The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Nicor SolutionsRip off/ scam

J Review updated:

Have just found out that I have been involved in a scam for several years. Worst part is the scam artist is a local utility supplier Nicor Solutions. They have collected over $2400 over and above what my cost of gas should have been for the past 4 years. And, when questioned about it they said that was the contract I chose. I asked for a copy of the contract that I signed, conveniently they say it was verbal. I asked to have the money refunded and was told the best he could do was give me a one month credit. Other people need to know how their "Fixed Bill Program" works and that it is a rip off. As for me, I am a single mom trying to support two kids on a limited income in a home that my Mom is letting us live in. I'm mad as H... and am not going to take it any more! But have been told that I would need to pay an EXIT FEE just to get out of the program! Now if all of this doesn't scream SCAM I don't know what does - how can this be legal? Can anyone help me?

Responses

  • Pa
    Patty Schmidt Apr 02, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As of 4/2/18, the current name is Nicor Home Solutions. I realize it's my fault for not questioning what this charge was before, but when I finally did look into it, virtually no one has anything good to say. I just called to cancel and was on hold for 33 minutes before someone finally picked up. Tonisha informed me that "we don't have any record of you having an account on our end", as I was holding the bill in my hand that shows the charge. I asked to speak with her supervisor and was finally told that my account would be cancelled and that they would refund my current balance. Call me a skeptic, but I'll be watching my next bill closely.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stangmasterflash Nov 20, 2017

    Thanks for posting this- I just got a thing in the mail saying "Nicor Solutions" is changing its name to "Illinois Energy Solutions". Claiming they'll give you $20 off your regular fixed bill, plus a $25 visa gift card. If they can afford to do that, I wonder how much more they're overcharging!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Denika Williams Feb 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am so glad that I looked it this scam before signing up for the suppose to be energy plan. This is sad that you have scammers like this in the world.

    2 Votes
  • Gr
    Grottman1 Oct 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They said we will send a bill for the year. They did. I asked three times for what the plan covers. They said they would e-mail it and send by USPS mail. They never did but they want the money first before telling me what the plan covers or does not cover?? looks like a rip off to me.. I am canceling before I ever send them a cent-

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sue Dec 26, 2015

    I live in an apartment building. I had Nicor Home Solutions to cover repair costs, for a washer, refrigerator, TV, and home computer. I was billed through Ohio Edison. I moved. When I moved, I stayed in the same building and just changed apartments. I was not told that would end my services from Nicor. I was and still am furious when Nicor would not reinstate me.

    1 Votes
  • Gi
    girlonthego52 Oct 09, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also have been billed for their services of which I have Never used! When I called recently because I needed service I could not get through. You get an automated menu, after your selection it tells you they have a high volume of calls and puts you on hold with REPEATING COMMERICALS! This went on for the last 5 days I called. My wait times were all OVER 15 min., one call I waited 25.32 min. before hanging up. I got an automated recording one day telling me my wait time would be 75 minutes! I went to their website and filled out a request for service - it was never answered. But when I filled out a cancellation of service request on this same site, I received an email telling me that I would have to VERBALLY cancel the contract. If I can't get through for service, do you think I'll be able to get through for a cancellation? FAT CHANCE!! I did not verbally signup for this contract, did online and it appeared on my Nicor bill, they automatically renew and bill without VERBAL consent. Best Scam going in the utilities companies!!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria Gineris Engleman Sep 30, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was under the impression that the fixed monthly payment would add up over the year. In other words, if during the Summer months, the actual bill was $25.00 and I was paying $100.00 per month, there would be a balance of $75.00. On the months when my actual bill was less, I expected that the extra money would be adding up to use toward the winter months and if over the year, there was money left over, it could be refunded.
    When calling today, I found I was completely wrong. The fixed payment plan is just a plan that allows you to pay the same amount throughout the entire year. If your payment is $100.00 per month and you paid $1200.00 for the year, and the actual usage came to $1050.00 per the year, there is no refund. On the other side, if your actual usage is $1400.00, you do not have to pay the extra $200.00 .
    Not sure that I will be continuing with this company. New contracts come up the month of October, with adjusted monthly amounts, could be more could be less. This is the time you can opt out of the program and not be charged an exit fee.

    0 Votes
  • No
    nope2333 Oct 31, 2014

    well i have been on the program for 4 yrs and the most my bill has been is 60.00 for 12 months and now this yr my bill will be 55.00 a month thats a yr $660.00 for the 2015 yr so actually my was reducted by i am saving $60.00 this yr so i will not bash this co

    -2 Votes
  • Co
    colmex427 May 29, 2014

    I agree, they are scammers. EVERYONE BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY. They call themselves NICOR ADVANCED ENERGY, i was under the impression that this was NICOR GAS but it is not. If you are looking to start service with NICOR GAS do not fall for NICOR ADVANCED ENERGY it is a totally different company and they charge far more for your service than NICOR GAS does. I was with this company for 4 years until I called them to switch my plan and found out they were not who i thought they were. I over paid in the course of 4 years over $1600 more than i should have and yes they charge an EXIT fee for cancelling your service.

    0 Votes
  • Rt
    RTK25301 Jan 26, 2010

    My elderly widowed mother had a similar experience. I had actually helped her withdraw from the Nicor Solutions fixed bill program in 2003. Unknown to me she made a phone commitment to them in February 2006, and in the subsequent 3 years, 11 months has paid $7215.04 for gas which would have cost $4564.48 under standard Nicor billing or budget plan. Total overcharge 58%. Checking my records, I realized I had been out of the country doing volunteer work for two weeks when she signed up. She is capable of writing checks, but not good at spotting scams, so I regret not watching her more closely. Suspcious people with time to look for scammers could have learned that nobody every saves money on this deal from:
    http://www.citizensutilityboard.org/pdfs/ConsumerInfo/20060914_NicorsFixedBillandLock12Plans.pdf
    This program is clearly intended to add profit to a company who cannot make outsized profits in the regulated part of the business. Unfortunately your Illinois government prefers “Buyer Beware” rather than disallowing this unregulated subsidiary of a regulated utility. I could not help but be reminded of the Enron off-balance-sheet schemes of Jeffrey Skilling et al., for which he went to jail. I wrote to the state Attorney General, with no response, so I have to assume that what they are doing is legal. I recommend anybody who has been scammed by this company call their state senator and representative and ask to get the law changed. The only answer I got was from Mom’s Illinois state representative (perhaps because I called rather than wrote), who contacted the company and was led to believe restitution would be made. In fact they refused any relief whatsoever.
    I also found it interesting that they have no written contract, yet when I tried to cancel it last February, they said I had to wait 11 months or pay a $400 penalty. Also see:
    /URL removed/

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    marissajz Nov 10, 2009

    You should report them to the Better Business Bureau and possibly the government.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bogdez1 Oct 27, 2019

    @marissajz If it's a verbal contract, then like they say they do/ they should have a recording of your agreement which they gave to produce and prove to you when you ask for it, and there quote unquote . And almost every contract renews ever 12 months. If they refuse to give you proof or a refund, go see a lawyer it's worth the fee for a / the phone call/letter from the lawyer to nicor. If they still refuse go talk to an attorney that doesn't charge unless they win and then they take a 3rd of the settlement but it really cost u nothing and sue them. The better buisness does nothing to help you.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.