SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Plastic Fantasticfaulty doors, poor workmanship

1
F Review updated:

Installed two upvc doors. I paid for composite doors they installed plywood. The doors were faulty on installation i.e. would not open. It took them two months to fix them even though they issued a TEN YEAR guarantee which is worthless. The doors have major defects: not alined in frame, faulty locks, drafts through doors, sticking at the bottom. They will not came back to repair the faults - so much for the guarantee. Found out the directors have a long track record of 'ceased trading' and liquidated companies to their name. One director has TEN directorships to his name. No point taking them to the small claims court - they simply won't pay and I'd have to spend more money getting the court to follow up. Have come across others who have suffered the same fate as myself - one guy took seven months before he finally got his money back via the credit card company. Guess what? I paid them cash hence the no show.

Responses

  • Ad
    A Dissatisfied Customer Jun 14, 2014

    Can't agree with you more. I had my house gutters, facias and cladding replaced with this company. The director, Paul Wilkinson, can talk-the-talk when you meet him. However, I've had a number of problems with the job done and asked for him to return to site on several occasions but he just refuses. He will not take responsibility. But since liquidating the company last time he appears to not be employing anyone directly, thus they are 'technically' freelance effort. This leaves the client with little or no comeback and legally. In addition he asks clients to pay him 50% directly and the other 50% directly to the contractors. I would give these people a wide berth. They are not trustworthy and you'd be better served to find another supplier who can supply you with GENUINE reviews and HONEST testamony.

    2 Votes
  • Pl
    PLASTIC FANTASTIC Aug 30, 2017

    @A Dissatisfied Customer Hi, this is Paul.If you have any queries with work I've done for you please contact me on [email protected]

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    John0000 Apr 01, 2015

    Simple...do not use them. If you do remember you were warned...find a blog on search engine called John C Sweet to read more

    1 Votes
  • Pl
    PLASTIC FANTASTIC Aug 30, 2017

    @John0000 For balance John, you received a full refund years ago, thanks Paul

    -1 Votes
  • He
    helen89 Jun 30, 2015

    I agree also, I am sorry we ever used these people. I am still left with dripping and leaking gutters and cannot get these people back to sort it out.
    We had no paperwork guarantee or receipt - paid in cash - what a mistake!
    a lot of hassle for what should have been a straightforward job. really wish we hadn't used this company.
    we are left to find another company to do our lower gutters and fascias as we would not let them carry on and do these. my upper downspouts fell off after a few days and have one is attached one onto my neighbours guttering with a small pin. no brackets or secure fixings were used and i have since found pieces and waste material all around my house and even on my neighbours roof.
    be warned people. this is not an honest company and when they have your money you will not see them again. you will be left with their mistakes.

    2 Votes
  • Pl
    PLASTIC FANTASTIC Aug 30, 2017

    @helen89 Hi Helen, if you are having any issues with the work I did please do not hesitate to contact me on [email protected], thanks

    Paul

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    John0000 Jun 30, 2015

    We have just had a letter of the courts. Asking us to remove the CCJ we have against them as they have applied for Good Business Scheme in Tameside and our CCJ is stopping them doing it. Hahaha thats a shame

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Margaret Isabel Shaughnessy Jul 28, 2016

    Completely empathise with all the above comments - very poor, dishonest company. My new guttering has been leaking, or should I say gushing, with water at one of the joints ever since it was erected - Have phoned several times - been told "One of our fitters will call out" Still awaiting the mythical fitters!!! So much for the Ten Year Guarantee

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    PLASTIC FANTASTIC Apr 20, 2017

    @Margaret Isabel Shaughnessy Hi Mrs Shaughnessy, I wasn't aware of an ongoing issue with your guttering, please contact me at [email protected], thanks Paul

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    Jooz007 Oct 06, 2016

    Complete cowboys!!

    AVOID AVOID AVOID!!! Paul the owner is a complete conman!!

    He appoints 'Contractors' to carry out the shoddy work so his guarantees are worthless and he refuses to return to fix problems.. Like your sofits hanging off as they were'nt fitted correctly!..

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    PLASTIC FANTASTIC Apr 20, 2017

    @Jooz007 Please contact me at [email protected] if you have any issues with the work I've done, thanks Paul

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
    cheatedofhyde Apr 01, 2017

    Agree with all the previous comments.

    Companies House filing history discloses that this company had a "First Gazette" meaning a notice of compulsory strike-off in 2013, 2015 and 2016 (can it make 3 in a row for 2017?). Does this suggest a well run company to you?
    The balance sheet also discloses net current liabilities ( ie the company owes more than it is due to receive) and the company also has negative shareholder funds. This information can be found at:: https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/

    This means that even if you go through due legal process and then take out enforcement action (ie send bailiffs in) because the court award hasn't been paid, there's not much you can do. Though there will be a CCJ against the company as John0000 notes above.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    ginetteb Apr 14, 2017

    Hi,
    I have been trying for 2 years to get him to sort the mess out he has left me with and I am just about to start a claim against his at another cost to me of £105, I am not up on all this and want to know am I wasting more money putting a claim against him will I never see a penny back?

    Please if you could help me

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    PLASTIC FANTASTIC Aug 30, 2017

    @ginetteb Hi Ginette, just checking everything is now Ok for you after the roof was refitted, thanks Paul

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    cheatedofhyde Apr 17, 2017

    Hi
    Have you followed the legal process under the Consumer Rights Act 2015 and you are about to initiate a small claims court action or have you done so already? Have you contacted the CAB and via CAB to Trading Standards?
    The 2015 accounts (published by Companies Hse in 2016) show that there is approx £1000 cash though that is likely to change once the most recent accounts are published.
    If your claim is for a large amount of money (say £1500) then it may be worth progressing your claim, in my own case it was a few hundred pounds and I decided to put courts costs towards repairs rather than take legal action.
    It's very annoying that he can get way with shoddy work and still continue to trade and cost people money to rectify a poor job.
    Please note I am not qualified to give advice.
    Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    PLASTIC FANTASTIC Apr 20, 2017

    @cheatedofhyde Please contact me at in[email protected] if there's an issue with any work I've done, thanks Paul

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Katietea Feb 27, 2018

    Company was due to fit new soffits and fascias. Day before they were due I contacted paul to be told they were not ready yet and he would visit the site the following day and let me know.
    Despite voicemails and emails left, paul made no contact.
    Finally had email from him with the excuse that his scaffolding was not high enough so could not complete work.
    Website states they work to 3/4 stories (my house is a townhouse) and they also gave pictures of them working at this height.
    Company either falsely advertising or blatantly lying- I suspect lying though owner won't comment on their advertising discrepancy!
    Rude and ignorant to not update/reply to 'customers'- think I had a lucky escape though ready these reviews.
    Would recommend people avoid the company as they have such little regard for potential customers

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    PLASTIC FANTASTIC Mar 04, 2018

    @Katietea Hi Katie, as I explained in my email to you I am sorry we couldn't do the work and sorry that I didn't keep you informed, there are no excuses

    I felt our scaffold was sufficient to do the jwork, however when the job was surveyed prior to starting my team disagreed, their safety is my priority and the decision was taken that we couldn't do the job.

    This should have explained to you better at the time and for this I apologise.

    To do your work safely would have meant hiring extra scaffold, which I hadn't quoted for and therefore rather than ask you for more money I took the decision to not undertake the job

    In reality the only thing I have done wrong is to not communicate what was happening correctly and whilst that is incredibly frustrating for you I'm not sure it warrants your comments above

    Kind Regards

    Paul

    1 Votes
  • Jt
    jtully May 31, 2018

    AVOID * Paul Wilkinson...Plastic Fantastic
    Had soffits and guttering fitted on 27/03/18, as soon as we had rain we noticed that the gutter was leaking. On further inspection we found a broken section had been fitted, also a section of downspout hasn't been replaced at all.
    I initially emailed and text Paul on 14/04/2018 and was told someone would be in contact. no one has been in touch since I've now text approx. 5 times and phoned the office on numerous occasions..they now don't even pick up.
    I've given low star rating on cleanliness and punctuality as they turned up later than arranged on the first day then didn't see them till 2 days later, but had left all the guttering on the front lawn with ladders up to the bedroom window! broke my clothes airer and threw cigarette buts in the garden.
    Would definitely NOT recommend this company to anyone, the guarantee isn't worth the paper it’s written on.

    Very quick texting for cash and nowhere to be found afterwards

    0 Votes

Post your comment