Security Networks Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Security NetworksWARNING!!!! Auto Renewal

Stay away from this company. Not only does their equipment fail because the batteries are old from sitting in a warehouse and they will charge you to come out and repair the system, but if you do not fax a confirmation letter to [protected] days prior to the end of your contract it will auto renew for the same crazy 60 month term. Their customer service department is not empowered to do anything to help customers, except send an e-mail to a supervisor to call you in a day or two. Do your self a favor and find a more reputable company.

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    Respond

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Security NetworksFraud

    Claimed contact would be at will after initial term as we move often for work and will not do auto renewals as a result. Told at cancellation it is an auto renewal with no notification required. Sure enough it was in the bowels of the service agreement as a 3 year rolling contract they had my husband sign at installation (while I was out- I had the initial interviews and retained my notes in their file). They are continuing to bill even though we moved and cancelled. A complaint will be filed with the State Attorney General Office this week and am currently looking for representation.

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      4 Responses
      • Sh
        shaik.fareed Aug 16, 2013

        sir i am getting fraud e mail like you won the 3 crore, and that person calling me back to back, plz take some action on that person. I am sending file of that company which is showing winning prize.

        0 Votes
      • Bi
        Billy r in virgina May 25, 2012

        I'm sorry but me and my three neighbors got one and it was being supposly monitored by security networks, and they wasn't., then we ran into the never ending you can't get out of the contract, that was in 2008, I was on the phone with hill crest Davidson and associates yesterday may 25 2012 yes that dates correct .still same run around. They took money monthly for 4 years, I had to get another alarm company to provide service guess what during the time I was being cheated every month the other alam company had sold my new alarm off to you guess security networks, so my bank was being debited twice monthly for the same house . That's crooked

        0 Votes
      • Da
        davids123 Jan 05, 2012

        I have sold hundreds of these alarms and I know each that each person that has purchased a system took a survey with me in their home addressing length of contract, amount, and any applicable taxes. The very last question on the survey asks the new customer if they were even made any promises that weren't on the contract.

        If you are thinking of securing your family and your belongings please don't listen to people that have buyers remorse and blame it on someone else. These systems save more lives and deter more crime than the complaints they receive.

        0 Votes
      • Su
        Subrenia Shaw Dec 19, 2011
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        I signed a contract for a monitoring service for two years, so when the the time was up I contacted the company to request to cancel the services. I was informed that I signed a 39 month contract and to my knowledge I was not aware of this but could not locate my agreement. I requested for a copy of the agreement and it shows 39 months but when I checked to see if I executed the document I noticed that the signature was not mine. I contacted the customer service representative Jeffery Young and informed him that the signature was not mine and to further investigate the needed a copy of my drivers license. I requested to be in contact of the fraud department ot upper management, but no one never contacted me. I have been given the run around for over 6 months and I am frustrated. Now when I reached out again to the customer service they ask for my drivers license again and to also sign the bottom of the copy. Now no one wants to return my call, I received an e-mail to tell me that my account is now in collects. I contacted the collection agency Hillcrest, Davidson and Associates and spoke to Patti Phillips and she informs me that regardless if that is your signature or not I am responsible for this debt. I no longer want to be monitored by a company who cannot protect me personally so I know they cannot protect my home.

        Please help me into getting this matter resolved.

        0 Votes

      Security NetworksFraudulant Practices

      A Security Networks salesperson came to my parent's door and claimed Security Networks had purchased their current home security company. He offered to "update" their services, including moving the control panel to their family room, add sensors to the Master Bedroom windows, pendants for medical emergencies and remote monitoring via their iPhones at no additional cost. He explained to my parents that a technician was in the area and would have the upgrades completed that afternoon. He then "assisted" my mother with drafting a letter to her current monitoring company requesting that service be discontinued. My mother did not question the logic of this until too late. In addition, the technician left holes in my mother's walls and never installed the bedroom sensors.
      Two weeks later my parents received their credit card statement with a charge from their old company and about a week later they received a different credit card statement with the charge from Security Networks, at a $5 per month increase. When my mother called her old monitoring company she was advised that Security Networks HAD NOT purchased their company and that they had obtained the contract with my parents fraudulantly.
      My mother attempted to call the salesperson at the number on his business card but was forced to leave a voice mail instead. Eventually Security Networks' Customer Service Department returned her calls. They told her it was impossible to cancel the contract unless they bought it out, and at $49.95 per month for 60 months that comes to almost $3, 000.00. My parents are retired and living on a fixed income. They cannot afford to buy out a contract that was obtained fraudulantly in the first place!
      After writing letters to the President of the company, and their Director of Compliance, the California Attorney General and the Better Business Bureau, the sales person finally returned my mother's phone call. It turns out the business card he left with my mother actually was not his, it belonged to another salesperson. This sales guy, who never did give my mother his real name, advised my mother he could not cancel the contract. My mother then told him he needed to find someone who could because she was going to tell everyone about how he lied to her to obtain the contract. The sales guy insisted that he didn't tell my mother that Security Networks had purchased her old company, only htat he would buy out her contract with them. My mother repeated to this guy the same thing she stated in her letter: she does not want to do business with a company who would lie to her to get her business. The guy then told her to stop saying he lied to her because if she insisted he lied to her he would lose his job. My mother told him she was not lying and had read that this was a common tactic Security Networks uses to obtain contracts. The guy then responded, "No, not in California!" Was he acknowledging that Security Networks does this in other states?
      This sales guy is putting pressure on my parents to let him buy out her old contract. My mother does not want to be involved with this company. The resolution to this situation is still pending.
      DO NOT GET INVOLVED WITH SECURITY NETWORKS!

      Comment Guidelines

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Submit
        Respond

        Security NetworksClause in Contract

        Do not consider Security Networks for your home security system. I contracted for their service and have completed a 3-year contract. It is now 5 months later, and I have decided to end the service. The representative stated that I was under a new automatic 3-year contract and could buy out of it by paying 31 monthly charges. The "Automatic Renewal" clause she referred to is not enforceable under any contract law theory. In fact it would be a contract within a contract with no signature to make it legal. It is preposterous and defies all logic and common sense. No court of "original jurisdiction" would enforce such a clause. It would be a perpetual contract for life and would not hold water in our legal system. Our three year contract was completed in March 2012, and no notification was given to us at that or any prior time. How can such a company do business with this clause in their contract? This is a deceptive company and should be held accountable for these business practices by the BBB, Consumer Affairs, and the Attorney Generals Office. Imagine if landlords, cable companies, and cell phone companies could use this clause in their contracts. It would literally be a contract for life.

        Comment Guidelines

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          Submit
          4 Responses
          • No
            NotEasilyBroken Oct 09, 2014

            What ever came of this cancellation? Was it resolved or did you just cancel the card that was getting charged? We are having the same issue currently. An automatic renewal of 18 months is what we a dealing with and it is absurd! We were told in July that we could cancel in October. Today is October 8 and I was told by a customer service rep that I needed to cancel one month prior. Why wasn't I told that when I asked when my contract was able to be terminated? I despise poor business practices. We will just have them send it to collections and from there we will contest the charges with poor business practices.

            0 Votes
          • Lw
            LW45 Aug 29, 2012
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            For people reading these comments - Descartes and Indiana comments (I'm sure you can tell) are from someone from Security Networks. I just wanted to advise anyone considering contracting with this unscrupulous company.

            0 Votes
          • Lw
            LW45 Aug 29, 2012
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            7 Comments. 0 Complaints. 552 Comments. 2 Complaints. WOW! Get A Life.

            0 Votes
          • Lw
            LW45 Aug 28, 2012
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            The face of the contract is 3 years. All It ended at that time, including all clauses and terms.It is illegal.

            -1 Votes

          The complaint has been investigated and
          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
          Resolved
          Security Networksdishonest representation and lack or response

          Below is a letter I sent to Security Networks executives and have received no response.

          Dear Sirs,

          My mother in law, Constance Santa Maria has had ADT as a service for quite a few years.

          My mother-in-law was visited at her home in Woodland California by one of your sales reps Ryan Robinson, just over several months ago. During the course of the conversation, somehow it was conveyed, hinted, intonated or directly stated that Security Networks had taken over or bought ADT. My mother in law is 84 and easily confused.

          During the course of the conversation between Constance and Ryan, both my wife, who is Constances’ daughter, and her niece came into the room and entered into the conversation and asked why she was signing up for a new service with Security Networks.

          Constance stated that Security Networks had taken over or bought ADT and she had no choice. Not sure of the exact verbiage, but I have 3 people who say something along the same lines. Ryan did not contradict or state anything, although he was present in the conversation. He let Constance continue signing up for the service.

          Sometime in the following week, ADT called to check with Constance, at which point she got it clarified that they had not been bought or taken over by Security Networks. ADT offered to continue their service and at a monthly fee of $28. Constance is on a very limited income and jumped at the idea. She then tried to cancel the contract with Security Networks or at least get it revised. She talked to Ryan, to no avail. And was told she would be send to collections if she did not pay. She got the same info when she called corp.

          Her reaction was that she was 84 and was not worried about her credit, she was just pissed and frustrated.

          She asked me to call and see if I could get it resolved.

          I called Ryan last week and was basically told that he could do nothing and that I needed to talk to corporate.

          I called corporate and talked one of your reps and got nowhere, I asked to talk to a supervisor and ended up with Trevor Gibbs. After going round and round, he said I needed to call Ryan as only Ryan could change it. Being that I was talking to 2 people who both said I had to talk to the other one, I felt a bit frustrated myself. I asked Trevor for Ryan’s supervisor’s name, which is Josh Bollet (spelling might be incorrect) and the asked for his number and Trevor said he could not give it to me. I left a message with Trevor to have Josh contact me that day. That was a week ago and I have heard nothing.

          I would like to get this resolved and rapidly. I am more than happy to email and call the California Attorney General, California Consumer Affairs, contact the local TV stations and newspapers about the 84 yr old woman who is on a limited income and feels she has been lied to and swindled. And I more than happy to spend time on the internet making sure this gets broad promotion on all those wonderful places that corporations hate to have things like this promoted.

          I really do not like to be ignored and this could all easily be resolved. Yes Ryan might have to lose some of his commission, which I believe he already got paid.
          But what is a small commission lost compared to the ridiculously large amount of bad news a negative story that is broadly disseminated can have.

          Please have someone contact me and let’s get this sorted out fast for both our sakes and for Constance’s peace of mind.

          I really don’t want to have to go to a large effort to do all this, but am more than happy when motivated to do so.

          Thanks for your prompt attention to this.

          Comment Guidelines

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            Submit
            Respond

            We are here to help

            • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
            • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
            • Honest and unbiased reviews
            • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

            Security Networksauto renewal

            I got an alarm system and signed a 5 year monitoring agreement. After 5.5 years, I called to discontinue monitoring, and lo and behold, I had been auto renewed for another, get this, 5 years!!! More than $1, 000 to buy out the agreement. I've never missed a payment, and had 2 false alarms in 5 years. And this is how they treat you! I can see an auto renewal year-by-year or month-by-month, but not five long years. This is ridiculous. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, Kedeedra told me I could call back tomorrow.

            Comment Guidelines

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              Submit
              Respond

              The complaint has been investigated and
              resolved to the customer's satisfaction
              Resolved
              Security NetworksHarassment

              About a week ago, a polite casually dressed male came to the door and asked if he could place his company's sign in our yard. I replied sure and he then asked if I was the owner of the property. I told him no, my mother is at work. He then said he would have to get the permission of the home owner. I asked him for what reason and he then began describing the company he works for, "Security Networks". He said in order to put the sign in the yard, our house would have to be a demo home for 3 months, they would replace our current alarm pads free of charge. I told him to come back in the morning to speak to my mother. That night I looked up reviews which completely changed my mind. Sure enough the same male and another male came back the next morning as promised, ready to install. So ready to install he tried to walk into our house once the door was opened. My mother told him that she is the home owner and never gave the okay to install or sign anything. The original polite casually dressed male began yelling at my mother that her daughter (me) had clearly given him the okay. She told him that was a lie, and he became very irate. He then said that he heard her on the phone say it was okay to install. She told him that was also a lie and that she didn't want his product and he needed to leave. Before leaving he yelled, "Oh, and by the way, your alarm system doesn't work". We were so scared we called our current alarm company ADT, informed them of the incident, and they came the next day to check our system which was working fine. We have never had an issue with ADT and they have always sent associates whenever needed. We are just going to stay with ADT regardless of the price, this incident with Security Networks was just scary.

              Comment Guidelines

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                Submit
                1 Response
                • Mo
                  moochie209 Mar 19, 2014

                  THEY CAME TO MY HOME TODAYAND OFFERED SO MANY EQUIPMENT FOR FREE, FREE OF CHARGE FOR 49.99 A MONTH FOR A 5 YEAR CONTRACT. CELL PHONE APP TO MONITOR MY SYSTEM WHILE WE ARE GONE OPEN AND CLOSE GARAGE DOOR AND ALARM SYSTEM WITH CELL PHONE. AND ASKED THAT THEY USE OUR HOME AS A REFFERENCE BY PLACING A SIGN IN OUR YARD. PLUS OFFERED TO GIVE US A FREE VACATION TO HAWAII. OH YEAH AND TO GIVE US GLASS WINDOW SENSORS AND FRONT AND BACK DOOR LOCKS ECT. YEAH WHEN I LOOKED AT THE REVIEWS I SAID OH MAN... CALLED HIM UP TOLD HIM SORRY WIFE SAID NO! HE TRIED TO TALK ME OUT OF IT, AND ALL I SAID IF SHE SAYS NO SHE MEANS NO .. WELL HE DIDNT SEEMED TO GET ALL BOLIGERANT BUT HIS VOICE WAS A BIT IRATE TO ME I DONT GIVE A TOOT.. ALL THESE OTHER PEOPLE TALKING AUTO RENEW ECT AND BUY OUT YOUR CONTRACT HELL WITH THAT! SO I TOLD MY WIFE DONT SIGN SHET! AMD TOLD THE REP DONT SEND NO TECHNICIAN HE SAID WE CAN BUY OUT YOUR ADT CONTRACT IF ONLY 6 MONTHS I SAID WHAT DO YOU NOT UNDERSTAND No! and if i see, or sence or anything different happens im calling the police and hey had placed or checked off auto pay in the contract and shet i haven['t heard my wife agreeing to that...

                  0 Votes

                The complaint has been investigated and
                resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                Resolved
                Security NetworksAlarms

                John of West Palm Beach, FL August 28, 2009


                Here is my thing we are all adults here..Who cares what they tell you READ THE FINE PRINT!!! If you don't read what you are signing before signing who's fault is it?? Then later you want to blame someone for your not taking the responsibility to read what you are signing. The contracts from Security Networks clearly states that your contract will automatically renew unless you request in writing to cancel within 30-60 days before your end of contract date. I read my contract and the cancellation went fine.So people grow up..AND START READING WHAT YOU ARE SIGNING REGARDLESS IF THEY ARE PROMISING THE STARS!!!


                Read more: http://www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/security_networks.html#ixzz0PzMjxo95

                Comment Guidelines

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  Submit
                  Respond

                  The complaint has been investigated and
                  resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                  Resolved
                  Security Networksrenuew of contracts

                  according to my contract, every 3 years my contract it renuew it self. for 6 years i stayed with the same company on the 3 term i wrote a letter i sent it just like they ask me. apparently they renuew my contract for another 3 years. and i didn't want to stay with security networks because its horrible service. please be carefull they renuew your contract even if u sent the requirement to cancel they renuew so they can steal your money for more years

                  Comment Guidelines

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    Submit
                    6 Responses
                    • Do
                      dont trust irongate guys Mar 16, 2010

                      they are a "real" company Its just thier ethics are horrible.

                      0 Votes
                    • Tt
                      ttyl Mar 09, 2010

                      I worked for them a tiny bit only to see that they lie to customers. They tell them installation can be cut in half from 300 to 150 when its actually 150 point blank. They tell sales ppl to charge customers more just for profit and commission. They manipulate neighborhood people into telling them stories about crimes only to use to their advantage when conning the next person. Don't trust them!

                      0 Votes
                    • No
                      nothappycustomer1 Oct 19, 2009

                      Be aware of them. We had 4 calls to our house (all false alarms luckly) but they called the wrong numbe reach time despite us changing it 5 times. When we canceled our information was still wrong. I refused to mail anything and instead faxed it for the proof. They denied 2 times they received our notice of cancelation unitl we used our fax confirmation pages. NO SENSE OF SECURITY with them!

                      0 Votes
                    • Ih
                      i hate irongate Oct 05, 2009

                      they also try to double bill you

                      0 Votes
                    • Be
                      begood1967 Jul 31, 2009

                      Please stay away from this company! It has the worse customer service ever. They take advantage of people and are very nasty when you try and cancel your account. They do not even know how to cultivate customers all they do is take your money. I do not want anyone to fall privy to their practices, I am now "stuck" paying a company that does not value me as a customer because I did not read the fine print. Oh, also they gave me the alternative to cancel by paying close to $1000 to buy out the contract, be careful I cannot say that enough.

                      0 Votes
                    • Da
                      darkmoon228 Jan 25, 2009

                      i agree this company have to stop.

                      0 Votes

                    The complaint has been investigated and
                    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                    Resolved
                    Security NetworksFailed to Upgrade Primary Wireless Alarm System

                    Security Networks Claimed they would upgrade my PrimaryWireless Security System to digital. As they stated it was required by the FCC. When they failed to get a signal. They told me even though my Security System no longer functions and they can no longer provide the Service. They should continue to get paid 44.99 for nothing. And that I am required to continue to pay them 44.99 per month for another year and have a Land Line connected in my house at a cost of 25 dollars per month /or Sign another 3 year contract at the standard rate of hard wired service. The Contract states I am to pay for SERVICES PROVIDED. How can they take my money and not provide a service? How can they force me to sign another 3 year Contract? Is this legal?

                    Comment Guidelines

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      Submit
                      3 Responses
                      • Ji
                        JimCB Jun 27, 2012
                        This comment was posted by
                        a verified customer
                        Verified customer

                        What does Connect America have to do with telephone service in California? Is this an alarm co. or telephone co.?

                        0 Votes
                      • Mi
                        MissPriss Jul 26, 2009

                        They installed a system 11 months ago. The system has only worked a total of 26 days, and then it was not continuous. They also think I should continue to pay. I am taking them to court. Maybe we should all join together. Can anybody say class action?

                        0 Votes
                      • Da
                        darkmoon228 Jan 25, 2009

                        this company it have taking my money for the last 6 years and they want to steel take my money for another 3 years. is horrible this company have to stop

                        0 Votes

                      Security Networks — Stay away at all costs!

                      In 2002, we got Alarm-One security system installed in our home in Hoffman Estates (IL). The contract for the...

                      IN THE NEWS

                      Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
                      If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                      One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
                      A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
                      ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
                      You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
                      Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.