Global Wedding & Events Co.Beware, this company is a Brides nightmare!

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

This company seems to be the perfect one stop shop for everything you need to make that special day truly memorable. Unfortunately, it will prove to be memorable for all the WRONG reasons. Mr Carl Manning and his staff (Filomena etc..) are extremely unprofessional and completely disorganized. Each meeting proved to be pointless, appointments are consistently broken and the claim to be affordable in comparison proves to be a total lie. While Carl seems charming, disagree with anything he has to say and watch his time bomb hit self destruct. It is 10 days before our wedding and NOTHING has been done. We have not seen sample centre pieces or bouquets, wedding decor or anything. The price keeps changing, even though the contract states something different. Being such an important day, and the flowers are so integral, we decided that seeing as nothing has been done to date, it was time to make alternative plans. Filomena wanted to change the cost of our centrepeices and our beautiful Hydrangas to CARNATIONS?!?! When we obviously would not agree she claimed that she would not lose her shirt over our business and encouraged us to cancel our flowers... which is exactly what we did. No calls were returned for over a week (keep in mind this is within a 3 week window of our wedding) and all the excuses were exhausted. We needed to cancel, confirm our other arrangements, but now Carl says we wont get our deposit back? Is he serious? It was them that encouraged us to cancel the flowers only weeks before the wedding. They probably assumed that we wouldn't be able to make alternative arrangements this quickly, and that we would just pay the additional costs and settle for the ugly flowers. BEWARE, this company is a Brides nightmare. Carl decided to return our call (inappropriately) at 9 PM only to yell at the soon to be bride, putting her in tears, and still not offering any solutions. This is one headache that everyone should avoid. I would never refer them to anyone.

More Global Wedding & Events Co. Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Pl
    Pleasestopthisfraud Sep 29, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Karl Usmani and his wife Filomena has put my wife and I through hell since the mom we signed the contract. I am bewildered and in shock that the government still allows these people to continue to prey on the bride and grooms. They are playing the system very well, there strategy is close shop when problems arise which always happy happens, they then change their business name and location. There comes a time when enough is enough. We have to take a strong stand against this menace to society, Canadians deserve better then to be preyed upon. Karl and Filomena put us through so much emotional distress, and that is an understatement. They kept on changing their word, the price and treated us like garbage. We will only everything in our power legally to bring out the truth

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    Pleasestopthisfraud Sep 29, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sorry Filomena last name is Angeles

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    Pleasestopthisfraud Sep 29, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Filomenas last name is Angels

    0 Votes
  • So
    so_frustrated Sep 17, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello everyone,
    I also was unfortunate enough to hire Karlo and Filomena ... I call my wedding my beautiful disaster! they were fully responsible for the disaster part!!! The linnens at my wedding were disgusting, dirty, had holes were so wrinkled they did not sit flat on the tables! they did not even provide all the skirting etc. they were supposed to provide. the day before my wedding they were supposed to have hall decorated by the time i got there after my rehearsal dinner, When I got there half the setup was not done and they were no where to be found! When I called Karlo I was told to 'do it myself'!! I was furious. to make it even better they were supposed to set up our ceremony the day of the wedding as it was supposed to be outside. They called the day of a couple of hours before ceremony was to start to let us know they were running late but would be there... guess what... never even showed up!!! my Husband and groomsmen were left to decorate the backyard an hour before our ceremony was to start!!! I fully intend to take them to Small Claims court however the name they gave me was Total Wedding and Event Planning however when I ran their business name with government it doesn't exist. Does anyone know Filomena's last name as I would also like her named in the lawsuit and/ there legal business name???
    Thanks so much!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alatif Jul 15, 2014

    Hi everyone,
    Looking for people who have had recent dealings with Total Wedding and Party Services in Cambridge (the new business under which Karl Usmani has been operating). Please get in touch with me, I am a reporter at The Waterloo Region Record writing a story about this. [email protected] Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alexbevi Jul 09, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Even though the deposit I lost is gone forever, at least the law finally caught up to Karl.
    http://metronews.ca/news/toronto/1090292/nightmare-wedding-planner-jailed-for-10-days/

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry39 Jan 31, 2012

    anyone have anymore updates on these crooks

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry39 Dec 05, 2011

    I contacted duncan and he told me I had to sue Karl

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    River 123 Dec 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please contact [email protected] if you want to file a formal complaint against this company...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria k Nov 30, 2011

    I got married last year and the company is still running. I was crying the day of my wedding when i saw my stage. He ruined it and i couldn't do anything that day. Please lets take serious action against him and shut down his business. HE IS STILL FOOLING PPL and making money. He charged me 4, 000 for nothing and promised me soo many things and the day of my wedding it was totally different. i am surprised that from 2007 ppl has been trapped unitl now. Please lets shut down his business and get our money back.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria k Nov 30, 2011

    i was crying the day of my wedding becuase of my him...when i saw the decoration of my stage...i hate this place, karl and the lady ...i soo wanted to take action against him but i thought i was alone, please lets do something and shut down his business cuz he is still doing this with so many ppl. i got married last year so his business is still open. i dont know how mays ppl are fooled still and i fell bad. LETS DO SOMETHING TO SHUT DOWN HIS BUSINESS AND GET OUR MONEY BACK.

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry39 Nov 25, 2011

    has anybody ever gotten there pictures or vidoes?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joemanning Nov 22, 2011

    My Name is Joe Manning and I am in no way related to that Piece of ### Carl. He made our special day memorable for all the wrong reasons. Its been 6 weeks since our wedding and he refuses to give me the pictures that i have paid for. All of the above comments that other people have posted apply to our situation as well. I hope nobody else has to deal with him.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    tell all about Oct 30, 2011

    Ok these people, Filomena Angeles and Karl Manning / Usmani or whatever name he uses keeps ruining weddings, well they ruined mine in July when they never showed for the decor, me and my wife were told that they would be there and never showed, i even went to the hall when they were setting up for a different wedding and they weren't even there. They said they would and i spoke with a girl that was working for them and she said they were late, they would be there but never showed. Anyway i thought he opened a new buinsess on Dundas St so i was driving by there, Karl told me where it was and it never even opened. He lied about it. So then i did a little digging and found out they were suppose to open a store in Kitchener, under the Total Wedding name on Highland Road, anyway i went there and there is a sign on the door stating they did not pay the rent so they are not allowed on the premises. So beware brides when a new business opens up make sure it is not under Filomena Angeles or Karl Manning/ Usmani's name, they are a brides nightmare and is going to ruin your bride just like they did mine. Beware!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ou
    Ourrights Aug 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would contact Sean O'Shea at GLOBAL TV Toronto
    Tell him your story. He may put it on tv

    CONSUMER SOS
    http://www.globaltoronto.com/story.html?id=1820568
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    Toll Free: [protected] ext 5467
    or if you’re in Toronto area – [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    johnlindsey Jul 16, 2011

    They are living at 475 Activa Ave in Kitchener, i have been after them forever to get my pictures, don't know the phone number but,
    i am going to start banging on their door if i don't get them soon.

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry39 Jul 11, 2011

    will I get my money from Gloabal?

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Juchas Jun 30, 2011

    Yes call Duncan now !!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry39 Jun 28, 2011

    Hi There,

    I have been waiting for months now for Karl to get back to me, I need my pictures, video. Christy do I need to phone Duncan to file a law suite?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris50 May 13, 2011

    There is a new batch of complaints being filed against Karl/Filomena/global. It is important if anyone out there is thinking of filing to do so. It must be done formally. The first time in court the judge may be lienient but repeated offences while being in court could mean jail time. We have new info but it cannot be posted at this time. Trust that we are on this and file a formal complaint. Did I mention I got my $1500 back ?

    Ministry of Consumer Services
    5775 Yonge Street, Suite 1500
    Toronto, ON M7A 2E5
    Office: [protected]
    Cell: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    SMOKE1000 Apr 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I THINK THAT GPS DECOR IS OPERATING THROUGH GLOBAL TRADING -

    ITS ON THEIR WEBSITE :

    The company is under gps global trading company incorporated in 2008.

    http://www.gpsdecors.com/about_us.php

    tAKE A LOOK - AM I CRAZY????? i HOPE THEY HAVEN'T MOVED AND CHANGED NAMES AGAIN - I DROVE BY THE LOCATION ON BREVIK PLACE AND THEY WERE COMPLETELY GONE- I THINK THEY ARE TRYING TO TRICK M ORE PEOPLE STILL...

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mikey178 Mar 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Im in the same issue as the poster above and in the works of filing a complaint, I still need my pictures, albums and video. I was able to meet Karl (had to hold back on some choice words I have for him) at the 1135 crestlawn location but that was a while back in January and he gave me a phone number 519.570.2013 which always goes to voicemail with his voice, I leave a voicemail and never get a response back. The crestlawn location is empty now and apparently they have moved to a location by 427 & Dundas although I do not know the exact address. I've tried driving around the area and cannot locate it. If anyone has the new location, please post.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Juchas Feb 23, 2011

    If anyone knows where he operates now we've been looking for him. Please let us know his new address. Carl owes us three wedding albums and original cd with pictures. Thank u. We definitely are going to file a complaint our wedding day was a disaster because of him.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Juchas Feb 23, 2011

     
    global wedding moved to a new location under new name 1135 crestlawn, mississauga unit c5 there are not ther anymore they have been gone from the new location for a week.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Saline Jan 29, 2011

    I wish I had found out about this website before I began to plan my daughter's sweet sixteen with them. They keep changing the price and Filomena would tell you one thing before the contract is made, when it comes down to actually doing what ever she said.. it never happened. They promised that they would find my daughters dress with in a week... yeah that didn't happen we had to look for it ourselves. They never listen to what you want and what you have to say. Everything is over charged and unreasonable. Can you believe they called us the day of the party and was yelling at us? and the reason because we asked them to change the backdrop at the hall because it wasn't what we asked for in the first place. Trust me when you meet the two of them Carl and Filomena whom happen to be married (they don't want people to know that) you will fall into their trap because they tell you that your getting this and that... but be aware, you don't want what happened to us to happen to you. THEY ARE A SCAMP I hope people read into them before making a huge decision about them because I've heard stories that they took some peoples money and just disappeared... HOW COULD THEY... anyways I warned potencial customers and I'll be happy if my review made them think twice.

    0 Votes
  • Im
    immigrant Jan 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    global wedding moved to a new location under new name 1135 crestlawn, mississauga unit c5

    0 Votes
  • Br
    BrideWar Nov 11, 2010

    This guy is still conducting business and I feel sorry for all of the brides who are going in there. Ladies and gents - please beware - this guy is a crook. He makes empty promises and is very disorganized. He doesn't return phone calls and lies about everything. His wife, Filomena, is another piece of work. She knows nothing about nothing when it comes to colours and decorating. She thinks that sheer is organza and is colour bind. Do yourself a favour and try to pull out.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris50 Nov 03, 2010

    Ministry of

    Consumer Services
    Ministère des

    Services aux consommateurs


    Investigations Unit


    Consumer Protection Branch

    5775 Yonge Street, Suite 1500

    Toronto ON M7A 2E5

    Tel.: [protected]

    Toll-free: [protected]

    Fax: [protected]
    Unité des enquêtes


    Direction de la protection du consommateur

    5775, rue Yonge, bureau 1500

    Toronto ON M7A 2E5

    Tél. : [protected]

    Sans frais : [protected]

    Téléc. : [protected]


    November 3, 2010


    Re Global Wedding & Events Co. Ltd and Karl Usmani


    I wanted to update you on this matter.


    Global was in court again yesterday. Global and Mr. Usmani have agreed to resolve this matter The resolution will include restitution to the consumers included in the charges and several who filed complaints shortly after the charges were laid. The matter was adjourned to February 1, 2010. On or before that date certified funds are to be forwarded to my office for distribution to the consumers. The next appearance in court, if the matter is not fully resolved, will be used to set a trial date.


    If you have any questions please contact me.


    Yours truly,


    Duncan Newport

    Investigator

    Investigations Unit, Consumer Protection Branch

    Ministry of Consumer Services

    5775 Yonge Street, Suite 1500

    Toronto, ON M7A 2E5

    Office: [protected]

    Cell: [protected]

    Fax: [protected]

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris50 Nov 03, 2010

    Bad news is he can still operate.

    Please file a complaint if there are new occurances. Please feel free to contact me as I will be happy to help and would love to see the Ministry take him to court a second time if he continues to operate as he does. Perhaps the next time he will be shut down.

    For now it looks like some people will be getting their money back.

    0 Votes
  • St
    starstruck17 Nov 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just finished cleaning out an old purse and found my wedding dress receipts from this place. I got married in June 2009 and had a hell of a time with these people. My fiance and I went in there after seeing them at the bridal show just to check it out and signed a contract with them (although Karl told us at any point we could alter details since our wedding was a year away at the time). A couple of months later my parents told me that they wanted to pay for the photographer and that they had a friend who was amazing and wanted to use him. Needless to say Karl was not happy and yelled at me on the phone that I was trying to screw him over. I told him it was just the photographer but it definitely did not calm him down. I had already ordered a dress from their shop (it was actually a really good price, although who knows if it is really authentic). When I originally ordered the dress on the receipt it said that the veil, shawl and tiara were included. On the day I went to pick the dress up, Karl was the only person in the shop. He took the store copy of the receipt and put an arrow saying "not included" beside those three items and refused to give them to me. I didn't have my copy with me but it was obviously altered because their copy was the photocopy and then he added on in blue ink. He then screamed at me again in the store (in front of other customers) and when I told him he was being very unprofessional he lost it. I told him that due to his attitude I no longer wanted their services (there had also already been several mix ups where people phoned me in May 2008 freaking out that my wedding was a month away and we hadn't touched base). Not to mention the original girl that I dealt with (I think her name was Bella) mysteriously disappeared from the store with everyone claiming her uncle passed away but she would be back next week. I never saw her again and am assuming she really just didn't work there anymore. I guess I should consider myself lucky. Although we did lose a $500 deposit and I never got my shawl, tiara or veil, I did still get a beautiful wedding dress! This place needs to be taken down ASAP.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris50 Oct 29, 2010

    Sorry about that. It IS a court date.

    They will be in court.

    It is just not a trial yet.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris50 Oct 29, 2010

    Hi Guys,

    I thought I'd update you after I got some inquires regarding the court date the last couple of days. I had planned to show up on November 2nd as a witness and it turns out others were also interested in showing.

    I just got off the phone with Duncan and he has explained the following:

    Nov 2nd is not a court date it is a resolution date. There are nine people that filed formal reports with the amount of thier loss. Khalid Usmani and Global will have to agree to the charges and pay the TOTAL of all lost by the Nine victims.
    If Khalid/Global does not accept the resolution he can postpone it and come back at a later date based on lack of funds.
    If Khalid/Global does not accept and refuses to pay we go to trial. Witnesses will be needed in trial which would probably be in May 2011 Duncan said.
    Duncan says we have a strong case and some of the charges have no defence.
    Global had a lawyer, switched to a paralegal. We dont' know who will be representing him but I am sure he will have a party present or it is an arrest warrent for him.(Which I would love to see).
    If it goes to trial anyone else that files a formal complaint during that time will be added to the compensation list.


    For those who have not filed a formal complaint this is your chance to get your money back:
    [email protected]

    Sorry if I missed a few, I've gotten so many contacts over the last year it's actually slowed my mailbox down and is driving me nuts trying to find all the contacts associated with this file.

    Take care,

    Christy Luu

    0 Votes
  • To
    toppers Sep 10, 2010

    I would like to start off with these people should be closed down and never be allowed to work again in any wedding place ever... The owner loves to talk alot and threaten you over the phone but in person hides from you and pretends hes not in the store... I ordered a dress in April and I just got it a week ago, I told him I don't want to deal with them ever again and to give my deposite back and they refused due to it's to soon to my wedding my wedding is next year... They also owe my aunt money from her wedding last year... They are so diorganized and full of crap it's sad... Instead of the owner helping me out with forms and such was too busy flirting with my maid of honor... It came to the point that I went in there to get information on my dress and was treated like I wasn't even there, I lost it and made sure they weren't going to have any service from anyone that I went to every person in that store and told them to leave and by taking anything from this place would be a big mistake..

    0 Votes
  • Le
    LexxyBertrand Jul 13, 2010

    My sister is getting married this saturday and the bridesmaid dresses are even finished yet.
    Affiliating with Filomena and Karl has been an absolute nightmare for our entire family.
    This is the story:
    We're getting our bridesmaid dresses from Global Weddings (thank God it was only that). They got the dresses is a couple of weeks ago, so the maid of honour went to get a fitting, and this was a couple of days after the dresses came in. She called us later and told us they ordered the completely wrong dress.
    We didn't get one call or notice from the company after the maid of honour clearly told them they got the wrong dress. They persisted and said it was right but she knew it wasn't.
    We went in a couple of days later, when Filomena comes up to us crying. We weren't buying it. We saw the dresses, and they were completely hideous. We must've been in there for at least a couple of hours fighting with them. They were going to either rip us off or make us stick with the wrong dresses. We finally convinced them, after hours of arguing, to have them get us our dresses. Karl came to us after we've been discussing Filomena told us she would get them made, however we were skeptical to how they would come out. Karl came to us after we've been discussing for a while and started yelling at us, treating us badly and talking down to us. We were shocked. He clapped his hands in front of our faces and basically said " I don't give a [censor]" at least twice. He was terrible and extremely rude. The wedding, at this point, was in about 17 days.
    They got 2 different seamstresses to make the dresses, so of course they would be two completely different styles. We have no other choice but to stick with that now. 4 of them poorly made, one is worse than the other. The 3 other dresses were how they were supposed to look. Also, we requested that 2 certain dresses be made first because those bridesmaids were coming in from Saskatchewan, and were in town for only one day.
    They made all the other dresses but the 2 we asked for. Which made completely no sense to us, we were very angry.
    The one seamstress told us we were lucky they even did that for us. They would have usually just pressured the bride into staying with the ugly dresses or taking their business elsewhere, completely screwing them over, which baffled me.
    The other seamstress, when asked why she didn't make the 2 dresses first as we clearly asked, went into a rant on how she didn't have to deal with this [censor], she didn't have to do this. Once again, we were so shocked by the rudeness and unprofessionalism of this company.

    I suggest to all the brides to NEVER deal with these people. They're untrustworthy, unprofessional, very rude and unhelpful, as well. It's a terrible company. Legal action will be made, and we've told them that already.

    Horrible, horrible, horrible.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nav Prasad Apr 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband and I got suckered into putting a $5000.00 deposit with this NIGHTMARE company!!! They seemed like really nice and honest people when you first walk in there and they promise to make your special day everything you want but as soon as they get their deposit they turn into YOUR WORST NIGHTMARE!!! We lost a lot of money with this FRAUDULENT COUPLE, and would love to see justice paid!!!

    If there is a class action suit my husband and I would love to be a part of it. Karl and Filomena took a lot of money from us and we would like to see them pay for it!!!

    I hope they get what they deserve and I hope no other couple has to go through the pain and frustrations they have caused so many already!!!

    PLEASE BE AWARE OF THIS COMPANY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris50 Nov 13, 2009

    testing...

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris50 Nov 13, 2009

    It's Khalid Usmani btw...


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Subject: RE:
    Date: Thu, 12 Nov 2009 09:40:33 -0500
    From: [email protected]
    To: [email protected]


    Christy…it is me who lays the charge….that means I swear to the charges before a justice of the peace….this is based on me saying I have reasonable and probable grounds to believe that offences have been committed by the defendants. Our prosecutors look at the evidence and charges before I swear to them to make suggestions that might help them in prosecuting the charges in court…for example in your case should I be explicit in the charge as to each and every unfair practice that Global committed or should I just leave it as they committed unfair practices and let the details come out in court….that is what the prosecutors advise me on


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    From: Christy Luu [mailto:[email protected]]
    Sent: November 12, 2009 9:29 AM
    To: Newport, Duncan (MCS)
    Subject: RE:


    Hello Duncan,

    Wow you'd think they'd start to treat people better after knowing they are being investigated. I guess not if the new statements are still rolling in.

    I just wanted to know that this would be going to court and judging by your response it looks like it. We have passed the stage of talking to the public prosecuter I assume?

    I am ok with the trial date being 12 months away as long as it is comming. I don't know what brides will still be left to show up in court but I will be there.

    Please keep me updated on the stages if it is not too much trouble.


    C.L


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Subject: RE:
    Date: Thu, 12 Nov 2009 09:23:38 -0500
    From: [email protected]
    To: [email protected]

    Christy:


    I still have a couple of statements to get from new consumers who have complained and add their charges in. After that the charges have to be filed with court, served on Global, and then there is a first appearance in court when the defendants are provided with disclosure of our evidence. They can ask for an adjournment at that point. Then we are in to the normal court delays. A trial date may be 6 to 12 months away.


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    From: Christy Luu [mailto:[email protected]]
    Sent: November 11, 2009 1:19 PM
    To: Newport, Duncan (MCS)
    Subject:


    Hello Duncan,

    I hope you're enjoying your day off as it is rememberance day.

    I was wondering how much longer this process will take for Global.

    I will be out of the country Dec 5th-Dec 12th.

    Thanks,


    C.L

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    patelamul Nov 12, 2009

    My fiancee and I had our engagement party recently. It was our first big step in life and we wanted it to be as smooth and memorable as possible. We have nothing but great things to say about our photographer, DJ, videographer, Hall people, but unfortunately the same cannot be said about the experience we had with Global Wedding.

    Throughout all the meetings we had with Carlo and Filomina (decorator), we were constantly reassured that we will not have to worry about a single thing, everything will be taken care, we will just have to show up and enjoy our big day. The experience was quite the opposite for myself.

    We were promised by Carlo and Filomina that since our event was to start at 5 PM, everything will be decorated before 3:30 PM. When I arrived at the hall at 4:30 PM, nothing was decorated except the backdrop.

    1) Not only was the decoration not complete, there were no receiving tables set up at the entrance. When I brought this to the attention of the decorator (some other lady who I had never met during any of our meetings, and she was the only employee to show up from Global Wedding), she said she had no idea she was supposed to decorate receiving tables and argued with me that she only has enough decoration for ONE receiving table when we explicitly asked for two in our contract. After much arguement, she agreed to decorate the receiving tables.

    2) The centerpieces we had selected were supposed to have coloured stones at the bottom of a big martini glass, topped with white jelly and a candle. The centerpieces were on the table, but upon inspection, I realized that there was no jelly in any of the centerpieces. When I brought this to the decorator's attention, she said they had accidently left it at their warehouse and some guy had gone to pick it up. The jelly wasn't in place until after 5:30 PM. Our guests had already started to arrive and sit on their tables at 5 PM. Even after putting the jelly, she did not light up the candles. She disappeared without saying a word so instead of attending to the guests, I had to go around the hall lighting up the candles myself.

    3) During our conversations, Carlo had promised to put a nice carpet onto the stage so we wouldn't see the "ugly" carpet that the hall had. Not only did we not receive any nice carpet from Global Wedding, the stage was covered with ugly white table cloths. The cloth on the stage wasn't pinned down properly so all the guests who came onto the stage to wish us were constantly tripping, two of the senior guests almost fell had I not supported them. I had to constantly pause the guests and fix the stage so they would not trip. This was a huge safety concern for us which was all on our video.

    4) The backdrop wasn't at all similar to the photo we had given to them. Not only this, but the backdrop was also not pinned down properly, in many spots, we could see the back wall. This again, was not only caught in the video, but it also ruined our pictures.

    5) The time I arrived at the hall expecting everything to be "perfect" as Carlo and Filomina constantly reassured us, 4:30 PM, till about 5:45 PM, I had to stress and run around to make sure the hall looked at least presentable. This not only delayed our ceremony, but it also ruined our family photo session which we had booked from 4:45 PM to 5:15 PM using the backdrop. We spent a lot of money on our photographer to capture the beautiful moments, but there were none to be captured since the stage wasn't even decorated until 5:15 PM. By this time, the guests had arrived and we did not have enough privacy or time to go through the photoshoot.

    6) The most disappointing thing was that Filomina had on numerous occasions told us that she goes to ALL her events to make sure everything is decorated properly and her "brides" are happy because she takes everyone as her family. She did not even show up, let alone make sure it was decorated properly. There was only ONE individual present from Global Wedding and she was very rude to me when I asked her why things weren't done.

    Throughout the planning phases, I allowed myself go over our decoration budget because Carlo and Filomina sold us on dreams and we fell for that "perfect day" fantasy. Unfortunately, Global Wedding was not able to deliver on their promises and dreams.

    ------
    After the event, I could not reach Carlo or Filomina for 3-4 days so I decided to send them an email. I did not get a response until I called and booked an appointment to discuss our event. Carlo called and said he will investigate everything and get back to me in a day or two. Two days later, I called to follow up and this is when things really caught me offgaurd. After letting Carlo know that I will be coming later on the day to discuss, he promptly said NO and told me Filomina will not be there until 8:45 PM (they close at 9 PM) because she was out of town. This did not make much sense to me. I said "that's fine, we just need to talk to you since you are the owner" He kept denying that anything went wrong at the event, after I mentioned that I had all the evidence of lack of work on video and photo, he FREAKED! Carlo, the owner, started swearing at me, he threatened to "beat my @ss" and "throw me out" of his "private building" He swore at me and threatened me for good 5 minutes while I tried to ask him to calm down. He followed up by saying he will have my "@ss arrested" if he ever stepped into his store again.

    So this is the story, not only did I pay for service which I did not receive as promised, I was left with a disappointed fiancee on our first big day as a couple.

    Carlo and Filomina will talk very sweetly during all meetings, they will make many promises and draw the image of a picture perfect day...but they will let you down! Consider yourselves warned...choose Global Wedding at your own risk, and only if you like to get your "@ss beat" and arrested for trying to get an explanation from Carlo after the event.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris50 Sep 25, 2009

    I NEED THE BRIDES THAT WERE VICTIM TO THE INSTANT CLOSING OF CANADIAN BRIDAL IN KITCHENER, ONTARIO


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Subject: RE: Canadian Bridal/American Bridal/Global Wedding & Events Co. Ltd - Criminal Fraud
    Date: Fri, 25 Sep 2009 17:58:28 -0400
    From: [email protected]
    To: [email protected]; [email protected]
    CC: [email protected]; [email protected]; [email protected]; [email protected]; [email protected]; [email protected]; [email protected]; [email protected]


    Ms. Luu,


    I pulled 6 complaints that were reported over a 12 day period in 1999. In each of these cases people were complaining about the fact that this company had closed their doors and failed to provide the contracted services. A general definition of fraud is as follows:

    Fraud is generally defined in the law as an intentional misrepresentation of material existing fact made by one person to another with knowledge of its falsity and for the purpose of inducing the other person to act, and upon which the other person relies with resulting injury or damage. Fraud may also be made by an omission or purposeful failure to state material facts, which nondisclosure makes other statements misleading.

    To constitute fraud, a misrepresentation or omission must also relate to an 'existing fact', not a promise to do something in the future, unless the person who made the promise did so without any present intent to perform it or with a positive intent not to perform it. Promises to do something in the future or a mere expression of opinion cannot be the basis of a claim of fraud unless the person stating the opinion has exclusive or superior knowledge of existing facts which are inconsistent with such opinion.


    In the complaints filed with Casselberry Police Department, the company failed to fulfill their contract because they closed their doors and did not fulfill the contracts with their clients. This is a breach of contract which is a civil infraction rather than a criminal violation because there was no evidence in our cases that this company was planning on closing their doors at the time that they entered into the contract with their client. Failing to fulfill a contract does not automatically constitute fraud. Their client’s recourse in these instances would be to bring forth a lawsuit against the company to recover their losses.


    Sincerely,

    Chief Ruf

    Casselberry Police Department


    RE: Canadian Bridal/American Bridal/Global Wedding & Events Co. Ltd - Criminal Fraud‏
    From: Christy Luu ([email protected])
    Sent: September 25, 2009 6:36:37 PM
    To: casselberry police ([email protected]); Duncan Newport ([email protected])
    Cc: XXX

    Mr. Ruf,

    The company repeated the same thing in Kitchener, Ontario. Overnight they closed their doors and left brides standing without even a notice, no response to phone calls no refunds when contacted later on. There were complaints but he harassed people and his employees with threats of sueing them. He even threatened them physically as he did me (on recording). Brides even went to a local wedding magazine to make it public but after all the threats they backed off. The company took bookings until the last days. Did you investigate if the business had taken bookings months or weeks before their close? Did you question him? Did you ask to see his records ?? Bank statements that would show checks being cashed weeks before the store closed? What about invoices and receipts books? Were there large sums being transferred to other accounts to close up? IRS would require them to keep these things. If you haven't asked these questions yet perhaps the fact that they did this again my perk some suspicions.


    A criminal investigation will allow you to look into their financial files. The monies from the company is under the corporation Canadian Bridal ran by their son Fred Usmani and their Daughter Rosi Usamni, untouchable.

    Constable Robert Zensner was the detective in Kitchener Ontario.

    Two identical incidents in a row, same industries. I guarantee you that their Mississauga location will soon close as this file with the ministry and my claims with the police get closer. I have already heard from their employees.

    Is it possible for you to provide the contact information of the current company so that those who would like to pursue the owners can? Perhaps the brides along with the Casselberry and Peel Regional Police can work together on this? You now have the oppertunity and always want to make your community a better place correct?

    Now that you are aware of the second incident what does your detachment plan on doing knowing that the Kitchener Regional Police, Ministry of Consumer Protection and Peel Regional Police are willing to co-operate and provide you with all the necessary information you need from our end. I just spoke to Duncan today and he said he has not heard from you yet.

    I have already provided you Khalid Usmani, Philomeana Angelo's and Frederick Usmani's current home & work address, email, contact number. All you have to do is pick up that phone and start requesting his documents. Duncan Newport will be more than willing to send you his copy of the files. His bank statements will be archived but retrievable. I think you will find a lot of information there.

    If there there is anything else I can do for you please let me know.

    I look forward to your response.

    Christy Luu
    Kitchener, Ontario

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris50 Sep 11, 2009

    Special thanks to a bride:

    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.