P. Scott Lowery Law Offices Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
P. Scott Lowery Law Officesharrassment

harrassing me cause they have the wrong number. they get very nasty aggressive personal and interigating

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Al
      AlisonB Dec 26, 2009

      Hate these people. In no way do they try to make things easier for me to pay. I said I can make payments and they insisted on receiving it in full or they'd sue me. HATE THESE PEOPLE.

      0 Votes
    • Up
      upset1234567 Apr 26, 2010

      I spoke with a representative from Scott Lowery Law Firm on Thursday, April 22. I made certain she had the correct number to contact me since apparently they had been trying to contact us. The representative let me know the debt, which I still need to check on, because when the debt gets to them it is under some other organization that is unfamiliar and haven't dealt with directly. I let the representative know I needed to speak with my husband before making any commitments. Today I got an email from the organization I serve on as a board member that SCOTT LOWERY LAW FIRM was trying to get in contact with us! We were livid. I called the number they left and come to find out the representative GOOGLED MY NAME and called the number that came up to find me!! Unbelieveable. I voiced my concern with the person who answered the phone and she got irrate on the phone with me. Very disrespectful and unprofessional business practices.

      0 Votes
    • Hmmm I can't believe You are complaining about bills YOU racked up. If you just answer the phone and talk to these people in a calm, collected, professional, manor and show them some respect you will get the same in return. Not answering and dodging their calls will only piss them off more, They have the right to call you up to 4 time a day. If you show them respect and give them Full and Complete (F&C) Information about your situation they will settle your account out for a minuscule amount. Most collectors are allowed to go down to 45% some 30% and if your really in a horrible situation then 26% if you talk to a manager or senior rep. You NEVER want to ask for VOD (validation of debt) this will cause the account to go on hold for 30-90 days while they do an asset and liability investigation to prove this is your debt and when they prove it is your debt they WILL NOT settle the account YOU WILL PAY BALANCE IN FULL. If your want another letter ask for a balance review letter. The best thing you can do is pay the balance in full (BIF) they can even take off the interest and it will still be BIF, this looks great on your credit report but if you cant do BIF then settle the account in full (SIF) a SIF will be a percentage of the placement amount and no interest. The last best option you have is get on a "Hardship payment plan" this can be anywhere from $75 - $175+. This will build a good payment history on the account and get you a lower settlement when you can settle it. If you want a better shot at getting a lower settlement pay it all in the first month you are contacted and set up Post Dated Checks "PDC" PDC is a free service and is the BEST way for YOU to have documents of paying on the account. The company sends a paper draft of the check to your bank on the date you want it paid (monday-friday). The company has no electronic access to your bank account in this case. Plus this leaves a LARGE paper trail so they can NEVER say you didn't pay on the account. Then when you receive your letter saying the account has been "Paid in full" or "settled in full" MAKE COPIES AND FILE THEM AWAY IN SAFE PLACES even safety deposit boxes if need be. The things I have to stress the most are: ANSWER THE PHONE, BE RESPECTFUL, DONT ASK FOR VOD, DO YOUR BEST TO PAY THAT DAY, SET UP PDC, AND SAVE YOUR SIF/PIF LETTER. P.S. don't hate the collector hate the company, the collector is just doing their job to PAY THEIR BILLS. You may think collectors are the ### of the earth but honestly people in debt are the parasitic ### of the earth. They are the reason for high taxes and a wild deficit.

      0 Votes

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    P. Scott Lowery Law OfficesPayment Schedule

    I was contacted by P. Scott Lowery Law Offices concerning a loan that was in default. They demanded I pay $2600 by the end of the month. I explained I could not do that amount, but was willing to make monthly payment in the amount of $150 via automatic withdrawal. After much debate over the payment amount, they finally agreed. I set up my payments. The first two monthly payments went fine, but now, in the third month of payments, they also garnished my paycheck. I still have scheduled the automatic payment and none of the previous payments were late or NSF. How is it legal for them to take money from my paycheck as well as sticking with the payment arrangements both parties agreed upon? I also tried to log onto the site with the account number they had given me previously, which worked at the time. Now I can't even log onto the site to view my account. Seems to me something isn't quite right about this "Company".

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      • Ja
        JAXFL Jan 20, 2010

        We were also contacted by Scott Lowery Law Firm. After reading all the crap they pull with people we will not be talking with them. They must comply with the Colorado Fair Debt Collection Act and send us the paperwork before we agree to anything with them. They also demanded a huge amount of money up front and payments for 6 months. This was a joint account and the other party said they have never been contacted. I think they are just threatening and unless they follow the procedures we will NOT deal with them. Google Scoot Lowery and you will see tons of complaints about how they are treating other people. They should be shut down and put out of business. Our news just did a story on collection agencies like these.

        0 Votes
      • Bd
        BDSandoval Jan 29, 2010

        LIAR, LIAR!

        After losing my job and having my income cut by 2/3 when I went on unemployment, I was unable to make regular payments on my bills and several of my accounts were referred to either collection departments or outside collection agencies. Most were willing to work amicably with me, though one was not. I was contacted by P. Scott Lowery Law Firm after the original debt collector, Harris Ross Byk, with whom I'd worked with for a year, transacted two payments on the incorrect dates. Naturally, these NSF'd when they hit my checking account although I made clear and they agreed well in advance that the payments would be processed on the 30th of the month and NOT the 23rd. Although I was assured that there would be a record of the corrected dates, big shock, there were not.

        Both the original collection agency, Harris Ross Byck, and Lowery are in the dubious habit of continuing to charge interest on collection accounts. When I made inquiries regarding this practice, the Harris representative stated that it is consistent with their contract with the creditor, GE Money Bank, and Lowery representative stated that it is in the original disclosures provided by GE Money Bank when I opened the account. Neither of these statements hold water; both are boldface lies!

        Between the ledgers of the two collection agencies, after making payments for a year and a half, my account balance is about $400 more than it should be; the equivalent to one and a half car payments or groceries, four months of gas & electric bills or mobile phone service, or one month of COBRA premiums. That's right, roughly 20% of my payments were pocketed by these 'law firms.'

        My new plan is to start mailing payments in the form of money orders (which can be traced through my credit union's general ledger when they clear) to GE Money Bank using my old statement payment coupons until the account is brought to a zero balance (minus the payments to the collection agencies). I have done this with other accounts and the creditor accepted the payments via mail and provided me with a zero balance letter when I paid off my account in full...all without bilking me for interest. I'm going to see if this works in this instance and will certainly save the stubs from the money orders and follow up with my credit union to determine if the first instrument is transacted by GE Money Bank and go from there presenting the credit bureaus with the composite tally of payments because both entries will show the same account number. If GE doesn't accept the payment, I can always get the instrument credited back to my account without a fee if I ask nicely and they can insure that the instrument wasn't presented for payment after a specified period.

        If that doesn't work, then I'll continue to pay Lowry until the original collection balance as reported to the credit bureaus by GE reaches zero, print the payment history from Lowry's website as evidence of such, forward it to the credit bureaus and report Lowry to the FTC.

        My only question is, how long will it take to get a ruling from the FTC and is there a way to avoid a suit from Lowry in the mean time?

        Barbara
        San Diego, CA

        0 Votes
      • Mi
        Michele 1973 May 11, 2011

        How do you report these criminals. I have been paying my bills to them on time, but I am constantly being harrassed by Scott Lowery Law Firm. I am the only person working and they want me to give my whole check to these individuals. They are criminals and this law firm should be closed down. If anyone knows how to complain to these individuals, please tell me. Thanks

        0 Votes
      • Bb
        BBBMART Aug 07, 2012

        being honest i have a dbt with the law office im 23 years
        old they were firm that they were retained as an attorneys office
        and need to collect on debt they reduced my balance and
        set me up on payments.WE NEED TO TRY TO GET OUR BILLS PAID
        AND WE WOULD NOT HAVE TO DEAL WITH ANYONE TRUE STORY
        AND A REP TOLD ME COMMUNICATION IS THE KEY AND IT WAS
        THANKYOU SCOTT LOWERY AND ASSOCIATES

        0 Votes
      • Su
        Suelen G. Feb 05, 2014
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        Has anyone had too much money taken from your pay check by Scott Lowery? If so how long did it take for you to receive your over payment? I have been trying since December 2013 to now February 2014. I feel as if they are giving me the run around. I am very close to filing a compliant with the BBB, and very frustrated and angry.

        Sue G.
        Tulsa Ok

        0 Votes