SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Clubfraud and cheating!

1
K Review updated:

My husband and I bought into the Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club while vacationing in the Dominican Republic. The sales rep Kelvin and the manager promised all kinds of exchange opportunities, Captain's suite on all cruise lines, hundreds of sister resorts all over the globe. But when we try to book a villa at the home resort, we are always told they have none available, even 10 months in advance. After relooking at our contract, we noticed a clause that says they can't be sued for sales misrepresentations. In other words, they can tell you anything and none of it needs to be true. We've tried contacting the sales manager but we can't get past customer service. We are now stuck with 52 weeks of junior suites, not the villas we were promised we could always get at a cost of $699/week.

Responses

  • Ge
    Gerri Apr 09, 2008

    My husband and I also bought into this. We made sure to listen very carefully and ask lots of questions so we knew exactly what we were getting into. We thought it was too good to be true, but the sales reps were very convincing, assuring us everything was legit. From the very first time we tried it, we've had nothing but problems! We were promised VIP treatment and accomodations anywhere we went, at least 50% savings on flights, and that we could book in as little as 3 days in advance(except red times of course). Well, IF you are able to get a room at your chosen location, it is a FAR cry from 5 star VIP service!! And, I found cheaper flights than the customer service reps could. When I asked about the cheap flights we were supposed to get (first class!!!) she told me that basically all they do is search the internet for the best deals, the same thing I can do myself, and everything was economy class. So, we don't get cheaper flights than anyone else that can search the internet, we don't get 5 star VIP treatment and accomodations, and it's almost impossible to get a reservation anywhere!!! These are just a few of the promises that were made to us and turned out to not be true. This is definately not something I would reccomend investing in!!

    8 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 May 18, 2018

    @Gerri http://weyerlegal.com/en/lhvc-action-group/

    2 Votes
  • In
    Indiao Oct 02, 2019

    @TS04 This page does not exist anymore.
    I contacted weyerlegal by phone and they are not in this case anymore. They given another email for a solicitor named Camila, which does not answered to my email requests.
    Can anyone please provide me with more information in how to contact her or any law firm that has a classaction law suit agains LHVC ? Thanks

    1 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Oct 24, 2019

    @Indiao This is the new group handling the case: www.lifestyle-classaction.com

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Maltese Apr 13, 2008

    My wife and I got suckered in as well. We were told that they were going to buy our existing timeshare, and that availability was great. They even showed us all these websites we would have access to to plan our vacations. Well, they lied about taking over our existing timeshares, so we are stuck paying for two membershiips. They lied about availability (we haven't gotten one requested vacation we asked for). They don't seem to even search all their "sister resorts". Either that, or availibility in them is so limited that members would never get a chance to use them anyway. They are a fraudulent company, and swindle people out of money.

    If anyone has any clue how to get your money back, please let me know. I only bought the membership in February 2008, and already I know how much of a scam it is.

    6 Votes
  • Lo
    lovesrein Jan 05, 2018

    @James Maltese We got in too, do you have any info on how to get your money back? There is strength in numbers!!!
    Lana

    4 Votes
  • Classaction.lhvc Feb 12, 2018

    @lovesrein @James Maltese, We are a law firm specialized in protecting consumers and have been recently receiving complaints about fraud by LHVC (Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club) in the US and the Dominican Republic.
    As we have seen on the forum, that you could also be a victim, we wanted to inform you that we will be preparing a class-action lawsuit and are getting in touch with people willing to share information and participate in the lawsuit.
    We have filed criminal charges with the relevant court in Austria already (as the owner of LHVC is an Austrian citizen), and will now be starting legal action in the US and the Dominican Republic.
    Should you be interested in supporting and joining us in the pursuit, please let us know as soon as possible. We will be acting quickly, in order to make sure this business model is stopped and the money returned to the people.
    Please note, that there are no financial implications for you. We will be sharing all information about progress with you. We just need to know if you want to join this cause and would appreciate your earliest response.

    If you have any questions or concerns, please email us to [email protected]

    20 Votes
  • Ro
    ROBERT PORTEE Feb 20, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc I would be happy to join your cause. My name is Rob and my email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Se
    segui Mar 07, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc I ll be happy to help [email protected]

    -1 Votes
  • Ro
    rohit ramesh Mar 20, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc Me too. My email is [email protected] They swindled us into buying Junior suite membership for a whopping 15, 000$ with false promises and are not taking our requests to cancel it.

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathleen Morris Mar 26, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc My friend and I, too, were scammed in 2016 by Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club and would love to join the cause. My name is Kathleen and my email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jean Lapointe Apr 16, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc I got screwed tooby those money sucking SOB's and I would probably be interested in joining you in your lawsuit agains them. The problem that I foresee is that I am canadian and I wonder if I still can join you in this suit???
    I would also like to warn people about another scam quite similar with Royal vacation club in Punta Cana. They promise a lot but when you start talking topple that are members they go quite thru the same treatment as we did with Lifestyle.

    1 Votes
  • Va
    Valerie Ulmer Moody Apr 17, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc Is this still going to happen? If so we would love to be apart of this. LHVC got us too and it's not right that they keep doing this to people and getting away with it. My name is Val and my email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Apr 25, 2018

    @Kathleen Morris There is an international class action lawsuit pending against LHVC if you are interested in joining. http://weyerlegal.com/en/lhvc-action-group/

    1 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Eckardt May 18, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc My wife and I have the same problem happening. We reserved a 6 bedroom villa months ago and the day before arrival. They switched or party out to a 3+2 villas saying that another owner has right over us, even though we paid for use of the 6 bedroom villa. Contact us. [email protected] or [email protected]

    2 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Jun 05, 2018

    @Kathleen Morris You can register to join here: http://weyerlegal.com/en/lhvc-action-group/

    1 Votes
  • Ya
    Yayu Jul 09, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc My name is E rivera, I also got a membership. they took from me 60, 000 and we thought was going to be a retirement asset and end up with no money and horrible experience. I want to be in this class action please.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marcia Armstrong Aug 17, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc I got scammed also and would like to join your cause. Please email me at [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    BaiBritt Sep 04, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc What is the name of the U.S. Law firm? We just purchased in July. The couple that brought us in never had a problem. However, I am a bit concerned. Especially after reading all of this.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Markdeponte Sep 09, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc I would like to join in on the class action suit. My email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • De
    Desi1980 Sep 18, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc count me in! [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Perdigon Oct 11, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc I would like to join into this class action suit. my name is Jennifer and email is [email protected]

    -1 Votes
  • Lo
    Lori Peltier Oct 21, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc I am interested in this class action suit email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Oct 22, 2018

    @Desi1980 Just send an email to the law firm heading up the case and they'll send you the necessary paperwork:
    [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Oct 22, 2018

    @BaiBritt This is an international lawsuit brought by a German firm, with a partner in the DR. If you are interested in joining,
    just send an email to the law firm heading up the case and they'll send you the necessary paperwork:
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Oct 22, 2018

    @James Maltese Send an email to the law firm expressing your interest in joining the Class Action and they’ll send you paperwork:
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Kn
    Knut Heinemann Oct 29, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc Hi, I would like to join the case. Can you please add me.
    Email is: [email protected]
    Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Gs
    GSproul Nov 08, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc I would also be happy to be part of this. We tried to cancel our contract 3 days after signing and were told we could not. Then we were told we could be put into the resale program. We said yes but I don't think one exists as there has been no further communication. My name is George. [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    Trackea Scott Dec 28, 2018

    @Classaction.lhvc My husband and I would like to join you as well. My email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lori Peltier Feb 08, 2019

    @Lori Peltier Haven’t heard anything since I sent this reply and information about a class action suit would be greatful maybe you could call me 909-935-7792

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johanny Taveras Feb 12, 2019

    @Classaction.lhvc I would be happy to join your cause. My name is Johanny and my email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandra Dalton Feb 19, 2019

    @Classaction.lhvc I want to join the class action lawsuit. I thought I had joined thru the website but never rec'd a confirmation. Pls. contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnalay Mar 22, 2019

    @Classaction.lhvc Hello Please contact me at [email protected] as I would like to see what I can do as me and my family are going through the same thing.

    Thank you

    John

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kamal Punia Apr 17, 2019

    @Classaction.lhvc hi i would be happy to join as well. my name is kamalpreet Tamber and my email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    TrapaniNYC Apr 24, 2019

    @Classaction.lhvc This may be a late message, but is the lawsuit still active and can I add myself onto the lawsuit as a class-member? I had purchased in July 2007 and still don't see to be honored what was promised.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe flavin May 14, 2019

    @Classaction.lhvc I would like to join the fight, [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Is
    Isabelle Cohen May 27, 2019

    @Classaction.lhvc Bonjour, Nous sommes français mon mari et moi, et nous revenons tout juste de République Dominicaine, où nous avons aussi été arnaqué par LHVC (sejour du 18/05/2019 au 25/05/2019 à l'hotel Belive collection Canoa, Bayahibé, Playa Dominicus). Nous nous en sommes rendu compte dès le lendemain de notre signature pour le contrat d'adhésion. Nous avons voulu annuler ce contrat, ils ont tout fait pour faire passer les 4 jours de droit de rétractation, ils nous ont gardé des heures assis dans le hall de l'hotel, des heures dans leur bureau pour nous faire changer d'avis, où sinon ça allait nous coûter 4000 $ pour annuler ...
    Est-ce que votre recours est toujours actif? Pourrions-nous vous rejoindre alors que nous sommes français? Nous ne trouvons que quelques témoignages français sur internet. Je ne sais pas comment vous joindre autrement que par ce message, car votre email est caché. Merci à vous si vous pouviez me recontacter, mais je ne sais pas comment?
    Isabelle et Albert

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john romaner Jun 24, 2019

    @Classaction.lhvc My wife and I willing to be part of this class action suit, please contact me at [email protected] with more info please

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bellaocp Aug 19, 2019

    @Classaction.lhvc I'm in!!
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Oct 24, 2019

    @Lori Peltier You need to submit the form on this website: www.lifestyle-classaction.com

    0 Votes
  • Gu
    Guillaume henry Dec 13, 2019

    @Jean Lapointe Bonjour votre problème c'est il résolue ? J'ai subis cette arnaque j'aimerais en savoir plus

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mark May 06, 2008

    I don't know what level of membership you have, I am a platinum member with unlimited use of villas when available. I have yet to have a problem booking for a villa with some notice, I mean 3 months. Of course Christmas time is booked 1 year out but that is understandable. As far as the promises, I know you can promise me the world but unless it is in black and white and signed by all parties it is nothing but a sales pitch. As far a 5 star treatment, I can't say enough about how we were treated both times that we have returned. We have also booked for December and March for villas. As far as villas not available 10 months out, right now there are villas available starting in September going to December 15th or so and again from January 5th onward. As far as them honoring what was promised the only issue I had was that when I asked for a 5 bedroom villa I was told that they can;t guarantee me that. I advised them that it was in my contract and showed my rep and she agreed and stated that worse case scenario they would give me two villas if they could not give me a 5 br. villa. AS far as the sister resorts, I have to say RCI is useless. I tried to Arizona reservations for 1.5 yrs out and could not. Anyway the bottom line is you have to read before you sign and not listen to promises of salesmen.

    3 Votes
  • Je
    Jean Lapointe Apr 16, 2018

    @mark Well I also got a membership and you are talking about whats written black on white and I can tell you that even what is written they don't respect. They cut our access to many of the restaurants, they cut your access to a VIP beach ... As for plane reservation we found real good prices to fly to Puerto Plata but a reservation takes anything from 1 month up to get an answer so when you finally get your reservation booked the plane deal is gone. They always told us not book our flight before they have confirm our reservation but they never confirm in time.
    We are 6 friends that have a membership and we all have the same treatment ([censor] treatment) It is marked on our contrat that we can invite as much as 8 persons and they would get the same VIP treatment as we get but not even a year after we got our membership, we brought some friend along but they had to pay extra for VIP treatment or they would have to be as normal travelers. The daily price for the all inclusive wich is stated (in black on white) on our contract went up to almost double in just one year but in your famous black on white contract it is said that my rate was frozen and would never go up... I could go on and on like that but I will make it short, all that is on the contract they don't give a damn and when I tried to see the manager he would not accept to meet me so I waited and caught him as he was walking out (the back door of the tower) and I asked him why he would not meet with me so he could explain why all those changes and instead of accepting to talk to me I was told that if I did not leave him alone I would be kicked out of the site. Me and all 6 members that are my friends. It is a big bunch of SH...T

    1 Votes
  • Sz
    sz2562 Jun 23, 2018

    @Jean Lapointe Our daughter just arrived today for a bachelorette party that's been planned for 4 months. Had a villa reserved. They are now being told that no villas are available and being thrown into Cofresi Palm. This is the THIRD time they have done this to us when we've had villa reservations. DO NOT FALL FOR THIS SCAM! RUN!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Margo21 Mar 13, 2019

    @sz2562 The same just happened to us, and we are VIP, villa members and booked 7 months in advance, booked P.S suite and got a call the night before we left to tell us we were bumped to Cofresi, still looking into all of this! Not pleased!

    0 Votes
  • Pm
    PM Kurten Oct 02, 2019

    @Wayne C. Robinson Right there are people who did invest Thousands of Dollars and did not get what has been promised, so the damage is already done. I can imagen that the Owners of this Companies have abig smile if someone who did pay Thousands of Dollars that he will cancel the Contract with this timeshare or Travel Club, they will say great ! an other Idiot who llose his money and we can easy hold this money . You only do them a Favor!

    1 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Oct 24, 2019

    @Wayne C. Robinson Wayne - great book! But my credit was, in fact, damaged by timeshare crooks. They said they were running a credit check, but actually opened 2 cards in my name and charged thousands of dollars. When I refused to pay, my credit dropped by over 150 points and the collection firm calls regularly. It's the underbelly of society, for sure!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Riviera Lady May 13, 2008

    Strike up another one!!!
    I have a couple of timeshares with both RCI and Interval. Bookings I'm able to get are in something slighly better than a junk yard at best. I'm starting to get the impression that any timeshare is sold to 10 owners at a time for every week of the year. How is it possible that nothing is available EVER in any part of the geography on this earth??!!
    The disclosures on the documents are there, but they are so broad th ey don't hold water in court.
    Timeshares through RCI or Interval are really a total rip off and would never recommend one to a friend, or an enemy for that matter. Save your money, take a vacation in a place that can meet your expectations.

    1 Votes
  • Ry
    Ryan Jul 14, 2008

    I also am finding out the extent of the lies and misconceptions told to us when we bought our weeks as well with Lifestyle Holiday Resorts. It looks like they promise the same things to everyone. Me and my wife actually did this 2 years ago on our honeymoon, it was a our first big purchase together, and boy am I regretting it. Customer service is terrible to deal with and do not answer any questions directly. I have been sticking to our contract as a source of information trying to use that to work with them. In the mean time by reading over it again and again realized that some things are just not going to happen. It is a problem too because they are located in the Dominican so to call them will cost you just to wait on hold for 5 minutes or more. We are at the end of our payment plan as of June, that should have been our last payment. Recently looking at our card activity, I see that I was charged recently this month, so now they are taking money from me. If I do not make any progress I am going to be forced to cancel my card so they cannot take anymore money out, but I worry about making to rash of decision and it effecting the results. We have yet to use their services, and looks like never will, because of varying reasons, but we were hoping to plan a trip for next year, that was when we started to realize what we truly had gotten into. At this point I would just like to return everything, since we havent used any of our weeks and just get our money back. I have a feeling that if I get any money back it will not be anywhere close to what we paid. If any one has any suggestions on how to get from under this company I know I would appreciate it and I'm sure others would as well. The best thing we can do is warn others and try and get the word out to help others not make the same mistake. Hopefully it will eventually catch up to the company and force them to make changes.

    2 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Oct 22, 2018

    @Ryan JOIN THE CLASS ACTION HERE: http://weyerlegal.com/en/lhvc-action-group/

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    SandraTK Jul 30, 2019

    @TS04 is this still active? i can not join, there is nothing found, when searching the above link, please email me info at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Oct 24, 2019

    @SandraTK Here is the info: www.lifestyle-classaction.com

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vicki Spencer Nov 21, 2019

    @TS04 Is this monitored at all and if so, what is a response form and time if you signed up?

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    farawola Jul 25, 2008

    I have had the same problem, and we should do something about it if we can't get our money back, at least do something to stop thier fraud, that way we may have a chance to presure them into paying us back
    call Mary lou
    at 202-371-6700
    Ethics Administrator
    at ARDA
    and report your case

    9 Votes
  • Ma
    Maya Aug 01, 2008

    My husband and I purchased 3o weeks deal 2 years ago. We haven't had a need to use it until now and when contacting customer service found out that the compay we signed up for was recently purchased by Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club.
    I found it very interesting as we have not received any notice and there is certainly nothing in our contract about that. Now the Lifestyle holidays are trying to talk us into signing their contract. I am glad I came across these posts so I know not to.
    A few months ago I was watching 20/20 and there was an episode about a group of people suing a company similar to Lifstyle but located in Mexico...and the company did give them their money back.

    2 Votes
  • Ba
    Barry Sep 17, 2008

    I agree that Lifestyles Holidays are full of misleading and not so honest tactics. Does any one now who and how to sue this compnay to get my money back??? I live in Canada PLease email info on doing this,
    Thanks!

    3 Votes
  • Jd
    j daley Sep 30, 2008

    I agree and we have the same complaint. We were told we were not able to cancel the contract because they are in a foreign country. The company is now trying to bill for "services rendered" which were essentially free at the time - their way of selling us this vacation package. Does anyone know other avenues to get our money back?

    2 Votes
  • Ro
    ROBIN L STOGSDILL Oct 03, 2008

    I too am a victim. I traded in my time share that I purchased from Radisson Palm Beach Florida and mailed them the deed, when I got back to the United States. Now Raddison Palm Beach Shores has turned me into collections for not paying the taxes and maintenance fees. I faxed them the paperwork showing I traded it in, but they said the deed is still in my name. My mother passed away in April of 2007, then my daughter had her first born early and he had to have surgery at 5 days old. Then December of 2007 my oldest daughter passed away, so I have not really tried to resolve this, because I have had trouble putting one foot in front of the other. But I know I paid a lot of money for this and never received the two big catalogs I was shown that I could choose my vacation destination out of. Now I am told there are no catalogs!!! I can't believe nothing can be done about fraud!! If anybody has any ideas, please email me. Thanks Robin Stogsdill

    2 Votes
  • Ho
    hotchick Jan 29, 2009

    My Husband and I were approach by lifestyle Hoilday Vacation in the Dominican Rub, the sales rep´s were very nice at first and became extreme pushy and wanted us to sign a contract right away he told us we would have to make a decision now and pay half up front today. ( and the same to good to be true things mention above) We told him we could not decide now and would have to think about it. This is a big scam and I feel terrible for people who were taken advantage of.

    Say No Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Kk
    kkourie Feb 01, 2009

    We are planning to return to the resort to use 5 of our 60 weeks. We tried to book a villa but were told we can't, even though in our contract it says we can at $699. Anyway, we were "allotted" 2 x 1 bedroom apts. and 3 jr. suites for our group. I've requested a ground floor accomodation for my 90 year old mother in law and was told they'd "request" it. They don't give out rooms until you arrive. I am hoping for the best but am very concerned about her getting around this huge resort complex. We were also told when we signed the contract we'd get a golf cart to use. Of course, now that we are returning and requested at least one for our 10 person group, they said they are only for villas, which they wouldn't rent to me. I hope the food has improved. Not sure what passes as beef at this resort...

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    Jorge Feb 04, 2009

    I do not know why many people are complaining. I purchased at Lifestyle 3 years ago. I purchased a Platinum package, and I am very much satisfied.

    -1 Votes
  • Ps
    PSmith Feb 06, 2009

    Folks ... VIP Lifestyle is a scam job. They are not honest with you right from the beginning. We sat through their presentation, and they quickly requested a 56% up front payment and the remaining to be charged monthly on our credit cards. In addition, if we didn't sign immediately, we were told that the prices would increase the following weeks. What legitimate business runs a scheme like this? They also refused to give us a contract copy to review for at least 3 days before committing to sign. Again, what were they afraid of? They showed a beautiful 2-bedroom apt in Cabarete, Dom. Rep. and claimed they owned the whole complex (from studios to penthouse) and promising to rent any of the rooms for as long as you wanted. The truth is they only owned one apartment in the whole complex and used it as bait to tempt unaware people to push their vacation packages. This is almost like a ponzi scheme. Some legitimate original owners in this complex are worried about VIP Lifestyles offices existing in their premises which might negatively affect their condo value. Look before you leap into this deal!

    2 Votes
  • Da
    David Feb 11, 2009

    Hi All,

    We are 6 people involved in the same fraud! We are from Spain and while spending holidays in the Dominican Republic got hooked by these Lifestyle representatives, promising first class vacation services, etc. After having signed w have tried several times to use our services, butalways the same answer: Nothing available! and with months in advance...We've tried to get in touch with them, asking for refund since the contract was not respected, etc, ...impossible. Finally I have found you facing the same problem. I refuse to accept this. This are basic consumer's rights being totally ripped-off. Please we are requiring some advice or hints from Spain. If you can tell us what to do, ...did someone get his money back? We feel upset with this issue and we are sure that there must be something to do!!!

    Thanks in advance

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    viola Feb 15, 2009

    oh my gosh the same happened to me when on Holiday in Dominican Republic it all seemed to good to be true as they show you round the resorts which i must say are amazing but lucky for me my card was declined!!! I hope you all get something sorted i have to find other ways of making money maybe just buy a villa in the republic and rent it out

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Christine Feb 19, 2009

    We too have been scammed and I have been fighting it for almost a year now. We bought villa and the platinum package. We were told we had unlimited weeks and could come anytime, with the exception that Christmas was difficult to book. We were also told that our two timeshares were being bought by them. After several emails and heated conversations with customer service, I was told well we gave you a "credit" for your other timeshares. I know owe two years of back maintenance on the other timeshares. On top of all of this we put $11, 000 down and are paying $110/month mortgage payment. One important thing to note...when they were telling me no villas were available, I thought I would check with RCI. RCI had 4 villas available. I called back to customer service and was told if I booked it through RCI I would have to pay the $5, 000 plus all inclusive fee and not the $210/week fee. Again, very heated conversations and emails. 14 months later after the initial purchase I received a 40 page contract versus the one pager that was given to me at the time of the purchase. I have just spoken with an attorney who advised me that since the payments were coming out of FL...the estate of Jesus Garcia in Miami, to call the attorney generals office for florida. If anybody has had luck with getting their money back...please let me know!!

    1 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Jun 05, 2018

    @Christine Christine - if you are still seeking a refund on your payment to Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club, there is a class-action lawsuit in progress. You can go here to get more info and join. Once they reach a $1million class (they are close) they can then proceed with the case. This is being led by a German firm who is partnering with an American firm to represent U.S. customers. http://weyerlegal.com/en/lhvc-action-group/

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandra Dalton Feb 19, 2019

    @TS04 Hi Christine: Have you ever heard back from this law firm??

    -1 Votes
  • Pm
    PM Kurten Oct 02, 2019

    @Wayne C. Robinson Right you can cancel it but do not think that you will get any Money back and exactly this is the Trick because also you are not able to go against this Timeshare or Travel Club because they are not Companies from the US so there is nothing you can use and they see you just go with a big smile...

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Louise Mar 01, 2009

    we too have bought into lifestyle in the Dom rep and haven't had to many problems. I think the big problem comes when you buy at the lower levels which we did at first and try to book a villa as they tell you, you can and pay the extra service charge. This wouldn't ever happen I don't think but we managed to get a 2 bed appt which should have been two but they messed up and we ended up with 2 hotel rooms as well. they did however refund our service charges and gave us free entry to Ocean world. we upgraded to a small villa package last year and we booked and stayed in one Feb just gone. they did however try to get us to take hotel rooms before we left the UK as they had obviously over booked but I said NO! I think there are issues with the place and I would always book at least a year in advance, but we have even exchanged a week for a week in Spain in one of their sister resorts which I know is good!

    4 Votes
  • Ca
    carrie Mar 06, 2009

    I have been going to lifestyle for 5 years now and never have I had any problems. I absolutely love this place and all that work there. Everyone is so gracious and accomadating. It definitely pays to have things in black and white. I would definitely recommend lifestyles it is fabulous!

    -1 Votes
  • No
    Nora Mar 06, 2009

    I cannot understand how anyone could recommend VIP as fabulous nor accommdating based on people's own wretched experience with this company. We were almost convinced until we scrutinized the contract (even though it was 'black and white') as the previous writer noted. Not everything that you need to know is on that contract. I also understand that it's very difficult to get reimbursed or even prosecute due to a questionable political connection to the Dom Rep government. You won't receive what you want booked for the time you desire despite paying way over 50% right from the start. Friends of ours to this day sadly regret their novice decision when they signed VIP's contract. Stay away, stay far away from this so-called dream vacation program.

    2 Votes
  • Fr
    frankdog Mar 14, 2009

    BEWARE++++

    [email protected] or [email protected]

    VacationsFRBO.com Rental Inquiry for Property ID 31654‏
    advertises renting a timeshare at Sosua bay resort or Hotel victorian in Sosua for
    $330 week for a junior suite. LIes his ### off and books at HAcienda tropical in Cofresi.

    0 Votes
  • Zo
    Zoila Mar 27, 2009

    I have been a member of Lifestyle Holidays for 5 years and each year it gets better and better. I go down there at least twice a year. I have never had reason to complain and would even like to mention that each year they give me an additional benefit to enjoy with my membership. When I first because a member they didn’t have the VIP beach, VIP World nor the Gourmet nor the heli or the Limo, but as they have been adding them on I get to enjoy them. They have big plans for the future and I know that I will get to enjoy these too. Dont try and ruin this for us, the complaints are from people that want more than what they deserve. They buy a small package for a few weeks but they expect to be able to have all the top benefits, what’s up with that????? I paid for a Villa package because I want to be able to have the Villas I didn’t buy a Junior Suite package and expect to take a Villa away from a member that bought Villas. It doesn’t make any sense to me. You guys are not victims you just want something for nothing, this isn’t how the world is, this is just how we got ourselves into a worldwide financial mess. Stop your whining. I read all this stuff and would really like the world to know that there are many many of us that are so happy with this membership and have been for years now. Since people only write to complain I just wish that the REAL members would see this and write the truth, but I guess they are busy ENJOYING life.

    0 Votes
  • Hf
    hfrigsrx Mar 27, 2009

    I just returned from my 5th trip to Lifestyles Holidays Vacation Club. I go at least once a year and wish I could go 5 times a year. The place just keeps getting better and better. I have brought friends and family there on each of my trips to LHVC. Some of those people have been there 2, 3, and 4 times with me. This year I had 38 people with me and we were all in villas. The program does work. The Dominican people and the people who work at LHVC are so accomadating, friendly, and will do just about anything to make your stay the best ever. They have become like family. Mercedes, one on my maids in the villa, Dorca, Fatima, Maria and Ceasar at villa reception, Glenys, Jaihara, Ray, Alphonso, Zeke, the waiters, waitresseses and bartenders on the beach. Pedro, Orlando, Francisco, some of the maitre d's at the restaurants. Theresa, Indiana, Melanie, and Jeffrey some of the Vip customer service reps. Also, Yeimi, Nabila, Jackie and Anya in the office, have all welcomed me back each and every year. In fact to a person they say "welcome home" each and every year.
    I understand about sales tactics as I have been doing timeshare since 1980 and this program works. You must buy a villa package though if you want a villa. Sure if a villa is available for a suite package owner you will get it but the place is so fabulous suite package owners need to go in off season . I would hope they would not take a villa away from me or another villa owner. You get what you pay for and the customer service will try their best to accomadate your needs. Soon, I will be making plans to return in November and then again next Feburary and all you complainers will probablly still be out there. The Happy, satisfied members of LHVC will continue to enjoy all the people, improvements, food and drink and sun and fun that the LHVC has to offer. Thanks

    2 Votes
  • Je
    JETSETTER Apr 09, 2009

    On March 23th 2009 while on vacation in the Dominican Republic at the Lifestyles Holidays resort (as a rental guest of a member, we paid the member for the week’s stay) we attended a sales presentation for membership in the vacation club of the resort. After much alcohol (they kept the glasses full of alcohol and served champagne at several tour stops) and high pressure sales, we signed a contract and two credit cards through Bank of America were charged with high amounts.

    We immediately the next morning expressed regret, but again experienced high pressure sales.

    Immediately upon our return home I contacted our assigned customer service representative, Vance Paul, via email and requested a full cancellation. He attempted to give us alternative financing options, but we declined fully and requested a full refund and cancellation, confirmed with email. I also contacted Bank of America on this day and spoke with Reggie in billing disputes who stated I should send immediately a certified letter via postal mail requesting a refund, which I did.

    I then exchanged several emails with a Mr Rountos, who again tried to offer us financing options, but I have always responded with a firm request for cancellation.

    The email arrived today from Mr Rountos completely denying our request to cancellation any portion of this membership and it’s fees.

    There is not any reference to cancellation terms in the contract.

    I have requested contact information beyond Mr Rountos and have not been able to receive anyone additional to contact.

    The stay at the resort was just average. My daughter was covered in bug bites, we could not ever find seating on the so called VIP beach due to overcrowding, could not make restaurant reservations due to over crowding, and the villa? Can you say COCKROACH?

    STAY AWAY FROM THIS RESORT AND THEIR ###

    3 Votes
  • Ge
    George Apr 15, 2009

    I actually cannot believe that a few comments on this website promote this unethical company. Me and my wife have been thru their pounding presentation earlier this year and immediately sensed VIP's persistent and cloudy information. This was confirmed to us when we asked to see a 2-BD apartment in Cabarete and were always told that none were available. Of course none were available ... we later learned that those 2-BD apartments were not part of VIP's available rooms - a lie from the start. The complaints on this website are legitimate and should be taken seriously. Those few who have experienced ecstasy then lucky you. There are far too many honest people that I spoke with who backed up my assumption that this business venture is just plain fraud. Seriously take heed because you won't be able to cancel anything, and that's why we hesitated in signing anything. Nothing is up-front with this gang. This is not whining as someone mentioned, but a a very real misrepresentation to what was verbally and contractually provided.

    3 Votes
  • Mo
    Moe Apr 24, 2009

    My wife and I were casually walking around Ocean World in Puerto Plata when all of a sudden a guy in company uniform signaled us to come this way and talk to him. That's when he lured us away from Ocean World premises and drove us in a golf cart pretending that he's giving us a tour and kept insisting that it's part of Ocean World package.

    Please, please watch out for people walking around in Lifestyle Holidays uniform and stay away from them!

    Over at the Life Style resort the sales person begged us to give him money, he said "any thing, just give me anything..."

    I swear to God I will never visit Ocean World again!!

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    JoshuaNY May 08, 2009

    I was with a friend down by Sosua Beach when were approached by a guy in a uniform that wanted to show us Sosua by the Bay Hotel. We thought ok it might be a nicer Hotel so we went with him. We got to the Hotel and they gave us free beers, and then came the sales guy.

    This guy was something else, showing us the rooms treating us like buddies. I am born and raised in New York, so i figured something is wrong, no one is this nice. He goes on to the whole presentation about the no monthly fee timeshare and how i can book with just 3 days advance notice and in red zones it would be 3 months. Calls his boss and tells us great news one of his Gold clients is getting a divorce and they need to sell out, so he can give me their contract for a low price of 20k.

    I felt rushed so I decided to mess around with this guy a little bit, I ask him if i do sign up and become a member, can i bring girls i meet at bars into the suites? His answer sure. I then asked him what if i wanted to bring three hookers in his villas? His answer; Sure no problem. I told him that i was into throwing all out orgy parties where i invite couples and local girls and mostly hookers and we party all nigh with cocaine and marijuana.

    The look on this face was priceless, he said "Yea sure as long as no one complains about the noise."

    At that moment i knew it was a scam, I thanked him and walked out.

    3 Votes
  • Ly
    Lydia Nunez Jun 09, 2009

    Hi Everyone, I just recently became a victim, they promised to buy my timeshare and haven't done so. Its only been one month but I do not trust them and I am speakign to a few lawyers as we speak. I am from the dominican republic and will not stop until I get my money back or until they purchase my timeshare. I do love the hotel and what they offer but if they do not purchase my timeshare soon I will find a lawyer. I am from there so I will find someone. I only bought it if they were going to buy my timeshare and it does say so on my agreement. The law if very tricky over there but I will not rest until I get either 1) my money back or 2) they officially purchase my timeshare.

    does anyone have any updates on this? I will keep you updated on my issue.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DAVID WOMACK Jun 16, 2009

    HELLO,
    I AM A VIP LIFESTYLE PLATINUM VILLA OWNER - SUPERB!! HELICOPTERS FROM AND TO THE AIRPORT, GOLF CARTS, 5* PLUS ACCOMMODATIONS, JUST GETS BETTER EACH TRIP I MAKE. ALL THESE COMPLAINTS SEEM TOTALLY UNTRUE TO ME, IF YOU WANTED TO STAY IN A VILLA EACH TIME YOU GO, THEN YOU SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT A VILLA PACKAGE AND NOT THE CHEAPEST 'JUNIOR SUITE' PACKAGE AND EXPECT TO TAKE PRECEDENCE OVER VILLA OWNERS. IF YOU BOUGHT JUNIOR SUITE, EXPECT JUNIOR SUITE. THIS RESORT IS SO POPULAR THAT YOU WILL GET WHAT YOU PAID FOR. THEY ARE NOW BUILDING MORE VILLAS WHICH IS JUST FANTASTIC AS THE RESORT IS GROWING.
    I HAVE NEVER HAD TO COMPLAIN ABOUT ANYTHING, RESTAURANTS ALWAYS BOOKED EACH DAY, THE FOOD PERFECT, THE VILLA CLEAN AND WELL LOOKED AFTER.
    I RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE - I WILL BE THERE AGAIN IN OCTOBER, THAT IS THE 6TH TIME THIS YEAR - THEY MUST BE DOING SOMETHING RIGHT
    DAVID WOMACK

    3 Votes
  • Ya
    Yayu Jul 09, 2018

    @DAVID WOMACK I BOUGHT THE VILLA PACKAGE, BUT AFTER CONFIRMED 6 MONTHS BEFORE. THEY CANCELLED AT OUR ARRIVAL. I LOVE THE PLACE, BUT LATELY THEY GIVE THE WORSE PLACES EVEN I REQUESTED FOR OUR HANDICAPED GRANDCHILD AN ACCESSIBLE AREA. THANKS TO EMPLOYEES I GOT RE LOCATED TO A VERY NICE UNIT. I DO NOT HAVE PROBLEMS WITH BOOKING RESTAURANTS SINCE A DO EVERYTHING THRU EMAIL AND CONFIRMATIONS, BUT MY HEART GOES FOR THE PEOPLE THAR HAVING A PLATINUM STILL HAVE LOTS OF PROBLEMS. ANYWAY I NOTICE THEIR AMBIVALANCE. I PLACE MY RETIREMENT MONEY WHILE OTHER PLACE 3 TIME LESS AND GOT BETTER.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    tazmona Jun 20, 2009

    my husband and i also bought into this scam whilst on holiday in dr.we were given an excessive amount of alcohol at the time, we did sign up although we could hardly see what we were signing due to intoxication.we asked to be moved to the resort for the remaining week of our holiday which they did, put us in a villa down by the beach, we thought fanastic until that night, oh my god!!!i was eaten alive by mossys the whole villa was full of them and the next morning we were left our breakfast, along with the resorts whole population of cockcroaches.i packed my suitcases went straight to vip reception and told them if i wasnt moved i was going home, they said they had no other villas free(we bought the villa package 52 weeks top package), so i sat there nearly all day refusing to move and definitly not going back to horror villa, eventually they found us a lovely villa just up the hill (with a golf cart).that was 3 years ago we have tried to book again several times for dr and sister resorts with no luck.i have consulted a solicitor for a refund and was told there is nothing we can do due to different laws.he did say that if we didnt keep up payments then they might take us to court, that way we might have a leg to stand on.we have not made a payment for 2 years now and only had 1 e-mail saying we are behind with our payments.we are not paying another penny to them they are a rip off company.we did put half down and paying rest over 10 years, i know we probably wont get our money back but they certainly arent getting any more of our hard earnt cash!!! julie england.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jozep17 Jul 29, 2009

    Has anyone used this lifestyle holidays vacation for all inclusive options with aruba?

    I am trying to set it up and for the price they are offerring is way too much. $150/day per person for all inclusive!!!

    I can find this same option for the same price and possibly less!! Please provide any other issues that have happened. I am really thinking about getting my money back for my wife and myself.

    Communication is freaking horrible!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    New York Mary Oct 04, 2009

    To those who boast of excellent treatment as a V.I.P. member with the villa membership, let me set you straight. I AM an owner of the "PLATINUM" membership and it was the WORST thing my husband and I could have done. We are supposed to have access to villas at any time (I understand holidays are tough). Guess what? I requested a villa for the month of June 2010 and was told they are all booked! I made this request in September 2009, 9 months prior. I have listed my villa on VRBO because they assured us that we would have availability whenever we requested (which was one of the reasons we purchased the membership). 9 out of 10 requests have to be turned away because there is no availability, even when I make the request more than 6 months in advance. Of course they also told us that they would purchase our existing timeshare and did not so we are still paying the maintenance on that. If there is anyone out there that has made any progress in resolving this criminal behavior on the part of this resort from hell? I have made several requests to the customer service department to have someone in authority to contact me and I am still waiting...
    MARY

    1 Votes
  • Je
    JETSETTER Oct 04, 2009

    Mary,

    Good luck. When I purchased the membership in March, the EARLIEST I could return to the resort was June of 2010, over a year away. I have disputed the credit card charges with Bank of America and have attempted to get resolution with Lifestyles--they have NO INTEREST in resolving these issues.

    There exists many, many people who have been swindled by this group. Once you sign the contract they DO NOT return your money. And go figure--this is a group that has a home base in the DR, the contracts are under the British Virgin Island jurisdiction, escrow in Florida and offices in the Carribean that signs legal action. Even if we could get a lawyer how to we take action. They have it totally figured out.

    I am trying to find a PR agency to take this on and spread the word.

    1 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Oct 24, 2019

    @JETSETTER There is a class action lawsuit that has made very good progress. If you want to join, go here: www.lifestyle-classaction.com

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Jujufishy Oct 04, 2009

    Thank you to all of you who wrote something about this timeshare, fraudulent timeshare. We almost got got into this. Thank God for da iPhone that as da salesman were hypnotizing my wife and I with his speech, full of promises, we were able to research da company and came across this website with all ur complaints, read it to the salesrep, and walked out. I wanted to share this with you to let you know that your complaints have been heard and thanks for looking out. Stay away from direct buy as well!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JETSETTER Oct 05, 2009

    JUJUFISHY,

    Good for you. Wish we had done the same, but now we are in a sinking boat with this company.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lidyhere Oct 05, 2009

    I am a member and yes they misrepresented regarding the timeshare and on the contract it says you cannot sue for misrepresentation. I kept contacting them daily to see when they will purchase it from me. I told them I will not get the membership unless they buy my timeshare off my hands. I told them I was still making payments on them. It turns out that they do not buy your timeshare from you if you have a balance on your timeshare account. They left my price the same for the lifestyle membership of what i purchased with the deduction of my timeshare. They told me since I have a balance I have to sell the timeshare on my own. Before I got this membership I went to a company to sell my timeshare and they charged me 700 to list it on their site. I took it off their site b/c of lifestyle. The company now is charging me another $450 and I told lifestyle since they told me they were taking it off my site then they have to give me $450 or deduct that from any payments I owe them. They told me that the $450 will be a credit so when I travel they will deduct it from there. They were willing to work with me regarding that. Now that I look at it, for me it makes more sense to sell my timeshare on my own I will get more money then just to transfer it to lifestyle. I am traveling there in June with my membership, I did want the villa however the villa is booked and I called recently but they do have two bedroom apartments.

    I will post again after June to let you know how my trip went. This is the first time I go as a member and sleep over. They also have a new contact person which is very quick to answer all my questions. I think the biggest complaint in this company is because of timeshare owners they are not clear at all.

    The fact that the contract says can't sue for sales misrepresentation makes it hard to sue however make them work with you and sell your timeshare through a company and tell lifestyle to deduct what you paid that company so they can credit your account. The credit however can only be used when you book but at least you don't feel like you lost your money.

    I really enjoyed the day i spent there when I went it was amazing hotel, and the food was excellent and so was the entertainment. As far as the timeshare well they worked with me and gave me a credit so at least they worked with me.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JETSETTER Oct 05, 2009

    While I am happy that YOU feel like LHVC is working with you, they have STOPPED all communication with me. I am a black hole to them. Now they have $45, 000 for NOTHING.

    I also DO NOT want to stay in a 2 bedroom apartment, when I signed a membership for a 6 bedroom villa with UNLIMITED access.

    The reason the clause you mentioned is in their contract is because they have SO MANY unhappy and unsettled customers.

    They are thieves and crooks.

    0 Votes
  • Ts
    TS04 Oct 24, 2019

    @JETSETTER You can join the class action lawsuit against LHVC here: www.lifestyle-classaction.com

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lindamj Jan 17, 2010

    My mother had seen Lifestyile advertisement on TV and said that might be what I was looking for. So I called a she told us about the procedure and how it would be so easy and possibly go to work the next day. Need I say more, I did not go to work the next day. I went about a week later. I was in pain but I had expected some. I cleaned all the wounds the way I should, took the antibiotics, etc. I noticed that I was not getting better. I kept getting a scabby area in an area on my neck where there was no cutting and it kept getting bigger. I had lipo suction done on my neck area. The infection came through the skin it looked like it. My ears did not want to heal, which I have pictures. I called and went in. They treated me like I was deceased, did not want me to get near people. They prescribed me clindamycin strong antibiotic. I asked why I was getting this infection and no one would give me a direct answer. I asked if it could have happened during the surgery but they said nothing like I never asked the question. I was rushed out of the office as fast as they could get me out. I was also told the person had over booked the day I had the surgery and that they were totally swamped that day. I was suppose to have my appointment a week later but they called me early so I am went in a week early. If I had of waited, I believe that I would not have gotten the infection due to them rushing through the procedure. They did me wrong and I would never recommend anyone to them. My mom thought about it and told her not to even think about it. I had recommended a friend at work to go and took it back, told she does not want to do that. I have been contacted for my mother once, told them she will not step foot into that place. Money is all they are interested in and do not care about the person, if you want to feel like a piece of meat and spend your money then go. It has been a year since I had this procedure and I am still upset about what happened, but they won’t let me see the doctor which I had asked to see the first time I went and called a couple weeks later and said that he could was too busy at this time but someone else could help me. WELL, I did not call back.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy Lori Apr 12, 2010

    My husband and I just returned from the Dominican where we stayed at Lifestyle. We were FORCED to go thru the sales pitch or not receive our VIP tickets for the party. After finding out that they wanted $75, 000 and $999 rental of the "Villas" we certainly were not in that market. After we declined we were treated SO poorly and hounded daily to go back and talk to the sales rep. Me accidentally bumped into driends that "own" and they have to book a year in advance for just a suite and can't ever get into any of the other promised sister resorts. The food was horrible at best and the hospitality was non exhistent.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DAVID WOMACK Apr 12, 2010

    IVE JUST RETURNED - AGAIN FROM LHVC! THIS IS THE 2ND THIS YEAR, ON TOP OF THE 6 TIMES LAST YEAR, I WILL ALSO BE THERE IN JUNE 2010, AUG 2010, AND DECEMBER 2011, THE REASON BEING, I USE MY MEMBERSHIP, I BOOK LOTS OF HOLIDAYS AND FRIENDS, I DONT ASK FOR ANYTHING MORE THAN I PAID FOR, WHICH WAS A 5 BED VILLA PACKAGE PLATINUM. I SM FLOWN IN, PAMPERED, HAVE AREAS WHICH ARE JUST FRO MEMBERS TO VISIT IE: THE NEW BEACH! I HAVE SAID IT BEFORE, AND I WILL AGAIN... YOUR COMPLAINTS ARE DUE TO YOUR OWN MISGIVINGS ABOUT THIS RESORT, AND THE FACT THAT FOR MOST AMERICANS COMPLAINING IS PART OF THE HOLIDAY. GET OVER YOURSELVES, AND ENJOY IT INSTEAD OF BEING WINGING AMERICANS ON TOUR!

    I NOT ONLY BOUGHT, I HAVE ALSO SOLD IT TO 14 OTHER FAMILIES... WE ALL MEET THERE ONCE A YEAR AT THE SAME TIME, AND ITS FABULOUS, MY ONLY COMPLAINT, THE HELICOPTER SHOULD BE A BIGGER ONE, TO HOLD ALL THE VIP PLATINUM GUESTS THAT JUST ADORE BEING FLOWN IN BY HELICOPTER, TO A RESOT THAT JUST GET BETTER EACH YEAR... BIGGER BIGGER BIGGER - BETTER BETTER BETTER!!

    I CANT WAIT FOR THE 18TH APRIL 2010... AS IM OFF AGAIN FOR A WEDDING, JUST A CHEEKY LITTLE WEEK, BOOKED 4 DAYS AGO... NO HASSLE, I THINK YOUR PROBLEMS ARE ALL SELF INFLICTED.

    ENJOY THE MOANING... STOP RUNING IT FOR 99% OF THE MEMBER THAT ENJOY THIS FANTASTIC RESORT.

    DAVID - UNITED KINGDOM!!!

    -6 Votes

Post your comment