PROSCOUTPROSCOUT

E
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I was an Invited PAID agent to attend PROSCOUT. We get paid $200 plus hotel, airfare and meals.

All the agents show up for a fun time out of town. The LA agents represent NO celebs are basically in the business of attending showcases not selling actors.

Ask any one of them who they represent and for sure you will know none of them. The organization is scam.

they are in and out taking your 800$ +

I suggest you get a list BEFORE you agree to attend of EXACTLY who will be at the event. You for sure will not get it.

Check out what agents from LA are attending.

The modeling agents are all their to support their own scam. Selling pictures room and board etc...

Responses

  • Me
    me in time Jun 27, 2016

    Everyone is saying the same thing about proscout everyone can not be wrong. Let's be real about of 500 only about 30 get pick. That has a smell to it. This is how a company gets it's kicks by telling all these people they have a chance when they know it's a lie. They prey on peoples hopes and dreams. That is really low.

    0 Votes
  • Od
    Odessa Ficklin Oct 19, 2015

    Okay all I'm hearing is everyone saying that ProScout is a SCAM!! Symone 12 stated that she got 4 call backs from ProScout!! But wants to talk about how her agent didn't get paid from them being there and that her agent said that they are a scam!! How is that even possiable because you are sitting in your AGENTS OFFICE TALKING ABOUT PROSCOUT!!! THE AGENT THAT YOU FOUND AT THE CASTING CALL!!! People please just stop bad mouthing the company. Okay if ProScout is making clams about their % of the models that get picked then yes it might be a false claim, every company has some claims that are far-fetched. If you decide to go to a casting call then go with the hope that you/or your child are the one that they are looking for and we/are them (your child) might get picked. EVERYONE doesn't get picked!! Every class, photo shoot, and all the extras are your choice if you want to pay for them no one tells you that you have to pay or you will have a better shot if you pay for the classes they are just there if you want to take them. It's just like going to a cheer leading conference they have classes to jump higher, photographers, shoes that give you better grip on the mat all kinds of things that are offered when you attend you don't have to pay for it you can if you want to but you don't have to. The same with ProScout they probably invite vendors that have skills/or products that they want to sell. When I took my daughter she didn't get picked but it was just the experience of just going and seeing everything and meeting new people and their take on everything. I did get to talk to one of the agents before everything got started I asked her about what kind of pictures should take she told me snapshot are just as good as pro pictures she said just take a good full body shot, a face shot and a good pose shot and take them to walgreens she said they can see if she had it from any kind of pictures not just from the pro pictures. All Im hear on this site is bad mouthing the company that didn't pick them. so what try again next year who knows you might make it oh yeah I didn't see anyone say that if you every went to a ProScout casting call the next time you go it will be half price soooooo what's the problem?

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    LysH5 Jul 09, 2013

    I attended a proscout event and am currently represented by two agencies (one in LA, one in Texas) both very reputable. One of the agents I encountered and still keep up with is now a manager at IMG, my agent in LA represents several celebrities. I flew to LA and went to the agency and saw for myself. I'm sure their are less-reputable agencies that do attend these events. It's up to you to do your research and make sure you're making a smart decision. Proscouts job is just to get you the exposure that you could never get on your own. I loved the experience!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SAnycmiami14 Sep 13, 2012

    I think the unfortunate thing is many people confuse the word "scam" and how it is being used in this situation. Is ProScout guaranteeing anything more than you being able to see agents from across the company? No. Are they saying you HAVE to pay for professional head shots that are done at the convention in order to "be discovered"? No. A scam is if they tell you one thing, and do not follow through on their promise. It would be an agent saying, "Ok we need x amount of dollars ahead of time to even get you in the office and maybe, MAYBE see the clients". But ProScout is just offering a one-stop to meet many agents and IF the agents see the potential in representing you, then they will definitely get in contact with you.

    I attended as an aspiring model years ago. Was it a bummer to spend $800 and not get signed? Absolutely. But I did sit down with agents from Elite, Mc2 and Ford. I kept in touch with them and I asked why the agency wouldn't pick me up and I learned: a pretty girl doesn't always make a model. There are industry requirements that LEGITIMATE agencies know what to look for and will not represent you if you don't fit them. Unfortunately, I wasn't thin enough and I wasn't willing to put the painstaking time into losing 10 lbs. Now, I'm working as an agent at an agency and we're looking into attending a ProScout convention because we know that most girls that work and are discovered come from the middle of nowhere and wouldn't be able to afford coming to NYC to visit all the agencies. It would cost an aspiring model more money to fly from, say, North Dakota over to NYC, stay in a hotel for 3 nights and visit agencies for their open calls. This industry is not a guarantee and ProScout is a business. They have expenses to cover and they do need to make a profit. So scam? Not at all. But it is an investment that you should calculate if you TRULY think you have a chance at "making it" after you have thoroughly researched the industry.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    China_Allen Jul 19, 2012

    I went to a ProScout event in LA about 5 months ago. It was a wonderful experience and I learned a lot from it. I did not get any call backs but have been working one on one with Brian Marcus the president of ProScout for the past few weeks and will be attending another event this weekend feeling much more prepared. It is a legit organization and the agents are REAL agents. They can't sign everyone ( YES there are tons of people at these invitationals) so If your upset because you blew your one time shot infront of the people that matter, then thats on you. Good Luck to you all.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Symone12 Jun 19, 2012

    I went to the Event June [protected] in Denver, Colorado and I got 4 call backs... One of the agents wanted me to start work the next day. I met with my agent yesterday and we were chating a lil about Proscout and my Monologue that they really liked. what shocked me about it all was that they werent paid to be there and they also said that Proscout is a scam. I been to Proscout and got call backs but I honestly didnt like the people that works for Proscout and the Ceo of Proscout. Please guys be careful of this company.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mallory346 Jun 13, 2012

    I got invited to go to Denver this weekend for Proscout. The fee is $795 and I just can't decide if I should go or not. I looked up reviews and so e say it's a scam and some say it isn't. I need help

    0 Votes
  • La
    lagit Apr 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My daughter did PS at 4 and now 8 was signed to 2 Agencies in 2 different cities. She made our fee back in about 4 months of being with her Chicago based Agency. She has done national print and commercials and is about 40k plus. Not bad for 800 and hotel. She is also about to audition for a movie project in NY. Some just have to come to grips that this is not for everyone. This is a tough competitive business. I'm not sure how many auditions we've done but she only got a small percentage of those but they paid well. No matter how you look a this you will spend money to make it.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    JuanMiguel Mar 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I really havent been to any of this before but before i start saying anything My friend who works with me at abercrombie and fitch who was ACTUALLY a legit model told me that she didnt have to pay. I might go due to the fact that my manager asked me to be a greeter which people dont get asked to do (for obvious physical features). people please stop talking shi just becuase you werent chosen doesnt mean it the end of the world if you TRULY want it that damn bad than take it and stop ### get a nose job, get face lift, get a body lift, hell be waaaaay more active and athletic, go to the gym stop expecting things this is life you have to ###in work for it lol believe me it'll be great when you actually succeed

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    BK813 Aug 25, 2011

    nessa3678 - Let's try this again, without the crazy coding language!

    If your daughter is truly ready for an agent (i.e. has substantial training, headshots, resume with good credits, etc.) then this is a pretty solid list. It's a bit out of date: http://www.auditionagency.com/agency_directory/louisiana_agencies.htm

    Another great source would be to go on the Louisiana Film Commission site. Under Production Directory, search the Support Services category, and the Talent Agencies sub-category. This will be the most recent info.
    http://www.louisianaentertainment.gov/film/crew.cfm

    If your daughter has had minimal, or grade school play training only, then I suggest you enroll her into a real film-based acting class before even approaching an agent. Any agent willing to take someone with no training is either seeking developmental talent (fairly rare, but not unheard of with kids), is a new agent (meaning they may not be established enough to get their actors in on auditions), or they are complete shams.

    Best way to spot a sham agent is if they ask for money. I do not care what it is for, they should never ask or suggest, period! Also, if they require you to use their photographer or acting coach, especially if either are in house, is a red flag. They may make recommendations of who they like the work of, but the decision is yours to make!

    If you are close to New Orleans, I highly recommend Lance Nichols for training. Lance is a veteran actor who is highly regarded in this industry and has appeared in more than 100 films, tv shows over his career. He will help get your daughter started the right way. If for some reason he doesn't take her age group, he can put you on to a proper coach for her until she is old enough to train with him.

    Hope this helps!

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    BK813 Aug 25, 2011

    nessa3678 - Certainly!

    If your daughter is truly ready for an agent (i.e. has substantial training, headshots, resume with good credits, etc.) then this is a pretty solid list. It's a bit out of date: http://www.auditionagency.com/agency_directory/louisiana_agencies.htm

    Another great source would be to go on the Louisiana Film Commission site. Under "Production Directory", search the "Support Services" category, and the "Talent Agencies" sub-category. This will be the most recent info.
    http://www.louisianaentertainment.gov/film/crew.cfm

    If your daughter has had minimal, or grade school play training only, then I suggest you enroll her into a real film-based acting class before even approaching an agent. Any agent willing to take someone with no training is either seeking developmental talent (fairly rare, but not unheard of with kids), is a new agent (meaning they may not be established enough to get their actors in on auditions), or they are complete shams.

    Best way to spot a sham agent is if they ask for money. I don't care what it's for, they should never ask or suggest, period! Also, if they "require" you to use their photographer or acting coach, especially if either are in house, is a red flag. They may make recommendations of who they like the work of, but the decision is yours to make!

    If you are close to New Orleans, I highly recommend Lance Nichols for training. Lance is a veteran actor who is highly regarded in this industry and has appeared in more than 100 films & tv shows over his career. He will help get your daughter started the right way.

    Hope this helps!

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Busymom22 Aug 23, 2011

    Its funny how this is a COMPLAINTS board and people are on here saying what a great job PROSCOUT has done with their children... LOL!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    nessa3678 Aug 22, 2011

    b5813 - Could you tell me any of the legit angent in Louisiana or how I would about finding them? I attened pro scout this past weekend and although my daughter did enjoy it, I felt it was a big waste. She didnt get any call backs and I was really surprised. It seemed like about of 700 people there have been maybe 100 call backs. Only about 10-20 were low numbers (childern). Anyway, I do not wish to go to another one of theire seminars but have no idea where to start. My daughter is 6 years old and already stands at 4'3"! She is very interested in modeling and I would like to start her out as soon as possible. If there is any information you can share I would be greatfull. Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    BK813 Aug 21, 2011

    "You are completely wrong about Prosout being a scam. I have also met the model they had there once. She use to be on extream home makeover, so I really doubt she would be involved with a scam."

    It amazes me that people can't see through this stuff. You are getting ripped off folks!

    "I got picked to go to this convention or that convention." "You're just paying for them to come see you." And on and on it goes. It's complete BULL!!!

    I have been in this business for 14 years. I began from scratch in Wilmington, NC and worked my way up, by training with a real acting coach who had 30 years worth of legit credits and doing extra work to add credits to my resume. Since those humble beginnings, I have gone on to LA, trained with the top coaches there, worked at my craft, earned my SAG card by booking (not via extra work), and have legit representation!

    Today, I can tell you that I make 100% of my income from being an actor, TV show host, and coach. I have agents in NC & Louisiana, as well as a manager in LA. Never once have I had to pay convention fees to accomplish these goals. Not one agent, coach, casting director, or industry contact I've talked to has ever had anything positive to say about groups like PS.

    The only $$ I spent on my career was for legit classes, legit headshots/comp cards (I ALWAYS chose my own photographer, typically used Kevin Major Howard - he's one of the best in LA), website (before the days of FB & IMDb), promo materials (biz cards and such), casting accounts (Actors Access, Backstage Online, & Agency Pro), and I pay my way to travel to auditions when not allowed to submit via tape.

    If you truly want to be in this industry, find a legit acting coach and start learning your craft. That should absolutely step one! What work have they done, and with who? Who have they trained with and where? If you recognize none of their credits, then you may want to keep looking. If you want to be in film, then don't train with someone who's never done anything but theater and musicals! Get it? Also, WHAT do they teach? Scene study, audition technique, improv, cold reading? I recommend learning scene study first, so you can learn to develop a character among other things. It is entirely appropriate for you to ask a coach to tell you their background and have them back it up with credentials. If you are in a big market, you may have to audition to get into the class. You may also get placed in Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced or Master, based on your skill level. Never, should a coach offer you anything outside of "pay tuition, learn acting" and career guidance, that's it! These "one stop shops" of class, photos, advice, and representation are a scam 99.9% of the time.

    Two, get good headshots taken. You can find photographers that do this type of shoot through your state film commission's online production guide. LOOK at their work! Compare it to LA & NYC headshot photographers who only do this type of photography. Pay attention to price! Outside big filming hubs like LA, NYC, Louisiana, & FL you can get these types of shots for well under $200 per sitting. Remember, you only need 2 headshots, one theatrical & one commercial. Anyone that tries to convince you to use "their photographer" is getting a kickback!!! You should always be at liberty to choose the person you 1) like the work of best, 2) are most comfortable with, and 3) can AFFORD!!! Agents are not supposed to push photographers on you; however, they may suggest several that they like the work of and allow you to decide. That's acceptable.

    Three, build your resume! Student films, extra work, plays, shorts, anything legit. Keep that resume updated and current. You can find legit work by setting up accounts through Actors Access, Backstage Online, and Agency Pro. Submit yourself as much as possible. If you don't get auditions, you can't book work. Push comes to shove, buy a camera and make your own films!

    Once you have some credits, and preferably a demo reel, you can begin submitting your materials to agents & managers. Understand that the odds of you getting signed with CAA or William Morris, when you are just starting out, is not likely to happen. Look for smaller agencies that are looking to develop young talent the right way. Look in smaller markets like NC, Louisiana, FL, and TX. This is a great way to start. It worked for me. LOL

    Lastly, don't stop training and don't give up! This is a hard business, VERY hard! It may take you 10 years to see any real income. Just stop looking for that "overnight success" or "discovery" moment to happen. When/if that ever occurs these days, the odds are better that you'll win the lottery, so focus your energy, AND MONEY, to developing your career the right way!

    Hope this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    BK813 Aug 21, 2011

    It amazes me that people can't see through this stuff. You are getting ripped off folks!

    "I got picked to go to this convention or that convention." "You're just paying for them to come see you." And on and on it goes. It's complete BULL!!!

    I have been in this business for 14 years. I began from scratch in Wilmington, NC and worked my way up, by training with a real acting coach who had 30 years worth of legit credits and doing extra work to add credits to my resume. Since those humble beginnings, I have gone on to LA, trained with the top coaches there, worked at my craft, earned my SAG card by booking (not via extra work), and have legit representation!

    Today, I can tell you that I make 100% of my income from being an actor, TV show host, and coach. I have agents in NC & Louisiana, as well as a manager in LA. Never once have I had to pay convention fees to accomplish these goals. Not one agent, coach, casting director, or industry contact I've talked to has ever had anything positive to say about groups like PS.

    The only $$ I spent on my career was for legit classes, legit headshots/comp cards (I ALWAYS chose my own photographer, typically used Kevin Major Howard - he's one of the best in LA), website (before the days of FB & IMDb), promo materials (biz cards and such), casting accounts (Actors Access, Backstage Online, & Agency Pro), and I pay my way to travel to auditions when not allowed to submit via tape.

    If you truly want to be in this industry, find a legit acting coach and start learning your craft. That should absolutely step one! What work have they done, and with who? Who have they trained with and where? If you recognize none of their credits, then you may want to keep looking. If you want to be in film, then don't train with someone who's never done anything but theater and musicals! Get it? Also, WHAT do they teach? Scene study, audition technique, improv, cold reading? I recommend learning scene study first, so you can learn to develop a character among other things. It is entirely appropriate for you to ask a coach to tell you their background and have them back it up with credentials. If you are in a big market, you may have to audition to get into the class. You may also get placed in Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced or Master, based on your skill level. Never, should a coach offer you anything outside of "pay tuition, learn acting" and career guidance, that's it! These "one stop shops" of class, photos, advice, and representation are a scam 99.9% of the time.

    Two, get good headshots taken. You can find photographers that do this type of shoot through your state film commission's online production guide. LOOK at their work! Compare it to LA & NYC headshot photographers who only do this type of photography. Pay attention to price! Outside big filming hubs like LA, NYC, Louisiana, & FL you can get these types of shots for well under $200 per sitting. Remember, you only need 2 headshots, one theatrical & one commercial. Anyone that tries to convince you to use "their photographer" is getting a kickback!!! You should always be at liberty to choose the person you 1) like the work of best, 2) are most comfortable with, and 3) can AFFORD!!! Agents are not supposed to push photographers on you; however, they may suggest several that they like the work of and allow you to decide. That's acceptable.

    Three, build your resume! Student films, extra work, plays, shorts, anything legit. Keep that resume updated and current. You can find legit work by setting up accounts through Actors Access, Backstage Online, and Agency Pro. Submit yourself as much as possible. If you don't get auditions, you can't book work. Push comes to shove, buy a camera and make your own films!

    Once you have some credits, and preferably a demo reel, you can begin submitting your materials to agents & managers. Understand that the odds of you getting signed with CAA or William Morris, when you are just starting out, is not likely to happen. Look for smaller agencies that are looking to develop young talent the right way. Look in smaller markets like NC, Louisiana, FL, and TX. This is a great way to start. It worked for me. LOL

    Lastly, don't stop training and don't give up! This is a hard business, VERY hard! It may take you 10 years to see any real income. Just stop looking for that "overnight success" or "discovery" moment to happen. When/if that ever occurs these days, the odds are better that you'll win the lottery, so focus your energy, AND MONEY, to developing your career the right way!

    Hope this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lolabagola Jul 28, 2011

    Look People I went to a seminar and they seemed pretty straight forward. All they GUARANTEED was that you would have the chance to be in the same room with top agencies. They never promised you were going to get a call-back so quit your whining that you didn't get called. and think about it. If you were an agent looking for talent would you look in LA or NY? Probably not because if somebody there thought they had it they just had to march into the NEXT modeling building thats down the street. Proscout looks in the places where talented people might not have that kind of chance. Another thing, i'm going to use the same analogy and say you were an agent. you don't have time to go to all of these seminars. (well for free anyway) wouldn't you want to get your airfare and hotel room paid for? if proscout didn't pay for these things the agents wouldn't come. So lastly, they CANNOT be a scam just because you didn't get called or interviewed. thats just how it goes they can only pick the people who they think have IT.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    honeylisa1976 Jul 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ok first of all, You are paying for the convention, seminars, and workshops. I am sure some portion of everyone who goes does go to the agents and to proscout. They have to fly all those agents who take their weekend to meet at a certain place for you to try to make it. I look at the facts a lot of stars have been chosen by an agent through pro scout. They are working. It truly can only be a scam if they take everyone money and no one makes it. Some do make it and if you are crying about you paid 795 to go and you did not get picked then i am sorry not every one will. You just decide is this what i want to do or not.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Krisp8888 Jun 30, 2011

    I had attended one year(6 years ago), and am attending again, older, and MUCH more prepared. To those who say it is a scam, as no agent asks for money up front...they are not an agent. You are paying to go to a convention, in which you are seen by the biggest names in the industry. THAT is where I got skeptical. Why would the biggest names in the industry NEED Proscout? I do not doubt that Proscout pays them to come up there, and pays for meals, lodging, etc. On top of the costs of renting 5 star hotels, that is what you pay for, more than likely. Top agents are not going to come to this event FREE. That being said, they probably only take the best of the best. I for one have heard of many success stories from proscout, and know people who did in fact get call backs. Looking online, you will see a substantial amount of people saying they were signed. I would assume that these complaints, are from teens/adults who were not called back, or even more likely, parents of children not called back.

    I went to the "Interview" today, and 3/4 of the actors/models who showed up, were turned away. Proscout had no guarantee that other 1/4 would shell out the $800. If Proscout was a scam, they would have not turned away 3/4 of the people that showed up. That is a lot of potential money they turned away, and that alone proves that they are legitimate.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nadiya1968 Jun 26, 2011

    We attended a Chicago convention. My daughter was chosen by one of the agencies. She has been moving forward ever since...getting jobs and making money. So far, no complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BeBE2 Jun 23, 2011

    I attended a ProScout seminar in Beechwood, Ohio recently with friends. ProScout stated they wanted 4 year olds and up. My friend did receive a card so we stayed for the 2nd. meeting, and I warned my friend to be careful. They said come with NO experience or photos, none needed but as I sat in the back row with my friends to my dismay I heard the one female agent tell several BEAUTIFUL Children they need experience so build on it for a couple years!! Even after a couple kids said they have some experience. Wow...I can tell you one boy was so handsome, piercing blue eyes, clef in the chin, one that will make it in the future for his looks, and that was not just my opinion at the seminar. So my point is they say they look at you and see if you are good looking and fit and then to Lie and say in their brochure that NO Experience and photos required and to stand in the room and tell the kids that you need years of experience shows me NOT TO Trust them. I will see what happens to my friend now. I felt bad for all the good looking boys and beautiful girls they let go. Someones loss is someone elses gain!!!(meaning the company) Good luck kids! SCAM. BeBe.

    0 Votes
  • Nk
    N!kk! May 30, 2011

    are not supposed to pay for those things I mean!

    0 Votes
  • Nk
    N!kk! May 30, 2011

    I went to the event just this weekend May 28-29, 2011 in Orlando, I got only one callback, that was great because he took me, he was really, really interested, now he wants me back in Orlando next week to do my head shots, and because I live in Miami, he is going to recommend me to his friends who are casting directors and acting agents in Miami, so that is really, really great!!! And you were supposed to pay them "DEANNA" because you are getting to meet agencies you can't meet everyday and Tyra Banks said if you are signed with the agency you are supposed to pay for pictures, clothes, or any other thing they offer you, so get your facts straight, ok!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    PalmD May 13, 2011

    If you read the posts that claim Pro Scout is not a scam closely you will notice that they all say similar things...like "do not listen to people who say its a scam they are just mad they did not get pick". Other comments seem eerily close to the pitch lines used when they try to sell you on the $795 convention which does not include your travel cost or hotel or food. They are selling you a expensive weekend with a questionable outcome. They prey on people dreams and desires to " make it big" in a very tough industry that has millions wanting the same thing. I took my 13 year old son because we heard the radio ad say that they would have the agents at the hotel in Rancho Mirage, CA but it turns out your just being pulled in by their pitch man trying to make you feel special when you get your "card". After telling us how his mother spent $12, 000 to get him into modeling but got no where because she was scammed. He then a few minutes later let you know that you have actually been picked to have the "opportunity" to attend their seminar for $ 800 in Scottsdale, AZ. Well a sat through the hard sell but i knew it was crap but I spoke to a mom a knew who seemed fooled because her daughter wants to be on Disney Channel. Real agents DO NOT TAKE MONEY you can take quality photos on your own and submit to legit agencies most of the good ones are in the big cities. Take drama in school go out for school plays, local auditions which are free. Do Not waste your money making Pro Scout or better Pro Scam rich.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pauline_2009 May 10, 2011

    OK, All you idiots agreeing to ProScout not being a scam, i want you to come back in a couple years letting me know your acting and modeling experience in commercials! meanwhile i got picked im doing a few commercials from another top modeling agency and not paying a single dollar, im getting paid for my work! But if you want to keep paying for a convention that at last has no result, i suggest you save your money and you fly to Los Angeles and drop off a few pictures :)

    1 Votes
  • Br
    Broadwayidol Apr 16, 2011

    I'm going in may and if i find out im being scammed.. ooh I'm telling those people off because the people who are going there have talent and worked hard to get that money. :/ If they do scam people. they must like to bring people down an awful lot. Yeah, they will never hear the end of it if they scam me.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    CoCoHype Apr 08, 2011

    This entire website & all the post have gotten on my last nerve! With all these comments & fights going back & forth, the real issue doesn't really get addressed without someone's personal feelings attached. I wish I never even looked on this site! I've wasted two full days reading opinions! While I was doing my research, I decided to check all sides of the spectrum. Someone called & said don't do it. I'm an adult with a mind of my own & I don't jump when people say so! I pray & move on faith according to the answer of my prayers. So many of you have spent so much time belittling one another that you really aren't helping the cause at all. I'm going to KC in June & it has nothing to do with any of the comments posted. I paid my money well before I read this ball of confusion! My God is not a God of confusion. So, the way I see it, this was a mere distraction by the enemy to keep me from where God wants me. I wish everyone the best on here; believers & non-believers as well. I will say this in closing. Take the time to look inside yourself & take a good look. If you are pleased with what you see inside, then ask God is he pleased. If you are not pleased with what you see inside, then ask God to cleanse you, purify you, & make you complete. I didn't come here to preach, but I also didn't come here to read people bash each other! Be blessed. Go forth with positive thoughts, positive actions, & positive outcomes!
    SN: clean this grammar up! It's horrible to read! Spell check has been around for many many years! Sheesh

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Butterfly12321 Mar 27, 2011

    Proscout is not a scam. I got picked to go to an interview in New York, and now I am playing a large role in the Broadway production of Annie. Actually, I happen to b playing Annie. Therefore, this proves that all you people out at home are just inmature and jealous of those of us who did get chosen. Also, I'll imagine that most of you have no real talent, and those of you who think that you're "models, " are really just lazy sluts who sit on the couch and watch television all day. And maybe occationally pull through McDonalds. Sad that you think you're fit to be a model when you weigh 180 pounds and can't even fit in skinny jeans!

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    SMHilker Mar 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Okay, I am a successful fashion, print, and art model. I've been modeling for 14 years. (This is my story.)

    I went to a ProScout invitational in Kansas City, MO. in 1997 with a few friends from school. We were all accepted to this invitational by going to a Radio Call at the local Holiday Inn in Joplin, MO. My mother was brainwashed by the entire spiel that they sit you through promising you that your child has the talent to be seen by talent agents from all over the world. They know that you can't get out to the cities to meet with these people or maybe, you just don't know how to go about it? Well, they want to help you so badly, so, so, badly, that they are going to charge you $800 to fly all these modeling agencies to the closest city to you, so you can be DISCOVERED!

    My mother bought it hook, line, and sinker. She scraped up the money from her factory job and paid the fees. She went out and bought roll after roll of film to take snapshots of me trying to get some decent images that they require you to have at the invitational to show the agents as a composite card. We even got our room at the hotel they were hosting the event which was not cheap.

    We went to all these lectures about how to break into the business, what models/actors they've discovered and even had a model speaker come out before she made us all test the runway one time before we did the real thing in front of all the agencies the next morning on the 3rd and final day.

    Meanwhile, they sold merchandise, model/acting directory books, and even a runway model soundtrack that my mother immediately scooped up completely engulfed in the moment and not thinking at all about how much money these people are making off each individual, not to mention the poor families whom have more than one child selected.

    On the last day, I walked the ramp and walked around their giant table and showed the "agents" my picture. I sat in the large room, after a recess, and listened to them rattle off agency names along with numbers on our badges that they gave us at the very beginning for a callback.

    My friends got callbacks to L.A. Models. Where they were pretty much told that they needed to send in their photos for further approval and after they were approved by more people at the agency, they would have to move to L.A. and work. (WTF? They paid over $1000 EACH (taxes, food, lodging, film for photos and development, etc) to sit at a table with an agency to be told they "liked" their look, but couldn't do anything else except hand them a business card and say, "Maybe. We'll get back to you."

    I received one callback from a house agency that promised to continue sending out my photos to agencies. I NEVER HEARD another peep from them except when they came back to town and wanted my mother to fork over another $800 to give it another go. (What happened to keeping in touch with me and continuing to send my photos to other modeling agencies???)

    S-C-A-M

    MODELING BASICS 101:
    IF YOU DON'T LIVE IN A NICHE MARKET (New York, Los Angeles, Miami, and Chicago) You will definitely NOT make a living being a model. It doesn't matter who they pay to come out and see you.

    YOU COULD HAVE SPENT LESS THAN $800 ON A PLANE TICKET TO L.A. TO MEET WITH EVERY MAJOR MODELING AGENCY! OR Better yet!!! THIS IS THE DIGITAL AGE, WE HAVE THE WONDERFUL TECHNOLOGY OF THE INTERNET!! ALL OF THESE MAJOR AGENCIES HAVE ONLINE SUBMISSIONS! JUST GO TO THEIR WEBSITES!
    IT'S EVEN FREE!

    Agencies DO NOT need to advertise nor do they need to go to rinky dink towns in the midwest to find models. You do not PAY agencies and managers. They pay YOU and they get 10-20% of the money made on all the jobs they book for you.

    DO YOUR HOMEWORK! IT'S COMMON SENSE.

    PROSCOUT, MODEL SEARCH AMERICA, JOHN CASABLANCA'S MODELING AND ACTING SCHOOL AND AGENCY, ETC ETC ARE ALL SCAMS!!

    I know this because MY FAMILY WAS VICTIM TO ALL OF THEM. They feed on hopeful parents in rinky dink towns praying their children have a future ahead of them because they don't want them working in factories or [censor] office jobs just like them. It is DISGUSTING to me to realize that it is 2011 and with the wealth of information available via the web, PEOPLE ARE STILL STUPID ENOUGH, to pay them money and allow these facilities to thrive. At least, when I was victim, the internet was not nearly as developed as today and still widely unavailable in my area.

    RUN AWAY AS FAST AS YOU CAN AND MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOUR WALLET IN HAND!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jesseka dublineau Mar 11, 2011

    ok just to let know i am from montreal end going to boston in april. with what i read i wanted to make shure by myself.. i just called at ford model in t.o and asked about proscout the lady said it was excellent and she discovered many models at that proscout weekend...so yes i will go

    0 Votes
  • Co
    coolshawn92 Feb 27, 2011

    Just Facts:
    I went to ProScout a couple of years ago for a male model. I recieved 8 call backs in Kansas City. I went to visit every single call back, only 1 seemed really interested. I pursued that agency in Chicago (I am from Arkansas). A month later after shelling about 700 more dollars for excellent photos (test shoot) I signed with the agency and work with them for 2 years.

    Even if you recieved 45 callbacks, there is no guarantee that an agency will sign you, you will have to keep on them. If they are truly interested they will keep in contact. And even after you sign, there is no guarantee that you will get jobs. Research the agency before signing, check our the clients/retailers/companies that they work with, and make sure they are working hard to submit you to their clients.

    Yes, ProScout is with the Better Business Bureau (A+ rating); Organizations pay for their rating, so this does not mean ProScout is a legitimate business.

    ProScout is a LOT cheaper than alot of other organizations that put on the same thing (ie. AMTC charges $4, 000) . So this is a deal.

    Do not pay this money in hopes of reaching stardom if it could ultimately put your family in financial trouble. If this is something you want to do, you can always raise money. Also, may sure you count in the cost to stay in a hotel, travel to the convention, and food while there. Also if you have real agency interest, you will more than likely have to shell out $400-700 more dollars for test shoots, and you will have to travel to the agencies location. I would hate for you to shell out $800 and get real interest from an agency and be unable to afford the test shoots or travel to the agencies location.

    Pick an agency closer to where you live, unless you plan to move. You will have to travel to castings for different roles, whether acting or modeling. If the agency is closer to where you live, they are more likely to submit you to different roles.

    I recently moved to the New York area, and I plan to attend ProScout again.

    These facts are just from my experience and are not representative all experiences.

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    jjjaaayyyjjjaaayyy Feb 25, 2011

    I am invited to go to a Boston event to be seen by the agents. My mom thinks it is a lot of money and i may not get any callbacks. What can i do to make sure i do get call back and what are the agents looking for? (question for past people who have gone.)

    0 Votes
  • Am
    -Amber Gilbertson Feb 21, 2011

    I bet every one of you, just had ONE bad experiece with ProScout, and think that it's a scam. But let me tell you this, people have bad experiences all the time. With anything. And if you didn't have a bad experience, you're just saying this stuff so no one comes in, and steals your spotlight. That is REALLY selfish!

    -Amber Gilbertson

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lovely67 Feb 16, 2011

    I disagree proscout is a scam! i had 6 callbacks and havent heard from anyone! I also know of a few others who got call backs and havent heard from anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tam75brig70 Feb 15, 2011

    My four year old daughter just attended the Pro Scout event this past weekend and it is not a scam at all. The person that commented before me is right...the people saying it's a scam are the ones who did not get call backs. My daughter got three call backs, one of them being with BMG one of the biggest modeling agencies. ProScout offers you the chance to be able to put yourself in front of all these agencies, but they flat out tell you that there's no guarantee that you will get a contract. Once they put you in front of the agencies, it's out of their hands as to whether an agency likes you or not. If you are invited to one of these events and you are serious about wanting to get into the modeling/acting industry then I would definitely say this is worth it!

    0 Votes
  • Um
    ummmm... Feb 07, 2011

    That the promblem. All the people who are talking bad are the people who never got call backs. ummmm... My friend went and I supported him by going. he had 8 call backs and now he is living in los angeles. People think that o Ill get pick and make tons of money the reality is that nothing is a free ride. Once an agency pick you. You have to save and move to whatever city, then study get a job there, work hard then book things. Which my friend is doing and making good money. People think that being pick means they pay for everything. No! You have to invest and believe in your self before you make money. And people if we all who what was talent or who has the right look to be a model then we would all be making tons of money, So They know what they want stop being pis cause you were to pick and saying its a scam. casuse I have been there, and my friend now makes good money in los angeles.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HAWKS27 Jan 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    is a big scam, i was in Philadelphia 5 6 nov 2010 paying over 1000$ for nothing. if you need more info please fell free and contact me at my e mail [email protected] because i can prove to everyone i was there i got 3 call backs and is a big [censor].

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rippedone1 Jan 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello
    To everyone who is wonder if these accusations are true. Yes it is a big industry to pull you in.
    At first they claim to be very legit saying that you do not need to pay for anything... well this is true, that if someone wants you they will not ask you to pay anything, not hotel cost either.
    I attended one, got picked, flew to a convention but paid for my hotel cost n travel, met a lot of people and learned about the experience.
    I met a lot of agencies but none that were really anything big. But here’s the catch I learned that it wasn’t real when I myself was enquired about becoming part of their team. It was noted to me by a caster who is a co owner of the business. There are several partners who take part in it, a buy in. They earn money by getting agencies that are really NOT reputable that pay them to bring people to them. They also get a percentage for recommending that you stay at the hotel recommendation list. The guy said I could cast as a model since I had the look, meet with people. They said they would give me a pay rate to travel with some casters to convince other people that I did big prints with the help of Proscouts. I did not do this I was convicted there, the pay seemed awesome but to lie to thousand would make me feel no less good for myself. I am glad I got a wakeup call but I say if you all want to find it out do so. But take part in mind dreams come true with hard work. I can say I now live in Hollywood; I did several real auditions and now do small print ads for department store magazines. Best journeys for everyone trying to get there.

    1 Votes
  • La
    lasancious costict Jan 17, 2011

    I'm a reality television star just out of curiosity i attended a pro scout interview i've appeared on flavor of love season 1, surreal life, stomp the yard an numerous music videos however when i attended the scouts said i wasn't what they were looking for it wasn't until another scoutt recognized me then suddenly i became what they wanted they were also interested in my son .however after that day i believe pro scout to be a scam ...when u see them run like hell

    0 Votes
  • As
    ASHOKC Jan 08, 2011

    You are completely wrong about Prosout being a scam. I have also met the model they had there once. She use to be on extream home makeover, so I really doubt she would be involved with a scam. I have attended a few times and have gotten a callback two different times. I however had braces at the time and was two inches too short but I was a freshmen in high school and still growing. So the agent gave me her card and said email her later because I was perfect for what she needed. So it is up to you to keep up with the agents because it is not their job to contact you when you are not signed with them. Even still if you do sign with them they have a extremely busy life and they are not going to baby you. It is a very aggressive industry so you have to be aggressive cause you are just another person out of tons who want to be in the industry. Yes it makes perfect since that you do have to pay. Think they have to pay the agents to come there and then they also have rent a very large room to hold it in. Which is always at one of the nicest places so it is going to be expensive for them. Also don't stay at the hotel "where the agents stay" cause yes it will be expensive. You really won't see the agents cause they fly in late and they will more than likely be working in their rooms. As for the agents being rude they are just being real. If you can't handle them at Proscout then you won't be able to handle the industry. Just be friendly and don't let them get to because they also may be testing you. I have always enjoyed each time that I have gone and I plan on going again.

    0 Votes
  • As
    ASHOKC Jan 08, 2011

    You are completely wrong about Prosout being a scam. I have also met the model they had there once. She use to be on extream home makeover, so I really doubt she would be involved with a scam. I have attended a few times and have gotten a callback two different times. I however had braces at the time and was two inches too short but I was a freshmen in high school and still growing. So the agent gave me her card and said email her later because I was perfect for what she needed. So it is up to you to keep up with the agents because it is not their job to contact you when you are not signed with them. Even still if you do sign with them they have a extremely busy life and they are not going to baby you. It is a very aggressive industry so you have to be aggressive cause you are just another person out of tons who want to be in the industry. Yes it makes perfect since that you do have to pay. Think they have to pay the agents to come there and then they also have rent a very large room to hold it in. Which is always at one of the nicest places so it is going to be expensive for them. Also don't stay at the hotel "where the agents stay" cause yes it will be expensive. You really won't see the agents cause they fly in late and they will more than likely be working in their rooms. As for the agents being rude they are just being real. If you can't handle them at Proscout then you won't be able to handle the industry. Just be friendly and don't let them get to because they also may be testing you. I have always enjoyed each time that I have gone and I plan on going again.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.