The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Samsoniteluggage warranty

"handle anything that you can throw at it" and similar such claims are made by Samsonite and we pay a premium price for their products yet when damage occurs and we act to rely on the warranty you will soon realise that such claims, like their are worthless. For example one of the many exclusions from the warranty is damage caused during airline travel.
See the attached photograph, this recently happened on a flight from Singapore to Busan, one of the four wheels has been forced into the case. No matter what this cannot simply be a question of poor handlng / mis-handling, besides does this company not claim its products are indestructible ?
I filed a warranty claim with Samsonite's Korean office which was dimissed without consideration. The Korean office even sent me a document titled "written opinion" requesting I fill in the blanks. This document is a disclaimer and was sent without any reference or consideration whatsoever.
Shoddy, very shoddy and leads me to question why I should pay a premium price for Samsonite products particularly if the warranty is effectively meaningless.

luggage warranty

Responses

  • Db
    DBH8 Jul 22, 2016

    After considerable time reading online product reviews, and based on brand reputation, I bought the Samsonite Winfield 2 luggage set. We used the luggage for one trip, from Rhode Island to Hawaii and back, and the suitcases were badly scratched, and one was dented. These aren't just minor scratches, the color is completely gone. The whole purpose of luggage is to carry items as you TRAVEL, it should be durable. I contacted Samsonite, and customer service said 'the damage is not a defect'. I bought a matched set of luggage that I expected to last for years, and I am VERY dissatisfied, with the quality of the product, and with the response of the company.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Hk
    hk-b Jul 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello

    I bought the Samsonite Neopulse Spinner 75 suitcase 2 days ago, expecting high quality from this brand. However... I have been deeply disappointed. I took the suitcase on its first flight yesterday and it came out badly scratched in 5 different places - the scratches go right through the paint i.e. all the paint has come off and the suitcase looks very poor after just 1 time use.

    This is such cheaply made quality. A suitcase is supposed to be sturdy and able to withstand normal travel and baggage handling. Clearly this product is sold far too expensive compared to its poor and cheap materials quality. I'm very unhappy. Photos attached.

    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mamalex Jun 09, 2016

    I sent a piece of luggage back due to defects (purple). Samsonite sent a replacement (cherry). I called and was told to send it back and they would provide a letter of credit so I could go to the store a select a similar piece. I did that...went to the store in Woodbridge VA - selected a purple piece (same color and size as I sent back) and the letter of credit did not cover the price! I had to pay the difference (granted it was only $20 but really????) The cherry color was an even swap but if I wanted the color I sent them I had to pay. I called customer service on May 25th and was told a supervisor would call me in 48 hours. Today is June 9 and no call back. I called them again and they offered to give me a 20% discount on my next purchase. There won't be a next purchase

    0 Votes
  • In
    Inc Formation Apr 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Merchant Account Service Offshore Merchant Account & Onshore Merchant account in USA.Offshore Merchant for offshore clients who do not have company in USA .And Onshore Merchant is for clients who are having company in USA.See more at: Merchant account for pharmacy and travel

    0 Votes
  • Ko
    Koray Apr 26, 2016

    Hi, my suitcase handle maked same problem 3 times in 4 months.Each time service cant fix it .Than I want to change it with new suitcase in warranty with right the rule regulation.Unfortunately your distrubutor DESA in Turkey did not without any acceptable reason.
    I have bill and waarant paper.
    Last 2 monts nothing change, suitcase still in service.
    İnformation of Suitcase:
    24.05.2012 Bill Date
    Aeris Spin 68 Black
    D18909168 00 0U [protected]
    [protected] 1BEU AERİS SPIN

    UNDER BARCODE NUMBER: [protected]

    E mail : [email protected]
    Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    ARWA HAJI Jan 18, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a premium executive leather laptop bag from Samsonite, which is under warranty for 3 years. Since, the stiches of the bag had come off and it required some other servicing, I gave the Bag to the Samsonite-Factory Outlet near Bannerghatta Main Road, Bangalore – 41.

    After about 5 days, the store attendant named Salim – [protected], called and told us that the servicing person named Bhaskar Rao – [protected] had examined the bag and had approved a replacement. Salim told us to carry our original warranty card at his store, so that he could give us a replacement as promised. When we got to the store, he told us that he did not have stock from the premium collection and that we should visit another Samsonite outlet at Kormangala, 80ft Road (Which is more than 10 kms away), where we would get our bag replaced.

    The Kormangala branch again asked for a 10 day’s time to examine the bag, after which we received a call from another service person, who told us that the bag would NOT be replaced, nor serviced and that we should approach the Bannerghatta outlet again. We then called Salim and Bhasker again, who asked for another 2 day’s time for getting another approval from their HOD. After two days, Salim called us and told us that the he could get us the approval for the replacement and that he required the photographs of the bag. Since the bag was at the Kormangala outlet, we approached them to get the bag photos, but they told us that the bag had gone for servicing. Later, we received a call from Salim, who told us that they would not give us any replacement and would try if the bag could be serviced and again asked for some more time.

    We have already waited for very long and are now frustrated with the service. We have still not received our bag and are unsure that the bag will be serviced even after so much trouble.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    monica gaur Sep 08, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I 've purchased my luggage last year. But within a year, it is broken from one of its side, due to poor quality of material. I 've given it for repair to the store, from where I've purchased. Let's see, when they will take action. It comes under three year warranty.

    .
    My email is [email protected]
    Monica Gaur([protected])

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alaa Abu saqer Sep 30, 2014

    I Just Bought a Samsonite suitcase of ASPHERE SPINNER 66/24 from Dubai (Ibn Battuta Mall). This series are not good to
    represent Samsonite as the corners are not protected and from first trip to me it gets tear. The stores tell you that it has a warranty..etc but that is not the case. I would discourage anyone to buy Samsonite of the same model. I felt surprised and cheated by the quality of that series and disappointed although I reported the incidence to the store but no support or hope from them.
    I would recommend any one to look to the other brands as they are of much better quality such as Delsey.

    my email is : [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    robertpersaud Jul 02, 2014

    It is easy to buy as samsonite suitcase. The stores tell you that it has a warranty. I have seven suitcases due to my joy which entails travels. I would discourage anyone to buy samsonite. I am looking for a better brand. Samsonite is so expensive and I am suspicious whether there is a scam to deceive the customer. I felt cheated from what I was told and even tried to call the 800 number. No one was helpful. I am disappointed. Any suggestions from anyone out there would be helpful.

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Li
    linda joanne Jun 11, 2012

    I just bought a samsonite suitcase lock. Why do you not include directions on how to set it????? It came with no directions whatsoever. Absurd and rude. I had to look up on the internet to find a video that some nice person put up on the internet. Not you gjuys.

    -1 Votes
  • Pa
    Parichat Hankitjanurak Jan 10, 2012

    Just had a case with my new Samsonite cosmolite, the lock was broken in by unautorized person while travelling from Bangkok to Australia. It seems to be broken so easily as you can barely see the damage by the look of it. And Samsonite said the warantee is invalid as it is broken in and advised me to pay to have the lock repaired.
    Never again with Samsonite. It is actually not much different from a cheap luggage. Worse, it becomes the target to be broken in.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.