Responses

  • De
    Debra Jan 15, 2010

    Please do your research and looked at their testimonials section on their website which is amazing, especially the range of clients they have. As for the costs, I never paid a dime for representation because I had my own portfolio and their commissions are deducted from the jobs that I do. However I believe if you don't have one and decide to get your material done through Orange they can refer you a photographer if you can't find one on your own. It is not required that anyone purchases anything.

    As far as companies today paying for a models marketing materials, good luck, times have changed and when they did.

    -2 Votes
  • Tr
    trinket Jan 11, 2010

    Aren't there any models in China?

    "Agencies don't work for free, ever agency charges a fee either for photos or a registration or for composite cards."

    "I don't understand why everyone thinks that they should get their first start in the modeling industry for free."

    You two have either been completely misled or are representatives of this company. Legitimate agencies make money by taking a small percentage of what models are paid by their clients. Only scam agencies charge 'start-up' fees. They have little incentive to book you after that because they've already been paid.

    3 Votes
  • Li
    lisaa Jan 05, 2010

    I would just like everyone to know that Orange models Toronto is in NO WAY a scam. I have been with them for almost a year now, I have been in China on a 70 day contact and now I traveling to Greece in Feb for 2 months, all because of Orange. My experience with them has been amazing.

    ORANGE I LOVE YOU GUYS !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    happymodel Dec 17, 2009

    I don’t usually participate in these forums as they are not monitored but I just felt that as this seems to be an ongoing topic so I'd add my review about this agency. I have been with Orange for about a years, I get castings, have booked jobs and they are not a scam.

    I have never paid for a photo shoot, or for a registration fee. When I joined Orange I had my own portfolio and as per the contract there is a registration fee but it is taken out of the jobs that you get.

    Recently I got back from a ten day trip to China and that was due to Orange. There were 8 models from Orange Toronto and around the same number from an agency in LA who went to China to compete in a Pageant organized by a jeans company. One of my fellow models Baba from Orange won the pageant and RMB 100, 000. I can tell you that they have a very active International division and have successfully placed many models internationally; I know it because I am one of them.

    -3 Votes
  • Th
    thelonelychosen Dec 16, 2009

    What about sending me to HongKong, Orange wants to send me to go be VIP girl at a casino- can anyone say sketchy? lol
    Please has anyone known a girl to go and ever go back?
    What do ya'll think about being sent out kidnapped and sent to the sex trade... kidding I don't really know, but maybe I'm not... Has anybody come back from one of these international jobs? Anyone?

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elle Bond Dec 05, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Darling, first of all scam agencies dont stay in business for long. i've been scammed before by one agency.
    and there are always fees for new models. even when you go to a photographer to get a basic portfolio, you do pay a lot of money.
    second of all, everyone can go on the internet and write whatever they want, and we will never find out who it was and was it true. Internet does not matter.
    What matters is how the agency is doing. Majority of their models are happy and I am one of them:))))) and that's what matters the most.
    You cannot be good for everyone. Someone will always not be satisfied.

    -5 Votes
  • Im
    imintoronto Dec 03, 2009

    PEOPLE, think about this:
    people are ok satisfied with orange, never google "orange model scam" and NEVER come and see this page,
    So the people here saying that orange is not a scam, they are part of th scaming agency and do this to make money, they GET PAID TO COME ONLINE AND WRITE THESE THINGS
    i on the other hand, i lost 750 dollars, I AM here to share my experience with you and i found this site by googling " orange model scam" !!! so the people here who are telling you the agency is a scam are telling you the truth, they are the people who were scamed and googled this to see others were scamed too or not!!!
    YOU MANAGERS go F* yourselves for lying to the general public and stealing their money .
    PEOPLE>... JUST GOOGLE "ORANGE MODELING AGENCY SCAM"... AND YOU CAN SEEE HOOWWW MANY PEOPLE HAVE ALREADY COMPLAINED!!!

    F* YOU ORANGE

    5 Votes
  • Kr
    KristyN Nov 23, 2009

    Everyone with no pictures does a test shoot and pays for composite cards and head shots to get started. If that was the case then I think you paid right. I've been with them for a while now and I am satisfied. I had my own photos so did not pay them anything. They always guide me and help me out just like the rest of their models. To begin with my contract was for a year and I just renewed it. Depending on the duration of the contract if it hasn’t expired you should talk to them. As far as auditions are concerned that totally depends on the client and what they are looking for, that is not the agencies fault.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kathy654 Nov 22, 2009

    2 years ago I paid them the 700$ and during the whole year I just got one audition.I called the manager several times to see when I'm gonna get an audition but he ditched me all the time.I'm still angry but I don't know what to do.Any advise?

    2 Votes
  • In
    Industryprofessional Nov 06, 2009

    Orange is a legit Toronto agency.

    As a photographer I have worked with clients like Scotia bank, Guinness, Unitron, OLG, Bell, RBC, Rogers, McDonald and I can tell you Orange Model Management is one of the Top commercial/ fashion agencies in Toronto. Their models work internationally.

    Agencies don't work for free. Sometimes models pay some fees, (prints, transportation, etc) especially when they get started and have a book to build. Depends on the case.

    If you sign with an agency and don’t get audition or you are unable to book jobs, it means you're not what the casting director is looking for. That is not your agency's fault.

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    happymodelsmother Oct 31, 2009

    You are clearly pissed off for nothing. There is nothing fraud about this company! My daughter has been with them for the last 2 years and currently she is in China on a 3 month contract all due to Orange Models. I am very Happy with them. I have been scammed before by an different agency who shut down (as scam agencies never last long, they take your money and run).Please do your research first before screaming scam!

    And btw... just incase you try to blame them, I don't work at the agency.

    -4 Votes
  • Pi
    pissedmodel Oct 09, 2009

    I am disgusted with Orange. They ARE a scam!...The contract clearly states they do not charge for couriers when in fact they DO NOT deal with couriers...WHY HAVE THAT!!...They are NOT specific at all!!...I over paid so much for this!...DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM AT ALL!!!

    3 Votes
  • Yv
    Yvonne S Sep 10, 2009

    Agencies don't work for free, ever agency charges a fee either for photos or a registration or for composite cards.

    I have heard good and bad things about Orange, mostly good. I don't think they are a scam because I know their models book jobs but there are better options out there like ford, elite or elmer specially for someone who is 5'9.

    As for the internet every agency is a 'scam' there is good and bad about so many legit agencies in Toronto including Orange that it is unbelievable so do your research and use your judgment.

    -1 Votes
  • Zi
    zib Sep 09, 2009

    I do agree that once an aspiring model wants to start up in an agency, it would cost you a chunky figure, however, as you advance higher you start making your own profits while building your skills as a model. I was with orange models for 2 years and i am 5' 9. I got NO jobs or call bakcs whatsoever and when i tired to renew my contract, they gave me false hope and made me pay $200 to renew my contract. So basically, maybe they tried to find me jobs and the market was to competitive, or maybe they wanted to rip me off while i sit around and wait for nothing. But the main point of it all is that the modelling world is not an easy but competitive environment, and the best thing an aspiring model can do to survive in this industry is to keep searching for the right agency which would represent them best and promote them so that they can get good jobs.

    3 Votes
  • Sa
    Sasha Lynn Aug 22, 2009

    YOU GUYS are probably the managers of this terrible agency acting as clients. What a scam. I've heard terrible things about this agency.

    2 Votes
  • El
    Elle Bond Aug 21, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree there is always a cost to start something for the first time..
    I signed with Orange about a year and a half ago.. and I'm very happy I did. I got a lot of auditions and booked number of jobs..
    People complain only because they think that once they have signed they gonna be supermodels in no times without doing anything..and nobody works on their portfolios when a portfolio is a reflection of your skills:) So there you go.. all questions answered:)

    -4 Votes
  • El
    Elleb Aug 12, 2009

    i just booked two fashion shows this month through Orange Models, you can see my pictures on their blog http://orangemodels.vox.com
    i have nothing but good things to say about them.

    -3 Votes
  • De
    Debra Apr 16, 2009

    I am 5" 4' and have been with Orange for the last 2 years and I am so glad I went to Orange. I have done a few commercials which include (beauty Supply outlet, Scope) a few prints like (Casino Rama, Wal-Mart), bunch of music videos including (Kelly Clarkson). I can't thank them enough for their hard work, it is really appreciated. Actually this agency came highly recommended with great recommendations from a friend who worked as assistant to a casting director. I am very happy with them.

    I don't understand why everyone thinks that they should get their first start in the modeling industry for free. If you are an unbelievably experienced model with your own portfolio, then yes otherwise mostly there is a startup cost for anything you do in life like be dance, art, singing, gym etc. I am surprised anyone would be disappointed, but I guess not everybody is different; it is like anything in life. It seems like people are always looking for something to complain about.

    Orange has had great success stories, from fashion shows to fashion magazines to hit tv series, to many commercials, catalogues etc.

    Check out their TV website http://www.orangemodels.tv or their videos on YouTube http://www.youtube.com/orangemodel and you would be amazed.

    -6 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.