Metro Public Adjustment, Inc.Poor Service

L Review updated:

Metro Public Adjustment was hired to repersent us for an insurance claim it took Metro over 7 months to get our claim settled and along the way they just kept taking more money from us to hire an independent and then an umpire to try and settle the dispute with the insurance co and during the entire process we were being reassured by the adjuster and the rep from Metro is that once we get to the umpire stage that they never loose and it would be in my best intrest to proceed to that step. Well we did proceed and still lost... During the entire 7 months Metro would not return any of my phone calls and when they did it was always I don't know whats doing on. In one occurance I spoke to the Metro Rep and she advised us that we were awarded everything that was in dispute and that we are in good shape, an hour later get a phone call from the adjuster and we are being told that they need to go to the next step because nothing was awarded. It was a prime example that the left hand had no clue what the right was doing. When I questioned the metro rep I was given the response "you could have handled it yourself and have gotten nothing". I am kicking myself everyday for going with this company and I will express to everyone reading this to second guess yourself before using metro public adjustment.

Responses

  • Sk
    skeptic1547 Oct 07, 2009

    Just so you know, these guys are part of a pyramid scheme, where the adjusters are just normal people, no training, and have to get people under them. In these types of businesses, the actual business itself is not important, just the recruitment. I feel sorry for you, no one would think to search online when hiring a company, like they would when looking for a job.

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    Resonable Person Nov 14, 2009

    Metro Public Adjustment is not a pyramid scheme, only a misinformed person would give this opinion... Please go look up the definition of a pyramid scheme and educate yourself before you speak.

    Next, people hire attorney's everyday and pay them 10's of thousands of dollars and some 100's of thousands of dollars and they loose... Give me a break, just because a company or an attorney goes to bat for a person and they loose does not make them a scam... And, I would also say... If I spent 10, 000 on an attorney, 8, 000 on court costs and lost I would have rather done it myself or not at all... Who wouldn't...

    -1 Votes
  • Je
    Jerzgirl Nov 16, 2009

    Metro is not a scam it's in the contract if the claim does not settle you dont have to pay them its better than an attorney you have to pay them no matter what. Ya they recruite a lot but its only cause they r an expanding company and there are millions of homes in the U.S. If they were a scam the state would of shut them down already. I did my research they have been a legite company for 15 years.

    -1 Votes
  • Te
    TeeItUpTR Dec 04, 2009

    Metro is the GREATEST IN MY BOOK. I just GOT MY CHECK on a homeowner's claim done by Metro Public Adjustment. I originally called my insurance company all by myself and they told me my soot on the walls wasn't covered. They said that gas heaters don't create dirt. ahhhh ... well how the heck did the dirt get on my walls ... it wasn't there over the summer. The insurance company wouldn't even send out an adjuster. A family friend recommended I call this guy at Metro and low and behold, just got a check to clean up the dirt. They charge a fee for their services but it comes out of the insurance check -- you don't write them a check. If someone above had a problem it's probably more the insurance company's fault than the public adjusters fault. Insurance companies don't like to pay money -- PERIOD -- and they will put you off and delay things as long as possible. These guys are top notch and the two people I dealt with were licensed by the state and bonded -- it's serious business to do what they do.

    2 Votes
  • Jw
    JWKIII Mar 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company is garbage! Im still waiting on my money 6 months later! My rep has abandoned me and I am at my breaking point!

    0 Votes
  • Bs
    BS Detector Mar 03, 2010

    Metro pays people to sit in a boiler room and prowl the net for complaints about them. Many major corporations do this. I think it's uncanny that "REASONABLE PERSON" cannot spell the word "Lose", it's the exact same misspelling that I saw in a Craigslist Ad for employment there!

    They offer you a job as a building inspector with "no experience required"! This should be alarming to you. Their "employment" section on their website talks about nothing but "Lucrative easy work". That should be alarming also!

    This is from the Department of Labor website :
    "Formal training and education is required to become a building inspector. Many building inspectors have a education background in engineering, construction management or public safety. They also need understanding of technical information and building codes pertaining to structures."

    They don't care if you have this training, because if you are brushed off by the claims dept of the insurance company, they lose no money. (if you lose the appeal, the client pays nothing = you get nothing! ) They encourage dishonest and unethical behavior, like reporting every last crack in the sidewalk and every drop of water on the floor, is "significant water leakage".

    There is no such thing as easy, risk free money. Unless you run a company like Metro does and you have a bunch of greedy lazy fools running all over the city pulling in money for you... and you use that money to pay college kids and housewives to prowl the net spreading "counter attacks" on legitimate complaints about their company. All they know how to do, is recruit, and cover their own ****'s legally.

    Don't waste your time! And don't hire them either! And watch out, they are NOT the only company who does this!

    -1 Votes
  • Ph
    PhillyRELadies Mar 04, 2010

    We are having a horrible experience wth Metro Public Adjusting Inc. Like other comments, our smoke/fire loss claim is now 2 1/2 months old and nothing has been done. Like others, our assigned adjuster doesn't respond to direct phone call inquiries and when we call the Metro Office and ask to speak with Bill the Director of Sales, the lady only offers take a message with the promise that he will return our phone calls. It has been 4 weeks (one month of weekly phone calls ) and neither the Dir. of Adjusters or the Office Mgr. Denise Johnson) will return phone calls to us. Last week, we sort the assistance of the PA Insurance Commission who is now investigating this company and their employees.

    After the contract with this company we found Online that Oct. 2009, there was a Insurance Commissions of Commomwealth of PA charge for fraud and finding of unlicensed Public Ins. Adjusters acting as Licensed Adjusters when in fact they were not legally authorize to practice as adjusters. Check out PA Docket #CO09-06-021 (Violation 63 Purdon's Statutes, Sec. 1606 (a)(10). It references actions of Steven J. McCaffrey (Metro President), Bill Underkoffle (Adjuster), and Jamal A. Talib (Adjuster).

    Before waiting 7 months, we have filed a formal complaint with the commissioner, have contacted an attorney for legal representation, and may file law suits against individuals for release of the contract with Metro and Mental Anguish.

    0 Votes
  • Bs
    BS Detector Mar 04, 2010

    Uh oh! This could get them shut down! Lawyers flooding to the case like flies to ...well you know.

    CMON Metro! Where's the canned rebuttel a-la-carte? Earn your 11.50$ an hour, cubicle drones! Galley slaves! Complain to the web admin to try and get that docket number removed!

    Ask your boss what to do, he's the one frantically shredding personelle files in the copy room right now!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alpha Env Mar 08, 2010

    I came to this site to check out Metro, as I'm considering performing services for them. I'm currently self-employed as an Environmental Consultant, and have had countelss projects where my Clients have had related insurance claims over the years. I've also worked with public adjusters in some of these instances.

    I'm amazed at the ignorance exhibited here on this site. It is not unusual for an insurance claim to sometimes take YEARS to settle, often involving financial and emotional cost as the situation makes its way though the legal system. Insurance companies are in business to collect premiums and invest those premiums (YOUR MONEY), NOT to pay out claims. Some insurance companies are much worse than others in this regard, but very few simply write a check in a matter of days or even weeks for a fair amount to cover the claims.

    As I said, I'm still in the process of checking out this company, but there are substantial differences between "building inspectors", as one person identified them, and claims adusters. Also, it's currently my understanding that ALL public adjusters have to be LICENSED by the state.

    There are good and bad in all professions. I'm neither defending nor condemning Metro or anyone else who performs Public Adjustment services, and not even insurance companies for that matter. What I AM attempting to do is to point out the obvious misinformation and lack of experienced "real world" perspectives behind some of the posts here, from a professional, and only indirectly related, impartial perspective.

    Finally, anyone hiring any professional would be well advised to check out their references, experience and level of expertise. Too many people want to condemn professionals, or in some cases negatively stereotype many based on extremely limited experience, and their own failure to perform due diligence before hiring someone to perform a service.

    It's a shame, but that's what's necessary in today's world. It would serve you all well to recognize that fact and act accordingly.

    3 Votes
  • Mi
    missywebbb Mar 09, 2010

    I have attended the Metro start up seminar, paid my $40.00 for classes...But am still a little leary about the whole business. They want you to contact all your friends, and famly, set up an apointment with them and go out and tell them what is WRONG their house, and possibly that their insurance coverage they have ISNT enough! Im all for helping out my family, but in a way feel like I am soliciting my family and friends and asking them to file a claim on damage that isn't even bothering the homeowner! Legitamatley I do have a friend that could use the help...I agree that I pay my insurance for a reason...WHEN THERE's A PROBLEM IT GETS FIXED..But if we continue to go out an recruit people to file claims against insurance companies just for our own and Metro's own satisfaction, isn't that JUST GOING TO INCREASE the insurance rates we are already paying?

    What this job hiring process is, is to become a Public Adjuster Solicitor(which is what they are hiring for)...Basically you find people to file a claim. Metro sends out an adjuster, the adjuster inspects the damages thoroughly and begins the insurance claim process. And by the way Metro's Public Asjusters do 6 month of schooling, as oppose to your insurance company adjusters who ONLY school for 72 hours...Your insurance adjuster are trained to minamize your return, Metro's Public Adjusters are trained to maxamize the return. Metro's Public Adusters are well trained! The solicitor however, can go through several classes..Cost $40.00...Apply for a state license...Cost approx. $100.00 but before you come liscensed you have to have 3 claims filed successfully! And then METRO reimburses you $450.00...Okay so needless to say I am a little weary of this JOB I have been offered, but something makes me want to see this through since I am unemployed at the present moment. I do have some time...But will my time be wasted?

    2 Votes
  • No
    Not backing down Mar 18, 2010

    Okay...I am very informed about Metro. They are a bunch of SCAM artist. I know this first hand. I hired Metro and still had to hire an attorney to clean up Metro's mess. These people are far from on your side. I know first hand they prey on people who find themselves in a devastated situation. Their communication SUCKS! They lie to their clients! I feel sorry for everyone who is in the same situation that I find myself in. It has been OVER ONE YEAR and still going through crap. I DON'T CARE HOW LONG THEY HAVE BEEN AROUND. BEWARE...THEY ARE NOT LOOKING OUT FOR THEIR CLIENTS...JUST WHAT IS BEST FOR THEM. They hope that the client will get to the point to just give in, like most will do because they need the money. You have rights...even with these idiots. I would argue with anyone who says they are the best. I am sure those who write positive comments are those who work for Metro. If you are someone who makes decisions based on someone else's reviews then believe me when I say...GO ELSE WHERE NOT METRO. This is a comment based on my ACTUAL EXPERIENCE WITH METRO!!! Not someone who works for them. As a matter of fact I believe my story could be a best seller or at least help someone else not to make the same mistake we did. Thanks for reading...good luck!

    -1 Votes
  • No
    Not backing down Mar 18, 2010

    My previous comment is showing a thumbs up...sorry it should be thumbs down...FRUSTRATION gets the best of us.
    STAY AWAY FROM METRO!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Sa
    Sachsy10 Mar 26, 2010

    Metro Public adjustment is A rated with BBB so we are doing things 98% efficeintly and we are licensed & bonded. We deal with 1000's of home owners and it is hard to keep every home owner satisfied. Its usually the insurance company themselves which stalls the process because they are trying to deny the home owner their rights to having home owners insurance. We protect & educate home owners...there is not a claim at everyone's house we educate home owners on their insurance policy and build a business at the same time.Most of these complaints come from bad communication between parties and unfortunately this happens sometimes. Always consider using Metro Public Adjustment !!!

    -5 Votes
  • St
    Studiofnc Apr 06, 2010

    I am completely unsatisfied client of Metro, they are in my opinion more of a distrubtion then a help to a homeowner. The young man came to my home to do the initial inspection for Bank of America. While he was there he asked me "So, how is your insurance company treating you?" I told him that we were having some issues and he jumped right on that..."I represent Metro Public Adjustment, I would love to sit down and discuss our services with you". So I gave him a shot, he came to my home on Sunday and gave me the song and dance... We do this...We do that.. We usually get you 2-3 times more than what your insurance company says you should get. I looked at him like he was crazy! The Insirance company had already valued my construction cost at $32, 000, I started thinking $64 to $98K, wow I could get the house done the way I really wanted...That was 12/27/09...Fast Forward 04/05/10... I am still waiting for the check..It's in the mail... When I call Metro HQ all the voice mailboxes are filled, so you can't leave a message. Then you contact the adjuster and...You got it VOICEMAIL... does he return the phone call...NOPE. I have attempted to cancel the contract..They have a laundry list of things they have done on your behalf, but when you ask the important question "How Much did you get from the insurance company???" No one knows anything!!!

    Then I find out that they got $11, 0000 + $11, 000 held back in depreciation, even though the contractor told them it was going to take an additional $25, 000 to finish my home... Still not 2-3 times what i was told they would get me. I am still waiting to find out what they got me for my contents... I bet it won't even come close to 2-3 times, but guess what... they are taking their 35%.

    Friends... Deal with your insurance company... get your contractor to help you... Stay away from Metro or other places like this... they are not intrested in your well being.. just your signature on the dotted line... then you are screwed. When you hired this Company, your Insurance Company will not talk to you anymore...and when you can't talk to anyone at Metro... just exactly to whom are are you to speak with about your claim?? My advise is get a mirror and talk to the mirror... You'll get your answer faster!!!

    I wish you all luck... don't fall into the trap... Metro is full of crap!!!

    4 Votes
  • Pa
    PA pro Apr 07, 2010

    I AM a public adjuster. There is no way this company can work the way they clai. To be a really good PA takes YEARS of training. Anyone who hasn't done this business for a minimum of 10 years doesn't know what he's doing.

    2 Votes
  • Te
    terspa May 04, 2010

    Wow, this site is full of crap not the company you're claiming against. Most of you don't know what the heck you're talking about.

    #1) It doesn't take years to train to become a PA, it takes months at a very intense program set up in Harrisburg and several weeks in the field training.
    #2) Insurance company adjusters may or may not attend this training -- there are plenty that don't but all PA's do this training
    #3) Insurance company's offer 25 to 40 cent on the dollar for what your claim is worth (Smart Money Magazine) so if that makes you happy go for it -- not me thanks! I had a claim reopened by Metro PA and got an additional 5k after they took their fee. The insurance company was ripping me off.
    #4)Every PA or PA solicitor studies and takes a state test to become licensed. The training can take anywhere from 1 to 4 months depending on how much time you can devote.
    #5) If you take the advise of bozo the clown up above and deal with the insurance companies on your own you may as well be accused of a felony and go to court using the prosecuting attorney to represent you. You folks are stark raving mad!
    #6) Insurance Companies don't settle claims fairly. If it takes months or years to get what's owed to me then I'm going to do it. As far as someone not calling you back -- that doesn't happen to me I get answers when I want them, so if you're too complacent to get answers -- take responsibility for yourself for heavens sakes!
    #7) There's so much crap out here -- you people should be ashamed of yourselves.

    -1 Votes
  • No
    Not backing down May 11, 2010

    This site is not full of crap...just people who have had bad experiences with your company!

    I must say you must be a lucky one. Let me first say, I know what I am talking about when I say METRO SUCKS!!!

    1- They don't return calls.

    2- And if your lucky to get someone they lie and tell you your talking to a manager or supervisor. But in fact you're just talking to another loser who call themselves adjustors.

    3- Metro did not submit all I was entitled to...Gee that's doing a great job!

    4- They tried to scam the insurance company with one of their SO Called Experts...when the expert was questioned...he ran and wants nothing to do with the case...smells like a rat or a scam to me.

    5- Your right...I would be willing to wait as long as it takes to get what I am entitled too. But I am not willing to wait for a scam artist to try to get what we are not entitled too just to make more money for him.

    As we are all entitled to post our stories in the hopes this doesn't happen to someone else. I am sure there are some who have had a positive experience with Metro, but there are MANY who have not.

    So I must say, "I AM NOT ASHAMED OF MYSELF"...As a matter of fact I wish I could do more to make sure people don't use Metro. Lucky for you if things worked out for you, but that's not the case with me. And I am not just complaining because someone didn't return my call...my situation goes way beyond a return phone call.

    You are entitled to your opinion and I am entitled to mine. But if you are a true customer why would you be searching Complaint boards for a company you are so happy with? Unless you are Metro????

    PS- As far as BBB rating...BBB is a joke. If you want a high rating, regardless of how many complaints you get, you just have to pay them a yearly fee to become "BBB accredited". That is how the BBB makes money. And then idiot consumers go on the site, see you have a terrible rating and assume the C, D, or even an F means the company sucks. When in fact it just means the company doesn't want to pay some company a fee for an imaginary grade.

    BEWARE OF METRO!!!

    6 Votes
  • Su
    superstar0333 May 13, 2010

    Metro Sucks!!! Promise and more Promises and they still SUCK!!! NO return calls, NO help, but they did however cash a check on damages I handled myself w/ State Farm!!!

    1 Votes
  • Np
    nplenick May 17, 2010

    Too bad you people don't read the facts about Public Adjusters vs. Insurance Companies...It is true that Insurance companies only pay 25-40% of what the payment should actually be...The insurance Company is the one that makes you wait so long to get payment..not the Public Adjuster... the Public Adjuster is just like a lawyer for you(the policyholder) & is there to get the maximum amount on your claim! The Public Adjuster submits your claim only if it is going to be beneficial to you(the policyholder). Of course there is gonna be a fee...BUT only if your claim is approved & not until then!!! When you have a car accident & hire a lawyer...what happens...you go to court get your settlement, then pay your lawyer 33% or more ... same as a Public Adjuster does in representing a policy holder...Public Adjusters are on the homeowners side & don't work for the insurance companies...they work for the homeowners to maximize the settlement! The insurance company is the one who takes their good old time to payout...they drag it out as long as they can...try to file a claim yourself & you will see how long it takes, or if you even get anything! Metro isn't a bad company or a joke...They do what they are suppose to do & before anyone signs a contract with them they are aware of the whole process...

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    TakeNoCrap May 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Never use Metro. waste of your time and YOUR money!

    2 Votes
  • Al
    all_open May 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Listen all...I was both a client and an independent contractor for Metro. It is NOT a scam. I used them after my insurance company tried to low-ball me, cut corners on repairs, and force a quick but unsatisfactory payment on me. Metro stepped in, got the payment increased, and yes, it took 45 days to settle, but I was much happier. So much so, that I joined PT looking to help others as I was helped. I've processed hundreds of claims successfully and with positive results. That doesn't mean that every client experience is always positive. EVERY company in the world will ultimately have some disgruntled customers...it's inevitable. But out of the thousands of claims processed a small percentage will always have bigger obstacles and issues to overcome. But overall, customer satisfaction in the high 90's is excellent.

    Look, this is a COMPLAINT site. Those few posting here are well within their right to complain if their experience dictates it. But remember that very seldom will those who are happy customers visit a complaint site and post their experience. My experience has been positive. Those I filed for were also happy with time and outcome. What I've learned is that your insurance company has a LOT to do with your experience with Metro. If they step up, honor your policy, and keep the process moving forward, the outcomes are generally positive. But if they want to drag out the process, thereby upsetting the homeowner, Metro can only press so hard. Be careful when selecting an insurer. Service is an important part of the decision factor. Low premiums and poor service can lead to longer settling times (with or without Metro). The insurer loves to make the claims experience painful. My wife and few friends work for insurance companies and they've told me all these little tips. Metro has the homeowner interest in mind.

    2 Votes
  • Ob
    obser May 29, 2010

    Just chimming in on all the ngative comments that I'm seeing here. I hired Metro Public Adjusters through a friend who filed a claim last year. The adjuster came out and explained my policy and everything that would be covered under my policy. My best friend for 35 years is my insurance broker at state farm and have never had explaination of my policy. He also explained how long the process could take and received the settlement about 2 months after they came out for much more than anticipated.

    2 Votes
  • Pa
    PA resident May 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Below I've pasted Metro's latest ad found on craigslist today. If you are having a problem getting them to respond to you maybe you should call the number listed in the ad - or go to the employment meeting and ask your questions in front of everyone:
    "Aaron Stutman @ 215-891-9442"

    ["The demand is great right now & we are looking for qualified people IMMEDIATELY!
    We opened a new office in Springfield (Delaware County), Pa and we are in need of Regional Managers in the Delaware County, Chester County & Bucks County areas.
    Our company is willing to offer full onsite training to help better build your business!!
    Are you tired of working for someone and never getting rewarded? Have you ever trained someone and possibly lost your job because you trained them to well? Are you looking for a career change?
    Our company is in great need of motivated, driven individuals!! It is an easy & enjoyable career choice that can pay very well. Hours are flexible & can work as your sole financial resource or can help supplement as a part time position. The potential to earn in a part time position can range up to $31, 000/year, full time up to $83, 000/year, & managers can earn $110, 000/year! You will never be laid off, out-sourced or lose wages due to the economy. You must be over 18 years of age or older, have a drivers license and have a car.
    Please call Aaron Stutman @ 215-891-9442 if you are interested in filling out an application and seeing if we are the right fit for you."]

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
    Savedone Jun 04, 2010

    We hired Metro to file a claim on our kitchen floor. Everything went smooth. We got paid $2800 within about 60 days, even after State Farm held back $1100.

    1 Votes
  • Ag
    agree to disagree Jun 10, 2010

    each public adjuster will get you as much as they put into it. theyre all different, and they will all operate differently since the company has so many employees. they dont have set schedules, theyre not told how much, or when they should work. everyone should get to know their PA before making generalizations about them. some of metros employees geniunely care about getting their customers the money they deserve, some do not. its no different than any large company. you will always have workers who do not put enough effort into their jobs. my father is a wonderful adjuster, but i also believe the horror stories. educate yourselves.

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr Fix-it Jun 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've used PA's several times in the past with mostly very positive results. The 35% contingency fee Metro deducts is 3 times hirer than I've ever paid a PA. I am neutral on the company at this time but it is purely a pyramid "pay scale". I would not jump right on the boat and say it's a "scheme", but I've never paid more than 15% for the services of a PA. That is a higher % rate than most Personal Injury attorney's charge. And remember, everything is negotiable. If you wish to try there service, negotiate the % rate. If they know there is a legit claim worth 10's of $1, 000 dollars, you can say you will hire elsewhere unless they reduce their fee to say 20%. Public Adjusters must be licensed by the state to act on your behalf between you and your insurance company... no that says much you can get your drivers license for a fee. The more they get you, the more they get, which I feel is reasonable if a qualified PA can get you 1000% more should you try and go it alone.

    Just look online or the net and shop around. DO NOT hire the first PA that walks into your insurance mess. Get 3 or 4 guys to come out and if you feel comfy with Metro, hire them... if not go with who you liked the most.

    As far as payment from insurance companies... they drag there feet, fight tooth and nail because they are in the biz to make money NOT pay out for the service you pay for. It really sucks there is such a need for Public Adjusters and there would no need if insurance companies would just stop screwing their customers. That is the world we live in and that is just how it is.

    In summation, I will never deal with an insurance claim without hiring a good PA, unless you are a persistent, pushy person that has plenty of time to go back and forth with the insurance companies adjuster. Some insurance companies are MUCH better than others to deal with but most are ball breakers. Ensure you get what you are owed and the damage is fixed correctly.

    One more thing... I'm a little handy and can paint, demo, do some electric work and did some work to my property after filing a claim w/o an adjuster. Don't do anything until you get written commitment from your insurance company what they will pay you for. I made the mistake of completing repairs myself only to get screwed for trying to get money for what I paid out and work done myself to try and save the insurance company some cash on the settlement... only to be told they were not reimbursing me because I did the work myself and did not have receipts for them to warrant me labor because I did not have receipts.

    Hope my rant made sense to those "on the fence" about using a PA. Good luck!

    2 Votes
  • Mj
    mjstevens Jun 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Metro doesn't hire in new people to be adjusters. All their adjusters are sent through a lot of training, school, field hours, and aren't allowed in the field until a rigorous training course is completed. I have met both Metros adjusters and insurance company adjusters, and I can tell you right now, Metro has better trained adjusters over all.

    Metro also has a commission pay plan just like Long and Foster, Keller Williams, and Exit Reality where you can hire an adjustment solicitor (not an adjuster, that is only done by corporate) on your team to help file claims and you get a percentage of claims, overrides from the company for managing your office. Like I said, this is the same comp. plan the above mentioned companies have and many other commission based companies. Instead of have to leave Long and Foster and start your own brokerage where you would make a percentage off all of the reps you would hire in to sell homes for you, you can hire people within the framework of the Long and Foster company. Great Idea! Metro is the same.

    Yes its true, Metro has been very busy as have the insurance companies due to the blizzards this last winter. IT was a catastrophic loss. Adjuster from all over the U.S. had to come out to help.

    Beware of a few people above. Not all of the stories are accurate. some of them, and i won't mention them by name above didn't corporate and give receipts or use the money Metro got them to fix their home. When that isn't done, the insurance won't release the rest of the money. One person was outright was denied by their insurance company after an initial settlement and had no where else to turn. Metro did help them get more money, but this person didn't corporate with Metro or their insurance company and issue receipts of work done as requested. You won't hear them tell you that on this board though. The few stories you have seen above about how "terrible" Metro is doesn;t even compare to the stories we know of people who have been outright denied and can't get their life back without our help. Over 100, 000 claims settled, good standing with the BBB, and doing everything we can to help the people above and still try to make them happy. Unfortunately, you just can't make some people happy.

    1 Votes
  • Bb
    bbydeer4635 Jul 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    JUST AN FYI - I'm in the sales and marketing industry, and while a LOT of companies operate in the same way as METRO, I have always found them to high a very high turnover rate. Companies who operate in this way, do so mainley because their business THRIVES off of consistently hiring new people. If they didnt hire almost anyone who walks in the door, the business would FAIL because of the turnover.

    Secondly, Im very sick of seeing places claim to have an "A+" rating with the BBB...For all who DONT know, it has been made publicly known that all an "A" rating means, is that the company has enough MONEY to pay off anyone who files complaints. The BBB earns their profits from businesses, so ofcourse it is in their best interest to give them an "A". Instead, look at how many COMPLAINTS have been filed against a company and how long they've been in business. It doesnt matter if the complaints are resolved or unresolved, bottom line is, if complaints were filed PERIOD, it was for a reason. Just because they had enough money to erase (or "resolve") the issue, does not make them a great company. ALL MARKETING COMPANIES ARE IN THE BUSINESS TO PROFIT. Some are more honest than others, but bottom line, I've been in the industry for 9 years, and I can assure you that it is the the COMPANIES' best interest (not yours) to 'sell' you a service, product, or "opportunity" in order for them to earn a living.

    With this being said, there are plenty of reputable and non-reputable marketing companies. 99% of companies who promote "$100, 000+ a year salaries, "opportunity', "career not a job"...yada yada yada... are companies who hire EVERYONE and obviously, if EVERYONE was going to make that kind of money, dont you think EVERYONE would ditch college and run for a marketing position? Can you make a lot of money? Yes, IF you have a NATURAL talent, and are very good...if your, MOST people in this industry, esp commission-only, will earn less than $20, 000 a yearm which is why they quit. Some quit because they didnt give themselves a chance, some quit because they are unable to pay their bills on such low salaries, and some quit simply because they arent cut out for marketing, which entails long hours, consistent rejection and stress.

    However, if youre currently unemployed as thousands are, some meal is better than no meal. So you could always give it a chance, if it doesnt work out, no harm no foul. Hope this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    tryyourself Aug 03, 2010

    Metro is terrible!!! Look, do you self a favor. DONT HIRE THIS COMPANY!! Look for a local business that actually cares. these guys say they do, but they really dont. I worked with Bob Schmidt and Jim Cash. You might as well forget getting a phone call back from Bob, and Jim will tell you whatever he thinks will push you off. They work with you until you get a first offer from the insurance company. the they are non existent. the insurance companies DONT take forever, it the lack of follow up from Metro that holds things up. The insurance companies want to settle and get your claim out of the book.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    patracy Aug 21, 2010

    Hi everyone, I am a mom of 8 kids, lost my job and pretty much living on my exs child support. I have enrolled in the program in NJ for Metro. I have read all of the above stories and I am amazed how may of you have been hurt by Metro. I have a wondeful trainer, his name is Tom Price, he works out of the Cherry Hill office. He has worked with me side by side. I call him with any kind of question and he answers it, calls me back immediately, and always explains everything to me on a one on one basis. I REALLY hate stuffed shirt people and I sure as heck don't want them in my house feeding me lies that they can get me all this money, blah, blah, blah. But, I guess what I'm tryin to say is you have to be very, very, comfortable with your adjuster, I mean, she is there to help you get through a difficult time and I hope all my FRIENDS as you will call me all the time, not just for insurance purposes only. I am about 2 months into this position and I have been trained extensively, took my classes, and still continue. I am loveing the fact that I AM helping people, and I am VERY< VERY< sorry that some of you have had bad experiences with your adjuster. I am takeing my test to be licensed in 2 weeks. I am very excited, I have been studying very hard. My kids are like go to school MOM, the crack me up, anyways, WISH ME LUCK!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Pr
    pretty pissed Jersey Girl Feb 24, 2020

    @patracy yes well that exact Tom Price... did as stated above did NOT return calls nor answer the phone sometimes and bamboozoled me into thinking I would get everything taking care of, with Metros help...NOT TRUE... his company did not keep me informed nor updated, , , I had to reach out to find out anything, everytime, and in the end the amount of money I would up with was not even half of the amount to cover my damages, I feel as if I was screwed with my clothes on, very sad!!!
    I would not recommend them to my enemy! Yes there were a few nice people who work there that were nice, Janice and Larry! but even so never again!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MANDYUPSET Aug 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Today I attended the Quickstart training in Bensalem, PA. I was appalled by how "DR.Mike" carried himself. He was rude, shut everyone down that a question or opposing argument and seemed irritated. He was quick to jump the gun before anyone could even get a question out! He was unorganized and held our class over break time which caused confusion for the next class. I am really shocked that someone like whom people bragged about, acted in this manner!

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    AbandonAllHope Aug 31, 2010

    I just stumbled on this site in frustration after my phone call with Metro where they AGREED that I can call them back in a week if I have not heard from them by then. They've been working on the same claim for 2 years, so what's another week, right? I have a collection of letters that I wish all the Metro defenders could read. Here's one that's representative of all of them. Metro is practically being begged to take some kind of action by one of the agencies involved. It's dated August 2009, tomorrow will be Sept 2010! "Dear Mr XXXX. This will serve as a follow up to our inspection of 3/19/09 and our letter of 5/18/09 wherein we listed potential Umpires to resolve this ongoing dispute. As of this date we have not had the courtesy of a response from your office relative to the agreement and appointment of a qualified Umpire. Please contact the undersigned at your earliest convenience so that we may move toward resolving this Appraisal which is now approaching its one-year anniversary from the date of loss..." I can't fix the damage until there is a settlement. After all of this time another appraisal may need to be done. Have I received good service from my adjuster? Draw your own conclusions.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Complaining idiots! Sep 23, 2010

    You are all a bunch of idiots, boohoo, i didnt get my way! You are all experts and dont know your a** from the hole in the ground. One complaint is about mis-spelled words...what a joke! Metro is here to stay and growing daily! Put your trust in your insurance company like the fools you are!

    -1 Votes
  • Pl
    PLEASE DONT! Sep 28, 2010

    DONT WASTE YOUR TIME. Look at these complaints. We aren't lying. This company will NOT see your claim through. They sound so great when you first sign up. Once you sign - they have you. they will get the first check, take their money and then...you are HISTORY. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE dont fall for it. Go elsewhere.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    tallen409 Sep 30, 2010

    Go ahead Complaining Idiots!!! Its amazing in this world today how people just [censor] and complain all the time. These public adjusters are trying to help you and your family and all you people want to do is put them down. If you think you can do a better job then why arent you??????? And as far as my family needing help with our home I definitely WILL call Metro...

    -2 Votes
  • Im
    Im MaxPower Nov 17, 2010

    Hi there people...I have read all the complaints here, there's one here by a person who calls herself "Not Backing Down", what a piece of work...she has 3 posts here, 2 of them indicate she has been to Metro's job seminar and is looking for info about them before she actually takes the job, not a problem there...then she has a post the says she hired Metro and is having nothing but problems with them, she claims Metro is a scam company! The funny thing about her post is the one that says she hired Metro, it's the second post, she then goes on to post again defending Metro and is acting like she plans to work for them...seems to me her posts and the others are from a bunch of people with nothing to do so they go online and look for this kind of site and join in along with the other complaints. Not a very smart thing to do if you ask me...as far as Not backing down is concerned, GET A LIFE!
    Here's the funny part, I actually was at a Metro Seminar last night, my trainers name is Sandy, she seems like a very nice person. I listened to 3 different speakers about the Metro company, they also outlined the company goal...their goal is to make money, that doesn't suprise me one bit, if they didn't make money they couldn't stay in business could they! The other goal is to get as much money out of their clients insurance company for the client (the more they get their client the more they get for themselves), this is a good thing, the more they get for their client and themselves, the more money there is to repair the damage...isn't that the point in the first place?
    Ok...most of the above complaints are based on lack of communication on Metro's part, I would complain about that as well...the other complaint is about Metro not winning against the insurance company...do lawyers always win?, no they don't...most lawyers still charge even if they don't win, Metro doesn't charge in that case, they appeal the case then just move on to the next case, hopfully the appeal will work in the meantime. This is why probably why they don't call back the customer, the case is stalled or waiting for appeal, they don't have time to call the customer while the appeal is going on, I'm sure the client is just upset that it's taking so long, so you know, these claims do take a long time, that's the nature of the game, it's part of the process.
    Ok, back to me being at the seminar last night...I was very impressed with the whole thing, it makes total sense to me, get as much money as you can for both the client and for Metro, I see no problem with that at all. I'm considering the job with Metro, I would have to train about 3-4 months to become licenced, depending on the effort I put into it, I plan on doing the best I can so I can get working and make some cash!!! I'll come back here and post the results of my training as well as how the job is going, if they are a bunch of scammers I'll post up that this is what I found out...I doubt very much that this is what will happen, I really do, if they were that way their business wouldn't last very long, there are guidlines and laws in place watching companies like this making sure they are doing what they should be doing. Anyhow, wish me luck on my job with Metro...I know I'll treat people right, I will call my clients back, I will follow through...if that's the problem (which I doubt) I will make sure I'm not part of it...If I see somebody at Metro mistreating clients, I will tell my superiors, ok? Have a good day people...
    Future Metro Adjuster

    -1 Votes
  • Fr
    Frustrated-in-PA Nov 29, 2010

    We have been dealing with METRO now for over 7 months, AND WE CONTACTED THEM THROUGH A FRIEND WHO WORKS THERE!!.. and still they have not come through with what they promised, we started with no call returned then they submitted wrong information to the Insurance Company, lost the check from the Insurance, wrong information on the replacement check, and still slow-to-none call returns, not a single positive thing so far!!!

    -1 Votes
  • No
    Not backing down Dec 11, 2010

    IM MAX POWER...Make sure you get your story correct before leaving a comment. I'm the one who posted the 3 comments, Not Backing Down, I NEVER posted any comment about wanting to work for these scam artists. Nor did I ever attend a Metro Seminar. We hired them to handle a claim which turned into a NIGHTMARE!!! Yes I am a piece of work...I don't back down and I must say it has paid off...HA HA HA!!! I understand you need to work and if you have the scram artist personality you will go far with this horrible company! Good Luck to you!

    2 Votes
  • Ve
    very unhappy homeowner Dec 16, 2010

    I totally agree with all the complaints. I would never use this company again. Actually, if you ever get any correspondence from this company, rip it up. They are not reputable. I don't think they care if anyone complains about them or not. I even told them I would file a complaint with the BBB, and I still can't get any satisfaction. My claim still isn't completed and it's almost a year. I feel duped by using them. I don't care who recommends them, don't listen. As I told the Rep., I wouldn't recommend them to someone I don't like, nevertheless a friend or family member.

    1 Votes
  • You seriously think you can just deal with your insurance company yourself and they will just treat you fairly no question asked... Do you do your own taxes? Would you go to court without a lawyer? Even better, would you call the prosecuting attorney if you were filing a lawsuit? The insurance company is not on your side! Insurance companies are notorious for delaying payment of claims until people give up. Just read "Delay, Deny, Defend" by Jay M. Feinman and educate yourself about it. As for Metro, they handle thousands of claims every year and with few complaints; I think they are a fine company, thats why I got my license and work as an independent rep for them! They helped me, they've helped my clients and they can help any policy holder who is up against the odds!

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem