten people the way they do. It is against FTC regulations to threaten jail to someone or to tell them they will start calling their work and they will be fired. They do these things to scare people into getting their information quickly. Unfortunately, I can't seem to find any legit addresses for these [censor]--the number they call me from is international and it shows as [protected]. I found the following advice in my research yesterday and wanted to share it with all of you:

The information you have provided is very similar to other complaints we have received, which also involve attempts to collect Internet payday loan accounts by persons/entities that do not properly identify themselves; making empty threats of legal action or threats of criminal prosecution in order to intimidate consumers into giving out their banking information to collect payment. This type of illegal debt collection activity has been occurring for some time. An August 2008 ABC News article on the issue is attached.

We suspect that the people that called you are not "a law office." As odd as it may sound, it would be a good thing if any of these "lenders" would bring a legal action; then we would at least know who we're dealing with. In either case, there is no lawsuit; they are just trying to "phish" for your personal banking information through intimidation.

We suggest that you tell the caller that they will get no information or payment from you unless they provide you written evidence of the alleged debt and properly identify themselves and their authority to collect the alleged debt. If they continue to call, continue to terminate the call, or just set down the phone and walk away. Let them rant all they want to; eventually, they will realize you're not going to give-in to their scam.

Since this group apparently has some personal information about you, you may want to file a fraud alert with the major credit bureaus: www.equifax.com, www.experian.com and www.transunion.com, and, perhaps, file a report with the Wisconsin Office of Privacy Protection (http://privacy.wi.gov); but before you do that, you may want to first get your free credit reports to see if there is any unusual information or activity there. All consumers are entitled to receive one, free credit report from each of the bureaus, once every 12 calendar months. If you have not yet used this process, or you did so more than 12 months ago, you can get your free report at the website specifically set-up for this process: www.annualcreditreport.com.

If you ever did have a payday loan, we may be able to track the lender and find out more about who may be calling you. If you have taken a payday loan on the Internet before, please give us the name(s) of the lenders and/or the web site address, as that information could also be helpful. If you kept a copy of the loan agreement, you may forward a copy for the file, if you wish.

Here is information we found for the "940" number you report as the caller's number:

Search Date: Monday, March 29, 2010 8:12 AM
Phone Number: [protected]) 580-2411
Line Type: Landline
Phone Carrier: Level 3 Communications, Llc - Tx
City: Gainesville
State: TX
County: Cooke
Latitude: 33.6300
Longitude: -97.1400

We are not able to locate information on the existence or location of a company named "Cooper Law Firm" out of Gainesville, Texas.

We note that you have already filed a report of this experience with the Federal Trade Commission.

You may want to contact Level 3 Communications, LLC http://www.level3.com/index.cfm?pageID=235 and file a complaint there, too, as well as with the Texas Attorney General http://www.oag.state.tx.us/agency/contacts.shtml, and with the Internet Crime Complaint Center http://www.ic3.gov/complaint/default.aspx.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Hanna, Compliance Officer
Department of Financial Institutions
Bureau of Consumer Affairs
P.O. Box 8041
Madison, WI [protected]

I am following every step in this above statement. I have already filed a complaint with the FTC. Last night I contacted each credit burue and put a fraud alert on my credit report. I recommend everyone else in this forum do the same. You can file a complaint by going here: https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

Also, I talked to the FBI and they told me to have my phone company immediately block the number. Most phone companies will do this for you. You can also file a police report in addition to the other things I mentioned.

C
C
CJACKSON305
Miami, US
Jul 28, 2010 2:37 pm EDT

I RECEIVED A CALL TODAY AT MY JOB STATIN THAT I OWE SOME MONEY FROM US CASH ADVANCE ..I HAVE NEVER RECEIVED ANY MONEY FROM THIS COMPANY. AND THEY CALLED ME ON MY JOB NUMBER. THIS IS HORRIFYING AS MY JOB RECORDS ALL THE CALLS COMING IN..THE NUMBER WAS [protected]. I TRIED CALLING BACK AND ITS ASKING FOR A PIN NUMBER ..CANT GET THRU..HOWEVER MY JOB HAS THEM ON TAPE. THERE BETTER BE NO IDENTITY THEFT AS I AM THE ONLY ONE WORKING AND I JUST DID BANKRUPCTY A COUPLE OF YEARS AGO. TRYING TO GET BACK ON MY FEET. THIS IS DEVESTATING...OH AND THE ACCENT SOUNDED FROM INDIA OR THAT NATURE. I HOPE THEY GET CAUGHT AS I AM WILLING TO PRESS CHARGES.

F
F
Flantanella
Sterling, US
Jul 30, 2010 12:34 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Like everyone else I been getting these calls. Today this James Freeman called me, but sounded like a slow indian or middle eastern. Didnt tell me at all what was the matter. So i called back, and it was close to after hours, and this other guy answered. He refused to give me the details and said I had to speak to the "officer" thats handling my case. He finally blurted it out that it was a pay day loan from US cash or US cash advance(couldnt hear exactly) Said I needed to have my lawyer contact their lawyer. After all this I may actually do that, just to see what they say.

The funny thing I called US cash at their toll free number and they said I had no current or past loan with them. They told me to report to the police. I am going far and beyond that, FTC BB, FBI. ALso I think it was the same as Cooper Law firm. But funny thing he said lawyer wont accept a payment option and I will be arrested and in court on tuesday. So you guys want me to pay up but wont accept the payment. I am confused

Suppose to call me back tomorrow, so I will get more info as numbers, and such. And it will be very interesting to see if they change their minds all of sudden and say I can pay to settle out of court

A
A
angrywoman123
US
Aug 04, 2010 8:00 pm EDT

I WANT THESE PEOPLE BEHIND BARS ! I legit just had a breakdown for a good 2 hours because these fools have been harassing my house phone talking about I owe them money ! I admit I have done an application, BUT IT DID NOT GET APPROVED or anything, I was 18 years old and im 21 now. They told me I applied for the loan through cash advance network first then keep calling saying I did it from US cash advance. Why are they calling me 3 years later? I recieved no papers? this came from no where? && they would tell me NO INFORMATION! They were saying I applied in January 2008 for a 350 dollar loan and got approved for 270? Then SAY : my parents names [which they had no idea at 18 i put down as my employers] are going to jail as well. They told me to pay a fine of 450 and fax along my license and a written agreement that they can take money out of my prepaid debit card. This man had a middle eastern accent, could NOT pronounce CONNECTICUT and on top of that, when I told him I talked to my mom he told me I had an HOUR to send the money or else they were filing my case and I would be arrested. WHY WOULD I HAVE AN HOUR FOR SOMETHING I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF?! Since im 21 and never get in trouble for ANYTHING. i broke down like a baby, cuz i couldnt imagine going to jail let alone my parents going too, I am soo thankful my mother was there ! He also called and gave me my social security number but siad the wrong SSN at first . SMH IDK WHO these people are, but they should be stopped !...I got calls from 3 different numbers . I googled them and the numbers came from TEXAS and CALIFORNIA - I am calling my banks && switching my accounts tmrw, so these people have nothing. I am also calling cash advance to make sure they have nothing on me .. THESE PEOPLE NEED TO BE STOPPED!

D
D
divg
US
Aug 05, 2010 7:36 pm EDT

I got my first phone call today. Oh my word! It was scary. Made me nervous...But I do not remember actually getting a loan!
I started trying to get info and the gentleman--Mr Black-- got very rude and said they would see me in court and hung up the phone. I filed a complaint with the FTC after I started reading these notes. The phone number they gave me to call is [protected]. The number is based out of New York and they claim to be lawyers from the ACS law firm.

I
I
italiana63
Rochester, US
Aug 10, 2010 1:59 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ok so i just got off the phone with my local FBI office this is what they are telling me:

if they continue to call tell them that you reported them to your local police department and FBI office which i did both. the FBI local phone company is keeping a list of the numbers that are calling me (i have to send them the numbers as they call me) so far i have calls from 13 different numbers. these idiots are leaving 5-10 mesasges on my work phone they fill up my voicemail with the same crap. i hope they are stopped soon

I
I
italiana63
Rochester, US
Aug 10, 2010 2:02 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i forgot to add the FBI told me that they are aware and are trying to stop it but they are actually out of CANADA they are buying phone numbers and lists from jerks here in the us

C
C
catpowers69
Birmingham, US
Aug 10, 2010 4:50 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I had a bad day with this scam today. First they called a week ago and I told them that I did not get paid until Friday and will pay the debt. They called me on Friday and told me to go to moneygram and send the $475 to them. They would not provide me with an address to send the money to. this got me thinking, I thought that I really owed this money because I had taken a loan out and defaulted on it. I called that company and they told me that I owed $100 and then the loan was paid off and they did not hiring any outside collection agencies. when they called back I asked for proof of the debt and they told me that it was send months ago and they was not going to send it again. I asked for the company name and phone numer and they couldn't provide that information also. I refused to pay the bill until they send me proof that started the name calling and telling me that they was going to have me fired and arrested. Then Mr. Anderson called my work, the ladies in the office kept telling him not to call back but I swear he called 50 times today. he told my supervisor that I owed money and should be fired and was going to have me arrested. It was embarrasing. They claim they are with NCC (national criminal center) the number is [protected] which comes up orange on caller id and when a reverse search is done it has orange, tx. Then another number calls that sounds like the same guy from [protected] reverse search shows out of NY. Do I need to contact anyone about these. If I owe the money I will be happy to pay but I can't get these people to send me proof or stop harrassing me at work or home

W
W
WisconsinMom
Fond du Lac, US
Aug 12, 2010 11:26 am EDT

I received a similar call last night reguarding the same thing. "Officer Mike Johnson" (VERY thick Middle Eastern accent, could hardly understand him) from the Federal Bureau of Crime Investigation (apparently they are trying to sound more scary and legitimate) left a message on my cell phone and said I have until 11am today to paid my bill in full or I would come under serious charges and could lose my job. When I called the number [protected]) back the person answered "hello" - not "Federal BCI" etc, just hello. I gave the extention number (5882) and the person (who sounded Exactly like "Officer Mike") said sure I can connect you to Officer Mike Johnson. "Officer Mike" told me I needed to pay $787.42 for a $300 Cash Advance loan from "his client" immediately or face "serious charges that were brought up on my SS number" (yes that's how he phrased it - on my SS, not Social Security but SS, number). I told him I did not have an extra $800 just lying around and if I could make installment payments. He said "sure" and asked how much I could pay today and that the rest would be due by Friday. He immediately asked for my credit / debit card numer. I said I did not feel comfortable giving it out since I had no way of verifying who he actually was. He continued with the 'serious charges' speech. I asked him who his client was and he finally said it was US Cash Advance. He then told me I could send a Money Order instead if I did not feel comfortable giving him my credit card number. He gave me this information for the Money Order: get a person-to-person red form and make it out to "Mike Alpce" Myrtle Beach, SC 29588. I NEVER got a payday advance loan from this company. I asked him if his client went by another name. He said "What do you think I am lying? I have the emails from the company right here". I told him I was looking at MY emails from the cash advance company I took a loan out from and it was Not US Cash Advance - Again, does your client go by another name? He started getting very pissy with me and repeated the 'serious charges' bit again. I asked him why he would not answer my question and he just kept repeating the 'serious charges' bit. I asked him to give me US Cash Advance's phine number and he said they are not willing to work with me and don't want to talk to me at all (credit / loan companies are Always willing to work with you to resolve a debt). I asked him why I did not receive anything in the mail reguarding this matter and he said I received three emails from them that went unanswered. I told "Officer Mike" that I was not comfortable sending my money to someone name "Mark" from Myrtle Beach SC when I had no way of confirming who either of them were especially when the person who answered the phone just said 'hello'. I said I would take my chances and I was not sending him any money.
As soon as I hung up with "Officer Mike Johnson" I emailed the cash advance people I actually Do have a loan through and they were more than willing to finish my loan process in a legitimate and fair manner.
I received another voicemail message this morning from "Officer Mike Johnson" stating that I had made a terrible mistake last night not listening to him and to get a lawyer as soon as possible; he would see me in the courts.
Don't Give Them Any Information OR Confirm Any Information They CLAIM To Have ! !

I
I
italiana63
Rochester, US
Aug 13, 2010 6:51 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

did they give you a complete address in South Carolina? i had to report them to the FBI the FTC and my 3 credit reports. HAd to put tehm on alert god forbid they try to get stuff on my reports. i would appreciate you letting us know. let me know if you have any more info on the sc address.

M
M
Ms. Hang
Stockton, US
Aug 17, 2010 4:38 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

That sucks. I hope this don't happen to me.

E
E
ejm84ejm
Elyria, US
Aug 17, 2010 9:17 am EDT

I just went through the same thing this company had my last 4 of my social my address and some of my references tried to say I owe money. Asked what time they close so I could call back and the number they gave was [protected] they sd 4pm est. The call I recvd was at 544pm est. Told the guy named John Brown do not call me at work he sd he would have the police pick me up from home I sd that was fine since this was a scam he hung up on me. I called back at 615pm est and sd my name was totally different asked for the guy I just spoked with no one there by that name. Asked what time it was closing he sd 6pm est. Now remind u I called a 615pm est. Tried the call back it was buzy. The company they referred was to as legal processing and they were calling on behalf of us cash advance. Its a scam. Called me at work.

S
S
stefaniesweets
Colorado Springs, US
Aug 17, 2010 2:51 pm EDT

Hi, Don't feel bad. Same thing happen to us. The guy claimed to be officer Eric Smith with FBI. He said he was going to have my husband arrested at his place of employment. Same strong accent. I called some of the other phone numbers you all have listed different from the one they gave me and asked for Eric Smith and it turns out he is at multiple numbers claiming to be different companies. The number they gave me is [protected]. I am contacting as many agencies as I can to try to help. I'm also contacting my local news. So more people can become aware. Don't forget to put fraud alerts out on all credit agencies and your banks.

M
M
marie,twigg
tunnelton, US
Aug 17, 2010 8:36 pm EDT

I got these calls to, but the woman who called me said she was going to send an investigator to arrest me and take me to the court house. I told her to go ahead and send him and she better come with him cause when they get here I will have the state police here waiting on them. Needless to say she never called back again. Plus while she was talking to me I could hear a person in the background calling for someone to come to register one. I told her she and that so called investigator would be tresspassing on private property and they would be the ones going to jail. Hello how is an investigator supposed to take me to court. What is he going to do bust in my door. Yeah like i am realy going to go somewhere with a total stranger. These people seriously need to get a real job. I SAY WE ALL SUE THEM WHEN THEY GET CAUGHT. I HOPE

A
A
Angry in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, US
Aug 18, 2010 6:00 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

First phone call was about going to a court hearing on 8/9/10 to my co-worker at my job. That I was being sued. Next call I received at work on 8/17/10 from two Asian speaking men. One told me his name was Frank Morgan a New York Sheriff and I was going to be arrested for fraud. He informed me I had taken a $300.00 loan with Advance Cash USA and never repaid it 9/09. I informed him to contact me at home. He then informed me he did not have my home address or phone number. I contacted Advance Cash USA and they informed me they are aware of this scam. They were very matter-of-fact about what was going on. They also informed me they had nothing for me at their company. I made a compliant with Consumer Affairs.

A
A
Anna pissed
Hope Mills, US
Aug 18, 2010 6:35 pm EDT

I am glad i found this site. I applied for payday loans online and used my meta bank prepaid card information. I have never used this account. I received a call from [protected] and was told that I owed uscash advance 350.00, so I called meta bank to find out did the money ever post to this account. I was told that my account has not had any activity since I opened the account. this bas... tried to scam me and I told them what they could do with this l aw suite that they suppose to have. Meta Bank informed me that this is a scam and they get calls everyday from people like me

C
C
comewitit
Corona, US
Aug 19, 2010 3:47 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

My husband just received the same type of call from a Lee Johnson who demanded $300.00 or cash advance USA would take him to court. He too had a very thick accent. My husband asked him to fax over proof because he never had a cash advance, but the caller said he could not do that without a credit card number. This is outrageous and after reading all the alarming posts I just cannot understand why the FTC has not sprung into action. It's very disturbing to know these idiots even have enough information to contact him. By the way, he told them they can take him to court.

M
M
melanie gilligan
Oklahoma City, US
Aug 20, 2010 2:41 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I received a call a couple of months ago from the same sort of outfit saying that I owed 786.00 from payday loan with Advanced Cash USA back from 2008. Not remembering whether I did that, I paid the stupid money to them with a debit card. I know, how stupid right? Then a couple of days later, I had another 500.00 taken out from them. I called them and they told me for 2 weeks that I would get a refund. I kept getting the run arounds and they finally transferred me to a supervisor, and I asked him for his company's name and he told me that it was none of my concern. I told him that I would take this to an attorney and to my bank.

I cancelled my debit card and the bank investigated this and refunded a bit of the money but I was still out a lot of it and overdraft fees because they decided to take more than what was authorized. They gave me stolen identity information and I alerted all the credit bureaus as well as others about this.

A lesson learned well. Trust me on this.

I got another call about a month ago saying that I owed from a loan from 2009. Again, these people are middle eastern and very thick accent. You can't understand them at all. When you ask a question, you do not ever get a straight answer. My husband got on the phone and told them that they were all crooks. They told him that I was going to get "executed" and "arrested."

I just received another call from them again, recently. I told them that I wanted the name and phone number of the cash place so that I could confirm with them that I owe money that I do not think that I owe. They told me that was none of my concern and they couldn't give that out. I told them that I am not giving out any information to them. I was handed off to another person. The phone number that was left for me to call them back was [protected], for which they answer the phone, "hello", not a business name but hello. If they were a legitimate company trying to collect for a payday loan place, they would provide some sort of a 800 number, not a number that is long distance. They would also be able to provide you proof of what you owe, for which you never get anything on that. They told me the very first time that I paid them, that I would get emails letting me know this was resolved... never received them. When I did a reverse lookup on the phone numbers, they were registered to mobile phones. What business uses cell phone to collect?

They get very agitated when questioned and they do not want to answer any questions. This last time they told me that I would get a let document at home and at my job. I told them whatever and hung up. I am getting fed up with these people and their scams.

A
A
Angry in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, US
Aug 20, 2010 4:03 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I called and sent an email to the company Cash Advance USA. I wanted to check to see if indeed there was account with my name. I do not have an account with my name. So I sent an email concerning my complaint. Here is the response and my email.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience committed by these scammers, We do have our local authority but we have not had any luck having them stop using our name or stop do what they do. We assure we have nothing to do with them.

Have a nice day,

CASH ADVANCE USA
[protected]

At 05:50 PM 8/18/2010, you wrote:

To Whom It May Concern:

I received a phone at my job from an Asian speaking man to my co-worker. They told my co-worker " I better show up for court on 8/9/10 as I was being sued". On 8/17/10 I received a phone call from two different Asian speaking men. He told me " My name is Frank Morgan and I am a New York Sheriff. You are going to be arrested for fraud. You owe the company Advance Cash USA $300.00 and you did not pay". He then stated " I am going to speak to your manager to tell them you are a fraud". I informed him he needed to contact me at my address and not at my job. He then informed me he did not have my address. I have posted a complaint with Consumer Affairs. When I called your company they informed me they had nothing for me. I do hope you are doing something to stop these people who are using your company name. Please keep me in mind as I will be willing to help prosecute them. I am not permitted personal phone calls at work. Not to mention telling my employer that I am committing fraud.

Thank you for your time.

S
S
Sahri21
Wellman, US
Aug 21, 2010 12:11 am EDT

I received one of these calls tonight. It was from a six digit phone number. The first guy I hung up on, I thought he was a telemarketer, and he called back right away asking why I hung up on him, I said because he couldn't say my name right, and he said he was an attorney. I kept asking what law firm, what law firm, and who was suing me, and he finally transferred me. He was PISSED when he called back. Very rude.

The guy he "transferred" me to I couldn't understand what he was saying and I said "nothing against people with accents but I can't understand a word you're saying" and so I got transferred to a woman. She said I owed "$300". I knew I had a cash advance loan out but it was more than that, and I said that's not the one I owed. I told her the name of the company I had the loan out with she said that USA Cash Advance was their parent company. I pulled up my bank account, said I never had any other money deposited into my account, and pulled up the ONE loan I had and saw that they just got their payment.

The lady put me on "hold" and then said she saw my other loan, said she saw it there, she said she called the company and they said they had an application for a loan from me and that I had not paid it. I told her I had proof the money was never in my account so they better fix it because I didn't owe it. She eventually said she'd call the company again and I'd be getting a call back "no matter what happens"

If I have to change my phone number because of this I'm going to be one really pissed off person. Have any of you guys had to do this?

A
A
aodell
Westminster, US
Aug 23, 2010 3:33 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

This is amazing. The exact same thing happened to me this weekend. Same guy same accent adam jones was what he told me his name was. But they also called my husbands phone asking for me and when he wouldn't give him my number the guy started saying some very rude stuff to my husband about what he wanted to do to my husband's mother and to my. The even got on the phone with me and told me what he wanted to do to me and asked some very personal questions. And he had all of my account information, phone numbers, address, and ss number. Who is the FTC and how do I contact them?

D
D
Dan Drieburg
Westboro, US
Aug 23, 2010 8:06 pm EDT

Happened to me as well. They are calling trying to contact my ex.

They threatened to cut out my tongue when I asked them how the weather was in New Delhi.

Its the end of the world, folks. Soon the antichrist will arrive and chip us all so we can avoid these people, because the U.S. government is powerless to stop them.

--

Seriously though, it is our own fault. My stupid ex put his Social Security # and a variety of other personal information on the web when applying for a loan. I know this is where they hijacked his information.

A stupid population breeds predators. And these guys aren't going away anytime soon.

--

C
C
clor.goober
Alameda, US
Aug 24, 2010 7:29 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

How have you all gotten around these people calling your family members, jobs and more importantly you? I agree, they are extrememly imcompetent, threatening and rude.

K
K
kvt7280
San Francisco, US
Aug 25, 2010 3:12 am EDT

i received a call just today and if it says US CASH ADVANCE, what should I do?

K
K
kvt7280
San Francisco, US
Aug 25, 2010 3:16 am EDT

But if it was from another company but a legal company, do you think it is real? He said he was Leitenant from the US Legal services but not from US CASH ADVANCE, do you think it is same, the problem is that I did request a pay day loan but now, they are hassling my family members and killing me.

A
A
Angry in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, US
Aug 25, 2010 11:25 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

You can call the company they say they are representing to see if there is an account in your name. Check your bank statements to see if you have had any deposits or withdraws. If the answer is NO then make a complaint with Consumer Affairs to get a record. DO NOT give the people calling any personal information or money. Get as much info from them as you can...name of company, phone numeber, their name and account number. Turn the table on them and be smart. It may be the same scam. From what has been written the men are Asian. I know the 2 men that called my job had very thick Indian acents. I have never had a woman call me nor would I give any info. Hope this will help.

K
K
kvt7280
San Francisco, US
Aug 25, 2010 11:57 am EDT

I want to tell everyone some information as well regarding any company especially pay day loan company whether its US CASH ADVANCE or any company: I will add everything for all the consumers I am trying to protect:
Phone # +[protected]
[protected]

Name of person: Leutenent Patrick Smith from the US Legal Department.
Call FTC: [protected]

CALL AS SOON AS POSSIBLE TO GET THESE SCAMMERS, TELL THEM TO "KISS MY [censor]" and" I'LL SEE YOU IN COURT [censor]".
Please take down this info. everyone if any Payday Loan Company calls with Middle eastern/Indian assent! Thank you everyone.

K
K
kvt7280
San Francisco, US
Aug 25, 2010 11:59 am EDT

Why would an indian or middle eastern person called Patrick Smith with a weird number like that.

E
E
Earfull
City, US
Aug 25, 2010 8:01 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hey the same thing just happened to me today. I recieved a call today around 6pm. From some middle eastern sounding people who were caiming to represent US Cash. They said they were stationed in California. They called me from [protected]. They had said that I was being sued for not paying for a payday loan. The amount was over $900. I knew this was a lie because I never took out a loan that size. But I entertained it anyways. So I went to my bank and got a print out for the date that they said the fraudulant check was cashed (6/23/2010) and turns out there was no transaction listed for the week let alone that day. Also there were no unknown transactions or payday debits. So because they ticked me off I called the number back. A guy by the name of "Paul Ocean" so he said, answered. I told him the if he called me again I'd press charges for harrassment. He hung up on me. I did actually call the police to check on it and make a complaint just in case I needed to go to court. But yeah these US CASH ADVANCE SCAMMERS are a trip.

K
K
kvt7280
San Francisco, US
Aug 25, 2010 9:16 pm EDT

File a claim with the FTC as well just too make sure and also call the Social Security Administration so they can block any illegal activity like Identity Theft, collect all information as much as possible! It will be better that way to ensure your Identity doesn't get hacked twice. I just did that today and calling the police is a good option, too. Take as much action as possible to stop these people from calling you, your family(because if they call them, your family members will get pissed off), friends and even work. Eventually they will stop but its crazy what these people do for even $200.00, its not like its a 1, 000 and settle for a certain amount with a credit card counceller. So do as much as possible to protect yourself, if you can, maybe even request a new bank card and tell the bank to block ALL transactions. Do it or your money will be gone...

L
L
Laurence Gosnell
Pittsboro, US
Aug 26, 2010 4:07 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Today I received 2 messages in my voice mail about a debt collection. When I callled the gentleman, he had a foreign accent & told me he was from a Law Firm & trying to collect a $300 Pay Day Loan. He told me that if I did not pay today, I would be served with papers to appear in court and might incur charges of up to $4000. I have never taken out a Pay Day Loan, so asked for particulars. He gave me the company name of US Cash Advance, located in San Diego, CA. He then said I could settle today for $250, and then a bit later indicated it would only be $157. I began to smell a rat & asked for more details. He gave me his law firm name of Morgan & Assoc located at 102 Law Office #28 in Baytown, TX 77521. I then requested that he send me more details, since he apparently had my address, & he said the only thing I could receive was the papers to be served on me by the Court. The number from which he called me is [protected]. I asked his name, & was told it is Jesse O'Connor, yet he had anything but an Irish accent. I then asked for the name of one of the Principals of the Firm. He gave me the name of Julian Marshall. I had had to call him back 3-4 times because we got disconnected, but I think he was bothered that I had questioned him so much.

I then reported the call to the NC State Attorney General's office. I was told that "Pay Day Loans" are illegal in NC and to ignore further contact. Additionally, the office wants me to submit a formal complaint & are sending me the papers to do so.

Next, from one of the above complaints, I called the FTC Federal Response Center office and filed a complaint there as well. The number is: [protected] The man to whom I talked was named Walter, but he said they aare not allowed to give out their last name.

by: Scam Scare, Pittsboro, NC

S
S
Steve916
Nicholasville, US
Aug 27, 2010 6:08 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Received a phone call from [protected], but with the same story as those already posted. It was very difficult to understand what they were saying, but they told me I had a lawsuit against me for an unpaid online payday loan from March of 2009 but couldn't give me an exact date that this payday loan was taken out. They claimed I took out $300.00 payday loan and would accept $750.00 today to take care of this, and I refused they told me this would be 'filed' and I told them to file it because I wasn't paying it. They had my name, last 4 of my social security number, my address, my e-mail address, and my most recent reference used and even the name of my bank. After calling them back serveral times trying to get more information (which was difficult, they couldn't answer the basic information questions) I found that they claimed to be with ACS - Advanced Consolidated Services, and wouldn't give me their address - but gave me an address of their 'headquarters' of 101 E Green Street, Ithaca FL 12037. After googling both the 'name' and the 'address' of this company I began figuring out that it was a SCAM. I called back a final time to attempt to get their current address and told them my attorney needed this information - they got irate with me - stating that I needed to stop harrassing them (yeah me harassing them) or they would call the police and I would be arrested - and then hung up on me! BEWARE of these scam artist...they attempted to use several scare tactics against me of which none of them worked...very bogus! ASK LOTS OF QUESTIONS - they hate that!

K
K
kvt7280
San Francisco, US
Aug 27, 2010 10:12 pm EDT

Best thing to do, if they do have your info. If they had your bank account/bank card, etc. Immediately close it, asap. Even if they did take out some money, take NO for an answer and to get your money back if they did, check caller id, even if you still got their message they left, i still do on my cell, use it in court, Call FTC and when I did, those so called people argue with you, tell them I will call my lawyer, get as much information. Last year, they did take money from my bank account and found out about this site, so save as much info. The company that took money which was like $200.00(Still a lot), said: The Law Office with an 800 #, So Law offices of what? So I called FTC, turned in more info. file claims like crazy. They won't stop calling but maybe with a different name, FTC said that if it is a debt collection agency. They are NOT suppose to argue, offend, threathen people at all. They are suppose to be in a professional manner. Also if you did take a Pay Day Loan Before, remember it. PCG or Pro Credit Group. So if you want guidlines of the FTC report, just ask because I want beat them up if I do see them.

K
K
KatEyeShawn
washington, US
Aug 30, 2010 11:18 am EDT

Hello all,

My incident is very much like all posted. I have contacted the FTC [protected]) and provided the telephone numbers [protected] and [protected] to contact the company that claims I owe for a payday loan of $350 - I NEVER RECEIVED. I let them know that they are calling a Federal Government Office telephone and what the preference to contact me here. That is when the conversation started that I took a payday loan from US CASH Advance. I never even heard of this company before the call.

Please be aware of a Mr. Johnson (call in person whom HANDED the telephone to Officer Darnell Cruise) and Officer D. Cruise. Officer Cruise threaten he is going to send the police to my job on the next day per our telephone conversation. He also had the nerves to provide me with two references from what information of mine that was apprehended (stolen) I DONT HAVE A CLUE; one of the references I use to use years ago is deceased and another relocated to another state years ago and I no longer use. They asked for my attorney contact info; Sounds to me if you do not provide an attorney contact info the folk at this suppose to be collection agency think we do not have the brains to contact someone for HELP!
After reading everyone’s complaint the company is getting a little smarter now; must be collecting information from either your credit report or past loans or something. PLEASE HELP US OUT!

S
S
shutem down
Monticello, US
Sep 02, 2010 12:12 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

hey i to have bein contacted by a man named mike davis with a heavy middle eastern accent demanding money from me for a us cash loan that i have never taken out saying if i didnt fax him my credit card info within 24 hrs that it would be goin to court and that i would lose and they would sue me for over 6000 dollars ii told him i needed more info of what this is all about and all he could say was have your attorney call me thats when i did some research myself and luckily found this web site with all the similiair stories about these people i just reported this chump to the FTC i hope they lock them all up for life

  1. Cash Advance USA Contacts

  2. Cash Advance USA phone numbers
    +1 (512) 571-3828
    +1 (512) 571-3828
    Click up if you have successfully reached Cash Advance USA by calling +1 (512) 571-3828 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Cash Advance USA by calling +1 (512) 571-3828 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Cash Advance USA by calling +1 (512) 571-3828 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Cash Advance USA by calling +1 (512) 571-3828 phone number
  3. Cash Advance USA address
    401 Congress Avenue, Suite 1545, Austin, Texas, 78701, United States
  4. Cash Advance USA social media
  5. Andrew
    Checked and verified by Andrew This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jul 11, 2024