Capital Moving Services Complaints & Reviews

Capital Moving ServicesDelay & Extra Charges & Damage

I hired Capital Moving to move me from Calgary, Alberta to California. They picked up my shipment and promised me that they will delivery my goods about in 2 weeks. I found it very reasonable delivery period. 2 weeks later, NO NEWS. I called them and they told me that they will call and let me know arrival date. I waited another week, NO NEWS. I called them again, and the manager called Elena told me "I will call you in 10 minutes". Guess what !!! Anoter week...I got my shipment almost 2 months later. If I move aain in my life, I will NEVER EVER NEVER EVER use this scam company. They had many hidden charges, and when I want to pay by VISA, they charged me 3 % extra. Please people...KEEP AWAY this kind of companies. My biggest mistake was not checking Better Business Bureau.

  • An
    anonyMiss Jul 26, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Unfortunately, it's always a quote whn it comes to time frames, particularly when going across country borders. The company may not have evn anticipated such problems! (Seems like it as they don't readily accept VISA). Next time, try to figure out all the info on customs form your end, so you have a better idea of what needs to be done/accomplished for fastest processing time.

    As for the 3% charge for using your VISA, many companies will have a surchage or a different rate if you decide to pay with credit card, the reason being that they actually get charged for every transaction. It's pennies on the dollar, but still. This is why when you go to a gas station there is a cash and a credit option. Many other companies do this also.

    As for hidden fees, Like I stated earlier, they may not have anticipated many things involved in the move, as far as they seem like a small scale operation (credit card processing fees, quoting you 2 weeks on a moe from Canada to California). Anyway, most companies of this scale do not want to lose your business and probably would not added extra fees if they were not necessary. However, it is for you to decide.

    I would strongly recommend contacting them and asking what is the best day/time to reach a manager. Then leave a message asking for a call back. If you do not hear back, call on the specified day/time. And ask for a detailed break-down/explaination of your bill. DO NOT ask for a refund until you understand it thoroughly.

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
    CapitalMovers&Storage Jun 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Clarification - Capital Moving (reviewed here) is NOT attached, affiliated or connected in any way with Capital Movers & Storage (Kingston, ON).

    Capital MOVERS & STORAGE is an entirely separate company, unaffiliated with Capital Moving. Capital Movers & Storage is based in Kingston, ON with offices in Trenton, Deep River (as Walker's Van & Storage) and North Bay (as Walker's Van & Storage). We are a member of United Van Lines and the Canadian Association of Movers (CAM).

    We recommend that anyone considering a hiring professional movers do their research prior to making any firm arrangements. CAM has some good tips for evaluating the merits of moving companies in your area. http://www.mover.net/

    0 Votes

Capital Moving ServicesAwful service

We were moving from Northern Alberta to a City in the Lower Mainland, B.C. and we decided to use Capital Movers. They were the best quote overall and came recommended on a Movers Canada Website.

After we viewed their website we called and talked to a very friendly sales rep to set up our move. Her name was Twyla. About 3 weeks later the movers came to pick up our stuff which was the 25th of January. They handled everything well, however the man loading the truck told us that he hadn't heard many good things about this company and was surprised that we were using them. The man driving the truck said that our shipment would reach Calgary the next day and the day after that be sent to Vancouver so we should receive our things by the end of the week.

By the end of that week we called Capital Movers to receive the weight and cost of our shipment and find out when it was due to arrive. The same very pleasant lady Twyla then told me the total but couldn't tell me the exact date as to when it was getting here.

A week later we called again and the 'pleasant lady' was no longer so pleasant. We asked were our stuff was and if it would be arriving soon and she told us to ' stop complaining and it will arrive when it arrives'

They never called us. So every time that we called them we received a different excuse as to why our stuff was late, 'the truck broke down, The highway was closed...' We never had the same excuse twice. Everytime we called we also were told that it would arrive 4-10 days from now and no one new where exactly our shipment was.

It has now been 24 days almost a month since we have seen our things. we have been sleeping on an air mattress and eating on the floor for a month because no one can tell us when our things will arrive.

The sales manger has courteously offered to take '$140 off of our bill' because she understands. $140 dollars off of a $3000 dollar bill for being a month late, Being insulted by customer service reps, and being lied to.

I have moved 13 times and this has been the worst moving company I have ever used. I would tell you about the condition our stuff has arrived in but its not here yet so I wouldn't know.

Also the only option that they allow you to pay with is the kind where you get screwed. Money order, Cash, or cashiers cheques.

I would never recommend these rude, overly priced, scam artists if it were my only option.

  • Ca
    CastorGrayson Apr 09, 2011

    I have a WORSE CAPITAL MOVING STORY if you can believe it. Oh they damaged a bunch of my stuff sure. It took them seven hours to load up my stuff with about 24 'smoke breaks' yeah...but the worst. the worst is that they STOLE from me. I'm not kidding. I was moving from Montreal to Toronto and I had put all of the stuff I wanted to take myself (Including my jacket and wallet) in the bathroom and told the movers to take everything but the stuff in the washroom. One of them asked me to use the washroom and I said fine. When I got to Toronto I found my credit cards were missing from my wallet. Concerned, of course, I called my CC company and found out that they were used at a gas station between Montreal and Toronto about two hours after the movers left my place and headed to Toronto!! I was still in Montreal!
    They stole my credit cards from my wallet and used them on the way to Toronto!

    I called the company and told them of this and the "president' basically said "Well, sue us. I don't believe you"
    I told him that it's one hell of a coincidence that my credit cards disappear when I'm moving my stuff and then they are used on the exact route and time that your movers were on! He said "strange things happen all of the time. Sue us"

    Don't EVER EVER use capital moving.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CapitalMovers&Storage Jun 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Clarification - Capital Moving (reviewed here) is NOT attached, affiliated or connected in any way with Capital Movers & Storage (Kingston, ON).

    Capital MOVERS & STORAGE is an entirely separate company, unaffiliated with Capital Moving. Capital Movers & Storage is based in Kingston, ON with offices in Trenton, Deep River (as Walker's Van & Storage) and North Bay (as Walker's Van & Storage). We are a member of United Van Lines and the Canadian Association of Movers (CAM).

    We recommend that anyone considering a hiring professional movers do their research prior to making any firm arrangements. CAM has some good tips for evaluating the merits of moving companies in your area. http://www.mover.net/

    0 Votes

Capital Moving Servicesinept movers

This is the latest letter Ive sent to the compay.

February 22, 2009

Capital Moving Services Inc.
690 Progress Avenue, Unit #3
Scarborough, ON
M1H 3A6

To Whom It May Concern,

We first contacted Capital Movers in July 2008 for a quote for our move from Calgary to Toronto. It was a pretty easy move, as our belongings were already very well packed and in a storage container. They just had to be unloaded and re-loaded from our container to your truck. Our container was even dropped off directly at your warehouse in Calgary. I explained to Elena Balduk that the items were so well packed in there that removing them would mean that some items would have to be re-wrapped with bubble wrap or blankets, which is what I was told would happen. Elena was very accommodating and after she emailed us a quote, we decided to proceed.

Everything went according to plan, except when the movers arrived. They came in, I paid them cash, and then was told they would start bringing our belongings inside. I immediately asked them where the floor runners were. They told me that they did not have any. After regaining my breath, I told them that this was not acceptable. The carpets were just cleaned and my hardwood floor was just refinished. They then told me that there might be extra blankets on the truck they could out down. I called Elena and she told me that the floor runners were something that should have been requested. I was confused, as I’ve never had a moving company not routinely use floor runners. We have moved dozens of times and this was unheard of. At this point, I agreed that they could use blankets, but they proved to be useless, as they just slid around and tripped the movers on the stairs. Eventually, I removed them.

The next drama involved the movers bringing in our furniture. I’ve never witnessed a dolly being used the way they did, and after trying to balance my grandmother’s antique dining table sideways on a dolly (with no blanket) to take down the stairs, I had to step in before it tumbled down and into the wall. The carrying in of my husband’s upright dresser was a disaster. I told the movers that the drawers were full and that they should be taken out to make carrying it up the stairs easier for them. I wish I had insisted. They struggled the whole way up with it as I followed close behind, gouging huge dents into the drywall as they proceeded. They just told me to put all of the damage, including the walls, on the claim form and not to worry about it. At one point, one of the mover’s started to use the top of the dresser for leverage. Of course, furniture is not meant to be carried this way and the top came off. This is an expensive solid piece of antique mahogany furniture, not a cheap piece of furniture that can easily came apart. Before I realized what they were doing, the men were down on their knees trying to pull the top back down into place, whacking it with their hands. At this point, I almost wept. Because of the top coming off, this caused other problems to the piece, such as the drawers being off balance, not being able to close all the way. Things didn’t get any better, and at one point I started taking things off the truck and into the house because I just wanted the movers to leave. When it was time for my dresser to come into the house, I removed the drawers, so that there wouldn’t be a repeat of the other incident. Also, to make things move along quicker and to try to minimize any more damage to our walls and furniture, I told them to put everything that was left on the truck into the living room. In retrospect, this was an error. Apparently the movers weren’t aware that when you slide a heavy box on a wooden floor, it will get scratched. I was so busy emptying the truck that I wasn’t aware of this going on until it was too late. Our newly refinished hardwood floor was a mess. Again, the mover told me to put it in the claim. Another point to be made is that about half of the boxes were stacked upside down. There is a reason that some boxes had to be stacked and stored a certain way.

The claim form had to be completed and submitted within 10 days of our move, a practice which is quite unfair actually, as we still hadn’t really unpacked or been able to inspect most of our belongings. We submitted what was obviously damaged and/or lost, but since then have discovered much more damage on more of our furniture.
A response was received about 3 weeks after submitting it. You can imagine our surprise and annoyance when the few items we did claim were completely denied.
It seemed that even the damage to our furniture was denied as well, until I copied and pasted a line from an email dated August 29, 2008 which stated, “If anything is damaged, we repair the goods.” Photos were sent to Elena of the damage to the 2 pieces of furniture we claimed and she said that the furniture repair person would contact us. This was back in November. Brian from Vintage Furniture finally came by to look at our damage on January 12, 2009. Elena told us that she was also working on trying to get the deductible removed from our file, but informed me on Feb 2nd, that she was not able to do it. So, Capital Movers would proceed with paying the $275 after we paid the $300 deductible. This just does not seem fair.

Promises from your company were not met, so now we have to pay a $300 deductible on the damage to 2 pieces of furniture. Perhaps if we were able to claim all of the damage to our house, including the floor, damaged drywall, the lost items, and the rest of the damaged furniture that we discovered after the claim filing period had passed, it wouldn’t seem so substantial, but on such a small claim, it seems outrageous.

Below is the service that we expected, but did not receive:

Here is what this price includes;

This price includes everything, there are no extra/hidden costs:

 Our men will wrap all your goods in Specially Padded Moving Blankets. They will wrap all your furniture as well as all fragile/breakable items. If you have any electronics or extra fragile items, we can also provide bubble wrapping and material free of charge. (The re-wrapping simply did not happen and our dining room table, in particular, really suffered from not having anything properly wrapped around it.)

 Also, our men will tag all your goods one by one before loading the truck. This is your inventory list. On the inventory list they will note the number of the item and the condition of the item at the time of the pick-up. This way when the goods arrive at the destination, we will unload and check off each item one by one, so that you can make sure that all of the items arrived and that they arrived in a good condition.

 Our price includes basic coverage. We will always take care of any damages/loses occurring during the shipment of your goods.
(Hmm, I don’t agree)

 This is a full Door-to-Door service. Our men will load everything at pick-up time and we will unload everything at delivery time. We will bring everything inside and place everything where you wish it to be. You do not have to touch anything.
(Not sure what to say to this, except that it didn’t quite happen this way)

Service we did receive:

 Goods transferred, but not properly re-wrapped when transferred from our container to truck in Calgary.
 Goods shipped from Calgary to Toronto
 Goods mishandled and treated carelessly during the move-in
 Denied claim for lost and damaged items

We believe that due to the extreme negligence and mishandling of our belongings, the least that Capital Mover's can do is to pay for the full repair to the damage on our 2 pieces of furniture.

  • Na
    Natasha Jacobs Jun 14, 2009

    Me and my husband are plannign on using Capital Moving Servies from Alberta to Muskoka Ontario, and my husband is very concerned that we are going to get screwed! I understand that they mishandled your belongings, but was their quote accurate to what they actually charged you and did your belongings arrive on time?

    Sincerly,
    Natasha Jacobs

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kelli gerrity Jun 14, 2009

    Hi Natasha,

    Can you believe that I was still dealing with all of this last week from last October 2008? Yes our belongings did arrive on time, but as I said in the letter, the damage to our belongings and the un-professionalism of these idiots was unbelievable! As far as the quote goes, I was a low amount of about $2800 based what they estimated our belongings to weigh, but of course our belongings weighed about twice as much as they estimated. The total in the end was approx. $4800. However, I would have gladly paid twice that amount in order to thave gotten the customer service I expected and the professionalism I expected from them. We have moved so many times and have always used one of the bigger moving companies, but thought we'd try a smaller local company this time to save money. Boy were we wrong!! When you are dealing with a small company with an absentee owner, there is only so far you can go with complaints. Unfortunately following the chain of command up until you find someone who cares, does not exist here.

    Good luck with your move whoever you use, and remember the saying, "you get what you pay for".

    Kelli

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Natasha Jacobs Jun 14, 2009

    Thanks for your help.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Never use May 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Capital moving is clearly the worst movers in Canada. You name it, it went wrong. From running out packing boxes, damaging the goods during loading and unloading, meeting timelines, cost, insurance coverage and lost items to just name a few. Elena and Twyla are the worst people to deal with. Never returns phone calls or emails. Whoever wants to use, please review their rating in BBB and [redacted] before making a decision. The guys who unloaded the truck said this is very common with this moving company and he hasn't seen one happy customer.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mike12345Q Feb 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had similar experience with this crapy company. One big scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CastorGrayson Apr 09, 2011

    I have a WORSE CAPITAL MOVING STORY if you can believe it. Oh they damaged a bunch of my stuff sure. It took them seven hours to load up my stuff with about 24 'smoke breaks' yeah...but the worst. the worst is that they STOLE from me. I'm not kidding. I was moving from Montreal to Toronto and I had put all of the stuff I wanted to take myself (Including my jacket and wallet) in the bathroom and told the movers to take everything but the stuff in the washroom. One of them asked me to use the washroom and I said fine. When I got to Toronto I found my credit cards were missing from my wallet. Concerned, of course, I called my CC company and found out that they were used at a gas station between Montreal and Toronto about two hours after the movers left my place and headed to Toronto!! I was still in Montreal!
    They stole my credit cards from my wallet and used them on the way to Toronto!

    I called the company and told them of this and the "president' basically said "Well, sue us. I don't believe you"
    I told him that it's one hell of a coincidence that my credit cards disappear when I'm moving my stuff and then they are used on the exact route and time that your movers were on! He said "strange things happen all of the time. Sue us"

    Don't EVER EVER use capital moving.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CapitalMovers&Storage Jun 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Clarification - Capital Moving (reviewed here) is NOT attached, affiliated or connected in any way with Capital Movers & Storage (Kingston, ON).

    Capital MOVERS & STORAGE is an entirely separate company, unaffiliated with Capital Moving. Capital Movers & Storage is based in Kingston, ON with offices in Trenton, Deep River (as Walker's Van & Storage) and North Bay (as Walker's Van & Storage). We are a member of United Van Lines and the Canadian Association of Movers.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem