National Home Protection Complaints & Reviews

National Home ProtectionBad service/ unable to contact

Had service and was treated well, Then all of a sudden neither I or the contractor could get in touch with the company. I wrote a letter with was never acknowledged, and many phone calls that were never answered. I wanted to terminate the contract but could never get anyone to respond. Not sure what to do now!! If any one has any Ideas let me know.

National Home ProtectionClass Action Lawsuit Filed

My name is Allison Gill, I am a legal apprentice with Balestriere Lanza PLLC. We have filed a class action lawsuit against National Home Protection and are interested in talking to people who have been scammed by them. Please contact me at either [protected]@balestriere.net or by calling [protected] ext. 115. Our firm is very interested in hearing your stories about National Home Protection. If you would like more information on the firm, please go to our website at www.balestriere.net

Thank you,

Allison Gill,
Legal Apprentice
Balestriere Lanza PLLC

  • Cs
    C. Symank Dec 28, 2009

    I hope you are more legitamit the NHP. I paid for a 3 year contract upfront over a year ago and have not been able to reach them for just as long. I have left a voice mail for you and am also sending an email in regards to the class action suit.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelly Weiss Mar 13, 2010

    are- you still looking for complaints, I have documentation on all my phone calls, if you are interested, thanks Kelly Weiss

    919-606-0844 [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Westbrook Dec 14, 2010

    I have purchase a HPW Paid $1, 649.60 and due not to expire until 02/15/2013
    I have never been able to contact them
    Michael Westbrook

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Westbrook Dec 14, 2010

    I had 2 homes insured With NHP

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wes Eldreth Sep 15, 2016

    I have been called daily by "Amanda, from National Home Protection" for over two months. The numbers are seemingly random from States from Cali to Maine. I just want the calls to stop. I've already signed up with the DoNotCall registry, with what would seem to be the opposite of the desired effect. It's driving me crazy!
    Gerald Eldreth [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deegamble Feb 20, 2017

    @Wes Eldreth I too receive calls daily from Amanda and want the calls to stop. I have also requested to be removed from the d not call registry and this has not stopped Amanda!

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tinap2014 Sep 25, 2018

    National Home Protection was sued several times by NY AG and NJ? Why are they allowed to open up show again and selling home warranties again?

    https://www.homewarrantyreviews.com/news/national-home-protection-lawsuit

    Why is David Seruya able to open shop with yet another Home Warranty "business" in NJ? https://www.boardofadvisors.com/review-details/m/92/david-seruya

    0 Votes

National Home ProtectionScam

We had reasonable service at first to later find out that none of the contractors who had been assigned to claims we had, had not been paid. And would no longer come out to any future claims, making our warranty redundant. Have a look at www.scam.com and search National Home protection. I have since found put that this company is being taken to court by the States of New York and Texas. This affects many, many people, contactors and home owners alike. I urge you if you have been victim to this company to file a complaint on line at Federal Trade Commission under consumer protection it is very easy and quick to do. Our dealings has become comical, to the point when we asked them why contarcators told us they did not pay there bills, we have been hung up on and then phones have been switched over to an automated message which says the lines were down for updating or something to that tune. When we exhausted the list of assigned contractors because none of them would deal with them, we were told we would have to find our own contractor, Excuse me?! We paid nearly $600 up front and have 6 months of warrenty left.And have had to pay for repairs ourselves. I feel for the contractors who are small business owners who are being hit in the pocket book by these crooks.

  • Valerie Sep 02, 2008

    I signed up for a Home Warranty with National Home Protection in Aug. 2007. In Nov. they did not answer the phone for 4 days straight. I assumed they went out of business. I called my credit card company and reversed the charges. They then had not gone out of business and I reversed the charges. They did not put my account back in good standing for 5 months. They then told me that they would extend my account for 5 months since it took so long for them to put my account in good standing. My account has now been expired according to them-I only got 7 months on what was supposed to be a year policy. There is nobody there to talk too-they just put you on hold and pass you around to all different departments. What a waste of time-do not believe that there is a $50 Home Depot gift card, there is not. Be very careful doing business with this company-they are bad news!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gayle Whitmire Sep 11, 2008

    I am a new customer and getting the major run around every time I call and try to talk to someone that has any authority...I think it's a scam too.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott M Sep 25, 2008

    Called for quote. Was told they needed 30 days advance notice to sign up so I had better do it now. When I started to ask why such a lonf time, I was hung up on. Nice way to burn the bridge to a potential customer. lol

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Murphy Jun 15, 2009

    I should have been more awake when I was told to locate my own repair guy for my garage door, and NHP would reimburse me with anything over the initial $45 that I had to pay. When I called to see where my reimbursement was, nobody answered. Just left a msg for them, but no return calls. I thought to call and click any option on the recording so perhaps I'd be lucky enough to speak to ANYBODY, but that didn't happen either. They made out with 9 months of my years policy and the balance of the garage door repair that they never reimbursed me for.

    1 Votes

National Home ProtectionHello Anyone Home

We are a Heating and Air company out of N.Charleston, SC. We had a homeowner contact us on 5/6 with his claim number requesting service. When we diagnosed the problem, it was going to be over the set limit. So we proceed to try and contact NHP of course all we get is a voicemail. Left several voicemails, e-mails, and even tried faxing them. Still no response. Since then the repairs have been done at homeowners expense praying we eventually get approval. When you do get someone on the phone they either transfer you to the voicemail or they are extremely rude and hang up on you. Please be aware of this company. There is many more GOOD home warranty companies out there that will answer their phones and assist you with politeness.

  • Ba
    Barry Duncan May 29, 2009

    5/29/2009 I have been trying for 4 days to get in touch with National Home Protection I get either a busy signal or a ring with no answering machine. I have filed a claim with no response I have sent 2 e-mails with no response.
    Does anyone know if they are out of business? They have been collecting my monthly fee and I assumed they were still in business.
    I have filed a complaint with the New York Better Busines Bureau about a unpaid service I had with them last July

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barry Duncan May 29, 2009

    Can anyone tell me if National Home Protection is stil in service?
    I can not reach them

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    patsy May 29, 2009

    same problem as above - trying to reach them all morning and either a busy signal or no answer

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    patsy May 29, 2009

    looks like their assets were frozen by the new york attorney general back in april. i'd say this company is now out of business.

    http://www.oag.state.ny.us/media_center/2009/apr/apr27a_09.html

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    Air conditioning Jun 22, 2009

    I have been trying to submit two bills to National Home Protection since April. I had verizon even try and they tell me the number has been disconnected. I have tried the corporate office in New York City and I get the message "the number you are trying to reach is no longer in service." So does anyone know how to contact these people? The debt they owe us is not huge but is over $500.00 which in these times, hurts small business owners like myself. we are a family owned A/C & heating company. Would the homeowner be liable for the amount owed?

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    Air conditioning Jun 22, 2009

    Would the homeowner be responsible for services rendered? Seems like the homeowners should also file some kind of suit against these people. I have no doubt the homeowner paid a pretty penny to be covered by them????

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    santaclarita Jun 22, 2009

    I agree about the lawsuit . We paid in hundreds if not thousands of dollars. They have to be held responsible. They didn't even notify us they were going out of business and kept collecting the monthly payments.

    0 Votes

National Home ProtectionAwful everything

1. Never sent $50 gift card that was promised when I signed up for service

2. Denied my AC claim for preexisting condition b/c I had filed a warranty claim with the prior warranty company over a year before when:
a. they never inspected my ac before they accepted the policy which they could have easily done, they knew how old my home was, and accepted the premium thus waiving the right to argue preexisting condition. I started the policy in May and 1st time they came out was in August. You can't go without AC from May to August in TX. Clearly the unit was working.
b. the machine was in "good working order on the effective date of the contract"
c. their own policy charges a new fee after 30 days even if the problem is the same, saying beyond 30 days is a new occurrence, so over a year in certainly a new occurrence
d. the prior home warranty company says they fixed the problem--there was no leak, just normal freon loss
e. NHP's service provider came out in August and did not see the leak that the second provider found the following May very easily (fluid was everywhere when he stuck his hand in the unit). If there was no leak in August, there could not have been a leak a year and a half before that.
f. the TX Real Estate Commission says they owe for the repair because the failure happened during their policy period

3. Operating in TX without a license with the TX Real Estate Commission

4. Poor customer service:
a. 20 minute hold times
b. managers do not return phone calls
c. they have never made one single outbound phone call to me
d. no written correspondence, including no written denial letters
e. no reply to the many complaints I have filed either direct or through other means (TX RE Commission, TX attny general, BBB)

I have now had to pay $125 to go to binding arbitration with this company in addition to the two $60 service fees and the $450 premium plus the $1600 AC coils. I would highly recommend that no one purchase this product.

  • La
    Laureenn ;) Mar 24, 2009

    Well some of your attitiued towards natwest arn't very posotive are they now? -.-

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robb Hammond May 11, 2009

    I had an identical experience, but I was able to contact my credit card company and they refunded me all of my money for the premium.

    Robb Hammond

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

National Home Protectionunable to reach company

Following is my situation with NHP [this was emailed to the gentleman from NHP who responded that if anyone is having problems, please contact his directly:]

Is your company still in business? The contractor and I have been trying reach your company. The contractor implied he couldn't set an appt until he rec'd authorization. After I badgered him a bit, he eluded to your company's failure to pay the contractors.

I have been phoning for 2 week and get messages stating system is down and I would receive a call within 24 hrs. How can you do that when the system doesn't ask for any reference info. Needless to say, I've rec'd no cal back. One time I was actually able to leave a voice mail but it sounded like it was being taken by an unattended voice mail box.

Earlier this week, I got a disconnect notice when I called . Now its back to saying the system is down.

Please advise ASAP. Am I out my premiums I've paid on two properties? What federal or state agency regulates your company.
-------------------------------------------------------------

To date, I've received no response. Is there anyone who has started a possible class action? I'm going to contract NYAG's office but is there anyone who knows if the company is regulated by some govt agency such as "Insurance Commission?"

I hope we're not all out $300 - $400!



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: "[protected]@nationalhomeprotection.com" <[protected]@nationalhomeprotection.com>
To: [protected]@YAHOO.COM
Sent: Tuesday, April 14, 2009 11:40:06 AM
Subject: Contractor assigned to NHP claim number 615066

Dear BRAD HARO,
Your request for service 615066: Dishwasher: is leaking
Your claim has been assigned to C&D Sales & Service - Appliance Repairs, an authorized NHP service technician. You may now contact C&D Sales & Service - Appliance Repairs at [protected] to schedule a mutually convenient service appointment. If you do not have an appointment scheduled with your authorized NHP contractor within 48 hours please call us at [protected] so that we may assist you in getting an appointment scheduled.
Please remember that upon the technicians arrival you will be required to pay the $45.00 service call fee.
Should you have any questions or concerns, feel free to call our claims department at [protected].
Thank you,
NHP Claims Department : [protected] : [protected]@NationalHomeProtection.com

National Home ProtectionFraud, No Service, Scam Artists, Misrepresentation

This company is HORID!!! I can never reach anyone on the phone for either customer service or claims. You can't filel a claim online as their server is always down..They sold me a policy and had no intention of paying claims. Everytime I submitted for something small, a clogged drain, a freon lack in my A/C...they would find some reason not to pay. Ultimately I had to pay all these claims myself. Now I can't reach them to even cancel my policy...And since I now have a broken A/C unit, I can't get another home warranty policy as it's a prexisting condition. Living in Florida, I need A/c. This company sold me a policy they never had any intention of paying on. Don't even have any ability to cancel with them, so now they have my account number to debit and I have no way to stop it. DON'T BUY FROM THEM.

  • Wi
    wilfred buck Sep 19, 2009

    i paid 1, 649.00 for a five year contract and got no service. are there any law suits aganist this company?

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    wilfred buck Sep 19, 2009

    please up?

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    wilfred buck Sep 19, 2009

    please help? i like to know if anyone is looking into this matter.

    0 Votes

National Home ProtectionFraud and scam

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! We learned the hard way and wasted 458.90 on a USELESS home warranty from this company. We were eight months into our coverage before we had our first claim and they did not pay, telling us they needed service records on an item in our air conditioning unit that could have no way have been prevented from breaking - a control board. I had to fix it myself - $395.00. They would not pay and would not call me back. The next week our water heater started leaking everywhere. Same story, give us the maintenance records. Once again they would not pay.

If anyone does start a class action suit against this company, count me in. They are crooks!!!

Lisa Richmond
Tampa, FL.

  • As
    AS Jul 10, 2008

    Unfortunately I started my research online too late, based on the cheapest quote online I got suckered into giving out my personal info to the sales agent who sold the policy to me stating complete refund in the first 30 days if the terms and conditions are not satisfactory and a prorated refund anytime after. He also state I was not going to be charged until I reviewed the terms and conditions that would be mailed to me and I agreed to the policy. Alarmed by the number of scam reports I called to cancel the policy which had not even kicked in, the agent told be the manager would return the call that never happened for 3 days, when I call backed and demanded a manager, he first said he would refund the money subject to a administrative charge then he put me on hold, came back and stated that the policy is non refundable completely! Im now disputing the charge thro my credit card based on misrepresentation of facts and fradulent charges. My question is how does this company recruit its employees, do they advertize "positions available for liars and conmen"???
    AS

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark , Florida Aug 10, 2008

    I agree I am getting the attorny general involved, These people are the lowest of lowest and keep changing their names, Can you imagine the quality of a person who would be an employee of an organization like this (-: can you say ###

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark , Florida Aug 10, 2008

    EVERYONE NEEDS TO SEND COPIES OF THESE LETTERS AND "LINKS TO OTHER [redacted]S ABOUT THIS COMPANY TO THE AUTHORITIES. WE NEED TO BRING THIS COMPANY DOWN THEY ARE THEIVES

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Kristin Rich Aug 14, 2008

    National Home Protection is a complete fraud. They do not honor their warranty, are rude on the phone when you call in a claim, hang up on you, and do not call you back. My AC unit needed repair, and they refused to fix it because we had "mismatched systems." Their warranty states they can refuse to pay if "the mismatched systems were the reason for the repair." However, they do not stick by their word - they used this as the excuse for not repairing the AC unit, even though the mismatched systems was NOT the reason for the repair.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    Venkat Aug 20, 2008

    These guys are scammers. I first contacted them when my previous policy was set to expire, in Dec. 2007. Like others here, I too was enamored of their low quote and signed up. I think their neutral and commonplace name (National Home) lulled me into a false sense of security and, without researching them, I signed up.

    In April 2007, I had a problem with my garage door, which the mechanic they sent traced to the track assembly. He said it wasn't installed correctly and went on to promptly re-install the motor and assembly to the ceiling. He called National Home after he was done and they denied the claim. When I called, they said they do not cover "improper installations", and that was it. I felt them stonewalling me, and being very curt and ever-ready to hang up at the slightest touch of frustration in my voice.

    Right from the beginning, I felt that they were scammers.

    Now, just last week, my garage door opener stopped working. The guy they sent out to look at it told me that National Home Protection is the worst of them all, and that he has seen them deny claims on the slightest of technicality. As I write this, and read all the other posts out here and on scammer.com, I am increasingly starting to doubt if my present claim could be rejected on the grounds that there was a "pre-existing" condition. Let us see how they handle this present claim.

    I understand home warranty is not home insurance, and so companies like National Home Protection are probably below the radar of state insurance regulators. I am a law student, and know that complaints such as ours can easily catch up with scammers like NHP and result in a class-action lawsuit.

    I will definitely be calling in my credit card company (VISA) to file a fraud dispute, and also be reporting this to my local BBB. As to legal action, if there is a lawyer reading this thread, I would be more than happy to join in a suit against the dishonest folks at NHP.

    Stay away from these leeches.
    --Venkat

    0 Votes

National Home ProtectionScam, Fraud, Rip off

I purchased a 1 year home warranty w/ National Home Protection on April 3, 2007. I found it thru online. I used the warranty for 3 services - 1 minor repair and the last 2 were a disaster! I didn't receive Home Depot card, no responses to emails, and never return calls. NHP ONLY sends me emails to remind renewal of policy. A person name Victor Hakim sent me numerous emails to purchase warranty and I sent him emails few times inquiring my Home Depot but never reply.
1. October 16, 2007 - Plumbing Problem in the Sink & Ceiling is Dripping Water from the Master's Bedroom (2nd floor)
I paid $45.00 service fee. Contractor mad a hole in the ceiling (downstair) in order to fix plumbing. Plumbing was fixed but left the ceiling with a hole. I reported to NHP about the unfinished job. I was told to hire someone to fix it and I will be reimbursed 100%. I hired someone and spent $225.00. I faxed copy of receipt to NHP. I called after a week and told me they never got the fax so I did the 2nd time. Month later, I called again, then I was told a different story - that I can only be reimbursed for $55.00($100.00 minus $45.00 service fee again) I asked to speak to the manager, transferred me to a name Michael Moore who was in the meeting, & I left a message. I did call him several times but never returned calls. He's always at meetings everyday! I spoke to one agent, and told me to email to Disputes. I did send twice. I finally got tired of it, so I told NHP to go ahead send my $55.00. I was told then that check will be mailed in few weeks. I called several times for follow-up & told me it's in the mail. I never got any check!
2. March 18, 2008 - Swimming Pool Pump Problem
I paid $45.00 service fee. Contractor reported NHP my pool needs a new motor. I was asked for a maintenance record before they can authorize a new motor. We don't carry any kind of record cuz we maintain our own pool on regular basis. NHP told me to send email to Disputes. I made follow up but I was denied due to no maintenance record. This was not specified in the agreement & policy. Other than that, they insisted that my policy is expiring soon and wants me to renew it. I told them, you refund my $225., do my pool service, and send my Home Depot, then I will renew my policy!

Please, people, DO NOT purchase your home warranty with NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION. Go online and you will find out all kinds of complains against NHP!!! Why is the business still on?

  • Jo
    johanne valencia Jun 02, 2008

    I purchased a three year policy with NHP with the understanding that I would receive $150 Home Depot gift certificate (the same as the ads display at this very moment) After submitting the proper paperwork twice, I was told I don't qualify. When asked to explain and to submit their in writing they offered $25.00. The second phone call after denying my gift certificate they offered me a $50.00 certificate. I asked why would you offer any certificate if I don't qualify? No one can tell me why I don't qualify. When I email the rebate department they immediately reply with a standard letter stating that I will receive my rebate in 7 to 14 days. NHP took my money but refuses to provide the gift certificate as promised. To add further insult different sales people routinely send me an email with the same offer three year contract you will receive a $150.00 gift certificate. What other recourse is there to their fraudulent claims?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark , Florida Aug 10, 2008

    THESE GUYS MUST BE STOPPED

    0 Votes

National Home ProtectionFailure to honor warrenty

I am already a current member of NHP and am not happy with the service you are providing.

I had a problem with my AC, I called and you sent out a service tech. He call back with his recommendations and NHP called me. I have sent in everything requested back on March 27.

I waited and called on April 2. George Stevenson first they said they did not receive my faxes and after I told them I have the confirmation, the rep. found them and said that the person that received them did not not them. He reviewed them and said I would have a response in 24 hours.

I also asked to speak to a supervisor and left a message and never heard back form him?

Now it is April 8, no response. I been on hold for 20 minutes, the rep. John Deldolca said Cooling Service did not call you back, when in fact, I spoke to the owner of Cooling Services and said NHP has called 3 times and he has give you all the info.

First I asked to speak to a manager, he he said no way! Unbelievable, then he connected me to Johnny and it was another voice mail?

I again refaxed the info to [protected] 3 separate times on April 9, 2008

I was told that Mike Moore was in charge and asked to speak with him. I was told he was in a meeting and both Tiffany and Erica would leave a " Red Flag Message"

When I called back in the afternoon Tiffany said he left but would call.

Now it is April 9, I have not heard from Mike Moore and when I called at 1:35PM central time, he was not in again. I have been on hold for now 20 minutes.

Finally, I got John Deldocla, again on the line and he says he does not have the faxes? Funning, they found that fax but know say that the system was leaking althought three contractors report no leaks.

When asked to speak to a manager Mike moore, Iwas told that it is really Rick Sanders. waited on hold to speak to him for 30 mintues before being disconnected.

Do not use this scam of a company.

  • Da
    DAN DAY Nov 19, 2008

    I AM IN THE MARKET FOR A NEW HOME WARRENTY. HOME SHEILD HAS NOT TAKEN CARE OF EVERYTHING TO MY LIKING AND NOW I AM CONSIDERING SWITCHING TO NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION. IT SEEMS TO HAVE THE MOST LIBERAL REPAIR POLICY AND WITH AN IMMIDIATE EMERGENCY REPAIR POLICY SOUNDS REALLY GREAT. HOWEVER WHAT I HAVE READ ON THIS PAGE LEADS ME TO BELEIVE THAT IT MAY BE TO GOOD TO BE TRUE..HAS ANYONE FOUND A REALLY GOOD HOME WARRENTY COMPANY OUT THERE. I DO NOT MIND MY HOUSE HAVING TO UNDERGO A PHYSICAL BEFORE IT IS INSURED I REALLY DON 'T UNDERSTAND WHY THEY DON'T SEND SOMEONE OUT TO EVALUATE THE APPLIANCE'S AND THE HOUSE BEFORE A CONTRACT. THAT WOULD BE LIKE INSURING A SIX HUNDRED POUND MAN AT THE SAME RATE AS AN OLYMPICK MARATHON RUNNER . OBVIOUSLY THE OLDER AND LESS MAINTAINED PROPERTY WILL REQUIRE MORE MAINT.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sai Nov 28, 2008

    Please do not buy Home Warrenty fron National Home Protection.
    You will have a lot od problem. They will not repair anything for you. End up you will in bid problem.
    Good Luck. I have also been cheated by NHP. I'll be a part of class action lawsuit against them.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BAD SERVICE IN ALABAMA Feb 26, 2009

    I'VE HAD THE SAME ISSUES WITH THIS SORRY WARRANTY COMPANY. I'M TOLD THERE ARE NO CONTRACTORS IN MY AREA THEN I'M GIVEN THE OK TO FIND ONE. I DID ALL I WAS TOLD AND PAID FOR THE SERVICE WITH THE PROMISE OF REIMBURSEMENT. IT'S BEEN OVER SIXTY DAYS AND NO CHECK HAS MADE IT TO ME. WHEN I CALL TO ASK WHAT THE PROBLEM IS THEY ARE TELLING ME MY PAPER WORK WAS NOT SUBMITTED IN A TIMELY MANNER. LOL
    I WAS ALSO PROMISED A 50.00 DOLLAR GIFT CARD TO HOME DEPOT BACK IN JUNE WHEN I SIGNED THE CONTRACT. WELL IT'S ABOUT TO BE JUNE AGAIN AND I STILL DON'T HAVE IT EITHER. I'VE BEEN CALLING THIS COMPANY WEEKLY AND K EEP GETTING THE RUN AROUND FOR SERVICES THEY ARE PROMISING. I THINK SOMEONE SHOULD START A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT ON THIS CRAPPY COMPANY. IF AT ALL POSSIBLE STAY AWAY!!!

    0 Votes

National Home ProtectionInternet Fraud - Home Warranty Program

Strongly suggest that ALL file a complaint with the the New York State Attorney's Office of Consumer Affairs.

CONSUMER HELPLINE: [protected]

The Bureau of Consumer Frauds and Protection prosecutes businesses and individuals engaged in fraudulent, misleading, deceptive or illegal trade practices. In addition to litigating, the Bureau mediates thousands of complaints each year from individual consumers. A large percentage of these complaints are resolved satisfactorily through the mediation process. As part of its mission, the Bureau provides information to consumers and seeks to ensure a fair and vigorous market place. The Bureau also drafts legislation and conducts studies and writes reports on emerging consumer problems and issues.
http://www.oag.state.ny.us/consumer/consumer_issues.html

Also:

New York State Consumer Protection Board
5 Empire State Plaza, Suite 2101
Albany, New York [protected]
800- NYS - 1220
www.nyconsumer.gov

Also:

ABC News Ch 7 NYC - Seven Is On Your Side
http://abclocal.go.com/wabc/story?section=7on_your_side&id=4910070

Tappy Phillips

Tappy joined the Eyewitness News team in 1985 and since 1996 has reported for Eyewitness News "7 on Your Side" consumer reports...

  • Lu
    Lupe Sanchez Jul 22, 2008

    How do we get more people to complain about this company? I too had issues with their unwillingless to provide me with repair costs to one of my appliances and I was denied the Home Depot gift card.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    lee h Jul 30, 2008

    Natl Home Protection is not an actual company - they are a "storefront" scam [think Tony Soprano picking up your garbage]. They go through just enough motions to look like a real company, but their true business is collecting premiums via credit card (although I hear they prefer going straight for the checking account because there are no protections there as there are with credit cards) and then denying all claims as "pre-existing" or "improper maintenance." The NY state AG shows little interest in pursuing. I was told that they already had complaints and that I may add mine to the pile. No one has ever received a HD card. That is merely a VERY successful gimmick to entice ppl to buy a bogus policy. They do not have a single service provider under contract. They just go to the yellow pages based on your zip code and call around until they can find someone willing to go out to the original service call. After that, all is denied. This is actually a matter for the feds rather than the state of NY because they are operating internet fraud across state lines.

    0 Votes
  • Ib
    IBEATNHP Jan 30, 2009

    I beat national home protection ...

    I took NHP to court in n.y.c and won... I got all my money back plus intrest, i will tell u how, very simple

    I went to civil court in new york city (111 Centre Street (75 Lafayette Street) (Between White and Franklin Streets). Thier company is based out of n.y.c. the complaints has to be in the location where the bussiness is located
    I filled a small claims complaint ( cost me $20.oo). I had a court date but they never showed up, so i won the judgement, becasue they didnt show. So I then contacted a city marshall (which is very easy) and he seized/frooze my money from thier credit card account ( i think their amercian express) and then he sent me a check with my full refund . took about 2 months . they r such a scam fruad company i got them back karma is a b$%&H


    www.courts.state.ny.us/courts/nyc/civil/index.shtml

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    gr8237mac Jul 13, 2009

    Yes, I am victim also. Tried to cancel 7/08 couple weeks after requesting it on internet. Salesman called nine times to get me to keep it...offering more and more discounts. I said I'd consider it next time. He /they zapped my visa for $584 and issued me a 3yr contract! I did not want /authorize either.
    Many calls and fussing to peons, never reaching a manager.
    Filed claim for repair 5/09...faked me with two contractor names for 3 days; took 8 days before they sent me a "authorization" to procure my own contractor.
    I filed required papers...they never answered the phone or fax again.
    gr8237 Mac

    0 Votes

National Home ProtectionFraudulent business practices and denial of claim!

NHP is a FRAUD. They have denied my claim after they requested maintenance records on my furnace which is a contract stipulation. They say it is a pre-existing condition and thus the claim has been denied. NHP is a joke. My calls go nowhere. I ask for return calls and get none. They are giving me the run-around and I suspect I will never get anywhere with them. I have been told a dozen different stories by their phone reps - managers are in meetings, I will be called back, Disputes handles that, you'll get a letter, and so on. NHP does not honor their home warranty protection services. They steal your money and provide no service. DO NOT SIGN A CONTRACT WITH THIS COMPANY. You will not even get your money back if you want to cancel because the contract says you have to do it within 3 days after the contract starts. National Home Protection should be investigated by the Attorney General.

  • Dr
    Dr. Shab Kavandi May 29, 2008

    I am also a victim of fraudulent business practice concerning Nation Home protection Insurance company.


    Their claim policy and the “services” and also the false advertising and in promising a promotional gift card from the home depot to get the customer to sing up for their service is a pure SCAM!

    Even though I am a very busy individual but I believe some one need to step in to stop Nation Home protection Insurance company.

    I did protocol several incidents with the Nation Home protection Insurance company describing the ways how Nation Home protection Insurance company manages to avoid the claims .….all my evidences are verifying and confirming their fraudulent business practice.

    With this email I am trying to locate the attorney/s, who did start a eventually a class action law suite against the Nation Home protection Insurance company and also any other victims who may be victimized by Nation Home protection Insurance company
    to gain more and synergy / leverage in my approach. Any other tip and source of action is also greatly appreciated

    I believe this company is conducting fraudulent business practice and their business concept is based on scam and leis, which needs to be STOPED immediately in order to avoid further harm to current and future customers.

    Please email me any inputs you may have to STOP NHP insurance company.

    My email address: [email protected]

    Please help and show courage to and act immediately!


    Sincerely,

    Shab Kavandi, Ph.D.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Norman Ray Nov 10, 2008

    I have had a similar complaint about the promotional Home Depot card that was promised if I subscribed for a three year term. I have telephoned several times with no one answering my questions or being referred to non-existent departments to leave a message. There have been no return calls!
    I have written by registered mail. I received a one letter from a "Mr.Giles" saying I was ineligible to receive the card because I requested it too soon(?). I replied with a fax, but again: No response.
    Finally, I have documented my experiences and referred them to both, the New York State Insurance Department and my local state insurance commission. As of today New York State is investigating my complaint. My local state insurance commission has informed that they are not licensed to do business in our state.

    0 Votes

National Home Protection — Intimidating behavior and non-service!

James Monroe in accounting department is threatening me to put a lien on my house if I did not pay $1550. I...

National Home Protection — Terrible service - denied claims!

We purchased a home warranty from National Home Protection in 2006. We couldn't at the time find...

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem