The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Starlite RagsSelling sick kittens

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

She sends sick cats! Her cattery is infested with Feline Herpes!

We received two kittens from her 9 months after we sent her a check! Finally had to threaten her with my lawyer to send them! We asked for a female and a male and got two males. Not a problem I will love any animal! But we paid more for a female! We received the kittens and they were very sick 1/4/16. So like she recommended we took them to the vet. She also replied "They have a cat cold and its on its way out". Why would you send sick cats? We would have understood if she had better communication with her clients. We had every test imaginable done to get to the bottom of what these poor sick babies had. The tests came back positive for Feline Corona Virus(Feline coronavirus (FCoV) is a positive-stranded RNA virus that is infectious to cats worldwide.) Which can lead to FIP which is fatal! They also have Mycoplasma(mycoplasmas can cause feline diseases such as feline conjunctivitis, lower respiratory tract infections, and polyarthritis). But that's not all! They also have Feline Herpes(Feline viral rhinotracheitis (FVR) is an upper respiratory infection of the nose and throat in cats. It is caused by, and also know as feline herpesvirus 1 (FHV-1). Cats of all ages are susceptible, but kittens are at a higher risk and may be infected at about five weeks of age.). All of these are only transmitted by other cats. We have no other cats or animals. So it had to come from her! All of her cats are passing it around. Using the same litter box and drink from the water dishes is enough to transmit it. I am one very pissed off person! How can this woman be such an animal herself to sell sick and potentially dying kittens! Shame on you(ANN)! DO NOT BUY KITTENS OR CATS FROM THIS WITCH!!! I will copy a letter written by my veterinarian at the bottom of this page! I have already contacted the board at TICA!

The Scaredy Cat Hospital [protected]
10618 N. 71st Place Scottsdale, Arizona 85254


www.scaredycats.com
[protected] (Fax)


Wednesday, January 13, 2016

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is in regards to my recent examination and diagnostic findings of two kittens recently purchased by Mrs Alexandra Valentine. The kittens referenced are Winston a 14 week old Ragdoll born 10/05/2015 and Addison (Bean) a 13 week old Ragdoll born 10/12/2015. Mrs Valentine states the kittens were exhibiting signs of an upper respiratory infection when she first received them, which was four days prior to bringing them to our clinic.

The following are the results of testing we have performed on both kittens. A Fluorescein Ophthalmic Dye test was performed on Winston’s eyes and was negative. Additional diagnostic testing submitted on Winston and Bean included a Feline Serology (FeLV/FIV/FeCo) and a Feline Upper Respiratory Pathogens Profile. Results indicated that Winston and Bean are positive for Feline Corona Virus (1:400 titer), Feline Herpesvirus (FHV-1), and Mycoplasma felis. Appropriate antibiotic therapy has been initiated initiated and includes Minocycline and continuation of Viralys for both kittens. Treatment is ongoing.

Sincerely,


Angela Wood, DVM

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Responses

  • Merlin Slocumb   Feb 24, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    She sends sick cats! Her cattery is infested with Feline Herpes!

    We received two kittens from her 9 months after we sent her a check! Finally had to threaten her with my lawyer to send them! We asked for a female and a male and got two males. Not a problem I will love any animal! But we paid more for a female! We received the kittens and they were very sick 1/4/16.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ragdoll Breeder Nov 10, 2016

    The above complaint was written by Alexandra Brown of Mesa Arizona. Her complaints contain numerous false statements and lies put forth in an attempt to defame me and my cattery. I'm asking you as a viewer to please read my statement and research my cattery before judging. I have a face book page with hundreds of photos, and some videos. You can see for yourself that my cats and kittens are healthy and well cared for. I also have a website with photos and information. First let me tell you about myself. I am a wife, mother and grandmother. I have worked hard my entire life, raised in a small town, and have currently been breeding Ragdolls exclusively for almost 25 years now. I am a breeder member in good standing with the following Ragdoll breeder clubs; RFCI Ragdoll Fanciers Club International, Ragdoll International (founding member), Ragdoll Fanciers World Wide(founding member), breeder member TICA(The International Cat Association). My cattery is registered in TICA(The International Cat Association) and ACFA(American Cat Fanciers Association). All of my kittens are spayed/neutered/vaccinated prior to placement. I do my best to be a responsible breeder in all respects.

    First Alexandra Brown did NOT purchase the kittens from me, she received them free third hand. The woman who purchased the kittens had major health issues and could not care for the kittens, so she gave them to her son, who gave them to his girlfriend Alexandra Brown (Valentine). I shipped the kittens in January, our coldest month in Wisconsin, the kittens spent 9-11 hours in a kennel from start finish. About a week after shipping one of the kittens came down with a cold, and Alexandra Brown contacted me. I offered to pay for an antibiotic, as that would be a reasonable thing to do. No that was not acceptable to her, she demanded I return full payment, plus shipping costs and that I pay vet bills for the life of the kittens. (Her words exactly). She also swore at me repeatedly on the phone and voice mail, and sent me nasty texts and emails, even after I requested that she stop.

    Let me tell you want Alexandra Brown (Valentine) has done to me. She posted this letter on complaints board (impossible to ever remove), and Yelp. She wrote to every breeder club and cat registry that I belong to and states that she wants to shut me down. She has publicly and privately smeared my reputation. This is NOT a nice person. She also states that they purchased a male and a female and that I sent two males, this is NOT true. The purchaser originally ordered a male and female, and then approved the substitution of a male for the female, because the female was not ready to go. I refunded the purchaser $250 which was the cost difference of which I have a copy of the cashed check. All of my statements can be proven by emails between me and the original purchaser.

    Kittens have an immature immune system, and are very susceptible to catching colds. They receive natural immunity from their mothers milk, and after weaning their bodies must build their own antibodies. This when they are at highest risk to catch colds, and then add to that the stress of shipping and re-homing most reasonable people an understand how it can happen.

    FACT: The feline herpes virus and feline corona virus are in 80-90% of the general feline population, be it from a breeder, shelter or farm, most cats carry these virus's. There is NOT a cattery in the world that will test negative for these two diseases. A positive result does not reflect poorly on the cattery, the key is proper management. For the most part they are relatively harmless, but can cause cold like symptoms. They are easily treatable with broad spectrum antibiotics.

    One last thing, Alexandra Brown Valentine also attached a letter from Scaredy Cats hospital to her complaint. She did not have permission from the vet to post their letter in a public format for malicious purposes. The vet wrote the letter for insurance purpose only and they are upset to find out that their letter has been used in such a manner. I have been in contact with the vet and have their support, and can prove that via email.

    The kittens passed a veterinary exam prior to shipping this is a USDA certificate that proves they were not sick when I shipped them. I'm upset that I have to defend myself and my cattery this way online. Alexandra Brown Valentine has caused significant harm to my reputation. It is morally and legally wrong to do this to another human being.

    -1 Votes
  • Sn
    Snopwball Dec 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband and I purchased a kitten from Ann 8 years ago. Our involvement with Starlite Rags has been nothing but good.
    Ann has been available any time we had questions about our kitten. Snowball is now our Adult Cat and is wonderful. If we were to purchase another kitten in the future it would be from Ann at Starlite Rags. I would recommend anyone to Ann.
    Grace and Greg Boncher De Pere, Wi

    -1 Votes
  • Ar
    arlene marshasck Jul 17, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have purchased 3 ragdoll kittens from Starliterags. My first one lived 21 years, andsadly just had to let her go due to advanced kidney failure. My 2nd ragdoll, I had for 18 years before He got really sick from kidney failure.
    Last year, I bought another gorgeous ragdoll, who was brought into my home which already had 3 cats and there was instant love from the other cats. He gets the 4 year old twins to play now instead of just laying around.
    Ann is very helpful and caring. I know whenever I have a problem or question, I email her and she responds quickly.
    As far as I am concerned there is not better breeder around.
    Thank you, Ann for breeding such beautiful and loving and HEALTHY kittens.
    Arlene

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CatnipSquirrel Nov 21, 2020

    I'm sorry for your experience. I just wanted to validate that this breeder is very rude and unprofessional if you question her.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.