The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Tax ServicesRon V. Strawn

I was sent there on recommendation of a friend last year. I had Ron V. Strawn myself along with my wife review our tax paper work for our current year taxes and past taxes. My wife was a victim of identity fraud and some had someone file taxes under her name and had received tax refunds for past years. I myself just want to have current year tax work done. Mr. Strawn asked that we return and bring my wife's IRS State and Federal paper work in and last 3 years of tax returns to see what he could do to help stop them from taking her tax refunds and to see if i could recover missing money on previous returns. I had Summit Research of CA, LLC due my 2008 tax work for me and wife, also did amendments on my last 2 years state and federal returns. Now this year being 2010 I received paper work from state and federal stating that the tax work done by Summit Research of CA, LLC was all fraudulently done using a company called Blackbriar investments, LLC, Tahoe North Investments, LLC, and Sierra Pacific, LLC, at one point Mr. Strawn's staff manager ( Danielle Parker ) held my tax documentation and return hostage and wanted me pay exponentially more ($3, 000) more than what we discussed before he would release my tax documentation and file my return. When i asked to speak with Mr. Strawn he was unreachable and I was told by his associates that he was out of town in Seattle, WA or on sick leave. I work at a large company and before all this happen had recommend Summit Research of CA, LLC for tax work so i know for a fact at least 20 + people have had tax work done at my work place. I had received phone calls from these people stating that they are all being audited, the company is attempting to release itself of any liabilities and has changed its name, now called Columbia Financial and Tax Services, Inc. and South Coast Financial and Tax Services, Inc. Also many employees have been replaced, But Ron Strawn still remains. Now that I am being audited, the new company does not want to honor its obligations, instead wants to offer their services for $650.00 - $4, 000 for audit assistance on this matter per case after reviewing it. I have decided to fight back in this matter as someone who knows nothing of taxes or tax work nor how to perpar it.

Responses

  • J1
    j19 djdjdheje Jun 23, 2014

    Update: Costa Mesa resident Ronald Vernon Strawn, who was sentenced Monday to 30 months in prison to be followed by a year of supervised release and ordered to pay nearly $2 million in restitution.

    He was busted in Arizona in April 2012 and has remained in federal custody ever since.

    After the U.S. Attorney's office laid out its case against Strawn, he pleaded guilty in July 2013 to three counts of aiding and assisting in the preparation of fraudulent tax returns.

    United States District Court Judge Cormac J. Carney in Santa Ana imposed the sentence Monday morning, which included the $1, 992, 244 restitution order.

    - Juror19 (ron strawn victm)

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    ProsecuteRonNow Aug 13, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    UPDATE: Ron Strawn was arrested in April 2012 on a federal grand jury indictment. On July 19, 2013 he plead GUILTY to multiple criminal felony counts of "AIDING AND ASSISTING IN THE PREPARATION OF FALSE TAX RETURNS; CAUSING AN ACT TO BE DONE" in the Central District Court of California. Sentencing is set for 12/9/2013 11:00 AM before Judge Cormac J. Carney. The head US attorney prosecuting the case is:
    Daniel H Ahn
    AUSA - Office of the US Attorney
    Santa Ana Division
    411 West 4th Street Suite 8000
    Santa Ana, CA 92701
    [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    Email: [email protected]
    CONTACT HIM if you want him to let him know Ron NEEDS to be put away for a LONG time.

    1 Votes
  • Tw
    tww1977 Jan 24, 2012

    I found this posting searching instanttax service problems on google news. I'm in Houston, Texas and I'm experiencing the same problems. I also went to instant tax service here and now that I look back, wasn't informed that I may not get the rapid refund they claim. I was under the impression that if I filed my taxes with them, I would get the rapid refund by the 20th. Lo and Behold I did not. I was also told that the IRS stopped receiving tax returns on the 18th. I was at this place and filed with them around January 5th. Now, they tell me since I didn't get the rapid refund, I will get a check on Jan. 27th. However, I get conflicting information. The instant tax service call center sometimes tells me my return was accepted by the IRS on the 18th. Sometimes, they tell me it was accepted on the 19th. Sometimes I call them and they say it wasn't filed at all. I called the IRS and they told me even today, January 24th, 2012 that they show no evidence that my return has even been received by them. I then call the instanttax service branch I filed my taxes at and tell them this information as now I am questioning if they even submitted my return. They keep assuring me I will have my money January 27th. How is it that instanttax has more information than the IRS? Is there some magical dedicated line between the IRS and instanttax that gives them this info even when IRS can't? I have had a similar problem with instanttax service before 2 years ago, I guess I didn't learn my lesson then. I definately will NOT ever use them as they misrepresent themselves and their services. I am about to get my vehicle towed for non payment and my lights cut off and if I were to have filed my taxes myself, I could have done direct deposit and know I will have them back Jan. 25th. I thought I would have my money back rapidly and now it may be much much later and I still have to pay all those fees. Thanks for nothing instant tax!!

    0 Votes
  • Nw
    N.W. Feb 03, 2011

    I am in the same situation. Being audited for the last three years. Has anyone had any success with their outcome and how have you gotten resolution. Has anyone sued as of yet??
    I need immediate HELP!! Please contact [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    MinnyW May 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The same thing has happened to my son and many of his friends. Has anyone talked to the IRS or State regarding this? They've all been asked to amend their returns.

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    shouldbetold May 06, 2010

    This is a duplicate forum in regards to Summit Research & Ron Strawn. To simplify and allow others to have one location that has all of the information, please discontinue using this thread and post on the original thread:
    Summit Tax Research — Shell Games

    This way, we can have all of the complaints, comments and updates for this issue in one location.

    Thank you

    1 Votes
  • Me
    meister72 Apr 22, 2010

    Ron Strawn is a complete sham and myself and 2 other friends are being audited. I have subsequently done research on Ron Strawn and he was a principal in several entities and most of the statuses are revoked. We used Summit Tax services previously and unwittingly moved forward with the new entity this year South Coast Business & Tax and their parent company Columbia Financial. They took our financial data back in February, we got audited in March, and after waiting over 6 weeks to receive our 2009 tax returns, they were not forthcoming. We paid our usual $750, and April 15th came and went with no tax returns. We are battling with this sham company to secure our money back for services NEVER rendered for 2009 tax returns. Stay away from Ron Strawn and ALL of his organizations. There are 51 registered entites with the NV secretary of state, and most of them have been revoked. That should tell you what sort of snake this guy & his sham companies are.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.