The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Tribute Credit CardCancellation

They cancelled my account without any notification. I have never even made a late payment They continue to charge any account maintenance after the account is closed!

Responses

  • Th
    The Renegade!!! May 07, 2009

    This company is a real nightmare!!!
    I try to see if they will help me to reduce the remaining balance and see if I can pay it at least half of it and close the account completly.
    Well they really do not care about anyone at all, and also they CHARGE FEES FOR MAKING PAYMENTS ON LINE OR BY PHONE...ABSOLUTELY AMAZING...
    THIS IS THE WORST CARD EVER, SO PLEASE DO NOT LET THEM ABUSE OF YOUR GOOD INTENTIONS, BECAUSE THEY STEAL FROM YOU ALL...
    This kind of card, SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED AT ALL...
    People are also very unpolite to you...
    They need to CLOSE THEM, BECAUSE THEY STEAL MONEY FROM YOU AND THEY DON'T REALLY WANT TO WORK WITH YOU AT ALL!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    angryattribute Sep 16, 2009

    Same thing happened to me. My account was in good standing, and had hundreds of dollars in available credit. I tried to use it on Saturday, 9/12/09, and it was declined. I thought it was very odd, so when I got home I called up my account online and saw that I had a $0.00 credit limit, and no more credit available. I called the 800 number and of course got something who could barely speak English. She said my account - and ALL Tribute accountholders - had been cancelled as of Friday, 9/11/09. The company has gone under. I asked why I did not receive any previous notification of this, and all she could mumble was that a letter was mailed to me on 9/11 - which I still have not received.

    Really nice way to treat your customers, Tribute...

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mightiman Sep 18, 2009

    I also had the same experience. I called them on 9-17-09 and was informed that all accountholders in the gold program have been discontinued. Supposedly the provide a new account number later in October, but no new card will be issued. I found this to be very odd. I assumed based on their vagueness that the company has gone under. I just received my letter dated 9-11-09 in the mail. Oh well, it is what it is. Another bank bits the dust!!

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    What Tha! Sep 18, 2009

    Seems very strange they couldn't find anyone to bail them out. Everyone else did. What's sad is that there is nothing we can do about it. Just pay the balance and go on without that credit card in our wallets. And they could care less how they treat Americans, they hate us. For some stupid reason. Maybe its because we were born in America, like we can help it, just like they can't help where they were born...

    0 Votes
  • Cb
    cb49701 Sep 19, 2009

    TRIBUTE CARD IS A FRAUD... THE PREY ON PEOPLE WITH LESS THAN GOOOD CREDIT, CHARGE HIGH FEES THEN DISCONTINUE THE COMPANY... WITH HOPE THAT ALL YOU CUSTOMERS WILL SIGN ON WITH THE NEW COMPANY THEY OFFER.. THEY DID THIS WITH THE " SALUTE CARD" AS WELL... ALL THE SAME PEOPLE... THEN THEY CONTINUE TO CHARGE FEES WITH NO CARD SERVICE... A CLASS ACTION SUIT NEEDS TO BE FILED AGAINST THIS COMPANY... READ ON ANOTHER BLOG THAT FIRST BANK OF DELAWARE IS THE OWNER OF THESE FRAUD COMPANYS...

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Carpenter Oct 03, 2009

    I totally agree with everyone these issues, I just checked my account & found out that they are charging me an annual $100.00 fee for an account that they closed. I will be getting an attorney on this, I refuse to roll over & play dead. Fraud is Fraud in the dictionary & these people are as crooked as they get! I am all for a class action suit if everyone decides to go together on this.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    tributerealy10? Oct 03, 2009

    I too had the same thing happen. I tried to use my card in late September and could not. I called to find out why and heard the recording stating they have closed all accounts. If that is what they need to do, so be it but do not charge me a yearly fee and then charge a 10.00 a month fee for the account that can not be used. Oh yeah and then hike up the interest rate. And say they cannot lower the interest rate because the Account is closed. Well hello if I knew they were going to close the account I would have asked them to lower the interst rate before hand. However since they closed the accounts without notice that would make it impossible to ask ahead of time. I love speaking to employees who do not speak ENGLISH!!! Can we not keep somethings here in the USA!!! I have kept my card in good standing and so that just adds to the anger. I am PISSED!!! AG of Washington State here I come.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jerry smith Oct 08, 2009

    same thing has happened to me i have had the card for 3 yrs and always paid more than the minimum payment to keep the balance low but after they closed my acount i will have to pay then 39 a month for 10 yrs to pay it off if any one is puting together a class action suit please let us know

    0 Votes
  • Sx
    sxg Oct 08, 2009

    I totally agree that this company is bogus! Unbeleivable how they can just cancell my account without notice when i've never been late on a payment and have been more that a loyal cutomer. I don't know if anyone else has noticed how when you call customer service not only do you always get a person that speaks broken english, when they answer the phone they never identify the name of the company, they say "card services."

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele Ruta Oct 26, 2009

    I have never in my life dealt with such rude and incompetent people as the ones at Tribute. They do not care about their customers at all. PLEASE DO NOT FALL INTO THEIR TRAP!!! They will not work with you or help you in any way. There has got to be a way to stop them.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Ben R. Goss Nov 06, 2009

    These people must be made to pay through the nose. We really hit the asbestos, tobacco, and other companies, and they are legitamate companies, while the Bank of Delaware can do financial chicanery with impunity. I willpay off my original debt, with agreed interest, but no service fees.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Floridaboy Nov 06, 2009

    I just spoke to the Florida Dept of Business and Lic. They told me and anyone else that got screwed by Tribute to call [protected] That is the State of Washington Dept of Fin complaint dept. Tribute is out of Seattle. I was chg the annual fee on 8/23 and told on 9/5 just like the rest of you of the stoppage of credit. Can't get my fee back

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Floridaboy Nov 06, 2009

    Just spoke to the FTC in DC Seems our friends at Tribute card is under Federal Investigation for numerous violations. Go to www. FTC.gov enter Tribute car for why we got screwed. Good luck to all of you

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Floridaboy Nov 06, 2009

    Just some added info. FTC tel # [protected]. I signed a complaint you can also reference complaint # [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Floridaboy Nov 06, 2009

    ANOTHER UPDATE. JUST CALL TRANS UNION SEEMS OUR BOYS ARE SHOWING OUR ACCOUNT CLOSED PER CUSTOMER REQUEST WITH BAL DUE. NOT COMPANY OUT OF BUSINESS. BETTER CALL TRANS UNION AND FILE DISPUTE SO YOUR CREDIT IS NOT EFFECTED.

    0 Votes
  • Oh
    Ohioguy65 Nov 14, 2009

    Thanks for the information! I was another one screwed by Tribute. I had a perfect account with Imagine, Then Boom! Tribue take over and No credit...This is ridiculous! Let me know of any lawsuits, I want them by there bogus **@#**'s. Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • La
    lashan Nov 30, 2009

    I recieved a letter in the mail September 21, 2009 regarding Tribute Gold Masteracrd. The letter states that they credit accounts in connection with settlement. From the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation and the Federal Trade Commission recently reached a settlement with First Bank of Delaware. The number to card regarding the settlement [protected] Atlanta, GA.

    0 Votes
  • La
    lashan Nov 30, 2009

    number to call

    0 Votes
  • Rl
    R. L. Hardy Dec 11, 2009

    I lost my job over a year ago and had a Tribute Mastercard. I paid my bill regularly and had just received an increase in my limit. I took out the insurance on my card in case I lost my job and was billed for it every month. Well, as earlier stated, I lost my job and called them to activate the payment option that was owed to me; I was asked to submit a form and make a payment of $75.00 (I refused to pay the money because it wasn't discussed previously and I had no money to make that payment), which they mailed out to me and lost in the system TWICE and was denied payment of said benefits toward the balance of my bill. They have since placed me in a default status and it is affecting my credit rating. Please help me.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Nef Smith Dec 14, 2009

    There is got to be something we can do! I have been trying to pay it off and the keep telling It will be credited next month. In the meantime I am paying interest and a $10.00 monthly service fee and &10 to pay the bill on line. i am scared to put it in the mail. Heaven forbids they claim they don't get it before the due date. None of the numbers in the complaint above are working now. I am going to stop paying it too. I will also file a a fraud report with the trans union.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Will1976 Dec 16, 2009

    So, can they settle my account if I place complain with federal trade agency

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Antonelli Dec 21, 2009

    I agree 100%, i did not even know they went out. I was paying them my monthy bill online without knowing they were under. I went Online to pay my bill and sure enought he website is now down, So i guess i dont have to pay anymore, nor will i pay in the future. I did a search and here i found this. If there is a Class action i am in.

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    DM RI Jan 15, 2010

    i had the card 2007 always payed on time started with $250.00 credit limit .they me 3 times, by march 2009 my credit limit was $700.00...then in August of 2009 i received a increase of $250.00...which i was surprise then in September 16 was told that my account was closed and all Tribute accounts were being closed . So i called them got a rep. who couldn't speak English...i told them i had know problem paying my bal..as of august 2009...but didn't want the $250.00 increase and would not pay it since i didn't use it...he said he credit my account which they never did..i payed by mail but have stop because.i was been charge a $10.00 monthly fee for use of a card that was closed and again ask them to stop charging me >>>>again i was BS by the Rep. so now I've file complains and will not pay till they credit my account...i have notified all 3 credit Bureaus

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    KendraM Jan 20, 2010

    I am going through the same situation right now. They want me to make a 20.00 payment on a 600.00 balance>it started with 200.00 balance and payment was not late so how is it 600.00?

    0 Votes
  • Tl
    TLopez Jan 26, 2010

    File your complaint with the FDIC. They are the ones that sued First Bank of Delaware for un fair banking practices and ordered them to pay over 4mil in restitution. This is the same bank that took millions of peoples homes. Some of us are supposed to recieve credits to our accounts or some type of notification instead we're being taxed out the ### for the money that they owe the government and the American people (Us!!!) I'm assuming the high maintenace fee is to pay Indonesia, South Africa, or who ever else in East Bubble[censored] to take our calls. If we all complain to the FDIC they will have to look into our accounts as well.
    They were court ordered to notify people of restitutions and they have not. Continue to send in your complaints to the government that's the only way they will stop bleeding us.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    IRATEinPA Feb 01, 2010

    Same thing, I had alway paid on time, Never a problem, They cancelled my card. My agreement should be null and void, i should not be paying maintenace fee or interest for that matter.THEY CLOSED the account not me...I made 176.00 in payments and 72. 00 posted to my account they kept the rest for fees...BALONEY...I am calling an attorney, WE NEED A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT NOW...Does anyone know how to start one...I will be on board...

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda L Feb 09, 2010

    If anyone k nows anything we can do to get the fees reduced or something..I have salute and tribute..THEY CANCELLED THE TRIBUTE ..kept my annual fee..I cancelled the salute..I have never missed a payment and the balance isnt moving.between the$10 maintnance fee...$10 to pay online and all the finance charges..they ae charging me over $30 a month to have the card..(each card) and they are cancelled. I have 2 other credit cards that I'm paying off and the balances are going down..I can't take this with them.i dont know what to do..

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SHOTSLIZ Apr 27, 2010

    WOW I THOUGHT I WAS THE ONLY ONE THAT HATED TRIBUTE!!! THEY DID ALL THAT SAME STUFF TO ME. THEY ALSO TOLD ME I COULD NOT PAY MORE OR LESS THAN $10 A MONTH AND THEN EVERY MONTH I HAD A $19.99 FEE. I CALLED AND ASKED HOW AM I EVER GOING TO PAY THIS OFF???? I ASKED THE LADY IF SHE HAD A TRIBUTE CARD, SHE LAUGHED AND SAID NO... I HAVE GOOD CREDIT!!! I WISH I COULD HAVE REACHED THROUGH THE PHONE IF YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN!!! HERE IS THE CATCH MY LIMIT WAS $250.00 AND WITH ALL THEIR B.S. IT ENDED UP AT OVER $600 FUNNY HUH

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angela D. May 18, 2010

    You guys need to call the FTC and make a complaint so that they can have it on file. So all the complaining we are doing on the internet, we need to be complaining to them FTC, so that they can investigate these guys and make them pay for all they have put us through. Good Luck. Please call the FTC.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    fedupchick Sep 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree 100 percent, i have continue to pay the charge tribute put on my card. i charged very little on my card. they put all kinds of fees and interest, who is collecting the money. I have tried calling the company and got no where with them. It is time to stand up against greed. this is america and we have rights

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    BLUE JAY Jul 27, 2011

    Yes I am in the same boat with this company and another company call SALUTE VISA OF ATLANTA. And just like you my two accounts where closed. I started paying back these two campanies, beacause them calling me and me taking atrip to see them face to face was not a good idea. The two balances was 1000.oo dollars. In january of this year 2011 my wife very severe HEART PROBLEMS. So paying them and keeping my wife's health up no choice in the matter she comes first. I have expline to them and the money and just blow you off. So now I will not pay them one mor penny. Like I have expline to to them I give a rat's in HADES about credit score or anything else at my age. I just want a score with the MAN UP STAIRS. AL B IN QUEENS NY

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    jjenn99 Aug 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm in the same boat as all of you. They are now taking me to court for a bill of over $800. When they closed my account, my balance was $333. I was being hard headed and not wanting to pay them for the BS that they caused. My court date is in 09/19/11. I have made numerous calls before all of this to that company but no one would listen. Any recourse???

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CandiLGC19872006 Jun 15, 2016

    I was just calling in to cancel my automatic payment since I do not have the same bank anymore. When I called I heard that the accounts management deceided to close all service and there is no changing their mind and the company is terminated. I didn't receive a notice but I recieve a phone call that my automatic payment didn't go through since I canelled my bank choice two months ago. I called for between 11:32 am, eastern time, and 11:46 am trying to get answers and what made it so bad is that the same two people kept answering. I called Account Inquiry and Elma kept answering claiming she can't answer any of my questions and sent me to customer service which was George who can't understand english one bit. Everytime I called each number I received the same person, odd. Because that never happend before when I called there. I can't get any answers about my account, the charges or why I didn't receive a notice. I have no idea what to do.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    waynesahuarita Jun 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In October of 2009 I was given an option to opt out of the combining of credit card balnces. I wrote the company and told them I wanted to opt out of combining.

    They are now showing as over the limit and charging me $35 per month for being over. The want a payment in excess of $500 to bring my account back under the limit.

    This is totally unfair.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.