The Auto Saver SystemElectronic Rust Proofing

S Review updated:

I purchased electronic rustproofing when I purchased my 02 Ranger and it worked rather well over the years but mother nature finally got the best of its rocker panels as they gave way to rust. Now the corrosion protection stated that it warrants on new vehicles for as long as you own the vehicle that should this vehicle be damaged by rust perforation, the company will pay for the repair of the damaged portion of the vehicle. Well, this never happened. I did everything they wanted and to this day have not seen a dime go towards the repairs. I would be so bold as to call them welchers or at the very least, liars. They could have at least refunded the cost of the rustproofing product, which was around $500.

Responses

  • Ma
    Marilynn Doug Viele Mar 22, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I called auto saver claim number [protected] told him my problem along the edge of my hood of my 2014 mustang about a inch high bubbling up under the paint above the headlights both sides he wanted me to send 3 or 4 pictures & a copy of the paper work on the auto saver from the dealer for proof of the corrosion protection plan and on the copy put the CLAIM NUMBER that he gives you over the phone place on the copy (the car was used but one year old so that made the plan good for 4 years later he said I would received a call from the adjuster & he wanted pictures & told me to go to a certain paint shop (Gregs auto body shop) in the area & get estimate on the hood and have sent to adjuster set back about a month later you could received a call from the body shop stating bring the car in I've received the check and I'll fix the car (I took it in 3-20-17 just received it today did a nice job 3-22-17
    Thank you Doug Horseheads ny

    0 Votes
  • Jg
    jgcm29 Aug 10, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Complete rip off. Not only did auto saver not do anything to slow corrosion, they would not stand behind it. Was initially told, after paint bubbles appeared, to not file a claim until there was an actual hole. When there was a hole they said I waited too long. That the corrosion was there too long. ??? I had sent pictures and purchase info as requested. Reminds me of medical insurance. Make it so hard to collect that you lose interest. I will never purchase again and will suggest to everyone else to not purchase as well. If fact if product is pre installed I would ask for its removal. Bath, NY

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sara Courson Oct 11, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This product does not perform as advertised, and The Auto Saver System does not honor it's warranty.

    Company's 9/26/18 response to my claim, submitted September 17, 2018:

    Thank you for submitting your claim with The Auto Savers System. The rust damage on your vehicle appears to be to the inner bottom door seams. As stated in the warranty agreement under exclusions, areas not visible with all compartments closed are excluded from warranty coverage. Further, you must notify the company in writing at the first sign of damage or within 60 days of such damage. We strongly recommend that you address these exposed areas, which we have now documented in your file, with a local repair to prevent it from potentially perforating. Due to the warranty terms set forth we are unable to move forward with this claim.

    Thank you in advance,

    Warren J. Camp

    Claim Administrator

    My response on 9/27/18:

    Mr. Camp,

    Thank you for your reply.

    Why was the claim for the rust damage on the exterior front driver's door (picture attached) not considered. Further, I notified The Auto Saver System company via an on-line claim on September 17, 2018, after the first sign of damage was brought to my attention on Saturday, September 15, 2018. My claim was submitted well within 60 days of the first sign of damage.

    Please advise.

    Company's response on 10/3/18:

    My apologies for the delayed response. The damage to the driver door exterior is in a highly visible location. As documented in the photo, it is a large spot that was determined to have been present and visible for a period far beyond the days set forth for reporting damage to the company.

    My final response on 10/4/18:

    Mr. Camp,

    Thank you for your reply.
    Per your response below, what exact size is considered to be "large"? I have attached a picture, taken today, 10.4.18, that demonstrates that the "large spot" is less than half the size of a penny. Further, I would like clarification on your response that the "large spot that was determined to have been present and visible for a period far beyond the days set forth for reporting damage to the company". How is the "period far beyond" determined? Is there information that you can provide to me on the rate of time for corrosion levels? I notified The Auto Saver System company via an on-line claim on September 17, 2018, after the first sign of damage was brought to my attention on Saturday, September 15, 2018. My claim was submitted well within 60 days of the first sign of damage. Your comment, "determined to have been present and visible for a period far beyond the days set forth for reporting damage to the company" is not only incredible, but also insulting as it seems to insinuate that I am being deceptive about the date that I observed the first sign of damage.

    If my claim is again rejected, provide me with the contact information for the person within your organization to whom I may submit a formal complaint. Please be advised that I will also follow up with the Better Business Bureau as well as the dealership where I purchased the AutoSaverSystem.

    As of October 11, 2018, I have received no further responses from the company.

    0 Votes
  • Vg
    VGoldman Mar 02, 2019

    The AutoSaver System was installed on my preowned Nissan Frontier by the dealership (Simmons-Rockwell) at time of purchase. I noticed a small area of rust color discoloration on the truck bed. The bed has a sprayed bed liner, rather than a plastic cover to accommodate the rail system. In other words, the sprayed bed liner was done at the Nissan factory. There are no dents, or scratches in the area of rust that might have been the cause of rust taking hold. It appears that the rust began from underneath the truck bed. The warranty specifically excludes truck beds and tailgates, so of course my claim was easily denied. Apparently, installing the AutoSaver on a truck will provide very limited warranty protection. The fact is the AutoSaver did not prevent rust, and the "Lifetime Warranty" did nothing to correct the problem. I do not know why a dealership would sell such a product, but I know I will never buy another.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.