The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Smart Savings CenterUNAUTHORIZED CHARGES

MADE THE MISTAKE OF MAKING A SMALL ONLINE PURCHASE WITH SMART SAVINGS AND RACKED UP OVER $230 IN CHARGES TO MY ACCOUNT BEFORE I BEGAN TO NOTICE THE UNAUTHORIZED CHARGES. THEY ARE CROOKS AND YOU NEED TO BE AWARE. HOWEVER BEFORE YOU WILL FIND THIS LIKELY YOU WILL HAVE ALREADY BEEN TAKEN. SOMEONE NEEDS TO PUT UP A WEB SITE AND WARN THE WORLD BEFORE MORE OF THIS UNCONSCIONABLE CRIMINAL BEHAVIOR IN SUCH A BAD ECONOMY ROBS YET MORE PEOPLE!! SHAME ON THIS COMPANY. THEY WILL RECEIVE A WINDFALL OF ILL AS A RESULT.

Responses

  • Bh
    B. Hirkala Aug 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got scammed by by this organization. I found charges on my Visa even though I DID NOT give them my Visa #. I reprted this to local Police and sent them an Email telling them about my Police report, demanding a reversal of the charges, which I did receive. What scares me, is how did they get my Visa number?

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    nearlydouped Dec 15, 2009

    So far I haven't been charged anything unauthorized, but I also ordered a DVD from hotmoviesales.com and when I recieved my shipment, the invoice said "Thanks for signing up! Your Smart Savings Center membership is active and you can start saving right away!". I had no idea I had signed up for a membership. I called and cancelled it immediately.

    0 Votes
  • Dw
    Dwuan Martin Nov 14, 2009

    While in the process of paying a credit card bill, i noticed four consecutive payments of $19.95 billed to my account from a company called smart savings center. I have no ideal who they are, what they are, or how they got my credit card infomation.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    clreid Sep 21, 2009

    my wife ordered a book thinking she was saving some money. she never received the book and was billed $19.95 three months in a row. she cancelled last month, asked for a refund for the book and is continuing to be billed.what can we do.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stolen from in Texas Sep 09, 2009

    I agree with the other complaintants. I recently purchased books on Amazon and just discovered that I was being charged for a monthly book club which I did not sign up for and did not want. When I called the number on my charge card, the call center representative argued with me, refused to let me speak with a supervisor, refused to cancel my account and refund my money! When I asked for the corporate office information, he said he did not know it until I pushed and finally he gave it to me. I pulled the company name up on the Internet and saw all of the complaints. I would never recommend anyone do business with any of their companies and run if you see anything related to Smart Savings Center or www.discountbooksale.com. THEY ARE THIEVES, just as the previous person said.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Sabord Woods Sep 02, 2009

    I ordered a book from Amazon through their website. In a day or so, a charge appeared from Smart Savings Center. I have not consciously approved or authorized any charge from this entity. Today a second deduction ($19.95) appeared. How do I get rid of this monthly charge and get my money back?

    0 Votes
  • As
    Ashley allen Aug 05, 2009

    I bought a curious buddies dvd for my daughter from Smart savings center and got an excellent price and fast shipping on it, however they did not say that my account was going to be charged $20. everymonth from there on out, it was no where in the fine print even! Then today I found they had gone ahead and charged my credit card all kinds of fees etc. This is a Rip off!! I highly discourage anyone to buy anything from here!!

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amanda Shipman Jul 27, 2009

    My name is Amanda Shipman and a charge on my American Express Credit card each month for $12.00, Boca Raton, #MCS201RP. I would like to cancel this charge since I am not aware for the reason of the charge.

    Immediate attention to this matter would be greatly appreciated.
    My telephone is [protected]
    e-mail: [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shyron Jul 14, 2009

    I got charged 19.95 ny this people and I've never been to thier site.

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    ebuyingebuyer Jun 25, 2009

    Unauthorized charges to card.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    drogba Apr 25, 2009

    Hotmoviesale.com is what got me. A $5 dollar discount apparently signed me up for their membership. They only ended up charging me a dollar a month for the past four months but it still makes me mad. Getting your money back is simple enough. Just call the number on the charges. Don't do the automatic cancellation, get put on with a representative. When I asked the lady about the charges she told me I had apparently already cancelled the service, just a few days ago in fact so I didn't need to do anything more. I asked to be reimbursed and she said I already had, apparently for the 1st payment during the trial period. She seemed to be unaware that their were additional charges and when I told her their were she asked me how much I was charged as if they don't have a record of that or something. It felt like I was just throwing out a number and she was hoping I missed a charge somewhere. She then had to check the system to see if I could be given a $4 reimbursement which I was and that was it. Its not a lot of money but I don't want those scammers keeping it.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    vanstaverns Apr 23, 2009

    They pulled the same scam on us. I'm going to notify Amazon of this fraud, and I suggest you do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    timfc Apr 02, 2009

    This company has been charging me $30.95 per month for a "membership fee" since January. They claim that I requested a membership when ordering a DVD from Amazon.com. I have called and been assured that I would get a full refund and my "membership" would be cancelled. They are still charging my credit card each month. This is a sleaze-ball company.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    TREADSTONE08 Mar 30, 2009

    REGARDING THE SMART SAVINGS CENTER.I WORKED FOR THE PROGRAM FOR ABOUT 3 YRS NOW. THIS IS A DEEP COVER UMBRELLA PROGRAM FOR THE NATIONAL SECURITY AGENCY FOR THE INFORMATION OF THE PREVIOUS CUSTOMERS WHO SIGNED UP UNKNOWINGLY TO THE PROGRAM. LET THE BUYER BEWARE AS THE ADAGE GO. BUT THE CENTER IS NOT A SCAM CENTER PER SE, THIS IS A LEGIT COMPANY WORKING IN COORDINATION WITH THE NATIONAL SECURITY AGENCY AND THE DEFENSE INTELLIGENCE AGENCY FOR ABOUT A DECADE NOW. I AM A SENIOR ANALYST WITH THE PROGRAM. IF YOU WANT TO KNOW MORE ABOUT IT JUST EMAIL ME AT [email protected] THE NAME CONKLIN.

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    aa6qn Mar 30, 2009

    I fell for the same thing. As did many others by looking at [redacted] online. It is classic case of phishing online. There are those who do read the fine print and cancel the subscription prior to the 7 day grace period. Unfortunately for me I did not catch it before being charged (which increases with time). SMARTSAVINGSCENTER is associated with XACTI.COM
    BEWARE!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jerry Mar 29, 2009

    The Same Thing Happened To Me. I Can't Get RiD of These People.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trela Mar 21, 2009

    The same thing happened to me, I was charged one additional dollar upon processing, and an additional dollar every month even after I had canceled the membership, I had to call a second time for them to “really” cancel this time. Don’t fall for this scan!!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jessicer420 Mar 04, 2009

    You are going have to call the company and cancel. Get the persons name who you spoke with and a confirmation number. If they say they will send it in an email, don't let them! Get it from them! They will keep charging and the amount will go up to 29.95. File a dispute after you cancel...not before! That's the only way they will stop. I've canceled two cards...but they kept charging me!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sharcota Mar 03, 2009

    i can't rmember what i ordered, but i cancelled this account and i was charged 1.00 this month on my credit card. please credit this to my account ASAP

    thank you
    sharonh hooks

    0 Votes
  • Bc
    BC1 Feb 28, 2009

    Fraudulant charges made to credit card account. I am working with credit card company to resolveas soon as possible.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bealey Wheeler Feb 27, 2009

    ordered movies from hotmoviesale.com and was charged for membership with smart saving center. Did not authorize.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bazzett Feb 25, 2009

    bought 1 dvd and now my bank account is overdrawn cause they have charged me 3 times 29.95 this is insane and unlawful

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Jones Feb 19, 2009

    my wife is a school teacher and she wanted a specific movie for use in her classroom. I found a goood deal on the internet, so I ordered the movie . I later received an email stating it had been back ordered . Approximately a month later I received another email stating they could no longer get this movie but I'm being charged a membership fee anyway.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joyce A. McLaughlin Feb 19, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently purchased a book for $ 12.97 on 2/6/09 and on 2/12/09 my checking account was debited for $ 29.95 plus $1.00 on 2/5/09. I don't know how they manage to put this in without people realizing that it is a SCAM. I just hope my account is not charged $ 29.95 a month. Buyer BEWARE!!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vicki Brooks Feb 17, 2009

    My account with your company was terminated as of January 22, 2009. Spoke to rep. Ray and given cancellation reference # [protected]. As of this date no other charges should have been taken from my debit card. A $1.00 charge was taken out of my account on February 3, 2009, WHY IS THAT????? Please rectify this situation as soon as possible. Thank you very much. Sincerly, Vicki Brooks

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sharon huie Feb 15, 2009

    nothing else

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sharon huie Feb 15, 2009

    i am very upset with these people, i am tired of being used and ripped off and i want to put a stop to it. that is my attitude!!! and i have made copies of everything i have written to you.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sharon huie Feb 15, 2009

    i did not give you permission to charge my account 29.95, you did this without my permission, and my husband is a lawyer and he said you better put my money back into my account, and do not ever take anymore money out again.if you do not put the money back into my account or refund me the money ASAP. he will be taking legal action against you for doing this without my permission.i better hear from you very soon, or he is going to start actions. my email is [email protected] i will be waiting for your message on my email or a check in the mail very soon like this friday 2/20/09. or else !!!thanks sharon you will be caught from doing this to anyone else like i have been reading.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Victor Stollar Feb 15, 2009

    I have been billed $29.95 for "membership" for each of the last two months. These charges were never authorized. I never joined any such organization.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Goran Feb 14, 2009

    By placing an order with Hot movie sales.com your credit card will be billed $29.95 for a bogus membership to something called smart savings center. The charge is hidden and you won't know about it until you receive your credit card bill. Good luck in trying to get this charge taken off your bill. I am still trying. You will have to try and contact Smart savings center to have the bogus membership canceled. Again good luck on getting someone to answer the phone at this scam operation.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Luthers Feb 05, 2009

    I DONT THINK YOU SHOULD CHARGE MY ACCOUNT FOR 29.95 W/O MY AUTHORIZATION.ALSO 1.00..I DIDNT GET ANYTHING FROM THIS... I WANT MY MONEY BACK.. DONT TOUCH MY ACCOUNT..I TRIED TO CALL YOU NOT LONG AGO.. YOU PUT ME ON HOLD TOO LONG...I BETTER HEAR FROM YOU.. YOU BETTER REFUND MY MONEY AS SOON AS POSSIBLE... THANKS
    MY E MAIL ADDRESS IS [email protected] Louise

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angelica Medina Feb 01, 2009

    I made a purchase at smart savings center. com for $4.08 and now they had charged my account for $29.95 without my authorization and I am asking for my money back.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arlene Jan 18, 2009

    Smart Saving took out addtional charges on my credit card for a video i bought in december. I was billed for the video 22.15 on Dec 13. then on Dec 18 i had another charge of 29.95. The original bill was supposed to be 22.15. I dont understand why i have an additional charge here.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jess Dec 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    their number is [protected]. Great i just bought a book set from a completly diff. site and it says I have 7 days to cancel both the smart savings and the membership.I hope I dont run into all these problems but their address and phone number is the same as this smartsavingscenter.Now Im nervous

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    christinamiao69 Nov 10, 2008

    Very similar suituation, i ordered book for $9.99 and smartsaving charged me 3 times, first one is $1.00, i have no ideal what's one dollar for? Second is 10.81, i thought that is the book price and tax. Just after a weekend, i saw my online statement, there is a big surprise charge $29.95 from Smartsaving, who i am suppose to call, does any one know smartsavingcenter phone #?

    One thing i don't understand, i saw lots of complaitns on line, why like such company still there?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sheila Oct 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Rip off's. Don't fall for their scams. I have to change my bank account now so they can't scam me again. Please don't fall for it, be careful. They alure you by offering a amazing discount and then they don't provide the discount they offer, plus they charged me a $29.95 membership fee.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Aicher Oct 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For 2 months in a row now after purchasing books through amazon.com, our credit card was charged without authorization for services by smartsavingscenter.com. I called them to have the charges reversed and to have "our membership" canceled. We never authorized any membership. This happened to us about a year ago and I had to go through the same process.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.