The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Special-t-travelRIP OFF/SCAM

J Review updated:

On 3-31-08 i bought a package from special t travel they offer me package with the following :

4/3 orlando
3-2 daytona
7 day rental or 2 one day theme park ticket
orlando magic card
sterling casino cruse ticket
and offer me a bonus if i buy the package. my bonus will be 5days 4 nights cancun, mexico*******sound too good to be true huh***well let me tell you it is **I decided to book my trip to cancun with them they charge my bank account $786.00 in febuary 2009 for my trip to mexico ***due to the economicy my husband lost his job. my vacation plans change i call to cancell my trip march 5 2009. I was told to put my cancellation in righting and fax it to them. I did that march 9, 2009. I call 5 days later and was told by the a customer service rep the refund will get back to my account in 3 weeks ***3 weeks past i did not see my refund to my bank account . I decided to call 1 weeks later and happen to speak with the person who book my reservation her name is DENESE. I told her i was suppose to get a refund and i did not recieved it. she stated i need to speak with ANGIE she is the one who does refund. I was transfer to her voicemail left a message for her to call me regarding my refund 4 days have gone by and i did not get no call back. I decided to call and request to speak to ANGIE i was told to give it a week and the refund will be in my account . I call back on 5/15/09 my call was answer by DENESE i told her i did not recieved by refund yet and need to speak to ANGIE BOSS. she place me on hold and transfer me to Angie voice mail i did not leave no message. i call back right away and i get angie on the line i ask her the status on my refund she stated she did not see the refund was done and that not to worry the refund will get to me . I request to speak with her boss she stated her boss is out of town. I ask her for him phone number she said call the same number you call and ask for GARRY FIELD. I told her to transfer me to his voice mail she did . I left him a message regarding my issue and leave my phone # for him to contact me. Until today i did not get a call back . Mind you this is the owner of the company i was told by ANGIE. I think this company is a scam a bunch of liers that work there. In my life i will never do business with them again.

Responses

  • Ro
    robin sider Dec 27, 2009

    I had a similar experience. The trip that was to only cost $799.00 ended up costing over $2000.00. READ THE FINE PRINT. Better yet, don't buy the package. There are extra charges if you do not travel during down times. Down time consists of about 50 days in the year.

    -1 Votes
  • Di
    Diana Johanson Aug 19, 2019

    @robin sider Same thing happened to me. No matter how much money I paid I still got phone calls. Finally this company Neu Tele Solutions assisted me in cancelling all of my accounts for only $118 bucks. You think you are renewing the same vacation and they are really selling you a new one. One vacation turned into 11 for me.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Still_Waiting Mar 11, 2010

    I have had the same experience. After canceling with Denise was told it would take 45 to 60 days. Contacted them again, was told to contact Angie, left message and she does not return calls. 4 month's later, Still do not have refund!!

    Would NOT recommend this company.

    0 Votes
  • Ns
    NSDQ160th_1_big_pissed_mofo Sep 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    holy s**t! i was scammed to buy it and gave them my cc but i was told before they can put it thru, the verification dept has to call me to confirm. I still have not talked to the verification dept. I don't think they can charge me. the verification dept call me 3 x's trying to record my approval. i haven't done it. i told AMEX about it but they said don't worry for now.. holy [censored]rs!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diana Johanson Aug 19, 2019

    @NSDQ160th_1_big_pissed_mofo Don't believe them!!! They are just trying to sell you a brand new vacation trust me!!! This sweet lady name Michelle helped me get out u of this. You are supposed to be able to renew one time for free. Call her if you like [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Js
    jsimmo226 Dec 13, 2010

    I paid 250. for 3/4 day stay in Daytona, FL. Couldn't make the date and extended it for another 250. this included a cruise to the Bahamas. Well I haven't taken the trip and they won't refund my credit card. They had the nerve to ask for more $ to extend it another year. Glad I found this website.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daddyjuadro Dec 21, 2010

    I am in a similar, if not exactly the same, situation as the complaint and comments posted by 13DEC10. I paid $597, went nowhere, don't want to go anywhere and don't need to explain reasons for having no desire to deal further with Special-T-Travel. A lawyer advised me to be thankful I've only lost $597.
    (BEWARE, Dear Reader: Special-T-Travel doesn't care what happens to you after it collected the money from your credit card).
    As I write this COMMENT, I see there are 12 other COMPLAINTS, at this website, regarding Special-T-Travel.
    Please let me know if there is a class action lawsuit ... my situation goes back so many years I can't recall the details and the paperwork is buried.

    0 Votes
  • La
    lapiz Jan 04, 2011

    something I smell and it was not a good fish, I kind knew it was some kind of scam, I don't know how or why I fall for this, if the internet will tell you evething, I just gave my info few hrs ago on 1/03/11 and sometimes the timeshares has a good deal but after reading the review, don't like any part of it, I will cancelled everything, and thank u! for those reviews, not a good company

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    travel2011 Jan 16, 2011

    December 29, 2010 through January 12, 2011. Special T Travel, t/a Travel Partners located in Jensen Beach, Fl.
    I purchased the "deal" on my AMEX card. The sales person's name given to me was a certain "Harvey Rogers" who after I consented to review the package transfered me to a person for the purpose of a recorded verification. The entire process was high pressure and in my opinion unethical and unprofessional.
    The package is as follows:
    1.4days/3 nights in Orlando
    2. Orlando magic $500 gift card
    3. 7 day car rental from Enterprise at Orlando Int'l
    4. 3days/2 nights Daytona Beach
    5. Premium Cruise 3nights/4 days.
    All I had to do was listen to a 90 minute seminar after the cruise.
    I received the packet the first week in January 2011. I reviewed the information and decided not to move forward. I phoned Special T Travel and was told that I need to return the packet before a credit was issued. It was returned on January 7, 2011 certified mail with a return receipt. The return receipt was received by me January 14, 2011, with what appeared to be a certain "Angela Gum" the signature was difficult to read, however "Angela" was very clear. I notified AMEX of this incident and was issued a temp credit while AMEX opens an investigation. Stay away from this company known as Special T travel or Travel Partners.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Not something I need Mar 07, 2011

    Twice within less than a week I've received phone calls from Special-T Travel. The male caller told me I was notified in 2008 about this Florida vacation opportunity for up to 4 people (Orland & Daytona with an optional cruise to the Bahamas including a 90 minute timeshare presentation after the cruise) and my time to take advantage of it is expiring. For $298, they will extend the expiration for another 18 months. I explained to the guy that I already have a timeshare and have no interest in another. He assured me that all we have to do is sit through the 90 minute presentation - there's no pressure to buy because they don't want a bad reputation! Fortunately I begged off and didn't give any credit card information.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frankie J Apr 30, 2011

    These ###s called our home even though we're on the No-call-list. They tried to sell us a vacation package like those stated above but we told the agent we weren't going to take the deal because we wouldn't attend the 90 minute presentation. At this point the agent, who said her name was Andrea, put us on hold. Her boss Louis A. came back on and tried to scam us with the best line of BS he had but after we told him several times we weren't prepared to pay him the $299 to RESERVE our "special travel package" he hung up on us. This was a rude and childish way to handle our rejection.
    I learned later that the number showing up on our caller id was actually the number for Verizon's Florida 411 information line. If they call you and you'd like to have some fun with them...when they ask you if you have any questions, ask them how they sleep at night? Or, ask them if they have any self respect and/or sense of decency?

    0 Votes
  • Ns
    NSDQ160th_1_big_pissed_mofo May 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    bunch of coke soakers!

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Formerspecialtworker Jun 11, 2011

    I used to work in one of the travel roomsinboca raton, owned by a Jordan Hopkins. We were told to ignore all company rules and do whatever it takes to make the sale. The things the customers were told were basically all lies. It was really crazy and I felt bad for the consumers. He uses leads from expired accounts and convinces people to rebuy the pkg they already paid for. Then on the audio taped receipt he changed the real headquarters phone number to his so people who wanna cancel can't, cause the thirty days will expire before the poor suckers will realize they aren't speaking to the HQ people. Crazy stuff man! I got out and for leaving he kept my paycheck! You can't even call HQ either, cause they don't give a crap. All they wants money money money! The head lady there is Tish and she is a real Bi**h! SO NO ONE BUY FROM THEM. THEY HAVE A "F"RATING WITH THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU! And no wonder why!

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Formerspecialtworker Jun 11, 2011

    THE BEST WAY TO TAKE CARE OF THESE LOSERS IS TO CALL OR GO ONLINE TO THE FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND REPORT THEM. MOST OF THESE OFFICES HAVE NO LICENSES AND ALL THE EMPLOYEE FILES ARE ALL NOT DONE RIGHT TOO. IF THE DOA GOES IN THERE, THEY GET FINES A HUGE AMOUNT OF MONEY FOR EACH VIOLATION...SO CALL THE DOA, OR GO TO THEIR WEBSITE AND FIX THEM GOOD THAT WAY!! ASK FOR THE TOWN AND ADDRESS WHERE THEY ARE SELLING YOU FROM! GIVE THEM BACK WHAT THEY R DISHIN OUT TO YOU!!

    0 Votes
  • Bt
    B. Tate Feb 09, 2012

    I just purchased a pkg for 118 dollars, are the hotel stays any good I won't be using the cruise from what i heard it's not worth it, i feel like if i use at least two of the hotel stays in florida i will have broke even, since i only spent 118 dollars.

    0 Votes
  • Ns
    NSDQ160th_1_big_pissed_mofo Feb 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You must be a [protected]@[protected]@ss if u thought u made a good deal... U probably won't see any damn vacation!! Ur an idiot!!

    0 Votes
  • Ns
    NSDQ160th_1_big_pissed_mofo Feb 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Once u give ur credit card they will charge u [protected] dollars! Idiot!

    0 Votes
  • Ns
    NSDQ160th_1_big_pissed_mofo Feb 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What a [protected]@mbass!!

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    rustybrain May 08, 2012

    Special-T-Travel Run, Run, Run. Hang up, Don't listen to a word. This is a SCAM. They lie, they tell you anything they think you need to hear to get your money. Do Not Listen to them. They will call over and over--year after year. I called the Better Business Bureau and complained. They said they had a file on this company. This is BAD Business. Stay away from Special-T-Travel.

    0 Votes
  • Ns
    NSDQ160th_1_big_pissed_mofo May 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    this is funny.. they only called me 1 time and almost spent 15 mins to sucker me.. but they had NO luck! ha ha!

    0 Votes
  • Vd
    VDJ Jul 31, 2012

    They told me that for "298" I could extend my package for another 18 months...a package I never knew about. This whole time I'm thinking $2.98. Finally when "Jeri" takes me thru her whole spill about how they've been in business for 19 years and here's a website you can look at all our records on (which by the way says is not an official record right at the bottom of the page), she says the words "two hundred ninety-eight" and that's when I definitely pulled the plug. She had said that she would give me her office line and when I asked for it she said "I'm not going to accept a phone call for something you thought was $3, this is a $2600 package!" and I said "You're not going to ACCEPT my phone call???!!!" and that's when SHE decided to bow out of the conversation. Wasted my time!! Then I went searching and found all these reviews. Yes, mine was supposedly paid for 18 months ago (so why am I paying $300 again??), and included 4d 3n in Orlando, $500 Orlando Magic Card, 3d 2n in Daytona Beach and a bunch of other CRAP!!

    0 Votes
  • Ns
    NSDQ160th_1_big_pissed_mofo Jul 31, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Who's gonna be the next [protected]@ss??!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    BJW6 Sep 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Special T Travel keeps calling me trying to get me to extend my package. They say it came from my timeshare or exchange. I don't have an exchange and my timeshare does NOT share owners info. They lie, cheat and steal. The curise they were offering was a cruise to Grand Bahama Is. and accomodations on the Is. This is not a cruise. This cruise line went out of business and they said there is another. That one is a downgrade from Royal Carribean. We did Royal Caribbean and found that out. We had sent in our package to use just the accomodations so we would get something out of this package we bought. Then we find out they wanted more $. We gave up on the whole thing.

    We contacted the Florida dept of Ag. and e-mailed them and faxed them our info from Special T Travel. All the DoA did was write to Special T Travel and they wrote the DoA back that they didn't do anything wrong. I even talked to them on the phone and asked them to not renew their license but they must have because lately I have had 3 phone calls to extend my package. I tell them I'd never do business with them again. I even mentioned this package and the problem to some law school professors who didn't seem to think I could do anything about it as I paid for a package BEFORE I got the information.

    0 Votes
  • Ns
    NSDQ160th_1_big_pissed_mofo Sep 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    [censored]in bunch of losers!! Don't know what u r getting ur a$$ into!!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dennis Horstmann Jan 24, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    SCAMMERS DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR Credit CARD INFO under any circumstances. Even if you DO NOT ACCEPT THE AWARD when transferred to VERIFICATION PROCESS and review under AUDIO THET WILL STILL CHARGE YOU. Then when you call back after charges ..they don't know who you are. The customer service manager and staff are continued to be left go as from 2008 posting today they say the Customer service Manager is still ANGIE. By the way the young Customer service agent receptionists toay is named Christina. I call them daily to extend my concern to them!

    Received a call Jan 10, 2013 from an elderly gentleman aka (Mr Tom) telling me as a member of Wyndham Travel I had won a special travel package for a week in Florida. Explained all the features of this 3 part package. Starting with 3 days 2 nights in Orlanda right next to Disney and then Daytona, Fl and finally wrapping up this week in Ft Lauderdale. All at great top notch facilities and these 3 locations could be used all together over a week or split up into 3 trips. These could be eve transferred as gifts to my children or friends or relatives over 18 months or 1.5 years. Asked if interested in learning more. I listened and was asked if I was a member of AARP. I told them I was and they said this is even greater as you will get a even better seniors package. Besides this week at three locations it would include 4 days and 3 nights in Las Vegas and they told me that they would suggest the Luxor as it was their favorite. Also if qualified I would be given an extension to unlimited time restrictions to use of both these trips when ever I wanted and all could be transferred. I was told since I live in TX if I drove to FL they would swap out the free car rental for a free 2 day adult pass to me and my wife to Disney World. To go to the next level or agent all I needed to do was show I had credit and a card number. I would be under no obligation and that I would be explained all terms and conditions with a validation agent under recording to finalize this award package if interested. I asked how they were affiliated with Wyndham and was transferred to another lady that explained the Las Vegas senior package with no time restrictions. I was asked If I agreed to be transferred to a certification department again for review and agreement under recording. I was then transferred to this lady who read the terms and conditions and details and was asked if I had any questions or agreed. I said no I do NOT agree to the terms and wanted to know how they received my number and how they are affiliated to my time share Wyndham. I was starting to see through this story line. They were getting very east coast tone pushy andit put up a red flag to me. I was on line so Googled the name Special T Travel and phone numbers [protected] and [protected] they gave me and website www.Special-T-travel.com. I was told if I agreed to this under audio I would be given a member confirmation number that would be valid in 72 hours after cleared. I was again read the statements and asked if I agreed on tape and said no I have looked on line and do not see any association to my Wyndham Travel Club and politely said NO THANKS. I was then transferred to a high intense closer manager to understand why I was not interested and what was wrong. He was very pushy and said this was all legit and to try it under a no obligation for 30 days as they have all used this and it is great. I told him I believed they misrepresented me as members of Wyndham travel and as a senior and that everything on line showed this was a fraud and bad news. I saw a F BBB rating which said STAY away!! I said NO I am NOT interested an do NOT agree to Any terms and will not try a free 30 day no obligation period required to review. NO NOT Interested !!! and want to terminate this offer. I was transferred back to the audio lady again who said one more time do you want to agree and I said I guess you guys don’t understand NO. They were pushy and tried to get me to say yes. I said cancel and they agreed to cancel and not award me this package as it was my lose. I was not mailed or emailed anything from this company and they did not give me this special confirmation number or any package the last 2 weeks so I believed at their word that the opportunity was Closed an the award offer terminated.. I received my MasterCard bill last evening and saw the UNAUTHORIZED transaction of $199.00 on 01/10/2013 for Special T Travel. I have called and filed a dispute to Citi Master Card immediately last evening 01/22/2013 and closed my long time American Airlines Advantage credit card because of their unauthorized use of my card. They misrepresented their selves as affiliating this award as part of my Wyndham Travel Club and also believe they are targeting my timeshare and AARP senior citizens. I clearly said No not interested and agreed to nothing under their audio certification verification call . I clearly asked them to terminate this award which they regretfully agreed to. All I want is them to honor their word and refund my money for no award received!

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    A Crandall Apr 09, 2013

    after having the company on the phone for over a half hour while I read through the complaints above, (she reduced my cost from $198 to $133), reluctantly I said I don't think I will do all this travel, and she said you already have been on the phone now for 33 minutes and now you say you aren't going to travel? I said well, I just don't think I will travel all that much in 18 months. And she said you can extend it. I then kept reading the above complaints and then asked for refunds, she said I had to send back the package they mail... I eventually said I am going to say no. She said you are a [censored]ing Di** and then hung up on me.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marcos5 Sep 20, 2013

    All I can do is sympathize, and provide yet one more account in the hopes that it scares other people away from using this company. I don't want this to be too long, so here are just the facts:

    1) I got a call from these folks (in June 2013), and a travel package was described to me that sounded good, so I bought it.

    2) When the package came in the mail, it did not have all the destinations included which I'd been promised (and none of the ones I was actually interested in). I called them up, got instructions, and returned the package.

    3) I never received the confirmation I requested that they'd received the package, but when I called them back weeks later to ask what was up with it, they said it "can" take up to 30 days for the money to be refunded.

    4) Waiting that long (funny though that they wait all of one minute to TAKE your money!), I called them back again to ask why nothing had been returned yet. They didn't know, but would call "accounting" and have the money sent. I would see it in a few days, they said.

    5) Surprise, the money did not arrive. Repeat step 4.

    6) Surprise, the money did not arrive. Repeat step 5.

    As of this writing, I have not received a refund. And, since it has been so long, it is unlikely that VISA will honor such a dispute (which is maybe why they delay so long... so that you don't have any choice).

    TAKEAWAY: Do not do any business with these people. They are not honorable, are not always even reachable (and the "manager" never is). Just save yourself the annoyance and money.

    ----------

    P.S.--- I do not work for some competing travel firm, and am not writing this out of any personal motivation other than pure pissed-off-edness, the simple desire to warn people off of them, and for a little more justice in the world.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions