GardnersChoice.comGardnersChoice.com is one big scam

1
M

I ordered live tomato tree plants from Gardners Choice, Hartford, Michigan in March 06. They cashed my check, and I never received the plants. I've tried calling a number of times, and they do not answer their telephone. I've sent emails and those have gone unanswered also. I checked with the Van Buren County Clerk in Paw Paw, Michigan, and found that they did not renew their business since last October 05. Sounds like a case of fraud, since they actively advertise.

More GardnersChoice.com Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Jo
    John Niskoch Mar 27, 2007

    I ordered 1 Empress Paulownia and 6 Pink Brandywine tomato plants. I received a dead tree and no tomato plants. I called the phone for 3 days for customer service and the number is always busy. I called the place order number and the girl told me a supervisor would contact me within 24 hours. We'll see what happens. I have a feeling this is going to be my 2nd time ordering through this company my first and last.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Newman Apr 10, 2007

    I also ordered from Gardners choice.com and have YET to receive the order for quick lawn grass and you can forget about getting thru on the phone... always busy! Emailed and got NO response but you can bet that the debit has gone thru to pay for the order... I am at a loss as to what to do next...

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helen Moreta May 05, 2007

    I ordered Rainbow Colored Gigantic Tomatoes Plants I finally received them on Thursday May 3 2007 I was very disappointed When I opened the package They were dead, they were yellow wilted and skinner then a toothpick so I would either like my money back or new plants the came in a plastic bag with no dirt please contact at the following number 973 328 2343

    0 Votes
  • Eu
    Eugene H. Ooms May 14, 2007

    I ordered tomato plants from GardnersChoice.com. When they arrived more than half of the plants were dead, or did not have any leaves on them, just a green stalk with roots in a very small amount of dry soil.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alonzo rundle May 15, 2007

    I ordered the tomato trees and paulownia tree. The tomatoes were suppose to be plants and were only seeds in small pots which finally came up but died and the paulowina tree i got in the mail today 5/15/07 and it was wilted and dead. This is a bad company.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paula Manley May 21, 2007

    I received dead Tomatoe Trees and can not get a refund or find a place to ask for a refund. Can not get a hold of Customer service etc. This is bad business & fraud. I want my credit card credited and am sending back plants.

    Paula Manley
    4690 Ackley court
    Colorado Springs Colo. 80922

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sara George May 22, 2007

    Gift for Mothers Day. Dead strawberry tree and 1/2 dead tomato plants. Last year same problem and they sent refund but took forever. Thought I would try again and same thing DEAD plants. I will NOT order again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sn
    sndy churchill May 23, 2007

    Stuff i ordered last year died never came back but i ordered something this year and have never received it. And they kept the money.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Walter Hwozdek Jun 26, 2007

    Neutral only because all of the miserable tomatoe plants grew faster and prolific in producing early and large tomatoes. Don't know if the tomatoes are edible! That's if they actually get ripe. However, the expensive corn seeds (real high class stuff?) I bought (10 seeds) not a one germinated!!! At this point, I have mixed feelings. Time will tell how big a mistake I made. Henceforth it will have to be an established well known vendor before I order!

    0 Votes
  • Db
    D.Bonds Apr 12, 2008

    I hope this is not a rip off because I've been waiting for my order and cn't get no one on the phone. I will call the better business bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tara Funk Apr 30, 2008

    I contacted the company to send me my order, (ordered 3/29/08). They emailed me and advised me in CAPTIAL font, that I was not in the zone I stated and would not send me my order yet. I have made several emailed attempts and all have gone unresponded to! I have tried to contact them by phone for 2 weeks "morning, noon & night" BUSY! I did wait for over 45 mins to speak w/someone from the ordering dept. thinking I would get somewhere. WELL WRONG..The nice women stated there was know one there I could speak too nor could she transfer me to a supervisor! OMG I think I am scammed! I am contacting my bank for dispute, my ISP to report scamming & NYS BBB...

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moe May 07, 2008

    I too have ordered product from gardeners choice. The order came and I am missing half of the order. They did cash my check though. The plants that did show up were half dead, and dried up. I am still waiting for the rest of my plants that are missing... 2 weeks later. I am going to put another call in and really complain or ELSE!!

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    gifford farmer May 16, 2008

    I ORDERED THE TOMATO TREE AND ADDED $5.00 FOR THE SHIPPING OF THE FREE TOMATO PLANT OFFER.. I HAVE WAITED FOR 3 WEEKS FOR THEM. I CAN'T GET THUR ON THE PHONE AND NO RESPONSE FROM E-MAIL... THIS IS A SCAM WHAT A SHAME TO BAD I LIVE IN TENNESSEE OR I WOULD VIST IN PERSON.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    renee pick May 20, 2008

    i called the 800# to complain and it automatically disconnects when you go to customer service. if you press 1 to order it is always busy. i obviously was calling to complain about my order. the wrong plants in very very bad condition. the so called super grow trays with no directions only a bill. i knew as soon as the plants arrived with all yellow leaves i was in for a fight. i only hope a claim with my credit card co. will retrieve my money back. also you have to go on line to get the 800# because they wouldn't dare put it on your invoice sheet.

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    J C Jun 07, 2008

    Yup in the same boat as most. Ordered the grass seed. Buy 1 and get the 2nd one for shipping and handling. Got 1 bag and a letter to grow my super large tomato trees. (Did I misss something when I only orederd the grass seed). Anywho they took the whole amount for the 2nd bag shipping and handling and can't get thru on the 1-800 number and emails go on answewred. Guess should be lucky only out $6.95

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joseph lubrano Jun 19, 2008

    my order #153865, receved in may, giant tree tomatoes, i think that they are not for northern florida, the rees are about 2ft. but all the flowers fall off, what can you do for me? my ip:68.200.156.117 key from catalog is GTCA-4703 please reimburse if you can not send new tomatoes... 13.93 thnaks jal

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Kierstead Jun 20, 2008

    I ordered 2 topsy turvy tomato planters on May 31, 2008, and as of June 21, 2008 have not received them yet.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeremy Morris Jul 14, 2008

    Finally got someone on the phone. She said my order was just mailed out. Will wait and see. If this is a scam, they've got a little suprise comin there way! HeHeHe

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe LaMacchia Aug 10, 2008

    The power to act against fraud is the local Attorney General in the state where the fraud is taking place. Always CC that office for communications. There seem to be enough complaints to warrant the AG to shut this company down.

    0 Votes
  • From: Rose in Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    I didn't order from the TV ads - but I bought one from a local greenhouse. Bought a tomato plant, put the hanger together. Then watched the poor tomato plant struggle to grow upright instead of 'down'. Plant had some flowers and tomatoes were small with black ends. I was in pain watching the leaves trying to 'grow upward' like nature intended them to grow. I would NEVER recommend this TopsyTurvyTomatoHanger to anyone NOR would I ever buy one again.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patricia Nelson Apr 06, 2009

    I placed an order for 5 varities of plants. The cherokee purple tomato was due to be delivered on 4/4/09 at a business address. It was not on the ups truck or the manifest for either delivery that day. Unable to get through to Gardeners Choice- keep being cut off and can"t get
    anywhere to straighten this out. The balance of the plants are due to
    be theoretically delivered on 4/24/09. Now since receiving my e-mail of 4/4/09 ups claimed this morning that the plants were delivered at 9:18am on 4/4/09. Not true!!! Can't even get to
    customer service to cancel the balance of the order. Obviously
    this company is a fraud.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Fabfarmer May 16, 2009

    As a horticulturist that has researched several varieties of warm and cool season turf grasses, I was immediately skeptical and went to the computer to find out what variety of grass was this "miracle grass"? My first thought was that it had to be Ryegrass... a grass that does poorly in the drier climates such as ours. Sure it germinates quickly, but fails miserably with full sun and is suseptible to heat stress, it will not tolerate poor soils with a high PH, and this grass is THRISTY!

    But the real point is this: I went on the internet to find the seed variety and found complaints about this company rather than any real information about the product itself. As a consumer, it really pays to do some quick research, especially when it comes to plants. USDAplants.gov is a very good site to find out how a plant will do in your area. It's always good to ask your local nursuries about plants that are native and naturalized to your region as well.
    I'm sorry you all had to learn the hard way, I hope that I was a help to somebody!

    0 Votes
  • De
    debbie3 Jun 25, 2010

    I also ordered tomato plants. they arrived dead. after i read all the comments i decided not to bother trying for a refund. I figure I will just eat the money and pretend it taste like tomatos! debbie..

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem