Complaints & Reviews

Yale digital door lock

I had a very bad experience with home-fix last year.
On 11 october 2016, I purchased a yale digital lock for my gate, from home-fix at thomson plaza. Full payment of $699 for the lock was made at the shop and installation was scheduled for the following week. I did not bring home the lock as that was to be delivered and installed by the technician.

The technician who came for the installation was surprised to find that my gate was incompatible with the lock (Only the newer flats with a 1 foot spacing between the wooden door and gate are compatible). I was even more surprised when he asked if any person had come to assess the compatibility of my gate before my purchase. I had not received such advice and no such service was rendered to me at the time of purchase.

I immediately called the home-fix outlet to report the findings of the technician. Mr siva, who answered my call, promised to call me back after making a report to his hq. He did indeed called me within a few minutes and informed me that a cheque would be issued for the full refund.

A few weeks later, there was still no sign of the cheque. I called the outlet again and received the same respond and promise of a refund. Still no cheque arrived.

Finally, on 16 dec 2016, I was referred to shirley, a staff in charge of the product at hq, and was told that the cheque had been delayed because the authorized signatory for the cheque was out of town. I was assured that I should be able to receive the cheque before the end of the year.

As of today, 5 jan 2017, I have yet to receive the refund, and ms shirley has not answered her phone since I last spoke to her 3 weeks ago.
Is she avoiding my calls?
Is home-fix delaying the refund deliberately to default on the payment?
It seems so absurd for a company to no authorized person to sign the cheque for more than 2 months. I was told that there were many other refunds that had not been processed. Was the remark made so that I would feel less victimised?

My experience tells me that they do not value service to their customers at all! I had paid for a product which I had not received at all. Is it justifiable for them to withhold the refund?

Xtreme windows

I just read al this complaints about Homefix going out of business and I also encountered the same problem. My windows developed a brown film between the panes and I read by some complainers that was the due to a broken seal--- I thought there was a fungus growing between the panes. I contacted Homefix in NJ and received a message the number had been disconnected. So, I went online and found the name Homefix associated with a company in Maryland. They told me they had nothing to do with the company in NJ. They also told me the manufacturer of the windows had shut down, so they could not repair any of the windows. We would have to replace them at our own cost. They also told me there was a NJ rep servicing the customers in NJ and they gave me the phone number of the rep - I contaced the person, but he never showed up. We basically lost $16, 000.00 for all 12 windows. my windows are about 4 years old. Is there a way for us customers to have some sort of compensation?
Does Homefix corporation really exist and will our plight be addressed?

  • Sa
    Samantha HF Sep 16, 2015

    We are very sorry to hear that you have had trouble with this window company. It is true that this company is not associated in any way with Homefix Custom Remodeling of Maryland—the name “Homefix” was used by several companies over the years and has led to a great deal of confusion in the region. Please continue trying to contact the rep using the contact information supplied to you when you called Homefix of MD, we have been in contact with NJ as well to make sure they are aware of your situation. We hope you have a speedy and complete resolution to your issue.

    0 Votes

Abysmal Product / Service

We had Homefix install 20-odd windows, and fit a bay window in our living room about 5 years ago.
Since day one, the bay window has leaked, soaking the sill and staining the wood badly. The window attachments have snapped, and several had to be replaced.
Every time we've tried to get someone to fix the bay window, someone has either said 'we'll call you back' and never does. Or someone comes around and sprays some foam - the last time it was : We'll need to call the manufacturer of the windows. And then nothing. 5 YEARS we've been trying to get this fixed. We've now discovered that the windows are discolouring, and the *inside* of the windows are growing mold and developing 'dirty patches' inside the double-pane.

So, here's a warning for those looking to engage Homefix: Don't.

Abysmal Product / Service

HomeFix Corporation
  • Ho
    HomeFix Feb 08, 2012

    Steve,

    I apologize for your experience with HomeFix, and have forwarded this information to a manager for a review.

    Thanks,
    HomeFix

    0 Votes

Salesman

i had a salesman from homefix overcharge 1, 000 for a door. called up precision exteriors got the same door for 1, 00 less and did 4 windows triple pane for 1, 800 bucks.

very happy now : )

  • Ho
    HomeFix Jan 11, 2012

    We are sorry to see the amount of complaints that we have received on this forum. HomeFix prides itself on quality workmanship and products. The highest quality job does not always come at the lowest price, but our prices are fair for the quality provided. We would like you to know that at HomeFix Corporation, we are committed to addressing any legitimate complaints and will do our best to resolve the problem. If you have been less than satisfied with HomeFix Corporation is any way, please send an email detailing the problem, and including your contact information (preferably phone number and email address) to [email protected] We do strive for 100% satisfaction and hope that you will give us the chance to make things right.

    1 Votes

great work

They did an absolutly fantastic job on my home and i find all of this very hard to beleive. I went with them becasue of their great BBB rating and Angies list rating. I will personally recomend them to anyone.

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

bad service

there was a customer service women called me this afternoon, she said the guy wanted to find me was busy and...

Very Surprised

NOt sure what homefix they are refering to but i could not be more pleased with the work that they did thank you I have referred them to 2 of my close firends and they had very good experiences with them

  • Mo
    molliewollie May 17, 2011

    You are not fooling anyone self promoting your or a friends business. Get lost.

    0 Votes

Happy

After getting 6 estimates we decided to work with Nick from Homefix. We are very satisfied so far. The jog is not done yet we only have our roof and we are still waiting for our windows. If the window job gois anyting like the roof job then we will be very satisfied. We have not given Nick one dollar and he has made it clear that he is so confident in Homefix ability to make us happy that he will not ask for any money until we are completely sadified with the job. We are very confident that we will be.

  • Su
    susanblake May 17, 2011

    This is regarding the windows that I bought from this company last summer. My house is almost 11 years old and the original windows had turned out to be cheaply made and had not held up very well. All of the window tilt latches had broken on the old windows and could not be replaced. The only way to keep a gentle gust of windw from bblowing thewindows out was to keep them shut and locked. For over 5 years, I have not been able to open windows. When I signed with Homefix t have the windows replaced, I felt a little uneasy about spending so much $$. However, since the windows have been installed, I must say that I am more pleased with them than I expected to be. The two guys that did the work installed all 7 windows from about 9:30 am to 1:30 pm. They did a great job

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    molliewollie May 17, 2011

    It's a COMPLAINTS BOARD...we don't care!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
    molliewollie May 18, 2011

    Don't believe this post, they are just trying to compensate for all the REAL, negative reviews on here about this company with a bunch of fake ones. If this business was any good they wouldn't need to do this.

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
    molliewollie May 18, 2011

    Don't believe "susanblake's" post...bunch of fake names and posts for this company hitting complaints boards today. All of them bogus..."oh so happy, so surpised, great company"...they are attempting to compensate for all the bad reviews about themselves on here. Phony, disingenuous, desperate. Must be a really terrible company to have to resort to this, I'd avoid them.

    -1 Votes
  • Ho
    HomeFix Jan 11, 2012

    Molliewollie,
    To my knowledge, this review is not fake. However, I apologize that HomeFix has upset or disappointed you in some way. We would appreciate the opportunity to right a wrong, and welcome your input to [email protected] Thank you and have a great day!

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    HomeFix Jan 17, 2012

    We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great experience with HomeFix! Thank you for your support, and enjoy your new roof!

    0 Votes

Great Work

We are writing to comment on the very professional installation of our new windows in our home in Fairfax City. We were pleased with every phase of the process. The man explained the windows better than anyone we had talked with, and his professional "no-ressure" approach made the decision easy to make. He is quite an asset for Homefix. We also appreciated the professional, courteous, and efficient crew that installed our windows. In the future when anyone in our neighborhood needs replacement windows, we will gladly recomment HOMEFIX to them. We want to thank them for the wonderfule xerience we had with them.

  • Su
    susanblake May 17, 2011

    Recently this company installed vinyl siding on the home of my mother, Ruth. We just wanted to let everyone know how pleased we are with the work. July hasbeen a very busy month for us and we are now just matching up paint to finish tje job. We did want to compliment the man who came out here for patiently explaining everything to Mom and us. But especially, we want to let you know how pleased we were with the two men who actually installde the vinyl. They were professional, efficient, and their expertise in working with vinyl was veryevident. We really appreciate the excellent work and would highly recommend Homefix in the future

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    molliewollie May 17, 2011

    BS post, spamming CB, obviously the company itself trying to counter all the negative complaints on here. Losers. Get lost.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    molliewollie May 18, 2011

    Spam posting, don't believe it. They are posting about themselves trying to make themselves look better because they had a lot of negative reviews. Stay away from HomeFixCorporation, they are desperate, must be a terrible business.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel Zubrzycki Feb 10, 2016

    I'm so dissatisfied by my experience with Home Fix Custom Remodeling that I had to write a review to warn others. The crew that came out improperly hung our storm door onto obviously rotten decorative wood, claiming that the wood was fine even though one of the workers admitted it was not. I had to pay for a home inspector to come out afterward, and in his 10 page report detailing the company's errors he accurately described the work done as incomplete and improper. Although Home Fix's website boasts a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, unfortunately I couldn't disagree more. The work done by their crew was never reviewed with us as advertised, either; instead, the worker simply left without saying anything. They wasted no time sending a bill, though, but we have yet to hear back from anyone after submitting the above-mentioned home inspection report. Needless to say, dealing with this company has been a total nightmare. Let my experience serve as a warning and do not waste your time and money dealing with them.

    0 Votes

Idiots that dont listen

I live in gaithersburg md, during the spring they come to my neighborhood, approx 2-3 times a week!!! very annoying! i tell them i work for a contractor and do all my own work, which for some reason they dont hear or understand, if thwey come back again they will be told if they come back it will be considered harassment and i will take further actions from there, they are very annoying, irratating, obnoxious, and they all need to get a hearing aid, because i have had to deal with many of their wanna be salesmen, very ticked off.

  • JuliePooh51265 Mar 16, 2011

    Do what I do, if you don't want to talk to them, don't answer the door. Eventually they should get the message.

    1 Votes

Uses very inflated prices for the windows and siding!

DO NOT LET THESE PEOPLE IN YOUR HOUSE.

They use very inflated prices for the windows and siding!

Homefix uses High Pressure Sales Tactics : This method of selling a job is pushy and inconsiderate of your needs as a homeowner. These salesman will use fake special offers or free stuff and maybe even try to scare you into signing the contract right on the spot.

DO NOT LET THESE PEOPLE IN YOUR HOUSE.

Just remember all the good praises are from there employees here to try and bail them out they have over 200 complaints here now dont fall for it.

  • Ho
    HomeFix Jan 11, 2012

    We are sorry to see the amount of complaints that we have received on this forum. We would like you to know that at HomeFix Corporation, we are committed to addressing any legitimate complaints and will do our best to resolve the problem. If you have been less than satisfied with HomeFix Corporation is any way, please send an email detailing the problem, and including your contact information (preferably phone number and email address) to [email protected] We do strive for 100% satisfaction and hope that you will give us the chance to make things right.

    0 Votes

Scam Sales Tactics Exposed

Extensive research is needed in order to determine if a company is legit, this one Homefix is not as we already know yet many homeowners fail to recognize the warning signs that these “door to door” salesmen show when trying to sell their “products and services.” Some of these warning signs include:

Homefix uses High Pressure Sales Tactics : This method of selling a job is pushy and inconsiderate of your needs as a homeowner. These salesman will use fake special offers or free stuff and maybe even try to scare you into signing the contract right on the spot.

Homefixes Unsolicited Offers: Door to door salesmen and telemarketing are common types of unsolicited offers, and they should be avoided by all means.

Stay away from Homefix in Maryland, Virginia, and New Jersey They use homefix corporation

  • Ho
    HomeFix Jan 06, 2012

    We are sorry to see the amount of complaints that we have received on this forum. HomeFix Corporation is, in fact, a legitimate company. We have been featured as one of the Top 500 Remodeling Companies by Qualified Remodeler Magazine several times, and we have been recognized by several organizations, including former President Bill Clinton, for our charitable contributions. We would like you to know that at HomeFix Corporation, we are committed to addressing any legitimate complaints and will do our best to resolve the problem. If you have been less than satisfied with HomeFix Corporation is any way, please send an email detailing the problem, and including your contact information (preferably phone number and email address) to [email protected] We do strive for 100% satisfaction and hope that you will give us the chance to make things right.

    1 Votes

Scam alert

Homefix this so called corporation company actually called me today for like the 10th time in 1 week!!! I totally just google searched them and found all these scam alerts etc for home repair complaints!!!Homefix has almost 200 of them unreal!!! This SO CALLED company seems like a TOTAL SCAM company for sure I asked a friend if he had heard of homefix corporation he said "sounds like a scam to me" !

Stay away from this company fair warning! Use anybody but this company for anything you need done if they tell you they will give you anything for free please do not beleive it!!!

  • Ho
    HomeFix Jan 06, 2012

    We are sorry to see the amount of complaints that we have received on this forum. We would like you to know that at HomeFix Corporation, we are committed to addressing any legitimate complaints and will do our best to resolve the problem. If you have been less than satisfied with HomeFix Corporation is any way, please send an email detailing the problem, and including your contact information (preferably phone number and email address) to [email protected] We do strive for 100% satisfaction and hope that you will give us the chance to make things right.

    2 Votes

Very bad company, do not trust

Homefix did not and could not get the job done they also started a lawsuit for the sales guy commision against me for over 10 grand lol...even though no work was done at all ive also heard from a source they have there staff posting good things here obviously they have like 200 complaints and alot of very pissed off customers stay away from homefix !!! Im a computer guy i will be sure that everyone online finds out about there tactics...there price was like 28, 000$ it was done by another company for 11, 000$ same exact stuff!

Scammed

I had a deck put on my home by Homefix here in Illinois. I had to pull a permit for the deck. The deck was projected to be built in two weeks from when I got the quote. 5 weeks later it was about 3/4 done. It remains uncompleted as of today. The Homefix guys that came out to build it simply stopped building it. I contacted Homefix who could not locate the crew or provide me with a solution or return my money. Worst of all however is that my local building inspector came out and asked me if the footings were in. I told him the deck was mostly completed. He inspected the deck and told me that it was suppose to be built with frost footings below the posts. Homefix just simply put the posts on cement blocks. The inspector told me he would not pass the inspection until it was redone. Of course Homefix refused to correct the work telling me that I should have told the crew to put footings in first! I should have read the reviews on this company before I went with them.

Very unprofessional

I was given an inflated price for the windows and they pulled the cut it in half for a model home scam. I decided to do the model home since I have 3 days to cancel. I researched thier work and found they don't do a good job and when you try to have them fix the windows its a huge hassle. I called them to cancel the guy actually said "You promised to buy the windows, how can you do this to me? Lol He was so desperate and told me I can't get out of it and that my credit would be ruined. This is a lie do not fall for it and let them pressure you to do this if you don't want to. I hate this company, they lie, are very unprofessional and untrustworthy do not do business with them.

  • Ed
    Edaaaa Oct 17, 2019

    Staff not friendly not smile.3 time i call for ask something.very arrogant!!!india wear spec

    0 Votes

Shady homefix salesman

I needed replacement windows for one of my rental properties and I decided to call Homefix as they run a...