Ruck LondonAn employer using the indeed website

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I applied for the role of a Social Media Blogger for Ruck London, as an Intern.

I was successful and was invited along for a meeting which was at his house, where he kept me for several hours, on our first initial meeting, and made to carry out various duties for him, and was upset that I had to leave in a few hours. He offered me the role and said tomorrow I would have to go along to a fashion event and talk to some people, alone. I explained I had no experience at events such as these, he said "Not to worry, but go anyway", I returned home, still unsure if I were to take this position up or not, in the morning I called him explaining that due to these events being so last minute, I couldn't attend as I had other commitments that day. This is when he (Bart Watson) expressed really horrible behaviour towards me, say "What could you possibly be doing that's so important?" When I explained my day ahead, he then said "That's utter Bull****!" I was quite frightened and upset, and the concern still remains as I know he used your website to upload this job and is still doing so, and could do something horrible to someone else and he possess my address as it is displayed on my CV.

Nylah Collins

More Ruck London Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ze
    Zee95 Apr 02, 2016

    I applied for the role of social blogger via indeed and received a call from him asking me to come for an interview to his office. Fortunately my boyfriend had to meet a friend in the same area so he decided to walk me to this apparent office. When we arrived on the address, it was a residential building, I got slightly concerned and my boyfriend wanted to make sure if it was safe for me to go inside or not so we went ahead and doing the apartment. Barts wife opened the door for us who was a very lovely lady and seated us in their lounge. I still wasn't comfortable as I was told that the meeting would be kept in his office not in his living room. His wife told me that she'll be going to the gym in a bit and this is when Bart came in. He was very upset to see my boyfriend and asked him to leave as he claimed that he had to work with me for several yours something I wasn't told before hand. When I told him that I wasn't prepared and that if my boyfriend could sit through it with us he got really offended and said things like this isn't a place where you bring your friends, this is where I work. He insisted on my boyfriend to leave this is when I got up and left with him, he slammed the door after us yelling at us for wasting him time. I was in tears as I walked out of the building. Later he started sending me rude messages and I ended up blocking him. My boyfriend wanted us to take legal action against him.

    5 Votes
  • Ba
    Bart Watson Apr 08, 2016

    This candidate has been removed from indeed as a credible intern, firstly yes she was offered the position on the provision that she asked us that she wanted to to attend a major fashion show the next day we called her half hour before the fashion show.

    In her her incredible unprofessional manner she giver us no notice no credible answer or email or response and simply did not turn up at this event, fortunately one of the credible interns that we work with went to the event and understood We have been working for 5 months to be accredited to london fashion week, This person could have done many things to contact and change her mind, but chose to do nothing in my 10 years of business I have never come across such a totally reckless and unprofessional person.


    we got no apology no answer and no credible professional dialogue of why she did not attend this VIP event, We have been working very hard for five months as a start-up we have gained access to some of the most important people in the fashion industry we have just photographed Oscar-winning film producer and a major artist we work very hard on building a brand people like this are dangerous. In the real world of business bad manors and lying to people is not expectable.

    -4 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael31 Jun 25, 2016

    This guy (Bart) is a complete 'chancer'. He is living in a dream world where he thinks he is a big player...but the serious players are just laughing at him. Ruck is nothing more than a couple of web pages...a 15 year old could do what he does. He wants interns because he does not have any money to pay a proper wage. Forget this experience with him, he's not worth the time.

    7 Votes
  • Mr
    mrs freya Jun 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Much agreed with

    5 Votes
  • Ca
    catfisher Aug 22, 2016

    I have applied for same role and had a long conversation on the phone. Luckily I did some reasearch and found this out. Thanks everyone.

    5 Votes
  • Aj
    AJ1443 May 13, 2017

    I had an internship with Bart last summer, but it didn't last long. I went to JOIN him do some research for PRs to contact, and the first thing he said to me was to "turn your ### phone off" and I was taken aback as you can probably understand. I also received no payment/expenses, which due to new legislation is now illegal, so keep that in mind.

    I was invited to cover a festival and I let him know that I couldn't afford to go with no job about a week before, but he obviously hadn't read it. I texted him the day of the festival and he had a go at me which I can understand if I'd only told him then BUT I did let him know before that.

    I was also pissed off that I wasn't being given any expenses at all, so my parents would've had to subsidise his business which isn't really fair is it? If you get offered an internship with this guy, do yourself a favour and cross it off your list!!

    3 Votes
  • Wa
    Wack668 Jul 19, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Glad I found this. Already had a sense something was off, when I met him in person. Bart Watson had such an obvious desperation to impress and only talking about himself, like he had something to prove. Seems like a textbook narcissist. So glad this page exists! Glad I found an even more substantial reason to stay away!

    4 Votes
  • E0
    E0987 Sep 25, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have also had a bad experience with this man!
    I replied to an ad on Glassdoor looking for a fashion design collaborator to work with a musician called 'Mann Rococo'. I was invited to a party in a few days time to meet the artist and discuss the collaboration.
    After doing some research, I had a bad feeling as I couldn't find out any information about Rococo or any of his music. Turns out, Mann Rococo is actually Bart Watson.
    I decided to call his PA to find out some more information about the collaboration. Bart then called me back, and was extremely rude. It was also quite a strange conversation since he kept referring to Mann Rococo as 'the artist', even though they are the same person!
    I have worked styling several bands and musicians before, and asked Bart the normal questions I ask when I take on a new project. These included asking for links to social media and music so I can get a feel for the style, and whether the artist wants a one-off styling or a longer working partnership. Bart was furious that I was asking questions, and lectured me about how I know nothing about the music business. I then asked what the budget for the project was, and he shouted at me and hung up the phone.
    After reading these other experiences, I'm glad we did not meet in person- think I really dodged a bullet. Would NOT advise meeting or working with this man.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.