The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Super Thin RibbonsVery Poor Customer Service

I and several other employees had poor experiences with this company. Recently I sent a rack of military ribbons back to this company thinking I purchased them from the company. However, when I called to give them my payment information I was informed that I sent the wrong ribbons (from ultra thin) and they wanted to charge me close to $55 dollars to get a complete rack. I told them that I have the old ribbons I purchased from them (super thin ribbons) in 2007 and could send it for the adjustments, which would only be adding a ribbon or two (approx. $5.00). They said that I could send in the correct old ribbons for adjustments, but I would have to pay an additional $10.00 minimum to have my ribbons sent back to me. I told them that their customer service practice was not very good being that I made a simple mistake of sending the wrong set of ribbons. If I were the supervisor I would have told the customer to send the correct ribbons and when we make the adjustments to those ribbons I would send the incorrect set back with the newly adjusted ones. Instead the email I received from them stated that they have my set of ribbons and I would just have to call the company with payment information as if they had already completed the work. I told them that every chance I get I would deter any potential customers from buying their products and then I was threaten that they would have a friend SGM find me. Well, I hope they go out of business because we don't need businesses with such poor customer service and no creativity for taking care of the consumers.

Sincerely,
Disappointed Soldier

Responses

  • Ml
    M Lowder Nov 07, 2009

    For the record SuperThin Ribbons has not received any other calls from "employees" regarding their "experience" other than Mr. McCleod. SuperThin Ribbons offered to update the set of ribbons my Mr. McCleod mailed to us by mistake at our discounted price; even though the ribbons were not originally purchased from us.

    The price is as follows:
    15 Ribbons x 1.40 = $21.00
    13 Devices x 0.75 = $ 9.75
    Sales Tax = $ 2.53
    Shipping = $10.00

    Total = $43.28 Not $55.00 as stated my Mr. McCleod.

    Mr. McCleod wants SuperThin Ribbons to accepted responsibility for his mistake. We offered him the same price to update a product; that we have no original investment in, that we give our customers. Mr. McCleod chose not to do that, instead requesting that we mail his ribbons back to him for $1.50. We explained to Mr. McCleod that we only ship with FedEx so that the products are insured and we we have delivery confirmation. We explained that to ship with the U.S. Postal Service we have to send and employee to the Post Office and we were not willing to do that because Mr. McCleod made a mistake. We have extended every possible customer service courtesy to Mr. McCleod to no avail. He began threatening to send email to "everyone in the Army" to spread false information about SuperThin Ribbons and I did tell him I take threats of slander seriously and would take all measures necessary to maintain the reputation and integrity of SuperThin Ribbons. Mr. McCleod was extremely rude to our Customer Service Representative and was forwarded to the owner to try to resolve the issue at hand. While SuperThin Ribbons is sorry that Mr. McCleod mailed something to us by mistake we will not be responsible for getting the merchandise back to him. As is evident from the above Mr. McCleod wishes SuperThin Ribbons nothing but ill will; to protect our company from future damages or liability we must return his product with insurance and delivery confirmation for a charge of $10.00. Time is money and SuperThin Ribbons has already lost a significant amount in terms of time because of Mr. McCleod mistake. To expect SuperThin Ribbons to lose more money by taking time to make a special trip to the Post Office is unfair. We maintain the position to we have try to work with Mr. McCleod to resolve this issue but at this point he wishes to cause harm to our company and we must refuse to do business with him. We will return his ribbons if he provides a self addressed stamped envelope and a letter releasing SuperThin Ribbons from any further responsibility or liability.

    1 Votes
  • On
    One Happy Airman Dec 19, 2009

    This company has a BBB score of "A"! I checked the BBB after reading this complaint. It appears to me that this company has only had 3 compalints in 7 years (with as it appears the Disappointed Soldier being one of them). I have read both the complaint and the reply and my judgement is for the company. You dont order a pizza from Pizza Hut and expect Dommino's to fix an error or buy from K-mart and try to return it to Wal-mart. Two words for you Disappointed Soldier "personal resposibility". Don't expect someone else to fix your mistakes for free. Thanks for your service to our country but in this case your actions not those of the above company are the root of the problem.

    Just my 2 cents!

    Happy Airman

    1 Votes
  • Ph
    Phil Guignard Jun 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a vet living in Alberta, Canada, and I want to add my two cents worth about Superthin Ribbons. I dealt with this company twice now over the past few years and each time I was treated wonderfully. They completed my ribbon racks perfectly and even went further by doing extra to get my ribbons shipped to me here in Canada. I defend Superthin wholeheartedly because this company really genuinely respects the vets and provides a truly valuable service to us. I think the complainer is the author of his own misfortune and certainly it is not Superthin's fault. They actually tried to accomodate him and yet he still insults them for his own stupidity. I hope Superthin staff know that they are appreciated by so many of us who served our country.
    Phil Guignard. Canada

    1 Votes
  • So
    SoldierMommy Aug 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered magnetized ribbons (rush order) and received pin back ribbons. The manager, Megan, was horrible. She refused to offer me a full refund. In fact she increased the restocking fee to 25%. Don't waste money on this company. Horrible customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John_Parker Aug 23, 2011

    Having bought from superthinribbons.com in the past, I can say that they are a respectable company with good customer service.

    Disappointed Soldier sounds like an pretentious idiot. He made a mistake and expected someone else to fix it. It's unfortunate that every branch has their bad apples; Disappointed Soldier is one of the rotten ones.

    1 Votes
  • St
    Steven Krehbiel Jul 02, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am not impressed. Ordered new ribbons and 3 new medals for my retirement shadow box...have a total of 7 medals and needed only 3. The ribbons looked great! Regarding the medals, NOT! I ordered the medals to be individual slide on. Medals received were not slide on but glued to a backing. This would not work since I had 4 other medals and I had to arrange them in the right order. Contacted and they said they would replace...good! Received new medals, yes, they were slide on but they didn't have any of the devices. When I called I was told I needed to remove the devices from the three medals on the bad order and glue them myself to the slide on medals. If I wanted them to rebuild the medals I would have to pay shipping again...what? Why would I have to pay a company to ship me a corrected product??? Additionally, the quality of the slide on medals is sub-par...the length of the material on each medal is different so don't look even on my display. I compared the ones at clothing sales and they were all equal length. So my advice is Superthinribbons.com is fine for ribbons but NOT FOR MEDALS.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    Swimmer37 Jan 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I gotta say I am a little disappointed in superthinribbons. I notice now that they have in smaller print on their sight that if I need a rush order to call their phone number, but to a guy that is scanning multiple sights, looking for good prices, I am not going to be reading all the small print. I see that one site has in bright red letters "Ships in 24 hours". I get the assumption that all sites are probably equally thoughtful. I order from Superthinribbons. My SDB inspection is nine days from the day I order. I pay what I consider to be a high priced $14 to ship about an ounce of ribbons which is said to take 5 days to ship. Okay I think, That will give me a 4 day cushion. So, I start getting a little nervous a couple days before my inspection. So The day before, I check my email for a tracking number thinking I might have to drive to the post office and low and behold, there is no tracking number. Why? Because 9 days later, my package still hasn't shipped. In fact, it doesn't get shipped out until ten days after I order it and I therefore am not prepared for my inspection because the company I ordered from would rather take their time than actually process my order in an acceptable time frame. So now I will have a $25 set of ribbons which will be obsolete by the next time I have an inspection, because the $14 I spent to ship one ounce of ribbons over a 5 day period took 10 days to process. I appreciate your Free rush delivery with a phone call, but could you maybe make it a little more obvious when someone orders. Like in big flashing letters when I am about to order "IF YOU DON'T CALL OUR NUMBER AND ASK FOR RUSH DELIVERY, WE WON'T PROCESS YOUR ORDER FOR ANOTHER TEN DAYS" That would be nice.

    Sincerely,
    Disappointed service member in NJ

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    Swimmer37 Jan 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Update on my last comment. I sent the same message, yet much less tactful to SuperThin ribbons yesterday and got a professional, prompt response from the owner of the company with her apologies towards my situation and an offer for a refund. I was quite blown away to have actually received a response from the owner, and so prompt. It shows me that they really do care about their customers, they just unfortunately have so much business that they get backed up and are willing to rush orders if needed. I appreciate their superior customer service and their politeness. My only suggestion if you order from them is that if you are on a time crunch, that you do make the call and ask for a rush delivery. I will do business with them again, because a company that cares that much for their customers' complaints is hard to find.

    I wish you them best,
    Calmed and humbled in NJ.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marc Hall Jul 18, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with the bad customer service. Stay away there are other companies that do the job and have much better customer service. Terrible customer service. I spent over $300 here. I made three orders. The worker was able to get the first two orders correct and a process for ensuring the details were correct. On the third order, Marcie (owner/manager ) took payment in-between my communication with the worker. She was more than happy to take another payment for $70.25. The order was then processed after they were closed for a week incorrectly with them have a detailed e-mail and pictures. I was more than what I should have been for my correct order. Marcie was not willing to admit any mistake on their end and nor try to correct the order with as little inconvenience or damage to my ribbons. I would strongly recommend another company

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.