The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
SuaveCaused Hair loss

Suave Professionals Dry Shampoo caused major hair loss for me. At first I LOVED it, however after a few months I noticed that my hair was getting thinner and thinner, then I noticed balding patches on the areas where I mostly concentrated on using the dry shampoo. I have very oily hair so this was a god sent, now I am left with bald patches trying to figure out where to go from here. I went to a dermatologist who said that the dry shampoo sucks up the oil leaving it on your scalp therefore clogging your hair follicles making the hair fall out and stunting regrowth. As of today I am starting to use Nizoral shampoo which is for dandruff (I don’t have dandruff, but the Dr told me this will help with regrowth because it will reopen the clogged follicles). I spoke to my friend who was also using the Suave Professionals Dry Shampoo (on my recommendation) and was complaining of her hair thinning. I just told her and she said that she started noticing the hair loss since she has been using the product. It may work at first, it may be a great price, but the lasting effects are unbearable. I am so self conscience now and can not wait for my hair to grow back.

Responses

  • Pf
    Pfen04 Aug 15, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OMG! I can't believe after 2-3 years this stuff is still on the market. It like happened all of a sudden. I had thick beautiful hair. I used to wash it everyday and was told no need just use dry shampoo in between. I have been doing that for about 3 months now and used the Sauve dry shampoo. My hair is so thin now and the amount I have swept up of my bathroom floors is ridiculous! This was the only thing that had changed with my hair. So I thought I would look up hair loss using sauve dry shampoo and found all these comments. Thank goodness I think I have figured it out and can now try to reverse it. But from all my research I'm looking at a good year before it really starts to grow back. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. No wonder it was on clearance at target.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    clk9872 Aug 17, 2016

    I've been trying to fix the damage done by Suave's Dry Shampoo for what feels like forever. Is there anything we can do? A lawsuit? I'm young and have noticeably thin hair thanks to Suave! They should pay up! 💰💰

    1 Votes
  • Li
    LisaLGS Aug 10, 2016

    My hair recently started falling out too. (Last couple months) I've used it for a couple years and I thought it was great because I have fine, oily hair, but the hair loss has become ridiculous. I barely have any thickness now. So, i looked this up to see if others were having the same problem, obviously yes. I must stop using it and hope my hair grows back but I'm 51 and my hair doesn't come back like it used to. Really sucks!

    0 Votes
  • Pn
    pnw1 Jan 12, 2015

    I have always washed my hair every day, and it's been just fine. I have fine hair, but A LOT of it, along with a coarse texture. I mostly style every day, but use good products and protectants, so my hair is soft and healthy. I decided to jump on the dry shampoo bandwagon, and started using the Suave Professionals Moroccan infusion dry shampoo. I started noticing hair loss in the shower on the days that I washed my hair, but figured since I was washing every other day, I was bound to lose more hair on the days I did shampoo. Until one day, my hair was just thin, really thin. I've had three kids, so I know what hormonal hair loss is like. This was different; my hair was only thinning along the lines where I sprayed the dry shampoo. I had only been using it for maybe three months? Anyways, I stopped using it and my hair has stopped falling out. I'm of the belief that nothing makes hair grow way faster except time, but I did add 1000mcg of Biotin to my vitamin routine, and am trying to eat more fruits/veggies, and drink more water. I hope for the hair to grow back in over the next 6-12 months, but the hair that I do have is so much softer after adding in the Biotin. There is also a class action against the Suave Keratin shooting treatment for major hair loss, so none more Suave for me - ever!

    1 Votes
  • An
    Annncchap Jan 06, 2015

    I also now have major thinning hair and bald spots in my hair directly where I have been spraying the suave dry shampoo and not your mothers clean freak dry shampoo. I thought I was crazy until I researched this online and have found numerous complaints. I'm stopping the dry shampoo altogether and these companies should be held accountable for this. Now I am scared my hair will not grow back and never be the same again!

    2 Votes
  • As
    ashleymo Jun 02, 2014

    @True373 - how long did it take to regrow your hair? I am having the same issue - balding crown area - but did not realize it was the suave dry shampoo until around five months ago. Still has not grown back?! Would like to hear if anyone else has grown back and how long?

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    true373 Mar 11, 2014

    I used Suave dry shampoo sprays for 12 weeks, & it caused also HAIR LOSS in me. I am absolutely positive this product caused it because during this time period I had absolutely no other changes in my lifestyle or product use. My parts became wider, the front corners of my hairline started to recede, & a bald patch started to form at the crown of my head. I discontinued use of this product & my hair is now filling back in. ALSO ladies- if you have hair loss & need to grow it back in, try taking daily: 5000mcg biotin, a multi-vitamin, 3000 mg fish oil, massage the scalp, try a natural thickening shampoo like Avalon Organics Biotin B-Complex Shampoo, do not brush or comb wet hair, avoid blow-drying & avoid keeping hair pulled tight as in ponytails.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JackieVer Nov 11, 2013

    I used the shampoo for around a week or two and i lost about half the hair in my bangs. Im only 17 and have hair loss thanks too this product. I DO NOT recommend this product. Yes it looks clean but is it worth the dry rubber texture and extreme hair breakage ?

    0 Votes
  • Qw
    Qwertyuio Jun 04, 2013

    This stuff made my hair fall out too!! I had such wonderfully thick hair, and after using up one can of Suave dry shampoo, I started noticing my hair getting very thin and bald spots forming. I am FURIOUS!! Will it grow back? Do all dry shampoos cause this or just Suave? (I did not notice hair loss with Batiste brand)

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    JManis Feb 28, 2013

    I had the same unfortunate result of major hair loss after using this product. I purchased the dry shampoo to take on a trip to India and used it several times over a three week period. After two weeks my hair began to fall out. At first I thought it was from the stress of travel, but then when I got home I thought about the possibility of this product causing the problem and decided to do a web search on "hair loss caused by dry shampoo." I feel just as self-conscious as the others who have posted here about my bald spots. This is a terrible situation. Please do not use this product.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    J. Lynne Feb 08, 2013

    I noticed the same thing as Tracey O'leary. I love the Suave Dry Shampoo! It made my hair look thicker, and I didn't have to wash as often. But then bald patches started appearing and I wondered if it was this product! I went to my Dermatologist, he said the very same thing. It clogs the follicles! They should put a warning on that label! "Not for prolonged use. I have to wear a baseball every where now. Its taken a toll on my self esteem! Glad I'm not alone.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Cheri May 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    last week while i was out, i figured i would buy Suave Professionals smoothing Kit, My hair is ruined . It looks like it was stripped, I now can not wear it down, its looks terrible. My hair is worst then it ever was!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.