Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Online Shopping Review of ShopDani.com/Danielle Janine Jewelry
ShopDani.com/Danielle Janine Jewelry

ShopDani.com/Danielle Janine Jewelry review: Scam 22

J
Author of the review
10:20 am EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

To Whom it may Concern
I placed a order for one bracelet earring set, total order was $9.00. I received my necklace that didn’t like and I was getting ready to return it . In the mean time(within 1 week, another piece comes in the mail that I didn’t order and didn’t like also so I called the company to stop the pieces from continuing to Besides the original $9.00, I have 3 charges for $68.00! The pieces have stopped coming, but the charges are still there. I will continue to call the company and dispute the charge from my credit card.

My hope in posting this here is the one person will read this and not make that purchase--IT IS A SCAM!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

22 comments
Add a comment
C
C
CM1029
Beloit, US
Jun 30, 2009 2:08 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I purchased a piece of Jewelry for $9. When I received it I wasn't happy with it so I will be returning it because it is cheap and chintsy. The other day I checked my account and they have charged me $68! I called immediately and they said I agreed to their Membership. I do not recall ever joining a membership! I don't even like their jewelry so why would I join them?! Anyways, they said they already shipped me my Jewelry of the month and once I return it then I could receive a refund within the next 15-30 days! If I do not get this refund I will be turning them into BBB of Illinois. This Company is a total scam and their customer service reps are complete jerks and not willing to work with you and hang up on you as well.

C
C
chawawa
Ruskin, US
Jun 19, 2011 10:17 pm EDT

I finally got credited however over limit fees and a hit to my credit still occured. I think having contacted the Illinois State Attorney's office may have assisted in a more prompt reimbursement of my funds. I would be very surprised if this company was still in business.

P
P
pissed_n_Tx
, US
Dec 07, 2009 1:38 pm EST

Same thing happened to me and I've been trying to get my refund for 6 months now. It's not even about the $68 anymore. I have been told several times that I would receive my refund within 7-10 business days and nothing. Now they don't even answer the phone. I filed with the BBB. I can't believe how rude and dishonest some people / companies can be. This person (who I'm sure is simply scamming people out of his home) needs to grow up, get a real job and a life!

N
N
noisyseed
New York, US
Dec 05, 2009 8:27 pm EST

I was just researching this company. It's owned by a guy named Timothy Drobnick, Sr. who appears to have recently moved to Ohio and started a new business online. Perhaps he shut down the Evanston shop, packed up, and got out of state so that he wouldn't have to refund money.

I will let you all know what happens when I hear back from the BBB.

N
N
noisyseed
New York, US
Dec 05, 2009 8:02 pm EST

I ordered from this company, too. A 7 dollar piece.

Then, two days later, I was charged for a $68 piece. Two days later, another $68 piece. The next day, another $68 piece. I returned them all, cancelled my account (had to cancel it twice as they sent the third one the day after I cancelled with them). Now, two months later, there are two charges on my credit card account for $98 a piece! WHAT THE HELL? I in no way, shape, or form re-instated my account, nor have I received the refund from the first few things I returned to them over two months ago!

I filed a report with the BBB. DO NOT under any circumstances do business with this company. Their jewelry is ###, too, very very poorly made.

N
N
nikki063007
Mechanicsburg, US
Dec 02, 2009 3:59 pm EST

I ordered the $9 deal back in May of this year. I cancelled right away and was still charged the $68. I called the company to dispute the charge and was told it would be refunded on the next billing cycle. It never was. I kept calling the company for the next two months and got a run around from them every time. I was never refunded my money and eventually just gave up after becoming totally exasperated. I haven't heard anything from this company since May and then when I checked my credit card statement online for this month, I found a very big surprise. Shopdani.com had charged my account $89 on two separate occasions within a week. Once on Nov. 22 and again on Nov. 27. I have no idea what to do and every time I call the company I get a voicemail and not an actual person to talk to. I cannot afford this and have never had anything like this happen before. Does anyone know of another way to contact the company other than the customer service number they provide on their website?

J
J
JWIN
Des Moines, US
Dec 01, 2009 1:27 pm EST

I ordered from this company July 2008- cancelled right away.
Now on November 23, 2009 I just got charged $89.oo!
I filed a dispute w/my Bank...Whats the deal with this Company
Anybody know?

D
D
dawnmcostello
Chesapeake, US
Nov 25, 2009 2:32 pm EST

Please file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission, Better Business Buearu and your bank. I have just done this today.

R
R
RebeccaG
Central City, US
Nov 07, 2009 8:51 am EST

i used this place like 5 months ago and now they are charging my card every week an amount of $89.00. they did this when i first ordered and refunded $80 of it. Now when times are the hardest they are charging it to my account every fricking week!

K
K
Kimberly
Baltimore, US
Aug 14, 2009 4:38 pm EDT

I did receive ALL of my money back! I did complain to the BBB of Illinois and the AG's office though. The BBB took care of the problem though. They showed me how and when they contacted Shop Dani about my situation. They even showed me Shop Dani's response. Response being...they will refund me my money! And they did. Took a minute but they did.

C
C
chawawa
Ruskin, US
Aug 14, 2009 1:02 pm EDT

I sure wish I had seen this before I ordered. Once again-if it sounds too good to be true... I received the $9.00 item-never opened it because I was deluged with 5 $68.00 charges (and packages) within one week. This also took my credit card over the limit and I am trying to resolve. Contact your cc company and ask for the dispute department. It is more hoops, but they will try to work it out with you.

Has anyone received a credit to their credit card yet?

J
J
Jessicasissy1972
Gladstone, US
Aug 03, 2009 3:23 pm EDT

This company is a SCAM SCAM SCAM...everyone needs to file a complaint with the Attorney General of Illinois! Let's see how many we can get flooded to the office and get this company shut down!

go to http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/index.html

M
M
Mari L.
Lakeside, US
Jul 31, 2009 3:01 pm EDT

After I received the first piece form ShopDani I realized it wasn't anything I would order again. The necklace is cheaply made and not very pretty at all, not even worth the $9 but most assuredly not worth $68. I didn't call the same day to cancel the membership but thought I would have a few days to do that. Before I knew it I had received 7 shipments in 7 days (I was out of town on business for a few days). I called after the 4th shipment to cancel the membership and complained about receiving shipments every day. I was told I hadn't filled out a shipment schedule but that it was odd I had received so many packages. Yvonne told me to send the packages back via UPS and I would be refunded. After that phone call I received 3 more shipments because of course they'd already been sent out. I sent the packages back more than a month ago - so far NO refund. My acct was charged more than $500. I'll be filing a formal complaint and I sure hope I get my money back. This stuff is junk and it doesn't come with an explanation of what it's supposed to be, it's just colored rocks.

L
L
liz0004
San Diego, US
Jul 08, 2009 6:50 pm EDT

I ordered my $9 jewelry last week and they have sent 8 shipments so far. I have received 3 with the one I actually ordered. So...8 x $68! I am not looking forward to dealing with this after reading everything online. Has anyone received a refund yet? I can't afford that, and it's not what I signed up for. I have contacted my bank and will not accept any of the remaining packages from UPS.

L
L
laurel08
Baltimore, US
Jul 05, 2009 11:12 pm EDT

Yes, I'm a victim too of this scam co. I looked up the Illinois Attorney General online. You can go to their website, just google Illinois Attorney General and look for Consumer Fraud. they have a hotline which is [protected]. I urge all of you to call and file a complaint. They also have a form you can fillout and print to send in to them. With all of our voices together, we can get some action against these people. The front page of the jewelry site says in bold letters, "Each piece Now Only $9", plus free shipping and handling. How many people have been robbed and have had no satisfaction? I am boiling mad and will get the money back! Keep after them!

C
C
CM1029
Beloit, US
Jun 30, 2009 1:59 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I completely agree that this Company is a SCAM! I just received a piece of jewelry that I did not order and checked my account and was charged $68 for it! It's not even nice jewelry! It's chintsy and cheap! I have called and cancelled the "membership" that I apparently agreed to without my knowledge and I will be returning this necklace today and so help me god if I don't get my refund here shortly, I am going to turn them in as well!

K
K
Kimberly
Baltimore, US
Jun 24, 2009 1:11 pm EDT

I filed a complaing with the Illinois BBB yesterday. Yes I did. It's gone so beyond getting my $68 back. They had no right to take it in the first place. That's what's called an unauthorized transaction! It's not a refund! That's like saying it's ok to return the money to a bank after you have robbed it! NO! I'm going to stay on their backs until I'm satisfied. And right now, I'm not sure what it will take to satisfy me. They really pissed me off!

S
S
Scam Reporter
Blacklick, US
Jun 18, 2009 11:04 am EDT

Yes, I agree, nothing but a scam, unethical and a disgrace to other businesses online! And customer service is horrible. I will be posting to other sites, but have filed a letter with documentation to the governor of Illinois, Pat Quinn, to forward to the appropriate department, also with the Attorney General's Office, along with sending all my detailed notes to other associations, such as the BBB, Chamber of Commerce and other Consumer Agencies. I was charged $9 on 6/10, checked my statement the morning of 6/11, seeing a charge of $68 (and what for as the site says AFTER initial shipment). Supposedly they shipped that morning before 7:07 am, meaning they could charge it after the shipment. I called several times, hung up on each time but the last time, I heard laughter? Then I got a VM and left a message that I was upset and to cancel everything! The next morning, again, just after 7 am, I had another charge of $68. So far, within 48 hours, I have been charged $145 for a purchase of $9? I called and talked to a Brian 3 times, a Yolando one time, then a manager (who was to call me back after two conversation with Brian, but she did not) and this manager was a Beverly. Talked to her 3 times, said she could not cancel or credit as all was processed and mailed and after receiving them I would have to mark refused, send back AND THEN get my refund. Well, the site says, up to two weeks to receive it? But if mailed the same day of charges of $9, then why 2 weeks? They are the biggest scam and lying company with the most rude and despicable customer service in the world! More later, as I am still upset and dealing with getting my money back. When I do get more info for WHO to file complains with, I will post them here for all to see. Thanks for listening and beware!

K
K
Kimberly
Baltimore, US
Jun 10, 2009 11:54 am EDT

I ordered jewelry for Mother's Day. The ad clearly stated only 9.99. AFTER 2 weeks I would be charged $68. Well, they charged me the same day they charged the 9.99. It's been nearly 2 months I've been waiting for a refund. They say it takes from 14 business days to the next billing cycle...whatever that means. Their jewelry may be pretty but the way they invoice and charge is a SCAM! I will get my $68 back. You can bet that!

H
H
Hjwilburn
, US
May 14, 2009 6:08 pm EDT

This company will be a legal nightmare. The terms say following your initial order, you will have two weeks to decide if you like it or not then you will be charged 68.00 should you continue the membership. It is a scam and these people will be reported to the Better business bureau. They should not be in business period. I spoke to a woman named Yolanda and she kept trying to change the subject and asked me if she was helpful. I said she was not helpful at all. She then hung up the phone on me. She doesn't know jack about her job or the legal system.

S
S
Spring
, US
May 13, 2009 5:57 pm EDT

I just realized I have the same problem. I just purchased a $9.00 item and have been charged $68 additional dollars. I am trying to contact them right now. Major Scam!

T
T
Tonyawhite
conroe, US
Jan 29, 2009 4:54 pm EST

They are not scammers their jewelery is beautifully made. I have ordered their jewelery before and liked it all. They do tell you that they will continue to ship to you every 2 weeks until you cancel and they don't have a problem with refunding your purchase price minus shipping costs. Just read the print when you purchase, don't just hit the I Agree button to continue!

Trending companies
Commense
14 reviews
AuraBloom
4 reviews
SeaFancy
11 reviews
WoldDress
8 reviews
NZSale
62 reviews