Tax MastersFraud

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I am just another victim of fraud from Tax Masters! I rejected their services and didn't sign their contract. They stole $4000 from me. Tax Masters high pressures their victims like me into sending them money misleading the victim into thinking the IRS is going to levy their accounts and garnish their wages immediately if funds aren't sent to them.

I rejected their business and did NOT sign any contracts and yet they won't return my $4000 they charged me! They then lie and say there was a verbal contract and a third party! If that wasn't the biggest lie I ever heard then why did they send me contracts to sign?

Tax Masters are total crooks. I can't believe there are so many victims on this board and these guys are still ripping off people as I write this. Where is the justice in America anymore. What does it take to help victims like me out and to protect future victims from Tax Masters ongoing FRAUD??????

Please e-mail me if you have any positive advice to help. I will gladly join in any Class Action Lawsuit against them.

Thank You Brian

Responses

  • Ge
    Gerald Vaughan Oct 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TAX MSTR TAX MASTERS FRAUD!

    SOME ONE PLEASE HELP ME! I am an OLD man with very limited resources...

    I am a 65 year old Vietnam veteran who chose to retain the services of Tax Masters after hearing certain radio host giving them a thumbs up.

    After a few conversations with them over the phone, I decided, and notified them that I did NOT want to go ahead with their services.

    The next day tax masters illegally withdrew 2, 500.00 dollars from my acount. I have everything in writing, emails and phone conversations that my rfefund would be issued in 90 days.

    Its now been 120 days and still no refund. All i get from them is that the check is on the presidents desk waiting to get signed.

    The crooks that run this scam are good at taking your money and not returning it. I have made more than 40 calls to them in the past month. Still nothing!

    Please advise on what to do, an d what your experience with Taxmasters has been!

    I will help you do what it takes so no one else suffers at the hands of Tax Master Frauds!

    PS. IF YOU EVEN THINK ABOUT USING TAX MASTERS, JUST GOOGLE THE HUNDREDS OF VICTIMS.

    PSS. I really dont know what to do, I am old and very hurt by this. Please someone help ME!

    Gerald

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel P.McCurdy, Sr. Nov 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ALWAYS check with the Better Business Bureau FIRST...that's what I did and discovered that these scamming jerks have a file of hundred s and hundreds of unresolved complaints against them. Honest, hard-working people with real IRS challenges have been hoodwinked by the slick radio and TV commercials from these vultures. Thank God I was not one of them, and I ended up with a legitimate company with an excellent BBB rating. My program of resolving my IRS difficulties is now legitimately under way, and I am tremendously relieved that I checked with the BBB FIRST.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    ScammedbyTaxMasters Oct 06, 2009

    These people are compete frauds and their service is a scam. They prey on desperate people who are being threatened by the IRS, promise you everything in the world until they get their money, then do nothing. They were supposed to file my power of attorney with the IRS, which they never did, they were supposed to prevent my bank account being levied, which they never did. They don't return phone calls, they don't get back to you, and they keep you on hold forever as a way of making you go away.

    Take my word for it. They have no more influence with the IRS than you or me. Negotiate your own agreement with the IRS and avoid these Tax Master scam artists.

    I'm suing to get my money back.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debi in Texas Dec 10, 2009

    This just happened to me.. I had been with Tax Masters for two years. I had a defalcation/embezzlement that happened to my company and me 10 years ago. It took us two years to bring the party to justice. They were convicted of aggregate felony theft. (they stole also the computer and physical records for the two years that caused the problem with the IRS) Many attempt to work with IRS, no help. in 2005, granted Chapter 7 in which the IRS was included. Still no help. Tax Masters promised to come between me and the IRS. We filed Offer in Oct 2008, In Sept.2009, finally got meeting with Tax Masters, asked them to call IRS to check on status. They said they wanted to wait two weeks(Until Oct 09, then in there for one year and had to approve). Nope. Got letter Oct 2, that they were "returning"..not rejecting. Aparantly there was some info that they asked Tax Masters for that Tax Masters did not respond to. I was on their rearends on a daily basis, ie ; emails, phonecalls, etc to call the IRS. They kept saying they called and the IRS would not answer their calls. Finally, Fri. got email from Tx Masters, that the irs denied offer and we would have to start over(for more money). They were going to keep the 750.00 that we had included toward the first offer, and the Tax Masters had been paid upfront 2650. I decided to call the IRS myself. Guess what? Tax Masters Lied to me. They NEVER called the IRS. The IRS agent on record answered the phone on first ring. There was no record of Tax Masters ever calling. Further, IRS told me what I had been asking for the past six months.. there apparently been a letter they sent in July requesting more financial info; and even though I asked the agent at TaxMasters to "double check"s, as I had movedover the summer, they did not. Tax Masters, further had received the letter(they got a correspondense every time I did).. Two years of my life WASTED.. because of Tax Masters negligence and deceipt. Not only did they lie. If they had just called the IRS(which they charge each client in their line item 500.00 for contacting and meeting with IRS), they would have found out what the IRS needed, and the IRS would have worked with us to get the info in, and not return. Now, I have to start over. I have a meeting on Mon. with Tax Masters. I am going to show them the copy of the letter the IRS was kind enough to fax to me (that Tax Masters did not respond to)in July. That is what got us rejectd. And their negligence and enept ability to simply do their job has not only cost me over $4, 000.00. but cost me the last two years of my life, and I have to start over???? Can there be anything done? Can we at least take these guys to court and have them remove their false advertising that Patrick Cox does every time he gets on Fox or other channels and spews out his lies about getting in between me and the IRS and SOLVING our tax problems... He just caused my problems to escalate.. I have a good reason for an Offer, and they were close to granting it, they just need a bit more info)(ofcourse, they had requested different things atlest 3 times in the two years)...But Tax Masters complete incompetence cost me more than the 4, 000. They cost me not to be able to start my life for how much longer????? ----------------------------------

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    Ex_Coworker Jan 05, 2010

    Pat Cox is currently a Certified Public Accountant licensed by the State of Texas (http://www.tsbpa.state.tx.us/macros/OD007.ndm/DETAIL?ID=055358 ). Your complaints about his deficiencies can be filed with the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy to get him sanctioned and and possibly shut down for discreditable acts against the profession.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    TaxMASTERSVICTIM Jan 29, 2010

    I went to TaxMasters for help. They used scare tactics to sell me. I fell for it because I didn't know any better. After they didn't do ANYTHING for almost a month except tell me that I owed more than the IRS said I owed and that they would set up apayment plan for me for double what I had already paid, I went to the BIG SCARY IRS. THEY helped me in three days do what I had already paid TaxMasters to do. It turns out that the IRS owed me money! Tax Masters was going to set me up to pay $63, 000! TaxMasters is a terrible company to do business with. Worse! They are pure evil! The people that I delt with were all very nice to me personally and very happy to help me become completely destitute. The time that they caused me to lose cost me my credit because if they had advised me properly instead of telling a bunch of lies I would have been out of Levy in a couple of days, instead I was in Levy for over a month, so I was late on everything, my bank account was overdrafted and my family had live through December on $438.00! I sent them the letter below and have not gotten any relpy from them. I will tell everyone that I can how they ruined me.

    TaxMasters shall regard this letter as legal written notice to terminate all contractual agreements and/or arrangements made by MY NAME (SSN xxx-xx-****) with TaxMasters, a business located at 900 Town & Country Lane, Suite 400 Houston, TX 77024. Be it also known that this includes any and all Power of Attorney authorizations which are hereby revoked and terminated upon the writing of this letter. TaxMasters shall cease and desist in further works or actions in the interest of MY NAME (SSN xxx-xx-****) . All works or actions in the interest of MY NAME (SSN xxx-xx-****) by TaxMasters and any employee or agent acting for TaxMasters after the date appearing on this letter are to be considered null and void by all. This termination is to take full effect immediately. No further payments will be made to TaxMasters. The bank account that the drafts were authorized to be drawn on has been closed. Any further collection attempts by TaxMasters or any employee or agent acting for TaxMasters will be met with legal action and full refund will be pursued.

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    JDutton Jan 30, 2010

    Isn't it amazing that Tax Masters' ads (still airing on CNN and ESPN) say that they will make sure the IRS will treat you fairly and with respect! What? How about Tax Masters treating their own clients fairly and with respect! I've never dealt with a more fraudulent company.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    What recourse is there? Feb 16, 2010

    Brian, I, like you, was taken for $2500 by Tax Masters. I have been working with the Better Business Bureau of Houston to resolve the problem. They have helped somewhat in contacting TM, but the BBB has no real power to force a refund. As a matter of fact, read Tax Master's blog about the BBB and consumers contacting them. Tax Masters has an F rating though they are NOT a registered company with the BBB. Easy to see why.

    I also contacted my state Attorney General's Office regarding consumer fraud. I did not sign anything from Tax Masters, yet they took money from my bank account which I have since closed. A consumer fraud attorney advised me that without a SIGNED Power of Attorney, Tax Masters has no legal right or means to represent us to the IRS. Therefore, no services can be provided. Payment for no service provided would seem to warrant a refund. Our state AG's Office asked for my documentation which I provided. So, we will see.

    If there is a consumer fraud attorney that would be willing to file a class action lawsuit against Tax Masters, I would be the first to join. This company is fraudulent and how they treat people is just plain wrong.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    triplejassoc Feb 16, 2010

    Hello Everyone:

    POTENTIAL CLASS ACTION:

    I am trying to forward information to the attorney who is reviewing our potential Tax Masters class action suit. Please forward the following for our preliminary summary:

    Name
    Contact Information
    Summary of Your Issue with Tax Masters
    Amount Loss

    Please forward this information to me at your earliest convenience ([email protected]) in order for me to compile and forward to the attorney. I will keep you abreast of the status.

    Thanks,

    Pam Mitchell, Sr. Paralegal
    (504) 234-5202

    0 Votes
  • Mk
    MKCodd Mar 07, 2010

    I have a Small Claims Court action against Tax Masters of Houston that will be heard in the Pinellas County Courthouse, St. Petersburg, Florida this Thursday, March 11th., 2010 and will post the results. The tactics everyone is posting - hurry up and get your money in - and no results - no refund and no action - are typical. They even claimed that we owed the IRS "no money" after I had sent them our Amended Tax Return and letters from the IRS. Still Patrick Cox is on TV every day hawking their services. Willing to do anything to stop these people!
    Kaye Coddington
    [email protected]
    Seminole, Florida

    0 Votes
  • Tx
    txbstrds Mar 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There used to be a huge blog filled with TaxMasters stories and complaints. They sued the guy and he took it down. Here's an archive of it though:

    http://web.archive.org/web/20080621192338/www.enormousincongruities.com/2006/02/22/tax-masters/

    0 Votes
  • Tx
    txbstrds Mar 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    1. There used to be a huge blog filled with TaxMasters stories and complaints. They sued the guy and he took it down. Here's an archive of it though:

    http://web.archive.org/web/20080621192338/www.enormousincongruities.com/2006/02/22/tax-masters/

    ----

    2. Apparently there is a US Treasury investigation into TaxMasters.

    US Treasury Department
    Attention: Agent Farwell
    1919 Smith Street
    Suite 2270
    Houston, TX 77002

    ----

    3. Additionally:

    If you've been a victim of TaxMasters, below is a good starting list of everyone you should send a letter to, detailing your experience. Signed and mailed letters are often still taken more seriously than an emailed or faxed one. You should also include any/all supporting documentation/evidence.

    This really is needed. The sooner these agencies receive more complaints about this company, the more they will investigate.

    1. Your state's Attorney General
    2. All of your state's Senators and Representatives (Federal and State)
    3. All of the following:

    U.S. Treasury Department
    ATTN: Special Agent Farwell
    1919 Smith St.
    Suite 2270
    Houston, TX 77002

    Texas State Board of Public Accountancy
    333 Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900
    Austin, TX 78701-3900

    Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration
    Hotline
    P.O. Box 589
    Ben Franklin Station
    Washington, DC 20044-0589

    Office of the Attorney General of Texas
    PO Box 12548
    Austin, TX 78711-2548

    U.S. Department of Justice
    Office of Attorney General
    950 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
    Washington, DC 20530

    Internal Revenue Service
    Office of Professional Responsibility
    SE: OPR, Room 7238/IR
    1111 Constitution Avenue NW
    Washington, DC 20224

    Better Business Bureau of Houston
    http://houston.bbb.org/

    Federal Trade Commission
    Consumer Response Center
    600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
    Washington, DC 20580

    Mayor Annise D. Parker
    City of Houston
    P.O. Box 1562
    Houston, TX 77251

    0 Votes
  • Po
    Polly May 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tax Masters are frauds! My boyfriend hired them to help with taxes and wasn't satisfied with the service so he sent them a letter telling them they were more or less fired! Well after several attempts to call them and never getting a call back he was sent a letter saying they would'nt give him a refund! Although the contract stated he could get a refund if he was dissatisfied. They screwed him out of $4000 and only had 1 20 minutes conference call with the IRS! What a bunch of DOPES! I hope they get SUED!Buttholes!

    0 Votes
  • Tx
    txbstrds Jun 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well it finally happened -- government action against TaxMasters:

    http://www.oag.state.tx.us/oagnews/release.php?print=1&id=3328

    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
    May 13, 2010
    www.texasattorneygeneral.gov CONTACT
    Press Office at
    (512) 463-2050

    Houston-based "Tax Resolution" Firm Charged With Unlawful Conduct, Misleading Customers

    Texas Attorney General files enforcement action against TaxMasters, Inc.; cites nearly 1, 000 complaints about defendants’ conduct and business practices


    HOUSTON – Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott today charged Houston-based TaxMasters, Inc., and its chief executive officer, Patrick Cox, with multiple violations of the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act and Texas Debt Collection Act.

    According to the state’s enforcement action, the defendants unlawfully misled customers about their service contract terms, failed to disclose its no-refunds policy, and falsely claimed that the firm’s employees would immediately begin work on a case – despite the fact that TaxMasters did not actually start to work on a case until its customers paid in full for services, even if that delayed response meant taxpayers missed significant IRS deadlines.

    “In the midst of a national economic downturn, TaxMasters used a nationwide marketing campaign to offer services for distressed taxpayers who needed help dealing with the IRS, ” Attorney General Abbott said. “A state investigation and nearly 1, 000 customer complaints indicate that the defendants routinely misled customers about the nature of their tax resolution service agreements – and worse, attempted to enforce those improper agreements through unlawful debt collection tactics. The state’s enforcement action seeks to prohibit the defendants from continuing to violate the law and seeks restitution for the financially struggling taxpayers who were harmed by the defendants’ unlawful conduct.”

    The defendants advertise a tax resolution service for federal taxpayers who have received notice from the IRS of an audit, garnishment, lien, levy or tax deficiency. Citing a self-styled “national advertising campaign” and high-profile “endorsements, ” TaxMasters purports to have “one of the most effective tax relief teams in the tax representation business.” However, a state investigation – and nearly 1, 000 complaints submitted to the Office of the Attorney General and the Better Business Bureau of Houston – indicate that the defendants have unlawfully misled their customers and failed to disclose material facts about their service agreements.

    TaxMasters’ advertisements encourage taxpayers to call its toll-free number for a “free consultation” with a “tax consultant.” Court documents filed by the state indicate that callers are not connected to an employee qualified to give tax advice, but rather with a TaxMasters salesperson who recommends a “solution” for between $1, 500 and $9, 000 or more.

    According to court documents, many callers were offered an installment plan so that they could pay the defendants’ fee over a specified period of time. However, callers who asked to see written terms and conditions prior to making a payment were informed that a credit card or bank account number is necessary to generate a written TaxMasters service contract. As a result, TaxMasters customers were unaware – and the defendants’ personnel did not have a practice of disclosing – multiple aspects of the TaxMasters service agreement that were harmful to taxpayers.

    For example, the defendants did not disclose that all customer payments submitted to TaxMasters are non-refundable. Because customers were not provided written contracts and sales personnel did not reveal the no-refunds policy, customers did not know that they would not be able to recover any installment payments they submitted to TaxMasters – even if they ultimately decide to cancel before TaxMasters actually did any work on their tax case.

    The state’s enforcement action also cites TaxMasters for failing to reveal that it would not begin work on a case until all installment payments had been remitted and the entire fee was paid. Multiple complaints indicate that customers entered into an installment agreement with the understanding that TaxMasters would immediately begin work on their case – only to discover later that no action was taken. Customers often learned that there was a problem when they received a notice from the IRS indicating that an important deadline had been missed or that additional fees and penalties had accrued.

    Court documents filed by the state also indicate that the defendants failed to disclose TaxMasters’ requirement that customers pay the entire service fee – even if they opt to cancel their contract. Because customers are not provided a written contract, they were not properly informed that agreeing to make a single payment over the telephone obligated them to pay the entire fee quoted by sales personnel. Further, not only did TaxMasters attempt to obligate its customers to a fee in the absence of a signed contract, the defendants used unlawful debt collection tactics to enforce the unauthorized obligation.

    According to the state’s enforcement action, the defendants not only failed to disclose material terms and conditions governing its services, but also failed to properly provide the “tax resolution” services that were advertised. Customer complaints obtained by the Attorney General’s Office cite TaxMasters for failing to contact and consult with the IRS on the client’s behalf; failing to appear on the client’s behalf at an IRS audit or hearing; failing to postpone or stop a wage or bank account garnishment; and failing to stop a levy or lien against a client’s property.

    When customers who were unhappy with the defendants’ services sought refunds, TaxMasters refused to return the customers’ money. Court documents indicate TaxMasters not only refused to honor refund requests, it also pursued debt collection efforts against clients who cancelled their contracts. The state’s enforcement action charges TaxMasters with unlawfully threatening to pursue customers in Harris County courts, even if those customers did not reside in the county. Under Texas law, entities seeking to enforce a consumer contract can only do so in a county where the agreement was executed or where the consumer resides.

    The state's enforcement action is seeking restitution for each TaxMasters customer who was financially harmed by the defendants’ unlawful conduct. In addition, the state is seeking civil penalties of up to $20, 000 for each violation of the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    What recourse is there? Jun 25, 2010

    Finally, someone has found a way to stop these people. Thank you, Texas Attorney General, for your diligence. I hope to see restitution in my complaint!

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bonebanker Jul 02, 2010

    Will there be a class action law suit filed against Taxmasters. I was a victim of this company of crooks.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    ShaunOHara Jul 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ** FILE AN SEC COMPLAINT AGAINST TAXMASTERS HERE **

    Tax Masters can't be trusted

    Tax Mmasters should be shut down. How come they can't pay their health insurance premiums when they reported to the Securities and Exchange Commission that they took in over $11 million dollars through March 31, 2010 AND had CASH to the tune of over $4 million during that same period. I wonder whether the numbers Tax Masters gave the SEC are correct. Could it be that Tax Masters has committed stockholder fraud by not disclosing accurate financial information on their SEC documents. If you feel the same way as I do and want to complain to the SEC as well as the Texas Attorney General and joining the class action lawsuit, you can file a complaint with the SEC by using the following website: http://www.sec.gov/complaint.shtml

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    ShaunOHara Jul 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ** FILE AN SEC COMPLAINT AGAINST TAXMASTERS HERE **

    Tax Masters can't be trusted

    Tax Mmasters should be shut down. How come they can't pay their health insurance premiums when they reported to the Securities and Exchange Commission that they took in over $11 million dollars through March 31, 2010 AND had CASH to the tune of over $4 million during that same period. I wonder whether the numbers Tax Masters gave the SEC are correct. Could it be that Tax Masters has committed stockholder fraud by not disclosing accurate financial information on their SEC documents. If you feel the same way as I do and want to complain to the SEC as well as the Texas Attorney General and joining the class action lawsuit, you can file a complaint with the SEC by using the following website: http://www.sec.gov/complaint.shtml

    0 Votes
  • Tx
    txbstrds Jul 08, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Two federal lawsuits have been filed against TaxMasters and Patrick Cox personally:

    Wells et al v. TaxMasters, Inc et al, filed 7/2/2010 regarding Fair Labor Standards

    Antkowiak v. Taxmasters et al, filed 7/7/2010 regarding Fair Debt Collection

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whtdnld Jul 25, 2010

    Could any one please send me any information of the class action lawsuit, I too am a victim of Tax Master,
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Md
    mdlanda Aug 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They took us for 14k and did nothing, missed audit deadlines and requested money back. Got nothing.. Patrick Cox needs to be in prison. We want our money back.
    Michael Landa
    360-474-8991

    0 Votes
  • Tx
    txbstrds Oct 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    there are now 4 federal lawsuits against TaxMasters, for varied reasons:

    8 Taxmasters, Inc. (dft) txsdce 4:2010-cv-02373 710 07/02/2010
    9 Taxmasters (dft) txsdce 4:2010-cv-02373 710 07/02/2010
    10 TAXMASTERS, INC. (dft) paedce 2:2010-cv-03331 480 07/07/2010
    11 TAXMASTERS (dft) paedce 2:2010-cv-03331 480 07/07/2010
    14 TaxMasters Inc. (cnflck) txsdce 4:2010-cv-03055 710 08/25/2010
    15 Taxmasters, Inc. (dft) txsdce 4:2010-cv-03055 710 08/25/2010
    16 Taxmasters (dft) txsdce 4:2010-cv-03055 710 08/25/2010
    17 Taxmasters, Inc. (dft) txsdce 4:2010-cv-03330 190 09/16/2010

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    mjs1970 Feb 15, 2011

    This is a formal complaint I am sending to you (and many others) about Tax Masters that are stationed in Houston, Texas. There web address is http://www.txmstr.com and there address is; 900 Town & Country Lane, Suite 400, Houston, TX 77024. The Phone number there is 281-497-4226.

    The Problem began in November of 2010. I received a letter from the IRS stating that I owed back taxes in the amount of $4.000. That seemed like a lot of money to me and it was from 2002 and I thought they were wrong. I called Tax Masters and was told it would cost me $5, 000 to sort out the mess and file some returns that I had not. I said ok and paid them a down payment of $1, 100. After talking with an accountant friend of mine who told me to cancel them because he could file the old returns for me for nothing and that Tax Masters wanted more then the IRS did. I called back 3 hours later (over 2 days) and cancelled. The said they would send me the return of my down payment. Fast forward a month and I had not received anything from Tax Masters.

    This started on of the worse transgressions of any "professional" outfit I have ever seen. Enclosed with this emails that went back and forth for the first round. I was told to call billing which I did. I would either be put on hold and forgotten about, or I would be hung up on. I email the agent who I first talked to and was given the number of their QA department where I was told that they were experiencing "High Call Volume" and was dumped into a Voice Mail box, where no one would ever return my call. Though many attempts I finally got a hold of a QA supervisor named, Donice Reiss (<[email protected]>) who told me that QA had sent my file to finance were "Denis" would sign off on it. I then asked when I could expect my refund and was given the name of Ms. Jessica Gonzalez, who is the head of finacnce. She told me it would be 90 days. She now claims that she never said that, but the more I think about it, Im sure it was her.

    Fast forward to today. It is 2/15/11 and I still have not received on dime of MY money. I called billing three times. The first time, I'm not sure why but the 3rd time, it was because I got hot under the collar with whoever it was that answered the phone. The third guy asked it I ever sent a letter to QA. I did and told him I spoke with Donice Reiss. He said that my file never said I called and offered to transfer me to QA. I told him no thank you, Ill just sue. After calming down for a minute, I decided to call and try one last time. I actaully got an answer from QA after telling the story for the umpteenth time, I was put on hold and she came back 15 minutes later with the excuse "Oh, there are 2 Michael Swiney's in our system, they must have been confused. I know of 2 Michael Swiney's. One is a Judge and the other is an actor. Google it. There are not that many Swiney's in the world. She transfered me back to Jessica Gonzolas who swore she never said it would take 90 days and "Denis" did not sign off on it yet. I asked how I could reach "Denis" and she said I couldn't, but she could leave him another e-mail asking his highness to sign it so they can release MY money.

    I then did research on this company and found out this is the way they do business with everybody. This HAS to stop. If anyone out there wants to start a class action suit against this fraudulent company, please contact me and was can get the ball rolling

    Michael J. Swiney
    732-685-2317

    0 Votes
  • Tx
    txbstrds Mar 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The PA class action suit has made it around the arbitration clause in the contract. TaxMasters filed a motion to compel arbitration, which was denied on 3/17/11.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charhart Mar 24, 2011

    I feel so stupid for not googleing Tax Masters BEFORE I paid them $5, 000. Absolutely yes do I agree with the many complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dana Brooks Sep 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I found a company that can help www.americastaxnetwork.com. They offer up to two hours of consultation for $99.00. The person they put you in touch with is an Enrolled Agent that was a FORMER employee of the IRS. They will talk with you, discuss your case and answer any questions during that time. If you wish they will then pull your masterfile and check your records with the IRS. If they can help they will offer solutions after they review all your info. Since they are Enrolled Agents and not sales people like these other groups. Hope this helps...

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Theft-DRL33870 Dec 06, 2011

    The company took all my money, Via credit Card, electronically transferred over state-lines, upfront and never provided the service/representation they advertised or verbally stated they would provide...


    My contact information: David LaFond, 2411 Davis Circle, Sebring, Florida 33870, 863-904-8304

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    taxmastersinfo.com Dec 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello David,
    I am in the same situation with Tax Masters, I would highly recommend that we all join together and make sure they do not get away with their scams.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john e davenport Dec 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am so glad to have found this page on google. In 2008 I called Tax Masters to seek help from the IRS after seeing Mr. Cox on TV saying how he could help with your tax problems. First of all I am a 72 yrs old man and did not have the money to pay the IRS so I fell for the line that the man on the phone gave me as to how they could help me for all reasons that I was a Senior Citizen and couldn't afford to pay the IRS what they were seeking from me. For six months they took 984.00 dollars from me and never did anything for that money except file my 2006 returns. My taxes were not that much that I would pay the $5000.00 to do just one year of taxes. The IRS told me that they never heard from this firm on my behalf. I wrote the BBB in Houston and they put me in touch with someone at Tax Masters that was very mean and nasty to me on the phone. I also feel stupid for not checking before I gave them my money. As I said at the beginning as a senior I really could use that money. Mr. Cox should be jailed for telling such lies to peoples.A fool from Chicago.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James M. Higginbotham III Jan 12, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The Tax Masters office in Houston, TX did the same to me. I sent them a letter of "Cancellation" on May 17th, 2011; we received a letter from them dated May 18th, 2011, that they had received our letter of "Cancellation of Services" and had started the process of cancellation and would get my refund to me as quickly as possible. After several phone calls, only able to talk to the receptionist, a registered letter, and messages on voice mail and e-mail, since then to now, Jan. 12th, 2012, I have had no reply to any messages and still do not have my refund check. I'm about to contact a lawyer and take them to court, and it will definitely cost them much more for all of this anguish and time.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Davey T May 02, 2012

    I just received the notice of Chapter 11 bankruptcy regarding Tax Masters. I paid them 6, 250$ and never received any services. On top of that I incurred thousands of dollars in penalties and interest for work not performed on their behalf from the IRS. I am about to fill out a proof of claim but it will take me a while to accurately calculate the amount of money they caused me to be delinquent on. Please tell me if there is any class action law suit or some sort of help regarding recouping my loss. Thank you very much. My name is David and my email is [email protected] my case # is 12-32065.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem