Standard Trust Complaints & Reviews

Standard Trust Cashiers Check received for $4,975.00 Sweepstakes Win

I received a letter from "Standard Trust and Financial Lotto" stating I had won their "De-Lotto American Shoppers Lottery" on December 15, 2015 in the second category.

My winnings amount to $120, 000.00 and I received a cashiers check for
$4, 975.00 for Government Taxes on the winnings. I called the 877 number and was told to deposit the check and call back, then he said (with a accent) could not tell from where but no an American! I called back the next day and he said my Bank most likely would not give me full funds for 24 hours and to call back after withdrawing $3, 500.00 from the deposit and to make a deposit at JP-Morgan account number he would me. It would be at that time he would either wire me the $120, 000.00 or send another cashiers check (Fraud Check) in the mail.

Standard Trust Beware of this!

1 7 09 - Received check drawn on PNC Bank NA New Jersey for $4, 920.00, along with letter saying I had won $250, 000 in LOTTO 649 contest. Tax amount was $3, 980 to be paid through Money Gram an any WalMart. Check was to be used to pay taxes. Said to call [protected] and talk to Steve Brown, letter signed by Vanessa Robert, so called VP of Finance. Thankfully, I looked up this site and found it was a scam. These people are lower than low to be taking advantage of people in this terrible economy. I shredded the check and the letter. Beware of this!

  • Valerie Jul 02, 2008

    I received a letter and check for $4875 with instructions to call a Mr Eric Duncan. I called and Mr Duncan instructed me to deposit the check in my bank account and call him back. He would at that time give me instructions on how to file the U.S. taxed on the entire winnings of $125, 000.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynn Oct 27, 2008

    I have received two letter along with two checks within the last 3 weeks. The lst one is from RBC Financial Windsor Ontario Canada and that check was for $4, 850.00 - The 2nd one is from Standard Trust Nova Scotia for $3, 900.00. The lst letter has a contact name of John Anderson - The 2nd one the contact name is Ron Clark and also on the 2nd letter they say the tax amount to be paid through Money Gram located in every Walmart Store. I am sure Walmart would be interested to know that this company is using their name. I haven't called the numbers lised on the letters because they are long distance numbers and I figured that could also be part of the scam too. I would be interested to know if anyone else has called and what happened after that.

    0 Votes

Standard Trust UNCLAIMED WINNIG

First of all, thanks to the Internet we can be better informed. Same all, Unclaimed Winning, US$ 250, 000 winning lump sum, plus a check to cover taxes, Wahoo!!! That can only happen in your dreams. I reported to the FBI office in my city and called the institution that supposedly issued the check. Do not be fooled, do not try to cash the check, this can be a night mare for you…

Standard Trust Scam award check

They sent me a check which looks authentic. It is for $4, 920.00. I have the FINAL NOTICE OF UNCLAIMED WINNING Claim # NW 723-559E. I "won" 250, 000.00. Signed by Beatrice Berry, Vice President Finance. Envelope with no return address. I can send you the document if you are interested. Should I file this with any authorities?

  • To
    Tony baloney Mar 31, 2009

    We've received the same notice !
    Kinda cool that they sent the same amount to us and we won the same amount. Maybe, if their is enough winners, we can pool our money together and help bail out AIG ! ! ! LoL

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Kristil Apr 09, 2009

    Hello, I just got the same identical letter in mail today! I knew something was wrong when I saw that the envelope had no return address listed. There was no available to answer the phone when I called the number listed at all!!! I don't why people waste their time and other people's time doing silly things like this. I'm just glad that I was wise enough to check things out before becoming a big loser to scammers!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jn
    jnthsler Apr 15, 2009

    Hello, I just got a check for $3920.00. I called the number on the letter and ask for more information where I can make sure that it wasn't a scam. The man hung up on me. I called him back and said that my phone disconnected us and he said that it wasn't my phone that he hung up on me!!!

    He said very rudly that if I don't want the money then just rip up the check.

    0 Votes

Standard Trust Lotto 649

Received letter with a "check" for the amount of $3, 900.00. Letter stated I won the Lotto 649 Contest held on August 27, 2008 and am entitled for a lump sum of $250, 000, which will be paid to me after the government receives the taxes due. The check I received is to help pay for the taxes due, which equal $2, 985. This check amount has been deducted from my winnings and I need to pay the taxes in a Money Gram, which I can purchase at any WalMart store. I am to receive my tax information from my claim agent, Ron Clark, at [protected]. I am to call him for further instructions and mention Claim # EC 273-559 C.

This letter was addressed to me, Robert Stuurmans @ my home address with no return address on the outside of the envelope. It is from the office of Donna Robert (Vice President Finance) Standard Trust @ Sun Tower, 1550 Bedford Highway, Suite 410, Nova Scotia, B4A 1E6.

You can contact me at email address of [protected]@yahoo.com.

Thank you

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Standard Trust Lottery Scam, Fraud Check

1 7 09 - Received check drawn on PNC Bank NA New Jersey for $4, 920.00, along with letter saying I had won $250, 000 in LOTTO 649 contest. Tax amount was $3, 980 to be paid through Money Gram an any WalMart. Check was to be used to pay taxes. Said to call [protected] and talk to Steve Brown, letter signed by Vanessa Robert, so called VP of Finance. Thankfully, I looked up this site and found it was a scam. These people are lower than low to be taking advantage of people in this terrible economy. I shredded the check and the letter. Beware of this! Read the other complaints! Hope they get caught and sent to jail. Jacksonville, FL

  • Ri
    Rick Mar 14, 2009

    Rick from miami ... received same ... shame on them ...

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    crazyknarf Sep 05, 2009

    419 scam. Using another route number from one bank and an account number from another bank and then using a different bank name. The check clears and you have to pay the bank back when it bounces. Had a friend get hit and had to pay back over $2, 000 to the bank.

    0 Votes

Standard Trust Lotto 649 winnings

My husband got this letter in the mail today - I thought it was maybe from some contest he entered online. He thought it sounded fishy. I told him to call and check it out - the check looked very official. He tried calling the number and got a message saying that the mailbox was full and could not accept any more messages. I got on the internet and searched "LOTTO 649" and found this site. I am so glad I did. The company name wqas different ffrom those listed, but the address, names, and circumstances were exact - Thank god for sites like this!!! We will be filing a complaint with the post office.

  • Us
    USGA LEGAL DEPT Jan 29, 2009

    ALERT: There is no legitimate reason why anyone would provide you with a check or money order and ask you to wire money anywhere in return. If you have received a USGA check for any amount of money as a winner in a lottery drawing or for any other reason and have been asked to wire money back — it is a scam. Do not cash the check. If you cash this check you will be responsible to the bank for these funds.

    Contact the USGA Legal Department at (908) 234-2300 or Michael Swangler of U.S. Secret Service (USSS) at [email protected] for further information.

    0 Votes

Standard Trust UNCLAIMED WINNING

I recieved a check for $4, 920.00 was to contact Jennifer or Ron for further
instruction or clarification.Called several times, of course box was full.My winning was for Lotto contest which I have no knowledge of entering.From the check I was to pay taxes of $3, 450 through Money Gram at a WALMART STORE.

THE AMOUNT OF MY WINNING I WAS TO RECIEVED $85, 000.00

  • Mi
    Mia Muth Nov 29, 2008

    I recieved a check for $4, 920.00 was to contact Susan Gibson or Ron for further
    instruction or clarification.Called several times, of course box was full.My winning was for Lotto contest which I have no knowledge of entering.From the check I was to pay taxes of $3, 980 through Money Gram at a WALMART STORE.

    THE AMOUNT OF MY WINNING I WAS TO RECIEVED $ 250, 000.00

    0 Votes
  • Us
    USGA LEGAL DEPT Jan 29, 2009

    ALERT: There is no legitimate reason why anyone would provide you with a check or money order and ask you to wire money anywhere in return. If you have received a USGA check for any amount of money as a winner in a lottery drawing or for any other reason and have been asked to wire money back — it is a scam. Do not cash the check. If you cash this check you will be responsible to the bank for these funds.

    Contact the USGA Legal Department at (908) 234-2300 or Michael Swangler of U.S. Secret Service (USSS) at [email protected] for further information.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Dunbar pa Mar 27, 2009

    I have just come home to a very trying day to discover that I had won a 250, 000 cash payout. The letter from Standard Bank had an enclosed check for 3992.00 and all I had to do was pay a small tax on the lump sum 2990.00. The letter also directed me to call Jennifer or Rom to set up this transaction at a Wal-Mart store. I am very disturbed by this scam, how did they get my full name and correct address?? Dunbar, PA 03/26/09

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jen Mar 27, 2009

    The same thing happened to me Received a check for $4, 920 taht I was to use to pay 3, 450 in taxes on a supposedly 250, 000 lottery that I had won and not claimed Check was drawn on Dime Bank, Pa which is a legitimate bank from some company Wayne Services, Inc. Couldnt find them on google, however was able to google Standard Trust and found all the scam stories Nobody gives you money for free Thanks for the people who alerted and posted comments

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tara Apr 01, 2009

    I just received a letter today from Beatrice Berry (Vice President of Finance) Standard Trust. It was enclosed with a check for $4, 920.00 and told me to contact Jennifer Moore. I googled the # 1-905-781-3616 and it is a cell phone based out of Ontario. The letter said that I entered a drawing for $250, 000.00 which is completely bogus because I don't even shop at any of those stores listed.

    Standard Trust SUPPOSED address:
    Sun Tower
    1550 Bedfork Highway
    Suite 410
    Nova Scotia, B4a 1E6

    Address on check:

    Sterling Bank
    124 E. Main Street
    Maple Shade, NJ 08052

    Check was issued from:

    Foods Galore, INC
    9426 Commerce Hwy.
    Pennsauken, NL 08110

    The only other real mail I get with my name spelt the way it is on this fake letter is from Bank of America. Maybe we all have that in common? Or unless Bank of America sold my info off...No wonder we cannot figure out who is doing this!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    martha Apr 02, 2009

    we use recieved the same march 16, 2009 did anyone call the bank for funds verification? how do we stop these people? the bank is an actual bank the number is 570-253-1970 if anyone else gets this kind of letter

    0 Votes

Standard Trust notice of unclaimed winings

We received a letter and a check for the sum of $4, 920 supposedly we had won some lotto contest and were instructed to contact a Ray Smith (wow how common!!) the letter has so much mispellings you thought a 3rd grader wrote it, well nice try whoever is trying to pull off this type of scam. We mailed the letter a check back to the address with a nice little note!!! unfortunately there is no way fot the goverment to monitor these type of activity... or is there????

  • Us
    USGA LEGAL DEPT Jan 29, 2009

    ALERT: There is no legitimate reason why anyone would provide you with a check or money order and ask you to wire money anywhere in return. If you have received a USGA check for any amount of money as a winner in a lottery drawing or for any other reason and have been asked to wire money back — it is a scam. Do not cash the check. If you cash this check you will be responsible to the bank for these funds.

    Contact the USGA Legal Department at (908) 234-2300 or Michael Swangler of U.S. Secret Service (USSS) at [email protected] for further information.

    1 Votes
  • Nm
    n. mitchell Mar 31, 2009

    I also recieved a check from standard trust . Food Galore & Sterling Bank NJ were the company names, in the amount of 4, 920.00 with a letter stating that I had to send 3, 450.00 through money gram to pay gov't taxes. I decided to take the check to a local check cashing establishment so that my bank account couldn't be accessed since I didn't know where the check was from. I'm very upset, especially during these hard financial times that our country is experiencing. I'm gong to cantact the authorities and many local news carrires.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    glenda Apr 15, 2009

    This company to should be put out of business, and go to prison for the scam. my husband recieve the same letter three days ago and we took the letter to a u.s.bank the personal banker told us that the letter was a scam, and that they recieve a lot of those check's . there lot people out going threw hard time. we don't need people let that scaming people just to get what won't. they need to go to prison something really need to done about this put these people out of business.

    0 Votes

Standard Trust — Scam Checks

I recieved a notice and check valued at 4920.00 which claims to cover taxes for a computor lottery drawing...