Magazine, Inc. - Virginia Beach, VAThey ripped me off!

J

If someone calls your cell phone or home & tells you that you have been entered in a contest worth a lot of money... know this, It's BS! Magazine, Inc out of Virginia Beach called me with the same line trying to push some magazines for $ 3.96 per month for 48 months... I wasn't thinking about the BS contest when I decided to go ahead & give em my Debit Card Info, I just like to read and the magazines I signed up for were interesting enough for the small price. However by the time this clown finished his spill, he told me he would do me a favor and only charge me $58 for 12 months. At first I thought he was joking. I told him No thank you I wasn't looking to pay that much money for any magazines. His price then went to $32 per month. I said No I don't want it . After a few minutes of trying to persuade me to accept the offer, he stated that he was getting mad and then hung up the phone. I immediately went online to my checking account and sure enough the jerk ran my card knowing that I did not want these magazines for that price. Let this be a lesson to those who try not to be rude and impolite.& shame on those who say they're charging one price & then charge another. Stay away from Magazine, Inc. in Virginia Beach, VA!

JS,
I feel ripped off!

Magazine Inc. Virginia Beach, VA

Responses

  • Pr
    Problem_Fixed Jan 24, 2007

    Same thing happened to me, I'm still having trouble with them Have you figured out how to cancel the damn thing? I sent back the paperwork to cancel but they are still trying to charge me.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laura Calise Feb 22, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The "contest" is totally bogus. Additionally, they charged me $83 and I still have yet to see any product over a month later!

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Vanna Dec 11, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OMG I wish I would have known about this BS company...I accepted the first offer of 50 something dollars for a years subscription and called to cancel the damn thing. They persuaded me to take a $25 a month package and Ive been payin this for almost 4 months and Ive only recieved 6 mags.So 2 weeks ago I go to take a look @ my bank account and these ###s have teamed up with some "Marketing Consultant Firm" that took $96.00 out of my account. This is when I decided to find out what was really going on . I talked to 2 reps from the Marketing Consultant Company they were rude as hell ! They kept saying there was a $96.00 "Annual Fee" for this bs on top of $25.00 a month for some mags that I havent even been recieveing .I explained to them that I want this crap cancelled so they supposedly cancelled it and refunded my money. I go online 2day 12/11/07 and these ### are still taking $25.00 out of my account .Once I get to the bottom of this I will never ever accept any over the phone offers.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    samira Jun 12, 2009

    those idiots called me today except i got offered 25.99 and would only have to pay for 35 months. i was also promised the watches and was also promiesd a 100 gas coupon to use at any gas station. afterwards i started to think and when i looked them up all that came up was complaints. so i am pretty sure that i am not getting anything. i went to the bank and told them what happend. they closed my debit card and then they told me to come back on the 17th and fill out a affadavit. and that should end it. if it doesnt then i am getting a attorney. i told them that i wouldnt be able to pay them this month and he said that was fine. then please tell me why on bank statement online it says they already went ahead with it. i called a number that they gave me and one of them didnt work. when i called the 1-877-406-3195 the lady said that since i just did it today that i would have to wait 48hours before i could cancel it. well if today is friday then why would i have to wait till tuesday? does she realize that that is more than 48hours. i am calling them everday till they do. and if they dont then they will regret it because this is all BS!! and i dont want any part of it.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam Huang Aug 26, 2009

    This stupid company also called me today and charged me 70 dollars of my credit card. And I called this number 1-877-406-3195 to cancel it and the lady said it needs 48 hr to process. This is such a ###. Does anyone success to cancel it and get the refund?

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Problem_Fixed Aug 27, 2009

    A quick follow-up

    I did finally manage to get everything stopped but I had to be quick about sending the cancellation note (something like 3 days from the date you recieve the paperwork). I had to notify my bank and tell them I did not authorize the charge then I sent the cancellation sheet back to the magazine people as certified mail so the post office would notified me when it was delivered. Certified mail took longer but about a week (could be longer as its been a while since my post) after the letter arrived everything was cancelled and my money was refunded. Now, though, three years later I am still recieving one of the magazines though I did not pay for it (as I recall I was offered one free one year subscription to something and that never cancelled though it has been a *little* longer than one year.)

    -Sam

    0 Votes
  • Nc
    ncku309 Sep 14, 2009

    Finally I found out this magazine company is this http://edumacation.com/InternationalMarketingAssociation
    Their number :757-490-9860
    757-497-4915
    888-446-4405 (customer service, 9 am - 5 pm M-F))
    And their another customer service number 1-866-269-2397.
    And I dial the last number and ask them to refund me.
    In the beginning, they insist I will get equal service of my money and not return my money. But remember, you must force them to return your money. And finally, their manager or someone promised to credit me back and I received it.

    Hope it is helpful to anyone who has the same situation like me.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alncole Sep 15, 2009

    We have been charged twice on a debit card for 39.95 each. We are not sure how we even signed up for the magazine. It shows up as CHECK CRD PURCHASE 09/03 MAGAZINES008*NRP VIRGINIA BCH VA with a phone number of 8777352394. Do you know if this is the same magazine as International Marketing Association? We will keep everyone posted on how our future diputes and cancellation proceed.

    2 Votes
  • Al
    alncole Sep 15, 2009

    CHECK CRD PURCHASE 09/03 MAGAZINES008*NRP VIRGINIA BCH VA turned out to be media communications. they are the charge company for publications unlimited. they took the cancellation and even refunded the charges on the account. it looks like we will have this issue undercontrol in a week when we recieve a refund check. the number for media communications is 800 324 9452. we started the cancellation by calling the number inside the magazine, for the magazine company number (our magazine was hanyman on page 4) they gave us the number for media communications. well keep you posted on the cancellation and refund being processed.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    babii.rose09 Sep 15, 2009

    omg, i had gotten a call from this same number at noon, then right now they just called me again, i feel ripped off... :( i'm really new to all this business crap. I barely turned 18 and now i feel in debt already.. it sux! I was trying to call right now to like cancel right away, but it said that i need to wait for the office hours... i hope that when i call tomorrow they'll be able to cancel this. i wish i would've not been so naive. Gosh! i don't know what to do. I have my financial aid money for college in that bank account, and they already took their first payment!! :( i hope that i cancel it soon enough so that they can refund my money back or something, i wish i could've read this before...

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sakura_noemi Nov 07, 2009

    I fell into this too, I was called right before on of my classes at the university I am attending and almost missed my class because they would not let me not order from them. I feel very stupid about it and when I told my parents about it when I got the first notice payment letter I immediately told my parents about it. My parents called my bank company and asked that they cancel my card (the card that they would be drawing money from) so they are not getting any money from me. We then called the customer service number and told them that we want out, to cancel the subscription, and remove my name, number and address from their listing. the letter also states that this is NOT a contract between the company and us . Its been a month since and they called me asking me why I haven't payed, so I am sending a letter of confirmation of cancellation stating my situation and the cancellation number we were given when we first canceled it. Hope this helps someone.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gail deHaan Feb 08, 2010

    I am really getting tired of finding charges on my account and I like you do not know how to cancel. I have had to close my account and I am still getting charges on the old account. I have called to cancel but it just won't stop. I don't have the money to have all these charges on my account.

    gd

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharon Hoppe Mar 05, 2010

    I'm also getting Magazines I never ordered!!! I'm being charge $39.95 a month also. I did'nt sign up for them and I don't want them. Cancel any Magazines coming to this address A.S.A.P.
    Sharon Hoppe

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    ghiabateman Mar 08, 2010

    I very stupidly got caught up in this as well, and even worse I agreed to a second go around, both times coming off a night shift and half asleep... I let it run its course and the payments do stop, I could sit down and figure it out but I don't want to know how bad they got me $$$... I recieved paperwork from them and even a masterlist of Magazines to choose from, of which you can change anytime by calling. I have just moved recently and the magazines are coming to an end soon so I will not be bothering to change my address with them... I get 7 different magazines from them and I have been happy besides paying too much for them, I also received a check from the Federal Trade Commission based off a lawsuit against a partner company to Mag. Inc. about fake free travel winnings (company called Florida Passport)

    L. D. Bateman

    0 Votes
  • Bm
    bm1 Apr 15, 2010

    April. 15, 2010

    Just found out this is happening to my mom, they have been charging her account for at least the last 3 months. She, as of today has called the bank to cancel the debit card number. The bank said she will be issued a new card number. Hopefully this info helps someone. Now we have to try to get her money back somehow. She never even recieved the finh mags! Infact she has been out of the country for the last 4 months!

    Please let me know if you were able to get you back money back.

    Take care and good luck to all.

    -1 Votes
  • Ki
    kirty Sep 03, 2010

    Even I had the same problem, I called in the manager and told him im not interested in their product and I did not even recieve any products they were not bothered. he said he cannot help me or cancell the account. but good I called my bank and the bank made a conference call with the magazine company, and within seconds she said she will cancell my account. but still they charged me for the next month, so I had to call them back in and confirm that they refunded the money. so the best way to fix the issues is to call your bank and set up a complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    ms.jackson Sep 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They also cheat you if you work there! They tell you that yu will make around $14 an hour with ur base pay being 9 an hour and 2 dollars for selling the make up and 2 extra for selling the i.d. protection program only totaling 13 an hour..so thats already a lie..and if you are late or miss a day you only get paid 7.25 an hour that entire pay period! And the goal of this company is to basically scam and rip. Older women off, they sell 1 thing to you and keep talking asking you to buy something else and you never know you ordered it also then they sayh state your name then BAM1 you pay 130.41 a month for makeup then 39.99 for usa benefits the 29.99 a mont for id protection program! And i feel sorry when i call people and it seems like a scam..i wud quit if i could find a better job! But as i call and read the script to people i go the extra mile to let you know EXACTLY WHAT they r tryna charge but i always get fussed at by my boss! He says its there stupidity and ALSO THEY MADE US WORK ON LABOR DAY no time and a half just regular pay! Isnt that against the law?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    [email protected] Mar 15, 2011

    WOW This company is super shady!!! I paid these guys off in 2 and half years of payments! That totally was not worth it! I get a call yesterday saying I still owe 2 and half more years of payments! I read them the letter and they tell me this was just the first letter and I would reciveve another in 2 in half years! I called this number to Cancel 1-800-854- 8792 and talked with melody its very important to remember who you talked to on the phone they will ask! After telling melody what had happened yesterday she said they signed me up for additional 2 years with 8 new mags! I was like no I asked the lady named peggy yesterday if I just signed up for more mags and she said "NOPE" that i was just finishing up my account payments of 2 and half years stilled owed! BC! Also very IMPORTANT! if they can not provide a actual account number and only give you your phone number as the account number then they are a 3rd party scaming you to sign up for more mags! Hope this information helps and if I do recieve my refund I will take this to court! BE AWARE OF MAGINZENE out of Virgina Beach! Also this web site is great thanks for all the other people who posted! It helps!

    -1 Votes
  • Jh
    Jhenina Apr 15, 2011

    I need help that stupid magazine is getting all my money to my account and im spending lots of money to pay bills.. i called them to cancle all my magazine but they going to charges me for 400$.. its just so stupid.. can anyone help me pls help me just called and leave a messege 4252100641 thanks

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SaminAZ Sep 03, 2011

    Am I the only one that's taking legal action with these people?

    1 Votes
  • No
    not-so-fast Nov 04, 2011

    I had a similar thing happen to me. I was just waking up when they called me from a local number 206-319-9392. I talked to a lady at first who said I was entered in a drawing through my card providers... and she was so strict like we won't ask for your card information because they already have it because they work with "Visa" and all she needed for me to do was verify my expiration date just to make sure they have the same card that is on file... at first I was hesitant.. but said without the card number and the security code on the bank they can't really do too much... so then she called out my address like she already knew where I lived and everything so I was like hmm well maybe they are legit.. then she transferred me over to some guy who was explaining how the company works... me being up so early and still sleepy want it to be done and over with I wasted 30 minutes just talking about stupid stuff. On how it could be a scam. etc. they gave me an address of 12300 South St Draper, Utah 84020... I looked it up Panda Express? really? lol. I should of looked it up while we were bs'n on the phone... He told me to call 1-877-406-3195 to cancel... I decided to look up the number to see if it was legit and all of these complaints popped up... I realized wow I got into a scam. So I called my bank right away and they canceled my card. I still have those charges on there. I'm thinking I'll just call them to cancel and if they don't, I might just call with my bank.. My bank lady said that they will cancel it.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    msdolly Nov 07, 2011

    Hello everyone,

    I understand how you guys feel this way and you guys maybe need a credit/debt card for a protection so they wouldn't charge so much way money, I'm lucky I got few limited to paid them and too bad they couldn't get my money now. Glad! Hopefully you guys do so like I just say at the first section. *Wow!! They're being like a unreal or unreality people, what an idiot! If their job were suppose to be a business job, so does the money is worth than job or is it the idiot money? Oh shame on them! I hopefully someday karma will come after their broken down ### machines. But who know. *Don't worry everybody, keep the head right into your shine. Either they will regret what they did to your cash flow into a rivers and just don't forgive them when they're doing such a fuss on their buyers for no reason.

    God bless you all and let people look down the river, they will cry like a rivers on the road for who are being a beggar.

    Ms dolly,

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe13 Dec 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    stop these people leagal action to close their doors no phone calls

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
    sacadwell Aug 14, 2012

    This has happened to me too! except I'm actually getting magazines... and I dont want them or need them and I've been trying to find a number to call them because I lost the one he gave me. I want to cancel this ###. I was going to buy my boyfriend a game and now I cant Dx

    1 Votes
  • Ne
    neal e Dec 10, 2012

    This place is a joke they suckered my wife into signing up for 12 months for like 32.00 a month next thing you know 12 months are up and they keep charging us so i contacted them and payed a settlement to close out are account 3 months ago sure enough they call my wife today and say they are going to start charging us again that are settlement was only a pre payment, its BS so the biggest finger i could give them was change my bank card # and if they want to persist on harassing me ill get my lawyer to harass them. The funny thing is they called me a liar when i said it was only for 12 months and they record there conversations i told they to pull up the recording and they couldn't find it I'm sure it will be the same case about the settlement conversation.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Matthew123321 Oct 27, 2013

    same thing happened to me. when check my online bank transactions, i found 4 unknown transactions. I don't even know how i subscribed to this ###. they charged total of about 80$ within a month. So i just called my bank and reported fraud transaction. I think bank is gonna refund my money and give me new card.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    cindioo Nov 03, 2013

    These people called my 76 yr old mother in law and we started to get ESPN magazine in the mail, then we got her cc bill in the mail and saw the charge. My mother in law doesn't know jack about sports!!! Monday morning I am calling and having them refund and we have already stopped payment through the cc. This company needs to be reported.

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Hippiejessie May 15, 2014

    I has to cancel my debit card so they would stop charging me. I called to cancel and since I didn't cancel within the 3 days they said I couldn't cancel. That if I paid $499 they would let me out of my contract. I said um no! I'm not paying you all that money for nothing! So I canceled my debit card then the phone calls and letters started. This was almost a year ago. Today a recovery agency called to settle it or they would send me to collections. They said I owe the some $800! That they would settle for 450! I told them to stick their magazine up
    Their... I don't know what to do. I haven't recieved magazines in forever and I'm not
    Paying all that money to get nothing
    In return.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathleen Ms. Jun 06, 2015

    I ordered a shark vacuum from QVC. With my purchase I was obligated to TRY a free magazine subscription, and was told I could cancel on the 2nd month. I told them I did not want this, but was signed up for it anyway. A charge of $19.95 showed on my bank statement, I called the number on the statement which went to Magazine Rewards out of VA beach, VA; they did cancel my "subscription"; however, did not refund the charge of $19.95, saying it was "non-refundable" for which I never agreed to sign up. This company is not licensed, not reputable, and are crooks.

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Candice Davies Jul 28, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Somebody or agency really needs to look into this company!!! i didn't receive a call nor give out any of my card information but they somehow got it and made an unauthorized charge of $29.99. In my research i found that when people purchase product off of a website like amazon, this 3rd party will steal the information. I also found out they target government issued cards, all phone numbers to the company have been disconnected but i was able to find one that worked, they have multiple complaints on scam report and an f rating on the bbb. They refused to return the funds!! i have reported this company to my state's attorney general and other government agencies to investigate the fraud!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem