American Home Mortgage Complaints & Reviews

American Home Mortgageforeclosure, lied about postponing auction

My complaint dates back to 2007. I owned two lovely homes, one in Cambridge, Ma. and the other in Wellfleet Ma. on Cape Cod.
I had well over $1 million equity in these properties, but was unable to access any of it due to my FICO scores. 15 years of perfect credit history, but never good enough scores to qualify for any conventional home loan product. I ended up losing everything— details of this are on my website, ficovictims.com
A foreclosure auction was scheduled for July 10, but a 30 day stay of execution was granted to allow time to renegotiate the loan so I could keep my home.
I came home late on the night of July 9, to discover a voice message on my answering machine; it was American Home Mortgage in Texas, calling to tell me that they were reneging on their promise to talk about rerwriting the mortgage, and the foreclosure auction would take place the next morning.
I recorded most of the auction; the batteries in my camera quit halfway through so I ran into the house to replace them.
My elderly wife, who had Alzheimer's disease, stood bewildered at the front steps, while everyone in the neighborhood bore witness to the greatest shame I have ever known. A very wealthy landlord who had inherited millions of dollars in real estate from his daddy, who passed away in 1975, added my home to his portfolio for $660, 000. I owed $840, 000, and the last fee appraisal I paid for attempting in vain to refinance the property with another lender and get rid of the ridiculously high interest rate I was paying on the existing LIBOR indexed loan, was $1, 125, 000.

That sunny summer morning, I lost $285, 000 equity, and American Home Mortgage ate $180, 000, to say nothing of their costs of sale to the auctioneer, ads online and in several newspapers—and my wife and I lost our beloved home of over 13 years.

The situation "down the Cape" was even worse. My best friend was going through the ugliest divorce in modern history, he had been exiled for more than 3 years after coming out of prison from conviction of a bogus babysitter sex charge— this guy couldn't do twiddly-schitt in a courtroom, and I was constantly paying attorneys large sums of money to keep this poor grunt's ass out of the legal system designed to kill, once he was designated a level 3 sex offender. I attended one of his appeals refuting these charges, and after the jurors were polled one at a time, i felt strongly compelled to offer them golden investment opportunities in Florida real estate. My papa owned two condominiums in Haines City that he bought in 1981... and lost money when they wouldn't sell. The same year, he and I paid $91, 000 for ownership in a granite co-op building just outside Boston's combat zone, the top level of which I used for private studio and photo lab. We ended owning 6, 012 square feet, subservient to the master deed holder. There was no parking (biggest flaming pain in the ass you can possibly imagine)— it was about a mile away from my job at a major photographic supply company, so I often took custom darkroom work, and rented out the nicely equipped studio at $20/hour+ supplies, at times I was available. A bus from my rental house in Arlington ran door to door home to work, or I could park my little red BeetleBug in one of many parking lots within a block or two of the medical facilities 3 or fewer block away from work at $3 or $4 per day. The man we worked for couldn't offer custom jobs, so he insisted upon a 10% commission on any work my colleagues and I might accept from customers in his shop. We agreed, and at the same time turned a little photo shop next to the Charles St. jail into one of the finest and most reliable dispensaries of finest quality marijuana, hashish of various grades—- and the ever coveted Sensemilia (sic) meaning "Without seeds" in Spanish. Uncle Scratch suspected nothing ~ he paid starvation wages to one and all. I came to knew the innards of everything in that place, due to the calesthenic task of compiling endless inventory of stuff that never sells, or dancing to the "Dirty Box Shuffle." The subject of how cheap this [censored] was is better reserved for another thread— he was a cut above all the rest ~~ Milton Mishara... this [censored] is the kind you document tax fraud, then report to the IRS... the Friday before I quit, I compared his chevk to the one issued to me by my new employer. I had worked the same number of hours at each job, and showed Scratch my two weekly paychecks, one next to another. His bilingual son, who had been living in Québéc for many years, reminded his father to stop belittling and bawling out his employees. I'm fluent in French too~~ mine is European, his is Québécois. Sometimes when he was there, I would interject a comment in French. Usually dependent upon public transportation, I was often late for work~~ he took a note of the exact minute I arrived. Ok, I can't expect to be paid for time I wasn't there working, so I had no legitimate right of contention, until I caught this McPenispicker actually CHEATING on my minute. At an age approaching 80, he picked up some young girl out west— .. and last I heard, his family was tied up in court, fighting over Scratch's $130, 000, 000+/-!estate.
Milton was Jewish, but paid nothing more than lip service to his professed religion. Milton lived under the golden calf, licking its genitalia and cumming in unison as the metaphorical personification of greed ejaculated its foul cream into Milton Mishara's body when/wherever his penultimate stinginess found an
I'm self employed.
MORE TO FOLLOW

American Home MortgageModification into Forclosure Hell

I am by no means saying that falling behind is not my fault or that I couldn't have done better, but I have a severly asthmatic child at home who had pneumonia 4/5 times and had to be off work a week at a time. I went and asked for help because I was way behind on the bills. I sent the modification packet in June '10 and preceeded to resend in whatever they asked for. At the end of July '10 I contacted AHMSI to see what was going on and was told that my packet was completed at the end beginning of July and that I should be receiving my paperwork within the first week of August. I asked for clarification and made sure it was not going to be a phone call.

I figured it was going to take longer so I waited. September comes I call and find out that not only has my packet not been reviewed, it hasn't been assigned to anyone, and I have to resend everything Oh and by the way send at least $3000 because they will probably foreclose in the next couple days. I am a single parent of 2 that is not possible. I, also, had to call every other other day or so to make sure that they received the paperwork and that someone was assigned to review it. So did I also have to put the pen/pencil in their hand to. But when they said I had to be proactive. How dare they? What was starting all this in the first place.

They didn't even have that I was living in my house. I had to prove that I was living there. So I started resending the paperwork and talking to them every other day. Degrading having to say why I was late and being asked, "Do you want to keep your house?' Than to have to resend the same thing again. Than I tried to send money and they sent my money back. When I asked why I was told that they wanted all the money.

Then it happened they started foreclosure. I have been at this for 6 months. I have been lied to and talked down to and all because I asked for help. Something is not right with these people. They don't read your file or give you any respect. For people who say they don't want your house I can't tell.

  • Ne
    Negative Am Girl Aug 01, 2010

    I would like to do a loan modification out of a negative amortization loan but after reading all your comments I am a little worried

    0 Votes
  • At
    Attorney General? Sep 21, 2011

    I have been dealing with AHM since October of 2017-yes ONE YEAR next month. I stopped them in their tracks when I complained to the Attorney General, my Congressman Ron Paul, and Fannie Mae. They stopped calling me, sending me foreclosure notices, and I have actually stopped paying them for 9 months on October the 1st. It's like everything was put on hold. The Attorney General sued AHM in August of 2017 and won. Print out the transcript I'll bet you'll be like me and see they are doing to you what they were already sued for. Complain! Attorney General, Congressman, and the agency responsible for your loan. Just call AHM and ask them who holds your loan. AHM is only the facilitator of your loan! Fannie Mae, Fannie Mac FHA etc. holds your original loan.
    In TX Attorney General Greg Abbott. www.oag.state.tx.us. Ron Paul. http://paul.house.gov. Make them tell you why AHM doesn't have to obey the law like you do. Then call your facilitator and ask them. When you "google" American Home Mortgage Complaints, There are 1 million, 580 thousand responses. News footage, class actions, and average people like you and me that can't understand how this could happen in America. AHM is STEALING our homes and the government doesn't seem to notice.

    0 Votes
  • De
    devilsadvocate490 Dec 16, 2011

    Pay your bills on time like the rest of us, freeloader

    0 Votes

American Home MortgageThey foreclose my house

we purchased a home with American Home Mortagage back in May 2006 in 2007 we noticed they had lied to us in regards the loan. we tought it was a conventional adjustable yearly not monthly. we try loan modification and got denied we attempted this 3 times we even paid to get help. all they could respond in a simple letter was that we had lack of income and at this time the Lender/investor was not doing modifications to try next year and be current on the payments. we stop paying the loan to see if their "home retention Specialist" would help. yeah Right. we never got a single letter offering help or options to help us retain our home. all we were receiving was harrasing calls from overseas from a [protected] and they were no help they never had info on nothing. we contacted a realtor to short sale our property AND EVEN HER WAS IGNORE THEY NEVER GOT BACK HER. the negotiator the the case on hold??? well we just found out our property went into foreclose without our knowledge and no one purchased it so its Bank owned. I been doing my research and many states have a class action againts them. Is anyone going to stop them. please help

American Home MortgageInfo reported to Credit Bureaus not associated with their company

I have never had a loan with American Home Mortagage. I had a loan with Options Mortgage until 8/2007 when I refinanced with Countrywide Mortgage. The mortgage was paid in full. I understand that over a year later American Home Mortgage bought Options Mortgage. I did not even know that Amer Home Mortg. was on my credit report until I applied to refinance my home back in August. IT WAS BROUGHT TO MY ATTENTION THAT THERE WAS A NEGATIVE REPORT THAT I WAS LATE ON MY HOUSE PAYMENT IN 8/2007. tHAT WAS WHEN THE REFINANCE OCCURRED AND THE MORTGAGE WAS PAID IN FULL. i CALLED AMERI HOME MORT TO GET THEM TOP REMOVE THE NEGATIVE INFO FROM MY CREDIT REPORT, SINCE THEY WERE THE ONE WHO PUT IT ON THERE, THEY ARE THE ONLY ONE WHO CAN REMOVE IT. THEIR REP STATED THAT THE INFO SHOULD HAVE NEVER MADE THE REPORT TO THE CREDIT BUREAUS. I WROTE AN EXTENSIVE LETTER TO ALL THREE CREDIT BUREAUS, ABOUT THIS ISSUE. ALL THAT AMERICAN HOME MORTG DID WAS ADD TO THE REPORT, NOT TAKE AWAY THE NEGATIVE INFORMATION. I HAVE BEEN DENIED THREE REFINANCE OPPORTUNITIES BECAUSE OF THE INCORRECT NEGATIVE INFO. PLEASE REMOVE THE NEGATIVE INFO IMMEDIATELY, BEFORE I LOSE THE OPPORTUNITY TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE GREAT INTEREST RATES. I HAVE NEVER BEEN LATE ON A HOUSE PAYMENT IN MY LIFE. IF IT IS NOT DONE, I WILL CONTACT MY ATTORNEY TO FILE SUIT AGAINST AMERICAN HOME MORTGAGE FOR THE NEGATIVE IMPACT IT HAS HAD ON MY OBTAINING A REFINANCE ON MY HOME, PLUS PUNITIVE DAMAGES FOR ALL MY STRESS AND ANXIETY OVER THE INCORRECT INFORMATION.

  • La
    lauradzi Jan 25, 2010

    This is all so sad, I am praying for you all

    0 Votes

American Home MortgageLack of communication

We have battling with this company for almost nine months now - - trying to process a home modification loan. Everytime we speak with someone via phone we have a different person who tells us something different. We have been told that our paperwork has been assigned to a negotiator and to expect an answer in ?7 days, ?21 days, ?3 months, etc. We get different answers every time. Also, it would be nice to speak with someone who actually understands and can speak the English language!!! Our home has supposedly been placed in foreclosure status - - there again, we are told ?not to worry about that at this time, ?the foreclosure process will be stalled once the paperwork is in the negotiator's hands, ?the process will go on until the process is loan modification process is completed. We don't know if we are about to be kicked out of our home or what is going on!!!

  • Cl
    claudiaj Feb 04, 2010

    I totally understand your situation. our property got foreclose

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    claudiaj Feb 04, 2010

    American home mortgage foreclose our property, our stories a similar. and they foreclose without sending a notice of a sell date, so be careful and start seeking legal advised.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

American Home MortgageSCAMMING PEOPLE OUT OF MONEY

THEY TOOK MORE THAN THEY WERE OWED!!!
I paid them a month ago and they say I still owe 15000.00
I was fortunate enough to sell my house inn 3 days - before it went into foreclosure. They stated that if I called on the fourth of May they wouldn't put it in foreclosure well guess what the closing company called on the 4th and faxed the info they foreclosed on the 5th making me pay an additional 3000.00 Not to mention the fact attorney fees of 1950.00 - That wasn't the end of my nightmare!! They also took advanced escrow out of my payoff for insurance and taxes well I paid those in Mar of 09 when I told them I had proof they said that I can't get back what they paid out - Whats sad is I paid it twice in Mar 09 and May 09 and thats my fault! Here are 2 letters I sent to them!!

LOAN NUMBER: [protected]
Andrea Hawthorne/Andrea Kent
1813 MEYERS PL
OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73111

To Whom it may concern:
Enclosed is a copy of my payments. When I spoke to the customer service rep they stated that I had not paid after the month of April 2008. Here is a confirmation report from the United States Bankruptcy Court showing all of my payments. Please adjust and refund the difference.
Pages 4 and 5 reflect these amounts…

Also, enclosed is a copy of a letter I sent to the Federal Reserve consumer help line in reference to all of my issues with your company. How can you charge me nearly 3000.00 for my home going into foreclosure for one day?

Please correct any and all mistakes in my file
A COPY OF THIS LETTER AND ANY AND ALL CORRESPONDENCE IS GOING TO THE FEDERAL RESERVE CONSUMER HELP AND COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT.

Federal Reserve Consumer Help
PO Box 1200
Minneapolis, MN 55480
American Home Mortgage Servicing Inc
Customer Care Department
PO Box 631730
Irving, TX 75063

Re: [protected]

This is a formal complaint:
After looking at the evidence you will completely see that there is a refund due of approximately 15, 000.00!!
If you look at the annual escrow account dated June 16th, 09 DATED after I closed and paid off the loan! There was 6, 940.56 taken during closing please look closely at the ANNUAL ESCROW ACCONT DISCLOSURE STATEMENT! Why would you guys take 6940.56 for ADVANCED ESCROW if I sold the house! Please see the payoff stmt!! Escrow Advance of 6875.54
Let me now discuss Interest of 7394.10. the customer service agent stated that my last payment was April of 08 - Oh really! Please see the statements from the UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURTS – They have cancelled checks from you guys for the rest of the months HOW DO YOU EXPLAIN THAT! How do you explain the fact that you guys charged for future payments up to 05/13/09 please see the payoff stmt!
Again when the closing company called on the 4th for the payoff it was 45506.07! It went up on the 5th when they called again to 61470.86 saying oops I went into foreclosure that morning but they stated that if the closer faxed the required documents on the 4th then that would have saved me 4000.00 – well lets see she did and so did I and we have a transmission okay stmt saying we did. Please see the original online dispute form with the contact information of First American title contact name and number which is enclosed in this packet I contacted the federal reserve consumer help online on the 30th of May 09 and disputed all of this information with names and numbers. Also you charged me for an atty which is wrong! Again they stated that if we would have called or faxed on the fourth of May I would not have been charged please contact Lori at the title company she has the fax transmission and in your own notes we called on the fourth so why do I have to pay those charges!
Respectfully,

Andrea Kent
1813 Meyers Place
Oklahoma City, OK 73111

  • Am
    Amy Nov 25, 2008

    I am outraged! American Home Morgtage has litterly changes the terms of my loan. They can't back it up and I've requested such simple things from them and they can't provide me with anything. They barelt speak english and they could care less if I'm loosinf my home or not. I have papers in front of me that has one type of loan but they screwed me!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John D Cramblit Aug 05, 2011

    I became disabled due to issues with my type 1 diabetes, losing half of my left foot, kidney disease, heart problems due to poor circulation etc. etc... I had fallen behind in payments when I had to quit working and when I told AMERICAN HOME MORTGAGE that I was being placed on disability and want to work something out to keep my home they said "disability is not a recognizable income", and foreclosed on my home in March 2011. I noticed that the state of Texas is sueing American and I contacted the FTC and the FTC said they won't take any action unless they see a pattern of bad practices by the company, so I need all of you who have had a problem with AMERICAN HOME MORTGAGE to file a complaint against them with the Federal Trade Commission at http://www.FTC.gov Please help me!!! I just want my home back

    Sincerely,
    John D Cramblit
    [email protected]
    my home WAS 4012 14th street, Des Moines, IA 50313

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maura ward Jun 04, 2012

    This is the 2nd complaint that I am making towards american home mortgage. This time as with the first the mortgage company has independent contractors that come to the home and leave a small envelope containing a small card with information to contact the mortgage company. My complaint is like the first complaint i left, the independent contractor is leaving this envelope in my mail box. Have also told them they can not leave a envelope in the mailbox the only person that can put mail in there is the mail person. He was also told to get off my property and he said he did not have to. I have left the license plate number of the first with the white haven police, and this persons license plate number is HBA 1157-it is a PA plate. This is the second complaint I do hope that something is done about these people leaving things in the mailbox that should not be left there.

    0 Votes

American Home MortgageESCROW ANALYSIS MISTAKE

I RECEIVED ESCROW ANALYSIS ON 4.26.09. THERE WAS AN ENTRY I COULD NOT IDENTIFY. I CALLED THE COUNTY & CITY. I SPOKE TO ALL DEPARTMENTS THAT MIGHT HAVE SENT SUCH A CHARGE. NOBODY HAD EVER HEARD OF THE ENTRY. I CALLED AMERICAN HOME MORTGAGE TO IDENTIFY THIS CHARGE. NO SUCH LUCK. I HAVE SPOKEN TO 5 DIFFERENT PERSONS TO GET HELP. THEY ALL PROMISE BUT NEVER CALL, FAX OR E-MAIL. I DID RECEIVE MORTGAGE STATEMENT FOR JUNE. OF COURSE THE NEW ESCROW WAS INCLUDED. THIS AMOUNTS TO OVER $ 600.00. I HAVE ALSO FILED COMPLAINT W/ TEXAS ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE. ANY HELP OR SUGGESTIONS WILL BE APPRECIATES

American Home MortgageHarassing/Calling 50 times in 1day

Tania Aikman
1216 Majesty terr
Weston, Fl 33327

Harassing/Calling me 50 times in 1 days

My Mortgage Company (American Home Mortgage) calls me everyday of the month over and over. I will talk with a person and tell them I have a grace period which is by 16th of every month, but still get another call from another customer service rep within 5min on the same day after I just spoke with a person before. I have never gone pass 30 days without paying my mortgage. Time is inflexible but I make sure the mortgage get paid every month, I also have other mortgage company and never gotten any phone calls from them before. I honestly think if I am 30 days past due they have the right to call me then, but not before I pay every month. Please don’t call me unless I am 30days past due that what credit card companies does, also I can understand after the grace period. I have this mortgage for 3year and didn’t have any complaints with (Option one). This loan was bought by (American Home Mortgage) and I feel like they are harassing me.

  • Ho
    HollyNapier Jun 11, 2011

    I am getting the same calls! I have never been ONE time late! EVER! I have received calls on my home phone, my cell phone, again on home phone. I tell them, my payment is not late until the 16th and they are harrassing me by calling before then but they just call again anyway! I threatened tonight to call my attorney. OMG we owe the amount of appraisal and therefore cannot refi because we do not have 20% to put down on a house we have owned for 8 years! I am SO sick of this! And they say they are a collection agency! They do not even act like a mortgage Co!

    0 Votes

American Home MortgageMismanagement of mortgage funds

We paid all fees in cashier's checks to reinstate our mortgage by deadline given. Trustee accepted payments and forwarded the lender's check to American Home Mortgage that day. Three weeks later, I learned that they had not accepted the payment (said it was in "the wrong amount, " which was amazing because it was the exact amount we were instructed to pay). On top of that, they said they had "mailed the check back" to us.

We never received the check. Had to hire our attorney to intervene. We assumed that it had been lost in the mail, so we went to our bank to stop payment on the check> It was then that we found out that American Home Mortgage had cashed it five days previously (the same check they said they had mailed back to us). They held that check for 25 FULL DAYS before cashing it! And that means they lied when they said they had mailed it back.

Our mortgage is fully reinstated, but now we are hit with additional fees: attorney fees and another late fee for this month's mortgage payment because wouldn't accept this month's payment, insisting we were still owing all the full mortgage reinstatement amount. This is a crooked company. I would recommend that no one use them. Stay as far away from them as possible.

  • They are many companies that are legitimate and can help homeowners stop foreclosure and keep their homes.

    Mortgage Assistance Group is one of those companies that holds an "A" rating with the BBB and has help over 500 homeowners keep their homes.

    They give a discount to the homeowners who have been scammed and treat each client with respect and dignity.

    You can reach them at 623-486-4505 and at www.mag-az.com.

    Thanks and good luck,

    Randy D.

    P.S. If you know someowner they can help, They will pay a $100 referral!

    0 Votes

American Home MortgageRip off

I would just like to thank Dave H from American Home Mortgage in Powell, OH for giving me a loan I could not afford. I will certainly take the responsibility for being dumb enough to sign for it. Dave told me that my mortgage payment + taxes and insurance would only be $700-$800/mo. but once we got to the closing table we found out it would be more like $900-$1000/mo. I should have backed out right there, but I was too scared so I just went with it.

Now, I have lost the house and filed bankruptcy all because some guy named Dave pretended to be qualified and actually was not. Th-th-th-thanks Dave. G-g-g-good l-luck with your future, and may you become richer at the expense of others.