United Recovery Systems — Annoying multiple weekly calls!

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

About twice a week or so, I am getting phone calls from United Recovery Systems. The last 4 digits of my SSN do not match the last 4 of the person they are looking for. I do not have ANY bad debts from anywhere. Yet the calls continue... this has been going on for several months. How can I get this stopped? Plz advise smb!

Thanks,
Steven Sykes.

Responses

  • Am
    amooraana Apr 30, 2013

    I have received a letter from URS regarding an unpaid balance on my T-Mobile account & the letter is offering me to pay 55% of the total balance as a settlement . Then I called them up they said it's better for me if i pay the full balance instead of the 55% because it's gonna be reported for the credit berue that i had a settlement with them & she stated that it's not good for my credit history. I am not sure what should i do, shall i pay the full balance or pay 55% of the balance as they offered in the letter??!! Is it truely gonna affect my credit history if i pay the 55%? I have a good credit history I always pay my bills .. but I was out of the country for few months & my sister didn't pay her bills & her phone bill was under my name, that's why t-mobile sent it to a collection agency ..

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Happydebtor101 Dec 30, 2012

    All of you are ###. Man up and pay you bills. If you can't afford it then don't spend it or apply for it.

    0 Votes
  • Cz
    czack Sep 30, 2011

    To all you ignorant, self righteous people trumpeting "just pay your bill, get a job and stop spending money you don't have" I have a degree in science, I have 2 jobs, I own a business, my husband is an engineer and has 2 jobs. Why can't we pay our credit card bills right now???????????????? I was diagnosed with cancer. That caused me to lost time at work and built up thousands in med bills. All I asked for was time to get back on my feet again. I'm still on chemo and URS is harrassing me, adding more stress to my life and not helping me get well. All I can say to you people is STFU. Someday it could be you.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    wolf13 Jun 08, 2011

    This is the legal settlement for a 240k fine for them issued by FTC. There is a required hotline to compain within this document. http://www.ftc.gov/os/2002/04/unitedconsent.pdf
    URS (United Recovery Systems) Complaint hotline mandated by FTC = Contact Center address is 3100 South Gessner, Suite 400, Houston, TX 77063 and the
    toll-free number is [protected].

    Officers

    Douglas B Schultz CEO and Director at United Recovery Systems, Inc.
    MEMBER at Smiley Management, LLC General Partner at Summerset Enterprises, L.P.

    Dan R Cantine President at United Recovery Systems, Inc. Houston, TX

    Glenn Osuch PRESIDENT at United Recovery Systems, Inc. Houston, TX

    George Williams Chief Financial Officer at United Recovery Systems, Inc. Houston, TX

    Jim Wiseman Treasurer at United Recovery Systems, Inc. Houston, TX

    Bill Schneider Director at United Recovery Systems, Inc. Houston, TX

    John Westerhausen Secretary at United Recovery Systems, Inc. Houston, TX

    Jim Crawford Vice-President at United Recovery Systems, Inc.


    Attorneys for United Recovery Systems (URS)
    ANTHONY E. DIRESTA, Esq.
    Fulbright & Jaworski
    801 Pennsylvania Avenue, N. W.
    Washington, D.C. 20004

    Federal Trade Commission Attorney who sued URS
    THOMAS B. CARTER, Attorney
    Texas Bar No. [protected]
    Southwest Region
    Federal Trade Commission
    1999 Bryan Street, Suite 2150
    Dallas, Texas 75201
    [protected]
    [protected] (facsimile)


    Let your voice be heard and they will be fined again by FTC

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    wolf13 Jun 08, 2011

    This is the legal settlement for a 240k fine for them. There is a required hotline to compain within the document. http://www.ftc.gov/os/2002/04/unitedconsent.pdf
    URS (United Recovery Systems) Complaint hotline mandated by FTC = Contact Center address is 3100 South Gessner, Suite 400, Houston, TX 77063 and the
    toll-free number is [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patrick Santa Rosa Beach May 06, 2011

    I owe a few OLD credit cards and am about to have the ability to pay them off. Obviously, I'll try to negotiate a settlement since my credit is already trashed. Who wouldn't. The banks had no problem taking our money without asking when they couldn't pay there bills. So do I feel guilty - hell no. Those days are gone in America - & the banks need to look in the mirror. My problem w/ URS is it's a dance everytime they call. The lady asks me to confirm a bunch of personal information and refuses to even tell me a general reason for the call before I do. So I don't know if it's a scam or a legitimate collection effort. Anyways, I have 3 to pay and I'm going to contact the credit card companies directly. I ran up the debt and realize I owe the debt - no issues there. It just seems you should get some sort of certified mail from the credit card company saying "your debt of $xxxx on credit card xxxx has been relinquished to 'so and so collection company @ the following address and phone number' ". How do you confirm the collection effort is truly settling the debt of the specific creditor?? Like I said, I will have the funds next week to pay the folks & I want written verification that the debt is specifically resolved. It's like a Catch 22. But I'm going to start by calling the original creditor directly. Any advice from collectors or others folks?

    0 Votes
  • Ef
    effuurs Nov 01, 2010

    I hate URS. Yes, we do owe a debt, and we do intend to pay, but if the money isn't here then what do you expect? They have turned down multiple offers of payment installments, expecting me to come up with nearly $5K all at once, when I have already submitted financial documents proving that our monthly debt exceeds our monthly income by nearly 15% thanks to a recent career change after my former employer went bankrupt. If you need the money so badly, can't you work with me? I want to get it taken care of, but if the best I can do isn't going to be good enough, then I'm all out of suggestions.

    Stick it on my credit report and see how much damage that'll do to me after you and about a dozen other creditors have done the same. I have a house, I have a car, and I don't want any more credit cards, so ha. Someday, after my financial situation has stabilized, I will contact you to pay the balance. Until then, leave me alone.

    0 Votes
  • Ko
    Kourtnee Oct 16, 2010

    I have had them call me several times and when I mean several times in one day I received over 60 calls, the next day I received over 45 and today which is only 10 AM I have received 30 calls.Well my husband and I do not owe money to the company the say we do, and when I was asking information they told me that I had to send money. They threated my Husbands career and my house, then the told me that we should know better than to do this with our bills. I asked if I could send them the information about our paid bill and they told me NO. They said that I needed to pay the bill and then turned around and tried to access my bank account from which I paid the bill that I so owed. These people are rude a fraud and they dont listen. Why cant they be closed down?

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    house hold name Aug 20, 2010

    I hope this stops this joke of a collection agency from calling me too. I don't even owe anything! They're too stupid to update their records. How 'bout that!?

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    PeterThePI Jul 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Debt-collectors-sock-it-to-cnnm-4156294800.html?x=0

    DEBT COLLECTORS SOCKING IT TO CONSUMERS:

    Blake Ellis, staff reporter,

    Friday July 9, 2010, 3:01 pm EDT

    DEBT COLLECTORS ARE GETTING DESPERATE AND DIRTY.

    Harassing phone calls, abusive language and physical violence are becoming a bigger part of business as debt collectors struggle to round up money from people who don't have it.

    "The American consumer is really hurting and collectors are having to fight harder to get money, " said Robert Andrews, a senior analyst specializing in the debt industry at research firm IBISWorld.

    Complaints of harassment by debt collectors surged 50% to 67, 550 in 2009, according to the Federal Trade Commission. And they are on track to jump 13% this year, based on the number of FTC complaints filed in the first six months.

    The No. 1 complaint is repeated calls, and it is not uncommon for collectors to bombard consumers with back-to-back calls for days, weeks, months and even years.

    When debt collectors finally get someone on the other end of the phone, they are more likely to use nastier language. Complaints of debt collectors using obscene or abusive language spiked 35% last year.

    A 55-year old New York woman, who asked to remain anonymous, said a collection agent called her home repeatedly, personally attacking her and her husband. When she refused to answer the phone, the collector called her estranged sister, an ex-boyfriend and her husband's ex-wife's mother.

    "This guy was out of his mind and he kept calling and calling, telling me 'you better talk to me, you deadbeat, '" she said. "He was very threatening and the whole thing was just really unsettling -- it made you wonder who was going to show up at your door."

    She had reason to worry, since complaints of debt collectors threatening -- or actually using -- violence more than doubled last year, to 2, 517.

    Keary Floyd, an attorney who represents consumers at the Floyd Legal Firm in Atlanta, said that while most of his debt collection cases involve excessive phone calls, one of his recent clients recorded a disturbing phone conversation where a debt collector threatened that he or someone else would come to the client's house to get the money in any way that he could.

    "I heard it, and if any phone call was going to worry someone, it would be that one, " said Floyd.

    Other aggressive tactics that are becoming more common are debt collectors calling before 8 a.m. or after 9 p.m., demanding more money than what is owed, revealing a consumer's debt to a third party or threatening "dire consequences" like prosecution, jail time, property seizure or job loss.

    These practices are not just inappropriate, but they are illegal under the FTC's Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, which has been around since 1977.

    An industry representative said the increase in complaints of harassment should not only be attributed to desperate and aggressive collecting agents, but to more consumers trying to cash in on lawsuits.

    "Certainly if debt collectors are being more aggressive, they shouldn't be, but it's not fair to characterize the actions of debt collectors as the only reason why there is an increase in complaints -- they're not fully to blame, " said Mark Schiffman, a spokesman for The Association of Credit and Collection Professionals.

    "There's a growing industry of consumer attorneys and savvy consumers who have learned that they can sue a debt collector fairly easily and collect very easily, " he added.

    Consumers are able to take a collector to state or federal court for harassment, according to the FTC. If the debtor wins the case, the collector is required to pay for any damages caused by the harassment, such as lost income and medical bills.

    Even if debtors can't prove monetary damages but are able to prove harassment, they can receive up to $1, 000 and are reimbursed for the court and attorney fees.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bobatari Jun 28, 2010

    my apologies to you all. but i agree with uniteds tactis. i was a former employee and one of the best on the floor. i used all these tacits to my success. alot of what you people are saying on here, is false as to the claims of "illegal". everything they do is perfectly leagal. they stay well within the boundaries and rights of the law. yes, i agree that sometimes the agents may be overly aggressive, but sometimes people need that little "nudge" in the right direction. oh, and the settlement thing, kid, ur stupid. we are told to give you guys settlements if we think that you arent going to pay at all. thats how we do business. you dont know jack [censor]. the tactic to call the neighbors, thats protected by law. we are able to call residents or "near-bys" if we think we can reach the person. which apparently and thanks to your PROVEN statement up there^ we can. cuz we got our message across. bye law, also, we are allowed to call a person up to five times a day. six...may have been an accident. as for the rest of you, if you need advice or anything. ask me. [email protected] <---email me any questions. and yes, i know bill "the general" patton. hes a weird guy...im not gonna lie...

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brcm Apr 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Brandon Pierce with URS contacted a neighbor asking for information about me.
    I told neighbor to tell Brandon not to contact him anymore.

    0 Votes
  • C1
    c1ursucks Mar 06, 2010

    From URSI.com...

    Doug Schultz, CEO of United Recovery Systems
    JoAnn Snook, a United Recovery Systems collections manager
    Sean Keegan, National Marketing Director
    Dr. Richard Faulk, Director of Recruiting and Training
    George A. Williams, Chief Financial Officer

    Contact: Jim Kelleher, President
    United Recovery Systems, L.P.
    Phone: [protected] x3141
    E-Mail: [email protected]

    Collections Information [email protected]
    Sales Information [email protected]
    IT Department [email protected]

    HOUSTON, Feb. 16 /PRNewswire/ -- United Recovery Systems, LP, a leading Account Receivables Management

    (ARM) company, is exhibiting at Expo 3.0, the industry's first live online exhibition. Unlike a

    traditional tradeshow in which vendors and clients meet face-to-face, Expo 3.0 is conducted totally

    online. The exhibition is sponsored by InsideARM.com, a leader in providing timely news and perspective

    to the ARM industry. The exhibition runs one day only, Tuesday, February 16, 2010 from 9AM to 5PM EST.

    "Working in debt collection takes a particular individual; it's not what you might think, " says Dr.

    Richard Faulk, a psychologist who founded his own human resources consulting firm in 1984 and is now the

    director of recruiting and training at United Recovery Systems. "It's a balance of assertiveness and

    one's ability to listen and respond appropriately so a resolution can be achieved. No one wants to

    resolve their obligations with a debt collector they don't like, " he said.

    The company's approach in creating a series of "work out" plans for clients has led to substantial

    growth over the past 24 months, according to the company's national marketing director Sean Keegan.

    Houston, Texas (PRWEB) September 17, 2009 -- United Recovery Systems, LP (URS), a leading first- and

    third-party accounts receivable management firm, announced the addition of Dr. Richard Faulk to its

    senior management team as Director of Recruiting and Training. He will be responsible for expanding,

    retaining and further improving the capabilities of URS' world-class collection staff.

    Dr. Faulk holds a B.A. from the University of San Diego, a M.Div. from St. Meinrad Seminary, and a Ph.D.

    from United States International University (now Alliant University). He has been working in the field

    of industrial psychology for 30 years.

    HOUSTON, Aug. 27 /PRNewswire/ -- United Recovery Systems, L.P. (URS), a leading first- and third-party

    debt collection firm, announced it has named George A. Williams as the company's Chief Financial

    Officer. Mr. Williams brings significant financial services experience to URS.

    Sorry to hear about your trouble. If anyone is having issues logging into EXPO 3.0, please contact

    Jennifer at jmin[email protected] or [protected]. insideARM staff
    February 16, 2010


    At the FTC, complaints against collection agencies rank second only to those about Identity Theft...
    http://www.ftc.gov/sentinel/reports/sentinel-annual-reports/sentinel-cy2009.pdf

    Rank Category No. of Complaints Percentage of total complaints
    1 Identity Theft 278, 078 21%
    2 Third Party and Creditor Debt Collection 119, 549 9%

    0 Votes
  • C1
    c1ursucks Mar 06, 2010

    From URSI's web site and related organizations...

    Doug Schultz, CEO of United Recovery Systems
    JoAnn Snook, a United Recovery Systems collections manager
    Sean Keegan, National Marketing Director
    Dr. Richard Faulk, Director of Recruiting and Training
    George A. Williams, Chief Financial Officer

    Contact: Jim Kelleher, President
    United Recovery Systems, L.P.
    Phone: [protected] x3141
    E-Mail: [email protected]

    Collections Information [email protected]
    Sales Information [email protected]
    IT Department [email protected]


    HOUSTON, Feb. 16 /PRNewswire/ -- United Recovery Systems, LP, a leading Account Receivables Management (ARM) company, is exhibiting at Expo 3.0, the industry's first live online exhibition. Unlike a traditional tradeshow in which vendors and clients meet face-to-face, Expo 3.0 is conducted totally online. The exhibition is sponsored by InsideARM.com, a leader in providing timely news and perspective to the ARM industry. The exhibition runs one day only, Tuesday, February 16, 2010 from 9AM to 5PM EST.

    "Working in debt collection takes a particular individual; it's not what you might think, " says Dr. Richard Faulk, a psychologist who founded his own human resources consulting firm in 1984 and is now the director of recruiting and training at United Recovery Systems. "It's a balance of assertiveness and one's ability to listen and respond appropriately so a resolution can be achieved. No one wants to resolve their obligations with a debt collector they don't like, " he said.

    The company's approach in creating a series of "work out" plans for clients has led to substantial growth over the past 24 months, according to the company's national marketing director Sean Keegan.

    Houston, Texas (PRWEB) September 17, 2009 -- United Recovery Systems, LP (URS), a leading first- and third-party accounts receivable management firm, announced the addition of Dr. Richard Faulk to its senior management team as Director of Recruiting and Training. He will be responsible for expanding, retaining and further improving the capabilities of URS' world-class collection staff.

    Dr. Faulk holds a B.A. from the University of San Diego, a M.Div. from St. Meinrad Seminary, and a Ph.D. from United States International University (now Alliant University). He has been working in the field of industrial psychology for 30 years.

    HOUSTON, Aug. 27 /PRNewswire/ -- United Recovery Systems, L.P. (URS), a leading first- and third-party debt collection firm, announced it has named George A. Williams as the company's Chief Financial Officer. Mr. Williams brings significant financial services experience to URS.

    Sorry to hear about your trouble. If anyone is having issues logging into EXPO 3.0, please contact Jennifer at [email protected] or [protected]. insideARM staff
    February 16, 2010


    At the FTC, complaints against collection agencies rank second only to those about Identity Theft...
    http://www.ftc.gov/sentinel/reports/sentinel-annual-reports/sentinel-cy2009.pdf

    Rank Category No. of Complaints Percentage of total complaints
    1 Identity Theft 278, 078 21%
    2 Third Party and Creditor Debt Collection 119, 549 9%

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    randall103 Mar 04, 2010

    Regarding the individual who works at URS and just wants us to be all nice and friendly with them and they will be all nice and friendly in return. What a load of crap!!! I have been getting calls from these idiots for months. They are asking for a completely different person. The first name matches, but the last name is COMPLETELY different. My first name is David. How many David's are there in the country.

    I have been nice with them and politely told them they have the wrong person and they say thank you and hang up. Then the SOB's call back again and again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KaylaH Jan 19, 2010

    >BUTTBARRETTBELLA said: YOU ARE CHEATING THE COMPANIES YOU BORROWED FROM by not paying the money owed back. <

    Actually, no, not everyone who owes money is trying to cheat the credit card companies. That assumption is rude and just plain inaccurate, and people who think that way are fools.

    I am 22 years old and was recently diagnosed with severe depression and bi-polar disorder. I've been in and out of the hospital several times this year, lost my job some time ago, and thanks to that, have indeed fallen behind on my bills. Up until I fell behind, my credit score was 722. United Recovery Systems called my aunt's home phone number, (a number which I myself do not even have and STILL don't--I have always simply called her cell phone). My aunt told me that a woman called looking for me and that she was a debt collector. I called URS back LIVID that they had called a number I wasn't even in possession of, to which they replied "Well it must be on a credit referral or something somewhere because we don't do that." That is bull. First of all, as I told them, I'm not in possession of this number. Secondly, my aunt and I rarely talk. I don't use her name or number on anything for any purpose. That is utterly ridiculous.

    Since then they call at least once a day if not more. They do so from a local number (for me 317 is local) despite being located in Houston. I answer the phone every time they call, yet the calls continue. Tonight, I got a call from them at 845pm, and when I answered the phone, it hung up on me. When I called it back, I was dumped into voicemail, and when I finally did get to speak with a person, he told me that "the law says they can call up until 9pm". I have spoken with them every time they've called...which has been every day. I live in a college town and the unemployment rate is ridiculous. Every time they call, I also remind them that I understand that they have a job to do and that I am not refusing to pay, but simply can't right now.

    And you know what, BUTTBARRETTBELLA? I take offense to your comment not only for the reason I already stated but also because with your big capital letters in your post and your ranting at these other people, you are -assuming- things, which just makes you look ridiculous. Also, in my experience, typing in all caps like that doesn't further your point, either. That's something a fourteen-year-old on an instant messenger is likely to do.

    For the record, -most- people who fall behind and owe money have legitimate reasons for doing so. The unemployment rate right now is higher than it has been in a long, long time. We are in a depression, whether people like to acknowledge it or not, and a lot of people owe money. It's not fun getting those phone calls or having your credit score reamed and your reputation tarnished over something that you can't help, and the harassment tactics that some of these companies use does not help to alleviate an already stressful situation. I just spent three hours reading this thread, and I believe -that- is more the point trying to be made than "Hey guys, let's all think of inventive ways to dodge our debt!"

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    BUTTBARRETTBELLA Jan 17, 2010

    Listen everyone. The problem comes for you all. The debts are MADE BY the ones that the third party collectors are trying to get in contact with. EACH OF YOU WITH A DEBT WILLING WENT AND APPLIED FOR THE CARD OR LOAN AND DID NOT PAY IT BACK AS PER YOUR AGREEMENT WITH THE COMPANY YOU TOOK THE CREDIT OR LOAN FROM. YOU ARE CHEATING THE COMPANIES YOU BORROWED FROM by not paying the money owed back. Now you are going after the people who are trying to recover the DEBT YOU MADE????????? If you have a debt that you have not paid on and it gets refered to a collection agency it is because you DID NOT pay your debt. Dont take it out of someone who is trying to recover the money that YOU OWE. The people who are trying to collect the debt are trying to make you pay for something you did. If it does get to a third party collection agency that means you have IGNORED several attempts by the original creditor to contact you and then you are ignoring the people trying to collect a debt. By ignoring the letters and phone calls you ARE REFUSING TO PAY THE DEBT. PAY THE DEBT AND YOU WILL NOT BE CONTACTED BY A COLLECTION AGENCY REGARDING THE DEBT ANYMORE. PAY WHAT YOU OWE.

    0 Votes
  • Gu
    gullywash Jan 15, 2010

    URS agents are rude, disrespectfully and dishonest. I have spoke with agents in Texas and Florida and they are completely incompetent in both states. When I ask to speak to their supervisor they hang up the phone. When I start asking questions they cannot answer they yell and scream and hang up the phone. It is hilarious. Larry in Florida, living in the back room of his mother's trailer could hardly contain his anger and frustration when I told him that I had already spoke with the original creditor and had the matter resolved as they made a mistake. I wonder how much commission these low life bottom feeders make.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Credwarrior Jan 15, 2010

    If you send URS a letter via Registered mail, with a reciept and they continue to call you REPORT THEM TO THE FTC : Federal Trade Commission.

    Once you send DNC letter to a collection agency, they can NOT contact you by phone AT ALL except:

    a) to say that they will no longer be contacting you; and
    b) to report that they are taking legal action against you.

    And, in that last one, they have to ACTUALLY BE IN THE PROCESS OF TAKING LEGAL ACTION, not threatening to do so in some vague and nebulous future.

    And don't send the letter to the PO box they give you, no one can sign for it, and they can say they never got it. Send it to their corporate office:

    United Recovery Systems
    5800 North Course Dr
    Houston, TX 77072.

    Make sure you mention, in your letter, that you expect all calls to stop and that you will contact them via US Mail when they have sent you all the information regarding the alleged debt. Also provide them with your correct address and let them know that the information you have provided is correct and that there is no reason for them to contact family members or neighbors, except as a harassment tactic.

    Let them know that, if they continue, you will contact the FTC, and make good on your promise. And log every time they call, after you get that signed receipt.

    Just because you owe money doesn't mean you deserve harassment. No one does, and in this economy -- with unemployment where it is -- there are a LOT of people that owe money. These people are vultures.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rockandhardplace Dec 22, 2009

    Hey, Mr. COLLECTOR!
    What a strange post - are you just checking in on these sites and making sure that good things are said about URS? I have just spent a few hours reading all these posts and I know I've seen your name before. I think I recall your previous post being more defensive and cross-attacking that this, which is some kind of public relations pitch. I have received calls from a URS guy and he followed the law and didn't call me more than 3 times a day, but he did call my brother, and probably my mother but we disconnected her phone now that she's in a nursing home. My rep used some pretty sophisticated techniques to try to scare me and get me to pay, he was not over the top, he also tried to guilt me, and when I asked for documentation (that he said was mailed to me and got returned) he got pissed off, checked my address and said, "good luck" bitterly. I didn't say I would not pay. I said I had not decided how, as I am out of work and have no money. He obviously was not happy he couldn't get me to pay 50% of the bill right now. What I am wondering is if the account was truly sold to URS for pennies on the dollar, and whatever they can collect is profit for them, or if they are really working with the credit card company, Bank of America, whose name he keeps mentioning, saying they have already flagged my file for a lawsuit. B of A told me they charged it off. URS seems to indicate that they have long term relationships with their clients. Anyone know if they are working with the credit card companies or just using the CCard company's name as a scare tactic? An earlier post also mentioned that URS has it's own legal dept. (which I would expect after 34 years in business) So why doesn't the rep just say that URS will sue? Why keep mentioning the name of the bank?

    Any answers will be appreciated.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Collector! Dec 09, 2009

    UNITED RECOVERY SYSTEMS IS ONE OF THE KINDEST COLLECTION AGENCIES AROUND !!!
    THEY'VE BEEN IN BUSINESS APPROX 34 YEARS AND ARE ONE OF, IF NOT THE LARGEST COLLECTION AGENCY IN EXISTENCE . . . YOU DO NOT GET THAT LARGE AND SUCCESSFUL IF YOU ARE BREAKING THE LAW !!! <<<PEOPLE HAVE CALLED BACK TO THANK ME FOR HELPING THEM, THEYVE WRITTEN, FAXED, CALLED MANAGERS ETC IXTENDING GRATTITUDE AND PRAISE FOR THE ASSISTANCE URS HAS PROVIDED THEM, MY GOODNESS THE TIME SOME OF THESE INDIVIDUALS HAVE TAKEN TO TYPE THIS MATERIAL ON HERE, TAKE SOME TIME TO TALK TO A COLLECTOR WORK SOMETHING OUT

    0 Votes
  • Us
    USE CASH Nov 07, 2009

    LOL, 90% of the comments on here are from people who have no idea what they're talking about. Creditors can call ANY NUMBER to try and get ahold of you, until they know that they have a good #. And guess what, if you don't answer your phone, how do they know it's a good #? Most people that don't pay their bills also don't update their contact information with current address/phone #s, so they have to hunt for you to track down the thousands of dollars you spent and owe the credit card company. Also, FYI, a collector ISN'T going to tell your employer/friend/family member why they're calling because it's illegal. Would you rather they say "Oh yeah, the reason I'm calling Jane is because she's a deadbeat that doesn't pay her bills."

    When I was a collector, I LOVED it when people filed for bankruptcy, because then I just needed the attorney's name, #, and I could then close the account and move on to people that have money instead of listening to excuses/hard luck stories. As far as complaining about this being the credit card company's faults- if you shut them down, you'd have to shut down diet pills, magic acts, wonderbras, and anything else that serves its purpose, but has its own downfalls and illusions. Some people benefit greatly from credit cards, some don't.

    Pay your bills, learn your lessons, grab your checkbooks, and go back to good old-fashioned paying with cash. There is no middle class anymore because everyone would rather pay banks thousands in interest every month. Figure out how much money you're paying in interest every month- you're paying the banks out of your paycheck. It's your own fault.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Drew99 Oct 07, 2009

    Suggestions: Pay your bills ladies and gentlemen. Read the terms and conditions of your credit accounts when you borrow money from a creditor. Read the FDCPA. Keep in mind that not all debt collectors use strong arm tactics, break the law, or insult the consumer. Some collectors/agencies have excellent incentive programs and options to help you repay your debts. Remember they are your debts. In any conversation, if you remain professional, the person handling your accounts most likely will do the same. If you are not the correct person the collector is trying to reach, calmly explain that they have a wrong number and ask them to remove your number from their dialing system.
    Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Az
    AZILOVE Aug 11, 2009

    I RECEIVED A CALL FROM THEM TODAY. THEY HAVE BEEN CALLING BOTHERING ME FOR SOMETHING THAT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH ME. THEY ARE EXTREMELY RUDE AND UNPROFESSIONAL. THEY LEFT A MESSAGE ON MY PHONE LEAVING DETAILED INFORMATION. THEY HAD NO IDEA WHO COULD HAVE LISTENED TO THAT MESSAGE!!! I'VE TOLD THEM OVER AND OVER AGAIN THAT IT'S NOT MY ACCOUNT. HOWEVER, THEY WON'T STOP. THESE PEOPLE ARE UNBELIEVEABLE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Us
    usury Aug 11, 2009

    The problem, folks, is the credit card companies. They are usury. Look up this word. I have a credit rating in the high 700's, but I just got a credit card offer with an APR on it of over 23%.. This is usury. Why should I even receive this kind of 'offer' in the mail. Even be tempted to follow up on it if I were to be in dire straights and need the money. It's as bad or worse than 'check into cash' or those other rip off companies who, once they have their teeth in you, you never get loose. Segue to companies like URS. Yeah, URS called me today and I hung up on them. Can you imagine that they are representing, mostly, these same usury credit card companies? And proud of it? The gall to blame so fully and simply the consumer?

    The banks have just ripped off the entire country. Show your outrage. Make them toe the line. Write your congressmen. Remember that URS probably would not exist without the usury banks and credit card companies and their usury policies which many times take advantage of stupidity. Educate yourself. Write your congressman. Show your outrage.

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    evie210 Aug 02, 2009

    nbrhdcollector, please read my previous 3 posts. I'm still waiting on an answer to my questions.
    I repeat: Do they search for a name, and stop at the first one they come to? Do they not have the correct contact info to start with, therefore resorting to a search? If the person they want lives in another city in my state, with a different area code, phone numbers totally different, HOW did they decide to call here asking for my dad?
    And why the rudeness when I told the guy my father is deceased?
    I hope URS found the person it was looking for-if they didn't please let me know and I will give you the info URS should have had BEFORE they ever picked up the phone to make the call.

    0 Votes
  • Nb
    nbrhdcollector Jul 24, 2009

    That's not true at all... I work for URS, it is a very lucrative business, and no... not all of us are sour. But in regards to your bankruptcy comment chris... I absolutely love it when I get someone on the phone that is filing... for 2 reasons:
    1. I will not have to call and waste my time and energy locating someone who is a complete deadbeat and doesn't know their limit to spending.

    2. Hopefully, when you feel the shame of having to file, you wise up.. then again. I never have to contact you. Either way.


    Debt collectors DO NOT want to contact deadbeats anymore than you want to be contacted. I personally take it as an insult that all of this negativity is on here. I work hard for my client and the debtors to improve their situation. I never wake up in the morning wanting to make others lives hell. Debtors get so defensive when they owe money and feel trapped with no way to pay... GUESS WHAT??? Just because we are collectors doesn't mean we don't have debt. Most of us can relate to the economical hardship that life has given a majority... SO DO US ALL A FAVOR... RESPECT YOURSELF ENOUGH TO LOSE THE PRIDE AND ADMIT WHEN YOU CAN'T PAY, AND ADMIT WHEN YOU NEED HELP> Not all of us are as horrible as you think.

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    grinanbearit Jul 24, 2009

    Chris17- Pay your bills and you wouldn't have anything to complain about. If you can't understand or agree to credit contracts, you should probably save up money until you can afford something, and then purchase it. Credit is a privledge. One that apparently some people don't deserve. People who can't pay their bills and identity theft leave creditors to foot a lot of bills. And guess who the debt gets rolled down to- people that actually pay their bills.

    Thanks Chris.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris17 Jul 24, 2009

    I just received a call from these ###ers.
    my god.
    what out of "I am filing for bankruptcy" did she not understand.
    why would I go and pay 6000$ out of my 405$ unemployment check when its gonna be wiped clear in a month anyway.

    you know why cause credit companies hate when you file for bankruptcy because they dont get ANYTHING.

    but really all they are asking for is money you NOW owe them.

    anyone who used there loan to buy something and paid their bill for over a year already paid them back for all they spent.

    its just the interest that is ###ing you and keeping you in that loop for 10 years.

    so i say ### the creditors ### the federal reserve system. they are all just making up there own money anyway - goggle - zeitgeist

    -1 Votes
  • Gr
    grinanbearit Jul 24, 2009

    To everyone- You have many rights as a consumer through the FDCPA (Fair Debt Collection Practices ACT). Look it up and see what your rights are, it's only a few pages long. There are a few individual state rights in addition to these. As far as being anyone other than the consumer with the debt, you are only allowed to be called once every 12 months for information regarding the consumer. So your neighbors shouldn't hear from your debt collector more than once a year. Also, you HAVE EVERY RIGHT TO TELL THEM TO NEVER CALL YOU AGAIN!!! But guess what- that's an automatic Refusal to Pay. I know a lot of debt collectors are rude and some have absolutely no conscience- but if you would pay your bills, you would never have to deal with them. I never have, and I don't plan on it. :) Just talk to them right away and get everything taken care of/arrangements made, and everyone is happy.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    Apple7 Jul 13, 2009

    These people are absolute bottom feeders. I was visiting my best friend over the holidays, when I got a call from my Mom saying some woman has been calling everyday twice a day looking for me, nevermind that I haven't lived at home for 16 years! Then, as I am sitting in the car with my best friend, she gets a phone call from the same woman asking for contact information for me, as she is an attorney, she quizzed the he'll out of this woman Wendy English trying to figure out how she got her number, as she and I hadn't been roommates in 7 years. Wendy told her she had called my friends arents home and spoke to her younger brother who gave her my friends cell phone number. My friends parents moved several years ago and got a new number, how did this woman find them?!? Nevermind the fact that it's extremely embarassing! I wound up calling Ms. English back, and she threatened and cajoled me, who really didn't know any better into paying am exhorbitant amount of money as a good faith payment, then monthly payments of nearly $500 in post dated checks. I can't afford this but have no idea what to do at this point. I tried to lower payments and they said I couldn't unless I planned to pay off the debt. Short of stopping checks thru my bank, what else can I do?? I sooo can't afford this!! Can anyone help????

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    JoeTruexHater May 19, 2009

    Joe Truex, of the URS company...CONSTANTLY calls my office looking for a certain person. He speaks like he is the guys best friend and never says what he's calling for. He has NO business calling my office if he can't have a reason as to why he's calling.

    He is a total [censored]! Apparently, he's from a collection agency..i've gathered that much info from online messageboards. He should have his subjects personal info (cell, home #) but what are the rights of a business regarding collection calls?

    Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • T8
    T83 Apr 02, 2009

    United Recovery Systems representatives are RUDE, HARASSING, UNPROFESSIONAL and unhelpful. I have NOTHING to do witht he reasons for the phone calls (multiple through the day). I have asked them to stop calling and inturupting my work day, they said that they have the right and to talk to my congressman. I have a job to do and the individuals they are looking for will NEVER be found. They were on the phone with them 1 day and asked them to stop calling. I asked for a supervisor, I was put through to Anthony (can I say JERK) who promoted such an unprofessional individual..."I cant talk to you have the attorneys call me"..No attorney would want to waste there time on that piece of crap company! I will now make a point to call his extentsion everytime he inturupts my day. Pay backs are a b*^%$, if I cant work than why should he. Phone calls have now gone to the individuals residence. 5 messages in a day! Harassment charges are pending..ha! Mark and Anthony when I say they are not here, they are not here!!! Get a new attitude you Jerks.

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    evie210 Mar 28, 2009

    Since my last post, I have done a simple search for the person they were looking for. At whitepages.com I entered the name and the city.
    The info I was seeking popped right up. The phone number for the man is nowhere near the same as my dad's number. I then did a reverse number look-up. I entered the city's area code, and my dad's phone number. NOTHING was found with that number.
    I really didn't think that 2 people with the same first and last names living in 2 different area codes would have the same phone number.

    And I'm still waiting on whyjudge to respond. I may be waiting in vain.

    If I can find out the info in less than 20 seconds, URS should be able to find it with no problems. But it seems that they are lazy and don't want to do any research to find whoever they want to contact.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DES Mar 27, 2009

    Before you pay URS or any collector a cent, be sure the debt is valid. Even if it was valid at one time, it may not be now. Even the IRS is limited to 10 years after the date of assesment of taxes. Each state has its own time limits for debt collection (statute of limitations). In New York, it's 6 years. However, if you make a payment to a collection agency, you "restart the clock". Many companies pay pennies on the dollar for info, then try to bully/frighten/embarass you into providing personal info and making a payment an OLD, LEGALLY UNCOLLECTIBLE DEBT. Then they have you by the short hairs.

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    evie210 Mar 24, 2009

    whyjudge, if you are indeed an employee of URS, please clue me in on how they got my dad's phone number.

    Keep in mind same first name and same last name. Did they do a search of some kind and stop at the first one that turned up? Did they not notice the 2 names were in different cities? Makes me wonder if URS does the same thing with others-same name, but wrong person. Heaven help anyone who has to deal with URS and it's rude employees. There was no reason for the man to yell at me. At least I was able to clear this matter up and it had better stay clear. If not, my attorney will be notified. Complaints will be made to the appropriate agencies.
    Something is very wrong when a company starts calling the wrong people and makes no attempt to verify information.

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    evie210 Mar 24, 2009

    This morning my phone rang at 8:18. A man asked to speak to my father, using his first initial and last name. I politely told him that my dad could not come to the phone, and asked if he'd like to leave a message. He replied no message but would call again at a more convenient time. I then informed him that my father died in Sept. 2006 and asked if there was something we didn't know about which needed to be paid. He immediately started yelling at me Why didn't you just tell me right off he died? Before I could find out what was going on, he hung up on me. Fortunately he had mentioned something about URS, so I got on the internet and looked it up. Not pleased with what I found. A few minutes ago, I called URS. A very polite woman listened to me and connected me to someone else. During the course of the conversation with the man I was connected to, he actually asked if my father's address had been street so and so. I told him no, then he mentioned Dothan. Which is a city in Alabama, but way to the south of where my father lived. Whoever they are wanting to contact has the same first name and last name as my dad. He mentioned a middle initial W. My dad's is L.
    He asked if the last 4 digits of his social security number where **** and I told him not even close. My feeling is that they had a first name and a last name and somehow in searching that name, came across my dad's information, the phone number is still listed in his name. So they called here. Turns out that Dothan has a different area code. One would think that whoever turned the debt over to URS would at least supply the correct area code. The man who called me put a "deceased" notation in the file. The person I talked to when I called has to remove the notation, update the info, and he did apologize for the rudeness. I of course do not accept that apology-I never do when someone apologizes for another person. I hope this is the last I hear from them. For the record, my dad had no outstanding debts. If they call back, I plan on giving them the phone number of the cemetary where my dad is buried. And I might ask them to let me know if they talk to my dad, that would mean he isn't dead and I can dig him up and bring him home.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    susan Mar 20, 2009

    Lisa Adadey- You clearly didn't bother to read more than two of the responses. Many of the posts here are written by people, like me, who are neighbors or distant relatives of people with outstanding debt. Innocent bystanders with excellent credit who are being harassed at home during their spare time by collectors like you. You should be embarassed with the satisfaction you feel with your job and the atrocious assumptions you make.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Adadey Mar 17, 2009

    I would say that people who have complaints against URSI fall under one of two categories. The first is: people who have worked for URS and were not up to par, so you have to moan and groan about the policies and procedures of URSI. Or the 2nd category, people who are trying to find any reason not to pay their credit card debt, which is why you are in collections.

    Now, I am not saying that things don't happen, and cause you to fall behind. Those are the people who benefit from URS services. But, to me, the people who don't want to be contacted, the people who don't want to come to terms with their debt, and the people who have unrealistic "needs" that they want a collector to compromise for them, are the people who seem to have the most complaints.

    I am a current employee at URS, and the training that they provide goes above and beyond. I have not ever met a manager or collector who is unprofessional at URS. The managers always go out of their way to make the collectors feel comfortable and appreciated. I am perfectly satisfied with my position in the company, and the training I have went through.
    So before you complain about URS, please check to see what category you fall in.

    1 Votes
  • Wh
    whyjudge Mar 17, 2009

    For all of the people that are saying some of us run up credit cards and live off stolen money, you are completely wrong. My husband and I worked for the same company, we had money, made money spent money. All while working hard for it. We invested money. We did what normal Americans do. However, we, and 85 other employees were "laid" off and the company closed. No pensions, no benefits, all medical coverage was canceled, we were overwhelmed with everything that was now "not covered" by the insurance company. Now, keep in mind it was about 6 months ago. Where can you find a job that you made well over 100, 000 a year at right now? Please tell me, if I knew, I would have it. Everyone has their story on how they got where they are and why. Don't go judging everyone due to the fact that they have over due bills. Maybe Credit card companies shouldn't give credit cards to every single person out there. As far as calling people ###, is that entirely necessary? I hope that some day, the stuff that has happened to us happens to you. When you have no alternative. Getting foreclosed on, or pay your credit card bill? No one wants to make that choice, but unfortunately some of us are forced to. We are all victims of circumstance and until you've walked a day in anyone elses shoes, I suggest you keep the vulgar, harsh comments to yourself. We are working minimum wage jobs, just to keep food in our mouths. We can't pay loans, we can't pay credit cards, we can barely pay the rent on our dumpy apartment that we were forced to move into. Everyone is always good at casting stones, wait til those stones come flying back at you.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.