Sunny Morning KennelPuppy mill

T Review updated:

If you ever bought a puppy from Sunny Morning Kennel in Illinois area and your dog died or had a lifelong history of health problems, please contact me.

More Sunny Morning Kennel Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Sl
    slander finder Mar 28, 2010

    calling someone a puppy mill is slander...
    I hope they sue you !!

    If it was a puppy mill then why did you buy the puppy from there...oh you only thought it was a puppy mill afterwards ???

    -2 Votes
  • Da
    dawg lover Apr 01, 2010

    Calling a high volume breeder a puppy mill is not slander. It is the truth. I am from the area this puppy mill is in and know it to be a puppy mill.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Kramer1234 Apr 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just started looking into this breeder and many red flags are coming up online. Has anyone bought a puppy from here and does anyone have an experience to share?

    1 Votes
  • PapMom Apr 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I never visited the facility(it's actually in So. IL) but I did purchase a papillon puppy in 10/07. I saw him on-line and they brought him to a close vacinity. I had 48 hrs to get him checked out at my vet, which I did. Other than that puppy parisite, which is not uncommon according to my vet, he was very healthy. They called two days later to confirm the vet visit and that he was OK. They called again three weeks later to check and see if I was still happy with him. I thought that was nice and something that they didn't have to do. I did ask how big he would get and she said she couldn't promise anything but that his parents were both 7 lbs and she emailed pics of them to me as well. Paps should go 6 - 10lbs. My big guy is 12 lbs and 12 in. That would be my only issue but she was honest and said she could make any promises. He will be 3 in Aug 2010. He is very healthy, active, extremely smart, majorly adorable and the "love of my life :)"

    -1 Votes
  • Aj
    AJMJD Apr 26, 2010

    I dont agree with the people who claimed that Sunny Morning Kennel is a puppy mill. I got my Corgi puppy from there. I got her checked out by my vet a few days later. She was so healthy. She will be 3 this July. She is very active and healthy.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    teslas May 12, 2010

    We didn't know it was a puppy mill when we bought our dog. There were many red flags but we fell in love with our puppy. However, she had problems from the beginning and after years of treatment and thousands of dollars in vet bills she passed away just shy of her 6th birthday. We are devistated and want to make other people aware and end the suffering of other dogs. Let just say that a professional breeder will let you see the facility and won't sell you a puppy in a parking lot. This women only cares about making money and doesn't care what happens to the puppies or who she sells to.

    0 Votes
  • Il
    ILpetlover Jul 21, 2010

    We purchased a corgi puppy from Sunny Morning Kennel back in June of 2007. After dealing with severe aggression and behavioral issues for 3 months we had no choice but to give him up to the local corgi rescue. Lost the money we paid to the kennel and several hundred dollars for in home training to try to resolve the issues. In-breeding?

    0 Votes
  • La
    LadieDi714 Oct 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a female yorkie from Sunny Morning Kennel in Dec. 2008. When I took her to my vet for her required check-up, she was found to have ear mites in both ears, a herniated umbillical cord and she could not have been bathed in months. Her odor was atrocious and all of her hair was matted together. Now, here I am and my precious baby is dying in a nearby hospital from a genetic disease. In--breeding??? I am broken hearted!

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    BulldogMomma7 Oct 31, 2010

    I'm as suspicious as the next person when it comes to animal breeders, but what I *CAN* say about Lynn Mourning and Sunny Morning Kennels in Illinois is that I have a 1 1/2 year old English Bulldog that of the 3 Bulldogs I've had in the past 20 years, is the healthiest I've ever seen. I received my baby girl from them when she was 10 weeks old, and aside from Giardia (which both Humans and Animals can get and transmit), this is the ONLY problem I have had.

    My previous Bulldog was actually transported from my Uncle (who is a professional handler) at a show in Minnesota to Illinois for me by Lynn Mourning 10 years ago. I have been to her home, and seen some of the kennels. Now, I haven't been to the farm in Southern Illinois, but I know for a fact that they are dog lovers, and not a mass-producing money-hungry mill. Yes, they are in the BUSINESS of breeding, but they are responsible humans.

    Be careful when you label people 'mills'.

    Also, in regards to the 6 year old dog, if it's a corgi, you are talking a dog that has an *average* of 14 year lifespan, with a general lifespan of 10 years. It's an animal, not a small appliance, there are variables.

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
    KareBear1 Nov 20, 2010

    I bought 2 mini dachshunds from Lynn at Sunny Morning Kennels and they are wonderful and very healthy. They are 5 years and 5 1/2 years old and had them since 8 wks and 12 wks. They are half sisters. I was skeptical at first not being able to see operation but I agree with BulldogMomma7 and they are in the business of breeding but responsible. I called Lynn for a second pup and she had my Doxie's 1/2 sister available. She was a little older, 12 weeks instead of the typical 8 weeks, but that was because they were going to keep her to breed but I think they realized she was going to be towards the bigger side of a mini dachshund. When I went to pick her up, the driver handed her to me and told me how she likes to sleep across your neck. You can tell he was attached to her and she was loved. Sure enough that night, little Molly snuggled up, laying across my neck. They both came with all the paperwork and certificate of pedigree.

    -1 Votes
  • Do
    dotty442 Nov 30, 2010

    To LadieDi714, Help me understand as to why you would have purchased a pup in this condition? If it looked as bad or smelled as bad as stated then why not refuse to take her?

    1 Votes
  • Il
    ilovemybully Feb 27, 2011

    I just adopted a 2 1/2 year old english bulldog from Lynn at sunny Morning Kennels and can tell you they are really not in it for the money and are far from some of the monsters that have puppy mills. Gerdee (aka Diamond) is a bouncy loving bulldog. I have had rescue dogs from a puppy mill in my home before and know they typical way they act. Gerdee was very well taken care of. I had my vet check her out 48 hours after I picked her up and she is as healthy as can be. She came with all of her papers and was caughtup on all her shots when I got her from Lynn. I would def. recommend Lynn to family and friends.

    -1 Votes
  • Da
    dachshund mom Mar 09, 2011

    I bought my mini Dachshund from Lynn Mourning 16 months ago, when she was 12 weeks old. This May, Ruby will be 2, and she is full of energy and is just the sweetest little wiener I could ask for. Ruby has no health problems and according to my vet, is perfect. Lynn was clearly stated she had a 48 hour policy to have a vet check out Ruby and could be returned for any health reasons. Her first check up, and she was clean and healthy! I'm not sure how some people who have bought dogs from Lynn have problems. Like others stated, all dogs are different. Like people, health issues may arise at any given moment.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    puppyseeker Apr 12, 2011

    I am currently looking to purchase a yorkie. In the past I bought a puppy from a different breeder thinking she was a pure breed and found out she was not. So I started looking and researching as I am planning to purchase another puppy. I really liked Lynn. She was very informative and spent a lot of time answering my questions and being very helpful with my needs and concerns without rushing me off the phone. She clearly seems to know her stuff. She does not seem to be in it for the money because I told her what I was willing to spend and her rate was less than that. She could've had an asking price for what I was willing to pay but she did not and from what I've seen, the yorkie breed can be very expensive. I have not purchased my puppy yet, but I am pretty sure I will be going with her when I do. She just made a lot of sense with the conversation and seemed up front and honest.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SHanhole Apr 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a corgi who is almost 4 yrs old who has severe aggression issues despite intense, in-home training. He bit me in the face, requiring stiches, and some minor bites that were still very deep. Last week he viciuosly attacked my hand while I was just patting his head; he locked on and shook. I had to see an orthopedic surgeon and luckily I will heal, but depending on what the homeowner's insurance says, I may have to put him to sleep. He is under quarantine now. I love my pup but I can't trust him around me, let alone children...

    0 Votes
  • Ii
    IIadoreyooh2604 May 16, 2011

    I purchased my yorkie from lynn two years ago when I first got her she had girarda and coccidia parasites that the vet said was common for many puppies to get when they come from kennels and pet stores. She she just turned two this week and she has luxating patellas in both her knees which the vet said is from gentics now I have to dish out 1700 dollars for one knee and later on another 1700 for the other in the future. Lynn was very knowlegeable about breeding and the breed when I purchased her. I love my yorkie and I got all the paperwork wwith her along with meds for her sugars not to bottom out. When I brought it to her attention about the giarida she said she didn't kno how she could of got it because its from drinking dirty or standing water like a puddle. I wish she would of just been more accepting. Or help with treatment on her considing I was battling it for a good 6 to 7 months after I got her.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dog Diva May 22, 2011

    You've been HAD ----
    NEVER buy from pet stores or over the Internet!!! These pups are almost always from puppy mills or unscrupulous breeders. The right places to get puppies are these: hobby breeders (get a breeder referral from the AKC or UKC only); shelters that have behavior/socialization programs in place; rescue groups that have behavior/socialization programs in place. If you are unsure if a breeder is OK, contact a positive trainer or behaviorist in your area and pay them to help you determine if the puppy you want comes from a situation that will insure it fits into your home, lifestyle and budget (sick and genetically compromised pups will cost you a LOT at the vet). Reputable breeders should be able to show you a five generation pedigree, and should show you the results of the parent dogs' genetic testing with organizations such as CERF or Optigen (eyes), OFA or PennHip (hips). The breeder should ask you as many questions as you ask them, and not just be interested in your visa card! A guarantee should be unconditional for the life of the dog - in other words, at any time should you be unable to care for the dog the breeder should take it back. That way, YOUR pup never ends up in a kill shelter! Rather, it would hopefully be re-homed by someone familiar with your dog's breed characteristics. Also, please, please, please if you buy a puppy, get it in to a positive training class BEFORE it is 12 weeks old! Read this: http://www.avsabonline.org/avsabonline/images/stories/Position_Statements/puppy%20socialization.pdf. You will help insure that your dog grows up to be normally socialized, and that is so important. More dogs die from behavior problems than from disease! You can find a good trainer at www.trulydogfriendly.com.

    3 Votes
  • Pu
    puppylover542 May 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you purchased a sick puppy or want to report a puppy mill, you can share your story with the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) puppy mills campaign online at http://www.humanesociety.org/forms/tell_us_your_puppy_mill_story.html.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    Mommy Loves Cookies Jul 09, 2011

    I purchased a Boston Terrier who turned 7 in May and she is the best dog I have ever had. Not only that, she is extremely healthy and smart. Thanks Lynn for the best Boston in the world. I love Cookie and the vet says she so healthy. Puppy Mill-BS.


    Sue

    0 Votes
  • Il
    iluvbts Aug 07, 2011

    I purchased my first Boston Terrier from Sunny Morning Kennel in Oct. of 2004. He turns 7 tomorrow. He is my constant companion and an incredibly smart boy. He has a sister that we purchased elsewhere roughly 9 months later. Two very different experiences. When I picked up my male BT I was given directions and an address, but was told to keep an eye out for a Burger King because they run the dogs in the field behind their kennel adjacent to the BK parking lot. On this morning it was raining, and I pulled in to the lot facing the field. No puppies were out and when I called I was told that was because it was raining and they put the pups in crates in their van so that the new owners could view them and stay dry. I walked up to the van and almost started crying when they opened the back door and there were a good 6 crates that I could see stacked on top of one another. There were 2 male Bostons and I looked at both, my son fell in love with one little guy and that was the end of it. I wanted to take both of them. I wanted to cry. I've since been asked why I even went through with the purchase after realizing that these people were brokers for what was most likely a puppy mill. My answer has always been that I couldn't leave him behind knowing the conditiomns he would go back to. I do not regret my decision as I couldn't love him more. He is extremely healthy and has an awesome personality. But I knew enough from that experience to purchase our female BT from a hobby breeder that let us meet the parents & litter mates as well as see where they had been whelped and lived for the first 3 months of her life. I still wonder about Sunny Morning Kennels and that is what prompted my search today. I am ssad to think that they are still brokering for mills.

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    Dman1367 Dec 26, 2011

    I've purchased two beautiful, healthy, and active mini dauschunds from Lynn. She has been nothing but informative and honest with us. They are breeders no doubt, but that doesn't make them a puppy mill. Would you rather pick up your puppy from a burger king parking lot or have them shipped on a plane? People should have proof before they level accusations.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Help Jan 10, 2012

    Hey Jon - are you my buddy under another sign in name? If so, been a missin' ya.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AmiMara Apr 15, 2012

    Those people's complaints are fake. Sunny morning kennel isn't a puppy mill. I got my corgi from Lynn. Mara is five years old. People who got corgi puppies, they were too lazy to train corgi. I trained Mara not to bite people. Mara is very healthy. I got her checked by the vet.
    Hey LadieDi714, you made a HUGE mistake by giving your puppy away. You need to learn how to be responsible and be patient. I don't spend money on training. I have experiences in training dogs. I used to have two yellow labs. You are so stupid. Did you have the puppy checked out by the vet?
    Sunny morning kennel isn't a puppy mill. Lynn is a honest breeder. I had her checked out. She is the best corgi breeder.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Boston_terror_mommy May 04, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Lynn mourning is a fake. She is a puppy mill no doubt about it! Who sells puppys out of a van in a parking lot. You can't see the kennels where the puppys were born. Its not allowed. You see them on the day you buy them. Or in pics she sends u. That aren't even pics of the actual puppy ur getting. I bought a Boston terror from her last year. She lied about his age. He wasn't a pure breed. He's been sick with infections an eye infections 3 times in less than a year. Maybe she takes better care of other puppys. But I've heard nothing but bad horrible things about her. An true breeders don't bread 10 different types of dogs. They stick to one or two. An when I called to talk to her about my puppy she said she was selling her kennel. That was a HUGE red flag. I should of known better when she showed up in a van with cages on top of each other. But we fell in love with the helpless little Boston. Who we now call Titan

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Jonsmith12 Jun 20, 2012

    We bought a dog from them in Aug of 2005. A beautiful Maltese who has had 3 surgeries. Patella surgery on each back knee. This is a common issue with the breed and small dogs and I do not necessarily blame them for it.

    However, when she was a puppy we also had to take our dog in for surgery to deal with vascular necrosis on the right femur - a hereditary issue. I called the owner to tell her that she should stop breeding the parents together as our vet said this would continue to happen. I also asked her to warn the other people who bought dogs in the same litter. It would have been the right thing to do to warn the others so they could spot the issue if it arose with their dogs. Maybe save them some anxiety - though the surgery and recovery was brutal.

    Her response to me was that her vet said it was not hereditary and she refused to tell the other owners or stop mating the parents. She acted unethically. Also, she has a very nasty personality, but that is not as relevant.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dogrescue Dec 19, 2012

    I bought a yorkie from this "kennel" in 2003. He is approx 15 lbs (very large for a yorkie) but healthy and I wouldn't trade him for the world. I asked to visit the kennel before we purchased the pup and was told no which is a huge red flag. Any reputable breeder will / should allow you to visit the kennels (meet the mother etc). Also, how many breeders do you know that "specialize" in breeding many different breeds? I've been reading the posts here and you've got Boston's, Corgi's, Yorkie, Maltese, what else?!? Anyone who is denying that this is a puppy mill just doesn't want to accept that they bought an inbreed dog where the mother and father are currently living in a cage & will live for the rest of their productive lives. The parents likely have never played with a toy/been on a walk or much less walked in the grass. I regret every day that I supported this puppy mill and I am doing my best to repent by volunteering with dog rescue groups. Please DONT BUY FROM THIS "KENNEL"

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roberta Dey Feb 04, 2013

    I've used Sunny Morning twice and both times received a dog that was in great physical shape, lovely little critters that are adored by my family.

    Of course they had crates stacked up in the back of the van. Geez! Did you expect puppies running around loose where they could get hurt?

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daisy lover May 12, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We bought a Basset Hound from Sunny Morning Kennel. Our dog was so infested with worms it took months to get rid of them. They even traveled up to the sphincter of her bladder. That is how badly she had them. She had months of diarrhea and bleeding in her stools. She was so severely underweight you could count all of her vertebrae and Ribs. The vet said a dog of her age should have weighed in the double digits, she weighed 4 1/2 pounds. As she grew we began to notice a deformity in her left front leg. Our vet explained it is a hereditary defect, and she would love to see the parents. Our puppy was so sick, and underweight the vet stated if we had not gotten her when we did she most likely would have died. So even though we paid for her I feel as if we rescued her as well. This is a puppy mill. We bought her due to our ignorance about breeders. I would never have returned her or refused her, that would have meant a death sentence. We chose not to have the multiple surgeries on our dogs leg (that's what it would have taken to fix it). Our Daisy is 3 now and we have been told she will have early arthritis in her leg. We give her supplements to help with her joints now. It makes me sad money motivates this women more than healthy puppies. Lets Stop the cycle...DO NOT purchase anymore dogs from her.

    0 Votes
  • Or
    oralia84 Oct 21, 2013

    So, I just randomly looked up Lynn Mourning of Sunny Morning Kennels just to see if she had a website. However, this was the first page to show up on my Google search which I immediately clicked on to read more. First of all, I bought a 2 month old male yorkie from her 9 years ago, and I am blessed to have a very healthy dog. Of course I didn't know too much of the dangerous conditions of what a puppy mill entailed back then, when I was just a teenager, but I don't regret having my little guy in my life.

    Did anyone ever confirm if indeed this was a puppy mill? I did another search to verify this with no results, however since I can't find her contact info posted anywhere, I can only assume it was and she no longer does this for a living.

    I will be sure to do more research in the future when I decide to get another dog, or better yet go to my local shelter...

    0 Votes
  • 14
    142Candid May 09, 2014

    I bought a pug from Lynn Mourning 6 years ago but I was met off the highway at a hotel that was supposedly pet-friendly (it was actually no longer in business) The man with the puppies asked "what breed are you getting?" I was like, "how many breeds do you have in that van?" It smelled horrible and I was supposed to pick from a litter of four but the other two had "scratched eyes" ... Major red flags, but I wanted a pug puppy so bad and I had traveled far...so I bought her anyways. Jellyfish was in perfect health until age 4 when I got her spayed; she was allergic to the anesthetic and almost died. Ever since, she is allergic to everything, poor itchy pup :( Her temperament and intelligence are great. I don't know if she is a puppy mill puppy, and I doubt I could pin her allergies on that even if she was. Pugs are notorious for allergies. I would want to drive to the actual place and see for myself if I was thinking about purchasing a puppy from them again.

    0 Votes
  • Ii
    Iiadoreyooh2009 Jul 06, 2015

    I purchase my yorkie from Lynn in 2009. I was giving an address and the day before pick up they changed the location to a gas station off i 57 due to another family was picking up their pet and it wqs closer to me . A man had all the paperwork and vaccine records and showed me 2 females their was 6 crates in the back of a van. I had 48 hours to take her to my vet for a check and She was 8 weeks old and had a parasite of giradia which isn't no big deal easy to treat. She had an umbilical hernia corrected when she was spayed at 6 months. When she was two she was dignosed with a luxating patella's in both knees had the left knee corrected the right knee is a lower grade doxtor said we can hold off till she shows signs of pain or limping. Just today she is 6 and had to have a Fho in her right hip corrected. Doctor says both hips are bad and will both need to be corrected . She is my million dollar dog and I have fallen completely in love with her and I don't regret purchasing her but i hate seeing her in pain and going threw all theses surgeries to correct cogrnital defects. I would never buy another dog from Lynn again. She was nice and very informational on the phone but these are alot of congenital issues with my pet and any reputal breeders make sure theses problems aren't bred.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dominic P Jul 29, 2017

    I bought a yorkie teacup back in June 2008 for my finance for her birthday, and everything was time about the dog, expect two years later she came home and the dog was dead and we was both very hurt. The puppy was like our child and couldn't figure out what was the cause for her death. Today I was looking online to purchase another dog from sunny mourning kenell, but after seeing this I want answers to what happened to my dog now. I can be contacted at [email protected] or by cell at 7734921690. Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chrissy O'Malley Jan 04, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I hope this is false news. I have two min pins from Lynn. One is 15 the other is 9 1/2 now. Love them to pieces. They both had a rare cancer and surgery happened and I still have my two dogs.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem