Thyme and Sage Ranch Jennifer PetkusMy Adopted Puppy Died

L
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I would have preferred talking to someone who could have heard this story in it's entirety but hear goes. I hope I don't leave anything out...

A few months ago when watching a program I saw a small dog that needed adoption and it got me thinking strongly about replacing a family pet that we had lost in February from cancer and her old age. When checking many of the county facilities I found that the dogs were mostly larger breeds and that if they had a small one it was gone before I could even get a hold on it.

While surfing the web I found that there were many "rescues" listed and many that even listed animals that had been saved from puppy mills.

One month ago I found the perfect dog that meant for our family. I was not able to see the puppies but after seeing the mother dog and knowing what breed she would be mixed with and getting a description, my son and I picked the dog that would be our "Kasey". She was described as a tan and white female and after looking at the pick of the mom we knew it was meant to be.

I sent the deposit as requested and asked for updates each week. I had been told that the mother had been rescued and was in foster care and was an hour away. I have all the emails that can prove our conversations since that is how she preferred to do her business. I only received the one set of pictures because she claimed her "foster" did not have the ability to send her more.

Then suddenly she contacted me and said I could pick her up a week earlier than originally planned. I made the appointment to pick up Kasey on May 31, 2008. When we got to the Thyme and Sage Ranch, in Richland County, where she claims to "rescue" her animals, we first saw people and cars every where. Then we saw horses, geese, dogs, and puppies in a pen in the yard. It was a warm day and the sun was very hot but when I asked about my puppy I was told it was too cold for her and she was in the back of the truck. Jennifer Petkus, the owner of the site, went to the truck and brought me back a little puppy that was what had been described to me when I made the agreement with her.

Kasey was very animated and it was obvious that she wanted to play and have any kind of companionship. Kasey did smell pretty bad but I felt that after looking at Jennifer who did appear to have feces or dirt all over her it was possible the puppy had played in the barn area as she smelled much like manure. After Jennifer "checked out" another couple who was receiving their dog she came to me and said she would check me out. While we were waiting my son heard Jennifer speak of Disney, the dog Jennifer had listed as my puppy's mother in the advertisement, and that she had died. When we went up on Jennifer's porch I asked her about Disney and she told me that there had been a terrible accident with her at the foster's home. She said that the foster had left Disney outside with their dog and that the other dog had attacked Disney and caused life threatening injuries to her. She even went as far as to say that Disney and a puppy had been intended to be adopted by the foster family and now they could not take the puppy. She informed me that the puppy that was returned was a black and brown female. I had said maybe we would want to look at her since my son wanted a black and brown dog in the beginning anyway. Jennifer then quickly said that they dog looked more like a Chihuahua than a Yorkie and we would probably not be happy with her.

I talked to my son and he said he was happy with our choice and glad he picked her. I let it go and continued our paperwork. Jennifer then hurriedly got a couple sheets of copied pieces of paper out of a box and had me sign a spay/neuter contract that also has a health clause and safe environment agreement. She then quickly filled in some blanks on a piece of paper with Kasey's breed, name, and filled in a bunch of X's where the vaccination information should have went. Jennifer then gave me two sheets of paper about Coccidia and Giardia and mentioned it was something she could get if she was stressed out and if so to contact my vet. This did not bother me since I knew she would not have any stress and Jennifer said Kasey had been vaccinated on Friday (May 30, 2008). Including checking with my vet ahead of time on what to feed her and when to bring her in for her next shots. After finishing the paperwork we packed Kasey up after some pictures for Jennifer's "Happy Tails" part of her website, Jennifer told me that we might want to water Kasey from time to time on the way home and feed her since they had withheld food since 8 a.m. that morning. I didn't question it because we had a two hour drive home and I didn't know if she would get car sick or not being so very little.

We then drove home, stopping a couple of times for water and potty breaks but she was amazing on the drive home. I was in complete shock that she did so well. My own 10 year old (very healthy) Shih Tzu/Maltese dog does not do good in a car for 10 minutes let alone 10 miles.

When we drove home I tried to feed Kasey and it was obvious she did not have much interest in food and I figured she was just excited. I spent time with her on Saturday and Sunday trying to get her to eat better but she really did not have much interest but was however drinking. I did call Jennifer on Sunday and ask how to get Kasey to eat better and then tried to wet the food and it seemed a little better and Kasey started to eat. I even went and bought some wet food and mixed it with the dry and she ate some of that too but still not eating as well as I would have thought. I did contact my vet and he had pretty much the same suggestions and as long as she was drinking I felt all was well.

On Wednesday night, June 4th, I noticed that Kasey seemed much more tired but I had played with her quite a bit and she pretty much stayed right by me most of the time so I felt she was just tuckered out being so very little. We had bad weather that night and into the next morning. When I heard the very bad weather about 7 a.m. I realized that Kasey had not woke me up and it scared me. When I got to the crate I realized that she had been sick in the night and when I opened the door she did not come to me as she usually had done. I reached to the back and she was limp. I immediately called my vet and ran her in to be checked. At that time she was dehydrated from being ill in her crate and had depleted her glucose levels. I was used to being up in the middle of the night to let her out and feed and water her already and then my husband would before work as well. This was obviously very upsetting to us.

After the initial check the vet asked me to leave her there and to treat her with IV fluids. Later that day Kasey perked up and based on the shot record Jennifer gave me my vet only checked her fecal matter and found the highest levels of Coccidia and Giardia parasites that he has ever found in a sample from a puppy and felt it was the only cause for Kasey's illness. I treated Kasey and my other dog with antibiotics (precautionary for my existing pet) for the next 24 hours and made sure that she got some nutrients and drank as much as possible. Right down to sleeping with the puppy next to me so that I would know if she made a noise and could get her out and help if need be.

Kasey seemed to pick up some and Friday I thought we were out of the woods. Saturday morning I woke up and again Kasey had not woke me up and found that she had been ill in her crate. I immediately got her some water and her medicine and tried to soothe her since she did nothing but whimper at this point. I kept her warm and in my arms for two hours until my husband got up. But because she was now throwing up and I knew it was the last symptom we did not have before for a Parvo test my husband and I again ran her into the vet.

Once at the vet's office, we were immediately taken into the back and a Parvo test was administered. The Parvo test came back as a very strong positive, not any doubt at all. This was so very upsetting to me since I had called Jennifer when Kasey got sick and she said that she had used Pfizer 7 Way on Saturday before we got Kasey. This didn't fit since I knew she had said that she vaccinated her on Friday when I signed the papers. That was not the only lie since on the bottom of the paperwork Jennifer wrote 7 Way Van Guard which is not the preferred vaccination and can be bought just about anywhere per my veterinarian. These lies started to add up but I did not address her about them at this point because I was not sure if my puppy was going to be okay or not, at least when she first got sick.

On Saturday June 7th after the positive Parvo test my vet told me that he would have to hospitalize Kasey and keep her a couple days. He said she was still not out of the woods but he would do what he could. I was however very satisfied that my veterinarian would do his very best because he had done so much for our dog that passed away in February and as a disabled police officer I know this doctor is the one that handles all the canines in the department I used to work for as well. We stayed long enough to see that he was able to get an IV in Kasey, not what I thought since she was only 1.3 lbs. That was a sign that we really thought she would be okay. We then left Kasey in their care on Saturday mid day and waited to hear from the vet and his staff.

I did call Jennifer from the office there with my husband and the vet with me and she blamed my family for causing stress and that it was our fault that she caught Parvo. Parvo has an inoculation period of 7-14 days and that meant she already had it when I brought her home. It was just good that my other dog was as healthy as she is and that she is current on her vaccinations. When I told Jennifer that she lied to me and that I might have been able to save her she told me "I don't have time for this" and before she could hang up I guaranteed she would hear from me again. She treated my vet and myself like idiots and gave us absolutely no respect at all. There were no apologies at all and nothing but blame. She is surely not the woman I would expect to be running a "rescue".

So on Sunday night I did not hear from the staff and started to worry so I called the office. I did not hear and felt it would not be good when I did. Monday morning my phone rang at 8 a.m. and it was indeed my vet. He told me that Kasey had died. He said her body temperature had dropped Sunday afternoon and that she again became lethargic. He said her heart rate started to decline and he tried to give her medicine to help her but that the heart had been damaged by the Parvo and she did not make it. This was devastating to me but worse I had to tell my son about this and this was supposed to be one of the happiest days of his life as he was starting driver’s education that morning.

So after collecting myself and breaking the news to my son, I spoke to my husband and we decided that Kasey's little life and death would not be vain. I called the Richland County Sherriff's Office and spoke with them about this entire situation since my vet said that even had she been vaccinated once he felt she could have possibly made it. I initially was told that they would have a deputy go out and investigate this situation since it is obvious that she allows puppies to play where geese feces is and that alone is a danger to the puppies and to their owners because Giardia is contagious to humans. Jennifer should know that and did not say she didn't but said my puppy was never on her grounds. I know that I put her down not knowing that was the case and many others picked up those puppies not knowing that either. It was also my understanding that Thyme and Sage Ranch holds the contract for the animal control services for Richland County. This alone needed to be reported because healthy animals could be put there and get ill on that property before getting back to their owners.

Well after the initial phone call, I was notified later that no deputy would go out because it was a "civil matter". I informed my contact person that I was upset about this because it was more than a civil problem this was a health hazard. I was informed however that there was an upcoming meeting and that the contract for the Animal Control services would be discussed at that time. I told the contact at the county that I was not going to stop calling and that I had just begun.

So since then I have talked to members of the Richland County Board of Supervisors, the Richland County District Attorney's Office, the Ochooch Mountain Humane Society, Dane County Humane Society, and Dr. Yvonne Belay from the Department of Agriculture.

Responses

  • Pe
    Penny Apr 30, 2011

    Jennifer got a slap on the wrist. Three years probation and restitution and still has the abilities to own animals on her property. Of course if she has a family member living with her she can have "their" pets on her property. The judge said she was a hoarder who "just lost it". I am sickened by this verdict. I expected as much really. This is how the entire case was from the beginning for most of us that adopted animals from Jennifer. She has a clip on Channel 3 news that says she wants to get her life back to normal and move on with her career and farm. Really? What about all the animals you killed and the people you bilked out of thousands of dollars. This county is just messed up in my opinion. They treated all those involved both on 2 legs and 4 like they had no idea what really was going on there. I think most of us knew more than those with any authority there in Richland County. This is just a travesty of justice and as they say we all have to answer to our maker. Someday so will they. God has a plan for all of us. Jennifer you are one of the worst of human beings I have ever had the displeasure to meet. Sadly I wish she would have to suffer the same fate she make many furry kids suffer. She certainly does not appear to be starving and suffering from serious injuries that have festered. I can only hope your probation officer stays on this to make sure that you are following the rules but sadly I doubt it. Richland County does NOT seem to have a good hold on the government agencies in that county.

    0 Votes
  • La
    labs-r-best Mar 12, 2011

    Shelter Owner Convicted Of Animal Neglect Charges
    Petkus Faces Sentencing On 6 Charges
    Updated: 7:11 am CST March 12, 2011

    CAZENOVIA, Wis. -- A jury found the owner of a Richland County animal shelter guilty on six counts of animal cruelty, according to court records on Friday.

    Jennifer Petkus, who owned Thyme & Sage Ranch, was convicted following a three-week trial of starving a dog to death, failing to provide water to animals, failing to maintain sufficient cleanliness for animals in her care and mistreatment of a specific ram, bull dog and border collie, according to court records.

    The six guilty counts support a maximum sentence of 54 months in jail or three years probation and up to $10, 000 in fines for each count.

    The Richland County district attorney plans to ask for five years prohibition against Petkus having animals, according to Dane County Humane Society officials.

    The next step will be the sentencing for Petkus which is expected to happen in April.

    The Dane County Humane Society, which took in many of the ranch's animals, praised the trial's outcome.

    “Dane County Humane Society is glad to be seeing some justice to help prevent future situations like this from happening again, ” said DCHS Executive Director Pam McCloud Smith, in a statement. "It is good to have some closure to this case that began for us back in March of 2008 when I took a trip to the Thyme & Sage Ranch to pick up dogs that needed help."

    DCHS officials said they are thankful and proud of the good work that was done by DCHS staff and volunteers and other animal welfare organizations that together helped save nearly 600 dogs, 25 horses and 60 small animals.

    The Thyme & Sage Ranch was located in Cazenovia.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Nov 30, 2009

    Helen did you report it to the sheriff's department after the raid on her ranch????

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    camden03 Nov 27, 2009

    I had the same problem and my puppy died also. Helen Reed

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Nov 03, 2009

    Elizabeth I just love you...I am feeling a little better and that change you have suggested will be done in the next couple of days...

    I hope you are well...I just adore you...You are too kind!!!

    Big hugs,
    Penny

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth mcmahon Nov 03, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi,

    I just want to remind ***everyone*** particiating in this thread to please join Penny's Facebook cause, Help me see that Kasey didn't die in vain!!!, and to invite all their friends. Here's the link:

    http://apps.facebook.com/causes/385282/51108366?m=e56504ed

    and to please sign the petition and pass it along to many others. Here's the link

    http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/see-that-jennifer-petkus-receives-proper-punishment

    Penny needs our help right now more than ever!!! Please don't let her and little baby Kasey down now!!!

    Thank you!!!
    Elizabeth

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Oct 13, 2009

    Sadly the Richland County authorities are so busy that they again settled a "situation" with Jennifer. There were 98 animals still being held at Dane County Humane Society from the raid in May and this civil case Richland County took against Jennifer was supposed to be heard the third week of this month. During communications with Jennifer's side, and because of a very busy schedule I guess with the judge, it was agreed that Jennifer would relinquish 94 animals instead of the county persuing costs of care against Jennifer. The 4 remaining animals were given to Jennifer's parents, who now LIVE with Jennifer. So even knowing that all the parasites and diseases that were found on her property they once again lets healthy animals go back to this property.

    Since the August inspection there has not been another inspection and it appears that Jennifer will just continue to do what she has done in the past, ignore the law. She had over 30 domestic animals on her property, many the parents said they brought from Illinois, without health certificates, and now she has 4 more to go along with her animals and those that her parent's claim to own...puppies included.

    The RC authorities just do not care about this as these are just animals and the court system look at them as property...not living breathing things that deserve the right to decent care. I do not know what to do to put this back in the spotlight since no one is paying attention and NO ONE is doing inspections...I think it is unfair for those animals that are forced to live there whether they were there originally and now sent back or those the parents claim to have owned...Why did the authorities not force her parents to provide health certificates for bringing the animals across the stateline??? Why do they allow healthy animals to go back there??? Why is it that Jennifer and her parents can harass the staff doing inspections to the point a point of an unsafe feeling and the police stood by and watched it happen???

    It is time to force all of them to use the laws and force the Petkus's to follow those laws...The DA's office can do it but refuses to force the courts hands...When will they all quit turning their heads to this crime...It is the time now...

    Soon, not soon enough for some, the State of Wisconsin will have better laws to force those that have animals to care for them better...But then it will be up to the law enforcement bodies to enforce them...There will still be those that do not force care for these beings that cannot speak for themselves...We will continue until there is change...I have plenty of time and energy most days...I will be in court everyday when the criminal case is finally heard next spring...Even if she is found guilty I am sure she will not get punishment she deserves...It is a sad situation...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Malt Oct 13, 2009

    I'm so sorry for both your losses. People think that because there animals they don't matter as much as humans. Most breeders use the excuse of a healthy dog to get money say way people us God to benefit themselves. Animals are very loving to us and they deserve to be treated the right way, Jennifer thinks that its your fault when its hers...I'm pretty sure she wouldn't like to be treated the same way she treated your pup. I do hope you countine to tell this story so not only Jennifer but all the millions of breeders who aren't doing their job right get what they deserve. I would've personally taken her to court not to get the money back but so that she can learn her lesson. I wish you the best of luck, and know that this story made me cry and it wasn't in vain. Thank you for that

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    vet Sep 22, 2009

    Speaking as a practicing veterinarian, no shelter or rescue should be keeping more animals than they can afford to keep in a sanitary environment. Puppies from many different litters running around in a dirt lot is NOT sanitary! parvo and many parasites are spread in such an environment and there is absolutely no way of cleaning a dirt or grass lot. Concrete can be disinfected but manure, grass and dirt can't. Also from a disease spread standpoint, species should not be mixed. People think they are doing animals a service by giving them "freedom" in a dirt or grass lot but with such a high density population of animals, they would be better off in kennels or pens where all surfaces can be cleaned and feces picked up at least on a once/twice daily basis.
    Yes, it is common for parasites to be passed on form mother to puppies shortly after birth. That is why puppies should be dewormed at 3 weeks and every 3 weeks thereafter until they are out of such an environment (and even in private homes, puppies should be dewormed every 3 weeks until about 16 -18 week old). Coccidia and giardia are not killed by the commen dewormers, however, but the fact that the lady handed you pamphlets on both of them tells me she probably should have treated the puppies before ownership change or the puppies should have at least started the medications before you took the pup home. It isn't stress that causes the diseases, but rather stress causes the diseases to become clinical and the puppy gets sick. The puppy had the parasites all along, it just wasn't showing signs until stress caused its immune system to weaken and fail to keep the parasites in check. And yes, any time a puppy moves to a new environment, even if it goes from terrible conditions to a clean, loving environment experiences a high level of stress. It was not your fault that the puppy was stressed. There was nothing you could have done to eliminate the stress of a new home.
    As to the parvo, the immune response to vaccines takes about 2 weeks, and a puppy is not fully protected until having at least 2 doses, three weeks apart after the age of 12 weeks (and some new evidence is showing that the last vaccine should be at 18 weeks, not 15 weeks for maximum protection). If this puppy received a vaccine a week before it died, it never benefited from any protection from the vaccine. Puppies should get their first vaccine at 6 weeks (followed by boosters every 3 weeks, as mentioned above. Because of interference from maternal antibodies, the vaccines in a 6-12 week puppy are only protective for about 3 weeks, leaving the puppy vulnerable t certain points between vaccines). To be effective, vaccinations need to be done when the puppy has a healthy immune system. A weakened immune system can make a vaccine ineffective or less effective. Stress and other disease processes can weaken the immune system, so even if the puppy was vaccinated and the vaccine had time to work, the puppy had giardia and coccidia and moved to a new home the day after being vaccinated. That's puppy that's at a very high risk of getting parvo if exposed! And being that the puppy was exposed to all sorts of other dogs at the shelter, it was most likely exposed there.
    Even if the owner of this facility has her heart in the right place, she is not being responsible and needs to learn about infectious diseases and parasites and how to prevent their spread. Most likely she has taken in more animals than she can afford to care for and more animals than her space has room for and needs to shut down or decrease numbers and clean things up, as well as routinely deworm the animals and treat them for coccidia and giardia before they become a deadly problem to the animals (although proper hygiene should eliminate the giardia problem).

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    bloodymary_cr26 Sep 21, 2009

    Regardless of who post the first comment, I think that that woman from the "rescue" is just a liar who's out there just trying to get money, so she doesn't care about the animals. She just wants the money and does not even vaccinate them properly, seems like.
    I hope she gets in jail as soon as possible and that everyone knows and or hears about this kind of "business"...this is animal cruelty and also FRAUD!

    Sorry for all the victims and their owners...:(

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sep 20, 2009

    Dr. Allison, I am in tears right now...How can I possibly thank you for taking a minute and forwarding our petition. If you have followed this thread then you know my vet has been questioned by people that do not know him from the beginning. Kasey was not throwing up the first time I took her to the vet. She only started to throw up the night before we got the positive parvo test. I believe in my vet and would never ever take my pets to another. It is more than just having a degree in vetrenary medicine that makes you a good doc. It is how you care about those "furry" children of ours.

    I have gotten beaten up from the start from Jennifer and her friends. I do not doubt that she had a few lucky animals that made it out safely but for ALL of those that did not I will continue to fight and well I have a subborn streak so I don't plan on stopping anytime soon. I have to tell you though each time I get notice that there is a new post here I cringe. I am not sure ever if it will be one on our side or one trying to find a way to bad mouth the victims who only wanted to adopt a pet that NEEDED a home.

    Fortunately for me I have made some wonderful friends out of this and I am sure I will never look at an animal the same way again. Bless you for what you do, I cannot imagine how difficult it must be some days.

    Again I know I am speaking for all the victims THANK YOU!! It means a lot to have a professional such as yourself clear up what we have said all along. If you ever find an attorney that would like to represent a group of victims such as ourselves pass along my information. I would be happy to discuss this with anyone. We never expect to get a cent of the money we lost, it is only about making sure that Jennifer never has anything extra since most of what she has right now is because our pets lost their lives for her.

    Respectfully,
    Penny Evans

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    K Allison Sep 20, 2009

    This is to address Ms Gray's comments. Coccidia affects a LARGE number of immature animals, but it can affect all ages. This is not a "baby germ" this is a protazoal parasite that can affect all life stages. As for the SNAP test and modified live vaccines...according to the manufacturer, the new SNAP tests (out for 3 yrs or so) are not affected by vaccinations, so please get your information straight. Any puppy that presents with diarrhea and/or vomiting should ALWAYS have a parvo test, along with a regular fecal. Even with a puppy that has been vaccinated appropriately, there can be vaccination failure. This is goes 100xs for those puppies vaccinated using vaccines that were not given by vets. I see about 2 cases per week at our specialty/ER clinic that were vaccinated by their owners or breeders.

    I followed a link to the petition from a veterinary website called VIN.com. One of my vet friends helped with rescuing these poor abused animals from this "rescue." She holds both a JD (law degree) and a DVM. She had no "agenda" other than to help out these poor creatures and she says that the conditions were horrific. I have no 'dog in the race' but you better believe that I am sending the petition to all of my FB friends.

    Kate Allison, DVM

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth mcmahon Sep 16, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    PLEASE PLEASE SIGN!!!

    http://www.stoppuppymills.org/

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth mcmahon Sep 16, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    put you lost your (unbeknownst to you) puppymilled puppy, and the raid, and the condtions of the sanctuary!!! leave letter the way it is...

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sep 15, 2009

    Elizabeth you are too funny...I was worried about putting so much in the letter because I didn't want someone to get tired of reading it. I will have to look and see if I can add...Not sure if it will let me now that it is posted.

    I have so much information and documentation that each time I have to send the document to someone it because like a novel. Not sure what to put and what not to put...

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth mcmahon Sep 14, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mention what the petition is aboot!!! Hook folks. Go revise, Penny!!!


    "petition overview | letter
    Help bring justice to Jennifer Petkus!Target:Animal Welfare Community.Sponsored by: The Thyme and Sage Victims.Please sign this petition that I plan to give to Judge Edward Leineweber from Richland County, Wisconsin.

    I am going to beg for the maximum sentence allowable for Jennifer Petkus, from the Thyme and Sage Ranch in Cazenovia, Wisconsin.

    Thank you for taking the time to read and sign our petition."


    Nothing about mills!!! Be specific!!!

    Letter is fantastic!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sep 14, 2009

    Here is a link to the petition if anyone is interested in signing it...

    http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/see-that-jennifer-petkus-receives-proper-punishment

    Many thanks again,
    Kasey's momma

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sep 13, 2009

    Oh okay...I am on facebook and will make sure to get the petitions there...I cannot tell you all how much this means to me...I want to do EVERYTHING I can to get the officials in Richland County to do something about this woman.

    The support my friends and those like yourself keep me going when the personal bashing gets intense. I try not to take it personal especially after 15 months but you know had Kasey been vaccinated as she should have and vetted appropriately she might be sitting next to me tonight watching the VMAs. Of course my new puppy is close but he is not a huge lap dog, yet. LOL

    Again my thanks you all keep me going.

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth mcmahon Sep 13, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Penny, what is geat abopt the petitions is people can post a link to them on their Facebook, Mypsace etal. pages!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sep 13, 2009

    Thank you all. I did get my report sent to ripoffs.com and am now working on the petition. I will post when I get them up so if you like to sign it, it would be appreciated.

    Penny

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth mcmahon Sep 13, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Also, petitions can be create at http://www.change.org/start_a_petition

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sep 13, 2009

    BTW Tech thanks so much...you are right that smell is one I will never forget.

    I forgot to include in my prior post that because Jennifer had told me that she vaccinated Kasey the day before we picked her up. Of course the time frame changed as did the producer of the vaccine she used when I called her about Kasey getting ill. It is hard to keep your stories straight when you are lying. I had called my vet and scheduled Kasey's appointments for regular vaccinations before she became so ill. My vet had never vaccinated Kasey he did not have a chance. And yet she had a VERY strong positive Parvo test result. As far as her being hospitalized, it was necessary and any honest vet will tell you as much. I have the utmost respect and appreciation for my vet. He has been our vet for many years and has only done procedures, one dog died from cancer when she was 15 years old, after finding out it was necessary. He is honest and caring, something I do NOT see in Jennifer.

    As I have said before, I sleep well at night knowing we did everything we could...Who is out on bond awaiting trial?

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sep 13, 2009

    Mrs. Gray maybe you need to read the sheriff's departments reports. I slept side by side with my puppy once she came home. She was not dehydrated since we were able to get IV's in her little paws. And even when in the crate, the crate was next to the bed before she got sick so that we would know if she needed something. Jennifer will have those people that are supporters. I have said it before I am sure that for every puppy that died she will find one that didn't. What I find a crime is all of those that did not make it out of her disgusting facility. How can you possible defend her? Did you not read the criminal complaint? In that complaint everything that I, and all the other victims, have been talking about for over year is well written and proven.

    Jennifer said I didn't know how to handle small animals...have you not read that all I have ever had have been small animals. Long before I even had my 12 year old puppy I had a cockapoo. Jennifer did not quarantine any animal once she was notified that our puppies died. A legitimate "rescue" knows how to handle those parasites and viruses. Jennifer continued her BUSINESS as she had before I brought Kasey home.

    You know you might bash me because I am vocal, and that is my only fault here, but there were two more puppies, of different breeds, that were adopted from Jennifer the very same day that my Kasey was and those puppies too died within a day of my Kasey. How do you explain this and why did she NOT shut down her "rescue" when each of us contacted her? Again a RESPONSIBLE rescue would NOT have continued adopting out animals without taking the time to treat ALL animals on her property.

    I know that both the parasite and the disease that killed my puppy were found on her property during the raid. While you might get your information from Jennifer, or be Jennifer for all that matters, I have legitimate sources and know the truth as does everyone that sees how she was only doing this for money and not to help animals find forever homes. Why are the animals still held at Dane County Humane Society if she is only in rescue for the animals and not the money? They are getting older and homes will be harder to find. Why is it necessary for the Richland County DA's office to take a civil suit out against Jennifer to get those animals released? It is more than any one person should ever have on their property as personal pets. These animals have some value to her or she would happily let them go to forever homes.

    You know Jennifer suddenly emailed me and said I could pick Kasey a week earlier than scheduled and admitted that SHE had withheld food and water from her for the entire day, it makes sense now because she wanted the remaining money due and did not want to refund my deposit. She knew my puppy was sick and knew that she would die before I could pick her up the following weekend. There are so many things that have come very clear since this all happened and I know the truth whether Jennifer is able to spin her web of lies or not.

    As I have told Jennifer and any other defender of hers, bring the lawsuit. Liable and slander, threats made by Jennifer, have to BE lies and well Jennifer and I and every other victim of hers, know the truth, she is the evil one...Not me.

    Jennifer you can post under any name you like but you will see me in court and I will see that you are punished by the system for the crimes you committed. Justice might be slow coming but it does happen. I also believe in an after life and well I think yours might be a bit warm.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    tech Sep 13, 2009

    "All Rescues and Breeders know that Coccidia is a baby germ and does not affect adult dogs, "

    That is false. One of my good friends just lost her adult dog from it when she brought a puppy who was infected into her house. This was not an old or frail dog. She'd been very healthy until then. It's not common but it CAN kill an adult dog. She showed only two days of symptoms and when the real problem was discovered, the dog died. Two days of the pills would not have likely saved this dog. It is the vet's duty to advise her to protect her other dogs.

    Modified Live virus is pretty much the only Parvo vx given these days. It affects the snap test if it's given very close to the time the vax was given and at that, it'll only show a weak positive. It's also very appropriate to test a newly purchased puppy for parvo if it's having diarrhea. There's also a certain smell to the stool that you never forget. I've cared for many parvo pups--on the overnight shift at a vet hospital.

    Truly, puppies shouldn't leave a rescue unhealthy. My friends who rescue have them fully vetted before they leave. Illness should have been caught and treated sooner.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. Gray Sep 13, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This woman keep the puppy in a Crate at night, a young puppy .. with no food no water .. she let the puppy get low blood sugar and it was attacked by the same Giardia and Coccidia that it should have been treated for right away when it went home and at a first Vet visit, The puppy was given a Vaccine with Modified LIVE PARVO VIRUS in it!! What Part of LIVE Virus do you not understand ?? It show's up on Parvo Snap Tests as having parvo .. For a 2nd Time She failed to monitor the puppy another night and she let it fade back into a Low Blood sugar state .. and she is complaining this is some how a RESCUE's Fault that forwarned her about common germs and to keep her puppy safe ?? The owner killed this puppy. As for her medicating her other dogs, that was just her Vet lining there pockets ( as is Parvo tests and overnight where the puppy will not be watched and left alone in a dark cold box ) .. All Rescues and Breeders know that Coccidia is a baby germ and does not affect adult dogs, and unless her dogs where getting Diarrhea there was no reason to medicate on a whim .. sounds like an Alarmist Vet, that wants to point the finger instead of taking some blame.
    You people are Crazy for slamming this lady, and forcing some one out of rescuing after doing so much good is just EVIL .. your all Evil .

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sep 13, 2009

    Thanks tech...I will do that...

    Penny

    0 Votes
  • Te
    tech Sep 13, 2009

    Also post to /link removed/

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sep 12, 2009

    Wow I didn't know all of this...I will look at it all tomorrow and get on it...

    Thanks so very much Elizabeth. Most of the posts on the blogs I post on are supportive and really helps keep me fighting...Some days it feels like there will never be change...But I know it can be done.

    Big hugs,
    Penny

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth mcmahon Sep 12, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sorry; it's Cheyenne Cherry

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth mcmahon Sep 12, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Penny,

    You must create a petition at http://www.thepetitionsite.com/; you will get lots of signatures; then deliver it t the judge. (See http://tinyurl.com/qar57h) Ths is what we did wth the case of the 17 year old in the Bronx who put a 2 month old kitten in an oven; and it has made a huge impact n the case!!! Also, start a Facebook cause; you wll be amazed how much static and awareness you wll generate. (See http://tinyurl.com/p3uqv4 and http://tinyurl.com/o7jfca)
    You can model it on the case aganst Cheyenne Chey (the kitten killer). Also, call/write the DA and judge yourself and ask others to do the same!!!

    Elizabeth

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sep 12, 2009

    LJ, there are very little the authorities can do with the laws as they are written for the State of Wisconsin. There is legislation in Madison right now to help prevent this from happening again. Interestingly enough, Illinois does not have laws to prevent this either. I live on the stateline and am working with the animal rights groups to get those laws firmed up so that these type of activities do not happen again. Unfortunately because these laws will be specific there are good breeders that do not want to be told how many animals they can sell a year so even the good people will be fighting to not have rules that are much more strict. It is so hard to make everyone happy and still protect these poor things. Sadly the farm type animals are protected by the DNR but our furry children have no one but ourselves and of course some will argue that animals are property not family.

    Also keep in mind that the law enforcement agencies must investigate these complaints when they are called in and arrest when they see violations. Many will say they did not feel there was a problem as I was told or that my complaint is a civil matter. How many of these types of calls must one agency get before they see that there is a problem and it is not a civil problem but a crime. While I believe the raid opened somes eyes to the situation at Jennifers property, she is still breaking rules today. She had 10 "personal pets" released to her after she signed off on 200 plus animals of the almost 400 confiscated in May. So if you look at the numbers here you will see that there are some that are still being held at the Dane County Humane Society that Jennifer will not release to be adopted to forever homes. I must wonder why are there some that she will not release if she was in the "rescue" field. I believe these animals are considered income to her and therefore she will not release them but plans to get them back and sell them off.

    You know the numbers were staggering when those sick/dying animals were taken to the DCHS. Within 10 days it was over a half a million dollars to vet and take care of these animals. I cannot believe that the county cannot sue Jennifer to get that money back. I think if the county sought to get restitution for this case Jennifer would think twice about letting the remaining animals go. I was told that it is like "impounding a car". I immediately said it was not because animals live and breath. While these poor animals sit at the shelter they get older and of course harder to adopt out. While I am hoping that the county is already looking at forever homes for these unfortunate ones, it is sad that some may never find the homes that yours and mine did.

    Jennifer is scheduled for a civil hearing in October to try to get those animals still held released but the criminal trial is not until the spring of 2010. Meanwhile she continues to violate conditions of her bond and no one will do anything. The deputies think this case is frivolous wishing the money had been "dumped" into drugs instead of 3 days investigating this case. I was told that by a sergeant in Richland County. Jennifer again has more than 10 domestic animals on her property, many needing medical attention, and does not cooperate while the authorities are on her property to do the inspections. The last criminal complaint, heard in court on August 24, I read stated she had more than 30 domestic animals again and that many had physically gotten worse from the inspection in June to the one on the 1oth of August.

    Because of the violations above she was arrested for bail jumping and when the judge seen her he said he was "too busy" to deal with it at that time. The DA has a book containing 72 complaints like mine about our dogs being extremely sick or dying, many reported as soon as our animals became sick (mine was in June 2008), and yet will not prosecute Jennifer on any of our complaints either. When I have asked what will happen with those complaints no one can answer. The county board officials have known for well over a year that there were problems there and even though they have the former sheriff on the committee they still awarded the animal control officer job to Jennifer in January of this year. I should tell you that these elected officials were sent information by myself in December of 2008 that many of the animals had mange and that there was a stack of dead animals behind one of the buildings. Both were proven in May of 2009, 6 months later, yet they still gave Jennifer the contract because she was the cheapest.

    The biggest crime I see is that NO ONE in the county, that has any authority, wants to do anything with this case. I spoke to everyone, but the judge, that I have mentioned above during the week of June 8, 2008 . Each has told me that is is basically a civil issue and that there is not much that can be done. I am begging everyone that reads these complaints to contact the Wisconsin attorney generals office to complain about the way that the county has handled these complaints or not handled them in my opinion. I was told until the case has been heard there is nothing that can be done. But I think if the AG's office could get it moved to the state court if enough phone calls were made or the right people shined a spotlight on this issue.

    I will continue to fight for both Kasey and more specific laws to help animals like my Kasey. There are many days that I wake up and wonder why I continue to fight 15 months after I lost my little baby and of course when I hear that Jennifer again has a bunch of puppies on her property I have to wonder if another family will be devastated like mine was.

    LJ, I wish I had done my homework before I got Kasey. As I have said we saved that name for 3 years only to use it and have her die so suddenly. I would never use the name again now and yes we have adopted another small dog. Skooter turned one in March and is a happy, healthy (sometimes naughty) adorable yorkie. While Jennifer told me that I did not know how to handle little animals (something she told many victims like myself) Skooter has a big (little) sister. Shelby is now 12 years old and although a little annoyed at times loves her little brother. Shelby is a shih tzu/maltese mix. Sadly Jennifer did not know what she was talking about when she said it was my fault Kasey died. I never had a chance to help Kasey. By the time the symptoms were obvious the parasites and the Parvo had damaged her internal organs and she died of a heart attack. She was not dehydrated as we were able to get an IV in her little paw (Kasey was less than 1 1/2 pounds when she died). I did the best I could and my vet was truly surprised that she died because as he said whenever he can get an IV in the pet they normally survive. She was just too sick.

    You are right that our furry children add so much to our lives. The reason we looked at all was because we had lost a family pet after living with us for 15 years. That dog was one I got when my youngest was just an infant and of course crushed our family when she died from cancer in February 2008. When we lost Kasey my son said he did not possibly know how he would handle it if we lost another dog and was not too excited about me looking for puppy after Kasey. Fortunately for me I was able to adopt Skooter after his adopted owner, a private party, could not devote the time necessary to him. I was able to speak with Skooters vet and make sure he was healthy before bringing him home. He is now a HUGE part of our family and I cannot imagine my life without him. While I would have been more than happy with our Kasey had she lived I think I would have missed my Skooter without even knowing it. He is definately one of the most personable dogs I have ever owned.

    LJ if you ever decide to look there are many wonder rescues out there. I have met so many awesome people in animal rescue since starting this fight. While you can never replace a furry family member, I think that my life would never be the same without those I have brought into my home. Good luck and bless you.

    Big hugs,
    Penny

    0 Votes
  • Lj
    l.j.canata Sep 12, 2009

    !! WOW !!...i couldnt read through all these messages...i am sick that i almost went to this place one spring while morel hunting in the area...i had always wanted to get another dog..a companion for my dog samson 1/2 black lab 1/2 golden retriever...if i HAD checked this place out im sure i would have brought a dog home for us...& i could have exposed my guy to all this b.s.

    ...i cant understand how this woman has animals AGAIN..are you kidding me!?!..doesnt wisconsin have any laws about abusing animals?...some states have felony laws...& wont allow you to have pets after an abuse conviction...& she is out free w/ more animals now?...or is she "in the process"...awaiting trial etc...isnt there a governing agency meant to inspect places like this?..i know its a rescue but NO supervision at all?...really?

    ..mostly i want to know if penny & her family got another dog...i hope so...its surprising how many beautiful things came into my life for inviting samson to share our home..i have had him since he was really young...probably too young @ 4 weeks...i never did get him a friend...he is too old now @ 15 & 1/2 and quite possibly in his final months...i cant imagine getting another dog after he passes : (

    lj in chicago

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sep 11, 2009

    Thank you 4doggymommy. I think there are many people that now have egg on their faces. While I do not have a lot of faith that everything that can be done is being done at least the sick animals that were there are getting help. Jennifer was arrested for violating the conditions of her bail for the initial raid in May just two weeks ago and she barely recieved a slap on the wrist. No one is taking this seriously. Jennifer once again has more domestic animals on her property and of course there are some that have still not recieved the medical attention they need. It has to make me wonder what will happen when this case comes to trial. What web of lies can she spin then?

    I told Jennifer from the moment I found out how sick my little Kasey was that I would not stop until she was stopped from her criminal behavior. While the gears of the criminal justice system grind slowly it is so obvious that you are "innocent until proven guilty" because no one looks at the amount of loss whether it be life or money as a big deal. I have been told that it is like impounding a "car". I was quick to mention that cars do not live and breath. That cars do not have feelings and well do not need doctors but still I am told week after week, month after month, year after year, that there is only so much they can do.

    To date nothing has been done with the 72 complaints taken by the sheriff's department and since sent to the DA's office. These are people like myself that either lost a family pet and/or spent a ton of money to get their pet well if they were able to be saved. I just don't understand that? If you have 72 complaints, many that were probably reported long before the raid like myself, why not find some that could be prosecuted? Instead all I hear is that we have to let the case play out in court. The attorney generals office has been contacted but the special investigator was told to let the Richland County authorities do their jobs. You know they have been getting information for well over two years and yet still no one will do anything. The judge goes on record at the bail hearing as saying he is too "busy" to deal with her bail jumping case. Really? I have to wonder how the judge would feel if he had adopted a puppy from her and it was sick or his family was devastated when the dog died. Would he find time to do his job then?

    We all get overwhelmed in our day to day lives but this county has done nothing but express their discontent with having to deal with this case from the start. The DA's office told me from the first week that they wished "everyone would get this involved with issues with children as they do with dogs". The sheriff's department said that it was civil and even the sergeant that was at the inspection done in August said that he wished that the county would "dump" all those funds into drugs that were spent there for the 3 days back in May this of course was after he very rudely laughed as I read him the inspection report.

    The county board members said they recieved a "couple" of complaints and that I was only upset because my puppy died. Gee and the email in December of 2008 that advised about the mange and dead animals behind the buildings was totally incorrect?

    See 4doggymommy I don't think it is only a couple people involved with Jennifer who refuse to see the truth...It is the county as a whole!!!

    0 Votes
  • 4d
    4DoggyMommy Sep 11, 2009

    Uh...Sandy Neilson and Amy Ankerson...how does the egg on your faces taste? You can erect your shrine to "Saint" Jennifer Petkus. Unfortunately, you'll have to worship from afar because she's in a little hot water for proven, documented ANIMAL ABUSE.

    Libel? Laughable! I think the ASPCA, the Humane Society of the United States, the Dane County Humane Society...oh, and the Richland County DA's office all have a LITTLE more information than either of you. Sorry the facts are confusing you.

    I'm on the cusp of adopting a rescued survivor of this nightmare. I know more than the average bear and the horrors and secrets of T & S are only beginning to come out. Addressing both of you...the intellectual superpowers that you are...is a step below me. You both insult my intelligence. But you've both made glaring fools of yourselves here. I'm just enjoying this...as much as one can enjoy anything related to the absolute nightmare perpetuated by Jennifer Petkus.

    Oh...and a sidenote. I have my own experience with "Saint" Jennifer. In July 2008, I was interested in adopting 2 dogs I found on Petfinder from T & S. They were not puppies that would command big dollars. They were older dogs. I left 3 voice mails for dear Jennifer. She never returned one call. I sent 2 emails. She never responded. I told her how I wanted to commit to volunteering at her wonderful sanctuary. I wanted to drive up to walk dogs...feed dogs...socialize dogs. I was very excited to get involved and help. How did "Saint" Jennifer respond? SHE DIDN'T. This was no rescue!!! I've dealt with many rescues. I've never been treated like this. She didn't want anyone near her operation to get involved and see what she was doing. Profiting off the pain and suffering of these voiceless victims.

    Shame on Amy Ankerson. Shame on Sandy Neilson. Shame on Jennifer Petkus!

    1 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth mcmahon Jul 02, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Penny!!! I for one want to know how you have been doing? Are things getting more orderly and streamlined in the case against Petkus? Please keep us updated; we really care about you and the case against this felonious woman.

    I thought it might brighten your day if I told you that, thanks to you and what you have had to endure, I have become a Best Friends volunteer, and am working on their "Puppies Aren't Products" campaign. Every Saturday a group, divided into two shifts, peacefully demonstrates in front of American Kennels on Lexington Avenue in Manhattan. This place is a chi-chi upscale status-tortured pet store that has been investigated by an certified as a retailer of puppy-milled puppies, by both Best Friends an HSUS (possibly ASPCA too). They of course resent the crap out of us. They have produced their own counter literature, accusing Best Friends as being founded by Satanists who worship God, and were anti-semites. Really strange and crazy nasty stuff. But regardless, thank you again for your incredible courage and perserverance. You have touched many people. Elizabeth

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sammie Jun 08, 2009

    The reputable purebred dog community has ways of dealing with violators, no worries ...>>>>>>>>>

    Again.. hogwash. The "reputable purebred" community has NEVER had ways of dealing with violators. .they never WILL . If they HAD, about 95% would not be going on. Even the AKC gives a "wink wink" at puppy mills.. I believe their term is "volume breeder".

    Penny? Keep up the pounding. When people get together and make themselves heard, things will change. Keep shining a nice bright light right ON them. Don't get discouraged... ..

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Jun 06, 2009

    Thank you Elizabeth. Angie if you are worried about talking to anyone you can always email me through this site. I have a list of contacts and will do anything I can to help out. I am hoping to attend as many court hearings as often as I can. I want to follow this through the end.

    Tech, I guess what I found offensive was that the post Amy left said we were being "hard on Jennifer". I have taken a beating on this site all along and all I really wanted was help getting Jennifer to be accountable to all of her victims, those on two feet and those on four. The media well their hands were tied too. I have been dealing with all of these individuals for a year, including the media. If you want to get something done you first need to have someone believe you AND care. No one in Richland County cared until they were outed. Now it is CYA. They need to do something now that it is so obvious that they all buried their heads in the sand.

    I do believe that animals should be s/n. I don't like it done early since my vet does not recommend it but in some cases it can save their lives. I know that since I have dealt with that as well.

    Tech I know you and I will disagree about the law as it is written. I don't think it will ever be written exactaly as it should be. I know that law enforcement will ALWAYS find a gray area. Since I spent a years doing the job and years getting my education, I know that even the tightest change will give officers a way out. For instance the domestic violences laws have changed over the years very dramatically. Some say the way the law is written "forces" officers into arrest. That is not true. Some believe officers can say only one person, the one who causes the greatest bodily harm, is the only one to be arrested. That too is not true. We are taught the letter of the law in police academy classes and while taking individual courses for our degrees, but yet we still do what is best for each individual circumstance. I am sure your husband would agree with me there. Reading the state statute for animals does not protect animals at all. The law does need work and if it even allowed some rights to law enforcement bodies to protect victims like myself and those that have responded to this post initially, then it has done it's job. No law is perfect or fool proof but this is one that needs updating and work.

    I do believe that if you have a good police officer with strong supervisors behind them, there is hope. I would never tell someone to give up on the police. There is still a chain of command or reporting in every case and we must follow it to show that we have done what is expected of us as well. Enough phone calls and reporting will get someone's attention eventually. In my case, I never gave up reporting to everyone. I have emails and letters to prove that. In the end I do feel that this will be handled but it took every ounce of strength I had. And I am not done. I will continue to do what is necessary to get change no matter how many "nos" or "it is civil" that I get.

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabeth mcmahon Jun 05, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wanted to post this information for Angie, to encourage her to report your experience with the Thyme and Sage Sanctuary.Your veterinary records will be put to good use. I am so sorry to hear about what you and your puppy had to go through. That should not be the typical experience of bringing home a highly anticipated puppy. It is imperative that you and anyone else who has adopted an animal from Ms. Petkus, that subsequently became sick shortly thereafter, and/or died from their illness, alert the appropriate authorities so that it can be documented and added into the record. Charges against Ms. Petkus are fluid, and have already been upgraded since the original raid. She may actually be looking at felony charges, a rarity in animal cruelty cases, if not a precedent.

    To register a complaint: If you have adopted / bought a sick or injured animal from Thyme & Sage Ranch and wish to register a complaint, please contact the Richland County Sheriff's Department, 181 West Seminary Street, Richland Center, WI 53581

    0 Votes
  • Te
    tech Jun 05, 2009

    I don't get the idea Amy's blaming you for anything here, but rather the people who threw away their pets. She's right, people are too quick to throw away their animals and anyone who has dealt with real rescue has heard some really crazy reasons--no kidding, my friend got a "The dog no longer matches the couch." In my mind they're about as bad as the people who abuse animals but that's a whole other topic.

    I don't believe Jennifer is getting what she deserves, I think there's probably no punishment cruel enough to cover what she's done to these animals. If we had limitless space and resources I would say sure, lock her up and throw away the key and let her be treated as she treated, or rather neglected, these animals.

    "So a law is done awaywith because it's not enforced? Hogwash. And as far as fines being detrimental to the purebred dog community? Maybe they need to change thet way they do business. Any breeder who has "quite a few litters to get cream of the crop dogs" and says they're not a burden on rescue is only fooling themselves. A s/n contract is NOT a spayed/neutered dog. Anyone intentionally releasing unaltered animals IS a burden on the rescue community."

    Sammie, there are laws in place and they are not enforced. Prior to making new laws we should try enforcing what we have otherwise anything new that comes on the books will be just as useless as what is already there. It will get us nowhere. You clearly have no idea about what goes into being a reputable breeder. It's expensive. The backyard breeders and puppy mills have no such financial burden since they don't bother to feed their dogs the best food, do necessary health clearances, prove the dogs in some way (working, showing, whatever), and they don't spend lots of time and money finding the right dog to breed to. And no, my friend wasn't a burden on rescue because if she even took in the dogs who weren't her breeding but went back to her dogs a generation or two back. Others do this too. Rescue actually recommends her if someone comes to them and is bent on getting a puppy and they don't have any. If you buy a dog on a contract and breed it anyway you'll be blackballed from ever getting another. Pediatric spay and neuter is a pretty poor policy as it increases the likelihood of some pretty nasty health problems down the line from the hormonal to the skeletal--that's cruel to the pet and really crappy for the owner who has to both watch this and pay for the vet care. We are seeing an increase in euthanasia already from people not being able to afford to treat their sick animals--so you want to make it worse by making it mandatory???? Talk to those of us who are bagging the bodies and trying to console the heartbroken people who can't afford to fix what's wrong. It really sucks. The reputable purebred dog community has ways of dealing with violators, no worries. It's also incredibly ignorant to assume that any unaltered animal is even going to be bred. I have 3 unaltered adult males who do not escape, have never been bred nor will they, and they're good canine citizens. Exactly WHAT burden are they on a rescue? None at all. There are health reasons that support keeping male dogs intact that trump the ones supporting neuter. A law that places further financial burden on good breeders will either run them out totally OR only the absolute elite will be able to afford them. Devoted good homes who wish to have dogs who are more than companions should be able to get a dog who suits their needs. Nobody has the right to say otherwise.

    Screw calling the police, call the local media. You wanna see something get done in a hurry, get the media involved because the more they poke around, the more law enforcement is going to step up. The whole Michael Vick bust wouldn't have happened if not for major media coverage. The local authorities weren't going to do much about it.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Jun 05, 2009

    Sammie and Elizabeth thank you so very much. Amy have you read this from the beginning until the most current post? What excuse does anyone use for beating up the victims like myself? I mean a couple of months ago not only were my good deeds questioned but even my mental capacity? Did I do something wrong? We are responsible parents and went there to adopt puppies that had been "rescued"? Not sick animals that were purchased at auction or mill, but a furry someone who truly needed a home only to have our hearts ripped out of our chests within a week or less when they die after we have spent hundreds or thousands of dollars.

    I cannot believe that ANYONE that read the criminal complaint could even remotely try to justify anything that Jennifer has done in the name of a "rescue". In truth many of the animals that were "cared" for (I use that word very loosly) by Jennifer were in far worse condition than I am sure an abused dog would be in a bad home. The criminal complaint talks about lack of appropriate shelter, about dogs being severly malnourished, frozen water in bowls, living animals with maggots in their ears, broken limbs with bones protruding from the flesh with infected wounds, skin infections and so much more. You say that is someone trying to "help" an animal?

    I believe that anyone that has EVER been affected at all by Jennifer no matter how closely has EVERY right to comment, argue, and fight for the right of the animals to NEVER again be in her care. I mean I cannot believe that anyone that loves an animal just throws the deceased animals in a pile or lets them decompose in a small crate along with other rotting animals.

    I felt there was nothing Jennifer could do worse than sell me a sick puppy until I read the complaint. I could do nothing but cry as I sat here and read the document. Jennifer is getting what she deserves. This has been hard on all of Jennifer's victims but what she has done to all those animals is criminal. I for one am very glad that she has been outed finally. I personally hope that they will be able to find something that is a felony to charge her with. She deserves to be imprisoned as she imprisoned those animals. She unfortunately will be given fair treatment if she should ever be incarcerated but you know everyone has to answer to a higher power at some time. She will not know until her final breath where exactly she will spend eternity!

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.