The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Rue Educationcharged money with no education

J Review updated:

I apparently signed a contract for services not provided. They told me that this education is like a gym membership, even if you don't complete the courses you have to pay the full amount of money in my case over $5000. They only give you 3 days to decide weather or not you like the program or your binded to the contract and have to pay the money. How can they expect you to pay for services not provided, and how can they compare your education to a gym membership. I decided that home education was not for me and have entered a community college. I am trying to buy a house and this money owed is on my credit report, preventing me from getting any loans. At this time I am talking with my lawyer to try to dispute this account but it is holding up my life! To anyone reading this please do not pursue and education from RUE! They are a waste of time and a complete ripoff, and please don't sign papers unless you carefully read the fine print!

Responses

  • Ma
    maddyjinx Dec 23, 2009

    That's how most accredited 4 year colleges are and 2 year community colleges, after the first 4 days you don't get your refund thats just how it is all over the country. Thats nothing new. You have to pay for "services" because teachers are not auto mechanics-they cannot just find another student a week into a class, they get paid on how many students are registered, and if that class is full, should they be the ones responsible to find more students because you decided you didn't like the class after a week? No, their job is to instruct, not to market.

    2 Votes
  • An
    Andrew Bloomquist Jan 08, 2010

    When you say apparetly signed a contract, what exactly does that mean? I've talked to them over the phone but didn't agree to anything. May I have accidently signed some contract. All they have is my contact info/DOB but SSN or CC numbers. Should I be worried?
    Email me back, Andrew Bloomquist
    [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    sheila R Jan 19, 2010

    RUE education advises that the program that you are attempting to further your education in will be very easy and you can pass without a problem...however it is not what they say it is! They will not refund any money back after you sign a contract! I am paying for a contract right now and instead I am in a Technical College pursuing my educational goals! Do not sigh up with these people!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    $taken2 Feb 08, 2010

    They are a scam. First person I was in contact with maked it sound like the classes will be very educational, easy to do, etc. Oh yes, that's the other lie they told me, there is an online class...what online class? If you LOVE to read and type for hours upon hours, then you will like STUDYING their material and I guess that is considered an online class. Of course it wasn't emphasized that you also have to pay a couple of hundred dollars to take your test and pass to get credited with Excelsior. It was not explained as an additional cost to me that after reading and studying your material, that then you have to pay for an exam after each "course". My contact person also told me that if I didn't like the online classes I could withdraw from the program and not owe money for the remaining classes. GREAT BIG LIE to the tune of about $8, 000.

    They have you sign a contract and yes you have 3 days to change your mind, but you don't start classes right away to see if it is for you. So maddyjinx you must not have signed up with RUE. Oh yes, IT IS A BIG SCAM for them to makes millions off other's hard earned $$ and too bad for you if you don't have an attorney read your contract before you sign that contract. If RUE is so great, why don't they let you take the class for a week and then decide if you want to continue???

    Your best bet would be to find something locally and sign up for classes. Online reading and typing does not help you learn. For nursing you really need a lot of hands on experience and with RUE, you won't get much of what you really need.
    For RUE...IT'S ALL ABOUT THE MONEY FROM ALL THE SUCKERS THEY CAN GET TO SIGN UP.

    1 Votes
  • No
    not sure Aug 30, 2010

    Unfortunately RUE is exactly what they say they are. They are a publishing company, not any type of school. They only provide the learning materials. You have to be very structured and determined to read the material, study and learn it. Then you must take the test and pass to get credit for the course. There are no online courses. You can log on to Angel learning system. The only thing it does is advise on what you should work on and study for that week. It is just breaking down the book for you. There are no lectures, labs, study groups etc. You must have the determination to do this solely on your own. The reason this is so hard is because, basically you must read, study and learn a whole book ON YOUR OWN. Their fees are for the books and use of an "advisor". You have to pay a yearly fee to Excelsior, (tuition) and a seperate fee for each test you take. I am not sure what happens if you stop payment???? Worst case senario it goes against your credit. But you always have the chance to explain to lendors what happened. In this case your side would be I was paying for education materials I never received. (if you haven't actually got that far) It all boils down to can I educate myself this way, or am I able to go to an actual college? sincerely, not sure why I ever started this? :)

    2 Votes
  • Li
    lic Oct 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The problems I am experiencing with Rue are related to the study systems. I paid $4, 500.00 about 5 years ago for all the books and have just decided to get serious with my studies. In the beginning, I received what I perceived to be real college text books. Now, the study programs I get are made by Rue. I have found multiple issues with these study programs to include incorrect dates, incorrect grammar, incorrect dates, graphs out of order, and the study work books contain a lot of incorrect answers and/or do not match up with the text book. It is a disaster! Rue is in the process of investigating my issues with their study programs and I am hoping for the best.
    Though I am currently passing my classes, I am concerned about my GPA. If I were in a classroom my grades would be much better. I do realize that there is a great convenience to being able to study at home, but I also think it should not be made into something that sounds easy. It is very difficult! If you intend to do home study for your nursing degree go through Excelsior College directly or one of your local colleges.
    Oh and by the way, Rue has just recently started offering real online classes. I don't know much about it, but I was just informed by them via email. Blessings to all!

    2 Votes
  • Ms
    msdec98 Jan 25, 2011

    I have paid for my education including some kind of tutoring. I have taken one class and passed with a C. I have recieved several calls from Rue since 2007 to try to get me to pick it up again but online learning is not for me. It is sad that I continued to pay them, they indeed got their money. For about $5000 I figured out that I needed to be in a classroom as opposed to online. I was going thru a divorce also and could not afford for anything negative to show up on my credit so they in turn got their money. I also experienced problems with the books. I thought it was me but it was truely the books, full of mistakes, discrepencies and grammatical errors. Very scarey. No wonder everyone has told me, "Forget getting a job with a degree from there, it won't happen here in Houston" Very disappointing. All I have to show now is my good credit.

    1 Votes
  • Me
    Merida Miller Feb 01, 2011

    They made sure the money was paid but as far as help and assistance there was none.So I'm now out $5, 000 that was just wasted. I don't know to many people that has that amount of money to just throw away it suure set me back and am still feeling the repercussions. SAD and and shame on you Rue 1

    0 Votes
  • N6
    N66 Feb 17, 2011

    Has anyone tried to do a class action suit agianst RUE. It's really hard to beleive that they can get away with this. Especially the ones who are in collections and have not received any materials. For the people who have paid the whole tuition off, they should send them every book, study guide etc. that is owed to them. I can't beleive that I have gotten involved with these people myself. This system just doesn't work for me I guess I really need the traditional class room setting. If anyone knows of a class action suit let us all know.

    2 Votes
  • Jt
    jtbbydol Feb 26, 2011

    I have been with RUE for 3 months now and I have to say I do agree with some of the points that are brought up regarding incorrect information and that all they do is supply you with a study guide and workbook. I am doing the online course which isnt really a professor talking to you but it is very structured and does give you the material you need in order to pass your tests with Excelsior in which I have passed my first one. I was told by Excelsior College they are NOT affiliated with RUE or any 3rd party education assistance programs. Excelsior does offer the same 8-10 week online class as RUE does. I guess its about really reading the contract. I knew what I was getting into and I have to say it is working for me. It may not be the same for everyone else. But buyer beware, Do read your contract in its entirety and all I have to say is Goodluck with your educational endeavors. Hope my advice helped someone.

    3 Votes
  • Ca
    Catmo Apr 06, 2011

    I would love to pursue class action lawsuit. I am the same bad boat with Rue. Anyone on board? I'd be happy to help get the boat sailing?

    0 Votes
  • Hm
    Hmdocbean May 02, 2017

    @Catmo Did this ever kick-off and happen?

    0 Votes
  • Me
    melyonkers May 08, 2011

    i am freaking out, rue is a joke! i have taken 2 tests and failed both of them the material they provide and what is on the the test are a different story. is there anyway that we can all get together and do a class action suit. rue material is not helpful and i am now stuck paying for something i dont plan on doing. i thought doing this online with 3 small children would be easier...well, its not. when i became an lpn 8 years ago i had no problem, now i feel so discouraged. any suggestions? there is probally no way to get out of this contract. thanks, melissa

    1 Votes
  • Km
    k mccabe Jun 03, 2011

    I choose to forget that segment of my life. Especially about how much I paid into it. I got as far a trying to arrange my first test date and gave up. It was way too much hassle. The people at Rue were not one bit helpful. I didn't like the way they let on about how easy it is. Keep in mind though, I live Montana where nothing is easy or accessable, hence the reason for signing up for Rue in the first place.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beverly Freeny Jul 05, 2011

    I personally appreciate all of your reviews and information. Due to reading and really hearing what u all had to say, I definitely won't be using their services. I'm sorry for all your problems and will be praying for u all. I know what it's like. The LPN it seems have their back up against the wall. It seems like everyone is trying to either force us to leave the hospital setting or get our RN degree. We need help not people trying to rip us off! If you find a solution to this problem please post.
    Thank you all, Beverly Freeny Jackson, Ms.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    jonboybbbej Sep 04, 2011

    Yes structure and hard work will help with Rue. After graduating an honor student from LPN school I too attempted Rue and failed the first two tests. I've become one of the majority of Rue clients who now have a small fortune invested in nothing more than a few books taking up space in my bookshelf. I instead returned to a conventional classroom setting in community classroom and continued to make A's as I did in LPN school. Distance learning is not for everyone and Rue is in fact taking advantage of LPN's who are looking to balace work, family and education more easily. They are not supportive in the least and do in fact just concern themselves more with the monthly bank drafts than customer service. I have since met RN's who obtained their degrees from Excelsior none of which used Rue!!! They all used Excelsior dircectly! Please if you are reading this believe me when I say, RUN FOREST RUN!!! Rue is your worst nightmare when it comes to furthering your education!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jacque24 Sep 28, 2011

    I want to thank you all for posting your experiences. You stopped me from making a huge mistake especially since I don't have money to throw around.
    Thanks again and I wish you luck!

    1 Votes
  • Nu
    nursetlr2002 Jan 18, 2012

    I signed up for the LPN to RN degree through RUE . I cancelled the service within the first 24 hours and now they want $1, 987.80!!! I have no idea what they want because I cancelled it in the three days I had. What a freaking rip off!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    woundgirl Mar 16, 2012

    Awwww Man I just signed up today they better not pull any BS cause this vegas gal will fly to florida and open a can of whoop [censored]! It is already after hours and Its FRIDAY!! I WILL CALL MONDAY !!!

    1 Votes
  • An
    annlauree Apr 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been an LPN for 13 years & decided to use RUE to finish my education. I work full-time & have 2 children @ home, so I thought this was the way to go. Like everyone says, they make it sound very simple when in fact it's not. I was also not told about the extra fees for the books & the tests! I have taken 3 exams thus far & have failed 2 of them, mind you these are not cheap to take! With repeating the exam & finally passing it the 2nd time around the total cost for that exam was 500.00 just in testing fees!! This is a JOKE & they should be ashamed of ripping off innocent people trying to further there education. I just have to keep @ it & get through it come hell or high waters, because I signed the contract!! I'm not going to pay for something & not complete it. I don't think there is any way out of it either!? I wish that I could get out & just go sit in a classroom, because this is VERY HARD! Glad to hear i'm not the only one that feels ths way. Somebody needs to put an end to this!

    -1 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs.K.Scott Jul 18, 2012

    I too signed up with RUE almost two years ago. Initially it seemed ok, but when the first monthly payment was due to be taken from my account in Feb, it wasn't. Then I received a letter in the mail stating my first payment would be deducted in April. After about six months, I got a call saying that letter was a mistake, and that my contract said the first payment would be due in Feb. I explained about the letter, and all they said was that it was an error on their part, but that I still owed the money from Feb & March. They wanted me to double my payments to "catch up." In the mean time, my husband had lost his job, and we were struggling just to stay in our apartment and pay for food and utilities. I explained this to them, but the weren't concerned at all. I simply went to my bank and stopped the monthly payments. Once my husband became employed again, it took us months to catch up on the necessary bills. Of course I was bombarded with calls and mail stating I had to make payments. I finished two classes, but couldn't afford to pay to "test out" at their testing center (the closest of which was an hour away from me). If I test out in their online course, then why should I have to test again in another facility to get credit?? Needles to say, I haven't done any further classes, as I'm "locked out" of their courses until my account is current. They say you can't "drop out" and that you're always enrolled, so why can't I access my classes? There is nothing in the contract (if I recall correctly) stating that they are to be paid within a certain time frame, yet they continue to keep hounding me for payments. I refuse to give them another dime until they change their curriculum and the options for the testing centers along with the pricing for each test. I will declare bankruptcy first!!

    1 Votes
  • Go
    goldbarb123 Aug 07, 2012

    I just paid $75 dollars for the Excelcior practice test for microbiology and failed it miserably. The RUE tests, I have been getting 100% on them. So why would I fail the Excelcior test? Go figure...RUE does not teach Excelcior material. You need Excelcior material to pass their tests. So why bother with RUE in the first place. So what...It will go on your credit. RUE is not worth the headache. Stop the payments and change your phone number. Oh! and I am a nurse of 11 years. I could probably teach RUE a few things.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    goldbarb123 Aug 07, 2012

    I agree with all complaints on here.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    goldbarb123 Aug 07, 2012

    Materials provided to pass Excelsior tests not compatable with Excelsior education.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Che Marie Aug 21, 2012

    I am going through the same thing. While I understood that I wouldn't receive credit from Rue, I was told that they offer online "classes" to help you pass your exams. The "classes" are a joke ! They just have you read some material and take bogus "tests". I have taken several online classes and done very well but with Rue it is not really a class. I have found that studying on my own with the content guide is way more useful ! I have taken exactly 2 classes with Rue and they will not refund my money on the "classes" that I am not going to take. I plan to have my lawyer look into it more clearly because the contract I signed doesn't say anything specific about refunds on unused learning materials. Long story short... don't use Rue !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Timetostop Oct 24, 2012

    I would like to bring a class action law suit against RUE Education. There is no way you are able to evaluate Rues materials in the limited amount of time they give you. Especially since trying to even get into their classes can take months! So how can you be expected to make any type of decision? Perhaps it might be fair to pay for the first class after deciding this is not for you, except they are expecting you to pay for their entire program! No college makes you pay for classes you haven't even taken! I feel they have falsely sold their goods. I'd anyone is interested please let me know!

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    Credit Ruined Oct 31, 2012

    Everything posted by others are the exact complaints I have against this company. I have reported them to the BBB, hopefully they will open up a case and anyone who saught legal action please let us know how that turned out. I have thought about contacting a lawyer myself. As a legit warning! Do not sign up with them...

    1 Votes
  • Si
    sicktodeathofscammers Nov 28, 2012

    Timetostop if you ever decide to pursue this class action lawsuit...I'M IN!!! RUE placed me in a class and refused to provide me with the necessary materials for the class. It was only after I called them continuously they made aware they will not provide the materials until the rec my grade from my Micro exam. Another problem I encountered with RUE was they told me I could repeat any exam as many times as I need to without further payment of the exam. Well after failing my Micro exam and attempting to reschedule the exam with Pearson Vue they made me aware that full payment had to be rendered at the time of scheduling the appt. I immediately hung up and called RUE and they claim no one they could have given me that info. I also spoke with Excelsior on the phone and they have no knowledge whatsoever who RUE is! A SCAM FOR SURE!

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John M Samuel Dec 05, 2012

    It is 100% true. They entice the people to take a loan from them to pay for 100% of the education upfront. It is very appealing to hear that you have to pay no interest on the loan. Then they make the course very difficult, so students will quit. The students still have to pay the loan back, because they signed the documents obtaining the loan. In essence, Rue Education make 5000 dollars for 2 or 3 course. I work at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. I know at least 4 people fell into this trap. That is $20000.00 for almost nothing. Possibly books that worth less that $100.00

    I urge the prospective student about this tactic. Know all the facts, before obtaining the loan.
    I do not know, whether Rue Education has the license to provide loan and act as a bank. This could be even a legal matter that need to be investigated. I should be contacting the attorney general in Florida.

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    Ad8 Dec 11, 2012

    I soooo wish I would have seen this a long time ago!!! Terrible mistake going with rue. Anyone reading this DO NOT CHOOSE RUE. I have rue books I could sell to you much much cheaper then you'd pay them for. Or if you want a program to use choose Chancellors. If I could redo it all I would have gone with them or just taken my chances and not picked any program!!!

    2 Votes
  • Ed
    Edmund W. May 29, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello! I would like to exchange my experience with you regarding Rue Educational Publishers Inc. This company is located in Florida.

    More than a third of nursing students suffer from isolation. They may be far from other students while on placement in hospitals, and may not have the contact they need from lecturers. I can say from my experience that many do not feel they are able to ask for help from their universities. It is a big problem nowadays. Universities should support students to complete their studies and become the highly skilled nurses required by the health service of the future.

    Rue Education is pretending to be the place that is really interested in helping nursing students. However, I would like to say some words about their program and other home studying programs too. Be very careful regarding any home study program because it is not as great as it looks like. These company's only offer study guide materials, some offer text books others do not. They do not make any appointments for testing you and the price does not include testing and etc. You must pay for all testing in addition to the study guides. It is only for their study guide materials. The cost is determined on how many acceptable college credits you have or don't have. The more you want, the more you pay. After sometime you understand that the knowledge you get is not enough but no one cares about it. Many people decide to stop the education. The others, who decide to finish the education, make payments through loan companies and then do not have money to return the debts. Watch out from companies like Rue Education!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cal Mat Nov 16, 2013

    They are a scam. I rather pay a alwayer to sue them inside out than pay them even a single penny out of my pocket for services they never offered. They signned me up and took money out of my account for 7 months but never provided me with anything but a $50 book. alled Excelsiour and they said they are not affiliated with this scam artists. Now they claim i owe them 2K. Stay away from them> Mark Baldwin and his goons at rue are nothing but a bunch of theieves. And the collection agency is Rue education disguising to be a collection agency name EDU-LEND LLC.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarhonda Aug 31, 2015

    Rue is a scam!!! And should be ashamed of themselves the way they are lying to prospective students and charging for services never recieved! I want to be a part of a class action suit and am willing to put money into suing them! Call me [protected] Hope

    1 Votes
  • Na
    Nakia Campbell Oct 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would love to be apart of this lawsuit. These numbnutts are the vain of my existence. They are reporting on my credit report twice once as a charge off and the other as a collection. I am trying to buy the house I have lived in for the last six years. I will live in a motel before I pay them a durn penny.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Angel0207 Oct 15, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I guess things haven't changed. I was able to pass the first two exams I took by luck only. The information provided does not prepare you for the exam. I did every assignment in the learning module. I have not been able to pass Ethics and per the contract I should be able to cancel the contract since I was unable to pass after completing the learning module. Anyway, after 2 years I've only received credit for 2 classes. I have never had any problem learning and did well in school. I just want out of the contract. I have filed a complaint with the BBB. Does anyone have any advice? I have applied directly to Excelsior and will not be using any other learning modules through them.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve Hofer Jan 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am an consumer attorney in Indianapolis. I have a client with a Rue Education - Edulend problem. I am interested in hearing from others. You can contact me at [email protected] - Take the "NOBOTS" out of the email address. Steve Hofer

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SheetsS Mar 02, 2016

    I completely agree with everyone! I signed up after they rushed me and told me I onlt had 3 days and called me constantly. Evidently I didn't read the fine print because I never borrowed money but yet after one course I owe over $4, 000! It's frustrating becuase not only did they lie but you have to buy your own book for each class and then find a testing site and pay for that as well!!! I filed a complaint with the BBB but was told that there is a small print that states the program cost is the individuals responsibility! Really wish there way a way to get out of this credit debt situation:(

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    SkayJ Oct 13, 2017

    @SheetsS Yeah same here. They are giving me a bad credit rating. Anyone dispute a credit report from them?

    0 Votes
  • Mt
    MT Gramma Aug 15, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    RUE is exactly what it says. There ARE online classes if you participate in them. I have done 2 classes and passed both successfully. If you ask the right questions when signing up and understand what they are you will succeed. this is not for peeps that cannot commit and focus on their own.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    SkayJ Oct 13, 2017

    Not only have the harassed me with phone calls for years asking payments for services not rendered. They have given me a negative rating on my credit report. Now I have to file a dispute. Anyone else go through this?

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    NERunningmom Jan 29, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've paid them for many years... yes, I understand the contract and materials etc... But after several years and taking several courses, not near all in contract They're UP and GONE!?!? Talk about NO services provided! They last took my payment this month, last week the company is non-existent... I'm angry yes give me my $ back. YOU broke YOUR OWN CONTRACT

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Samantha Clarke Feb 06, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The question is how do we move forward? Now they seem to have closed ! I had set up automatic payments as I mentioned they are closed yet I see where they are saying I am late. Like Really!

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    DMSF64 Apr 06, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Samantha Clarke I see Edu-Lend filed for bankruptcy, I’d like to know what we’re supposed to do too

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    Dmj1971 Sep 24, 2018

    @DMSF64 I received a call from a company called NCS PLUS that is a debt collection company that has taken over their accounts. I only started one class and didn’t complete the program. I’m not going to pay for material or services I did not receive. The woman I spoke with was Ms Ortega and she offered to only have me pay $2500. I took all her information and I’m going to call Experian and see if I can have this removed. If there is a class action suit that has been started as well I want to join.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.