Menu
SitterCity company logo
SitterCity
reviews & complaints

SitterCity
reviews & complaints

Learn how the rating is calculated

15 complaints
8 resolved 7 unresolved
File a complaint Table of contents
Claim listing
Is this your company? Claim it and get a lot of features. Read more
Click here to get notifications about new complaints of SitterCity. We promise not to send you any unrelated messages
Share
ADVERTISIMENT
G
9:53 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

SitterCity - services & billing

The most unethical billing ever. They do very little for their astronomical fees. I can also see there is almost no place to review them. Wonderful how you cannot tell the world about their scams. The bbb has numerous complaints and yet they have a a+ rating. Not that I put much faith in the bbb but how is it you have so many complaints and yet get that rating. They refused to refund me 3 billing cycles after I had canceled. They claim they never received anything. How easy is that to do when you use their site verses you own email? I never received a cancellation so I cannot prove I did cancel. I used to get routine emails as a member but when I canceled (again they claim I didn't and will probably comment here) I stopped receiving any emails. I would never recommend this company as they must make a lot of money doing relatively nothing. The only reason we used them is due to the fact our other service went under. We were very happy with them. With sitter city you do all the work to find sitters, background checks etc. Why would anyone pay this go-between company? Word of mouth is so much better. Do not use them! Just wait for the response. It will follow almost immediately after I post this. I'd bet my life upon it.

Read full review of SitterCity
Hide full review
C
10:30 am
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I created my sittercity profile in hopes of establishing connections and potentially getting a job position. Unfortunately I have received nothing but SPAM emails and now text messages from fake accounts stating they found me on the site and think it's a perfect fit. They have somehow gotten hold of my phone number and have now started texting me. In...

View 0 more photos
Read full review of SitterCity
B
9:27 am

SitterCity - this dog sitter job is not real

My daughter applied for this job & this lady has sent my daughter a picture of her family & dog, She said she would be moving to Memphis on Sept 4th, she gave an address of a vacant house.

She texted my daughter & told her she was mailing a check for over $2000 & wanted her to deposit it into her account via Atm or by computer. She gave my daughter a tracking number which is 9405501699320128630816 & the text number she text from is 804-999-2624. She told my daughter this check was for the dog supplies & she would need my daughters bank routing number & account number, Please check these people out. She is paying $25 per hour account to her job ad. in Memphis tn, it looks like she has one under MS too.

Read full review of SitterCity
Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
R
3:09 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
SitterCity has left an official reply on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I cancelled my account in December 2014. They have continued to charge my credit card after I terminated my account with them and my credit card had expired. To terminate an account, you have to submit a form. There is no email confirmation of me submitting this form so I cannot prove I terminated my account. Also, if you have a recurring charge, your...

Read full review of SitterCity
R
9:44 am
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I came to sittercity.com in hopes of a job after I lost mine.A man DAVID JONES emailed me saying I was a great fit and he was relocating back to my area and would love to send me a check to secure the babysitting position. I was weary and almost turned down a REAL job for this one and my saving grace was GOOGLING his ema addre...

Read full review of SitterCity
J
12:02 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

SitterCity - Not enough jobs

I have been a job-seeker at Sittercity twice. The first time I listed my babysitting/nannying profile for a while but closed it due to lack of real job openings. I ended up joining Care.com instead and found jobs right away. I am still on Care.com but out of curiosity, decided to re-open my Sittercity account a few weeks ago to broaden my chances for short-term/part-time work while I go to school; and with the hopes that this site had garnered more popularity. Well, it is the same situation as before-there are hardly any jobs available, especially compared to the previously mentioned site. The jobs that are posted (at least in my geographical area) are repetitive and the daily emails sent to me containing such jobs are the same-they email you the same positions almost everyday. Each day I log on, and with the exception of maybe one or two new positions added every week, it seems as though there aren't that many parents seeking caregivers on Sittercity. I am disappointed yet again not only in the lack of available opportunities, but also with how NOT user-friendly their website is. I had an issue with one aspect of my background check as well and it was difficult trying to find a customer service contact. I finally emailed (seems to be the only choice) customer service and although their response was prompt, it was very short, and impersonal. I feel as though they market their services to both care-seekers and care-givers very well, yet once you've joined, they pretty much leave you on your own with not much support if you should require it. I just closed my account for last time, and there wasn't even an option to leave a personal comment as for the reason why-I guess they don't really care what people think about them? Not sure. I will stick to Care.com only from now on.

Read full review of SitterCity
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
J
11:09 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

SitterCity - Untrustworthy Background Check

I just received word that my sitter city account was terminated due to the background check. I am a certified school teacher, who has passed numerous background checks far more extensive than what sitter city provides. Plus, I worked for a prominent temporary Nanny service in TX from 1998-2011 without any problems. This is rubbish. What a waste of time and money. I have not had any issues with care.com though. I am not going to try to remedy this problem with Sitter city either, as I bet it would just be more of a time-waster. I advise not using this website. It is a comfort to see that I am not the only one that has been through this. I just hope that my ssn & credit card info will be safe. Be careful when dealing with this company. I really am offended by how I was just treated after spending approximately $35 for the full background check. Be careful!

Read full review of SitterCity
Hide full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

SitterCity - Reviews

I'm a Sitter City nanny. Caregivers are not treated fairly and also get scammed out of money. Parents can leave a review and the only thing we can do is respond to the review. If the review is bad because a parent is mentally ill and thinks the world is out to get them then by the time we find out its to late. then we contact Sittercity asking to remove the review and they say they cant . I myself have spent over $130.00 on that site for back ground check and to be on the top of the list . If a parent can post a review I think especially if we are paying for the service to be able to warn other potential care givers of unstable families and parents.

Read full review of SitterCity
Update by Sandy101
May 19, 2013 1:29 pm

I agree we make the site what it is by signing up to use it. Parents pay but so do we if we want back ground checks or to be on top of caregivers. If it wasn't for the people offering their service thru the site it wouldn't exists.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
C
2:12 pm
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

SitterCity - charges

The information posted was not straightforward. I just realized I have been charged $35.00 a month for 7 months for something I did not use -- believed that there was a one time $35 fee for 30 day period. NOT auto-renewing. Wish I had checked my credit card statement more thoroughly, because that is a lot of money!

Read full review of SitterCity
3 comments
E
Jan 14, 2017 6:34 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Same here 7 months billed for $35. Signed in for 1 month. No email or anything. Should have reviewed credit card carefully. Makes you wonder why they don't send emails, Simply because, hopefully you forget and don't review your credit card. Very deceptive.

R
Dec 31, 2016 3:11 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The same thing happened to me. I terminated my account on the phone but they did not confirm via email so I have no proof of it. They have continued to bill my credit card even though I terminated my account. There should be a class action lawsuit.

A
Nov 20, 2013 10:13 am

They engage in deceptive marketing. I also signed up for a one-time, one month trial membership at a discounted price. The company does not send email receipts when they automatically renew membership each month (and auto-renew is the default), not even on their internal message system.

On top of that, when I was using the service I had several people set up interviews with me and then not show up, later saying they "forgot."

Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
S
6:11 pm
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

SitterCity - ACCOUNT TERMINATED

my account was TERMINATED! First they sent me an e-mail stating that my background check was about to expire ( WHICH IS NOT REQUIRED ON THIS SITE) Then I went to sign into sittercity.com and they stated that my account was TERMINATED due to inaccurate information! 6 MONTHS AGO IT WAS FINE I HAVE NEVER HAD A CRIMINAL RECORD AND YET THEY SAY THAT MY INFORMATION DOESNT MATCH MY SOICIAL! HOW CAN THEY SAY THAT WHEN THE INFO HASNT CHANGED! WHAT KIND OF COMPANY ARE THEY USING TO COME UP WITH FALSE INFORMATION?

Read full review of SitterCity
Hide full review
C
4:29 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I went to this website thinking it would be an easy way to find a job. They offered a background check for 9.99 so I stupidly took the offer. The 'results' said that I didn't even exist and never actually finished processing and were never even made available on my profile. I contacted customer service several times for a refund but they said that it had...

Read full review of SitterCity
J
5:19 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

SitterCity - SCAM

Re: WAITING FOR WESTERN UNION DETAILS...
Mon, February 1, 2010 12:37:45 PM
From: May Rein
Add to Contacts
To: >
________________________________________
Ok, its not a problem ok...so pls get back to me as soon as you are back from Bank
Thanks

--- On Mon, 2/1/10, Jackie wrote:

From: jackie
Subject: Re: WAITING FOR WESTERN UNION DETAILS...
To:
Date: Monday, February 1, 2010, 4:48 PM
No problem. I will deposit the check to the bank now and if ever I can cash out the money... I'll go directly to theWestern Union and give you the details. But if ever the check will be cash out after 2 days... I can go to Western Union after 2 days. Thank you so much for the immediate reply Tim.

________________________________________
From: May Rein
To: jackie
Sent: Mon, February 1, 2010 11:34:46 AM
Subject: WAITING FOR WESTERN UNION DETAILS...
Ho thanks so much i really appreciate your care...All you need to do is for you take the check the to the bank now and deposit it, , or they will cash it for you immediately or it may take one or 2days, that is the Bank Procedure, So i will be waiting for western union details today as soon as you are back from western union...
Best Regard
--- On Mon, 2/1/10, jackie wrote:

From: jackie
Subject: Re: YOU ARE UNABLE TO SIGN FOR IT!
To: "May Rein"
Date: Monday, February 1, 2010, 3:21 PM
Hello Tim!

I just received the envelope from UPS and I just want to ask, if I'll bring this check to the bank, will they automatically cash it out? For some checks will take 2 to 3 days before we can cash it out. I'll wait for your reply.

________________________________________
From: May Rein
To: jackie
Sent: Sat, January 30, 2010 1:38:13 PM
Subject: YOU ARE UNABLE TO SIGN FOR IT!
Thanks so much i just check the tracking here too and i found out that the package have been reschdule till Monday cux you are unable to sing for it...i guess you will be able to get that on Monday morning, am so happy to let you know that Am so happy for your consistences, yeah the apartment is closer to you by the way cux my agent will get me a place closer, that is not a problem ok...just relax ok..also i want to know maybe you ve gotten the store to buy the tolietres and necessary things needed, See the details of the fist delivery below:

Your Tracking Information

Status: EXCEPTION
Last Scan: 1/30/2010 10:28:00 AM THE RECEIVER WAS UNAVAILABLE TO SIGN ON THE 1ST DELIVERY ATTEMPT. A 2ND DELIVERY ATTEMPT WILL BE MADE MASPETH, NY US
MASPETH, NY US
Carrier: UPS
Service: NEXT DAY AIR
Expected: 2/1/2010
UPS Tracking Number: 1Z906AY94498790372

--- On Sat, 1/30/10, jackie > wrote:

From: jackie
Subject: Re: PAYMENT DELIVERS TODAY...PLS GET BACK TO ME ASAP...
To: "May Rein"
Date: Saturday, January 30, 2010, 5:11 PM
Tim, I've just received your e-mail and as I've checked outside the apartment, the UPS has just left an InfoNotice letter posted outside the apartment. They didn't even get inside the building and just left the notice that they will be back by Monday before 10:30 A.M. so I'll just wait by then this Monday. By the way if you don't mind Tim, may I know where would be the address of your apartment here in New York so I have the idea to where I'll be working?

________________________________________
From: May Rein
To: jackie
Sent: Sat, January 30, 2010 7:36:31 AM
Subject: PAYMENT DELIVERS TODAY...PLS GET BACK TO ME ASAP...
Hello Jackie,
I tracked the check package now and it shows it will be delivering to you by today, UPS is the courier. here's the tracking number :1Z906AY94498790372, I want you to go ahead and deduct the money accrues to you from the check which is your deposit for the house help position, I want you to deduct $700 as your deposit and $150 for the shopping of toiletries and send the remaining to our Travel agent by today so that he can get us a flight ticketI guess you have his information with the check seent to you... So kindly get the money sent ASAP cos the arrival date depends on how sooner you can get the transaction done...

Here's my travel agent Info below, kindly get the funds sent to him viawestern union money transfer in cash only as thats what he said he accepts as form of payment for urgent service

Name: Denise Henderson
Address:141 south state street
City:Randolph
State:NJ
Zipcode: 07869

ALSO MAKE SURE YOU DEDUCTED ALL WESTERN UNION CHARGES FROM MY MONEY...
YOU WILL GET BACK TO ME WITH THE FOLLOWING:
1.M.T.C.N number(10digit) gieven to you by wetsern union
2.Total amount sent, after the deduction of every charges
3.Send the money in minute at western union
Kindly get back to me as soon as you've get this done. Hope to meet you in person
Thanks

--- On Thu, 1/28/10, jackie wrote:

From: jackie
Subject: Re: reply: Housekeeper from sittercity
To: "May Rein"
Date: Thursday, January 28, 2010, 1:56 AM
Hello Tim,

I've just got your e-mail and yes I'll accept the offer. I'll just wait for all your instructions and I'll be willing to do it. You can trust on me and I'll just do what I have to do. Here are the information you've asked:

Name to be on Check... Jackie
Address... address given
City... given
State... NY
Zip code... given
Phone number... given

Did you accept my offer? Yes

________________________________________
From: May Rein
To: jackie
Sent: Wed, January 27, 2010 5:43:05 PM
Subject: Re: reply: Housekeeper from sittercity

Am sorry for responding late to your mail, I have been out internet for some days.Am Tim and My wife's name is Rein, she's 5 months pregnant and this is her first baby. We are relocating to the City from The Scotland, I will be coming to there to work on contract basis with United States Environmental Protection Agency on a private research work So i need someone who could help me take care of house by doing some house work while am off to work.Someone that will also help in running some errands. I will be offering you $20/hr, i will be needing your services from for three hours at any suitable time of yours, Mondays through Fridays.. I believe you are fit for this position in as much you will prove yourself to be a reliable and good person, We have a financier that is based in the states and he will be handling the payment and some other expenses, so he will be the one that will be taking care of your the payment, I will instruct him to pay for the
first two weeks before my arrival so as to secure your service, actually i should have paid for more weeks but i will extend the payment if am satisfy with your service after the two weeks.
My financier will be making out a check to you before my arrival, you will be receiving a check of $3, 950 out which you will deducting your pay for the first two weeks and you will be using the remaining to buy foodstuffs and othe things needed in the house, you will getting this foodstuff on the day of our arrival which is 5th OF FEB. Actually all flights from the United Kingdom arrives at nights so you will be getting the foodstuff in the morning and making all other preparations. I will also instruct my Travel agent to mail the keys of the apartment to you so that you can do all other necessary preparations before we arrive, I will also email you the shopping list. You have to get all this shopping before our arrival so that we wont have to start running around when we arrive, So my financier would be needing the following Information to make out the check
Name to be on Check...
Address...
City...
State...
Zip code...
Phone number...
Did you accept my offer?

All i need from you is total honesty and sincerity. I know you will be committed to the work, You will also have a nice period of working with my wife. I will be waiting to hear from you
Thanks

--- On Wed, 1/27/10, jackie wrote:

> From: jackie
> Subject: reply: Housekeeper from sittercity
> To: [email protected]
> Date: Wednesday, January 27, 2010, 2:45 PM
>
> Good day!
> I'm Jackie and I want
> to apply as a house keeper. I worked as a part-time
> companion and baby sitting that includes housekeeping also.
> I have a CPR certificate and I'm a certified nursing
> assistant. I can provide you references attached in my
> resume. Thank you.
> Sincerely yours, Jackie
>
>
>
>
>
>

Read full review of SitterCity
Update by jackie11
Feb 01, 2010 5:22 pm

It's a scam. The bank teller told me if I knew the person who send the check and how did I got the check. And then that's it! She told me what I have to know how dangerous it is and I was so scared but thankful at the same time before it was too late.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

5 comments
R
Nov 27, 2015 9:39 am

I did not authorize recurring charges to my credit card and just discovered many months of charges. I have not used the site.

U
Feb 06, 2013 2:09 am

Please please please contact me as soon as possible. I'm very much interested in pursing a class action lawsuit against this unethical company.

A
Sep 19, 2014 1:50 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Sitter city sucks, I totally fell into a scam really similar to the one on the top, and now I'm going to have to face soooo many consequences. I gave them 2, 600 on a freaking vanilla reload card. it sucks the whole situation.

M
May 04, 2011 1:50 am

Hi, I am a member of sittercity and I wanted to thank this guys because it's the best website ever. I found 2 part time jobs for myself and four friends of mine are actually working as babysitters only because of sittercity. They tried different employment agencies and they never found something. Me and my friends are grateful to sittercity.

C
Feb 12, 2011 8:40 am

Sittercity is a scam, Babysitting jobs are false advertising, they lie and say they are matchmakers, but they are not, Parents dont even know you exist if you are not on the first page results. It sucks, save your money, before using them and protect yourself from Identity Theft. Complaints keep coming and coming from my friends. Do not use sittercity.

Hide full review
J
1:48 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Sittercity suckers you in to pay for a service, then has you waste your time filling out forms on line where they do nothing but stay on their hard drive. It tells you can advertise the service you need. So you fill out that form and "publish" it also. It doesn't publish the results like the web site says it does. You get no calls, no coorespondance, and...

Read full review of SitterCity
L
11:56 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I registered for this site to find nanny jobs. I messaged over 30 families who were seeking nannies on this site and never recieved one response. I think this site is a scam, as it makes no sense that I would not recieve even one response. I'm curious to see if other people have had similar experiences.

Read full review of SitterCity
ADVERTISIMENT
J
10:22 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

SitterCity - free trial

I registered for a so-called "free 7-day trial" at this online service, which matches babysitters with parents wanting to hire them. The parents pay a monthly or annual fee in order to be able to contact the babysitters whose profiles are posted on the site.
The so-called free trial is not, in fact, a free trial of the company's business - a fact which is witheld until AFTER you register for it, providing all your details.
At that point, you discover that you can not, in fact, contact any babysitters through the service until you join and pay a membership fee! All the "free trial" allows you to do is post a job. There is no point in doing this if you are not allowed to contact any of the applicants. Also, anyone at all can already see all the applicants' profiles on the website.
There is no point at all to this "free trial".

Read full review of SitterCity
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

3 comments
C
Sep 24, 2013 11:12 am

Exasperated2010 interesting post. I understand that companies need to make money. I don't necessarily agree that that is what makes them reliable. A free look see, is not the same as a "free Trial" to me. A free trial implies you have a meaningful opportunity to try their services to see if what they offer is worth the price. In this case, the services you get to try out is so limited I could not possibly determine if their service is worth their price. In fact, this type of "Free Trial" makes alarm bells go off in my head and puts me in full caution mode.

E
Dec 07, 2010 9:38 pm

Did you not read the website. It says free to see how many people apply. Not get their address. For that you have to join.!
That's what makes it reliable. How do u think they make money. You cannot see the profiles. You can just see some comments and reviews. Try getting their contact!
It's complaints like this that make genuine complainers being ignored!

R
Oct 30, 2009 4:16 pm

I agree. I fell for the same "Free Trial" and now I am stuck with 8 potential sitters that I am unable to contact. The Free Trial is useless, dont waste your time.

Hide full review

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free
ADVERTISIMENT

SitterCity contacts

ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT