The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Industry Model And Talent StudioFraud and scam

Its just a photo studio!!!

They are the people who talk you into getting their business from scape -goats like us. They don't tell the truth and play with our children emotions. They made us sign the contract without pointing out the cancellation policy, walking us thru the contract so fast that we don't doubt them a bit. Finally they trap you and make you feel helpless. Total mental torture. I want to sue them. I have put a stop payment on my transaction and plan to get a lawyer to get their ***.

Please people out there do not even think of stepping into their office. Do not even try to. They are rude over the phone. Ripping off people. We have been going back on forth to cancel our shoot and they refuse to!! Any one who can share their experience of how to get our money back from them will be of great help.

Why doesn't anyone shut them down since so many complaints have been lodged against them...

More Industry Model And Talent Studio Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ne
    NENOSKI Nov 18, 2008

    Industry model and talent studio is the biggest scam I have ever seen. I signed my daughter up for the 3yr, $1500 contract. In the beginning I had an optomistic outlook but as the years go by she had been to only a handfull of interviews with about a million other babies. They take your money, never contact you, and refuse to answer any legitimate questions. Your better off taking your child to a credited agent! I agree this place is just a really expensive photo studio. Thats all!!! They will never admit it to your face but they are the best actors in the world. I will get over it one day but as for others out there, please dont do it. I know everyone thinks there kid is the cutest in the world but believe me money is there main focus in that studio. Its pathetic! They sit u in a 3x3 room to see your finished shots after waiting a year to even been seen. Please just dont waste your time you can take that money and buy them a car when they turn 17. I learned from my mistake. I hate to admit it but my husband was right!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    margi cruz Nov 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    HI I RECENTLY SIGNED MY SON UP FOR THIS AGENCY AND GAVE THEM $150 deposit we originally turned them down because we couldnt afford it but buy them offering us discounts and payment plan we took it thinking it would be money our son could make for his savings account since i am an at home mom i could be available to do that with him so we gave them a deposit and told the woman we wouldnt know when the rest of the money were waiting for would get here since my husband is in the army and was waiting on his bonus

    0 Votes
  • So
    sonu Nov 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    thanks to both of u..
    we had todays oppointment with them but after reading this all i canselled it...
    thanks again

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jason Nov 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hey Everyone,

    I just came back from an appt with them. They seemed vary pro and the lady was very nice. She showed us pics of their successful models and outlined an array of companies/projects their models are used for. I’ve read many people want to cancel for one reason or another but they did sign a contract that has a cancellation clause without reading it. I don’t know whether the whole thing is a scam or not, but I don’t think I’m going to follow through after reading various websites. If someone can let me know what the scam is (and not that you didnt read a contract you signed) i would appriciate it.

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
    monkey8822 Dec 16, 2008

    My wife and I were walking through the mall when we were approached by two young women who began adoring my son and saying how great he would be as a child model. They gave us a card for Industry Model and Talent in Edgewater, NJ so we went there and we were told how most of the children that go there get acting and modeling jobs. After giving them around $2, 000 so that photos could be taken along with a portfolio, we were told that we would be getting calls from people. WELL...a year later and two thousand dollars poorer, we have never received ANY calls! Industry Model and Talent in Edgewater is a total SCAM!

    1 Votes
  • Ag
    AG32DZ Jan 16, 2009

    I can tell you with 100% certainty that this is not a scam. I have personally bumped into numerous people at the malls who decided to work with Industry and did get phone calls for numerous projects. People who met their managers and agents through Industry, got cast as extras on movies or t.v. shows and did photo shoots/print ads for well known companies or went to IMTA. However you never hear about the success stories just the supposed horror stories which all 4 people above have claimed must be the majority of the people walking through the door. This is a competitive industry period and there are no guarantees whether you go through Industry or if you decided to try and break into this industry all on your own and this is something I don't think most people understand. Someone stated that they paid $1500 for a 3 year contract which seems reasonable to me and that you went to a handful of interviews which i could only assume must have been auditions which had it not been for Industry you would not be privy to. How is that the fault of Industry that your child was not selected after the interview? If you were to go to an open casting call right now and audition for 1 part that 200 other kids are auditioning for does that make the casting director a fake or make him know any less if your child is not cast for the part? That's the nature of the industry. While I could understand the frustration of paying for a service which does not guarantee that your child will be signed or selected for a t.v. or print ad, etc., it is a calculated risk that you take and the odds are in your favor because there is a very high success rate. It's funny to me how Industry becomes the scapegoat for people that do not read the contract before they sign it. I went to college and had to pay for it. That did not mean that once I got out into the real world that I was guaranteed a career and a high paying job. I was provided with the tools and if I was successful at my interview and they liked me I got the job. Same thing here. A friend of mine happens to be a professional photographer who happens to photograph the likes of high profile clients and guess what they have to "pay for their pictures". It boggles my mind sometimes. People go the Picture People and pay for pictures that will sit in a frame on their fireplace or pay for pictures to put on holiday or birthday cards. The claim that all Industry does is provide pictures is more one sided than it is accurate. They forget to mention they got a make up artist, a hairstylist, fashion stylist, the time of the photographer oh and yes the marketing and promotions department which actually sends out the composite cards or headshots etc. and markets and promotes clients into the industry based on the specifications they receive from the industry professionals that come to them. So before anyone who has not been there knocks the company, it is well advised that you go for yourself and formulate your own opinion. If afterwards you agree with the naysayers well then at least you made an informed decision based upon your personal experience. I leave you with one last thought. This is Bergen County a county of affluent, well educated people. Do you really think this company could exist and at that could exist at the malls if it was a scam? Let's think about this. I truly doubt it.

    -2 Votes
  • 77
    7700 Jan 22, 2009

    AG32DZ You obviously work for Industry as you are so supportive of a company that clearly misleads folks into QUICKLY signing a contract and paying for a photo shoot and then refusing to give refunds even when the photo shoots are cancelled and no photos have been taken; OR once the photos are taken, continue to ask for more and more money that the average unsuspecting parents whom they approached at malls, movies, sporting events, etc. can't afford, or didn't see coming, because when face to face with your "co-workers" they scam, excuse me, CONVINCE them their son/daughter is special and they can help them break into the business. This will only last but for so long until it finally all comes to a crashing halt and you're finally OUT OF BUSINESS. I hope you never have to fight for something you were nicely approached to do and then have such difficulty getting out of as most SCAM operations work. It's simply bad "business" and if you had a conscience you'd stop these SCAMMED practices.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    NENOSKI Jan 24, 2009

    AG32DZ--you are clearly one of their b*****s, and your probably one of the recruiters that go up to parents at the mall talking that crap. This is a complaint board, not a *** kissing board, the company is a fake, your a fake. The economy is really bad right now for you guys to be out here stealing people's money.Get a life. I could've invested that $1500 somewhere else, and have gotten better results. I hope everyone on this board agrees with me and sue the living hell out of Industry Scammers...I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!! NENOSKI

    3 Votes
  • Sc
    Scotty Feb 03, 2009

    AG32DZ: You are clearly tied to the company. Explain why do they have a absolutely no cancellation or refund clause even if you decide to cancel the same day and the photoshoot is scheduled weeks ahead?

    2 Votes
  • Sc
    Scotty Feb 03, 2009

    This company lied and mislead me too into signing a contract which cannot be canceled and no money shall be refunded as per their customer service. I am not sure which loophole they are exploiting because I cannot imagine the state not protecting us against such contracts without any cooling off periods. I am planning the following actions:
    1) Filing a BBB complaint.
    2) Contacting the consumer protection office of the state government by writing to them, calling them and visiting their office to let them know of the 160+ complaints filed against them through BBB in the past 36 months and looking for a way to shut them down.
    3) Contacting Edgewater police and alerting them to the scam.
    4) Alerting FBI because this company seems to be operating by the same principal and modus operandi under different names in various states (InterFace: CT, NewFaces, NY, Industry Model and Studios, NJ, etc).
    5) Working with local news outlets to see if someone is willing to do a story on them.
    6) Contacting my local congressman to see if whatever legal loophole they are using, is closed
    7) Finally, filing a claim in court to recover my deposit. I think it can be easily proved that the method of getting the contract signed was dishonest and it will definitely not be upheld by court.

    If you have been personally scammed by this company, please join me in this effort. It may seem like a small loss to you but we can make a big difference and help out other parents/kids if we get together! Email me.

    2 Votes
  • As
    Ashley Feb 07, 2009

    I totally agree that this is a major scam. First off they approach you in a mall - sorry, but that is not a good sign. Second, they admitt they are NOT an agency. If you are scouted you should be scouted by modeling agency. We decided to just go an see what it was about since we have been approached so many times. The office is a complete dump and their sign is held onto their reception desk by push pins!!! We met with a director and she was so fake! It was almost obnoxious to sit there and listen to her. She was so pushy. She showed tons of pictures, but hey anyone can show pictures and say they represent the child. Then she pulled out the price list and when we told her we would have to think about it and we dont make decisions right on the spot she seemed to push harder. She said "So is this something you want to do or not? I am just looking out for the best interest of your child." LOL. Then my husband said well we will talk about it, but I am not writing you a check today and she appeared to be so pissed that she got up and said okay and opened her door like she was kicking us out. And then she pretty much ignored us and barely said goodbye. Meanwhile she was super fake nice when we got there and she thought she would be getting our money. So, this is a total scam and they definitely just want money otherwise she would have said "okay can we follow up with you then". They dont just kick you out - that is just so unbelievable to me and so unprofessional. Please do not give these people money. If you are seriously interested you should get photos taken for 500 dollars or less and go to a real modeling agency!

    3 Votes
  • Me
    melody Feb 16, 2009

    Im a 22 yr old single mom with 6 month old baby girl. i alwasy dreamt of putting my kids through modeling and after going to garden state mall and bumping into this recruiter or this b***s***ter as i should say i was glad to give them my name and number. the next day i was called for an apointment. my apointment is actually for tommorrow i have a friend that is a model she told me she had never heard of this company as her husband is Devante a very famous model. i thank her and everyone else for the scam info on these ppl im not even going to call them back to cancel on the contrary im changin my numbers so thank u all.

    2 Votes
  • Iv
    Ivan Feb 17, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company is definitely a major scam. I paid two times $700 for my two kids. After reading this I call same day my credit card to stop payment, they refused. Call company, they told me a manager will call me, NO calls so far. I think we should join "Scotty" and filing a claim in court to recover our deposits, and force a state to close that kind of business.

    3 Votes
  • La
    LaMom Feb 19, 2009

    Every parent wants to beleive their child is 'special' and 'attractive'
    . . . I am a realist. My daughter is pretty and has great hair but she has a visual issue that would clearly show up in a photo shoot. She was approached while at the mall with her god-mother. I got a call the very next day wanting me to meet them at their 'studio' I asked for some printed material and was direcetd to the website. I, of course, went directly to sites that had comments about the way they do business. I am so happy I read these stories because when I told the guy I would not pay a cent for portfolios, photos, or anything else, he said that was not a problem (yeah, right). Needless to say I will not even call back, but I hope I can let my daughter down easy (as she now thinks she is so beautiful that she was picked out in a crowd) !

    3 Votes
  • Bl
    blueberri Feb 22, 2009

    ...this company is obviously a bunch of slick talkers. It seems that there is not cancellation policy and its up to the 'closers' to reel clients in so they can pay up front and NEVER have the option tochange their mind. Consumers don't like to feelboxed in because then it no longer feels like an EXCHANGE but rather a swendling of money, fast talking clients into paying first. AG32...I agree there are advantages to signing up with company like the fact that have the contacts that these clients need, but I'd rather spend the good money on a legitamite portfolio rather than some hack job thrown together to resemble a portfolio. At least you'd have the security of knowing this person is professional and licensed. Additionally, everyone does not get a stylist, make-up artist etc, that only comes with the most expensive package available. Still trying to entice people?...lol Industry could catch more bees with honey, try giving clients the option to cancel or change. When you cut their options, you cut their security. You may not have so many clients coming in, but at least half of them wont be reporting your company as scam. And this company is not in Bergen County, it's in Hudson county. Not as affluent as Bergen but scams have no economical boundaries. As an educated person and consumer I can only see you accepting this if you had a personal connection to it. I think they can do better, they had the right idea just too much greed behind it.

    2 Votes
  • Ro
    Rosey Mar 12, 2009

    DO NOT GO TO INDUSTRY MODELS! They are a SCAM! The staff is extreamly rude and ignorant! All they dpo is steal your money and give your hopes up! You will make the biggest mistake of your life by going. IT IS A WASTE OF TIME AND ENERGY! This company should be closed down and charged with fraud. They only make false promises. The scam is: they steal your money, say they will market you as a model, then never get back to you. You will spend hundreds of dollars and never see that money again. I am urging you DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AND TIME WITH NTHIS COMPANY!!! It happened to me girls and it will happen to you!!! I am thinking of sueing them for my money back!

    2 Votes
  • So
    softballxxxooo Mar 20, 2009

    i completly agree with you all! i myself signed the contract with my mom! first they make you pay an outragous amount of money after telling me that i could do anything becuase i am soooo beautiful! BEAUTIFUL MY ###! they said i could do print and runway and t.v movie exta first of all im 5"3 how the heck can ibe a run way model! they made us pay 2, 0o0 dollars just for picture then when you came in the next day to look at them they charged you another 2, 000 to put you up on their website! they got me all excited for what my 4, 000 to be gone! i saved up that money to buy myself things for college and i get stuck with a big mess! they should be sewed and we should all get our money back!

    2 Votes
  • Sh
    sherly Apr 14, 2009

    While walking through the mall a lady came up to me and told me how beautiful my daughter and that she has a perfect face to be a model. She took down my name and phone also my daughters name and age. She gave me a card and said someone will contact me to make an interview to come in to the studios. The very next day the called to come in. I made an appointment but the problem is when they told me that i could not reschdule the appointment. I spoke to one of my girlfriends and she told me the same thing bout her triplet. when i got home i decieded to check this place out and i found this website. Indusry Model is a real SCAM. I know that if a agency wants to represent you then you are not supposed to pay anything. The company is supooosed to do everything for you. They will be making money for representing you.

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    sandman658 May 23, 2009

    I just came from their studio in Edgewater.
    Exactly as people here have claimed, on the phone they said ”NO MONEY WILL BE NEEDED” “you were referred to us” (by a spotter at a street fair)
    Of course we got the show put on how our kids are perfect being they both have blond hair and blue eyes. They showed lots of photos of other kids.

    Then the price book opened. $500 to $5000 !!! I said money is tight. I’ll have to think about it for a few weeks. She kept pushing HARD. I thought the girl would mug us to get it. Lol Needless to say, I came home to Google them. Sure enough. There are many of us that realized it an “almost scam”
    You are paying for photo’s. That is all. They are legally doing what a photo studio does. Take photo’s. They are just misleading you to expect more with their nifty wording.
    I want to see if they call back. I’ll keep playing .along

    2 Votes
  • An
    annonymous4 Jun 05, 2009

    HELLO EVERYONE. I WORK FOR IMTS, I NEEDED A JOB AFTER FINISHING SCHOOL TO PAY FOR MY TUITION. NOW I AM STILL CURENTLY WORKING FOR THEM. YES WE DO SCAM PEOPLE AND NOT ONLY AT STUDIO 9 BUT WE HAVE A ANOTHER OFFICE 3 DOORS DOWN CALLED SUITE 6 WHERE THERE IS 3 ROWS WITH COMPUTERS AND PHONES. WE CALL PEOPLE AND HARRASE THEM LIE TO THEM AND TELL THEM WHAT WE ARE TOLD. IF WE DONT MEET THE SCRIPT WE GET MONEY DIDUCTED FROM OUR PAYCHECK. THIS COMPANY DOESNT ONLY SCAM PEOPLE, IT SCAMS ITS EMPLEEYS ALSO. I KNOW YOUR ASKING YOURSELF WHY AM I STILL WORKING THERE, WELL AFTER READING AND SEEYING FOR MYSELF, I AM READY TO GO INTO WORK AND TELL THEM I QUITE. I JUST CANT DO THIS TO PEOPLE ANYMORE, SPECIALLY SINCE I BUILD A RELATIONSHIP WITH THEM OVER THE PHONE. I AM TRULLY SORRY IF I HAVE CALLED ANY OF YOU AND HAD YOU COME IN FOR AN INTERVIEW, I HOPE THEY DO SHUT DOWN AND I AM LOOKING FOR A ANOTHER JOB WHERE I AM AT PEACE WITH MY MIND.

    THANKS TO ALL OF YOUR HONESTY, AND I HOPE THIS STOPS SOON B4 THERE SCAM MORE PEOPLE.
    ANNONYMOUS4

    2 Votes
  • Co
    coocoo Jun 10, 2009

    I am very concerned about this issue, because not only I payed for a photoshoot, but also my cousin who is 4 years old. If there is any possible way to cancel this, please help! Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    TIk Jun 15, 2009

    the biggest waste of time & money ever...the Photoshoot took 6 hours and the pics came out horrible. I take better pics with my blackberry. Now I'm down 1045 bc as soon as I paid for the cd I ran out of there before the lady came back to tell me about Marketing and stuff. Save yourself time and money and go to an Agency/School or Castings on your own. Not sure if they're good at getting you jobs or not but those pictured were a mess.

    2 Votes
  • Ti
    TIk Jun 15, 2009

    what a mess...my blackberry takes better pics, i paid 1045 in total and thats bc i ran out of there after seeig the ugly pics they took...if not they would have charged more for promoting...after a 6 hours photo shoot plus 3 hours to view the pics...total waste of time and money...go to an agency/school or castings on your own.

    2 Votes
  • Ne
    newtonchick Jun 21, 2009

    i put a deposit down on my credit card, if i do not go can the charge my card and do you think they can go after me in court???

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    newtonchick Jun 21, 2009

    please help,
    i put a deposit down. if i dont go can they charge my card for the rest and take me to court??????

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sandman658 Jun 22, 2009

    newtonchick,
    cancel that CC charge asap!

    0 Votes
  • In
    In NJ and Annoyed Jun 25, 2009

    I agree it's a mess. I called to follow up with a representative who, in April, told me to call back in a few weeks to "see how things were going". When I called at 10:15, the receptionist said that neither the rep I spoke with nor any other director was available for me to speak with. She put me on hold about 3 times before transferring me to "Customer Care". No one was available to speak to me in this department either, of course. If I do not hear back from this week, have my questions answered sufficiently, and reach a resolution for the concerns we have, I am going to file a complaint with the Division of Consumer Affairs for NJ. Everyone else should do the same. There are quite a few "entertainment" agencies that are already being monitored by the Division. The company names, addresses and phone numbers are listed on the Consumer Affairs website.

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    MrAnnonymous123 Jun 28, 2009

    Hey Annonymous4, how much per hour do they pay you guys/girls?

    I appreciate you opening your eyes and taking responsibility for your actions. I can offer you the opportunity to work for a real company that does good work to help people. No, it is not a joke (or a scam, ha ha), but seriously, let me know and I will tell you more. This offer stands for any others that would like to quit and stop scamming. I figure 3 good things can come from this. #1, you get a new job doing good work, #2 my company gets more employees that want to do good work, #3 having less employees at the scamming company will hopefully contribute to their downfall!

    I can be reached at: [protected]@yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Im
    imtascam Jul 01, 2009

    go to www.myspace.com/imtascam

    that is the website i created to forewarn potential consumers of industry model & talent studios aka IMTA. i have filed a complaint with the better business bureau of new jersey. IMTA responded back defensively and refused to give me back a refund. the complaint i filed ended because i didn't respond fast enough. in a six month period i only received 4 auditions for my son. there was also one incident where my son got booked for a modeling job and because of a timing dispute, they told the casting people we were not available when in fact we were. they lied! they cost us the job and other potential jobs. i have worked with a professional photographer in new york city before and he only charged me $350 for the photoshoot which consisted of 4-5 outfit changes and gave me the digital pics on a cd. Industry Model & Talent Studios charge you for everything! the lowest package is $550 in upwards of $3, 500, depending on how many outfit changes. they show you pic of their 'clients' but for all we know they could be just making that up, too. you are required to make a down payment before you leave or you will not get the photoshoot. they trap you! they don't tell you of other fees until after you paid in full for one thing, then its something else. after looking at the expensive overpriced pics they charge you for the picture cd of the photoshoot. they call it "buying the rights to the photos" for $40! that's a scam. they said if you ever get your pictures developed they need to see the paperwork that you have the rights to it. got them developed at walgreens and they never asked questions. then when you think you don't have to pay anymore, they have to "market" your child. they say its free marketing but you have to pay to be on their GIGACOMPS.COM website for $450/6 months. or you can purchase the comp cards/8x10's but they charge you per picture for their so-called castings which you aren't even sure you're submitted for. they TRAP you because you already paid for the photos, so you obviously have to buy them into marketing them, otherwise the pictures would be useless. they NEVER tell you this prior to the photoshoot. i have called customer service so many times to see the status of my child's modeling career and they are so rude on the phone. they later email you a random list of agencies that they say they submitted you into, but i doubt they did any work at all. i have gone to a professional photographer and casting director outside of IMTA who strongly advised me that i need to have my child in a legit modeling agency and that he needs to be doing at least one casting a week. i was getting an audition once every 1.5 months! i used to work for a modeling agency and used to give out castings at least 2-3 times a week to my clients. this is such a SCAM! right now i'm awaiting for the local news to get back to me so we can expose these people so no one else can get victimized. plus, i want my money back! it's MY money that they scammed from me and i want it back now!

    1 Votes
  • 1s
    1st time mom Jul 05, 2009

    I was approached by IMTS this afternoon at Bridgewater Commons Mall, NJ, by this young lady who told me how adorable my baby is and that if we were interested in her modelling...the same thing!! they gave me a business card and took my contact details. I never wanted my baby to be a model but hey... someone comes up to you and asks you think Why not ? Im glad I google'd them!! Im glad I found these posts. Now I know not to entertain any calls from these guys.

    I hope no one else falls into this trap...

    2 Votes
  • Ch
    Charles777123 Jul 08, 2009

    Wow, my brother and I were about to go to their office today, then my mom read this, and it really saved our time and money!
    In this bad economy, I would think that they will go out of business soon (hopefully).

    2 Votes
  • Rd
    rdtm Jul 14, 2009

    Yes, it is a scam I paid 1350.00 for my son and 1350.00 for my daughter. I truly did not like the pictures and they fast talk you in to believing that you are going to have this one time fee. Guess what after pictures are taken you are hit up for another 45.00 and then you speak to a Dir. who tries to hit you up for another 450 - 2000.00. Well I found all of this out later after shelling out money. I pray more people read this before paying anything.

    2 Votes
  • To
    Tolit's TayTay Jul 29, 2009

    IMTA, YOUR JUDGMENT DAY IS COMING SOON!!!

    It all started last week.

    I'm a proud father. My baby is very energetic and loves people, so whenever people approach us, it makes me feel good.
    My Baby's birthday is coming up so i thought that having him join IMTA will be a good idea and exposure at the same time. Ohhh boy i was wrong! after reading all your complaints today (07/29/09), i called my credit card company (Joyce) to stop the second payment since it didn't reflect on my statement yet. I explained everything to Joyce about this whole mess. I'm very fortunate that Joyce helped me out and included the first payment as Fraudulent charges (but will still investigate) and will cancel the second payment. Hopefully the credit card company's investigation will bear good news to me and my family and will not face any huge problems. I also used my Debit card and i wasn't fortunate disputing the charges.
    Let us all work together and bring IMTA down. I'm very willing to help.

    2 Votes
  • Ju
    Julia23 Aug 03, 2009

    i have an appointment at six thirty. i guess i'm not going now.. but i feel bad cause my mom was more exited than i was.

    1 Votes
  • Na
    Nala Aug 03, 2009

    I've been thinking about getting my daughter into modelling for awhile now (but was waiting until she gets a little older), but I was so excited to be approached by this "company". I gave them my contact info and was looking forward to meeting with them. Fortunately, I always check if a modelling agency/studio is legit (I've recieved letters in the mail from "modeling agencies" that were also scams. And the moment I typed in the name of this place on google, I saw nothing but complaints. So I waited for their call to politely tell them that we were no longer interested. They called my home and cell phone several times over a 3 day period, and there was so much noise, talking, and laughter on the other line that I just hung up (sounds more like a prank phone call than a professional business). When I was finally able to speak with someone, I calmly told them that I was "no longer interested, but I thank you." Surprisingly, I recieved the rude reply of "WELL YOU SHOULD'VE NEVER FILLED OUT THE CONTACT INFORMATION!!" And was hung up on. Even if this place was legit, I would never let such rude people around my child. Luckily I found this out before it was too late.

    PARENTS: NO AGENCY WILL ASK YOU TO PAY OUTRAGEOUS PRICES TO WORK FOR THEM. THEY SHOULD BE PAYING YOU! INDUSTRY MODEL AND TALENT STUDIO IS AN OBVIOUS SCAM!

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    charmed4 Aug 06, 2009

    Hi Everyone, I want to share my experience. For years I have been stopped at the malls from this industry. So many times I have thought if this was a scam or not. Never once did I ever google this to find info on it until now, and I can't believe how many people say this is a scam and how they are disapointed. I don't usually read anything before I sign it only roughly, but I did notice the cancellation policy and when I asked them, of course they ignored me and kept looking at my child and focusing conversation with them.

    I just put my child in it and payed them. I feel so stressed over this because now I can't cancel and I feel like I lost all my money.
    I don't know if it's a scam or not, it sounds like it escpecially because I always hear how if someone really wants your child, you won't have to pay anything they will pay you. But this place did say that they are not an agency or school.

    I will say that they did rush the conversation and seemed very nervous to talk to me especially that I asked a million questions and of course they get your kid all excited in front of you and tell your kid welcome during your questions and conversation...lol..you didn't even say yes yet, and they are blowing your kids head up...but that's any place who wants to make business...it's life ...im not happy about it, but you have to teach your kids the good and the bad before going in there.

    My kid is so mad at me because I'm researching this stuff late. I should of done it before hand. I do gamble and with this money I probably would of went to Atlantic City and blown the money.

    It's a chance you take.
    I will tell you this for sure, my friend had put her child also with the industry and her child did actually make it into a movie as an extra. She is very disapointed that it did cost nearly $5, ooo for the photo package.

    It goes like this, you get there and they show you an album of photos of kids in magazines and very little pictures of kids with actors (god knows if these are even kids that came to their office), then they give u package deals of photos ranging from $500-$2000 . Of course the higher the amount, the more pictures, the more chances of getting chosen by agents in magazines, and movies.

    You then talk to a marketing agent and they convince you to market your kid in a website that costs $2, 000 more for your kids picture to be on the website for up to three years. There is no guarantee that you will be called (well that any agent will call industry to have them contact you)

    so you can wait up to three years for a call or you might be very lucky and have your kid as an extra on a movie like my friend did. My friend got lucky and her kid got on a movie as an extra.

    That was it. No more calls . No more chances. The kid got happy with $500 in their pocket, and a photo cd that cost 50 bucks additional to have and all you can do is view the pics not print them out. God knows maybe you have to go back their to actually have those pics developed into your hands for you to hang on the wall or album.

    Atleast they should let you have those pics for $500-$2000 you paid them. Atleast a photo place will let you actually bring the pics home.

    All I can say is I paid them already. Didn't check this site out. Went in blind. Didn't even know that my friend did the same thing from the same industry.

    Until I researched too late. There is good, that your kid can be picked depending on luck. It can take a month through 3years for a simple exta in a movie that heah maybe you will be able to watch that movie and see your kid real far away or even close or not even see them at all in it.

    Or you might just not get anything. The point is, if you have the money to waist and gamble on it then do it for the experience. If not, then don't bother.

    It's a gamble. I wouldnt' call it a scam only and only because I found out my friend's kid got in as and extra and maybe later on I'll call it a scam for being disapointed and aggitated because I gambled on this and dont know whats going to happen yet. Im still waiting .

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sandman658 Aug 07, 2009

    Like I said earlier, It is a borderline being legal.
    They are fast talkers.
    Snake Oil salesman.

    Being legal does not make it right.

    You are better off going to a REAL photographer and then bringing those pictures to a real agency.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    MoPearl18 Aug 07, 2009

    Hey everyone,
    I'm 15 and i was approached by one the ladies at the bridgewater mall and i took the offer and waisted almost about 1500 for my phootshoot and such and i really need to know if this is a scam or not i just got my website up about a month ago and they said they would start calling me in about 2 to 3 months so im still waiting but i want too look on whats updated on the webiste but i lost my paper does anyone know the website where agents and companies look at you that this place gave you it starts with a g i think.

    please help.

    0 Votes
  • Ig
    iggy moore Aug 10, 2009

    I was actually stopped at Six Flags Amusement Park on Saturday. They called me today and wanted me to come in tomorrow. They said both my husband and I should be present, however after seeing and reading these comments I think that I will cancel for next Monday

    1 Votes
  • Pi
    pissed off!! Aug 11, 2009

    The scam is still going. signed up Sun. 08/09/09 called the following aftrenoon due to an illness my child has that will prevent her from modeling. They were very abrupt and denied my request to cancel. The government need to step in and close this company down for good!!!

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem