Seagate Complaints & Reviews

Seagaterepaired instead of new

I submit my 'expansion portable drive'500gb for replacement.my id was no.LA13005017.But I received another repaired device (p/n 9scan1-500, s/n 2ghf2s5x).this is cheating with me you are supposed to give me new device. moreover I lost my valueble data with my old device. now you are suppose to arrange me a brand new device otherwise I will go to consumer forum/court.

SeagateDon't bother ordering from them

This company advertises specials and then doesn't deliver on them, even when you have a confirmed order. They claimed the item was out of stock. They must have a very poor inventory control system or their order system isn't tied in with their inventory control system on a realtime basis. Or maybe they operate with a bait-and-switch strategy. Pretty lame for a company with a stature like Seagate. All they offered as compensation was a 10%-off code.

Don't bother ordering from Seagate's online store. And better yet, just wait for solid state disk to mature a little more instead of buying rotational disk with moving parts.

SeagateProblem in New Seagate 500 gb Hard drive

I am Harmanpreet Singh From Amritsar, Punjab. I replaced my seagate hard drive from ur amritsar service center before 1 month. after getting my hard drive bach i create its partition and paste my data which i was saved before replacing hard drive. everything was fine but on yesterday when i tries to open the drive the drive not opened . then i restart my system but the problem is still. As i am hardware engineer i called seagate and they said me u check ur hard disk with DOS sea tools. I tried it but the short and long tests doesn't repair my hard drive. And then i called Mr. Baldev head in Amritsar Acell frontline service center. and told him about it and they said if short and long test doesn't pass it means there is problem in media.

so i want to know how my drives media damaged. this is not only my problem. there are lots of customers having same problem. at last i have very important data in my hard drive. so tell me how can i get back my data.

SeagateBad hard disk

I had bought a 80 gb hard drive on 03 / 08 / 2010 for worth rs 1900. Now after just a few months i am not able to boot up my system. After showing the system to a support engineer, it came to know that hard drive was bad.

Seagate hard drive comes with 5 yrs of warranty still my hard disk is not replaced and i was asked to log a complaint.

Serial number: 6ps3xq3q

Part number :9cc111s302

Complain number: pitsgt10001162

Till now there is no response for my complain.

This is the worst support from the seagate side.

  • De
    Deepak7210 Mar 14, 2010

    HDD Data/Partition damage when connect with Any M.board

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    riteshg Apr 16, 2010

    no display

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AllenYes Feb 16, 2011

    My name is Allen and I work for Milberg LLP, a consumer protection law firm. Your issue with Seagate seems to be similar to a case we recently settled against NVIDIA relating to defective hardware that affected CPU performance. You can take a look at the settlement agreement here - http://www.nvidiasettlement.com/. If you would like to discuss your issue further, please contact us at https://www.milberg.com/contact/contact.aspx or send an email to [email protected]

    0 Votes

SeagatePOOR QUALIY OF PRODUCT

Respected Sir/Madam
My bad days started since I bought Seagate Hard Disk of 500GB.It developed problem within 05 days with not responding to operating system and slowing down, then showing DISK BOOT FAILURE.Then started showing NO HARD DISK WAS FOUND. Then I submitted it for replacement under Call ID SGTDEL090033247DW. This replacement brought me more pain and above said problem existed yet. Now I doubted my system, so I got it checked by ACCEL FRONT LINE SERVICE and was found OK. THE problem was with Hard Disk only so I submitted it second time under Call ID SGTDEL090037768DW. This replacement realy disappointed me. Hard disk was not detected by system. With BROKEN HEART third time I submitted it under Call ID SGTDEL090039684DW. This time I requist you please look into the matter and help out a poor person. I am fed-up of making rounds of your service center in Delhi(Accel Front Line Service Ltd.) . Expecting a positive result at e mail address [protected]@gmail.com AND [protected]@rediff.com

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

SeagateWarranty Scam

I purchased a portable FREE AGENT GO drive and within a year the USB port broke. I contacted Seagate to find out if there were any options and discovered that it was still under the warranty. I followed the instructions and carefully packaged the item attempting to comply with the RMA requirements.

I checked their website to view the status of my order but the website was not updated. On May 12th or 13th I called and was told that the drive should be sent out within 72 hours.

I called back and spoke with Stephanie who informed me that the drive did not have the label on the back of the drive. I advised her that is impossible as I did not purposefully or carelessly remove a label that would void my chance of a replacement. For me to send in a drive that I needed replaced immediately without a label is like trying to return a car to a dealership but removing the VIN. The propopsition is absolutely ridiculous.

She sent me a photo of the drive taken by the warehouse and the label is indeed removed. The label was not removed by myself and I do not suspect that the postal service removed the label and then repackaged the box. The ONLY one who benefits from removing the label is SEAGATE. I believe that SEAGATE warehouse staff removed the label in order to void the warranty so that it would not have to be replaced. Stephanie mentioned that they send out hundreds of replacement drives out a day and that there is no reason to not send out my drive. However, if there is a systemic removal or purposeful voiding of the warranty in their wherehouse, it reduces their cost of replacements.

Had I known there would be such an action, I would have videotaped my preparation and shipment of the drive. It is very surprising that such measures would have been my only way to protect myself.

I have never had a problem like this before when returning any items. This is really disgraceful.

  • Al
    AllenYes Feb 16, 2011

    My name is Allen and I work for Milberg LLP, a consumer protection law firm. Your issue with Seagate seems to be similar to a case we recently settled against NVIDIA relating to defective hardware that affected CPU performance. You can take a look at the settlement agreement here - http://www.nvidiasettlement.com/. If you would like to discuss your issue further, please contact us at https://www.milberg.com/contact/contact.aspx or send an email to [email protected]

    0 Votes

Seagate — Bad service

This company advertises specials and then doesn't deliver on them, even when you have a confirmed order...

SeagateWarranty Process Nightmare

Way back in March my customer reported that their FreeAgent Pro drive was no longer functioning. I picked up the drive and immediately noticed the USB port on the USB/eSATA module had fallen down inside the device. I told my customer "no big deal - I'm sure Seagate will replace the module and have you back up and running in no time". I was wrong.

I opened the first support ticket on March 11, 2008. Nearly an entire month went by without a response to the ticket, despite my updating it asking what was going on. Finally on April 7th "Justin" replies asking a question he could have answered himself had he bothered to read my original statement or looked at the picture (which I've attached here). On the 11th of April, a full month after the ticket was opened, I was told that my replacement part was being processed and that someone from the "Accessory Department" would be in touch. After almost two more weeks no one had, and when they finally did on the 23rd of April they told me the part was not in stock, and then they closed the ticket.

Of course, no one bothered to tell me they closed the ticket. Their system never told me it was closed. Their E-Mails say you can re-open it within 20 days - yet their website doesn't seem to allow that. I assumed that they would get the part in stock soon and ship it out "ASAP", as they had said in their last update on the 23rd. As it turned out, I was wrong again.

I opened another ticket on May 18th (now two months after the original ticket), asking why the original ticket had been closed and where my replacement part was. No answer. Two days later I updated it asking what was going on. No answer. Finally someone from Seagate called me (or I called them, I can't remember which), and I was told that the USB/eSATA module was still not in stock, and they didn't expect it to be until "sometime in June, maybe". Yet, mysteriously, they were still shipping out new FreeAgent Pro units with the USB/eSATA modules in the box! The support agent told me that the "warranty parts replacement" department was out of the parts and couldn't get any from the "retail" department. My only option at this point was to do an "Advanced Exchange", which costs me $19.99 and a good deal of my time to setup and process.

After consulting with my customer they agreed to the Advanced Exchange, as it seems we will never see the USB module replacement. Today I called Seagate warranty support to setup an Advanced Exchange, but the rep couldn't do it over the phone. She told me to set it up on the website. I did just as instructed, but the website failed to setup the proper exchange and simply setup a normal warranty exchange, where I send the drive back and they send me a new one. This would take weeks and would possibly cost more than the Advanced Exchange, and would certainly waste more of my time. So I called in yet again, using the phone number provided on my warranty order confirmation E-mail, only to discover that the wrong number was on the E-Mail, and that I had to call another number. When I did, they mysteriously couldn't find my order in their system - meaning I would have had to go through the entire process again with someone who I could barely understand and could barely understand me (all of their warranty support is outsourced), and then call back again later to cancel the original order.

I called in today and they found my order number, but when I asked them to add Advanced Exchange they couldn't. They said that they had to cancel my existing RMA (order number), because their system wouldn't allow two order numbers for one serial number. That was annoying, but then they told me that I had to wait at least an hour and then call back, AGAIN, because their system takes at least and hour to "update" itself. So now I have to continue to waste my time and energy on this insane process in which I pay them to resolve an issue for a drive that is still under warranty.

As you can see, this has been a complete nightmare that seems to have no end. I'm blown away by the sheer incompetence of Seagate support and warranty services. How can they take almost three months to resolve a simply parts replacement for what couldn't be more than a $5.00 part? Why do they take weeks to reply to support tickets? Why doesn't their website work properly to process returns? It seems as if they are doing everything in their power to avoid replacing that part, and to circumvent the Advanced Exchange (which they charge for). I certainly won't be purchasing any Seagate products in the future.

  • Ro
    Robert Simian Aug 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have rather had and 80 Gig (Walmart) external drive. It was pure JUNK! It actually worked well for the first year, of which I rarely used it, but after heavy use (namely my dissertation) it crashed. Now I will have to pay anywhere between 3 and 10 times the price to have it recovered. Trying to find someone locally (Atlanta Metro Area). It seems that everyone that I knew who bought this brand has had the same problem despite model. I wish I could send it back to the company in pieces with take your junk back attached to it, but first I have to have my dissertation recovered.

    PLEASE, PLEASE do not buy into their "We will recover your data scheme" this is just a ploy where you spend approximately $1500 and they place in a new drive and tell you that your data could not be recovered.

    Please spread the word on this company. The faster the word can get around on it the faster it will shut down. I hate their products and service. Hate it! Support your local computer store as well. I am coming to realize that they care more about the customer than Wal-Mart. Also some of those guys are extremely skilled at data recovery at a fraction of the price.

    0 Votes
  • Io
    Ioannis Tsiokos Aug 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Seagate is a scam. I bought a 4TB hard drive from amazon and it was DOA. Unfortunately, I only found out a couple months later so it was too late to return it to amazon. I sent it to Seagate for warranty and they sent me another one. You guessed it - it was also DOA. I have bought dozens of hard drives and never had a similar experience. When I contacted their customer service by email explaining the situation, they replied back with a link and advised me to contact "customer support"...

    0 Votes

SeagateExternal hard drive

I bought external hard drive at xmas for my son that broke within 2 days bought another one with extended warranty from WaLMART.

After 3 months the cord fell inside the drive called Walmart they said send it to Seagate, mailed that in got an email today saying no receipt so I called now the seal is broken was not when I sent it. and they are sending it back unrepaired (RMA # [protected]).

All I got was a bunch of excuses from them now Walmart will not cover it either so I MIGHT AS WELL BURNED THE $170.00 i SPENT.

  • Dh
    dhaiwat Aug 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I HAD PURCHASED A LAPTOP HARD DISK DRIVE - THE SR. NO BEING 5PR4V53A - 80 GB ON 27/6/2007 WITH A CASE OF ZIPPY.

    THE SAME WAS STOLEN BY SOME ONE ON 28/6/2008. THIS IS TO REQUEST YOU IF THE SAME HARD DISK COMES TO YOU FOR REPAIRS OR INSTALLATION OR MAINTENANCE - PLS LET ME KNOW.

    IT IS IMPORTANT

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    funnicus Jan 15, 2010

    THey initially denied my warranty due to cosmetic flaws on case because I tried unsucessfully to open it. They will latch onto a slight flaw to a $5 plastic case part to get out of replacing a bad 1.5 TB drive? I re-submitted w/ photos. The thing looks perfect and I feel very cheated by this company. I'll see if they stay the course of screwing me over.

    0 Votes

SeagateWorst company to deal with

I sent the faulty drive and there was no one to accept it, with useless talk with seagate, its getting very frustrated, CS emailing me with no definite answers, I already have contacted BBB and filing a complaint with State's Attorney general.

This is highway robbery.

  • Al
    AllenYes Feb 16, 2011

    My name is Allen and I work for Milberg LLP, a consumer protection law firm. Your issue with Seagate seems to be similar to a case we recently settled against NVIDIA relating to defective hardware that affected CPU performance. You can take a look at the settlement agreement here - http://www.nvidiasettlement.com/. If you would like to discuss your issue further, please contact us at https://www.milberg.com/contact/contact.aspx or send an email to [email protected]

    0 Votes

SeagateUnable to register

After contacting your on line support i found this most unhelpfull while trying to register my new product it comes up invalid product and serial number even though i am copying off the box also your backup utility asked for an update then asked for a product code that i could not find so now i am stuck on a trial i will be reporting this to ministry of fair trading as this all seems very misleading and i am now sorry i brought a seagate drive and will contact dick smiths to see if i can get a refund and buy another brand that isnt so misleading your customer support agent donnie was most unhelpfull and sarcastic.

  • Gr
    greg bell May 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have exactly the same problem with Go 500 external hard drive- cant register so does that mean no warrranty?

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem