Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Arts & Humanities PosterPass.com deceptive business practices

PosterPass.com review: deceptive business practices

K
Author of the complaint
12:00 am EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Go to the website there is an advertisement saying that you can get four posters for 2.00 each. Then, on your bank charges you see a charge for 39.80. It said nothing on the advertisement about that. Beware!

ADVERTISIMENT

More PosterPass.com complaints & reviews

PosterPass.com - $79 charge after 1 1/2 years!!!!!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
PosterPass.com - charging credit card after canceling all orders after the first one, for four posters for $2.00 apiece
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
PosterPass.com - frauds
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
PosterPass.com - rip-off/scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
PosterPass.com - internet scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
PosterPass.com - scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
PosterPass.com - deceptive business practices - evasive customer service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
PosterPass.com - fraud
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
PosterPass.com - unauthorized charges
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
184 comments
Add a comment
R
Jul 08, 2009 4:49 pm EDT

I am so annoyed with this company. I too signed up to try their posters out. I decided this was not for me. I received the initial order for posters for $16.00, when I called to cancel my "membership" I was told another order had already gone out & I was charged $39.00 for it! now I signed up on june 30, 2009. the initial order went out july1, 2009. the person on the phone told me the next order went out july 3, 2009! a manager by the name of kim told me they could send posted whenever they wanted up to twice a month. I asked to speak to her boss & left a message for rebecca ramirez, who has yet to call me back, about this ugly business practice. with this organization you don’t have a chance to cancel your membership because they could potentially send your orders one day apart, then you're stuck with posters you didn't ask for & don't want! and their only resolution is a store credit! 11 I never want to business with this company again. why would I want a store credit from them! this is why you need attorneys, to deal with companies like this who think they are so slick to offer "memberships" in terms that are so vague you are trapped into spending more money than you ever intended! shame on you, [email protected]#$*
Signed,
Very angry black chic

W
Sep 28, 2007 12:00 am EDT

I was charged $26.00 to ship me a 2 pound box containing 4 posters that cost $2.00 each; what a ripoff. The untold monthly obligation is $44.00, for 2 posters per month; Lord knows what the shipping charges are going to be. The posters are no different in size or quality than the 4 that I was shipped at a cost of $8.50 per unit. Thin paper and nondisclosure in order to overcharge are ridiculous and offensive. This company should be severely censured if not forced to close.

William Oxenfeld, [email protected]

M
Aug 04, 2016 5:12 am EDT

They say it will cost $8 to send me 4 posters, and in reality they charged me $39. I have complained everywhere, and when i called them and confronted them, they recited to me my name and address and said "we know where you live, we know who you are" Company is the same as

Peel, Inc.
[protected]

990 Grove St.
Suite 204
Evanston, IL 60201
[protected]

Also the parent company of Seattle Coffee Direct and a few other mail order scams. Stay away

M
Aug 04, 2016 5:12 am EDT

I tried to access this site with my email because im being charged for posters I never ordered.My son tried the 4 posters for $2 each and never checked how you send anything you want to my house every month and charge his credit card over $50 a month! This is a scam of some kind because I never approved of anyone charging my credit cards every month for anything. He has his own credit card in my name and tried to buy a few posters for $2 each and it has grown to some ripoff. He just showed me the unopen cannisters with I guess posters in them. There are 3 unopen cannisters and I want to send them back for a refund of whatever you charged the credit card. I havent seen the bills but I pay then and $50 a month for a poster is instant, unless they are signed Mantle or something. Get back to me on this or I will contact my credit card company and the better business bureau about this matter. How can you send posters every month and bill a credit card when you never received any orders for them. What kind of posters are in those cannisters? Im not opening them to find out. They are unopened except for the first order that was legit according to him but anything after that was not ordered.I tried to access the account info but when I put in my email address you never send me my password. There is a website dedicated to complaints about your business practices and I will bring this to the credit card company as well as the better business bureau if you dont make this right. Im a government employee that knows how to go about things.

Michael Luciano
35 Bidwell ave
Staten Island,NY 10314
([email protected])

S
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT

I too am complaining about PosterPass and its nefarious business practices. They are consummate scam artists as well as verbally threatening. I have charges of $12o plus on my credit card for unordered, unwanted posters. Like the others who have issued warnings here, I was taken in by their offer of $2.00 a poster for four posters. Now I must change my credit card as well. Not only is the company fraudulent on-line but also does not provide receipts with their merchandise. We must work to put them out of business with complaints to the Better Business Bureau and with lawsuits if necessary.

D
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT

I ordered 4 posters at $2 per poster. I was charged $39.00 on June 22, 2007. I was checking my On Line Bank Account and saw where they charged me an additional $48 for? What I do not know. I am calling them this morning and my bank. This will stop today.

Y
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT

Just want it known that I thoroughly checked out the terms and conditions and every other piece of information available and the only charge that was mentioned was the $2.00 per poster for four posters and shipping charges, but it doesn't take $39.00 to ship paper posters (4). What can be done? This has to be illegal.

D
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT

I was charged FOUR different times $39.80 did not recive nothing now i in the negitive on my bank account and am getting charged overdraft fees on top of All that!

B
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT

I am looking through my bank statements last night and find a charge for $79.00 to posterpass.com who I ordered and then immediatly canceled an order from because I found out they were a membership company that autoships things. The order was cancelled almost 9 months ago and now I get a charge for $79.00 for somthing that I haven't ordered! So I've been trying all day to call them to get the charges reversed as I did not order anything. Guess what, I get "all of our reprentatives are currently assisting other customers. Please stay on the line and a representative will be with you shortly. " I get this for about 5 min everytime I call and then it asks me to leave a message. Obviously there is a problem here! I hope a lawer sees this and is willing to file a class action lawsuit to put these people out of business.

D
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT

I ordered 5 posters for $5 ea. which were delivered. Another shipment of posters were sent, I cancelled the "membership" and they instructed me to return the unopened posters which I did immediately. Then 2 months later they charged my account $79.00 and again $79.00 AFTER I left a message to credit my account and stop charging without my permission. Every time I have called it goes to a recorded message and no return calls from the messages I leave asking for a live person to call back.

J
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT

I cancelled membershp over a year ago because they were sending multiple shipments (about every week/2weeks) and charging me very high amounts. I was never refunded any of the money but they did stop sending me things. Suddenly now they send me a box with 2 posters, no shipping/invoice information in the box and they charged my credit card 79$. I can not log in to the website. I have requested log in information but they do not respond. They do not answer the phone and they do not return messages.

D
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I ordered posters in July, 2009. Poster Pass sent the posters & charged my account for them & for an automatic monthly shipment. I did not want the automatic shipments & told them so. They said they would credit my account. From then until October I continued to call them; they kept saying it would take 4 to 6 weeks. In October I called them & they said they had tried to refund my money (approximately $40) but my account # had changed. I gave them my new account # and now in November I was charged $79 on my account instead of receiving a refund. I had to change my account # again because of this. The number for the company is now only taking names and phone numbers and promising an account representative will call me back. I have left 3 messages since November 27th & no one from Poster Pass has returned my call. I would like my refund sent to me by money order or check since I have no intention of giving Poster Pass my account # again.

E
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT

I cancelled this subscription last year. On 11/24/09 this company withdrew 79.00 out of my husbands acct. I have been trying to contact these people, I left my phone # at least 4-5 times in the past week. No call back. UPS is picking up the box that they sent. I need to find out how to contact the BBB for there area in ILL. I am extremely angry. They had no authorization to send or bill. Do not use this company! They are a scam. Elizabeth Zupsic

R
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT

I 'purchased' four posters for 2.00 a piece for friends gifts, thinking hey thats a good deal! expected to pay sh/ handling charges, so around 15.00 bucks! right?! no the first charge was for 34 99; the second charge was for 4800 a week and a half later; the third charge was for 4800 another week after that! i was late onmy child support payment because of these ###! 130.00 dollars into thin air! so i called and spoke with them, he 'said' to write return to sender on the boxes, which i did, and take to the post office, which i did. That was twoweeks ago, nothing takes that long to ship! i havent been refunded, and im F'N PISSED! if im not refunded i will file a lawsuit against them, and welcome any and all people who have been screwed by this company to join in... im sick of thievery in this country, all these corporations get away with murder, while the little guy has to eat it! Angry White Guy HERE>>>

C
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT

I ordered a poster from them in mid 2008. It was not clear at this time that this was a recurrent charge. I was surprised when I received recurrent posters the following month since I didn't request them, they were of poor quality and were nothing I would want. I cancelled the recurrent "membership" which I didn't even authorize and returned the posters. They never refunded the $128 they charged me but happily accepted the returns. The last non-authorized payment was in October of 2008.

More than one year later, November 2009, I received another shipment from them and a charge for $79 from my bank account! I filed a fraud claim with my bank and am trying to get hold of them on the phone even now. I have blocked them from my bank account and as soon as the claim is settled with the bank I will change the charge card.

C
Jul 20, 2016 7:37 am EDT

Very deceptive advertising. Ordered on a promo 4 posters and 4 mugs @ $1 ea., = $8.00, shipping free. Two days later I was chg'd on cr card amt. of $16.00 and two days later, $39.80 for upcoming membership. WHAT? I had not even recv'd my initial order. Who in their right mind would order a membership for up to $88.00+ a month without seeing a product first.
Yes, as per the cc company, I called, over and over until I got through. Then the first operator hung up on me after saying "didn't you read the 'other information'". Sure I did, but I expected to see the product first.
Second call back-operator was nicer. Made the statement that "everyone that calls wants to speak to a supervisor", did I want to hold? So I did for 11 minutes, finally I agreed to leave a message. You guessed it no call back! They would not even acknowledgd my 'cancel".
So far only out $16.00 (this was a double charge on the initial $8.00 as she reminded me there are no refunds) + $38.80 + $39.00 cc card fee o/limit now.
And it has been only 4 days! Thomas Robinson

K
Nov 23, 2009 10:17 am EST

I canceled my account back around May time frame and today I looked at my account and they have charged it for another $79.00 without approval. I contacted the representatives and they said there was a glitch in the system that caused of the individuals who had canceled their acocunts to be reactivated. When I talked to "MARY" she did say it would be refunded within 48 hours. I will advise this company right now that if this continues I will be filing a claim and getting with my lawyers. There is no reason a company should even have this kind of mistake being made. I asked them to completely delete my name from their system so this doesnt happen again. I will make sure within the 48 hr mark. Don't let this happen to you. They arent even worth $79.00 a month for no products. Thanks guys.

A
Jun 26, 2009 3:16 pm EDT

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! It is a fraud! Even if you follow the rules and send back your mechandise unopened, you will have to fight it in arbitration with your credit card company. I have receipts from UPS tracking that posterpass.com signed for the packages, and they still will not credit my account!

My daughter signed up for a "Penny" poster. We received that in the mail - and much more. From 6/11 - 6/14 we received (unsolicited) $240's worth of "posters". I have sent all but one back - unopened - and am still waiting for the credit on my credit card account.

In my many calls to customer service, they swear that there are willing clients who want to purchase posters at $38 daily. They are polite, but ineffective.

It is a nightmare. Again, please don't make the mistake that we did.

D
Apr 13, 2011 6:58 pm EDT

I have had the same problems with this place as I have called 5 times to cancel my order and they keep on sending me boxes week after week of posters to which I am returning to them. Can anyone help with this? I do not know where to go other than Better Business Bureau since this place has no e-mail address and they do not answer the phone when I call so I have left 5 messages explicitly telling them to stop sending me these posters now. I have alerted my credit card company so what else can I do? Thanks for listening

G
Feb 23, 2011 4:49 pm EST

I had initially ordered the 5 posters for $2 each. Over the next few days, my card was charged three more times, taking my checking account into the red and accruing $90 in NSF Charges. When contacting their number [protected], I was told I had signed up for Club and they were charging me the Signup fee. However, the trial period had not even completed. I cancelled immediately and was told to mark items Return to Sender.

The next day, I was again charged, so I called their number again. I explained to the lady I had previously canceled my account and that the previous charges were completely unauthorized. She stated as a member, I was due to be charged for this order. I stated I had canceled yesterday and that I would be reporting the unauthorized charges to my credit card company and reporting her company to the Illinois Attorney general. She stated they would immediately refund all charges. I stated I expected the funds processed by end of business that day or I would file my complaints. I was able to work with my bank to remove the NSF charges.

A year later, my card was charged, again, by their company, this time for $79. At the time, my checking account did not have sufficient funds and I have, again, ended up $109 in the hole. Calls to their number result in Circuit is busy or all of our customer service representatives are busy, please call back later.

I immediately reported the charges as fraudulent to my bank and canceled my check card.

My advice to anyone dealing with this company, immediately notify your bank, cancel your checking or credit card, and get a new account to avoid being charged by this company. Avoid this company at all costs.

Note: I have cleaned up personal information in pictures, note recent charge. Also my posterpass account, note final order. There is no mention of the recent charges.

B
Dec 14, 2009 9:46 am EST

i cancelled posterpass in about july and didnt hear anything from them after that no charges no posters and thats wat i wanted then at the end of nov they took 90 dollars outta my account and sent two cheesy posters. i called and called and never got an answer so i left messages twice and still no response and now they charged me AGAIN and sent more posters.i want my money back i dont have alot of money and i sure as hell aint gonna pay 45 dollars for a poster that i can get at the county fair for a buck.

D
Dec 20, 2010 6:16 pm EST

BEWARE! Posters were great. However their business practices are terrible. After the initial order, they automatically shipped 4 additional packages (at $39.80 each). A total of $159.20 was debited from my son's bank account BEFORE we received the initial shipment. All 5 shipments arrived within the same week. We immediately canceled his membership; returned the 4 shipments at our expense (approximately $40). This took place in April 2009. Their customer service agrees that they received the returns on May 14, 2009. In spite of 4 phone calls and promises from a manager Mia, we are still waiting for our refund to be posted to my son's account.

B
Dec 24, 2009 7:02 pm EST

My wife and I Bought four posters to recieve points for the app mobsters on myspace. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR POSTERPASS.Com. They charged us the proper amount then we recieved our four posters in a timely fashion and then we cancelld our subscription with the company> Seven monts later we were charged $79.00 for posters we didnt even order, when we recieved the shipment we sent it back right away unopened. We have since tried to call the company daily with hardly any luck, calling for fourteen days in a row all day long we were only able to get ahold of them twice(we left countless messages with no response). The company has promised a complete refund but we have seen no such refund. Again DO NOT SIGN UP FOR POSTERPASS.COM Do your homework they have over 1400 complaints with the better buisness bureau and six with the attourney general of Illinois. The owner of the Website has about 25 other websites I bealive to be the same kind of scam as POSTERPASS.COM. the are under the umbrella company of PEEL INC. If you feel like giving your money away time and tome again then by all means sign up for the scam. if you are like us and find yourself in the middle of trying to retrieve your money I would suggest ordering a new credit or debit card from your financial provider so they cannot charge you for a third or fourth order that you have noy given permission for! On a personal note I a firefighter and my wife is a nurse and we have dedicated our lives to helping people and it makes me very angry and sick that an inividual like the owner of POSTERPASS.COM has dedicated his life to stealing from good unsuspecting people, I know there is a special hell for people like that! Chek the BBB for yourself and dont make the same mistake we did you will surely regret it. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR POSTERPASS.COM...EVIL...EVIL...EVIL...BEWARE!

B
Dec 20, 2007 12:00 am EST

I ordered 4 posters for $2 each-ended up receiving a total of 10 in less than a month, and in each of the additional shipments it states "we hope you enjoy this months selections" - when I went online, there is no way to contact this "business" via an email address - only a mailing address, and an 800# that closes at 6pm. I read the 'Help' section, and this is the ONLY place that explains that you are on a monthly plan - THIS WAS NEVER EXPLAINED WHEN I GOT THE 4 POSTERS FOR $2. The 'Help' section states you will be sent 2 posters a month for $44 - how is it that they have sent me 6 additional posters (a total of 4 shipments with the initial order) in less than a month, but somehow this is a monthly mailing? PLEASE DO NOT SUBSCRIBE TO THIS SERVICE AS THERE IS NOTHING THAT EXPLAINS THE MONTHLY POSTERS THAT WILL BE SENT, OR THAT THE FIRST 4 ARE $2, BUT THEN EVERY TWO THEREAFTER ARE $44.

C
Aug 15, 2009 10:29 am EDT

This company has repeatedly attempted and succeeded to withdraw money off my wifes and my debit card in the amounts of $39.80. They have succeeded twice in two days. August 8th and 10th are the latest withdrawls. We are looking into what they may have taken without authorization before those dates without our authorization. We are now not able to pay our rent and are forced to go to the pawn shop in order to stay in our home! The last order we received yesterday had two posters in the box that were bent and damaged. They charged us almost $40.00 for two paper posters that are not even worth 10 cents! Every attempt to call the company ends up a worthless attempt as they wont answer their phones!

S
Aug 18, 2009 1:48 pm EDT

Ordered 1 set of 4 posters for $4.99 ea to get points on the MySpace Mobsters game. Received six sets so far. Called the company this morning, as they have no contact info on their website, and spoke to Yolanda. I advised them I wanted my "membership" cancelled when she asked if I did, what membership, I just ordered 4 posters, never signed up for anything. I also told them I was placing the unwanted orders in them mail today. I am contacting the AG's office if I don't receive the refunds promptly or if I receive any more unordered deliveries!

S
Dec 11, 2009 5:43 pm EST

Ordered 4 posters in April of 2008, then called and cancelled membership. Today, over 1 1/2 years later, I was shipped two posters that I did not order. The phone number they give you has a recording and says to leave a message then someone will call you back; I've been calling all day and left two messages w/ no results. I am going to my bank in the morning to make sure I'm not charged anything further. How does this company out of Illinois keep running when they are scamming people left and right?

N
Mar 03, 2008 3:26 pm EST

I ordered 4 posters from this company, and was told that they would be $2.00 ea. I just received my creditcard bill and there are four(4) charges on my card one for $34.00 and $48.00 and $48.00 and $48.00! Totaling $178.00 for (4) posters that I ordered together not separately for What should have been only $8.00 only. Two of the posters were in color and the other two were in black and white. I am outraged that a company can do this to another person. I am on a fixed income because of a disability and cannot afford to buy expensive pictures for myself for my home. When I saw that I could buy 4 posters for $8.00 I thought Great. What a scam! I can't afford to pay for charges like this, One hundred seventy dollars more than what was supposed to be charged for FOUR PAPER POSTERS... SOMEONE NEEDS TO STOP THIS COMPANY from their FRAUD .

A
Aug 30, 2007 12:00 am EDT

Stinks all around. How can an online company not be reachable by e mail? Thats absurd. I have a hard time calling during the day due to responsibilities and if I mail it, you say you didn't get it, someone lost it, and etc.Maybe your dog ate it. You are charging me twice a month for posters I don't want. To add insult to injury, my son wanted one poster for one person, and I know have three of the same stupid looking guy.

I have called twice about this, I am promised it will stop and it goes on. I am calling tomorrow but I am also submitting it to the state atty general, and my lawyer. By the way folks, I have had great luck with the at quite a few times.

Beware, there are a lot of crooks on line.

M
Aug 21, 2007 12:00 am EDT

Do not buy posters from this website! They charge a hidden $31 for shipping which they never disclose. I have been trying for 2 weeks to get a refund but everytime they say "Sorry, it didn't go through last time, it will come in 3-5 business days." A familiar scam. They customer service people, especially Linda, are also pretty rude and short with the customers, although I suspect that this is because they get complaints all day long.

S
Mar 21, 2008 12:25 pm EDT

I, too, am a victim of the Posterpass.com scam. I check my account daily and when the expected $8 charge hit my account at $34, I immediately called the toll free number on the inclosed letter to cancel the order. The same day, Posterpass.com {her name is Yvette} informed me of another impending charge directly to my account in the amount of $48 dollars. I sent the posters back 'RETURN TO SENDER' and made advanced arrangements with Yvette to have my account credited the monies taken from me. She assured me in 7-10 business days, which is ridiculous since there was no waste of time in taking the monies from the account. I dated my first contact with Yvette on 2/27/2008. I have not yet received my refund.
As many may know, there is no www.posterpass.com. When typing business name in search engines, the results come on a default site and the links direct to 'Netflix'.

I am in search of my reference paperwork to call "Yvette" again and get my money! And I plan to report this to the BBB.

R
Jul 30, 2008 12:05 am EDT

I ordered four (4) posters from PosterPass.com, and they first billedme $29.90 and each week for the next three weeks they billed me at $32.90 each time. So when I am supposed to pay $ 8.00, I paid $ 128.60. The greater scam to add to this, is when I would have collected a total of 16 posters, I only received 12 posters.
They are unreachable for verification. I had to instruct my credit card host to block future payments from this company, and they still told me that it is not that easy to do so.
I ADVISE EVERYONE...DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE THAT I AND OTHERS DID!

M
Sep 18, 2008 1:25 pm EDT

Ordered "introductory posters" for 25.00 on 9/10/08. Made a mistake not looking into the company prior to ordering. 9/15/08 cancelled by phone with "Angelina" as soon as I noted others' complaints on web. 9/16/08 a charge for 38.90 posted to credit card which I noticed on 9/17/08 after posterpass.com customer service was closed. Phoned again 9/18/08 and was told that "your post office has your order sitting on the shelf, " and "Your first order (secondary to the actual first order, or “introductory” order) was sent on 9/14/08 the day before you cancelled." Hogwash, of course. Post office does not hold my mail on the shelf (especially since the original order was made 9/10/08 and supposedly was being held by post office at least as early as 9/14/08 (a rather remarkable response time for both mail and company that ships "usually within 10 days.")

Phoning them gets nowhere basically, other than "we will refund for any returned posters." Clearly this company prefers to risk customer hostility rather than give up their obvious deceptive marketing.

I have filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. Advise others here to do the same for documentation purposes if for nothing else. (https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/)

M
Sep 29, 2007 12:00 am EDT

PosterPass.com... What can I say? Let me begin by saying, this is going to be a long complaint. I have included two or three I have compiled from another site that I was posting on, to make a complete posting, and I am adding some more to make a total story here.

Now, let me start by saying, I recently got my first credit card. This was the first thing I ever bought on it. I thought it was a great deal. And I needed something nice to decorate our apartment, because the walls are bare, so I ordered the sunset, moom, lightning, and northern lights posters... I actually read all the terms and everything, but I didn't click on "HELP" because I didn't think I needed any (which is why it says help, and not FAQ, which is what I WAS looking for.) Now, I may have been taken in so easily because I was a little manic, and credit card in hand, I was eager to spend some money. But I was trying to be careful, I was trying to read everything, I just couldn't find the info I wanted, and I was sure that when they said a small shipping and handling fee, they meant a SMALL SHIPPING AND HANDLING FEE. How on Earth is 19.05 a SMALL shipping and handling fee? And that is just what they disclose as the shipping and handling, for the introductory offer, they never, ANYWHERE, on the entire site, say how much shipping is for any follow up orders. Now, it seems that not only did I get charged more than I should have (and it could not have been tax, since I do not live in IL, I live in WA), $34 rather than $27.05 ( I was expecting absolutely no more than $18.00, thinking that nothing over $10 could ever be considered small, especially for something that will weigh less than the box), but from what I have been reading, the charges are not consistant. They are not charging everyone the same amount. The website states a flat rate for shipping, so they can't be charging different amount for that reason, so why isn't everyone being charged $34.00 like I was? Some people are being charged $39.00 for the introductory offer, some $39 and some change, always a different amount of change. Anyway back to my story. It took over two weeks for me to get my posters.I already knew I was going to send them back, as I had canceled and informed them that they would be getting them back as soon as the exorbitant charge showed up on my credit card e-statement. Now, here's the thing... It took over two weeks for me to get them, but they were shipped 3 day priority mail. So what really happened is they charged me, I canceled the account and the order, and then they shipped it anyway. And then when I finally got it, the box AND the posters were all opened already, and one was damaged, not that it matters since they were going back anyway... Well, the only reason it would matter is that it is strictly against their return policy. However I called and told them that I didn't get them for two weeks, and whe I did the box AND the posters were all opened, and that I still wanted to return them and that the post office now says that I cannot send them back "return to sender" like I was told I could do (bet you didn't think to ask about that, did you? they won't say unless you ask, but you are not required to pay return shipping as long as you ship it in the original packaging) and he told me that all I have to do is make sure it is clearly marked all over the box and drop it in the bin, and the post off will be obligated to return it to the sender and they will pay the shipping when they get it and refund my money. I will be taking it to the post office today, and I will see how quickly I get my money back, I'm not sure, based on what I have read, but I hope I get it back in a timely manner.

Here is my post from the other site I was posting on:

I also was taken in by this "great deal". There is one place on the website, if you can find it, under "help" that discloses the amount that they charge for shipping for the introductory order. "Shipping and handling for your introductory offer is $19.05." It does not, however, add up to the amount that they charge your credit card. I was charged $34.00 for my 4 posters, which I am returning, but have not been able to yet, as the post office refuses to take it without me paying for shipping (because they shipped it using DHL), though I have been assured by posterpass.com that they should take it "return to sender" and that they will pay the return shipping upon receipt. I figure that they charged me an extra $6.95, which is completely fraudulent. They can, however, charge you tax if you live in the state that the company ships from, IL, I believe. I could get no explanation of the extra $6.95 that they charged me when I talked to them on the phone, in fact, they acted like I never asked anything about any extra amount at all. I will say, however, that everyone I have talked to at the company has been very courteous and other than ignoring my question about the extra amount charged and the astronomical amount for shipping and handling (it also took over two weeks for me to get something that was shipped priority mail), they have answered all of my questions and been very helpful, I was even told that I could return the posters even though they are opened, even though that is strictly against their return policy. (Should they decide after receiving them that they will not refund my money, I will simply dispute the charge with the credit card company since they have the merchandise and get the money back that way.) I would be interested in joining a suit to at least get them shut down. If I get my money back after they get the posters back, I doubt I could participate on any other level, but I think they should not be allowed to be in business. The posters did not even look as good as they did on my computer. "Museum quality prints"? HA! Yeah right. And my blonde hair is made of spun gold just because that's what color it is. I guess I can start selling strands of my hair online for quick cash and get away with it too, huh? When I saw the amount that they were charging me on my online statement (well, the "pre-statement" I guess you could call it) I nearly had a heart attack. I was expecting like $6, no more than $10 for shipping and handling, and I thought if it was $10 that would be on the higher end and just because it was 4 posters at once. But come on... Do you realize, if they were charging you guys $44, at 9.95 per poster for the auto-shipments they were charging you $12.05 PER POSTER to ship a POSTER in a box that weighs MORE THAN THE POSTER. That is MORE for shipping than it was for each poster, and don't forget, they shouldn't be charging you separate shipping for something being shipped in the same box anyway. So really, how much should it cost to ship that box? I'm not sure if I am remembering correctly, but I think that is illegal. I don't remember where I read that, I think in one of my mom's text books (she's a paralegal). Bottom line is, this company needs to be shut down, and they need to be sent to prison, not just shut down and fined so they can open another company to do it again. I bet that they are RAKING in the dough. A tip though, regardless of their return policy, even if you opened the posters, and THEN found the charge on you credit card statement (because in all likelihood, you got the posters, opened them, possibly even hung them up, and then got your statement even weeks later, which they know is likely to happen and they capitalize upon it), roll them up, put them back in the plastic (if you still have it), put them back in the box, write return to sender ALL OVER it, drop it in the post office bin (otherwise they will not ship it without you putting postage on it unless it was shipped via the USPS), wait a day or so, and then call and tell them you found out how much they charged you, and that you dropped the posters back into the mail. If they say anything about "We can't refund your money if the posters are opened" whatever, AS LONG AS YOU USED A CREDIT CARD. This may not work with a bank card. I pretty sure Visa's policy says that the dispute policy only applies like this for actual credit cards. If they refuse the refund, dispute the charge, you have already tried to dispute it through the vendor, and returned the product, and the credit card company should refund the charge with no problem. ESPECIALLY if this company happens to be on their blacklist. You must dispute the charge within 60 (or is it 90?) days of it first appearing on your statement. Even if it is too late, report the company to the credit card company and tell them not to accept any more charges from posterpass.com, and ask them if they can add the company to their blacklist, that way they will be on the alert for other consumers, the more people complain, the easier it will be to get these guys shut down. IT IS POSSIBLE TO GET THE CREDIT CARD COMPANY TO STOP APPROVING CHARGES FROM A COMPANY BASED ON THE NUMBER ON COMPLAINTS RECEIVED BY CONSUMERS. Most people don't know that. if there have been a sufficient number of complaints, the only way to have a charge go through is for the credit card company to call and pre-approve the amount BEFORE the charge goes through. Wouldn't that be nice for companies like this? Where there are undisclosed, hidden fees? If you had been called before hand, you never would have approved it, right? So the more of us that calls the credit card companies to complain, the closer we get to saving other innocent people from this kind of fraud. Keep us posted on any lawsuit details! One more thing, from now on, before you buy ANYTHING online or from an infomercial, type "name of product" reviews into your search engine... If it sounds too good to be true, it almost always is... And hopefully you aren't going to be among the first to be taken in. Good luck in the future. One more thing... I think that the lawsuit, should there be one, should not be against posterpass.com, but against peel.com, take a look at their website... click on commerce, and look at the sites that they run where they are selling identical products for different prices. I haven't looked at all the sites yet, but I know that at least at the coffee one, they have the same shipping policies that they have with the poster site. Scary stuff, these guys need to go down, and they need to go down NOW.

Also a note for those that ordered with a bank card:

Don't forget that they are liable for the overdraft fees as well as the money for the charges they drafted. Ask the bank about this if you want, the company will tell you that they are not, but the bank will tell you the truth, if a fraudulent charge causes an overdraft, the bank is NOT responsible for giving back the overdraft fee, though most will give you back a few of them. The company that causes the overdraft because of fraudulent charges (even if it is fraudulent only in the amount or DATE of the charge) IS responsible in refunding you the overdraft fees associated with the drafts, even if they overdraft were not directly associated with the draft from said company but from a draft directly after it (posterpass drafted your account for $44 twice and then you got $20 dollars in gas and that overdrafted because you didn't know that the posterpass drafts were there because they were unauthorized. Get it?) I hope this helps. I have had some trouble with things like this in the past, and this is I went in to talk one on one, face to face with them to get my account straightened out when I had a credit reporting website charging my bank account three different charges every month for an account that had been canceled for months... That was a disaster... If this has happened to you, I suggest that for now, you open a second account and change everything over, and keep the original one open until you get the refunds, and then close it. That is the best way to stay safe. The bank should allow you to do that free of charge (if there are fees associated with opening new accounts at your bank) because it is related to a fraud case. Make sure you research ever purchase you make online or over the phone from now on, I know I am going to, I have a very limited income, and I cannot afford to have things like this happen anymore.

P
May 23, 2011 11:02 pm EDT

In three weeks time, there were three charges of $79 to my credit card. I did not place any orders for posters during that time. I had ordered posters from them about 18 months ago, but that was it, no further orders were placed. I have called their number, [protected] many times, but it never reaches anyone. You just get a recording to leave your number and no one ever calls you back. I did finally get 2 poster deliveries, but not a third. I will attempt to return them and be refunded my money as the website says.

J
Jan 03, 2008 12:00 am EST

As with everyonelses complaint in this area they promised 4 posters for 8 dollars and charged me 34 ###in dollars.They made me over draft and I'm calling them tommorow but I doubt they will refund me .At least the bank said they could any way.I'm having them flagged so I don't get double charrged hopefully! So stupid and ignorant to rip people off but have a " customer service line"hope you guys knoe to read before you purchase.I will in the future

R
Mar 22, 2010 3:33 pm EDT

I'm in for a solution for all whom were cheated and still being ripped off.POSTERPASS.COM Watch out...

D
Jan 12, 2010 5:10 pm EST

I have been hit for close to $400 in charges in my checking account by PosterPass.com ... they took in one month close to $240.00 and i can't seem to get the dang thing cancelled ... no one answers the phone and no one responds to emails. Is there any way of recooping that money?

W
Dec 31, 2009 1:29 am EST

I have been reading I believe 11 pages of complaints against posterpass.com. If I were to attemp to arrange a Class Action Law Suit, would everyone be willing to put forth support? Return confirmations and credit/debit bills? I'm completely serious.

R
Nov 16, 2009 1:07 am EST

I just recieved a unauthorized withdrawin my account last week for 79 dollars and now my account is overdrawn 200 with still one more week till payday, I havent heard from that company in almost a year when I cancelled my membership. wtf has anyone filed suit against these crooks

ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT